DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (US 20220021490 A1) hereafter Zhou.
Regarding Claim 1:
Zhou discloses:
A method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU),([¶0023] A method of wireless communications at a UE is described. ) the method comprising: receiving configuration information indicating a minimum number of network coded packet required to recover a network coding generation;([¶0204] In some examples, the coding parameter change component 1450 may transmit, to the at least one UE, an additional set of network coding parameters different than the first set of network coding parameters for the at least one UE to decode the set of network encoded packets to recover the set of packets.) receiving a network coded packet, wherein the network coded packet comprises information indicating a network coding generation; determining that a trigger condition is met based on the configuration information;([¶0026] receive, from a network node, a first set of network encoded packets based on a set of packets; to attempt to decode the first set of network encoded packets;) and sending a status report, based on the trigger condition being met, wherein the status report comprises information indicating a number of network coded packets received. ([¶0029] transmitting the feedback indicating the number of successfully received packets may include operations, features, means, or instructions for transmitting, to the network node, a number of missed packets of the first set of network encoded packets, where the number of successfully received packets may be indicated based on the number of missed packets.)
Regarding Claim 2:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the network coding is associated with a set of source packets being coded together. ([¶0016] Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for transmitting, to the set of UEs, one or more sets of network coding parameters to enable the set of UEs to decode a set of network encoded packets for the set of packets.)
Regarding Claim 3:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the configuration information further indicates a time duration threshold and further comprising: determining a time duration associated with the network coding generation and the number of network coded packets received, wherein the number of network coded packets is associated with the network coding generation, ([¶0067] Signal waveforms transmitted over a carrier may be made up of multiple subcarriers (e.g., using multi-carrier modulation (MCM) techniques such as orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) or discrete Fourier transform spread OFDM (DFT-S-OFDM)). In a system employing MCM techniques, a resource element may consist of one symbol period (e.g., a duration of one modulation symbol) and one subcarrier, where the symbol period and subcarrier spacing are inversely related. The number of bits carried by each resource element may depend on the modulation scheme (e.g., the order of the modulation scheme, the coding rate of the modulation scheme, or both). Thus, the more resource elements that a UE 115 receives and the higher the order of the modulation scheme, the higher the data rate may be for the UE 115. A wireless communications resource may refer to a combination of a radio frequency spectrum resource, a time resource, and a spatial resource (e.g., spatial layers or beams), and the use of multiple spatial layers may further increase the data rate or data integrity for communications with a UE 115.) and wherein the trigger condition is met based on any of: (1) a comparison of the time duration with the time duration threshold, and (2) a comparison of the number of network coded packets received with the minimum number of network coded packets. ([¶0108] That is, the network entity 220 may determine a number of successfully received packets (e.g., represented by C.sub.i for each UE i) from each UE 115 based on the feedback 210 and may compare this number of successfully received packets for each UE 115 to the decodability threshold value to determine whether each UE 115 successfully received a sufficient amount of the set of packets)
Regarding Claim 4:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the trigger condition is met when (1) the time duration is above the time duration threshold and (2) the number of network coded packets received is below the minimum number of network coded packets. ([¶0096] The UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully. Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is one technique for increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125. HARQ may include a combination of error detection (e.g., using a cyclic redundancy check (CRC)), forward error correction (FEC), and retransmission (e.g., automatic repeat request (ARQ)). HARQ may improve throughput at the MAC layer in poor radio conditions (e.g., low signal-to-noise conditions). In some examples, a device may support same-slot HARQ feedback, where the device may provide HARQ feedback in a specific slot for data received in a previous symbol in the slot. In other cases, the device may provide HARQ feedback in a subsequent slot, or according to some other time interval. [¶0110] Additionally or alternatively, once a number of UEs 115 that have successfully received an insufficient number of packets (e.g., number of successfully received packets is less than the decodability threshold value) falls below a threshold)
Regarding Claim 5:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the trigger condition is met when the number of network coded packets received is above the minimum number of network coded packets. ([¶0099] Once each UE 115 satisfies the decodability threshold, the network node may terminate coding of the set of packets and may stop broadcasting or transmitting sets of encoded packets for the set of packets.)
Regarding Claim 6:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the configuration information further indicates a threshold value associated with a number of network coded packets missing, and wherein the trigger condition is met when a number of network coded packets declared missing is above a threshold value, wherein the number of network coded packets declared missing is associated with the network coding generation. ([¶0053] Subsequently, the transmitter may use this feedback to determine whether at least one UE had a number of successfully received packets that failed to satisfy a decodability threshold (e.g., the decodability threshold may indicate a number of successfully received packets that can indicate successful decoding and reception of a message carried by the set of packets). If at least one UE fails to satisfy the decodability threshold with a corresponding number of successfully received packets (e.g., the number of successfully received packets is less than the decodability threshold for at least one UE), the transmitter may transmit the set of packets using a second set of network encoded packets to the set of UEs (e.g., via a broadcast message to the entire set of UEs or via unicast messages to those UEs that fail to satisfy the decodability threshold with their respective number of successfully received packets).)
Regarding Claim 7:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the configuration information further indicates a characteristic associated with the threshold value; and wherein the network coded packets declared missing are associated with the characteristic. ([¶0053] Subsequently, the transmitter may use this feedback to determine whether at least one UE had a number of successfully received packets that failed to satisfy a decodability threshold (e.g., the decodability threshold may indicate a number of successfully received packets that can indicate successful decoding and reception of a message carried by the set of packets). If at least one UE fails to satisfy the decodability threshold with a corresponding number of successfully received packets (e.g., the number of successfully received packets is less than the decodability threshold for at least one UE), the transmitter may transmit the set of packets using a second set of network encoded packets to the set of UEs (e.g., via a broadcast message to the entire set of UEs or via unicast messages to those UEs that fail to satisfy the decodability threshold with their respective number of successfully received packets). [¶0204] In some examples, the coding parameter change component 1450 may transmit, to the at least one UE, an additional set of network coding parameters different than the first set of network coding parameters for the at least one UE to decode the set of network encoded packets to recover the set of packets.)
Regarding Claim 8:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the characteristic is associated with any of:(l) one or more types associated with the network coded packet, (2) one or more levels of innovativeness associated with the network coded packet, (3) one or more remaining delay budgets associated with the network coded packet, or (4) one or more priorities associated with the network coded packet. ([¶0115] In some cases, information included in the feedback transmissions 335 may be complicated by also including individual packet acknowledgment information (e.g., positive acknowledgment (ACK)/negative acknowledgment (NACK) information), channel quality estimation, signal measurements (e.g., signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), reference signal received power (RSRP) value, etc.), and additional information. In some cases, this additional information in the feedback transmissions 335 (e.g., and the information on the recovered packets 330, such as information about the first packet 320-a, the second packet 320-b, and the third packet 320-c) may enable the transmitter to perform a network coding update 340 (e.g., to modify coding parameters to enable the receivers 310 to successfully receive and decode the packets 320). However, for a network coding termination algorithm (e.g., Luby Transform codes, Raptor codes, etc.), the transmitter 305 may only need to know a number of received packets at each receiver 310 to determine when to terminate encoding of the packets and for ending transmission of the packets. [¶0116] As described herein and with reference to FIG. 2, techniques are described for a feedback configuration that can be simplified for network coding packets termination in broadcast channels. For example, rather than transmitting extraneous information (e.g., channel quality estimation, SINR, RSRP, etc.) with the feedback transmissions 335, each of the receivers 310 may transmit an indication of a number of successfully received packets in the feedback transmissions 335. The transmitter 305 may compare these indications of the number of successfully received packets from each receiver 310 to a decodability threshold value (e.g., configured to the encoding process used by the transmitter 305) to determine whether one or more of the receivers 310 did not satisfy the decodability threshold value with their respective number of successfully received packets (e.g., indicating the message carried by the packets is not successfully received and decoded by the corresponding receiver 310). Accordingly, if at least one receiver 310 failed to satisfy the decodability threshold value after a given transmission of the packets 320, the transmitter 305 may continue to transmit (e.g., via broadcast or unicast) the packets 320 (e.g., encoded packets) to the receivers 310 until all receivers 310 successfully receive the packets 320 according to the decodability threshold value.)
Regarding Claim 9:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the status report further comprises information indicating any of: (1) one or more network coded packets received, wherein the one or more network coded packets received are associated with the network coding generation, (2) one or more network coded packets missing, wherein the one or more network coded packets missing are associated with the network coding generation (3)one or more coding parameters associated with the network coding generation, or (4) one or more network coded packets missing associated with a characteristic, wherein the one or more network coded packets missing are associated with the network coding generation. ([¶0116] As described herein and with reference to FIG. 2, techniques are described for a feedback configuration that can be simplified for network coding packets termination in broadcast channels. For example, rather than transmitting extraneous information (e.g., channel quality estimation, SINR, RSRP, etc.) with the feedback transmissions 335, each of the receivers 310 may transmit an indication of a number of successfully received packets in the feedback transmissions 335. The transmitter 305 may compare these indications of the number of successfully received packets from each receiver 310 to a decodability threshold value (e.g., configured to the encoding process used by the transmitter 305) to determine whether one or more of the receivers 310 did not satisfy the decodability threshold value with their respective number of successfully received packets (e.g., indicating the message carried by the packets is not successfully received and decoded by the corresponding receiver 310). Accordingly, if at least one receiver 310 failed to satisfy the decodability threshold value after a given transmission of the packets 320, the transmitter 305 may continue to transmit (e.g., via broadcast or unicast) the packets 320 (e.g., encoded packets) to the receivers 310 until all receivers 310 successfully receive the packets 320 according to the decodability threshold value.)
Regarding Claim 10:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the one or more coding parameters comprise any of: (1) one or more coding coefficients, or (2) one or more coding rates. ([¶0017] In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the one or more sets of network coding parameters each may include network coding algorithms, an encoding function, an encoding matrix, a maximum number of decoding iterations, the decodability threshold value, or a combination thereof. [¶0129] FIG. 6 illustrates an example of a decoding process 600 that supports feedback design for network coding termination in broadcasting in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, decoding process 600 may implement aspects of or may be implemented by aspects of wireless communications system 100, wireless communications system 200, or both. For example, decoding process 600 may represent a rateless code that can be used by a base station 105 and/or a UE 115 to decode a set of packets. In particular, decoding process 600 may represent a Luby transform code that a receiving device or decoder (e.g., a UE 115) then uses a belief propagation (BP) decoding process to identify a set of packets represented by encoded packets.))
Regarding Claim 11:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the configuration information further indicates one or more first coding parameters and further comprising: receiving a further network coded packet, wherein the further network coded packet is generated, using one or more second coding parameters indicated in the status report, and wherein the one or more first coding parameters are different from the one or more second coding parameters. ([¶0017] In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the one or more sets of network coding parameters each may include network coding algorithms, an encoding function, an encoding matrix, a maximum number of decoding iterations, the decodability threshold value, or a combination thereof. [¶0019] Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for determining at least one UE of the set of UEs is unable to recover the set of packets using a first set of network coding parameters of the one or more sets of network coding parameters; and transmitting, to the at least one UE, an additional set of network coding parameters different than the first set of network coding parameters for the at least one UE to decode the set of network encoded packets to recover the set of packets.)
Regarding Claim 12:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the network coded packet comprises information indicating a sequence number, and further comprising: determining that the sequence number is comprised in a range of sequence numbers, wherein the range of sequence numbers is associated with a first plurality of network coding generations and wherein the first plurality of network coding generations comprises the network coding generation. ([¶0118] At 405, the network entity 435 may construct a packet pool S={p1, p2 . . . pn}, where {p1, p2 . . . pn} represent individual packets in the packet pool, S. Additionally, the network entity 435 may encode the set of packets in the packet pool using an encoding function f(S) (e.g., a network coding encoding function for the packet pool, S) and may transmit this set of network encoded packets (e.g., network coding encoded packets) to the UEs 115. For example, the set of network encoded packets may be represented by q, where q=f(S)=(q1, q2, q3, q4, . . . , qN), and N can be arbitrarily large. Each of q1, q2, q3, q4, . . . qN may represent an individual network encoded packet of the set of network encoded packets. As an example shown in process flow diagram 400, the network entity 435 may transmit four (4) network encoded packets with the set of network encoded packets, q, where the four (4) network encoded packets are represented by q=(q1, q2, q3, q4). [¶0119] At 410, the UEs 115 (e.g., receivers) may feedback a number of missed packets to the network entity 435. For example, the UEs 115 may indicate an explicit number of missed packets, such as the first UE 115-d and the second UE 115-e transmitting that they missed one (1) of the network encoded packets each (e.g., “Missed 1”). Additionally or alternatively, the UEs 115 may indicate individual acknowledgment feedbacks (e.g., a ‘1’ or ‘0’) to indicate whether each network encoded packet was received or not, such as the third UE 115-f transmitting that a first, second, and fourth network encoded packet were successfully received and a third network encoded packet was unsuccessfully received (e.g., “Feedback: 1,1,0,1”).)
Regarding Claim 13:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
further comprising: updating a lower limit of the range of sequence numbers based on the number of received coded packets and/or one or more coding parameters. ([¶0017] In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the one or more sets of network coding parameters each may include network coding algorithms, an encoding function, an encoding matrix, a maximum number of decoding iterations, the decodability threshold value, or a combination thereof. [¶0121] At 420, the network entity 435 may transmit a second set of network encoded packets (e.g., new encoded packets) based on the UEs 115 not fully receiving and decoding all of the network encoded packets. For example, the second set of network encoded packets may be represented by q′=(q4, q5, q6, q7). Additionally, the network entity 435 may transmit the second set of network encoded packets to all of the UEs 115 via a broadcast message even if one or more of the UEs 115 do fully receive and decode all of the network encoded packets. [¶0122] At 425, the network entity 435 may repeat 410, 415, and 420 until C.sub.i≥D for each UE 115 (e.g., each UE i), where D represents a decodability threshold value (e.g., decodable threshold). For example, the decodability threshold value may correspond to an encoding process used by the network entity 435 when generating the set of network encoded packets, q, from the packet pool, S. Additionally, the decodability threshold value may represent an amount of network encoded packets that need to be successfully received by a receiver (e.g., UE 115) to indicate that the receiver can successfully receive and decode a message carried by the network encoded packets.)
Regarding Claim 16:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the network coding generation is determined based on a path or a resource over which the network coded packet is received. ([¶0067] Signal waveforms transmitted over a carrier may be made up of multiple subcarriers (e.g., using multi-carrier modulation (MCM) techniques such as orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) or discrete Fourier transform spread OFDM (DFT-S-OFDM)). In a system employing MCM techniques, a resource element may consist of one symbol period (e.g., a duration of one modulation symbol) and one subcarrier, where the symbol period and subcarrier spacing are inversely related. The number of bits carried by each resource element may depend on the modulation scheme (e.g., the order of the modulation scheme, the coding rate of the modulation scheme, or both). Thus, the more resource elements that a UE 115 receives and the higher the order of the modulation scheme, the higher the data rate may be for the UE 115. A wireless communications resource may refer to a combination of a radio frequency spectrum resource, a time resource, and a spatial resource (e.g., spatial layers or beams), and the use of multiple spatial layers may further increase the data rate or data integrity for communications with a UE 115.)
Regarding Claim 17:
Zhou discloses:
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU)comprising circuitry, including a transmitter, a receiver, a processor and memory, ([¶0279] An apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) comprising a processor and memory coupled to the processor, the processor and memory configured to perform a method [¶0280] A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to perform a method [¶0274] transmitting the feedback to the network node via a radio link) the WTRU configured to: receive configuration information indicating a minimum number of network coded packet required to recover a network coding generation; ([¶0204] In some examples, the coding parameter change component 1450 may transmit, to the at least one UE, an additional set of network coding parameters different than the first set of network coding parameters for the at least one UE to decode the set of network encoded packets to recover the set of packets.) receive a network coded packet, wherein the network coded packet comprises information indicating a network coding generation; determine that a trigger condition is met based on the configuration information; and send a status report, based on the trigger condition being met, wherein the status report comprises information indicating a number of network coded packets received. ([¶0099] Subsequently, the network device may use this feedback to determine whether at least one UE 115 of the set of UEs 115 had a number of successfully received packets that fails to satisfy a decodability threshold (e.g., the decodability threshold may indicate a number of successfully received packets that indicates successful reception of a message carried by the set of packets). If at least one UE 115 fails to satisfy the decodability threshold with a corresponding number of successfully received packets, the network node may transmit a second set of network encoded packets to the set of UEs 115 (e.g., via a broadcast message or via unicast messages to UEs 115 that fail to satisfy the decodability threshold), and each of the UEs 115 may again respond with respective feedbacks indicating the number of successfully received packets for the second set of network encoded packets.)
Regarding Claim 18:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the network coding generation is associated with a set of source packets being coded together. ([¶0016] Some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein may further include operations, features, means, or instructions for transmitting, to the set of UEs, one or more sets of network coding parameters to enable the set of UEs to decode a set of network encoded packets for the set of packets.)
Regarding Claim 19:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the configuration information further indicates a time duration threshold and wherein the WTRU is further configured to: determine a time duration associated with the network coding generation and the number of network coded packets received, wherein the number of network coded packets is associated with the network coding generation, and wherein the trigger condition is met based on any of: (1) a comparison of the time duration with the time duration threshold, and (2) a comparison of the number of network coded packets received with the minimum number of network coded packets. ([¶0067] Signal waveforms transmitted over a carrier may be made up of multiple subcarriers (e.g., using multi-carrier modulation (MCM) techniques such as orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) or discrete Fourier transform spread OFDM (DFT-S-OFDM)). In a system employing MCM techniques, a resource element may consist of one symbol period (e.g., a duration of one modulation symbol) and one subcarrier, where the symbol period and subcarrier spacing are inversely related. The number of bits carried by each resource element may depend on the modulation scheme (e.g., the order of the modulation scheme, the coding rate of the modulation scheme, or both). Thus, the more resource elements that a UE 115 receives and the higher the order of the modulation scheme, the higher the data rate may be for the UE 115. A wireless communications resource may refer to a combination of a radio frequency spectrum resource, a time resource, and a spatial resource (e.g., spatial layers or beams), and the use of multiple spatial layers may further increase the data rate or data integrity for communications with a UE 115.) and wherein the trigger condition is met based on any of: (1) a comparison of the time duration with the time duration threshold, and (2) a comparison of the number of network coded packets received with the minimum number of network coded packets. ([¶0108] That is, the network entity 220 may determine a number of successfully received packets (e.g., represented by C.sub.i for each UE i) from each UE 115 based on the feedback 210 and may compare this number of successfully received packets for each UE 115 to the decodability threshold value to determine whether each UE 115 successfully received a sufficient amount of the set of packets)
Regarding Claim 20:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the trigger condition is met when (1) the time duration is above the time duration threshold and (2) the number of network coded packets received is below the minimum number of network coded packets, or wherein the trigger condition is met when the number of network coded packets received is above the minimum number of network coded packets. ([¶0096] The UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully. Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback is one technique for increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125. HARQ may include a combination of error detection (e.g., using a cyclic redundancy check (CRC)), forward error correction (FEC), and retransmission (e.g., automatic repeat request (ARQ)). HARQ may improve throughput at the MAC layer in poor radio conditions (e.g., low signal-to-noise conditions). In some examples, a device may support same-slot HARQ feedback, where the device may provide HARQ feedback in a specific slot for data received in a previous symbol in the slot. In other cases, the device may provide HARQ feedback in a subsequent slot, or according to some other time interval. [¶0110] Additionally or alternatively, once a number of UEs 115 that have successfully received an insufficient number of packets (e.g., number of successfully received packets is less than the decodability threshold value) falls below a threshold)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Liu (US 12587903 B2) hereafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 14:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou does not disclose:
wherein the information indicating the network coding generation comprise an identifier of the network coding generation.
Liu discloses:
wherein the information indicating the network coding generation comprise an identifier of the network coding generation. ([Column 26 Lines 3-35]As shown by reference number 740, the base station 110 may add a header (e.g., an RLC header) to each of the encoded packets (after the optional segmentation described in connection with reference number 735) to generate a set of RLC PDUs. The header may include identifiers to identify the single RLC SDU, the encoded packet, and/or the RLC PDU associated with each RLC PDU. For example, for an RLC PDU (e.g., the RLC PDU shown as K−1(s1)), the header may include a first sequence number (SN) indicating the single RLC SDU associated with the RLC PDU (e.g., the RLC SDU shown in FIG. 7B). The header may include a second sequence number indicating an encoded packet, of the first set of encoded packets (e.g., of the L encoded packets), associated with the RLC PDU (e.g., the second sequence number may identify the encoded packet K−1). The second sequence number may be referred to as a sub-SN or an encoded packet SN. The second sequence number may identify an index of the encoded packet (e.g., before the optional segmentation described in connection with reference number 735) associated with the RLC PDU. The header may include a segmentation index identifying a segmentation associated with the RLC PDU (e.g., the segmentation index may identify the segment s1). For example, for the RLC PDU K−1(s2), the header may include the same first sequence number and the same second sequence number as the header of the RLC PDU K−1(s1). However, the header of the RLC PDU K−1(s2) may include a different segmentation index (e.g., s2) than the header of RLC PDU K−1(s1) (e.g., indicating that the RLC PDU K−1(s1) and RLC PDU K−1(s2) are associated with the same RLC SDU and the same encoded packet, but are associated with different segments of the same encoded packet).)
Zhou and Liu are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhou to include network coding information as taught by Liu in order to increase spectral efficiency ([¶0089] Zhou).
Regarding Claim 15:
Zhou in view of Liu discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou does not disclose:
wherein the identifier is included in a header of the network coded packet.
Liu discloses:
wherein the identifier is included in a header of the network coded packet. ([Column 26 Lines 3-35]As shown by reference number 740, the base station 110 may add a header (e.g., an RLC header) to each of the encoded packets (after the optional segmentation described in connection with reference number 735) to generate a set of RLC PDUs. The header may include identifiers to identify the single RLC SDU, the encoded packet, and/or the RLC PDU associated with each RLC PDU. For example, for an RLC PDU (e.g., the RLC PDU shown as K−1(s1)), the header may include a first sequence number (SN) indicating the single RLC SDU associated with the RLC PDU (e.g., the RLC SDU shown in FIG. 7B). The header may include a second sequence number indicating an encoded packet, of the first set of encoded packets (e.g., of the L encoded packets), associated with the RLC PDU (e.g., the second sequence number may identify the encoded packet K−1). The second sequence number may be referred to as a sub-SN or an encoded packet SN. The second sequence number may identify an index of the encoded packet (e.g., before the optional segmentation described in connection with reference number 735) associated with the RLC PDU. The header may include a segmentation index identifying a segmentation associated with the RLC PDU (e.g., the segmentation index may identify the segment s1). For example, for the RLC PDU K−1(s2), the header may include the same first sequence number and the same second sequence number as the header of the RLC PDU K−1(s1). However, the header of the RLC PDU K−1(s2) may include a different segmentation index (e.g., s2) than the header of RLC PDU K−1(s1) (e.g., indicating that the RLC PDU K−1(s1) and RLC PDU K−1(s2) are associated with the same RLC SDU and the same encoded packet, but are associated with different segments of the same encoded packet).)
Zhou and Liu are analogous as they both pertain to Wireless Communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhou to include network coding information as taught by Liu in order to increase spectral efficiency ([¶0089] Zhou).
Conclusion
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463