DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Godager et al. (US 2017/0204724).
With respect to claim 1, Godager discloses a kit, comprising: a beacon comprising a transmitting antenna (paragraph 0046 discloses wireless communication system 1 with respective transmitting antennas), the transmitting antenna configured to emit a dipole magnetic field (paragraphs 002-0022 disclose that the antennas are electric dipoles); a harvesting antenna, configured to receive the dipole magnetic field and convert the dipole magnetic field into power (paragraphs 0057-0059 discloses a harvesting antenna to harvest the dipole magnetic field and distribute power to local components); and electronics configured to detect information about an underground boring operation, wherein the electronics are provided power from the harvesting antenna (paragraphs 0062-0063 discloses that wellbore instrument 22 comprises sensors and actuators that receive power from the harvesting antenna).
With respect to claim 2, Godager discloses the kit of claim 1 wherein the electronics comprise: an energy storage device, configured to receive power from the harvesting antenna; and a plurality of sensors, configured to receive power from the energy storage device. Paragraph 0062 discloses power storage means.
With respect to claim 3, Godager discloses the kit of claim 2 wherein the electronics further comprise a first radio, configured to receive power from the energy storage device and to transmit a first signal, the first signal containing information received from the plurality of sensors. Paragraphs 0047, 0062 discloses that the system communicates via radio waves to the wellbore instrument that comprises energy storage means.
With respect to claim 4, Godager discloses the kit of claim 3 wherein the beacon further comprises a second radio, configured to receive the first signal. Paragraph 0047 discloses communicating radio waves to/from control system 70 with respective antennas.
With respect to claim 5, Godager discloses the kit of claim 4 wherein the transmitting antenna is configured to encode a second signal on the dipole magnetic field, wherein the second signal contains information received on the first signal by the second radio. Paragraphs 0047-0052 discloses modulating power and information signal onto a carrier.
With respect to claim 8, Godager discloses the kit of claim 1, in which the harvesting antenna is a first harvesting antenna, the kit further comprising: a second harvesting antenna configured to receive the dipole magnetic field and convert the dipole magnetic field into power; in which the electronics are provided power from the second harvesting antenna. Figure 1 discloses a first and second harvesting antennas 11, 21, second antenna 21 provided power to the wellbore instruments.
With respect to claim 10, Godager discloses the kit of claim 1, in which the harvesting antenna is a ferrite rod. Paragraphs 0099, 0102 discloses using a ferrite core.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godager et al. (US 2017/0204724) in view of Switzer et al. (US 2016/0194952).
With respect to claim 6, Godager discloses the kit of claim 5; except for, in which the first radio and the second radio comprise Bluetooth radios.
Switzer discloses a downhole probe assembly for downhole drilling, comprising Bluetooth devices for transmitting information between the probe and the surface, paragraph 0001.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Godager and include the Bluetooth radios of Switzer, for the purpose of providing a wireless technology standard for exchanging data, for example (paragraph 0010).
Claim(s) 7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godager et al. (US 2017/0204724) in view of PETERS (US 2021/0381314).
With respect to claim 7, Godager discloses a downhole tool; except for, comprising: a beacon housing disposed on a drill string; and the kit of claim 1, in which the beacon is situated within the beacon housing and the electronics are situated outside of the beacon housing.
PETERS discloses housings 64 disposed on a drill string, figures 1-3 disclose that the beacon is provided in a housing separate from sensor tool 30, for example.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Godager and include the beacon housing of PETERS, for the purpose of providing a housing that is configured to be removable attached to the downhole tool, for example (paragraph 0058).
With respect to claim 9, Godager discloses the kit claim 1; except for, in which the harvesting antenna communicates with the electronics via a rectifier circuit.
PETERS discloses that the energy controller includes a rectifier to generate a DC current to be provided to the electronics withing the module, paragraph 0074.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Godager and include the rectifier circuit of PETERS, for the purpose of providing a control and required power of the electronics received by the harvesting antenna, for example.
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Godager et al. (US 2017/0204724) in view of Morse et al. (US 2020/0370417).
With respect to claim 11, Godager discloses the kit of claim 1; except for, in which the harvesting antenna is a PCB antenna.
Morse discloses a circuit board 102 with a radio antenna 128 provided on the circuit board 102, figure 3.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Godager and include the circuit board with a circuit board antenna as described by Morse, for the purpose of providing a small compact device, for example.
With respect to claim 12, Godager disclose the kit of claim 1; except for, further comprising a tracker, wherein the tracker comprises a receiving antenna configured to receive the dipole magnetic field.
Morse discloses a tracker 36 configured to analyzed beacon signal to determine position of the downhole beacon.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Godager and include the tracker as disclosed by Morse, for the purpose of locating the downhole tool and receiving information relating to the operation of the downhole tool, for example (paragraph 0018).
With respect to claim 13, Godager in view of Morse disclose a system for monitoring a horizontal boring operation, comprising: an above-ground horizontal directional drilling machine; a drill string, extending from the above-ground horizontal directional drilling machine to a below-ground location; a downhole tool comprising a beacon housing, supported by the drill string at the below-ground location; and the kit of claim 12, wherein: the beacon is disposed within the beacon housing; and the electronics are supported by the drill string outside of the beacon housing. Morse discloses in figure 1 a directional drilling machine with an above ground machine and drill string located below ground with a beacon housing, figure 3.
With respect to claim 14, Godager in view of Morse disclose the system of claim 13 wherein: the electronics comprise: a first Bluetooth radio, powered by the harvesting antenna; and a first sensor, powered by the harvesting antenna; and wherein: the first sensor provides data to the first Bluetooth radio and the first Bluetooth radio transmits the data to the beacon. Godager and Morse discloses that the harvesting antenna provides power to the sensors and the ratio antennas to transmit radio signals.
With respect to claim 15, Godager in view of Morse disclose the system of claim 14 wherein the beacon transmits the data to the tracker via the dipole magnetic field. Morse discloses in figure 1 providing dipole magnetic field to the tracker 36.
Claim(s) 16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morse et al. (US 2020/0370417) in view of Godager et al. (US 2017/0204724).
With respect to claim 16, Morse discloses a downhole tool, comprising: a beacon configured to emit a magnetic dipole field (figures 1,3 disclose beacon 32 to emit dipole signal 34); an elongate housing having an exterior surface within which a cavity is formed, the cavity receiving the beacon and having an open mouth that joins the exterior surface of the housing (figure 3 discloses elongate housing with a cavity 50 for receiving beacon 32); a lid configured to close the mouth of the cavity (lid 54).
Morse; however, does not expressly disclose a harvesting antenna situated within a pathway of the emitted magnetic dipole field; and an energy storage device in communication with the harvesting antenna.
Godager discloses in paragraphs 0057-0059, 0062-0063 a harvesting antenna to harvest the dipole magnetic field and distribute power to local components and power storage means.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to have modify Morse and include the harvesting antenna of Godager, for the purpose of harvesting power and distributing the harvested power to local electric components and circuits, for example (paragraph 0057).
With respect to claim 17, Morse in view of Godager disclose the downhole tool of claim 16, in which the harvesting antenna is a ferrite rod situated in a parallel-relationship with the beacon. Paragraphs 0099, 0102 discloses using a ferrite core.
With respect to claim 18, 19, 20 Morse in view of Godager disclose the downhole tool of one of the claims, further comprising: one or more sensors in communication with the energy storage device; a first radio in communication with the energy storage device and the one or more sensors; and a second radio in communication with the beacon and the first radio. Paragraphs 0047, 0062 discloses that the system communicates via radio waves to the wellbore instrument that comprises energy storage means. Paragraph 0047 discloses communicating radio waves to/from control system 70 with respective antennas, the information provided is data measured by the sensors.
With respect to claim 21, Morse in view of Godager disclose the downhole tool of claim 18 in which the one or more sensors comprise a pressure sensor and an accelerometer. Morse and Godager disclose that the sensors are of any type of sensors.
With respect to claim 22, Morse in view of Godager disclose the downhole tool of claim 16 in which the energy storage device comprises a battery. Morse and Godager disclose that the energy storage device is comprises a battery.
With respect to claim 23, Morse in view of Godager disclose discloses the apparatus necessary to complete the recited method steps, as discussed above in the rejection of claim 16.
Conclusion
/CARLOS AMAYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836