CTNF 18/884,382 CTNF 83421 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received. Information Disclosure Statement The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 13 September 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement has been considered by the Examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the Examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the Examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UDA et al. (US 2023/0050269 A1) in view of KABURAGI (US 2022/0371340 A1) . As related to independent claim 1, UDA et al. teaches a printing apparatus, comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor which function as: a conveyance unit configured to convey a printing media on which an image is printed by a printing unit (UDA et al. – Page 2, Paragraph 18; Page 3, Paragraphs 33 & 35; Page 4, Paragraph 43; and Figures 1 & 2, Reference #5, #41, #11, shown below); a detection unit configured to detect whether an anomalous module exists among a plurality of modules for drying the printing media conveyed by the conveyance unit (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44; and Figure 2, shown below); a control unit configured to execute either first control for controlling output from any normal module among the plurality of modules (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44). PNG media_image1.png 292 492 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 322 470 media_image2.png Greyscale Continuing with claim 1, UDA et al. does not specifically teach controlling the conveyance speed of the printing media based on an anomalous module. However, KABURAGI teaches a printing apparatus with a control for control conveyance speed and specifically teaches the control for controlling conveyance speed of the printing media in a case where the detection unit detects that an anomalous module exists (KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 1, shown below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the present application to modify the printing apparatus of UDA et al. with the control system of KABURAGI in an effort to provide a printing apparatus with a control system which controls for either adjusting any module and/or the conveyance speed to ensure the ideal temperature profile is attained (KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32). The combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI continues to teach an obtainment unit configured to obtain temperature to be set to the normal module in a case where the detection unit detects that an anomalous module exists (UDA et al. – Page 3, Paragraphs 38-42 and KABURAGI – Page 1, Paragraphs 22-23 & Page 3, Paragraph 32). PNG media_image3.png 356 696 media_image3.png Greyscale As related to independent claim 6, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach a printing apparatus, comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor which function as: a conveyance unit configured to convey a printing media on which an image is printed by a printing unit (UDA et al. – Page 2, Paragraph 18; Page 3, Paragraphs 33 & 35; Page 4, Paragraph 43; and Figures 1 & 2, Reference #5, #41, #11, shown above and KABURAGI – Figure 1, shown above); a detection unit configured to detect whether an anomalous module exists among a plurality of modules each including a fan for cooling the printing media conveyed by the conveyance unit (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2, 8, 13, & 15 Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44; and Figures 1 & 2, shown above); and a control unit configured to execute either first control for controlling output from any normal module among the plurality of modules or second control for controlling conveyance speed of the printing media in a case where the detection unit detects that an anomalous module exists (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above). As related to independent claim 10, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach a printing apparatus, comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor which function as: a conveyance unit configured to convey a printing media on which an image is printed by a printing unit (UDA et al. – Page 2, Paragraph 18; Page 3, Paragraphs 33 & 35; Page 4, Paragraph 43; and Figures 1 & 2, Reference #5, #41, #11, shown above and KABURAGI – Figure 1, shown above); a first module for cooling the printing media conveyed by the conveyance unit, and a second module for cooling the printing media, which is disposed facing the first module in a predetermined direction (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2, 8, 13, & 15 Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44; and Figures 1 & 2, shown above); a detection unit configured to detect anomaly in the first module; and a control unit configured to execute control for stopping output from the first module and output from the second module in a case where anomaly is sensed in the first module by the detection unit (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above). As related to independent claim 13, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach a printing apparatus, comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor which function as: a conveyance unit configured to convey a printing media on which an image is printed by a printing unit (UDA et al. – Page 2, Paragraph 18; Page 3, Paragraphs 33 & 35; Page 4, Paragraph 43; and Figures 1 & 2, Reference #5, #41, #11, shown above and KABURAGI – Figure 1, shown above); a first module including a heater and a fan for drying the printing media conveyed by the conveyance unit, and a second module including a heater and a fan for drying the printing media, the second module being disposed facing the first module in a predetermined direction (UDA et al. – Figures 1 & 2, shown above and KABURAGI – Figure 1, shown above); a detection unit configured to detect anomaly in the first module; and a control unit configured to execute control for stopping output from the first module and output from the second module in a case where anomaly is sensed in the first module by the detection unit (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above). As related to independent claim 17, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach printing apparatus, comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor which function as: a conveyance unit configured to convey a printing media on which an image is printed by a printing unit (UDA et al. – Page 2, Paragraph 18; Page 3, Paragraphs 33 & 35; Page 4, Paragraph 43; and Figures 1 & 2, Reference #5, #41, #11, shown above and KABURAGI – Figure 1, shown above); a first module for cooling the printing media conveyed by the conveyance unit, and a second module for cooling the printing media, which is disposed facing the first module in a sheet width direction of the printing media (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2, 8, 13, & 15 Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44; and Figures 1 & 2, shown above); a detection unit configured to detect anomaly in the first module; a determination unit configured to determine whether determination for maintaining output from the second module is made; and a control unit configured to execute control for stopping output from the first module and maintaining output from the second module in a case where the detection unit senses that the first module is anomalous and the determination unit determines that the determination is made (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above). As related to independent claim 19, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach a printing apparatus, comprising: at least one memory and at least one process or which function as: a conveyance unit configured to convey a printing media on which an image is printed by a printing unit (UDA et al. – Page 2, Paragraph 18; Page 3, Paragraphs 33 & 35; Page 4, Paragraph 43; and Figures 1 & 2, Reference #5, #41, #11, shown above and KABURAGI – Figure 1, shown above); a detection unit configured to detect whether anomaly exists in a plurality of modules for drying the printing media conveyed by the conveyance unit (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above); a first determination unit configured to determine, in a case where the detection unit senses that a first module among the plurality of modules is anomalous, whether determination for maintaining output from a second module among the plurality of modules is made, the second module being disposed facing the first module in a sheet width direction of the printing media; and a control unit configured to execute control for stopping output from the first module and maintaining output from the second module in a case where the first determination unit determines that the determination is made (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above). As related to dependent claim 2, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach the control unit controls output from the normal module disposed near the anomalous module in a case of executing the first control (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above). As related to dependent claim 3, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach a display unit configured to perform a display for selecting either to decrease the conveyance speed of the printing media or to increase the temperature of the normal module in a case where the temperature obtained by the obtainment unit is lower than an upper temperature limit of the printing media (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; & Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 1, shown above). As related to dependent claim 4, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach the control unit executes the first control in a case where the temperature obtained by the obtainment unit is lower than an upper temperature limit of the printing media (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above). As related to dependent claim 5, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach the control unit executes the second control in a case where the temperature obtained by the obtainment unit is equal to or higher than an upper temperature limit of the printing media (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above). As related to dependent claim 7, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach an obtainment unit configured to obtain a speed increase amount of the fan included in the normal module in a case where the detection unit detects that an anomalous module exists (UDA et al. – Page 3, Paragraphs 38-42 and KABURAGI – Page 1, Paragraphs 22-23 & Page 3, Paragraph 32). As related to further dependent claim 8, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach the control unit executes control for increasing rotation speed of the fan of the normal module in a case where the rotation speed of the fan of the normal module when the control unit executes control for increasing rotation speed of the fan based on the speed increase amount of the fan, which is obtained by the obtainment unit, is in an allowable range according to specifications of the fan (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above). As related to dependent claim 9, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach the plurality of modules each further includes a heat exchanger configured to cool air taken in by the module, and the control unit operates the heat exchanger of the normal module instead of executing control of output from the normal module (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2, 8, 13, & 15 Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44; and Figures 1 & 2, shown above). As related to dependent claim 11, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach the second module is disposed facing the first module in a sheet width direction of the printing media (UDA et al. – Figure 1, Reference #17 & 19 and KABURAGI – Figure 1, Reference #43, shown above). As related to dependent claim 12, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach the second module is disposed facing the first module in a thickness direction of the printing media (UDA et al. – Figure 1, Reference #17 & 19 and KABURAGI – Figure 1, Reference #32 & #33, shown above). As related to dependent claim 14, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach the control unit executes control for stopping output from the first module and output from the second module in a case where the detection unit senses that the heater or fan of the first module is anomalous (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above). As related to dependent claim 15, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach the second module is disposed facing the first module in a sheet width direction of the printing media (UDA et al. – Figure 1, Reference #17 & 19 and KABURAGI – Figure 1, Reference #43, shown above). As related to dependent claim 16, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach the second module is disposed facing the first module in a thickness direction of the printing media (UDA et al. – Figure 1, Reference #17 & 19 and KABURAGI – Figure 1, Reference #32 & #33, shown above). As related to dependent claim 18, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach the control unit executes control for stopping output from the first module and the second module in a case where the detection unit senses that the first module is anomalous and the determination unit determines that the determination is not made (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above). As related to dependent claim 20, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach a second determination unit configured to further determine whether determination for maintaining output from the second module is made in a case where the detection unit detects that a module different from the first module among the plurality of modules is anomalous (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above). As related to further dependent claim 21, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach output from the module detected to be anomalous is stopped in a case where the second determination unit determines that the determination is made (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above). As related to further dependent claim 22, the combination of UDA et al. and KABURAGI remains as applied above and continues to teach output from the second module is stopped in a case where the second determination unit determines that the determination is not made (UDA et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 2 & 8; Page 3, Paragraphs 33, 35, 36, & 41; and Page 4, Paragraphs 43 & 44 and KABURAGI – Page 3, Paragraph 32 & Page 5, Paragraph 44 and Figure 2, shown above) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rudd et al. (US 5,634,402 A) teaches a printing apparatus with a plurality of temperature control modules and adjusting the rate at which energy is applied based on a sensed temperature. Mayuzumi (US 5,856,652 A) teaches a printing apparatus with a plurality of temperature control modules which can be independently adjusted and controlled. Cao et al. (US 6,927,368 B2) teaches a printing apparatus with a plurality of temperature control regions and power levels. Lemaster et al. (US 2007/0047990 A1) teaches a printing apparatus with a plurality of temperature control modules which can be independently adjusted and controlled. Leighton et al. (US 2012/0206527 A1) teaches a printing apparatus with a plurality of temperature control modules which can be independently adjusted and controlled. URUMA et al. (US 2013/0015285 A1) teaches a printing apparatus with a plurality of temperature control modules. Yoshinuma (US 10,183,503 B2) teaches a printing apparatus with a plurality of temperature control modules. SAITO et al. (US 2022/0111666 A1) teaches a printing apparatus with a plurality of temperature control modules which can be independently adjusted and controlled. Washizawa (US 11,518,181 B2) teaches a printing apparatus with a plurality of temperature control modules. Landa et al. (US 11,833,813 B2) teaches a printing apparatus with a plurality of temperature control modules which can be independently adjusted and controlled . Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular Figures & Reference Numbers, Columns, Paragraphs and Line Numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to JOHN P ZIMMERMANN whose telephone number is (571)270-3049. The Examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 0700-1730 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at (571) 272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /John P Zimmermann/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/884,382 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/884,382 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/884,382 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/884,382 Page 7 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/884,382 Page 8 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/884,382 Page 9 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/884,382 Page 10 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/884,382 Page 11 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/884,382 Page 12 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/884,382 Page 13 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/884,382 Page 14 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/884,382 Page 15 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/884,382 Page 16 Art Unit: 2853