Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9, 11-14, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Affleck (US 2022/0018241 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 18, Affleck discloses a system, a method, and a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium, comprising:
one or more sources configured to irradiate one or more solids extracted from a reservoir with an energy source [[0041] solid object monitoring system that is attached to the shale shaker 134 … through which a solid slurry that includes a mixture of the solid objects and the wellbore drilling mud enter the shale shaker 134 … an image capture zone 204 is defined by the support member 206. The digital imaging device 158 is mounted on and directly attached to the support member 206. The digital imaging device 158 can include a smart, waterproof, high resolution, wireless camera or any other image or vision sensor such as infrared sensor, gamma ray sensor, computerized tomography (CT) scanner, or X-ray sensor, to name a few];
one or more detectors configured to acquire one or more transmission images, wherein the one or more transmission images comprise one or more scans [[0041] computerized tomography (CT) scanner, or X-ray sensor, to name a few. The digital imaging device 158 is oriented such that its view finder or screen of the device 158 faces the solid slurry. In particular, the view finder or screen is capable of capturing a plan view of the shaking screen and of the solid objects moved by the shaking screen];
a processing circuitry [[0004] computer system is operatively coupled to the digital imaging device]; and
a memory, accessible by the processing circuitry, the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry cause the processing circuitry to perform operations comprising [[0004] computer system includes one or more processors and a computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by the one or more processors to perform operation]:
collecting one or more scans of the one or more solids moving through an imaging zone [[0032] systems and techniques that can be implemented for automated collection and identification of drill cuttings and non-drilled solids (that is, any solid object carried out of the wellbore by the drilling fluid that is not a drill cutting; [0041] an image capture zone 204 is defined by the support member 206];
reconstructing one or more tomographic images of the one or more solids based on the one or more scans [[0041] computerized tomography (CT) scanner, or X-ray sensor, to name a few. The digital imaging device 158 is oriented such that its view finder or screen of the device 158 faces the solid slurry. In particular, the view finder or screen is capable of capturing a plan view of the shaking screen and of the solid objects moved by the shaking screen]; and
extracting one or more physical properties of the solids based on the one or more tomographic images [[0005] image of a solid object includes multiple particles, including particles representing the solid object in a first color and particles representing the remaining portions of the image in a second color different from the first. To implement the image processing techniques, the computer system can perform operations including counting a number of particles in the image. The computer system identifies the particles representing the solid object. The particles representing the solid object define an ADR representing dimensions of the solid object; [0048] artificial intelligence based model to analyze each image. In one example, the computer system 160 can implement a supervised learning model … the computer system 160 can use regional convolutional neural networks (R-CNN) or other variations (for example, CNNs, faster R-CNNs) to automatically identify features describing the solid objects captured in the images].
(claim 11, a method comprising: extracting one or more solids from a reservoir [[0049] slurry flow-in/out, stand pipe pressure, other drilling parameters) and drilling mud details (for example, weight, oil-based or water-based, rheological properties, other drilling mud details) as inputs to the fully connected layer.]; moving the one or more solids through an imaging zone, wherein the imaging zone comprises one or more sources and one or more detectors [[0041] digital imaging device 158 can include a smart, waterproof, high resolution, wireless camera or any other image or vision sensor such as infrared sensor, gamma ray sensor, computerized tomography (CT) scanner, or X-ray sensor, to name a few; [0049] the computer system 160 can execute the CNN model using the received inputs to classify the solid objects into drill cuttings or non-drilled solids and to identify drill cuttings concentration]; collecting one or more scans of the one or more solids moving through the imaging zone [[0032]]; reconstructing one or more tomographic images of the one or more solids based on the one or more scans [[0041]]; and extracting one or more physical properties of the solids based on the one or more tomographic images. [[0005][0048]])
(claim 18, a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium, comprising processor-executable routines that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: extracting one or more solids from a reservoir [[title] analysis of drilling slurry solids by image processing]; moving the one or more solids through an imaging zone, wherein the imaging zone comprises one or more sources and one or more detectors [[0041][0049]]; collecting one or more scans of the solids moving through the imaging zone [[0032]]; reconstructing one or more tomographic images of the one or more solids based on the one or more scans [[0041]]; extracting one or more physical properties of the solids based on the one or more tomographic images [[0005][0048]]; forming a digital representation of the reservoir based on the one or more physical properties of the one or more solids; and controlling a drilling system based on the digital representation of the reservoir [[0061] responsive intervention can prevent costly NPT associated with resulting equipment failure should unplanned solids migrate to solids control systems, pumping systems or downhole tools. Moreover, the ML/DL models described here can automatically identify foreign objects by detecting unexpected solid objects ].)
Regarding claim 2, Affleck teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the energy source comprises an X-ray source, neutron source or a gamma ray source [[0041] digital imaging device 158 can include a smart, waterproof, high resolution, wireless camera or any other image or vision sensor such as infrared sensor, gamma ray sensor, computerized tomography (CT) scanner, or X-ray sensor, to name a few].
Regarding claim 3, Affleck teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the processing circuitry performs the operations comprising: forming a digital representation of the reservoir based on the one or more physical properties of the one or more solids; and controlling a drilling system based on the digital representation of the reservoir [[0061] properties of solid objects detected by the computer system 160 deviates from properties of expected solid objects, the computer system 160 can transmit a foreign objects warning through an interface module that can be presented as a visual warning or audible warning. Responsive intervention can prevent costly NPT associated with resulting equipment failure should unplanned solids migrate to solids control systems, pumping systems or downhole tools. Moreover, the ML/DL models described here can automatically identify foreign objects by detecting unexpected solid objects].
Regarding claim 4, Affleck the system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry performs the operations comprising: controlling movement of the one or more solids through the imaging zone, wherein the imaging zone comprises the one or more sources and the one or more detectors [[0004] digital imaging device is mounted to a non-vibrating member of a shale shaker of a wellbore drilling assembly. The shale shaker is positioned at a surface of the Earth adjacent a wellbore and is configured to receive a solid slurry that includes a mixture of wellbore drilling mud and solid objects found in the wellbore while drilling the wellbore through a subterranean zone].
Regarding claims 7, 12, and 19, Affleck teaches the system of claim 1, the method of claim 11, and the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 18, wherein the processing circuitry performs the operations comprising: estimating one or more trajectories of the one or more solids based on the one or more scans [[0073] computer system 160 observes a different amount of cement compared to an expected amount, that indicates a possible deviation in the wellbore trajectory, which is critical for reaching the target depth in deviated wells. By comparing planned solids volume with expected volume and measured solids volume, the computer system 160 can identify a trend if the wellbore trajectory is correct by drilling through the cement plug].
Regarding claim 9, Affleck teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more sources and the one or more detectors are in a fixed position [[0039] solid object monitoring system that can track each solid object (or liquid) as it emerges from the wellbore and passes through the shale shaker 134. In some implementations, the digital imaging device 158 (for example, a smart camera, an image sensor, vision sensor network or similar digital imaging device) can capture digital images of each solid object].
Regarding claim 13, Affleck teaches the method of claim 11, comprising: forming a digital representation of the reservoir based on the one or more physical properties of the one or more solids [[0061]].
Regarding claim 14, Affleck teaches the method of claim 13, comprising: controlling a drilling system based on the digital representation of the reservoir [[0061]].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Affleck (US 2022/0018241 A1) and Chen (US 2003/0106993 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Affleck does not explicitly teach and yet Chen teaches the system of claim 1 and method of claim 11, wherein the one or more scans comprise one or more directional transmission attenuation scans [[title] downhole determination of characteristics of formation fluids; [abstract] X-rays are utilized, attenuation is preferably measured in two energy windows. Using the two different attenuation values found in the different windows, the attenuation due to Compton scattering can be found and related to the electron and/or mass density of the sample … attenuation due to photoelectric absorption may also be determined and related to the presence of one or more heavy elements in the oil (e.g., sulfur) and/or sanding; [0004] monitoring of filtrate contamination; [0030] X-ray beam; [0032] nuclear electromagnetic beam passes through a medium, it interacts with electrons and its intensity is attenuated. For a tightly focused beam, the attenuation is characterized by the medium's mass attenuation coefficient; [0033]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the solid object monitoring system with x-ray sensor as taught by Affleck, with the X-ray beam attenuation due to absorption for monitoring fluids or heavy elements as taught by Chen because attenuation values can be found and related to the density of the sample (Chen) [[abstract]].
Regarding claims 6, 16, and 20, Affleck does not explicitly teach and yet Chen teaches the system of claim 1 and method of claim 11, wherein the one or more physical properties comprise a porosity, a saturation, a permeability, a mineralogy, a lithology, a density, or a combination thereof [[title] [abstract] X-rays are utilized, attenuation is preferably measured in two energy windows. Using the two different attenuation values found in the different windows, the attenuation due to Compton scattering can be found and related to the electron and/or mass density of the; [0004]; [0032]; [0033]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the solid object monitoring system with x-ray sensor as taught by Affleck, with the X-ray beam attenuation due to absorption for monitoring fluids or heavy elements as taught by Chen because attenuation values can be found and related to the density of the sample (Chen) [[abstract]].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Affleck (US 2022/0018241 A1) and Holland (US 2010/0259263 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Affleck does not explicitly teach and yet Holland teaches the system of claim 7, wherein reconstructing the one or more tomographic images comprises modeling the one or more trajectories as one or more affinely transform isotropic Gaussians [[0009] x-ray computed tomography, ultrasound; [0101] patterns of ROI deformation (e.g., across the whole brain) can be investigated across subjects, over time, and for various pathologies to define pathology-specific trajectories; [0110] images being locally registered can be already tightly affine registered, and if each is heavily smoothed, e.g., by convolving with an isotropic Gaussian kernel of standard deviation of about 4-5 mm].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the solid object monitoring system with x-ray sensor as taught by Affleck, with the x-ray computed tomography that are affine registered by convolving with a Guassian kernel because one has a very good estimate for the new global minimum at a finer level of smoothing (Holland) [[0110]].
Claims 10 and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Affleck (US 2022/0018241 A1) and Ursella (Thesis, 2021).
Regarding claim 10, Affleck does not explicitly teach and yet Ursellateaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more sources and the one or more detectors rotate about a conveyor moving the one or more solids through an imaging zone [[title] computed tomography applications; [pg. 37] rigid body motion is limited to 4 degrees of freedom, assuming that the only possible rotations are along the axis of the scanner. Since this is the typical situation for a log moving on a belt conveyor; [pg. 86] typical medical, luggage or inline scanner has a rotating gantry where the X-ray source and the sensor rotate around the measured object.].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the solid object monitoring system with X-ray computed tomography as taught by Affleck, with the rotating x-ray computed tomography with a conveyor as taught by Ursella because projections are measured at different angles rotating a pair source-sensor around the measured sample … and this allows to have projections passing through every measured voxel from different directions (Ursella) [[pg. 15] problem of tomographic inversion consists therefore in calculating the function𝑓(𝑥) from the measurements 𝑝(𝑠) called projections].
Regarding claim 17, Affleck does not explicitly teach and yet Ursella teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the one or more sources and the one or more detectors rotate about the one or more solids moving through the imaging zone [[title][pg. 37][pg. 86]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the solid object monitoring system with X-ray computed tomography as taught by Affleck, with the rotating x-ray computed tomography with a conveyor as taught by Ursella because projections are measured at different angles rotating a pair source-sensor around the measured sample … and this allows to have projections passing through every measured voxel from different directions (Ursella) [[pg. 15] problem of tomographic inversion consists therefore in calculating the function𝑓(𝑥) from the measurements 𝑝(𝑠) called projections].
Conclusion
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645