DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lecomte et al. (10,984,804) in view of Reznik (2013/0,282,917).
For claims 1, 4, Lecomte teaches a method and device (abstract) performed by a decoder (col. 14, lines 15-25; col. 15, lines 55-65) in a data/network communication system (col. 45, lines 5-10), the device including a processor (col. 44, lines 40-65), the method (background, summary and claims) comprising:
receiving, by the decoder (col. 16, lines 50-55), a payload (col. 16, lines 20-45)for at least one audio channel (col. 15, lines 55-65) encoded and transmitted (col. 11, lines 55-65), and indication information for the at least one audio channel (col. 15, lines 55-65; bit error/error occurrent is the indication information);
based on the indication information for a first audio channel indicating that no bit errors are detected in the payload for the first audio channel (col. 18, lines 1-10), producing, by the decoder, an output signal based on information in the received payload (col. 20, lines 10-25); and
based on the indication information for a second audio channel indicating that bit errors are detected in the payload for the second audio channel, generating, by the decoder, a substitute audio frame without using information in the received payload (col. 28, line 50 – col. 28, line 10; in the alt. col. 33, lines 35-45).
Lecomte does not expressly disclose that the data communication is wireless, with a transceiver or transmitter. Reznik teaches a method and system (abstract) in the relevant art (background, summary and claims) that includes these limitations (Paras 62-63 and 70-73). At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added Reznik in order to provide improvements to stream handling (Paras 2-5).
Claim(s) 2, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lecomte and Reznik as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Greer et al. (9,026,434).
For claim 2, Lecomte teaches some usage of codecs (col. 28, lines 15-25), as does Reznik (Paras 102, 218) but neither teach the express details of this claim. Greer teaches a method and system (abstract) in the relevant art (background, summary and claims) wherein:
the received payload for the at least one audio channel (col. 21, line 60 – col. 22, lines 55) is based on a first codec parameter (col. 18, lines 15-30), and
the substitute audio frame is based on a second codec parameter (col. 17, lines 25-35).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added Greer in order to provide improvements to the process of replacing frames (col. 2, lines 25-65) and to provide codec improvements (col. 3, lines 35-60).
For claim 3, Greer teaches the at least one of the first codec parameter or the second codec parameter includes an externally controlled (col. 26, lines 25-65 in view of col. 2, line 65 – col. 3, line 50) variable codec parameter (col. 13, lines 25-40).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MELVIN H POLLACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445