Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shmuel (IL 121617 A) in view of Blackford et al. (US 11260252 B2).
In regards to claim 1,Shmuel teaches an eruv pole configured for maintaining and controlling eruv in accordance with the requirements of Halacha comprising at least one wire; (Page 1, Field of Invention; Page 2, Background, Eruv T’chumin; Page 3, Detailed Description; Page 3, Configuration 1, Method 2;Page 3 Configuration 1, Method 1; Page 3, Configuration 2)
This invention is associated with halachic technology- technological systems to assist Torah observant Jews. One of the acts forbidden on Shabbos is moving an object from a private property (such as house) to public domain (such as the street) and vice versa. In order for it to be halachically permitted to move an object from one domain to another, the entire city must be defined as one domain. One of the accepted methods of implementing this nowadays according to come poskim, is to demarcate all or part of the city by stretching a line over posts that circle around the city or area. This is called 'eruv'. Almost every Jewish settlement in Israel includes some kind of eruv; the most common method is use of eruv lines.[Pg 1, Field of Invention]
The eruv usually consists of designated pillars over which a thin , taut wire is stretched, which is halachically called a shape of the opening. This is considered a kosher partition for the eruv, and transforms the enclosed area into a private domain, [Pg 2, Background, Eruv T’chumin]
The system is based on an optical fiber (configuration 1) or an electrically conductive wire (configuration2) that has the ability to withstand harsh weather conditions and is connected along the length of the eruv wire on the top of the posts (see illustrations 1 and 2) Alternatively, the optical fiber or the electrical conductor is also able to stand on its own, and can be considered exclusively as the eruv wire.[Pg 3, Detailed Description]
The light source and sensor are connected at the same end of the optic fiber. The sensor senses light that is reflected from the fiber itself along its entire length. In the case of an extremely long eruv wire, an optical amplifier is connected to the fiber in various places to increase the transmission capacity[Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 2]
A light source is connected to one end of the fiber that transmits light along the fiber to other end where a light sensor is connected. This provides an indication of the continuity of the light transmission- i.e., the intactness of the eruv.[Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 1]
A voltage source is connected to one end of the conductive cable which transmits along the fiber to the other end of the cable where than electrical sensor is connected. This provides an indication of the continuity of the electricity transmission -which implies the intactness of the eruv. [Pg 3, Configuration 2]
Shmuel then teaches at least one switch being actuated during a release of said stored energy; at least one transmitter communicably coupled to said switch, said transmitter sending at least one signal according to said switch status, said signal indicative of said wire tension. (Page 3, Configuration 1, Method 2)
The sensor is connected to a computer-based operating system,/wireless transmitter/communication switch, etc., which recognizes if the eruv is intact. The decoded signa; can be presented via several methods-visual signal, notification to a cell phone, voice signal and more. [Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 2]
The light source and the sensor are connected at the same end of the optic fiber. The sensor senses light that is reflected from the fiber itself along its entire length. According to the return time and its strength the system can the identify if the fiber is damaged and also locate the point of disconnection, if there is one [Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 2]
Here we see the sensor connected to at least one communication switch, actuated during the release of stored energy (when the wire breaks due to released energy from tension) and transmits at least one signal that indicates the break in the wire
Shmuel however, fails to teach at least one biasing means storing energy during stretching of said wire, as well at least one biasing means storing energy during stretching of said wire, as well as at least one polyspast with at least one moving pulley translated by said biasing means, said moving pulley and said biasing means cooperate together as a tensioner for maintaining tension in said wire as long as said wire remains intact.
Blackford on the other hand teaches at least one polyspast with at least one moving pulley translated by a biasing means, said moving pulley and said biasing means cooperate together as a tensioner for maintaining tension in said wire as long as said wire remains intact (Column 4, lines 39-47; Column 6, lines 31-39; Column 13, lines 25-45; Column 15, lines 33-51)
A descender having a lifeline wound about a drum or a pulley that rotates during descent could also be used to generate energy that can be converted into electrical power. Examples of a descender are those commercially available under the trade designation “ROLLGLISS” descender manufactured from 3M Company. These types of fall protection devices are known in the art, and it is recognized that other suitable types of fall protection devices could be used.[Col 4, ln 39-47]
Different types of self-retracting lifelines and descenders could be used. For example, mechanical braking systems and eddy current braking systems could be used. Self-retracting lifelines and descenders are similar in that they both may include a rotatable member, such as a drum or a pulley about which a lifeline is wound. Therefore, these terms could be used interchangeably and use of one of these terms should not exclude the other term.[Col 6, ln 31-39]
A self-retracting lifeline, or a one-way clutch, as previously described, exhibits minimal friction thus minimizing loss of kinetic energy through a clutch when the lifeline is not pulled or retracted. By using metal spring wires to build such a one-way clutch, they also serve as electric contact brushes to conduct electric currents from rotating coils, thus eliminating additional loss of kinetic energy to friction through separate electric contact brushes. Forces on a spring wire and its effective length in both states of forces rotation and free rotation are illustrated in FIGS. 6D, 6E, 7A, and 7B. The force on the wire is to the third power of its effective length while it is directly proportional to its deflection. For example, if L is 10 times of 1, the force to bend the wire in the direction of free rotation is 1/1000.sup.th of that in the direction of forced rotation to yield the same amount of deflection. Even when required deflection is 10 times larger in free rotation the force is still 1/100.sup.th of the force in forced rotation.[Col 13, ln 25-45]
The impact indicator could be a mechanical switch, such as a biasing member, to make or break electrical contacts corresponding to predetermined tension applied to the lifeline. When the tension on a self-retracting lifeline exceeds at least one threshold (e.g., the arresting force of the self-retracting lifeline), electrical contact is made. This can be accomplished by introducing a compressive element (e.g., a spring) between the element used to suspend the self-retracting lifeline to an anchorage (e.g., the swivel) and the housing, such that when a load is placed across the self-retracting lifeline, the compressive element is compressed, allowing electrical contact to be made at a pre-determined compression distance. The electrical contacts are connected to the element used to suspend the self-retracting lifeline and the housing of the self-retracting lifeline. One of the contacts is stationary, the other is capable of linear displacement equal to the compression of the compressive element. This arrangement is also conceivable using an extension element in place of the compression element. [Col 15, ln 33-51]
It would therefore obvious during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Blackford’s teaching with Shmuel’s teaching in order to enable a more efficient safety monitoring system for an eruv pole/beam.
In regards to claim 3, Shmuel modified via Blackford teaches biasing means selected from the group consisting of a spring, an elastic band, a torsion bar, a pneumatic cylinder, a hydraulic cylinder, a magnet and combinations thereof (Column 4, lines 39-47; Column 6, lines 31-39; Column 13, lines 25-45; Column 15, lines 33-51, Blackford)
A descender having a lifeline wound about a drum or a pulley that rotates during descent could also be used to generate energy that can be converted into electrical power. Examples of a descender are those commercially available under the trade designation “ROLLGLISS” descender manufactured from 3M Company. These types of fall protection devices are known in the art, and it is recognized that other suitable types of fall protection devices could be used.[Col 4, ln 39-47]
Different types of self-retracting lifelines and descenders could be used. For example, mechanical braking systems and eddy current braking systems could be used. Self-retracting lifelines and descenders are similar in that they both may include a rotatable member, such as a drum or a pulley about which a lifeline is wound. Therefore, these terms could be used interchangeably and use of one of these terms should not exclude the other term.[Col 6, ln 31-39]
A self-retracting lifeline, or a one-way clutch, as previously described, exhibits minimal friction thus minimizing loss of kinetic energy through a clutch when the lifeline is not pulled or retracted. By using metal spring wires to build such a one-way clutch, they also serve as electric contact brushes to conduct electric currents from rotating coils, thus eliminating additional loss of kinetic energy to friction through separate electric contact brushes. Forces on a spring wire and its effective length in both states of forces rotation and free rotation are illustrated in FIGS. 6D, 6E, 7A, and 7B. The force on the wire is to the third power of its effective length while it is directly proportional to its deflection. For example, if L is 10 times of 1, the force to bend the wire in the direction of free rotation is 1/1000.sup.th of that in the direction of forced rotation to yield the same amount of deflection. Even when required deflection is 10 times larger in free rotation the force is still 1/100.sup.th of the force in forced rotation.[Col 13, ln 25-45]
The impact indicator could be a mechanical switch, such as a biasing member, to make or break electrical contacts corresponding to predetermined tension applied to the lifeline. When the tension on a self-retracting lifeline exceeds at least one threshold (e.g., the arresting force of the self-retracting lifeline), electrical contact is made. This can be accomplished by introducing a compressive element (e.g., a spring) between the element used to suspend the self-retracting lifeline to an anchorage (e.g., the swivel) and the housing, such that when a load is placed across the self-retracting lifeline, the compressive element is compressed, allowing electrical contact to be made at a pre-determined compression distance. The electrical contacts are connected to the element used to suspend the self-retracting lifeline and the housing of the self-retracting lifeline. One of the contacts is stationary, the other is capable of linear displacement equal to the compression of the compressive element. This arrangement is also conceivable using an extension element in place of the compression element. [Col 15, ln 33-51]
In regards to claim 4, Shmuel modified via Blackford teaches actuation occurs when said energy release is greater than a predetermined threshold (Column 15, lines 33-51, Blackford)
The impact indicator could be a mechanical switch, such as a biasing member, to make or break electrical contacts corresponding to predetermined tension applied to the lifeline. When the tension on a self-retracting lifeline exceeds at least one threshold (e.g., the arresting force of the self-retracting lifeline), electrical contact is made. This can be accomplished by introducing a compressive element (e.g., a spring) between the element used to suspend the self-retracting lifeline to an anchorage (e.g., the swivel) and the housing, such that when a load is placed across the self-retracting lifeline, the compressive element is compressed, allowing electrical contact to be made at a pre-determined compression distance. The electrical contacts are connected to the element used to suspend the self-retracting lifeline and the housing of the self-retracting lifeline. One of the contacts is stationary, the other is capable of linear displacement equal to the compression of the compressive element. This arrangement is also conceivable using an extension element in place of the compression element. [Col 15, ln 33-51]
In regards to claim 5, Shmuel modified via Blackford teaches energy release causes said biasing means to change shape.(Column 15, lines 51-65, Blackford)
More specifically, as shown in FIGS. 19A and 19B, a swivel assembly is comprised of a first part 801 and a second part 802. A compression spring 803 is positioned between the first part of the swivel assembly 801 and a housing 800. Within the housing is an electrical switch 810 comprised of a first electrical contact 804 and a second electrical contact 805. Tension is applied to the elongate member and compresses the compression spring 803. When the compression spring 803 is compressed to a predetermined height the first electrical contact 804 and second electrical contact 805 make contact completing an electrical circuit. It is recognized that the opposite could be done, too, because tension could open the contacts if the spring is located between the second part 802 and the housing 800 rather than the first part 801 and the housing 800. This makes a normally closed (NC) switch rather than a normally open (NO) switch.[Col 15, ln 51-65]
Here the change in shape of the spring due to excessive tension causes the electrical switch to be activated.
In regards to claim 6, Shmuel modified via Blackford teaches change in shape causes said actuation of said switch (Column 15, lines 51-65, Blackford)
More specifically, as shown in FIGS. 19A and 19B, a swivel assembly is comprised of a first part 801 and a second part 802. A compression spring 803 is positioned between the first part of the swivel assembly 801 and a housing 800. Within the housing is an electrical switch 810 comprised of a first electrical contact 804 and a second electrical contact 805. Tension is applied to the elongate member and compresses the compression spring 803. When the compression spring 803 is compressed to a predetermined height the first electrical contact 804 and second electrical contact 805 make contact completing an electrical circuit. It is recognized that the opposite could be done, too, because tension could open the contacts if the spring is located between the second part 802 and the housing 800 rather than the first part 801 and the housing 800. This makes a normally closed (NC) switch rather than a normally open (NO) switch.[Col 15, ln 51-65]
In regards to claim 7, Shmuel modified via Blackford teaches moving pulley is connected to said biasing means such that said change in shape causes said translation (Column 4, lines 39-47; Column 6, lines 31-39, Blackford)
A descender having a lifeline wound about a drum or a pulley that rotates during descent could also be used to generate energy that can be converted into electrical power. Examples of a descender are those commercially available under the trade designation “ROLLGLISS” descender manufactured from 3M Company. These types of fall protection devices are known in the art, and it is recognized that other suitable types of fall protection devices could be used.[Col 4, ln 39-47]
Different types of self-retracting lifelines and descenders could be used. For example, mechanical braking systems and eddy current braking systems could be used. Self-retracting lifelines and descenders are similar in that they both may include a rotatable member, such as a drum or a pulley about which a lifeline is wound. Therefore, these terms could be used interchangeably and use of one of these terms should not exclude the other term.[Col 6, ln 31-39]
Here we see the pulley element combine with the spring descender such that when tension causes descent and change in shape of the spring, the energy generated may be converted into electrical power.
In regards to claim 8, Shmuel teaches a for monitoring and controlling eruv, and locating and specifying eruv malfunctions, said system comprising at least one wire; at least two eruv poles connected with said wire; (Page 1, Field of Invention; Page 2, Background, Eruv T’chumin; Page 3, Detailed Description; Page 3, Configuration 1, Method 2;Page 3 Configuration 1, Method 1; Page 3, Configuration 2)
This invention is associated with halachic technology- technological systems to assist Torah observant Jews. One of the acts forbidden on Shabbos is moving an object from a private property (such as house) to public domain (such as the street) and vice versa. In order for it to be halachically permitted to move an object from one domain to another, the entire city must be defined as one domain. One of the accepted methods of implementing this nowadays according to come poskim, is to demarcate all or part of the city by stretching a line over posts that circle around the city or area. This is called 'eruv'. Almost every Jewish settlement in Israel includes some kind of eruv; the most common method is use of eruv lines.[Pg 1, Field of Invention]
The eruv usually consists of designated pillars over which a thin , taut wire is stretched, which is halachically called a shape of the opening. This is considered a kosher partition for the eruv, and transforms the enclosed area into a private domain, [Pg 2, Background, Eruv T’chumin]
The system is based on an optical fiber (configuration 1) or an electrically conductive wire (configuration2) that has the ability to withstand harsh weather conditions and is connected along the length of the eruv wire on the top of the posts (see illustrations 1 and 2) Alternatively, the optical fiber or the electrical conductor is also able to stand on its own, and can be considered exclusively as the eruv wire.[Pg 3, Detailed Description]
The light source and sensor are connected at the same end of the optic fiber. The sensor senses light that is reflected from the fiber itself along its entire length. In the case of an extremely long eruv wire, an optical amplifier is connected to the fiber in various places to increase the transmission capacity[Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 2]
A light source is connected to one end of the fiber that transmits light along the fiber to other end where a light sensor is connected. This provides an indication of the continuity of the light transmission- i.e., the intactness of the eruv.[Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 1]
A voltage source is connected to one end of the conductive cable which transmits along the fiber to the other end of the cable where than electrical sensor is connected. This provides an indication of the continuity of the electricity transmission -which implies the intactness of the eruv. [Pg 3, Configuration 2]
There are two eruv pillars (1)(1), with the wire (2) stretched between the tops of the pillars.
Shmuel then teaches at least one switch being actuated during a release of said stored energy from tension on the wire; and at least one transmitter communicably coupled to said switch, said transmitter sending at least one first signal according to said switch status and said switch location (Page 3, Configuration 1, Method 2)
The sensor is connected to a computer-based operating system,/wireless transmitter/communication switch, etc., which recognizes if the eruv is intact. The decoded signa; can be presented via several methods-visual signal, notification to a cell phone, voice signal and more. [Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 2]
The light source and the sensor are connected at the same end of the optic fiber. The sensor senses light that is reflected from the fiber itself along its entire length. According to the return time and its strength the system can the identify if the fiber is damaged and also locate the point of disconnection, if there is one [Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 2]
Here we see the sensor connected to at least one communication switch, actuated during the release of stored energy (when the wire breaks from tension) and transmits at least one signal that indicates the break in the wire, as well as the location of the breakage in relation to the switch
Shmuel however, fails to teach at least one biasing means storing energy during stretching of said wire, as well at least one biasing means storing energy during stretching of said wire, as well as at least one polyspast with at least one moving pulley translated by said biasing means, said moving pulley and said biasing means cooperate together as a tensioner for maintaining tension in said wire as long as said wire remains intact.
Blackford on the other hand teaches at least one polyspast with at least one moving pulley translated by a biasing means, said moving pulley and said biasing means cooperate together as a tensioner for maintaining tension in said wire as long as said wire remains intact (Column 4, lines 39-47; Column 6, lines 31-39; Column 13, lines 25-45; Column 15, lines 33-51)
A descender having a lifeline wound about a drum or a pulley that rotates during descent could also be used to generate energy that can be converted into electrical power. Examples of a descender are those commercially available under the trade designation “ROLLGLISS” descender manufactured from 3M Company. These types of fall protection devices are known in the art, and it is recognized that other suitable types of fall protection devices could be used.[Col 4, ln 39-47]
Different types of self-retracting lifelines and descenders could be used. For example, mechanical braking systems and eddy current braking systems could be used. Self-retracting lifelines and descenders are similar in that they both may include a rotatable member, such as a drum or a pulley about which a lifeline is wound. Therefore, these terms could be used interchangeably and use of one of these terms should not exclude the other term.[Col 6, ln 31-39]
A self-retracting lifeline, or a one-way clutch, as previously described, exhibits minimal friction thus minimizing loss of kinetic energy through a clutch when the lifeline is not pulled or retracted. By using metal spring wires to build such a one-way clutch, they also serve as electric contact brushes to conduct electric currents from rotating coils, thus eliminating additional loss of kinetic energy to friction through separate electric contact brushes. Forces on a spring wire and its effective length in both states of forces rotation and free rotation are illustrated in FIGS. 6D, 6E, 7A, and 7B. The force on the wire is to the third power of its effective length while it is directly proportional to its deflection. For example, if L is 10 times of 1, the force to bend the wire in the direction of free rotation is 1/1000.sup.th of that in the direction of forced rotation to yield the same amount of deflection. Even when required deflection is 10 times larger in free rotation the force is still 1/100.sup.th of the force in forced rotation.[Col 13, ln 25-45]
The impact indicator could be a mechanical switch, such as a biasing member, to make or break electrical contacts corresponding to predetermined tension applied to the lifeline. When the tension on a self-retracting lifeline exceeds at least one threshold (e.g., the arresting force of the self-retracting lifeline), electrical contact is made. This can be accomplished by introducing a compressive element (e.g., a spring) between the element used to suspend the self-retracting lifeline to an anchorage (e.g., the swivel) and the housing, such that when a load is placed across the self-retracting lifeline, the compressive element is compressed, allowing electrical contact to be made at a pre-determined compression distance. The electrical contacts are connected to the element used to suspend the self-retracting lifeline and the housing of the self-retracting lifeline. One of the contacts is stationary, the other is capable of linear displacement equal to the compression of the compressive element. This arrangement is also conceivable using an extension element in place of the compression element. [Col 15, ln 33-51]
It would therefore obvious during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Blackford’s teaching with Shmuel’s teaching in order to enable a more efficient safety monitoring system for an eruv pole/beam.
In regards to claim 10, Shmuel modified via Blackford teaches actuation occurs when said energy release is greater than a predetermined threshold(Column 15, lines 33-51)
The impact indicator could be a mechanical switch, such as a biasing member, to make or break electrical contacts corresponding to predetermined tension applied to the lifeline. When the tension on a self-retracting lifeline exceeds at least one threshold (e.g., the arresting force of the self-retracting lifeline), electrical contact is made. This can be accomplished by introducing a compressive element (e.g., a spring) between the element used to suspend the self-retracting lifeline to an anchorage (e.g., the swivel) and the housing, such that when a load is placed across the self-retracting lifeline, the compressive element is compressed, allowing electrical contact to be made at a pre-determined compression distance. The electrical contacts are connected to the element used to suspend the self-retracting lifeline and the housing of the self-retracting lifeline. One of the contacts is stationary, the other is capable of linear displacement equal to the compression of the compressive element. This arrangement is also conceivable using an extension element in place of the compression element. [Col 15, ln 33-51]
In regards to claim 11, Shmuel modified teaches at least one display module, said display module configured to receive and process said first signal, and to display information corresponding to said switch, and said switch location (Page 3, Configuration 1, Method 2; Figure 5 (3d))
In the event of a fault in the fiber, the light will not travel the entire length of the fiber, and obviously will not be returned from its entire length, and the sensor will send a signal accordingly. This signal will be ‘decoded’ into a warning message, and sent to the user via the operating system. (Examples can be seen in illustration 5) [Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 2]
The sensor is connected to a computer-based operating system/wireless transmitter/communication switch, etc., which recognizes if the eruv is intact. The decoded signal can be presented via several methods (Examples can be seen in illustration 5)- visual signal, notification to a cell phone, voice signal and more[Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 2]
Here we see the transmitted signal being illustrated in the form of a visual display via a laptop means, of cellular phone mobile app. The data transmitted includes the switch and location information of the disconnection.
In regards to claim 13, Shmuel teaches a method for monitoring and controlling eruv compliance with Halacha requirements comprising tying a wire to a first eruv pole; elevating said wire to said first pole top; guiding said wire continuation up to a second eruv pole top(Page 1, Field of Invention; Page 2, Background, Eruv T’chumin; Page 3, Detailed Description; Page 3, Configuration 1, Method 2;Page 3 Configuration 1, Method 1; Page 3, Configuration 2)
This invention is associated with halachic technology- technological systems to assist Torah observant Jews. One of the acts forbidden on Shabbos is moving an object from a private property (such as house) to public domain (such as the street) and vice versa. In order for it to be halachically permitted to move an object from one domain to another, the entire city must be defined as one domain. One of the accepted methods of implementing this nowadays according to come poskim, is to demarcate all or part of the city by stretching a line over posts that circle around the city or area. This is called 'eruv'. Almost every Jewish settlement in Israel includes some kind of eruv; the most common method is use of eruv lines.[Pg 1, Field of Invention]
The eruv usually consists of designated pillars over which a thin , taut wire is stretched, which is halachically called a shape of the opening. This is considered a kosher partition for the eruv, and transforms the enclosed area into a private domain, [Pg 2, Background, Eruv T’chumin]
The system is based on an optical fiber (configuration 1) or an electrically conductive wire (configuration2) that has the ability to withstand harsh weather conditions and is connected along the length of the eruv wire on the top of the posts (see illustrations 1 and 2) Alternatively, the optical fiber or the electrical conductor is also able to stand on its own, and can be considered exclusively as the eruv wire.[Pg 3, Detailed Description]
The light source and sensor are connected at the same end of the optic fiber. The sensor senses light that is reflected from the fiber itself along its entire length. In the case of an extremely long eruv wire, an optical amplifier is connected to the fiber in various places to increase the transmission capacity[Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 2]
A light source is connected to one end of the fiber that transmits light along the fiber to other end where a light sensor is connected. This provides an indication of the continuity of the light transmission- i.e., the intactness of the eruv.[Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 1]
A voltage source is connected to one end of the conductive cable which transmits along the fiber to the other end of the cable where than electrical sensor is connected. This provides an indication of the continuity of the electricity transmission -which implies the intactness of the eruv. [Pg 3, Configuration 2]
There are two eruv pillars (1)(1), with the wire (2) stretched between the tops of the two pillars them.
Shmuel teaches tying said wire to said second eruv pole; receiving at least one first signal from at least one switch being actuated when said wire tension decreases below a predefined threshold; and receiving said switch location Page 1, Field of Invention; Page 2, Background, Eruv T’chumin; Page 3, Detailed Description; Page 3, Configuration 1, Method 2;Page 3 Configuration 1, Method 1; Page 3, Configuration 2)
The eruv usually consists of designated pillars over which a thin , taut wire is stretched, which is halachically called a shape of the opening. This is considered a kosher partition for the eruv, and transforms the enclosed area into a private domain, [Pg 2, Background, Eruv T’chumin]
The system is based on an optical fiber (configuration 1) or an electrically conductive wire (configuration2) that has the ability to withstand harsh weather conditions and is connected along the length of the eruv wire on the top of the posts (see illustrations 1 and 2) Alternatively, the optical fiber or the electrical conductor is also able to stand on its own, and can be considered exclusively as the eruv wire.[Pg 3, Detailed Description]
The sensor is connected to a computer-based operating system,/wireless transmitter/communication switch, etc., which recognizes if the eruv is intact. The decoded signa; can be presented via several methods-visual signal, notification to a cell phone, voice signal and more. [Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 2]
Here we see the sensor connected to at least one communication switch, actuated during the tension dropping below a given threshold due to the breaking of the wire and transmits at least one signal that indicates the break in the wire
Shmuel fails to teach threading said wire through at least one pulley in at least one polyspast; threading said wire through at least one pulley of at least one tensioner; stretching said wire against said tensioner resistance
Blackford on the other hand teaches threading said wire through at least one pulley in at least one polyspast; threading said wire through at least one pulley of at least one tensioner; stretching said wire against said tensioner resistance(Column 4, lines 39-47; Column 6, lines 31-39; Column 13, lines 25-45; Column 15, lines 33-51)
A descender having a lifeline wound about a drum or a pulley that rotates during descent could also be used to generate energy that can be converted into electrical power. Examples of a descender are those commercially available under the trade designation “ROLLGLISS” descender manufactured from 3M Company. These types of fall protection devices are known in the art, and it is recognized that other suitable types of fall protection devices could be used.[Col 4, ln 39-47]
Different types of self-retracting lifelines and descenders could be used. For example, mechanical braking systems and eddy current braking systems could be used. Self-retracting lifelines and descenders are similar in that they both may include a rotatable member, such as a drum or a pulley about which a lifeline is wound. Therefore, these terms could be used interchangeably and use of one of these terms should not exclude the other term.[Col 6, ln 31-39]
A self-retracting lifeline, or a one-way clutch, as previously described, exhibits minimal friction thus minimizing loss of kinetic energy through a clutch when the lifeline is not pulled or retracted. By using metal spring wires to build such a one-way clutch, they also serve as electric contact brushes to conduct electric currents from rotating coils, thus eliminating additional loss of kinetic energy to friction through separate electric contact brushes. Forces on a spring wire and its effective length in both states of forces rotation and free rotation are illustrated in FIGS. 6D, 6E, 7A, and 7B. The force on the wire is to the third power of its effective length while it is directly proportional to its deflection. For example, if L is 10 times of 1, the force to bend the wire in the direction of free rotation is 1/1000.sup.th of that in the direction of forced rotation to yield the same amount of deflection. Even when required deflection is 10 times larger in free rotation the force is still 1/100.sup.th of the force in forced rotation.[Col 13, ln 25-45]
The impact indicator could be a mechanical switch, such as a biasing member, to make or break electrical contacts corresponding to predetermined tension applied to the lifeline. When the tension on a self-retracting lifeline exceeds at least one threshold (e.g., the arresting force of the self-retracting lifeline), electrical contact is made. This can be accomplished by introducing a compressive element (e.g., a spring) between the element used to suspend the self-retracting lifeline to an anchorage (e.g., the swivel) and the housing, such that when a load is placed across the self-retracting lifeline, the compressive element is compressed, allowing electrical contact to be made at a pre-determined compression distance. The electrical contacts are connected to the element used to suspend the self-retracting lifeline and the housing of the self-retracting lifeline. One of the contacts is stationary, the other is capable of linear displacement equal to the compression of the compressive element. This arrangement is also conceivable using an extension element in place of the compression element. [Col 15, ln 33-51]
It would therefore obvious during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Blackford’s teaching with Shmuel’s teaching in order to enable a more efficient safety monitoring system for an eruv pole/beam.
Claim(s) 2, 9, 12,14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shmuel (IL 121617 A) in view of Blackford et al. (US 11260252 B2). as applied to claims 1, 8, 13 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (CN 114014164 A).
In regards to claim 2, Shmuel modified fails to at least one tilt sensor that sends at least one signal when said pole tilts more than a predetermined threshold.
Huang on the other hand teaches at least one tilt sensor that sends at least one signal when said pole tilts more than a predetermined threshold (Claim 9)
The control method of crane hook vertical control system according to claim 8, wherein the control method further comprises a tilt sensor (7) calibration step, the tilt sensor (7) calibration step is carried out by the operator in the crane mounting stage or crane maintenance stage, the tilt sensor (7) calibration steps are as follows: operating personnel operation controller (5) enters the calibration step and keeps the hook (4) vertically downward operating personnel the operation controller (5) is used for calibrating the inclination angle signal emitted by the inclination angle sensor (7) is 0 degrees, the operation controller (5) inputs the threshold value of the crane operating personnel safety the 0 degree inclination angle signal is calibrated, operating the crane to carry out the second step of preparing when the threshold of the input crane safety input operating personnel a third step detecting step and a fourth step adjusting step to calibrate the crane safety threshold value, operating personnel the crane working condition, when the X value and Y value in the working process of the amplitude changing mechanism (8) and the rotating mechanism (9) in the fourth step adjusting step are not reduced, it represents that the inclination angle sensor (7) needs to be changed; when the crane finishes the second step of hanging goods, the third step of detecting the inclination angle data and the fourth step of adjusting the lifting posture, the inclination angle sensor (7) calibrating step is finished.[Cl 9]
Here, we see a vertical crane like pole with tilt sensors, capable of sending at least one signal when said pole tilts more than a predetermined threshold, based on angle tilt. As a result, it would have been obvious during the filing date of the said invention to combine Huang’s teaching with Shmuel modified’s teaching in order to enable ensure safety of operation of a crane or eruv like beam/pole accordingly
In regards to claim 9, Shmuel modified fails to teach at least one tilt sensor that sends at least one second signal regarding said pole tilt and location.
Huang on the other hand teaches at least one tilt sensor that sends at least one signal when said pole tilts more than a predetermined threshold (Claim 9)
The control method of crane hook vertical control system according to claim 8, wherein the control method further comprises a tilt sensor (7) calibration step, the tilt sensor (7) calibration step is carried out by the operator in the crane mounting stage or crane maintenance stage, the tilt sensor (7) calibration steps are as follows: operating personnel operation controller (5) enters the calibration step and keeps the hook (4) vertically downward operating personnel the operation controller (5) is used for calibrating the inclination angle signal emitted by the inclination angle sensor (7) is 0 degrees, the operation controller (5) inputs the threshold value of the crane operating personnel safety the 0 degree inclination angle signal is calibrated, operating the crane to carry out the second step of preparing when the threshold of the input crane safety input operating personnel a third step detecting step and a fourth step adjusting step to calibrate the crane safety threshold value, operating personnel the crane working condition, when the X value and Y value in the working process of the amplitude changing mechanism (8) and the rotating mechanism (9) in the fourth step adjusting step are not reduced, it represents that the inclination angle sensor (7) needs to be changed; when the crane finishes the second step of hanging goods, the third step of detecting the inclination angle data and the fourth step of adjusting the lifting posture, the inclination angle sensor (7) calibrating step is finished.[Cl 9]
Here, we see a vertical crane like pole with tilt sensors, capable of sending at least one signal when said pole tilts more than a predetermined threshold, based on angle tilt, when combined with Shmuel’s teaching of fault location, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the combined application will enable locating the areas of angular title along the eruv. As a result, it would have been obvious during the filing date of the said invention to combine Huang’s teaching with Shmuel modified’s teaching in order to enable ensure safety of operation of a crane or eruv like beam/pole accordingly
In regards to claim 12, Shmuel modified teaches at least one display module, said display module configured to receive and process said second signal(Page 3, Configuration 1, Method 2; Figure 5 (3d))
In the event of a fault in the fiber, the light will not travel the entire length of the fiber, and obviously will not be returned from its entire length, and the sensor will send a signal accordingly. This signal will be ‘decoded’ into a warning message, and sent to the user via the operating system. (Examples can be seen in illustration 5) [Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 2]
The sensor is connected to a computer-based operating system/wireless transmitter/communication switch, etc., which recognizes if the eruv is intact. The decoded signal can be presented via several methods (Examples can be seen in illustration 5)- visual signal, notification to a cell phone, voice signal and more[Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 2]
Here we see the transmitted signal being illustrated in the form of a visual display via a laptop means, of cellular phone mobile app. The data transmitted includes the switch and location information of the disconnection.
In combination with Huang’s teaching a vertical crane like pole with tilt sensors, capable of sending at least one signal when said pole tilts more than a predetermined threshold, based on angle tilt. In combination with Shmuel’s fault event detection and transmission to a computer based operating system with visual display. Thereby making it obvious to display a fault event such as a tilt event
In regards to claim 14, Shmuel modified fails to teach at least one second signal from at least one tilt sensor when at least one of said poles tilts more than a predetermined threshold; and receiving said pole location.
Huang on the other hand teaches at least one tilt sensor that sends at least one signal when said pole tilts more than a predetermined threshold (Claim 9)
The control method of crane hook vertical control system according to claim 8, wherein the control method further comprises a tilt sensor (7) calibration step, the tilt sensor (7) calibration step is carried out by the operator in the crane mounting stage or crane maintenance stage, the tilt sensor (7) calibration steps are as follows: operating personnel operation controller (5) enters the calibration step and keeps the hook (4) vertically downward operating personnel the operation controller (5) is used for calibrating the inclination angle signal emitted by the inclination angle sensor (7) is 0 degrees, the operation controller (5) inputs the threshold value of the crane operating personnel safety the 0 degree inclination angle signal is calibrated, operating the crane to carry out the second step of preparing when the threshold of the input crane safety input operating personnel a third step detecting step and a fourth step adjusting step to calibrate the crane safety threshold value, operating personnel the crane working condition, when the X value and Y value in the working process of the amplitude changing mechanism (8) and the rotating mechanism (9) in the fourth step adjusting step are not reduced, it represents that the inclination angle sensor (7) needs to be changed; when the crane finishes the second step of hanging goods, the third step of detecting the inclination angle data and the fourth step of adjusting the lifting posture, the inclination angle sensor (7) calibrating step is finished.[Cl 9]
Here, we see a vertical crane like pole with tilt sensors, capable of sending at least one signal when said pole tilts more than a predetermined threshold, based on angle tilt, when combined with Shmuel’s teaching of fault location, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the combined application will enable locating the areas of angular title along the eruv. As a result, it would have been obvious during the filing date of the said invention to combine Huang’s teaching with Shmuel modified’s teaching in order to enable ensure safety of operation of a crane or eruv like beam/pole accordingly
In regards to claim 15, Shmuel modified teaches at least one display module, said display module configured to receive and process said second signal(Page 3, Configuration 1, Method 2; Figure 5 (3d))
In the event of a fault in the fiber, the light will not travel the entire length of the fiber, and obviously will not be returned from its entire length, and the sensor will send a signal accordingly. This signal will be ‘decoded’ into a warning message, and sent to the user via the operating system. (Examples can be seen in illustration 5) [Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 2]
The sensor is connected to a computer-based operating system/wireless transmitter/communication switch, etc., which recognizes if the eruv is intact. The decoded signal can be presented via several methods (Examples can be seen in illustration 5)- visual signal, notification to a cell phone, voice signal and more[Pg 3, Configuration 1, Method 2]
Here we see the transmitted signal being illustrated in the form of a visual display via a laptop means, of cellular phone mobile app. The data transmitted includes the switch and location information of the disconnection.
In combination with Huang’s teaching a vertical crane like pole with tilt sensors, capable of sending at least one signal when said pole tilts more than a predetermined threshold, based on angle tilt. In combination with Shmuel’s fault event detection and transmission to a computer based operating system with visual display. Thereby making it obvious to display a fault event such as a tilt event
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D AFRIFA-KYEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686