DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The term “suction head” will be interpreted as specified in the specification ¶ [0029] “suction head refers to a structure to channel fluid from an input location to an output location”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Levitt et al (US 20200230530 A1, hereinafter Levitt).
Regarding claim 1, Levitt teaches a degasser probe, comprising: a suction head (Fig 3 elements 101,102, and 103) configured to receive drilling fluid and cause the drilling fluid to be transmitted to a degasser during a drilling operation (¶[0014]) ; a strainer screen located upstream of the suction head and configured to filter the drilling fluid during the drilling operation (Fig 3 element 214); and a worm screw located proximate to the strainer screen (Fig 3 element 316), wherein the worm screw is axially rotatable to remove debris from the strainer screen during the drilling operation (¶[0096]).
Regarding claim 2, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 1, further comprising an annular bumper connected to the suction head, wherein the annular bumper is configured to axially direct the drilling fluid towards the strainer screen during the drilling operation (¶ [0094] as labeled in Fig 14 element 345).
Regarding claim 3, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 2, wherein the annular bumper: radially encompasses the worm screw; and axially encompasses the worm screw (¶ [0094] as labeled in Fig 14 element 345 and Fig 3 element 316).
Regarding claim 4, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 2, wherein the annular bumper, the worm screw, the strainer screen, and the suction head are coaxially located with respect to each other (Fig 3 elements 316, 214, 101,102, and 103).
Regarding claim 5, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 2, wherein the annular bumper and the strainer screen are connected to the suction head via a plurality of fasteners (Fig 3 and ¶ [0048])
Regarding claim 6, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 1, wherein the worm screw is located upstream of the strainer screen (See Fig 3 arrow flow).
Regarding claim 7, Levitt teaches a degasser probe, comprising: a suction head (Fig 3 elements 101,102, and 103) configured to receive drilling fluid and cause the drilling fluid to be transmitted to a degasser during a drilling operation (¶[0014]); a strainer screen located coaxially with and upstream of the suction head, wherein the strainer screen is configured to filter the drilling fluid during the drilling operation (Fig 3 element 214); a worm screw located coaxially with and upstream of the strainer screen, wherein the worm screw is axially rotatable to remove debris from the strainer screen during the drilling operation (Fig 3 element 316 and ¶[0096]); and an annular bumper located coaxially with and upstream of the strainer screen, wherein the annular bumper is configured to axially direct the drilling fluid towards the strainer screen during the drilling operation (¶[0094] as labeled in Fig 14 element 345).
Regarding claim 8, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 7, wherein the worm screw comprises: a central body having an outer surface (Fig 3 element 300), an inner surface (Fig 11 element 316), a first end surface (Fig 11 element 325), and a second end surface (Fig 11 element 310), wherein: the first end surface is located proximate to the strainer screen (Fig 3 elements 316 and 214); the inner surface defines an opening through the central body; and a longitudinal axis of the central body runs through a center of the opening; and a plurality of blades extending outwardly from the outer surface of the central body (Fig 3 element 300 and ¶[0080] ).
Regarding claim 9, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 8, wherein each blade of the plurality of blades is flighted in a partial helix around the longitudinal axis such that each blade extends radially from the outer surface for less than a complete turn around the longitudinal axis (Fig 3 element 315 and ¶ [0080]).
Regarding claim 10, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 8, wherein each blade of the plurality of blades (Fig 3 element 316) collectively contact an entirety of the outer surface between the first end surface and the second end surface (Fig 3 element 300 and ¶ [0051]).
Regarding claim 11, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 8, wherein: the plurality of blades include a first blade and a second blade; the first blade is flighted in a first partial helix; the second blade is flighted in a second partial helix; and the first partial helix and the second partial helix collectively form a partial double helix around the longitudinal axis, wherein the partial double helix is less than a complete turn around the longitudinal axis (Fig 3 element 315 and ¶[0080]).
Regarding claim 12, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 8, wherein: the degasser probe further includes a drive shaft located in the opening through the central body, wherein the drive shaft is connected to a motor; and the drive shaft is configured to cause the worm screw to rotate during the drilling operation (Fig 14 elements 404 402 and ¶[0092].
Regarding claim 13, Levitt teaches a degasser system, comprising: a degasser; and a degasser probe, comprising: a suction head (Fig 3 elements 101 and 102) configured to receive drilling fluid and cause the drilling fluid to be transmitted to the degasser during a drilling operation (¶[0014]); a strainer screen located coaxially with and upstream of the suction head, wherein the strainer screen is configured to filter the drilling fluid during the drilling operation (Fig 3 element 214); a worm screw located coaxially with and upstream of the strainer screen (Fig 3 elements 316 and 214), wherein: the worm screw comprises a central body having an outer surface (Fig 3 element 300), a first end surface (Fig 11 element 325) located proximate to the strainer screen (Fig 3 elements 316 and 214), second end surface (Fig 11 element 310), and a plurality of blades; and the worm screw is axially rotatable about a longitudinal axis through the central body such that the plurality of blades are configured to remove debris from the strainer screen during the drilling operation (Fig 3 element 316 and ¶[0096, 0080]); and a protective cage located coaxially with and upstream of the strainer screen, wherein the protective cage is configured to axially direct the drilling fluid towards the strainer screen during the drilling operation (Fig 3 element 300 and ¶[0092-0094]).
Regarding claim 14, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 13, wherein each blade of the plurality of blades includes: a first edge (Fig 3 element 316) located proximate to the first end surface and the strainer screen (Fig 11 element 325 and Fig 3 element 214); and a second edge (Fig 3 element 316) located proximate to the second end surface (Fig 11 the top of element 300).
Regarding claim 15, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 14, wherein the worm screw is configured to axially rotate about the longitudinal axis during the drilling operation in a direction such that the first edge is a leading edge and the second edge is a trailing edge during rotation of the worm screw (Fig 3 element 316 and [0126-0127]).
Regarding claim 16, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 15, wherein the first edge is configured to lift the debris from the strainer screen during the drilling operation. wherein the first edge is configured to lift the debris from the strainer screen during the drilling operation (Fig 3 element 316 and [0126-0127]).
Regarding claim 17, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 16, wherein the first edge is configured to lift the debris in a substantially axial direction along the longitudinal axis (Fig 3 element 316 and [0126-0127]).
Regarding claim 19, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 13, wherein the protective cage extends in a direction along the longitudinal axis of the central body of the worm screw (Fig 3 element 300 for a clear example see Fig 13 element 300).
Regarding claim 20, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 19, wherein the protective cage comprises: a non-perforated portion located proximate to the strainer screen configured to further axially direct the drilling fluid towards the strainer screen during the drilling operation (Fig 11 elements 314 and 300 and Fig 3 element 300 and 214); and a perforated portion to pre-filter the drilling fluid before the drilling fluid reaches the strainer screen (See flow of arrows, fluid enters 300 before going into 212).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levitt as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Perry et al (US 10633963 B1, hereinafter Perry).
Regarding claim 18, Levitt teaches degasser probe of claim 13 but fails to explicit teach wherein the protective cage is connected to an external radial edge portion of the suction head.
However, Perry discloses protective cage connected to an external radial edge portion of the suction head (Fig 1 element 20 26). Perry and Levitt are considered analogous art to the claim invention as both are in same field of separating gases from fluids. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Levitt to incorporate the teachings of Perry to add protective cage to connected to an external radial edge of suction head to remove gases from the fluid and block large solids (Page 4 Line 14-25)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KHANE (WO-2019157570-A1) and CALLERI (IT 202200024894 A1).
/K.H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771