DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 13, Applicant argues that the prior arts do not disclose “the controller is configured to: receive tracking data indicative of position of the portion of the animated figure, the projection surface, or both”, and “the controller is configured to:… generate a control signal indicative of image content to be projected onto the portion of the animated figure and the projection surface based on the motion sequence data and the tracking data”.
In response: Reichow disclosed receive tracking data indicative of positioning of the portion of the animated figure, the projection surface, or both (col. 12, lines 1-7, note that the media content may be created by positioning a person or character/figure (e.g., a person wearing a costume or the like) in the display space designed and populated in step 505 in the planned location for the mechanically animated object, and then videotaping the person/character/figure as they perform choreographed actions or performances for the particular display/show. Also, Reichow teaches “generate a control signal indicative of image content to be projected onto the portion of the animated figure and the projection surface based on the motion sequence data and the tracking data”, col. 12, lines 36-42, note that the projection screen and screen actuator are then positioned in the display space at a location defined for the mechanically animated object (e.g., same location where the actor videotaped in step 510 performed his/her role for the display/show). A video projector is provided in the display system and focused/directed to project its output light onto the projection surface of the screen positioned in step 520 i.e. in fig. 3C, note that the head movement is noticed i.e. tracked. And, Reichow in col. 7, lines 45-50, note that the projected content 135 acts to augment the mechanically animated objects or screen elements 116A-116C, with the mechanical animation 119A and 119B generally providing relatively slow and large movements and the projected content 135 providing fine detail or high frequency animation.) i.e. tracked movement of the projected content. In addition to that, Vyas is cited to specifically teach “tracking data indicative of positioning of the portion of the animated figure” disclosed para. [0037], note that one or more sensors 50 may include machine vision sensors 54 such as imaging sensors and/or cameras, configured to visually track motions or movements of the performer's face (e.g., facial gestures) i.e. motion tracking feature. Therefore, the stated arguments are taught by the combination of the references.
On page 4, Applicant argues that there is no proper motivation to combine Reichow and Vyas.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Reichow teaches movement tracking but did not disclose tracking data indicative of positioning of the portion of the animated figure and Vyas teaches tracking facial movements using sensors as explained in para. [0037]. Therefore, at the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach tracking data indicative of positioning of the portion of the animated figure. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide an indication of the animation selection for visualization by a performer operating the animated character head (abs.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-16, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reichow et al. (US Patent Number 9,958,767 B1) in view of Vyas et al. (US Publication Number 2018/0147728 A1, hereinafter “Vyas”).
(1) regarding claim 13:
As shown in fig. 3A-3C, Reichow disclosed an animated figure display system (col. 1, lines 56-58, note that a display system is provided that is configured to provide projection mapped augmentation of mechanically animated objects), comprising:
a set of actuators configured to adjust a portion of an animated figure and a projection surface (col. 1, line 66- col. 2, line 2, note that a projector(s) operated by the controller (in a synchronized manner with the screen actuator) to project content onto the projection surface);
an actuator controller communicatively coupled to the set of actuators (col. 3, lines 6-8, note that the display system further includes a controller concurrently operating the screen actuator and the projector with time synchronization. See fig. 1, 119A and 119B actuators), wherein the actuator controller is configured to:
receive motion sequence data configured to cause coordinated actuation of the set of actuators (col. 5, lines 7-11, note that the screen assembly is adapted to be moved or operated by the screen actuator to provide a changing projection surface(s) with a shape, size, and location that changes over time to match the choreographed dance); and
instruct the set of actuators to adjust the portion of the animated figure and the projection surface based on the motion sequence data (col. 5, lines 23-30, note that the content being projected is mapped to the projection surface so that little or no blow-by occurs (e.g., using projection mapping), and the screen assembly's elements (e.g., an arm element providing the arm-portion of the projection surface) are sized and shaped (both of which may be modified in 2D or 3D by the screen actuator over time) to match the projected content); and
a controller communicatively coupled to the actuator controller (140, fig. 1, col. 8, lines 13-16, note that the display control module 146 acts to generate and transmit control signals 162 to the screen actuator 118 to cause it to actuate 119A and 119B the screen element 116A-116C), wherein the controller is configured to:
receive tracking data indicative of positioning of the portion of the animated figure, the projection surface, or both (col. 12, lines 1-7, note that the media content may be created by positioning a person or character/figure (e.g., a person wearing a costume or the like) in the display space designed and populated in step 505 in the planned location for the mechanically animated object, and then videotaping the person/character/figure as they perform choreographed actions or performances for the particular display/show); and
generate a control signal indicative of image content to be projected onto the portion of the animated figure and the projection surface based on the motion sequence data and the tracking data (col. 12, lines 36-42, note that the projection screen and screen actuator are then positioned in the display space at a location defined for the mechanically animated object (e.g., same location where the actor videotaped in step 510 performed his/her role for the display/show). A video projector is provided in the display system and focused/directed to project its output light onto the projection surface of the screen positioned in step 520).
Reichow disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching tracking data indicative of positioning of the portion of the animated figure.
However, Vyas disclosed tracking data indicative of positioning of the portion of the animated figure (para. [0037], note that the one or more sensors 50 may include machine vision sensors 54 such as imaging sensors and/or cameras, configured to visually track motions or movements of the performer's face (e.g., facial gestures)).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach tracking data indicative of positioning of the portion of the animated figure. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide an indication of the animation selection for visualization by a performer operating the animated character head (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Reichow with Vyas to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
(2) regarding claim 14:
Reichow further disclosed the system of claim 13, comprising a projector communicatively coupled to the controller, wherein the projector is configured to:
receive the control signal indicative of the image content from the controller (col. 8, lines 10-13, note that the display control module 146 is configured to generate and transmit control signals 160 to the projector 130 to cause it to project the media content/light 135 onto the projection surface); and
project the image content onto the portion of the animated figure and the projection surface (col. 8, lines 56-60, note that the memory 150 also stores projector content 154 that is used by the display control module 146 to provide the control signals 160 for operating the projector 130 to output the projected content/light 135 onto the projection surface 117A-117C.).
(3) regarding claim 15:
Reichow disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching a tracking camera configured to provide the tracking data based on detecting one or more trackers coupled to the portion of the animated figure, the projection surface, or both.
However, Vyas disclosed a tracking camera configured to provide the tracking data based on detecting one or more trackers coupled to the portion of the animated figure, the projection surface, or both (para. [0037], note that the one or more sensors 50 may include machine vision sensors 54 such as imaging sensors and/or cameras, configured to visually track motions or movements of the performer's face (e.g., facial gestures). The machine vision sensor 54 may send a signal to the controller 20 indicative of the face of the performer to generate a first signal that is used by the controller 20 to choose the animation selection from the library of animations).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach a tracking camera configured to provide the tracking data based on detecting one or more trackers coupled to the portion of the animated figure, the projection surface, or both. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide an indication of the animation selection for visualization by a performer operating the animated character head (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Reichow with Vyas to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
(4) regarding claim 16:
Reichow further disclosed the system of claim 13, wherein:
the controller is configured to receive an indication comprising first location data associated with the animated figure, the projection surface, or both based on the motion sequence data (col. 6, lines 47-50, note that the screen assembly 114 includes one or more screen elements that are operable with a screen actuator (or actuators) 118 to change in shape, size, and/or location over time (along the timeline of a show or display)); and
the controller is configured to generate the control signal indicative of the image content based on the motion sequence data, via the indication (col. 5, lines 54-57, note that at a first time, a screen element 116A is in an initial or first state and includes a projection surface 117A (also in this first state as it may change/morph over time with changing/morphing of the screen element 116A). At 119A, the screen actuator 118 is shown to be operating to provide 2D or 3D actuation of the screen element 116B and its projection surface 117B to be in one or more transition states. The screen actuator 118 is shown at 119B to be operating so as to provide 2D or 3D actuation of the screen element 116C and its projection surface 117C to a second or final state).
(5) regarding claim 21:
Reichow disclosed most of the subject matter as described as above except for specifically teaching comprising a sensor external to the portion of the animated figure and the projection surface, and wherein the controller is configured to receive the tracking data from the sensor based on positioning of a set of trackers coupled to the portion of the animated figure.
However, Vyas disclosed comprising a sensor external to the portion of the animated figure and the projection surface (para. [0023], note that the light source 26 may be configured to project light onto a screen or other surface of the Animated Character Head 10, such as to display a still image, a moving image (e.g., a video), or other visible representation of facial features or gestures on the Animated Character Head 10), and wherein the controller is configured to receive the tracking data from the sensor based on positioning of a set of trackers coupled to the portion of the animated figure (para. [0022], note that to facilitate control of the Animated Character Head 10, the Animated Character Head 10 may include one or more sensors 50 that are configured to monitor the performer and/or to receive inputs from the performer. For example, as discussed in detail below, the sensors 50 may include eye tracking sensors that may be configured to monitor eye movement of the performer, machine vision sensors that may be configured to monitor movement of the performer's face. Also see para. [0023], note that the actuators 18 and/or the light source 26 may enable the Animated Character Head 10 to provide any of a variety of projected facial features or gestures, animatronic facial features or gestures, or combinations thereof.).
At the time of filing for the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to teach a sensor external to the portion of the animated figure and the projection surface, and wherein the controller is configured to receive the tracking data from the sensor based on positioning of a set of trackers coupled to the portion of the animated figure. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been in order to provide an indication of the animation selection for visualization by a performer operating the animated character head (abs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Reichow with Vyas to obtain the invention as specified in claim 21.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior arts made of record do not teach “wherein the controller is configured to: generate second location data associated with the animated figure, the projection surface, or both by updating the first location data based on the tracking data; and generate the control signal based on the second location data”, as recited in claim 17.
Claims 1-12 and 18-19 are allowed. The following is an examiner' s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior arts of record do not disclose “a tracking camera configured to determine a position of the animated figure based on detecting a first tracker associated with the animated figure and a position of the projection surface based on detecting a second tracker associated with the projection surface; a controller communicatively coupled to the tracking camera and the set of actuators, wherein the controller is configured to: instruct the set of actuators to begin the motion sequence; receive an indication of the position of the animated figure and the position of the projection surface provided by the tracking camera; generate second location data for the animated figure and the projection surface by updating the first location data based on the indication; and generate a control signal indicative of image content to be projected onto the animated figure and the projection surface based on the second location data” (in combination with the other claimed limitations and/or features), as claimed in independent claims 1 and 18.
Dependent claims 2-12 are allowable as they depend on an allowable base independent claim 1.
Dependent claim 19 is allowable as it depends on an allowable base independent claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Forbes (US Publication Number 2008/0012866 A1) disclosed a real-time method for producing an animated performance is disclosed. The real-time method involves receiving animation data, the animation data used to animate a computer-generated character. The animation data may comprise motion capture data, or puppetry data, or a combination thereof. A computer-generated animated character is rendered in real-time with receiving the animation data.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HILINA K DEMETER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617