DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/884368 in view of Min et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0035173).
Claim 1 of the ‘368 application discloses all of the elements of claim 1 of the present application except for the movable part as being for connecting an optical element. Min, however, teaches and renders obvious the connection of the optical element to the movable part (e.g. lens of 1210; Paragraph [0113]) for the purpose of providing movement and optical stabilization of a lens within a camera according to the teachings of Min (Paragraph [0009]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/884421 in view of Min et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0035173).
Claim 1 of the ‘421 application discloses all of the elements of claim 1 of the present application except for the driving assembly. Min, however, teaches and renders obvious the driving assembly (1321-1324, 1221-1222, 1431, and corresponding parts), driving the optical element to move relative to the fixed part (Paragraphs [0112], [0121]) for the purpose of providing movement and optical stabilization of a lens within a camera according to the teachings of Min (Paragraph [0009]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 9, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Min et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0035173).
Regarding claim 1, Min discloses an optical element driving mechanism comprising:
a movable part (Figure 7 element 1200 and corresponding moving parts connected to 1200) for connecting an optical element (e.g. lens of 1210; Paragraph [0113]);
a fixed part (1400) wherein the movable part is moveable relative to the fixed part (Paragraphs [0112], [0121]); and
a driving assembly (1321-1324, 1221-1222, 1431, and corresponding parts), driving the optical element to move relative to the fixed part (Paragraphs [0112], [0121]).
Regarding claim 2, Min discloses the driving assembly as including:
a first coil (Figure 8 element 1221), having a long bar structure, wherein the first coil includes a first section (upper) and a second section (lower), and the second section is parallel to the first section; and
a first magnetic element (1322), having a first magnetic element surface (facing 1221) facing the first coil;
wherein the first coil and the first magnetic element are for driving the movable part to move along a first axis, and the first axis is perpendicular to the first magnetic element surface (Paragraph [0127] specifies driving in the “Y-direction”, see in conjunction with Figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Min discloses the driving assembly as further including:
a second coil (Figure 8 element 1222), having a long bar structure, wherein the second coil includes a third section (upper) and fourth section (lower), and the third section is parallel to the fourth section; and
a second magnetic element (1323), having a second magnetic element surface facing the second coil.
Regarding claim 9, Min discloses the first section as parallel to the third section (Figure 8).
Regarding claim 12, Min discloses:
a third coil (1431); and
a third magnetic element (1321) having a third magnetic element surface (bottom surface) facing the third coil;
the third coil and the third magnetic element are for driving the movable part to move along a third axis (Paragraph [0127]; x-axis), and the third axis is parallel to the third magnetic element surface.
Regarding claim 13, Min discloses the first axis (y-axis) and the third axis (x-axis) as perpendicular to each other;
the first axis as parallel to the third magnetic element surface; the third axis as parallel to the first magnetic element surface (Figures 4, 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0221734 “Kim”).
Regarding claim 3, Min discloses the limitations as discussed above, but fails to disclose the coil and magnetic element configuration. Kim, however, teaches an analogous coil and magnetic element arrangement in which the shortest distance between the first section (Figure 23b element 1322C upper section as labeled below) and the center of the first magnetic element (1311M) is different from the shortest distance between the second section and the center of the first magnetic element (1322C lower section as labeled below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the coil and magnetic element as proposed. One would have been motivated to configure the elements as proposed to enable a mode minimizing image distortion and deformation (Kim: Paragraph [0227]).
Regarding claim 4, Min discloses the limitations as discussed above, but fails to disclose the coil and magnetic element configuration. Kim, however, teaches an analogous coil and magnetic element arrangement in which the shortest distance between the first section (Figure 23b element 1322C upper section as labeled below) and the center of the first magnetic element (1311M) is larger than the shortest distance between the second section and the center of the first magnetic element (1322C lower section as labeled below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the coil and magnetic element as proposed. One would have been motivated to configure the elements as proposed to enable a mode minimizing image distortion and deformation (Kim: Paragraph [0227]).
It is further noted that the configuration is reversed on the right side of figure 23b and that the assignment of the first section and second section of the coil may be swapped.
Regarding claim 6, Min discloses the limitations as discussed above, but fails to disclose the coil and magnetic element configuration. Kim, however, teaches an analogous coil and magnetic element arrangement in which the shortest distance between the first section (Figure 23b element 1322C upper section as labeled below) and the center of the first magnetic element (1311M) is different from the shortest distance between the second section and the center of the first magnetic element (1322C lower section as labeled below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the coil and magnetic element as proposed. One would have been motivated to configure the elements as proposed to enable a mode minimizing image distortion and deformation (Kim: Paragraph [0227]).
Regarding claim 11, Min discloses the limitations as discussed above, but fails to disclose the coil and magnetic element configuration. Kim, however, teaches an analogous coil and magnetic element arrangement in which the shortest distance between the first section (Figure 23b element 1322C upper section as labeled below) and the center of the magnetic element (1311M) is larger than the shortest distance between the second section and the center of the first magnetic element (1322C lower section as labeled below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the coil and magnetic element as proposed. One would have been motivated to configure the elements as proposed to enable a mode minimizing image distortion and deformation (Kim: Paragraph [0227]).
Claims 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min in view of Chiang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0001836).
Regarding claim 7, Min fails to disclose the arrangement of the first and second magnetic elements. Chiang, however, teaches an arrangement of a first magnetic element surface (e.g. 6422/6424) and second magnetic element (6426/6428) as arranged along a second axis (Figure 6, parallel to Z-axis) perpendicular to the first axis (Min: Paragraph [0127]; movement in the x/y direction which is perpendicular to the z-direction in the height direction of the lens).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the first magnetic element and second magnetic element along a second axis to enable higher driving forces to the actuator with equal electrical current (Chiang: Paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 8, Min as modified by Chiang discloses the first magnetic element surface 6422/6424) and the second magnetic element surface (6426/6428) as facing the same direction.
Regarding claim 10, Min as modified by Chiang discloses wherein when viewed along a direction perpendicular to the first magnetic element surface, the second section (e.g. 6223) is located between the first section (6221) and the third section (6225).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 14, Min teaches other coils (e.g. 1431-2, 1431-3), but fails to disclose or suggest the arrangement of a fourth coil corresponding to both the first magnetic element and the second magnetic element, wherein the fourth coil and the first magnetic element are for driving the optical element to move along a fourth axis. Each of the coils 1431-2 and 1431-3 correspond to only a single magnetic element.
Contact Information
/MICHAEL H CALEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871