DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of JP2023-166641 filed 09/28/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BALHARITH et al., “hereinafter BALHARITH” (U.S. Patent Application: 20180144423) in view of Gidugu et al., “hereinafter Gidugu” (U.S. Patent Application: 20140101068) and further in view of Zhao et al., “hereinafter Zhao”( U.S. Patent Application: 20150312362).
As per Claim 1, BALHARITH discloses a communication system comprising:
a first server device that accepts communication data sent from a first terminal device, transmits the communication data to a second terminal device, and accepts a second server device that accepts communication data sent from the first terminal device (BALHARITH, Para.70, the student may submit a reading/listening status via the student interface. The student submission may be validated by a guardian. For example, once the student submits the reading status, the guardian is notified. At this point, the server 102 may request from the guardian, via the school communication platform or by sending a wireless alert to the guardian (i.e., email, text, etc.), authentication before proceeding to update the reading status in the user log. The guardian can authenticate by entering a special pin code not known to the student to validate that the reading/listening status submitted by the student. Once the authentication information has been received by the server 102, the CPU 1500 proceeds to update the status of the reading/listening task based on what the student has entered or based on what information the guardian entered or a combination thereof. [the student device can be interpreted as first terminal device, the parent device can be interpreted as the second terminal device and the server can accept communication data from the student device and the parent device]);
however BALHARITH does not disclose a second server device that accepts communication data sent from the first terminal, makes the communication data viewable from the second terminal device, but does not accept communication data from the second terminal device; and transmission of communication data from the first terminal device being switchable between transmission from the first terminal device to the first server device and transmission from the first terminal device to the second server device.
Gidugu discloses a second server device that accepts communication data sent from the first terminal, makes the communication data viewable from the second terminal device, but does not accept communication data from the second terminal device (Gidugu, Para.45, the system 16 can enable parents to monitor their children's performance on assignments and assessments. Indeed, parents can also obtain a complete analysis of the time spent by their children in various activities such as reading materials, assessments, e-classroom, and chat sessions with other students and teachers, Para.123, techniques described herein also provide for a dashboard where the student awards and achievements, monthly progress reports may be updated. Such an approach provides good source for parents to see their children status and can also compare with others. Additionally, the system may provide an interface where students can be given information about artistic events held at school and competitions held at other campuses for the academic year. The system may also enable students, teachers and management were to add comments and update information to for viewing by a main administrator, as well as to update any other important information about the event. All these changes can be updated in the event calendar.[the students and the teacher transmit data while the parent device can only view the progress report]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in BALHARITH with the teachings as in Gidugu. The motivation for implementing a system which may include numerous features such as an easy-to-access course material interface, an informative reporting system, student-to-student and student-to-teacher communication tools, an e-classroom, assessment reminders and more. Additionally, the system can enable parents to monitor their children's performance on assignments and assessments. Indeed, parents can also obtain a complete analysis of the time spent by their children in various activities such as reading materials, assessments, e-classroom, and chat sessions with other students and teachers. (Gidugu, Para.45).
However BALHARITH, Gidugu do not teach transmission of communication data from the first terminal device being switchable between transmission from the first terminal device to the first server device and transmission from the first terminal device to the second server device.
(Zhao discloses transmission of communication data from the first terminal device being switchable between transmission from the first terminal device to the first server device and transmission from the first terminal device to the second server device (Zhao, Para.110, the method for switching a delivery server of an application according to quality of service information. Moreover, this embodiment of the present disclosure further provides a method for switching a proxy server according to a network connection failure rate, which may specifically be as follows: selecting an executing proxy server in advance from proxy servers; acquiring a network connection failure rate of the executing proxy server according to a predefined second detection period;).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in BALHARITH, Gidugu with the teachings as in Zhao. The motivation for judging, according to a predefined judging rule, whether the quality of service information meets a requirement; and if the requirement is met, retaining the delivery executing server unchanged; otherwise, setting another delivery server of the application as a delivery executing server; (Zhao, Para.08).
As per Claim 2, the modified BALHARITH discloses the communication system as defined in Claim 1, wherein:
However BALHARITH, Gidugu do not teach the transmission of communication data from the first terminal device to the first server device and the transmission of communication data from the first terminal device to the second server device is switched based on server selection information which is set in the first terminal device.
Zhao teaches the transmission of communication data from the first terminal device to the first server device and the transmission of communication data from the first terminal device to the second server device is switched based on server selection information which is set in the first terminal device (Zhao, Para.110, the method for switching a delivery server of an application according to quality of service information. Moreover, this embodiment of the present disclosure further provides a method for switching a proxy server according to a network connection failure rate, which may specifically be as follows: selecting an executing proxy server in advance from proxy servers; acquiring a network connection failure rate of the executing proxy server according to a predefined second detection period;).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in BALHARITH, Gidugu with the teachings as in Zhao. The motivation for judging, according to a predefined judging rule, whether the quality of service information meets a requirement; and if the requirement is met, retaining the delivery executing server unchanged; otherwise, setting another delivery server of the application as a delivery executing server; (Zhao, Para.08).
As per Claim 4, the modified BALHARITH discloses the communication system as defined in Claim 1, wherein:
In case that the first server device accepts new communication data sent from the first terminal device, the first server device sends the new communication data to the second terminal device in response to accepting the new communication data (BALHARITH, Para.70, the student may submit a reading/listening status via the student interface. The student submission may be validated by a guardian. For example, once the student submits the reading status, the guardian is notified. At this point, the server 102 may request from the guardian, via the school communication platform or by sending a wireless alert to the guardian (i.e., email, text, etc.), authentication before proceeding to update the reading status in the user log. The guardian can authenticate by entering a special pin code not known to the student to validate that the reading/listening status submitted by the student. Once the authentication information has been received by the server 102, the CPU 1500 proceeds to update the status of the reading/listening task based on what the student has entered or based on what information the guardian entered or a combination thereof, Para.50, The student ranking generation may be triggered at step S406. The student ranking may be generated at predetermined times (e.g., each day, each month) or may be triggered based on an event (e.g., availability of new test scores, receiving a request from a guardian, teacher, or administrator).) and
In case that the second server device accepts new communication data sent from the first terminal device, the second server device notifies the second terminal device of the new communication data in response to a request from the second terminal device (Gidugu, Para.45, the system 16 can enable parents to monitor their children's performance on assignments and assessments. Indeed, parents can also obtain a complete analysis of the time spent by their children in various activities such as reading materials, assessments, e-classroom, and chat sessions with other students and teachers, Para.123, techniques described herein also provide for a dashboard where the student awards and achievements, monthly progress reports may be updated. Such an approach provides good source for parents to see their children status and can also compare with others. Additionally, the system may provide an interface where students can be given information about artistic events held at school and competitions held at other campuses for the academic year. The system may also enable students, teachers and management were to add comments and update information to for viewing by a main administrator, as well as to update any other important information about the event. All these changes can be updated in the event calendar, Para.55, teachers are able to create a new course, which may involve providing basic information such as course name, class name, subject, academic year, completion date and description. Additionally, the teacher can edit, delete and define different marking periods for the course, wherein the marking period may indicate the time line defined based on an associated academic curriculum.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in BALHARITH with the teachings as in Gidugu. The motivation for implementing a system which may include numerous features such as an easy-to-access course material interface, an informative reporting system, student-to-student and student-to-teacher communication tools, an e-classroom, assessment reminders and more. Additionally, the system can enable parents to monitor their children's performance on assignments and assessments. Indeed, parents can also obtain a complete analysis of the time spent by their children in various activities such as reading materials, assessments, e-classroom, and chat sessions with other students and teachers. (Gidugu, Para.45).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NORMIN ABEDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449