DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “obtain second probe data” should be “obtaining second probe data.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-10, 14, 15, 17, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rusanovskyy et al (US 20170332098) in view of McGuire et al (US 20210012562).
As to claim 1, Rusanovskyy discloses a probe data processing method (FIG. 5), comprising:
obtaining a bitstream (see [0071] and [0082]);
obtaining first probe data, in a current probe data group, by parsing the bitstream (see [0082], HDR′ data 120; FIG. 2 and [0052]), wherein the first probe data corresponds to a non-linear domain signal (see [0081]-[0082], Transfer function 112 may compact linear RGB data 110 using any number of non-linear transfer functions … inverse transfer function 126 may be applied to the data to add back the dynamic range that was compacted by transfer function 112 to recreate the linear RGB data 128 [HDR′ data 120 corresponds to a non-linear domain signal]);
obtaining an inverse conversion function of the current probe data group (FIG. 5, inverse color conversion process 124 and inverse transfer function 126); and
obtain second probe data, in the current probe data group, by performing spatial inverse conversion on the first probe data according to the inverse conversion function (see [0082]), and the second probe data corresponds to a linear domain signal (see [0082], linear RGB data 128).
Rusanovskyy fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second probe data corresponds to one or more probes in a three-dimensional scene.
However, McGuire teaches wherein the second probe data corresponds to one or more probes in a three-dimensional scene (see [0024]-[0026]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Rusanovskyy using McGuire’s teachings to include wherein the second probe data corresponds to one or more probes in a three-dimensional scene in order to provide probe-based dynamic global illumination for updating and interpolating the irradiance field, as represented in dynamic diffuse global-illumination probes, in the presence of dynamic scene geometry and lighting, robustly treating temporal occlusion and lighting variation and compute accurate diffuse, glossy, and specular global-illumination effects in arbitrarily dynamic scenes at high performance (McGuire; [0129]-[0130]).
As to claim 2, modified Rusanovskyy further discloses wherein obtaining the inverse conversion function of the current probe data group comprises:
obtaining a conversion function parameter of the current probe data group; and obtaining the inverse conversion function of the current probe data group based on the conversion function parameter of the current probe data group (see [0141]-[0147]: Scaling of the video signal by applying a determined multiplier and an offset value by any of these techniques … d. scaling of the transform basis function prior to conducting the transformation of the signal [0146] e. scaling of transform basis function by updating the normalization factors for each transfer function [0147] f. updating the quantization scheme value with derived scale).
As to claim 7, modified Rusanovskyy further discloses wherein obtaining the conversion function parameter of the current probe data group further comprises:
in association with determining to update the conversion function parameter of the current probe data group, the conversion function parameter of the current probe data group is an intermediate conversion function parameter obtained based on third probe data (see [0141]-[0147]).
As to claim 8, modified Rusanovskyy further discloses wherein obtaining the conversion function parameter of the current probe data group comprises: obtaining the conversion function parameter of the current probe data group by parsing the bitstream (see [0139]-[0156]: the derivation of scaling parameters from spatio temporal neighborhood of the signal as well as from syntax elements of compressed bitstream … as a function of syntax element value decoded from the bitstream).
As to claim 9, Rusanovskyy discloses a probe data encoding method (FIG. 4), comprising:
obtaining first probe data in a current probe data group (see [0081]; FIG. 2 and [0052]), and the first probe data corresponds to a linear domain signal (see [0081], Linear RGB data 110);
obtaining a conversion function of the current probe data group (FIG. 4, Transfer function 112 and color conversion process 114);
obtaining second probe data, in the current probe data group, by performing spatial conversion on the first probe data according to the conversion function (see [0081], HDR′ data 118), wherein the second probe data corresponds to a non-linear domain signal (see [0081], Linear RGB data 110 may be compacted using a non-linear transfer function (TF) 112 for dynamic range compacting … produce converted HDR′ data 118 [i.e. HDR′ data 118 corresponds to a non-linear domain signal]); and
obtaining a first bitstream by encoding the second probe data (see [0069] and [0081]).
Rusanovskyy fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first probe data corresponds to one or more probes in a three-dimensional scene.
However, McGuire teaches wherein the first probe data corresponds to one or more probes in a three-dimensional scene (see [0024]-[0026]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Rusanovskyy using McGuire’s teachings to include wherein the first probe data corresponds to one or more probes in a three-dimensional scene in order to provide probe-based dynamic global illumination for updating and interpolating the irradiance field, as represented in dynamic diffuse global-illumination probes, in the presence of dynamic scene geometry and lighting, robustly treating temporal occlusion and lighting variation and compute accurate diffuse, glossy, and specular global-illumination effects in arbitrarily dynamic scenes at high performance (McGuire; [0129]-[0130]).
As to claim 10, modified Rusanovskyy further discloses wherein obtaining the conversion function of the current probe data group comprises: obtaining a conversion function parameter of the current probe data group; and obtaining the conversion function of the current probe data group based on the conversion function parameter of the current probe data group (see [0141]-[0147]: Scaling of the video signal by applying a determined multiplier and an offset value by any of these techniques … d. scaling of the transform basis function prior to conducting the transformation of the signal [0146] e. scaling of transform basis function by updating the normalization factors for each transfer function [0147] f. updating the quantization scheme value with derived scale).
As to claim 14, modified Rusanovskyy further discloses wherein obtaining the conversion function parameter of the current probe data group further comprises: in association with determining to update the conversion function parameter of the current probe data group, the conversion function parameter of the current probe data group is an intermediate conversion function parameter obtained based on third probe data.
As to claim 15, modified Rusanovskyy further discloses further comprising: obtaining a second bitstream by encoding the conversion function parameter of the current probe data group (see [0139]-[0156]: the derivation of scaling parameters from spatio temporal neighborhood of the signal as well as from syntax elements of compressed bitstream … Signaling of parameters of derivation and/or scaling process as syntax elements of bitstream).
As to claim 17, Rusanovskyy discloses decoding apparatus (FIG. 15), comprising:
a processor (see [0010], [0051]); and
a memory configured to store computer readable instructions that, when executed by the processor (see [0012], [0051]), cause the decoding apparatus to:
obtain a bitstream (see [0071] and [0082]);
obtain first probe data, in a current probe data group, by parsing the bitstream (see [0082], HDR′ data 120; FIG. 2 and [0052]), wherein the first probe data corresponds to a non-linear domain signal (see [0081]-[0082], Transfer function 112 may compact linear RGB data 110 using any number of non-linear transfer functions … inverse transfer function 126 may be applied to the data to add back the dynamic range that was compacted by transfer function 112 to recreate the linear RGB data 128 [HDR′ data 120 corresponds to a non-linear domain signal]);
obtain an inverse conversion function of the current probe data group (FIG. 5, inverse color conversion process 124 and inverse transfer function 126); and
obtain second probe data, in the current probe data group, by performing spatial inverse conversion on the first probe data according to the inverse conversion function (see [0082]), and the second probe data corresponds to a linear domain signal (see [0082], linear RGB data 128).
Rusanovskyy fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second probe data corresponds to one or more probes in a three-dimensional scene.
However, McGuire teaches wherein the second probe data corresponds to one or more probes in a three-dimensional scene (see [0024]-[0026]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Rusanovskyy using McGuire’s teachings to include wherein the second probe data corresponds to one or more probes in a three-dimensional scene in order to provide probe-based dynamic global illumination for updating and interpolating the irradiance field, as represented in dynamic diffuse global-illumination probes, in the presence of dynamic scene geometry and lighting, robustly treating temporal occlusion and lighting variation and compute accurate diffuse, glossy, and specular global-illumination effects in arbitrarily dynamic scenes at high performance (McGuire; [0129]-[0130]).
As to claim 18, modified Rusanovskyy further discloses wherein the decoding apparatus is further caused to: obtain a conversion function parameter of the current probe data group; and obtain the inverse conversion function of the current probe data group based on the conversion function parameter of the current probe data group (see [0141]-[0147]: Scaling of the video signal by applying a determined multiplier and an offset value by any of these techniques … d. scaling of the transform basis function prior to conducting the transformation of the signal [0146] e. scaling of transform basis function by updating the normalization factors for each transfer function [0147] f. updating the quantization scheme value with derived scale).
As to claim 20, modified Rusanovskyy further discloses wherein the conversion function parameter of the current probe data group is an intermediate conversion function parameter obtained based on third probe data in association with determining to update the conversion function parameter of the current probe data group (see [0141]-[0147]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 11-13, 16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BOUBACAR ABDOU TCHOUSSOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482