DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-Final Office Action on the Merits in response to communications filed by applicant on July 23rd, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the Claims, filed on July 23rd, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 5-6, 13, 15, 16, and 17 are currently amended and pending, claims 2, 7-8, 12, 14, 18-19 is original, unamended and pending, claim 20 is as previously presented and pending, and claims 3-4 and 9-11 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 12329471 B2 ("Balter") in view of NPL Yaw, pitch, and roll rotations ("LaValle") in further view of US 2019/0314097 A1 ("Diolaiti") in further view of US 2022/0015836 A1 ("Wang").
Regarding claim 1, Balter teaches a method, performed by a coordinate system transformation device in a robotic surgical system, of generating coordinate system transformation information, the method comprising (Balter: Figure 1, Figure 5, Figure 9, Figure 10, Abstract, “A surgical robotic system includes: a surgical table; a plurality of movable carts being oriented toward the surgical table, each of which includes a robotic arm, and an alignment unit configured to determine an orientation of the movable cart and the robotic arm relative to the surgical table; and a computer coupled to each of the plurality of movable carts and configured to calculate a yaw angle for each of the plurality of movable carts.”, Column 8 lines 44-50, “With reference to FIG. 1, a surgical robotic system 10 includes a control tower 20, which is connected to all of the components of the surgical robotic system 10 including a surgical console 30 and one or more robotic arms 40. Each of the robotic arms 40 includes a surgical instrument 50 removably coupled thereto. Each of the robotic arms 40 is also coupled to a movable cart 60.”):
calculating a first angle difference between a preset reference coordinate system and a first robot base coordinate system (Balter: Figure 5, Figure 9, Figure 10, Column 12 lines 51-67, “The setup arm 300 includes an alignment unit 316 coupled to the setup arm 300, and in particular to the joint 314. The alignment unit 316 is in operable communication with the control tower 20. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may be coupled directly to the coupling assembly 308. The alignment unit 316 is configured to determine the orientation of the setup arm 300 and the robotic arm 40 relative to a representative coordinate system 11, which is a construct generated by the computer 21 and is used to virtually place and orient each of the robotic arms 40 to the clinician viewpoint, e.g., through a camera and/or an endoscope. In particular, the alignment unit 316 is used to create a common reference alignment for the robotic arm 40 and to determine the yaw orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. As used herein the term "yaw" denotes movement of the robotic arm 40 about a vertical axis perpendicular to the ground.”, Column 13 lines 14-40, “The alignment unit 316 has a rotatable body 320 that allows a user to manually rotate the alignment unit 316 and adjust the angle of the alignment pattern 318 in order to align the alignment pattern 318 with the representative coordinate system 11. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may include an indicator 316a, such as a printed label or image on its surface to indicate a forward direction, or a direction relative to the patient. In further embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may be a line having an indication of a direction. In embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may include a first portion 324 and a second portion 322. The second portion 322 of the alignment pattern 318 may indicate a forward direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 closest to the patient, and the second portion 322 may indicate a backwards direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 furthest from the patient. The second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may be visually different, such as different colors and/or patterns to allow for easier differentiation. In exemplary embodiments, the second portion 322 may be green and the first portion 324 may be red. In embodiments, the second portion 322 may be blue and the first portion 324 may be yellow to allow for better differentiating by colorblind personnel. In further embodiments, the second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may have different patterns, such as one of the first portion 324 or the second portion 322 may be solid whereas the other may be dashed.”, Column 13 lines 41-67, “With reference to FIG. 6, a surgical table 100 is shown with a patient "P" disposed thereon. FIG. 6 also shows a plurality of alignment patterns 318a, 318b, 318c, 318dbeing oriented relative to the surgical table 100. The surgical table 100 may be used as a reference point for orienting the robotic arms 40 by aligning each of their respective alignment units 316. The reference point may be any object that remains stationary during the period of alignment; such as the surgical table 100, the patient "P", a wall, a marking on the floor, or even any one of the other alignment patterns 318.”, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, “FIG. shows a schematic diagram of the system 10 and in particular, the movable cart 60 and the robotic arm 40, as represented by the controller 21a for storing the yaw angle φ for each of the robotic arm 40 (e.g., a longitudinal axis of the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40) relative to the surgical table 100. Although only one set of a movable cart 60 and robotic arm 40 is shown in FIG. 9, multiple movable carts 60 and corresponding robotic arms 40 may be used. FIG. 9 shows a circular scale 102 having a degree scale from 0° to 360° being oriented with the top of the surgical table 100. In FIG. 9, the robotic arm 40 is shown as having the yaw angle φ of about 60°.”, Column 17 lines 10-20, “The circular scale 102 and the alignment angles shown thereon follow the right-hand rule ( e.g., counter-clockwise), and are defined based on the angle from the alignment pattern 318 to the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40. The angle is zero when the second portion 322 of the alignment pattern 318 is aligned with a longitudinal axis defined by the first link 42a in a forward direction. Conversely, for the system setup and user interface 110 (FIG. 10), the alignment angle is defined clockwise. The angle is zero when the second portion 322 is aligned with the reverse direction of the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40.”, Column 17 lines 21-24, “The yaw angle is determined by transforming the raw angle of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the surgical table 100 into transformed alignment angle using the following formula (I): alignment angle=mod (3 * π – raw alignment angle, 2 * π)”, Column 17 line 28-32, “In formula (I), the mod function is a modulo operation, which finds the remainder after division of the difference between 3*π and raw alignment angle by 2*π”. The cited passages clearly teach an alignment device attached to the base of a robot that is used measure the angular offset between a reference frame and the robot base frame. Column 12 lines 51-67 describes that the alignment device is coupled to the base of the first actively actuated member of the robot arm 40. The remaining passages describes the method by which an offset angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system (referred to as the representative coordinate system) is determined. The reference coordinate system is stated to be anything that does not move during the alignment process and the table the patient rests on is used as the reference coordinate system in the illustrative examples.),
based on a first dial manipulation value of a user obtained from a first angle measurement dial mounted on a first robot (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, Column 14 lines 3-31, “In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 includes an input device 326, which may be a button or any other user interface device, disposed on the alignment unit 316. The input device 326 is actuatable by a user to indicate to the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 that adjustments to the setup arm 300 and/or the alignment unit 316 are complete. As depicted in FIG. 7, the alignment unit 316 includes a light unit 412, a sensor 414, and a connector 416.The alignment unit 316 may also include a printed circuit board for incorporating various electronic components. The sensor 414 may be any suitable encoder, potentiometer, rotary variable differential transformer, or any other kind of rotary position sensor. In embodiments, the light unit 412 projects a number of different alignment patterns 318, including various shapes, numbers, letters, and/or symbols in one or more colors to help identify an orientation and/or direction of the alignment unit 316. The light unit 412 may include a light source, such as one or more light emitting diodes, which may be configured to emit a laser, and an optional projection pattern or lens, which shapes the emitted light into the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 is used to determine the angle of the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 may be configured to measure rotation of the alignment unit 316, which is then used to determine the orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. In particular, as the alignment unit 316 is rotated by a user, the sensor 414 determines the angle of the alignment pattern 318 and correlates this angle with a position of the robotic arm 40.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the alignment unit determines the angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system based on a rotation of the alignment unit by a user.),
wherein the calculating of the first angle difference comprises, in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system, calculating a third angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the first angle measurement dial, based on the first dial manipulation value obtained from the first angle measurement dial (Balter: Figure 5, Column 9 line 65 – Column 10 line 7, “With reference to FIG. 2, each of the robotic arms 40 may include a plurality of links 42a, 42b, 42c, which are inter connected at joints 44a, 44b, 44c, respectively. The joint 44a is configured to secure the robotic arm 40 to the movable cart 60 and defines a first longitudinal axis. With reference to FIG. 3, the movable cart 60 includes a lift 61 and a setup arm 62, which provides a base for mounting of the robotic arm 40. The lift 61 allows for vertical movement of the setup arm 62. The movable cart 60 also includes a display 69 for displaying information pertaining to the robotic arm 40.”, Column 12 lines 29-40, “With reference to FIG. 5, the robotic arm 40 is coupled to a setup arm 300, which is substantially the same as the setup arm 62. The setup arm 300 is further mounted to the movable cart 60. The setup arm 300 includes a setup arm base 302 that is coupled to the movable cart 60. The setup arm 300 further includes a plurality of movable links that are coupled to each other by actuators (not shown) allowing for movement of the setup arm 300 into various configurations. In particular, setup arm 300 includes a first setup link 304, a second setup link 306, and a coupling assembly 308. The coupling assembly 308 is configured to couple to a robotic arm 40”, Column 12 lines 41-50, “The setup arm base 302 is configured to secure the setup arm 300 to a surgical table (not shown) or the movable cart 12. The first setup link 304 is rotatable at a joint 310 360° about an axis "A-A" relative to the setup arm base 302. The second setup link 306 is rotatable at a joint 312 about an axis "B-B" relative to the first setup link 304. The coupling assembly 308 is rotatable at a joint 314 about an axis "C-C" relative to the second setup link 306. The coupling assembly 308 is further rotatable about an axis "D-D" from about 0° to about 90°.”, Column 12 lines 51-67, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 15 lines 19-49, “At step 510, the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 determines an orientation of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. In particular, the alignment unit 316 includes a sensor (not shown) that is used to determine an angle of the projected alignment pattern 318 relative to the position of the alignment unit 316. At step 512, based on the orientation of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the representative coordinate system the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 determines the position and orientation of the setup arm 300 and/or the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system At step 514, once the orientation of the robotic arm 40 is determined, the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 correlates the movements and orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system with movements of the manual inputs 18 configured to manipulate the robotic arm.”, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, Column 17 lines 10-20. The cited passages clearly show that the measurement dial (i.e. the alignment unit) is mounted on the end of the last link of the setup arm and, as can be seen from Figure 5, does not share the same coordinate system as the base. Furthermore, the cited passage clearly described determining the angle between the alignment unit and the reference coordinate system, which in the illustrative example is the table the patient rests on, as is stated in Column 15 lines 19-49. Therefore, it is clear from the cited passages that the measurement dial measures the angle difference between the measurement dial and the reference coordinate system in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system.);
calculating a second angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a second robot base coordinate system (Balter: Figure 1, Figure 10, Column 8 lines 44-50, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 17 lines 56-63, “With reference to FIG. 10, the user interface 110 is part of the ORTI and includes a graphical arm representation 112 of each of the robotic arms 40. Each of the graphical arm representations 112 displays an arm identification number 114 and the registered yaw angle 116. In addition, the graphical arm representation 112 is displayed in various colors and/or other indicator to indicate the state of the robotic arms 40.”. The cited passages teach that the surgical robotic system comprises a plurality of robot arms and that each of the arms are aligned relative to a reference coordinate system by determine an angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that each of the robots would have an alignment unit attached to the base.),
based on a second dial manipulation value of the user obtained from a second angle measurement dial mounted on a second robot (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, Column 14 lines 3-31. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because each robot is equipped with the alignment unit, that the second angle difference for the second robot and the same reference coordinate system used by the first robot is determined based on the rotation of the alignment unit on the second robot by the user.),
wherein the calculating of the second angle difference comprises, in a case in which the second angle measurement dial does not use the second robot base coordinate system, calculating a fourth angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the second angle measurement dial, based on the second dial manipulation value obtained from the second angle measurement dial (Balter: Figure 5, Column 9 line 65 – Column 10 line 7, Column 12 lines 41-50, Column 12 lines 51-67, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, Column 17 lines 10-20. The cited passages clearly show that the measurement dial (i.e. the alignment unit) is mounted on the end of the last link of the setup arm and, as can be seen from Figure 5, does not share the same coordinate system as the base. Furthermore, the cited passage clearly described determining the angle between the alignment unit and the reference coordinate system, which in the illustrative example is the table the patient rests on, as is stated in Column 15 lines 19-49. Therefore, it is clear from the cited passages that the measurement dial measures the angle difference between the measurement dial and the reference coordinate system in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system.);
calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system (Balter: Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 17 line 28-32. The cited passage clearly teach determining an angle difference between the measurement dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system by using the angle of the measurement dial relative to the reference coordinate system and the angles of the joints of the setup arm. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the angles of the setup arm provide the angle difference between the measurement dial and the robot base coordinate system.);
calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system (Balter: Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 17 line 28-32, Column 17 lines 36-46. The cited passage clearly teach determining an angle difference between the measurement dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system by using the angle of the measurement dial relative to the reference coordinate system and the angles of the joints of the setup arm. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the angles of the setup arm provide the angle difference between the measurement dial and the robot base coordinate system.).
Balter does not teach calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot;
calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot;
generating coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; and
controlling an operation of at least one of the first robot and the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information;
wherein the generating of the coordinate system transformation information comprises: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference;
generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference;
and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information.
LaValle, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generating coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined.);
wherein the generating of the coordinate system transformation information comprises: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. Balter teaches the method by which the angle difference between a robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly teaches generating coordinate system transformation information);
generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. Balter teaches the method by which the angle difference between a robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. Additionally, it is clearly that each robot has an alignment unit and that this process is performed for each robot in the system. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly teaches generating coordinate system transformation information);
and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information (LaValle: Whole Document. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that because the angle difference between each robot and the rotation matrix describing the rotation from each robot to the reference coordinate system is known, the rotation matrix between the two robot is easily determined using the known properties of the rotation matrix and geometric knowledge that would have been within the technological capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art.).
Balter teaches a system and method for controlling a plurality of surgical robots. Each of the robots are equipped with a dial that allows a user to enter an angle measurement. This angle measurement is used to determine the angle difference between the robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. This information is then used in the setup and control of the robots. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined, such as between two robot coordinate systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and because LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly the limitations “wherein the generating of the coordinate system transformation information comprises: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”, “generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference”, and “and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information”.
Balter teaches a method, performed by a coordinate system transformation device in a robotic surgical system, of generating coordinate system transformation information, the method comprising: calculating a first angle difference between a preset reference coordinate system and a first robot base coordinate system, based on a first dial manipulation value of a user obtained from a first angle measurement dial mounted on a first robot, wherein the calculating of the first angle difference comprises, in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system, calculating a third angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the first angle measurement dial, based on the first dial manipulation value obtained from the first angle measurement dial; calculating a second angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a second robot base coordinate system, based on a second dial manipulation value of the user obtained from a second angle measurement dial mounted on a second robot, wherein the calculating of the second angle difference comprises, in a case in which the second angle measurement dial does not use the second robot base coordinate system, calculating a fourth angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the second angle measurement dial, based on the second dial manipulation value obtained from the second angle measurement dial; calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system; calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system. Balter does not teach generating coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the generating of the coordinate system transformation information comprises: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information. LaValle teaches generating coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the generating of the coordinate system transformation information comprises: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the method taught in Balter with generating coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the generating of the coordinate system transformation information comprises: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information taught in LaValle. Furthermore, the method of determining the rotation matrix based on the roll, pitch, and yaw angles is a method of describing both two-dimensional and three-dimensional rotations of a robot that would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art and is used commonly in the field of robotic control. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had knowledge of such coordinate transformations and would have been capable of implement such. Additionally, Balter teaches that the orientations of the robot are required to properly control the robot and are determined by the method (Balter: Column 13 lines 1-13, “The orientation of each link of the robotic arm 40 and each setup link of the setup arm 300 is used in calculations to make the movement of the robotic arm 40 align with movements of input devices, e.g., manual inputs 18, at the surgical console 30.”). Describing the orientation of a robot in three-dimensional space requires the knowledge of how said robot translates and rotates through space. As such, the method in Balter is readily configurable with the method taught in LaValle, as the method already determines the yaw angle and is already configured to determine the orientations of the robot. Such modifications would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a method, performed by a coordinate system transformation device in a robotic surgical system, of generating coordinate system transformation information, the method comprising: generating coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the generating of the coordinate system transformation information comprises: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Balter with generating coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the generating of the coordinate system transformation information comprises: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information taught in LaValle with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Balter in view of LaValle does not teach calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot;
calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot;
controlling an operation of at least one of the first robot and the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information.
Diolaiti, in the same field of endeavor, teaches controlling an operation of at least one of the first robot and the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information (Diolaiti: Table 1, ¶ 0085, “The following table, Table 1, shows exemplary correspondence in the various reference frames. This table assumes that the reference frames are attached to their respective components, and are not redefined relative to their respective components during operation.”, ¶ 0087, “Before implementing a movement command received by one of the input devices 204 to control the secondary platform instrument 506, the orientation relative to the imaging system 502 is determined by the control system 110. This may be done by referring to stored data, such as an entry in a table associated with the secondary platform instrument 506. For example, some instruments may be identified when coupled to a slave manipulator arm as a type of instrument typically utilized in an oppositional configuration. Accordingly, because of the identity or type of the instrument, the control system 110 may determine that a transform (also referred to as “mapping”) comprising one or more inversions (for example, like that shown in Table 1 or another transform relationship) or other adjustments is to be made to properly relate the reference frame of that instrument to the reference frame of the imaging system 502.”, ¶ 0088, “In some implementations, the transforms may be implemented as one or more matrices comprising vectors or scalars. These transforms are applied by the control system 110 when determining instrument motion based on input device motion information received from the input devices 204. Depending on the implementation, a series of matrices and other calculations may be applied to invert (or otherwise rotate), translate, or scale and generate control signals for controlling the motion of the instruments. Any appropriate transformation mechanism may be used. For example, a rotational transform may be implemented by a rotation matrix (or series of rotation matrices) representing a difference between the orientations of two reference frames.”, ¶ 0097, “At operation 704, when the orientation comparison does not meet an orientation criterion set, the control system causes instrument motion in a first direction relative to the instrument frame of reference in response to a movement command. For example, when the orientation difference is less than an orientation threshold, such as 125°, 115°, or 95°, a movement command to move the instrument in an insertion direction may be implemented by the control system 110 by moving the instrument in the insertion direction defined relative to the imaging system 502. The orientation difference may be a total orientation difference in 3D space, or it may be an orientation difference when the insertion and viewing directions are projected onto a single plane. For example, the orientation difference may be when the directions are projected onto the X-Y plane, the X-Z plane, or the Y-Z plane defined by the imaging system reference frame or the instrument reference frame.”, ¶ 0099, “At operation 706, when the orientation comparison meets the orientation criterion set, the control system causes the instrument motion in a second direction relative to the instrument frame of reference in response to the same movement command. The second direction differs from the first direction. For example, the second direction may be opposite the first direction. Other examples of different directions are shown in Table 1.”, ¶ 0100, “In this way, the control system 110 may adjust or apply a movement command mapping (also called “transform”) when the orientation difference indicates that the secondary platform instrument is positioned opposite an intermediary plane, like the plane 510 shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, such that it is more natural from the operator's perspective to move the secondary platform instrument in a direction different than would be dictated by the reference frame of the secondary platform instrument.”. The cited passages teaches that, before implementing a movement command to the system, the system determined the orientation difference between instruments of the system. The system does this by determining a coordinate system transform between each instrument. The system then uses this orientation difference to implement the movement command of the instruments.).
Balter in view of LaValle teaches a method, performed by a coordinate system transformation device in a robotic surgical system, of generating coordinate system transformation information, the method comprising: determining a coordinate system transform between the first robot base coordinate system and second robot base coordinate system based on a first and second angle difference. Balter in view of LaValle does not teach controlling an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information. Diolaiti teaches controlling an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method taught in Balter in view of LaValle with controlling an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information taught in Diolaiti. Furthermore, the system taught in Balter in view of LaValle is both configured to determine the coordinate system transform between robots and control each of the robots in the system. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Balter in view of LaValle to control the first or second robot based on the coordinate system transform as taught in Diolaiti according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a method, performed by a coordinate system transformation device in a robotic surgical system, of generating coordinate system transformation information, the method comprising: controlling an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Balter in view of LaValle with controlling an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information taught in Diolaiti with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti does not teach calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot;
calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot.
Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot (Wang: ¶ 0041, “FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a dental robot according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 1, the dental robot includes a tandem positioning arm; the tandem positioning arm includes a pedestal 100, a first positioning arm 110, a second positioning arm 120 and a jacket 130, and the jacket 130 is configured to clamp surgical instruments; the pedestal 100, the first positioning arm 110, the second positioning arm 120 and the jacket 130 are connected in series in sequence by a first rotary joint 101, a second rotary joint 102 and a third rotary joint 103; and a joint angle measuring device is mounted at each of the rotary joints.”, ¶ 0045, “In the dental robot provided by the embodiments of the present application, the joint angle measuring device is mounted at each rotary joint of the tandem positioning arm, and the surgical instrument is positioned precisely through the joint angle measurement…”, ¶ 0068, “According to the joint angles measured by each joint angle measuring device in the tandem positioning arm, a D-H (Denavit Hartenberg) method in robot kinematics may be used to calculate the position of the jacket at the top of the tandem positioning arm in real time. Therefore, the position of the jacket may be accurately determined when the tandem positioning arm is dragged to perform surgical operations in its working space.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to measure an angle value using an angle measurement sensor mounted on the robot at each joint.);
calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot (Wang: ¶ 0041, “FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a dental robot according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 1, the dental robot includes a tandem positioning arm; the tandem positioning arm includes a pedestal 100, a first positioning arm 110, a second positioning arm 120 and a jacket 130, and the jacket 130 is configured to clamp surgical instruments; the pedestal 100, the first positioning arm 110, the second positioning arm 120 and the jacket 130 are connected in series in sequence by a first rotary joint 101, a second rotary joint 102 and a third rotary joint 103; and a joint angle measuring device is mounted at each of the rotary joints.”, ¶ 0045, “In the dental robot provided by the embodiments of the present application, the joint angle measuring device is mounted at each rotary joint of the tandem positioning arm, and the surgical instrument is positioned precisely through the joint angle measurement…”, ¶ 0068, “According to the joint angles measured by each joint angle measuring device in the tandem positioning arm, a D-H (Denavit Hartenberg) method in robot kinematics may be used to calculate the position of the jacket at the top of the tandem positioning arm in real time. Therefore, the position of the jacket may be accurately determined when the tandem positioning arm is dragged to perform surgical operations in its working space.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to measure an angle value using an angle measurement sensor mounted on the robot at each joint.).
Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti teaches a method, performed by a coordinate system transformation device in a robotic surgical system, of generating coordinate system transformation information, the method comprising: calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system. Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti does not teach calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot. Wang teaches calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti with calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot taught in Wang. Furthermore, the method taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti already teaches determining the joint values of the robot used to calculate the angle difference between the dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system, but does not specify how these angles are obtained. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would been easily able to modify the method to acquire the joint angle using angle measurement sensor as taught in Wang. Such a modification would only require simply adding the sensors taught in Wang to the robot used in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti. As such, this modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a method, performed by a coordinate system transformation device in a robotic surgical system, of generating coordinate system transformation information, the method comprising: calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti with calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot taught in Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti in further view of Wang teaches wherein the first angle measurement dial or the second angle measurement dial is configured to receive physical dial manipulation by the user and obtain the first dial manipulation value corresponding to the first angle difference or the second dial manipulation value corresponding to the second angle difference (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, Column 14 lines 3-31. The cited passage clearly teaches that the angle difference is determined based on a physical manipulation of the dial (referred to as the rotatable body) by a user.).
Regarding claim 5, Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti in further view of Wang teaches wherein the first angle measurement dial is mounted at a position of the first robot other than a position that is defined as a reference point of the first robot base coordinate system (Balter: Figure 5, Column 9 line 65 – Column 10 line 7, Column 12 lines 29-40, Column 12 lines 41-50, Column 12 lines 51-67, “The setup arm 300 includes an alignment unit 316 coupled to the setup arm 300, and in particular to the joint 314.”. The cited passages clearly show that the measurement dial (i.e. the alignment unit) is coupled to the end of the last link of the setup arm which, as can be seen in Figure 5, does not include the robot base coordinate system.).
Regarding claim 6, Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti in further view of Wang teaches wherein the second angle measurement dial is mounted at a position of the second robot other than a position that is defined as a reference point of the second robot base coordinate system (Figure 5, Column 9 line 65 – Column 10 line 7, Column 12 lines 29-40, Column 12 lines 41-50, Column 12 lines 51-67. The cited passages clearly show that the measurement dial (i.e. the alignment unit) is coupled to the end of the last link of the setup arm which, as can be seen in Figure 5, does not include the robot base coordinate system.).
Regarding claim 7, Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti in further view of Wang teaches wherein the coordinate system used by the first angle measurement dial has a reference point that is the position of the first robot at which the first angle measurement dial is mounted (Column 12 lines 51-67, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, Column 17 lines 10-20, Column 17 lines 21-24, Column 17 lines 36-46. The cited passages clearly show that coordinate system used by the measurement dial (i.e. the alignment unit) is the location the measurement dial. This is further shown in in Column 17 line 28-32 and Column 17 lines 36-46 where the yaw value of the base of the robot coordinate system relative to the reference is calculated by adjusting the yaw vale of the alignment unit to account for the joint angles of the setup arm.).
Regarding claim 8, Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti in further view of Wang teaches wherein the coordinate system used by the second angle measurement dial has a reference point that is the position of the second robot at which the second angle measurement dial is mounted (Balter: Column 12 lines 51-67, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, Column 17 lines 10-20, Column 17 lines 36-46. The cited passages clearly show that coordinate system used by the measurement dial (i.e. the alignment unit) is the location the measurement dial. This is further shown in in Column 17 line 28-32 and Column 17 lines 36-46 where the yaw value of the base of the robot coordinate system relative to the reference is calculated by adjusting the yaw vale of the alignment unit to account for the joint angles of the setup arm.).
Regarding claim 12, Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti in further view of Wang teaches wherein the first angle difference or the second angle difference is a difference in yaw value of a reference point of the first robot base coordinate system with respect to the preset reference coordinate system, or a difference in yaw value of a reference point of the second robot base coordinate system with respect to the preset reference coordinate system (Balter: Column 12 lines 51-67, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, Column 17 lines 10-20, Column 17 lines 21-24. The angle difference for each robot determined by the alignment unit is clearly a yaw value.).
Regarding claim 13, Balter teaches a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising (Balter: Figure 1, Figure 5, Figure 9, Figure 10, Abstract, “A surgical robotic system includes: a surgical table; a plurality of movable carts being oriented toward the surgical table, each of which includes a robotic arm, and an alignment unit configured to determine an orientation of the movable cart and the robotic arm relative to the surgical table; and a computer coupled to each of the plurality of movable carts and configured to calculate a yaw angle for each of the plurality of movable carts.”, Column 8 lines 44-50, “With reference to FIG. 1, a surgical robotic system 10 includes a control tower 20, which is connected to all of the components of the surgical robotic system 10 including a surgical console 30 and one or more robotic arms 40. Each of the robotic arms 40 includes a surgical instrument 50 removably coupled thereto. Each of the robotic arms 40 is also coupled to a movable cart 60.”):
a non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to store at least one program (Balter: Column 9 lines 48-64, “The computers 21, 31, 41 may include any suitable processor (not shown) operably connected to a memory (not shown), which may include one or more of volatile, non-volatile, magnetic, optical, or electrical media, such as read-only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), electrically-erasable programmable ROM (EEPROM), non-volatile RAM (NVRAM), or flash memory. The processor may be any suitable processor (e.g., control circuit) adapted to perform the operations, calculations, and/or set of instructions described in the present disclosure including, but not limited to, a hardware processor, a field programmable gate array (FPGA), a digital signal processor (DSP), a central processing unit (CPU), a microprocessor, and combinations thereof. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that the processor may be substituted for by using any logic processor (e.g., control circuit) adapted to execute algorithms, calculations, and/or set of instructions described herein.”);
and a processor configured to execute the at least one program (Balter: Column 9 lines 48-64) to
calculate a first angle difference between a preset reference coordinate system and a first robot base coordinate system (Balter: Figure 5, Figure 9, Figure 10, Column 12 lines 51-67, “The setup arm 300 includes an alignment unit 316 coupled to the setup arm 300, and in particular to the joint 314. The alignment unit 316 is in operable communication with the control tower 20. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may be coupled directly to the coupling assembly 308. The alignment unit 316 is configured to determine the orientation of the setup arm 300 and the robotic arm 40 relative to a representative coordinate system 11, which is a construct generated by the computer 21 and is used to virtually place and orient each of the robotic arms 40 to the clinician viewpoint, e.g., through a camera and/or an endoscope. In particular, the alignment unit 316 is used to create a common reference alignment for the robotic arm 40 and to determine the yaw orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. As used herein the term "yaw" denotes movement of the robotic arm 40 about a vertical axis perpendicular to the ground.”, Column 13 lines 14-40, “The alignment unit 316 has a rotatable body 320 that allows a user to manually rotate the alignment unit 316 and adjust the angle of the alignment pattern 318 in order to align the alignment pattern 318 with the representative coordinate system 11. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may include an indicator 316a, such as a printed label or image on its surface to indicate a forward direction, or a direction relative to the patient. In further embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may be a line having an indication of a direction. In embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may include a first portion 324 and a second portion 322. The second portion 322 of the alignment pattern 318 may indicate a forward direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 closest to the patient, and the second portion 322 may indicate a backwards direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 furthest from the patient. The second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may be visually different, such as different colors and/or patterns to allow for easier differentiation. In exemplary embodiments, the second portion 322 may be green and the first portion 324 may be red. In embodiments, the second portion 322 may be blue and the first portion 324 may be yellow to allow for better differentiating by colorblind personnel. In further embodiments, the second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may have different patterns, such as one of the first portion 324 or the second portion 322 may be solid whereas the other may be dashed.”, Column 13 lines 41-67, “With reference to FIG. 6, a surgical table 100 is shown with a patient "P" disposed thereon. FIG. 6 also shows a plurality of alignment patterns 318a, 318b, 318c, 318dbeing oriented relative to the surgical table 100. The surgical table 100 may be used as a reference point for orienting the robotic arms 40 by aligning each of their respective alignment units 316. The reference point may be any object that remains stationary during the period of alignment; such as the surgical table 100, the patient "P", a wall, a marking on the floor, or even any one of the other alignment patterns 318.”, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, “FIG. shows a schematic diagram of the system 10 and in particular, the movable cart 60 and the robotic arm 40, as represented by the controller 21a for storing the yaw angle φ for each of the robotic arm 40 (e.g., a longitudinal axis of the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40) relative to the surgical table 100. Although only one set of a movable cart 60 and robotic arm 40 is shown in FIG. 9, multiple movable carts 60 and corresponding robotic arms 40 may be used. FIG. 9 shows a circular scale 102 having a degree scale from 0° to 360° being oriented with the top of the surgical table 100. In FIG. 9, the robotic arm 40 is shown as having the yaw angle φ of about 60°.”, Column 17 lines 10-20, “The circular scale 102 and the alignment angles shown thereon follow the right-hand rule ( e.g., counter-clockwise), and are defined based on the angle from the alignment pattern 318 to the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40. The angle is zero when the second portion 322 of the alignment pattern 318 is aligned with a longitudinal axis defined by the first link 42a in a forward direction. Conversely, for the system setup and user interface 110 (FIG. 10), the alignment angle is defined clockwise. The angle is zero when the second portion 322 is aligned with the reverse direction of the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40.”, Column 17 lines 21-24, “The yaw angle is determined by transforming the raw angle of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the surgical table 100 into transformed alignment angle using the following formula (I): alignment angle=mod (3 * π – raw alignment angle, 2 * π)”, Column 17 line 28-32, “In formula (I), the mod function is a modulo operation, which finds the remainder after division of the difference between 3*π and raw alignment angle by 2*π”. The cited passages clearly teach an alignment device attached to the base of a robot that is used measure the angular offset between a reference frame and the robot base frame. Column 12 lines 51-67 describes that the alignment device is coupled to the base of the first actively actuated member of the robot arm 40. The remaining passages describes the method by which an offset angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system (referred to as the representative coordinate system) is determined. The reference coordinate system is stated to be anything that does not move during the alignment process and the table the patient rests on is used as the reference coordinate system in the illustrative examples.),
based on a first dial manipulation value of a user obtained from a first angle measurement dial mounted on a first robot (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, Column 14 lines 3-31, “In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 includes an input device 326, which may be a button or any other user interface device, disposed on the alignment unit 316. The input device 326 is actuatable by a user to indicate to the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 that adjustments to the setup arm 300 and/or the alignment unit 316 are complete. As depicted in FIG. 7, the alignment unit 316 includes a light unit 412, a sensor 414, and a connector 416.The alignment unit 316 may also include a printed circuit board for incorporating various electronic components. The sensor 414 may be any suitable encoder, potentiometer, rotary variable differential transformer, or any other kind of rotary position sensor. In embodiments, the light unit 412 projects a number of different alignment patterns 318, including various shapes, numbers, letters, and/or symbols in one or more colors to help identify an orientation and/or direction of the alignment unit 316. The light unit 412 may include a light source, such as one or more light emitting diodes, which may be configured to emit a laser, and an optional projection pattern or lens, which shapes the emitted light into the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 is used to determine the angle of the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 may be configured to measure rotation of the alignment unit 316, which is then used to determine the orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. In particular, as the alignment unit 316 is rotated by a user, the sensor 414 determines the angle of the alignment pattern 318 and correlates this angle with a position of the robotic arm 40.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the alignment unit determines the angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system based on a rotation of the alignment unit by a user.),
calculate, in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system, a third angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the first angle measurement dial, based on the first dial manipulation value obtained from the first angle measurement dial (Balter: Figure 5, Column 9 line 65 – Column 10 line 7, “With reference to FIG. 2, each of the robotic arms 40 may include a plurality of links 42a, 42b, 42c, which are inter connected at joints 44a, 44b, 44c, respectively. The joint 44a is configured to secure the robotic arm 40 to the movable cart 60 and defines a first longitudinal axis. With reference to FIG. 3, the movable cart 60 includes a lift 61 and a setup arm 62, which provides a base for mounting of the robotic arm 40. The lift 61 allows for vertical movement of the setup arm 62. The movable cart 60 also includes a display 69 for displaying information pertaining to the robotic arm 40.”, Column 12 lines 29-40, “With reference to FIG. 5, the robotic arm 40 is coupled to a setup arm 300, which is substantially the same as the setup arm 62. The setup arm 300 is further mounted to the movable cart 60. The setup arm 300 includes a setup arm base 302 that is coupled to the movable cart 60. The setup arm 300 further includes a plurality of movable links that are coupled to each other by actuators (not shown) allowing for movement of the setup arm 300 into various configurations. In particular, setup arm 300 includes a first setup link 304, a second setup link 306, and a coupling assembly 308. The coupling assembly 308 is configured to couple to a robotic arm 40”, Column 12 lines 41-50, “The setup arm base 302 is configured to secure the setup arm 300 to a surgical table (not shown) or the movable cart 12. The first setup link 304 is rotatable at a joint 310 360° about an axis "A-A" relative to the setup arm base 302. The second setup link 306 is rotatable at a joint 312 about an axis "B-B" relative to the first setup link 304. The coupling assembly 308 is rotatable at a joint 314 about an axis "C-C" relative to the second setup link 306. The coupling assembly 308 is further rotatable about an axis "D-D" from about 0° to about 90°.”, Column 12 lines 51-67, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 15 lines 19-49, “At step 510, the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 determines an orientation of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. In particular, the alignment unit 316 includes a sensor (not shown) that is used to determine an angle of the projected alignment pattern 318 relative to the position of the alignment unit 316. At step 512, based on the orientation of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the representative coordinate system the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 determines the position and orientation of the setup arm 300 and/or the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system At step 514, once the orientation of the robotic arm 40 is determined, the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 correlates the movements and orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system with movements of the manual inputs 18 configured to manipulate the robotic arm.”, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, Column 17 lines 10-20. The cited passages clearly show that the measurement dial (i.e. the alignment unit) is mounted on the end of the last link of the setup arm and, as can be seen from Figure 5, does not share the same coordinate system as the base. Furthermore, the cited passage clearly described determining the angle between the alignment unit and the reference coordinate system, which in the illustrative example is the table the patient rests on, as is stated in Column 15 lines 19-49. Therefore, it is clear from the cited passages that the measurement dial measures the angle difference between the measurement dial and the reference coordinate system in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system.);
calculate a second angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a second robot base coordinate system (Balter: Figure 1, Figure 10, Column 8 lines 44-50, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 17 lines 56-63, “With reference to FIG. 10, the user interface 110 is part of the ORTI and includes a graphical arm representation 112 of each of the robotic arms 40. Each of the graphical arm representations 112 displays an arm identification number 114 and the registered yaw angle 116. In addition, the graphical arm representation 112 is displayed in various colors and/or other indicator to indicate the state of the robotic arms 40.”. The cited passages teach that the surgical robotic system comprises a plurality of robot arms and that each of the arms are aligned relative to a reference coordinate system by determine an angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that each of the robots would have an alignment unit attached to the base.),
based on a second dial manipulation value of the user obtained from a second angle measurement dial mounted on a second robot (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, Column 14 lines 3-31. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because each robot is equipped with the alignment unit, that the second angle difference for the second robot and the same reference coordinate system used by the first robot is determined based on the rotation of the alignment unit on the second robot by the user.),
calculate, in a case in which the second angle measurement dial does not use the second robot base coordinate system, a fourth angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the second angle measurement dial, based on the second dial manipulation value obtained from the second angle measurement dial (Balter: Figure 5, Column 9 line 65 – Column 10 line 7, Column 12 lines 41-50, Column 12 lines 51-67, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, Column 17 lines 10-20. The cited passages clearly show that the measurement dial (i.e. the alignment unit) is mounted on the end of the last link of the setup arm and, as can be seen from Figure 5, does not share the same coordinate system as the base. Furthermore, the cited passage clearly described determining the angle between the alignment unit and the reference coordinate system, which in the illustrative example is the table the patient rests on, as is stated in Column 15 lines 19-49. Therefore, it is clear from the cited passages that the measurement dial measures the angle difference between the measurement dial and the reference coordinate system in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system.);
calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system (Balter: Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 17 line 28-32. The cited passage clearly teach determining an angle difference between the measurement dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system by using the angle of the measurement dial relative to the reference coordinate system and the angles of the joints of the setup arm. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the angles of the setup arm provide the angle difference between the measurement dial and the robot base coordinate system.);
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system (Balter: Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 17 line 28-32, Column 17 lines 36-46. The cited passage clearly teach determining an angle difference between the measurement dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system by using the angle of the measurement dial relative to the reference coordinate system and the angles of the joints of the setup arm. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the angles of the setup arm provide the angle difference between the measurement dial and the robot base coordinate system.).
Balter does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot;
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot;
generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; and
control an operation of at least one of the first robot and the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information;
wherein the processor is configured to execute the at least one program to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference;
generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference;
and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information.
LaValle, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined.);
wherein the processor is configured to execute the at least one program to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. Balter teaches the method by which the angle difference between a robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly teaches generating coordinate system transformation information);
generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. Balter teaches the method by which the angle difference between a robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. Additionally, it is clearly that each robot has an alignment unit and that this process is performed for each robot in the system. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly teaches generating coordinate system transformation information);
and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information (LaValle: Whole Document. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that because the angle difference between each robot and the rotation matrix describing the rotation from each robot to the reference coordinate system is known, the rotation matrix between the two robot is easily determined using the known properties of the rotation matrix and geometric knowledge that would have been within the technological capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art.).
Balter teaches a system and method for controlling a plurality of surgical robots. Each of the robots are equipped with a dial that allows a user to enter an angle measurement. This angle measurement is used to determine the angle difference between the robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. This information is then used in the setup and control of the robots. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate systems can be easily determined, such as between two robot coordinate systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and because LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly the limitations “wherein the processor is configured to execute the at least one program to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”, “generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference”, and “and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information”.
Balter teaches a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to store at least one program; and a processor configured to execute the at least one program to calculate a first angle difference between a preset reference coordinate system and a first robot base coordinate system, based on a dial manipulation value of a user obtained from a first angle measurement dial mounted on a first robot, calculate, in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system, a third angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the first angle measurement dial, based on the first dial manipulation value obtained from the first angle measurement dial; calculate a second angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a second robot base coordinate system, based on a dial manipulation value of the user obtained from a second angle measurement dial mounted on a second robot, calculate, in a case in which the second angle measurement dial does not use the second robot base coordinate system, a fourth angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the second angle measurement dial, based on the second dial manipulation value obtained from the second angle measurement dial; calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system. Balter does not teach generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the processor is configured to execute the at least one program to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information. LaValle teaches generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the processor is configured to execute the at least one program to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the device taught in Balter with generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference taught in LaValle. Furthermore, the method of determining the rotation matrix based on the roll, pitch, and yaw angles is a method of describing both two-dimensional and three-dimensional rotations of a robot that would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art and is used commonly in the field of robotic control. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had knowledge of such coordinate transformations and would have been capable of implement such. Additionally, Balter teaches that the orientations of the robot are required to properly control the robot and are determined by the device (Balter: Column 13 lines 1-13, “The orientation of each link of the robotic arm 40 and each setup link of the setup arm 300 is used in calculations to make the movement of the robotic arm 40 align with movements of input devices, e.g., manual inputs 18, at the surgical console 30.”). Describing the orientation of a robot in three-dimensional space requires the knowledge of how said robot translates and rotates through space. As such, the device in Balter is readily configurable with the method taught in LaValle, as the device already determines the yaw angle and is already configured to determine the orientations of the robot. Such modifications would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the processor is configured to execute the at least one program to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the device taught in Balter with generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the processor is configured to execute the at least one program to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information taught in LaValle with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Balter in view of LaValle does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot;
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot;
control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information.
Diolaiti, in the same field of endeavor, teaches control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information (Diolaiti: Table 1, ¶ 0085, “The following table, Table 1, shows exemplary correspondence in the various reference frames. This table assumes that the reference frames are attached to their respective components, and are not redefined relative to their respective components during operation.”, ¶ 0087, “Before implementing a movement command received by one of the input devices 204 to control the secondary platform instrument 506, the orientation relative to the imaging system 502 is determined by the control system 110. This may be done by referring to stored data, such as an entry in a table associated with the secondary platform instrument 506. For example, some instruments may be identified when coupled to a slave manipulator arm as a type of instrument typically utilized in an oppositional configuration. Accordingly, because of the identity or type of the instrument, the control system 110 may determine that a transform (also referred to as “mapping”) comprising one or more inversions (for example, like that shown in Table 1 or another transform relationship) or other adjustments is to be made to properly relate the reference frame of that instrument to the reference frame of the imaging system 502.”, ¶ 0088, “In some implementations, the transforms may be implemented as one or more matrices comprising vectors or scalars. These transforms are applied by the control system 110 when determining instrument motion based on input device motion information received from the input devices 204. Depending on the implementation, a series of matrices and other calculations may be applied to invert (or otherwise rotate), translate, or scale and generate control signals for controlling the motion of the instruments. Any appropriate transformation mechanism may be used. For example, a rotational transform may be implemented by a rotation matrix (or series of rotation matrices) representing a difference between the orientations of two reference frames.”, ¶ 0097, “At operation 704, when the orientation comparison does not meet an orientation criterion set, the control system causes instrument motion in a first direction relative to the instrument frame of reference in response to a movement command. For example, when the orientation difference is less than an orientation threshold, such as 125°, 115°, or 95°, a movement command to move the instrument in an insertion direction may be implemented by the control system 110 by moving the instrument in the insertion direction defined relative to the imaging system 502. The orientation difference may be a total orientation difference in 3D space, or it may be an orientation difference when the insertion and viewing directions are projected onto a single plane. For example, the orientation difference may be when the directions are projected onto the X-Y plane, the X-Z plane, or the Y-Z plane defined by the imaging system reference frame or the instrument reference frame.”, ¶ 0099, “At operation 706, when the orientation comparison meets the orientation criterion set, the control system causes the instrument motion in a second direction relative to the instrument frame of reference in response to the same movement command. The second direction differs from the first direction. For example, the second direction may be opposite the first direction. Other examples of different directions are shown in Table 1.”, ¶ 0100, “In this way, the control system 110 may adjust or apply a movement command mapping (also called “transform”) when the orientation difference indicates that the secondary platform instrument is positioned opposite an intermediary plane, like the plane 510 shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, such that it is more natural from the operator's perspective to move the secondary platform instrument in a direction different than would be dictated by the reference frame of the secondary platform instrument.”. The cited passages teaches that, before implementing a movement command to the system, the system determined the orientation difference between instruments of the system. The system does this by determining a coordinate system transform between each instrument. The system then uses this orientation difference to implement the movement command of the instruments.).
Balter in view of LaValle teaches a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: determining a coordinate system transform between the first robot base coordinate system and second robot base coordinate system based on a first and second angle difference. Balter in view of LaValle does not teach controlling an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information. Diolaiti teaches control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the device taught in Balter in view of LaValle with control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information taught in Diolaiti. Furthermore, the system taught in Balter in view of LaValle is both configured to determine the coordinate system transform between robots and control each of the robots in the system. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Balter in view of LaValle to control the first or second robot based on the coordinate system transform as taught in Diolaiti according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the device taught in Balter in view of LaValle with control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information taught in Diolaiti with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot;
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot.
Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot (Wang: ¶ 0041, “FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a dental robot according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 1, the dental robot includes a tandem positioning arm; the tandem positioning arm includes a pedestal 100, a first positioning arm 110, a second positioning arm 120 and a jacket 130, and the jacket 130 is configured to clamp surgical instruments; the pedestal 100, the first positioning arm 110, the second positioning arm 120 and the jacket 130 are connected in series in sequence by a first rotary joint 101, a second rotary joint 102 and a third rotary joint 103; and a joint angle measuring device is mounted at each of the rotary joints.”, ¶ 0045, “In the dental robot provided by the embodiments of the present application, the joint angle measuring device is mounted at each rotary joint of the tandem positioning arm, and the surgical instrument is positioned precisely through the joint angle measurement…”, ¶ 0068, “According to the joint angles measured by each joint angle measuring device in the tandem positioning arm, a D-H (Denavit Hartenberg) method in robot kinematics may be used to calculate the position of the jacket at the top of the tandem positioning arm in real time. Therefore, the position of the jacket may be accurately determined when the tandem positioning arm is dragged to perform surgical operations in its working space.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to measure an angle value using an angle measurement sensor mounted on the robot at each joint.);
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot (Wang: ¶ 0041, “FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a dental robot according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 1, the dental robot includes a tandem positioning arm; the tandem positioning arm includes a pedestal 100, a first positioning arm 110, a second positioning arm 120 and a jacket 130, and the jacket 130 is configured to clamp surgical instruments; the pedestal 100, the first positioning arm 110, the second positioning arm 120 and the jacket 130 are connected in series in sequence by a first rotary joint 101, a second rotary joint 102 and a third rotary joint 103; and a joint angle measuring device is mounted at each of the rotary joints.”, ¶ 0045, “In the dental robot provided by the embodiments of the present application, the joint angle measuring device is mounted at each rotary joint of the tandem positioning arm, and the surgical instrument is positioned precisely through the joint angle measurement…”, ¶ 0068, “According to the joint angles measured by each joint angle measuring device in the tandem positioning arm, a D-H (Denavit Hartenberg) method in robot kinematics may be used to calculate the position of the jacket at the top of the tandem positioning arm in real time. Therefore, the position of the jacket may be accurately determined when the tandem positioning arm is dragged to perform surgical operations in its working space.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to measure an angle value using an angle measurement sensor mounted on the robot at each joint.).
Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti teaches a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system. Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot. Wang teaches calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the device taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti with calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot taught in Wang. Furthermore, the device taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti already teaches determining the joint values of the robot used to calculate the angle difference between the dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system, but does not specify how these angles are obtained. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would been easily able to modify the device to acquire the joint angle using angle measurement sensor as taught in Wang. Such a modification would only require simply adding the sensors taught in Wang to the robot used in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti. As such, this modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the device taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti with calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot taught in Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti in further view of Wang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for executing the method of claim 1 on a computer (Balter: Column 9 lines 48-64).
Regarding claim 15, Balter teaches a surgical robot comprising (Balter: Figure 1, Figure 5, Figure 9, Figure 10, Abstract, “A surgical robotic system includes: a surgical table; a plurality of movable carts being oriented toward the surgical table, each of which includes a robotic arm, and an alignment unit configured to determine an orientation of the movable cart and the robotic arm relative to the surgical table; and a computer coupled to each of the plurality of movable carts and configured to calculate a yaw angle for each of the plurality of movable carts.”, Column 8 lines 44-50, “With reference to FIG. 1, a surgical robotic system 10 includes a control tower 20, which is connected to all of the components of the surgical robotic system 10 including a surgical console 30 and one or more robotic arms 40. Each of the robotic arms 40 includes a surgical instrument 50 removably coupled thereto. Each of the robotic arms 40 is also coupled to a movable cart 60.”):
one or more robotic arms configured to perform a motion by handle manipulation by an operator (Balter: Column 8 lines 44-50, “With reference to FIG. 1, a surgical robotic system 10 includes a control tower 20, which is connected to all of the components of the surgical robotic system 10 including a surgical console 30 and one or more robotic arms 40. Each of the robotic arms 40 includes a surgical instrument 50 removably coupled thereto. Each of the robotic arms 40 is also coupled to a movable cart 60.”, Column 9 lines 7-12, “The surgical console 30 also includes a plurality of user interface devices, such as foot pedals 36 and a pair of hand controllers 38a and 38b which are used by a user to remotely control robotic arms 40. The surgical console further includes an armrest 33 used to support clinician's arms while operating the handle controllers 38a and 38b.”);
a surgical instrument coupled to each of the one or more robotic arms (Balter: Column 8 lines 44-50, “With reference to FIG. 1, a surgical robotic system 10 includes a control tower 20, which is connected to all of the components of the surgical robotic system 10 including a surgical console 30 and one or more robotic arms 40. Each of the robotic arms 40 includes a surgical instrument 50 removably coupled thereto. Each of the robotic arms 40 is also coupled to a movable cart 60.”);
an angle measurement dial configured to receive physical manipulation of a dial by a user to obtain a dial manipulation value of the user (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, “The alignment unit 316 has a rotatable body 320 that allows a user to manually rotate the alignment unit 316 and adjust the angle of the alignment pattern 318 in order to align the alignment pattern 318 with the representative coordinate system 11. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may include an indicator 316a, such as a printed label or image on its surface to indicate a forward direction, or a direction relative to the patient. In further embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may be a line having an indication of a direction. In embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may include a first portion 324 and a second portion 322. The second portion 322 of the alignment pattern 318 may indicate a forward direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 closest to the patient, and the second portion 322 may indicate a backwards direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 furthest from the patient. The second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may be visually different, such as different colors and/or patterns to allow for easier differentiation. In exemplary embodiments, the second portion 322 may be green and the first portion 324 may be red. In embodiments, the second portion 322 may be blue and the first portion 324 may be yellow to allow for better differentiating by colorblind personnel. In further embodiments, the second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may have different patterns, such as one of the first portion 324 or the second portion 322 may be solid whereas the other may be dashed.”, Column 14 lines 3-31, “In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 includes an input device 326, which may be a button or any other user interface device, disposed on the alignment unit 316. The input device 326 is actuatable by a user to indicate to the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 that adjustments to the setup arm 300 and/or the alignment unit 316 are complete. As depicted in FIG. 7, the alignment unit 316 includes a light unit 412, a sensor 414, and a connector 416.The alignment unit 316 may also include a printed circuit board for incorporating various electronic components. The sensor 414 may be any suitable encoder, potentiometer, rotary variable differential transformer, or any other kind of rotary position sensor. In embodiments, the light unit 412 projects a number of different alignment patterns 318, including various shapes, numbers, letters, and/or symbols in one or more colors to help identify an orientation and/or direction of the alignment unit 316. The light unit 412 may include a light source, such as one or more light emitting diodes, which may be configured to emit a laser, and an optional projection pattern or lens, which shapes the emitted light into the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 is used to determine the angle of the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 may be configured to measure rotation of the alignment unit 316, which is then used to determine the orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. In particular, as the alignment unit 316 is rotated by a user, the sensor 414 determines the angle of the alignment pattern 318 and correlates this angle with a position of the robotic arm 40.”);
and a device configured to generate coordinate system transformation information based on an angle difference between coordinate systems (Balter: Column 12 lines 51-67, “The setup arm 300 includes an alignment unit 316 coupled to the setup arm 300, and in particular to the joint 314. The alignment unit 316 is in operable communication with the control tower 20. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may be coupled directly to the coupling assembly 308. The alignment unit 316 is configured to determine the orientation of the setup arm 300 and the robotic arm 40 relative to a representative coordinate system 11, which is a construct generated by the computer 21 and is used to virtually place and orient each of the robotic arms 40 to the clinician viewpoint, e.g., through a camera and/or an endoscope. In particular, the alignment unit 316 is used to create a common reference alignment for the robotic arm 40 and to determine the yaw orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. As used herein the term "yaw" denotes movement of the robotic arm 40 about a vertical axis perpendicular to the ground.”),
wherein the device is configured to calculate a first angle difference between a preset reference coordinate system and a first robot base coordinate system (Balter: Figure 5, Figure 9, Figure 10, Column 12 lines 51-67, “The setup arm 300 includes an alignment unit 316 coupled to the setup arm 300, and in particular to the joint 314. The alignment unit 316 is in operable communication with the control tower 20. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may be coupled directly to the coupling assembly 308. The alignment unit 316 is configured to determine the orientation of the setup arm 300 and the robotic arm 40 relative to a representative coordinate system 11, which is a construct generated by the computer 21 and is used to virtually place and orient each of the robotic arms 40 to the clinician viewpoint, e.g., through a camera and/or an endoscope. In particular, the alignment unit 316 is used to create a common reference alignment for the robotic arm 40 and to determine the yaw orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. As used herein the term "yaw" denotes movement of the robotic arm 40 about a vertical axis perpendicular to the ground.”, Column 13 lines 14-40, “The alignment unit 316 has a rotatable body 320 that allows a user to manually rotate the alignment unit 316 and adjust the angle of the alignment pattern 318 in order to align the alignment pattern 318 with the representative coordinate system 11. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may include an indicator 316a, such as a printed label or image on its surface to indicate a forward direction, or a direction relative to the patient. In further embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may be a line having an indication of a direction. In embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may include a first portion 324 and a second portion 322. The second portion 322 of the alignment pattern 318 may indicate a forward direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 closest to the patient, and the second portion 322 may indicate a backwards direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 furthest from the patient. The second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may be visually different, such as different colors and/or patterns to allow for easier differentiation. In exemplary embodiments, the second portion 322 may be green and the first portion 324 may be red. In embodiments, the second portion 322 may be blue and the first portion 324 may be yellow to allow for better differentiating by colorblind personnel. In further embodiments, the second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may have different patterns, such as one of the first portion 324 or the second portion 322 may be solid whereas the other may be dashed.”, Column 13 lines 41-67, “With reference to FIG. 6, a surgical table 100 is shown with a patient "P" disposed thereon. FIG. 6 also shows a plurality of alignment patterns 318a, 318b, 318c, 318dbeing oriented relative to the surgical table 100. The surgical table 100 may be used as a reference point for orienting the robotic arms 40 by aligning each of their respective alignment units 316. The reference point may be any object that remains stationary during the period of alignment; such as the surgical table 100, the patient "P", a wall, a marking on the floor, or even any one of the other alignment patterns 318.”, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, “FIG. shows a schematic diagram of the system 10 and in particular, the movable cart 60 and the robotic arm 40, as represented by the controller 21a for storing the yaw angle φ for each of the robotic arm 40 (e.g., a longitudinal axis of the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40) relative to the surgical table 100. Although only one set of a movable cart 60 and robotic arm 40 is shown in FIG. 9, multiple movable carts 60 and corresponding robotic arms 40 may be used. FIG. 9 shows a circular scale 102 having a degree scale from 0° to 360° being oriented with the top of the surgical table 100. In FIG. 9, the robotic arm 40 is shown as having the yaw angle φ of about 60°.”, Column 17 lines 10-20, “The circular scale 102 and the alignment angles shown thereon follow the right-hand rule ( e.g., counter-clockwise), and are defined based on the angle from the alignment pattern 318 to the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40. The angle is zero when the second portion 322 of the alignment pattern 318 is aligned with a longitudinal axis defined by the first link 42a in a forward direction. Conversely, for the system setup and user interface 110 (FIG. 10), the alignment angle is defined clockwise. The angle is zero when the second portion 322 is aligned with the reverse direction of the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40.”, Column 17 lines 21-24, “The yaw angle is determined by transforming the raw angle of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the surgical table 100 into transformed alignment angle using the following formula (I): alignment angle=mod (3 * π – raw alignment angle, 2 * π)”, Column 17 line 28-32, “In formula (I), the mod function is a modulo operation, which finds the remainder after division of the difference between 3*π and raw alignment angle by 2*π”. The cited passages clearly teach an alignment device attached to the base of a robot that is used measure the angular offset between a reference frame and the robot base frame. Column 12 lines 51-67 describes that the alignment device is coupled to the base of the first actively actuated member of the robot arm 40. The remaining passages describes the method by which an offset angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system (referred to as the representative coordinate system) is determined. The reference coordinate system is stated to be anything that does not move during the alignment process and the table the patient rests on is used as the reference coordinate system in the illustrative examples.),
based on a first dial manipulation value of a user obtained from a first angle measurement dial mounted on a first robot (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, Column 14 lines 3-31, “In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 includes an input device 326, which may be a button or any other user interface device, disposed on the alignment unit 316. The input device 326 is actuatable by a user to indicate to the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 that adjustments to the setup arm 300 and/or the alignment unit 316 are complete. As depicted in FIG. 7, the alignment unit 316 includes a light unit 412, a sensor 414, and a connector 416.The alignment unit 316 may also include a printed circuit board for incorporating various electronic components. The sensor 414 may be any suitable encoder, potentiometer, rotary variable differential transformer, or any other kind of rotary position sensor. In embodiments, the light unit 412 projects a number of different alignment patterns 318, including various shapes, numbers, letters, and/or symbols in one or more colors to help identify an orientation and/or direction of the alignment unit 316. The light unit 412 may include a light source, such as one or more light emitting diodes, which may be configured to emit a laser, and an optional projection pattern or lens, which shapes the emitted light into the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 is used to determine the angle of the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 may be configured to measure rotation of the alignment unit 316, which is then used to determine the orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. In particular, as the alignment unit 316 is rotated by a user, the sensor 414 determines the angle of the alignment pattern 318 and correlates this angle with a position of the robotic arm 40.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the alignment unit determines the angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system based on a rotation of the alignment unit by a user.);
calculate a second angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a second robot base coordinate system (Balter: Figure 1, Figure 10, Column 8 lines 44-50, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 17 lines 56-63, “With reference to FIG. 10, the user interface 110 is part of the ORTI and includes a graphical arm representation 112 of each of the robotic arms 40. Each of the graphical arm representations 112 displays an arm identification number 114 and the registered yaw angle 116. In addition, the graphical arm representation 112 is displayed in various colors and/or other indicator to indicate the state of the robotic arms 40.”. The cited passages teach that the surgical robotic system comprises a plurality of robot arms and that each of the arms are aligned relative to a reference coordinate system by determine an angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that each of the robots would have an alignment unit attached to the base.),
based on a second dial manipulation value of the user obtained from a second angle measurement dial mounted on a second robot (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, Column 14 lines 3-31. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because each robot is equipped with the alignment unit, that the second angle difference for the second robot and the same reference coordinate system used by the first robot is determined based on the rotation of the alignment unit on the second robot by the user.);
calculate, in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system, a third angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the first angle measurement dial, based on the first dial manipulation value obtained from the first angle measurement dial (Balter: Figure 5, Column 9 line 65 – Column 10 line 7, “With reference to FIG. 2, each of the robotic arms 40 may include a plurality of links 42a, 42b, 42c, which are inter connected at joints 44a, 44b, 44c, respectively. The joint 44a is configured to secure the robotic arm 40 to the movable cart 60 and defines a first longitudinal axis. With reference to FIG. 3, the movable cart 60 includes a lift 61 and a setup arm 62, which provides a base for mounting of the robotic arm 40. The lift 61 allows for vertical movement of the setup arm 62. The movable cart 60 also includes a display 69 for displaying information pertaining to the robotic arm 40.”, Column 12 lines 29-40, “With reference to FIG. 5, the robotic arm 40 is coupled to a setup arm 300, which is substantially the same as the setup arm 62. The setup arm 300 is further mounted to the movable cart 60. The setup arm 300 includes a setup arm base 302 that is coupled to the movable cart 60. The setup arm 300 further includes a plurality of movable links that are coupled to each other by actuators (not shown) allowing for movement of the setup arm 300 into various configurations. In particular, setup arm 300 includes a first setup link 304, a second setup link 306, and a coupling assembly 308. The coupling assembly 308 is configured to couple to a robotic arm 40”, Column 12 lines 41-50, “The setup arm base 302 is configured to secure the setup arm 300 to a surgical table (not shown) or the movable cart 12. The first setup link 304 is rotatable at a joint 310 360° about an axis "A-A" relative to the setup arm base 302. The second setup link 306 is rotatable at a joint 312 about an axis "B-B" relative to the first setup link 304. The coupling assembly 308 is rotatable at a joint 314 about an axis "C-C" relative to the second setup link 306. The coupling assembly 308 is further rotatable about an axis "D-D" from about 0° to about 90°.”, Column 12 lines 51-67, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 15 lines 19-49, “At step 510, the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 determines an orientation of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. In particular, the alignment unit 316 includes a sensor (not shown) that is used to determine an angle of the projected alignment pattern 318 relative to the position of the alignment unit 316. At step 512, based on the orientation of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the representative coordinate system the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 determines the position and orientation of the setup arm 300 and/or the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system At step 514, once the orientation of the robotic arm 40 is determined, the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 correlates the movements and orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system with movements of the manual inputs 18 configured to manipulate the robotic arm.”, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, Column 17 lines 10-20. The cited passages clearly show that the measurement dial (i.e. the alignment unit) is mounted on the end of the last link of the setup arm and, as can be seen from Figure 5, does not share the same coordinate system as the base. Furthermore, the cited passage clearly described determining the angle between the alignment unit and the reference coordinate system, which in the illustrative example is the table the patient rests on, as is stated in Column 15 lines 19-49. Therefore, it is clear from the cited passages that the measurement dial measures the angle difference between the measurement dial and the reference coordinate system in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system.);
calculate, in a case in which the second angle measurement dial does not use the second robot base coordinate system, a fourth angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the second angle measurement dial, based on the second dial manipulation value obtained from the second angle measurement dial (Balter: Figure 5, Column 9 line 65 – Column 10 line 7, Column 12 lines 41-50, Column 12 lines 51-67, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, Column 17 lines 10-20. The cited passages clearly show that the measurement dial (i.e. the alignment unit) is mounted on the end of the last link of the setup arm and, as can be seen from Figure 5, does not share the same coordinate system as the base. Furthermore, the cited passage clearly described determining the angle between the alignment unit and the reference coordinate system, which in the illustrative example is the table the patient rests on, as is stated in Column 15 lines 19-49. Therefore, it is clear from the cited passages that the measurement dial measures the angle difference between the measurement dial and the reference coordinate system in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system.);
calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system (Balter: Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 17 line 28-32. The cited passage clearly teach determining an angle difference between the measurement dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system by using the angle of the measurement dial relative to the reference coordinate system and the angles of the joints of the setup arm. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the angles of the setup arm provide the angle difference between the measurement dial and the robot base coordinate system.);
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system (Balter: Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 17 line 28-32, Column 17 lines 36-46. The cited passage clearly teach determining an angle difference between the measurement dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system by using the angle of the measurement dial relative to the reference coordinate system and the angles of the joints of the setup arm. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the angles of the setup arm provide the angle difference between the measurement dial and the robot base coordinate system.)
Balter does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot;
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot;
generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference;
control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information;
wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference;
generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference;
and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information.
LaValle, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined.);
wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. Balter teaches the method by which the angle difference between a robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly teaches generating coordinate system transformation information);
generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. Balter teaches the method by which the angle difference between a robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. Additionally, it is clearly that each robot has an alignment unit and that this process is performed for each robot in the system. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly teaches generating coordinate system transformation information);
and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information (LaValle: Whole Document. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that because the angle difference between each robot and the rotation matrix describing the rotation from each robot to the reference coordinate system is known, the rotation matrix between the two robot is easily determined using the known properties of the rotation matrix and geometric knowledge that would have been within the technological capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art.).
Balter teaches a system and method for controlling a plurality of surgical robots. Each of the robots are equipped with a dial that allows a user to enter an angle measurement. This angle measurement is used to determine the angle difference between the robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. This information is then used in the setup and control of the robots. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined, such as between two robot coordinate systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and because LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly the limitations “wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”, “generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference”, and “and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information”.
Balter teaches a surgical robot comprising: one or more robotic arms configured to perform a motion by handle manipulation by an operator; a surgical instrument coupled to each of the one or more robotic arms; an angle measurement dial configured to receive physical manipulation of a dial by a user to obtain a dial manipulation value of the user; and a device configured to generate coordinate system transformation information based on an angle difference between coordinate systems, wherein the device is configured to calculate a first angle difference between a preset reference coordinate system and a first robot base coordinate system, based on a first dial manipulation value of the user obtained from a first angle measurement dial mounted on a first robot, calculate a second angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a second robot base coordinate system, based on a second dial manipulation value of the user obtained from a second angle measurement dial mounted on a second robot; calculate, in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system, a third angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the first angle measurement dial, based on the first dial manipulation value obtained from the first angle measurement dial; calculate, in a case in which the second angle measurement dial does not use the second robot base coordinate system, a fourth angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the second angle measurement dial, based on the second dial manipulation value obtained from the second angle measurement dial; calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system. Balter does not teach generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information. LaValle teaches generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the system taught in Balter with generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference taught in LaValle. Furthermore, the method of determining the rotation matrix based on the roll, pitch, and yaw angles is a method of describing both two-dimensional and three-dimensional rotations of a robot that would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art and is used commonly in the field of robotic control. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had knowledge of such coordinate transformations and would have been capable of implement such. Additionally, Balter teaches that the orientations of the robot are required to properly control the robot and are determined by the system (Balter: Column 13 lines 1-13, “The orientation of each link of the robotic arm 40 and each setup link of the setup arm 300 is used in calculations to make the movement of the robotic arm 40 align with movements of input devices, e.g., manual inputs 18, at the surgical console 30.”). Describing the orientation of a robot in three-dimensional space requires the knowledge of how said robot translates and rotates through space. As such, the system in Balter is readily configurable with the method taught in LaValle, as the system already determines the yaw angle and is already configured to determine the orientations of the robot. Such modifications would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a surgical robot comprising: generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the system taught in Balter with generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information taught in LaValle with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Balter in view of LaValle does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot;
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot;
control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information.
Diolaiti, in the same field of endeavor, teaches control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information (Diolaiti: Table 1, ¶ 0085, “The following table, Table 1, shows exemplary correspondence in the various reference frames. This table assumes that the reference frames are attached to their respective components, and are not redefined relative to their respective components during operation.”, ¶ 0087, “Before implementing a movement command received by one of the input devices 204 to control the secondary platform instrument 506, the orientation relative to the imaging system 502 is determined by the control system 110. This may be done by referring to stored data, such as an entry in a table associated with the secondary platform instrument 506. For example, some instruments may be identified when coupled to a slave manipulator arm as a type of instrument typically utilized in an oppositional configuration. Accordingly, because of the identity or type of the instrument, the control system 110 may determine that a transform (also referred to as “mapping”) comprising one or more inversions (for example, like that shown in Table 1 or another transform relationship) or other adjustments is to be made to properly relate the reference frame of that instrument to the reference frame of the imaging system 502.”, ¶ 0088, “In some implementations, the transforms may be implemented as one or more matrices comprising vectors or scalars. These transforms are applied by the control system 110 when determining instrument motion based on input device motion information received from the input devices 204. Depending on the implementation, a series of matrices and other calculations may be applied to invert (or otherwise rotate), translate, or scale and generate control signals for controlling the motion of the instruments. Any appropriate transformation mechanism may be used. For example, a rotational transform may be implemented by a rotation matrix (or series of rotation matrices) representing a difference between the orientations of two reference frames.”, ¶ 0097, “At operation 704, when the orientation comparison does not meet an orientation criterion set, the control system causes instrument motion in a first direction relative to the instrument frame of reference in response to a movement command. For example, when the orientation difference is less than an orientation threshold, such as 125°, 115°, or 95°, a movement command to move the instrument in an insertion direction may be implemented by the control system 110 by moving the instrument in the insertion direction defined relative to the imaging system 502. The orientation difference may be a total orientation difference in 3D space, or it may be an orientation difference when the insertion and viewing directions are projected onto a single plane. For example, the orientation difference may be when the directions are projected onto the X-Y plane, the X-Z plane, or the Y-Z plane defined by the imaging system reference frame or the instrument reference frame.”, ¶ 0099, “At operation 706, when the orientation comparison meets the orientation criterion set, the control system causes the instrument motion in a second direction relative to the instrument frame of reference in response to the same movement command. The second direction differs from the first direction. For example, the second direction may be opposite the first direction. Other examples of different directions are shown in Table 1.”, ¶ 0100, “In this way, the control system 110 may adjust or apply a movement command mapping (also called “transform”) when the orientation difference indicates that the secondary platform instrument is positioned opposite an intermediary plane, like the plane 510 shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, such that it is more natural from the operator's perspective to move the secondary platform instrument in a direction different than would be dictated by the reference frame of the secondary platform instrument.”. The cited passages teaches that, before implementing a movement command to the system, the system determined the orientation difference between instruments of the system. The system does this by determining a coordinate system transform between each instrument. The system then uses this orientation difference to implement the movement command of the instruments.).
Balter in view of LaValle teaches a surgical robot comprising: determining a coordinate system transform between the first robot base coordinate system and second robot base coordinate system based on a first and second angle difference. Balter in view of LaValle does not teach controlling an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information. Diolaiti teaches control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the robot taught in Balter in view of LaValle with control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information taught in Diolaiti. Furthermore, the system taught in Balter in view of LaValle is both configured to determine the coordinate system transform between robots and control each of the robots in the system. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Balter in view of LaValle to control the first or second robot based on the coordinate system transform as taught in Diolaiti according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the robot taught in Balter in view of LaValle with control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information taught in Diolaiti with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot;
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot.
Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot (Wang: ¶ 0041, “FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a dental robot according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 1, the dental robot includes a tandem positioning arm; the tandem positioning arm includes a pedestal 100, a first positioning arm 110, a second positioning arm 120 and a jacket 130, and the jacket 130 is configured to clamp surgical instruments; the pedestal 100, the first positioning arm 110, the second positioning arm 120 and the jacket 130 are connected in series in sequence by a first rotary joint 101, a second rotary joint 102 and a third rotary joint 103; and a joint angle measuring device is mounted at each of the rotary joints.”, ¶ 0045, “In the dental robot provided by the embodiments of the present application, the joint angle measuring device is mounted at each rotary joint of the tandem positioning arm, and the surgical instrument is positioned precisely through the joint angle measurement…”, ¶ 0068, “According to the joint angles measured by each joint angle measuring device in the tandem positioning arm, a D-H (Denavit Hartenberg) method in robot kinematics may be used to calculate the position of the jacket at the top of the tandem positioning arm in real time. Therefore, the position of the jacket may be accurately determined when the tandem positioning arm is dragged to perform surgical operations in its working space.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to measure an angle value using an angle measurement sensor mounted on the robot at each joint.);
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot (Wang: ¶ 0041, “FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a dental robot according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 1, the dental robot includes a tandem positioning arm; the tandem positioning arm includes a pedestal 100, a first positioning arm 110, a second positioning arm 120 and a jacket 130, and the jacket 130 is configured to clamp surgical instruments; the pedestal 100, the first positioning arm 110, the second positioning arm 120 and the jacket 130 are connected in series in sequence by a first rotary joint 101, a second rotary joint 102 and a third rotary joint 103; and a joint angle measuring device is mounted at each of the rotary joints.”, ¶ 0045, “In the dental robot provided by the embodiments of the present application, the joint angle measuring device is mounted at each rotary joint of the tandem positioning arm, and the surgical instrument is positioned precisely through the joint angle measurement…”, ¶ 0068, “According to the joint angles measured by each joint angle measuring device in the tandem positioning arm, a D-H (Denavit Hartenberg) method in robot kinematics may be used to calculate the position of the jacket at the top of the tandem positioning arm in real time. Therefore, the position of the jacket may be accurately determined when the tandem positioning arm is dragged to perform surgical operations in its working space.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to measure an angle value using an angle measurement sensor mounted on the robot at each joint.).
Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti teaches a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system. Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot. Wang teaches calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the device taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti with calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot taught in Wang. Furthermore, the device taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti already teaches determining the joint values of the robot used to calculate the angle difference between the dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system, but does not specify how these angles are obtained. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would been easily able to modify the device to acquire the joint angle using angle measurement sensor as taught in Wang. Such a modification would only require simply adding the sensors taught in Wang to the robot used in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti. As such, this modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the device taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti with calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot taught in Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 16, Balter teaches a laparoscopic camera robot comprising (Balter: Figure 1, Figure 5, Figure 9, Figure 10, Abstract, “A surgical robotic system includes: a surgical table; a plurality of movable carts being oriented toward the surgical table, each of which includes a robotic arm, and an alignment unit configured to determine an orientation of the movable cart and the robotic arm relative to the surgical table; and a computer coupled to each of the plurality of movable carts and configured to calculate a yaw angle for each of the plurality of movable carts.”, Column 8 lines 44-50, “With reference to FIG. 1, a surgical robotic system 10 includes a control tower 20, which is connected to all of the components of the surgical robotic system 10 including a surgical console 30 and one or more robotic arms 40. Each of the robotic arms 40 includes a surgical instrument 50 removably coupled thereto. Each of the robotic arms 40 is also coupled to a movable cart 60.”):
one or more robotic arms configured to perform a motion by handle manipulation by an operator (Balter: Column 8 lines 44-50, “With reference to FIG. 1, a surgical robotic system 10 includes a control tower 20, which is connected to all of the components of the surgical robotic system 10 including a surgical console 30 and one or more robotic arms 40. Each of the robotic arms 40 includes a surgical instrument 50 removably coupled thereto. Each of the robotic arms 40 is also coupled to a movable cart 60.”, Column 9 lines 7-12, “The surgical console 30 also includes a plurality of user interface devices, such as foot pedals 36 and a pair of hand controllers 38a and 38b which are used by a user to remotely control robotic arms 40. The surgical console further includes an armrest 33 used to support clinician's arms while operating the handle controllers 38a and 38b.”);
a laparoscopic surgical camera coupled to each of the one or more robotic arms (Balter: Column 8 lines 44-50, “With reference to FIG. 1, a surgical robotic system 10 includes a control tower 20, which is connected to all of the components of the surgical robotic system 10 including a surgical console 30 and one or more robotic arms 40. Each of the robotic arms 40 includes a surgical instrument 50 removably coupled thereto. Each of the robotic arms 40 is also coupled to a movable cart 60.”, Column 8 lines 51-64, “The surgical instrument 50 is configured for use during minimally invasive surgical procedures. In embodiments, the surgical instrument 50 may be configured for open surgical procedures. In embodiments, the surgical instrument 50 may be an endoscope, such as an endoscopic camera 51, configured to provide a video feed for the user. In further embodiments, the surgical instrument 50 may be an electrosurgical forceps configured to seal tissue by com pression tissue between jaw members and applying electro- surgical current thereto. In yet further embodiments, the surgical instrument 50 may be a surgical stapler including a pair of jaws configured to grasp and clamp tissue whilst deploying a plurality of tissue fasteners, e.g., staples, and cutting stapled tissue.”, Column 8 line 65 – Column 9 line 6, “One of the robotic arms 40 may include a camera 51 configured to capture video of the surgical site. The surgical console 30 includes a first display 32, which displays a video feed of the surgical site provided by camera 51 of the surgical instrument 50 disposed on the robotic arms 40, and a second display 34, which displays a user interface for controlling the surgical robotic system 10. The first and second displays 32 and 34 are touchscreens allowing for displaying various graphical user inputs.”);
an angle measurement dial configured to receive physical manipulation of a dial by a user to obtain a dial manipulation value of the user (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, “The alignment unit 316 has a rotatable body 320 that allows a user to manually rotate the alignment unit 316 and adjust the angle of the alignment pattern 318 in order to align the alignment pattern 318 with the representative coordinate system 11. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may include an indicator 316a, such as a printed label or image on its surface to indicate a forward direction, or a direction relative to the patient. In further embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may be a line having an indication of a direction. In embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may include a first portion 324 and a second portion 322. The second portion 322 of the alignment pattern 318 may indicate a forward direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 closest to the patient, and the second portion 322 may indicate a backwards direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 furthest from the patient. The second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may be visually different, such as different colors and/or patterns to allow for easier differentiation. In exemplary embodiments, the second portion 322 may be green and the first portion 324 may be red. In embodiments, the second portion 322 may be blue and the first portion 324 may be yellow to allow for better differentiating by colorblind personnel. In further embodiments, the second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may have different patterns, such as one of the first portion 324 or the second portion 322 may be solid whereas the other may be dashed.”, Column 14 lines 3-31, “In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 includes an input device 326, which may be a button or any other user interface device, disposed on the alignment unit 316. The input device 326 is actuatable by a user to indicate to the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 that adjustments to the setup arm 300 and/or the alignment unit 316 are complete. As depicted in FIG. 7, the alignment unit 316 includes a light unit 412, a sensor 414, and a connector 416.The alignment unit 316 may also include a printed circuit board for incorporating various electronic components. The sensor 414 may be any suitable encoder, potentiometer, rotary variable differential transformer, or any other kind of rotary position sensor. In embodiments, the light unit 412 projects a number of different alignment patterns 318, including various shapes, numbers, letters, and/or symbols in one or more colors to help identify an orientation and/or direction of the alignment unit 316. The light unit 412 may include a light source, such as one or more light emitting diodes, which may be configured to emit a laser, and an optional projection pattern or lens, which shapes the emitted light into the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 is used to determine the angle of the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 may be configured to measure rotation of the alignment unit 316, which is then used to determine the orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. In particular, as the alignment unit 316 is rotated by a user, the sensor 414 determines the angle of the alignment pattern 318 and correlates this angle with a position of the robotic arm 40.”);
and a device configured to generate coordinate system transformation information based on an angle difference between coordinate systems (Balter: Column 12 lines 51-67, “The setup arm 300 includes an alignment unit 316 coupled to the setup arm 300, and in particular to the joint 314. The alignment unit 316 is in operable communication with the control tower 20. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may be coupled directly to the coupling assembly 308. The alignment unit 316 is configured to determine the orientation of the setup arm 300 and the robotic arm 40 relative to a representative coordinate system 11, which is a construct generated by the computer 21 and is used to virtually place and orient each of the robotic arms 40 to the clinician viewpoint, e.g., through a camera and/or an endoscope. In particular, the alignment unit 316 is used to create a common reference alignment for the robotic arm 40 and to determine the yaw orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. As used herein the term "yaw" denotes movement of the robotic arm 40 about a vertical axis perpendicular to the ground.”),
wherein the device is configured to calculate a first angle difference between a preset reference coordinate system and a first robot base coordinate system (Balter: Figure 5, Figure 9, Figure 10, Column 12 lines 51-67, “The setup arm 300 includes an alignment unit 316 coupled to the setup arm 300, and in particular to the joint 314. The alignment unit 316 is in operable communication with the control tower 20. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may be coupled directly to the coupling assembly 308. The alignment unit 316 is configured to determine the orientation of the setup arm 300 and the robotic arm 40 relative to a representative coordinate system 11, which is a construct generated by the computer 21 and is used to virtually place and orient each of the robotic arms 40 to the clinician viewpoint, e.g., through a camera and/or an endoscope. In particular, the alignment unit 316 is used to create a common reference alignment for the robotic arm 40 and to determine the yaw orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. As used herein the term "yaw" denotes movement of the robotic arm 40 about a vertical axis perpendicular to the ground.”, Column 13 lines 14-40, “The alignment unit 316 has a rotatable body 320 that allows a user to manually rotate the alignment unit 316 and adjust the angle of the alignment pattern 318 in order to align the alignment pattern 318 with the representative coordinate system 11. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may include an indicator 316a, such as a printed label or image on its surface to indicate a forward direction, or a direction relative to the patient. In further embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may be a line having an indication of a direction. In embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may include a first portion 324 and a second portion 322. The second portion 322 of the alignment pattern 318 may indicate a forward direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 closest to the patient, and the second portion 322 may indicate a backwards direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 furthest from the patient. The second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may be visually different, such as different colors and/or patterns to allow for easier differentiation. In exemplary embodiments, the second portion 322 may be green and the first portion 324 may be red. In embodiments, the second portion 322 may be blue and the first portion 324 may be yellow to allow for better differentiating by colorblind personnel. In further embodiments, the second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may have different patterns, such as one of the first portion 324 or the second portion 322 may be solid whereas the other may be dashed.”, Column 13 lines 41-67, “With reference to FIG. 6, a surgical table 100 is shown with a patient "P" disposed thereon. FIG. 6 also shows a plurality of alignment patterns 318a, 318b, 318c, 318dbeing oriented relative to the surgical table 100. The surgical table 100 may be used as a reference point for orienting the robotic arms 40 by aligning each of their respective alignment units 316. The reference point may be any object that remains stationary during the period of alignment; such as the surgical table 100, the patient "P", a wall, a marking on the floor, or even any one of the other alignment patterns 318.”, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, “FIG. shows a schematic diagram of the system 10 and in particular, the movable cart 60 and the robotic arm 40, as represented by the controller 21a for storing the yaw angle φ for each of the robotic arm 40 (e.g., a longitudinal axis of the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40) relative to the surgical table 100. Although only one set of a movable cart 60 and robotic arm 40 is shown in FIG. 9, multiple movable carts 60 and corresponding robotic arms 40 may be used. FIG. 9 shows a circular scale 102 having a degree scale from 0° to 360° being oriented with the top of the surgical table 100. In FIG. 9, the robotic arm 40 is shown as having the yaw angle φ of about 60°.”, Column 17 lines 10-20, “The circular scale 102 and the alignment angles shown thereon follow the right-hand rule ( e.g., counter-clockwise), and are defined based on the angle from the alignment pattern 318 to the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40. The angle is zero when the second portion 322 of the alignment pattern 318 is aligned with a longitudinal axis defined by the first link 42a in a forward direction. Conversely, for the system setup and user interface 110 (FIG. 10), the alignment angle is defined clockwise. The angle is zero when the second portion 322 is aligned with the reverse direction of the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40.”, Column 17 lines 21-24, “The yaw angle is determined by transforming the raw angle of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the surgical table 100 into transformed alignment angle using the following formula (I): alignment angle=mod (3 * π – raw alignment angle, 2 * π)”, Column 17 line 28-32, “In formula (I), the mod function is a modulo operation, which finds the remainder after division of the difference between 3*π and raw alignment angle by 2*π”. The cited passages clearly teach an alignment device attached to the base of a robot that is used measure the angular offset between a reference frame and the robot base frame. Column 12 lines 51-67 describes that the alignment device is coupled to the base of the first actively actuated member of the robot arm 40. The remaining passages describes the method by which an offset angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system (referred to as the representative coordinate system) is determined. The reference coordinate system is stated to be anything that does not move during the alignment process and the table the patient rests on is used as the reference coordinate system in the illustrative examples.),
based on a first dial manipulation value of a user obtained from a first angle measurement dial mounted on a first robot (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, Column 14 lines 3-31, “In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 includes an input device 326, which may be a button or any other user interface device, disposed on the alignment unit 316. The input device 326 is actuatable by a user to indicate to the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 that adjustments to the setup arm 300 and/or the alignment unit 316 are complete. As depicted in FIG. 7, the alignment unit 316 includes a light unit 412, a sensor 414, and a connector 416.The alignment unit 316 may also include a printed circuit board for incorporating various electronic components. The sensor 414 may be any suitable encoder, potentiometer, rotary variable differential transformer, or any other kind of rotary position sensor. In embodiments, the light unit 412 projects a number of different alignment patterns 318, including various shapes, numbers, letters, and/or symbols in one or more colors to help identify an orientation and/or direction of the alignment unit 316. The light unit 412 may include a light source, such as one or more light emitting diodes, which may be configured to emit a laser, and an optional projection pattern or lens, which shapes the emitted light into the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 is used to determine the angle of the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 may be configured to measure rotation of the alignment unit 316, which is then used to determine the orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. In particular, as the alignment unit 316 is rotated by a user, the sensor 414 determines the angle of the alignment pattern 318 and correlates this angle with a position of the robotic arm 40.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the alignment unit determines the angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system based on a rotation of the alignment unit by a user.);
calculate a second angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a second robot base coordinate system (Balter: Figure 1, Figure 10, Column 8 lines 44-50, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 17 lines 56-63, “With reference to FIG. 10, the user interface 110 is part of the ORTI and includes a graphical arm representation 112 of each of the robotic arms 40. Each of the graphical arm representations 112 displays an arm identification number 114 and the registered yaw angle 116. In addition, the graphical arm representation 112 is displayed in various colors and/or other indicator to indicate the state of the robotic arms 40.”. The cited passages teach that the surgical robotic system comprises a plurality of robot arms and that each of the arms are aligned relative to a reference coordinate system by determine an angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that each of the robots would have an alignment unit attached to the base.),
based on a dial manipulation value of the user obtained from a second angle measurement dial mounted on a second robot (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, Column 14 lines 3-31. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because each robot is equipped with the alignment unit, that the second angle difference for the second robot and the same reference coordinate system used by the first robot is determined based on the rotation of the alignment unit on the second robot by the user.);
calculate, in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system, a third angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the first angle measurement dial, based on the first dial manipulation value obtained from the first angle measurement dial (Balter: Figure 5, Column 9 line 65 – Column 10 line 7, “With reference to FIG. 2, each of the robotic arms 40 may include a plurality of links 42a, 42b, 42c, which are inter connected at joints 44a, 44b, 44c, respectively. The joint 44a is configured to secure the robotic arm 40 to the movable cart 60 and defines a first longitudinal axis. With reference to FIG. 3, the movable cart 60 includes a lift 61 and a setup arm 62, which provides a base for mounting of the robotic arm 40. The lift 61 allows for vertical movement of the setup arm 62. The movable cart 60 also includes a display 69 for displaying information pertaining to the robotic arm 40.”, Column 12 lines 29-40, “With reference to FIG. 5, the robotic arm 40 is coupled to a setup arm 300, which is substantially the same as the setup arm 62. The setup arm 300 is further mounted to the movable cart 60. The setup arm 300 includes a setup arm base 302 that is coupled to the movable cart 60. The setup arm 300 further includes a plurality of movable links that are coupled to each other by actuators (not shown) allowing for movement of the setup arm 300 into various configurations. In particular, setup arm 300 includes a first setup link 304, a second setup link 306, and a coupling assembly 308. The coupling assembly 308 is configured to couple to a robotic arm 40”, Column 12 lines 41-50, “The setup arm base 302 is configured to secure the setup arm 300 to a surgical table (not shown) or the movable cart 12. The first setup link 304 is rotatable at a joint 310 360° about an axis "A-A" relative to the setup arm base 302. The second setup link 306 is rotatable at a joint 312 about an axis "B-B" relative to the first setup link 304. The coupling assembly 308 is rotatable at a joint 314 about an axis "C-C" relative to the second setup link 306. The coupling assembly 308 is further rotatable about an axis "D-D" from about 0° to about 90°.”, Column 12 lines 51-67, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 15 lines 19-49, “At step 510, the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 determines an orientation of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. In particular, the alignment unit 316 includes a sensor (not shown) that is used to determine an angle of the projected alignment pattern 318 relative to the position of the alignment unit 316. At step 512, based on the orientation of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the representative coordinate system the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 determines the position and orientation of the setup arm 300 and/or the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system At step 514, once the orientation of the robotic arm 40 is determined, the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 correlates the movements and orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system with movements of the manual inputs 18 configured to manipulate the robotic arm.”, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, Column 17 lines 10-20. The cited passages clearly show that the measurement dial (i.e. the alignment unit) is mounted on the end of the last link of the setup arm and, as can be seen from Figure 5, does not share the same coordinate system as the base. Furthermore, the cited passage clearly described determining the angle between the alignment unit and the reference coordinate system, which in the illustrative example is the table the patient rests on, as is stated in Column 15 lines 19-49. Therefore, it is clear from the cited passages that the measurement dial measures the angle difference between the measurement dial and the reference coordinate system in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system.);
calculate, in a case in which the second angle measurement dial does not use the second robot base coordinate system, a fourth angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the second angle measurement dial, based on the second dial manipulation value obtained from the second angle measurement dial (Balter: Figure 5, Column 9 line 65 – Column 10 line 7, Column 12 lines 41-50, Column 12 lines 51-67, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, Column 17 lines 10-20. The cited passages clearly show that the measurement dial (i.e. the alignment unit) is mounted on the end of the last link of the setup arm and, as can be seen from Figure 5, does not share the same coordinate system as the base. Furthermore, the cited passage clearly described determining the angle between the alignment unit and the reference coordinate system, which in the illustrative example is the table the patient rests on, as is stated in Column 15 lines 19-49. Therefore, it is clear from the cited passages that the measurement dial measures the angle difference between the measurement dial and the reference coordinate system in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system.);
calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system (Balter: Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 17 line 28-32. The cited passage clearly teach determining an angle difference between the measurement dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system by using the angle of the measurement dial relative to the reference coordinate system and the angles of the joints of the setup arm. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the angles of the setup arm provide the angle difference between the measurement dial and the robot base coordinate system.);
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system (Balter: Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 17 line 28-32, Column 17 lines 36-46. The cited passage clearly teach determining an angle difference between the measurement dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system by using the angle of the measurement dial relative to the reference coordinate system and the angles of the joints of the setup arm. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the angles of the setup arm provide the angle difference between the measurement dial and the robot base coordinate system.)
Balter does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot;
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot;
generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; and
control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information;
wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference;
generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference;
and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information.
LaValle, in the same field of endeavor, teaches and generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined.);
wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. Balter teaches the method by which the angle difference between a robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly teaches generating coordinate system transformation information);
generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. Balter teaches the method by which the angle difference between a robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. Additionally, it is clearly that each robot has an alignment unit and that this process is performed for each robot in the system. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly teaches generating coordinate system transformation information);
and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information (LaValle: Whole Document. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that because the angle difference between each robot and the rotation matrix describing the rotation from each robot to the reference coordinate system is known, the rotation matrix between the two robot is easily determined using the known properties of the rotation matrix and geometric knowledge that would have been within the technological capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art.).
Balter teaches a system and method for controlling a plurality of surgical robots. Each of the robots are equipped with a dial that allows a user to enter an angle measurement. This angle measurement is used to determine the angle difference between the robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. This information is then used in the setup and control of the robots. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined, such as between two robot coordinate systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and because LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly the limitations “wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”, “generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference”, and “and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information”.
Balter teaches a laparoscopic camera robot comprising: one or more robotic arms configured to perform a motion by handle manipulation by an operator; a laparoscopic surgical camera coupled to each of the one or more robotic arms; an angle measurement dial configured to receive physical manipulation of a dial by a user to obtain a dial manipulation value of the user; and a device configured to generate coordinate system transformation information based on an angle difference between coordinate systems, wherein the device is configured to calculate a first angle difference between a preset reference coordinate system and a first robot base coordinate system, based on a first dial manipulation value of the user obtained from a first angle measurement dial mounted on a first robot, calculate a second angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a second robot base coordinate system, based on a second dial manipulation value of the user obtained from a second angle measurement dial mounted on a second robot; calculate, in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system, a third angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the first angle measurement dial, based on the first dial manipulation value obtained from the first angle measurement dial; calculate, in a case in which the second angle measurement dial does not use the second robot base coordinate system, a fourth angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the second angle measurement dial, based on the second dial manipulation value obtained from the second angle measurement dial; calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system. Balter does not teach generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information. LaValle teaches generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the system taught in Balter with generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information taught in LaValle. Furthermore, the method of determining the rotation matrix based on the roll, pitch, and yaw angles is a method of describing both two-dimensional and three-dimensional rotations of a robot that would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art and is used commonly in the field of robotic control. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had knowledge of such coordinate transformations and would have been capable of implement such. Additionally, Balter teaches that the orientations of the robot are required to properly control the robot and are determined by the system (Balter: Column 13 lines 1-13, “The orientation of each link of the robotic arm 40 and each setup link of the setup arm 300 is used in calculations to make the movement of the robotic arm 40 align with movements of input devices, e.g., manual inputs 18, at the surgical console 30.”). Describing the orientation of a robot in three-dimensional space requires the knowledge of how said robot translates and rotates through space. As such, the system in Balter is readily configurable with the method taught in LaValle, as the system already determines the yaw angle and is already configured to determine the orientations of the robot. Such modifications would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a laparoscopic camera robot comprising: generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the system taught in Balter with generate coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information taught in LaValle with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Balter in view of LaValle does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot;
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot;
control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information.
Diolaiti, in the same field of endeavor, teaches control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information (Diolaiti: Table 1, ¶ 0085, “The following table, Table 1, shows exemplary correspondence in the various reference frames. This table assumes that the reference frames are attached to their respective components, and are not redefined relative to their respective components during operation.”, ¶ 0087, “Before implementing a movement command received by one of the input devices 204 to control the secondary platform instrument 506, the orientation relative to the imaging system 502 is determined by the control system 110. This may be done by referring to stored data, such as an entry in a table associated with the secondary platform instrument 506. For example, some instruments may be identified when coupled to a slave manipulator arm as a type of instrument typically utilized in an oppositional configuration. Accordingly, because of the identity or type of the instrument, the control system 110 may determine that a transform (also referred to as “mapping”) comprising one or more inversions (for example, like that shown in Table 1 or another transform relationship) or other adjustments is to be made to properly relate the reference frame of that instrument to the reference frame of the imaging system 502.”, ¶ 0088, “In some implementations, the transforms may be implemented as one or more matrices comprising vectors or scalars. These transforms are applied by the control system 110 when determining instrument motion based on input device motion information received from the input devices 204. Depending on the implementation, a series of matrices and other calculations may be applied to invert (or otherwise rotate), translate, or scale and generate control signals for controlling the motion of the instruments. Any appropriate transformation mechanism may be used. For example, a rotational transform may be implemented by a rotation matrix (or series of rotation matrices) representing a difference between the orientations of two reference frames.”, ¶ 0097, “At operation 704, when the orientation comparison does not meet an orientation criterion set, the control system causes instrument motion in a first direction relative to the instrument frame of reference in response to a movement command. For example, when the orientation difference is less than an orientation threshold, such as 125°, 115°, or 95°, a movement command to move the instrument in an insertion direction may be implemented by the control system 110 by moving the instrument in the insertion direction defined relative to the imaging system 502. The orientation difference may be a total orientation difference in 3D space, or it may be an orientation difference when the insertion and viewing directions are projected onto a single plane. For example, the orientation difference may be when the directions are projected onto the X-Y plane, the X-Z plane, or the Y-Z plane defined by the imaging system reference frame or the instrument reference frame.”, ¶ 0099, “At operation 706, when the orientation comparison meets the orientation criterion set, the control system causes the instrument motion in a second direction relative to the instrument frame of reference in response to the same movement command. The second direction differs from the first direction. For example, the second direction may be opposite the first direction. Other examples of different directions are shown in Table 1.”, ¶ 0100, “In this way, the control system 110 may adjust or apply a movement command mapping (also called “transform”) when the orientation difference indicates that the secondary platform instrument is positioned opposite an intermediary plane, like the plane 510 shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, such that it is more natural from the operator's perspective to move the secondary platform instrument in a direction different than would be dictated by the reference frame of the secondary platform instrument.”. The cited passages teaches that, before implementing a movement command to the system, the system determined the orientation difference between instruments of the system. The system does this by determining a coordinate system transform between each instrument. The system then uses this orientation difference to implement the movement command of the instruments.).
Balter in view of LaValle teaches a laparoscopic camera robot comprising: determining a coordinate system transform between the first robot base coordinate system and second robot base coordinate system based on a first and second angle difference. Balter in view of LaValle does not teach controlling an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information. Diolaiti teaches control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the robot taught in Balter in view of LaValle with control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information taught in Diolaiti. Furthermore, the system taught in Balter in view of LaValle is both configured to determine the coordinate system transform between robots and control each of the robots in the system. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Balter in view of LaValle to control the first or second robot based on the coordinate system transform as taught in Diolaiti according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the robot taught in Balter in view of LaValle with control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information taught in Diolaiti with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot;
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot.
Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot (Wang: ¶ 0041, “FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a dental robot according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 1, the dental robot includes a tandem positioning arm; the tandem positioning arm includes a pedestal 100, a first positioning arm 110, a second positioning arm 120 and a jacket 130, and the jacket 130 is configured to clamp surgical instruments; the pedestal 100, the first positioning arm 110, the second positioning arm 120 and the jacket 130 are connected in series in sequence by a first rotary joint 101, a second rotary joint 102 and a third rotary joint 103; and a joint angle measuring device is mounted at each of the rotary joints.”, ¶ 0045, “In the dental robot provided by the embodiments of the present application, the joint angle measuring device is mounted at each rotary joint of the tandem positioning arm, and the surgical instrument is positioned precisely through the joint angle measurement…”, ¶ 0068, “According to the joint angles measured by each joint angle measuring device in the tandem positioning arm, a D-H (Denavit Hartenberg) method in robot kinematics may be used to calculate the position of the jacket at the top of the tandem positioning arm in real time. Therefore, the position of the jacket may be accurately determined when the tandem positioning arm is dragged to perform surgical operations in its working space.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to measure an angle value using an angle measurement sensor mounted on the robot at each joint.);
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot (Wang: ¶ 0041, “FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a dental robot according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 1, the dental robot includes a tandem positioning arm; the tandem positioning arm includes a pedestal 100, a first positioning arm 110, a second positioning arm 120 and a jacket 130, and the jacket 130 is configured to clamp surgical instruments; the pedestal 100, the first positioning arm 110, the second positioning arm 120 and the jacket 130 are connected in series in sequence by a first rotary joint 101, a second rotary joint 102 and a third rotary joint 103; and a joint angle measuring device is mounted at each of the rotary joints.”, ¶ 0045, “In the dental robot provided by the embodiments of the present application, the joint angle measuring device is mounted at each rotary joint of the tandem positioning arm, and the surgical instrument is positioned precisely through the joint angle measurement…”, ¶ 0068, “According to the joint angles measured by each joint angle measuring device in the tandem positioning arm, a D-H (Denavit Hartenberg) method in robot kinematics may be used to calculate the position of the jacket at the top of the tandem positioning arm in real time. Therefore, the position of the jacket may be accurately determined when the tandem positioning arm is dragged to perform surgical operations in its working space.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to measure an angle value using an angle measurement sensor mounted on the robot at each joint.).
Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti teaches a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system. Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot. Wang teaches calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the device taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti with calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot taught in Wang. Furthermore, the device taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti already teaches determining the joint values of the robot used to calculate the angle difference between the dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system, but does not specify how these angles are obtained. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would been easily able to modify the device to acquire the joint angle using angle measurement sensor as taught in Wang. Such a modification would only require simply adding the sensors taught in Wang to the robot used in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti. As such, this modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the device taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti with calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot taught in Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 17, Balter teaches a robotic surgical system comprising (Balter: Figure 1, Figure 5, Figure 9, Figure 10, Abstract, “A surgical robotic system includes: a surgical table; a plurality of movable carts being oriented toward the surgical table, each of which includes a robotic arm, and an alignment unit configured to determine an orientation of the movable cart and the robotic arm relative to the surgical table; and a computer coupled to each of the plurality of movable carts and configured to calculate a yaw angle for each of the plurality of movable carts.”, Column 8 lines 44-50, “With reference to FIG. 1, a surgical robotic system 10 includes a control tower 20, which is connected to all of the components of the surgical robotic system 10 including a surgical console 30 and one or more robotic arms 40. Each of the robotic arms 40 includes a surgical instrument 50 removably coupled thereto. Each of the robotic arms 40 is also coupled to a movable cart 60.”):
a surgical robot comprising a first angle measurement dial configured to receive a first physical manipulation of the first angle measurement dial by a user to obtain a first dial manipulation value of the user (Balter: Column 8 lines 44-50, “With reference to FIG. 1, a surgical robotic system 10 includes a control tower 20, which is connected to all of the components of the surgical robotic system 10 including a surgical console 30 and one or more robotic arms 40. Each of the robotic arms 40 includes a surgical instrument 50 removably coupled thereto. Each of the robotic arms 40 is also coupled to a movable cart 60.”, Column 8 lines 51-64, “The surgical instrument 50 is configured for use during minimally invasive surgical procedures. In embodiments, the surgical instrument 50 may be configured for open surgical procedures. In embodiments, the surgical instrument 50 may be an endoscope, such as an endoscopic camera 51, configured to provide a video feed for the user. In further embodiments, the surgical instrument 50 may be an electrosurgical forceps configured to seal tissue by com pression tissue between jaw members and applying electro- surgical current thereto. In yet further embodiments, the surgical instrument 50 may be a surgical stapler including a pair of jaws configured to grasp and clamp tissue whilst deploying a plurality of tissue fasteners, e.g., staples, and cutting stapled tissue.”, Column 13 lines 14-40, “The alignment unit 316 has a rotatable body 320 that allows a user to manually rotate the alignment unit 316 and adjust the angle of the alignment pattern 318 in order to align the alignment pattern 318 with the representative coordinate system 11. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may include an indicator 316a, such as a printed label or image on its surface to indicate a forward direction, or a direction relative to the patient. In further embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may be a line having an indication of a direction. In embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may include a first portion 324 and a second portion 322. The second portion 322 of the alignment pattern 318 may indicate a forward direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 closest to the patient, and the second portion 322 may indicate a backwards direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 furthest from the patient. The second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may be visually different, such as different colors and/or patterns to allow for easier differentiation. In exemplary embodiments, the second portion 322 may be green and the first portion 324 may be red. In embodiments, the second portion 322 may be blue and the first portion 324 may be yellow to allow for better differentiating by colorblind personnel. In further embodiments, the second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may have different patterns, such as one of the first portion 324 or the second portion 322 may be solid whereas the other may be dashed.”, Column 14 lines 3-31, “In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 includes an input device 326, which may be a button or any other user interface device, disposed on the alignment unit 316. The input device 326 is actuatable by a user to indicate to the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 that adjustments to the setup arm 300 and/or the alignment unit 316 are complete. As depicted in FIG. 7, the alignment unit 316 includes a light unit 412, a sensor 414, and a connector 416.The alignment unit 316 may also include a printed circuit board for incorporating various electronic components. The sensor 414 may be any suitable encoder, potentiometer, rotary variable differential transformer, or any other kind of rotary position sensor. In embodiments, the light unit 412 projects a number of different alignment patterns 318, including various shapes, numbers, letters, and/or symbols in one or more colors to help identify an orientation and/or direction of the alignment unit 316. The light unit 412 may include a light source, such as one or more light emitting diodes, which may be configured to emit a laser, and an optional projection pattern or lens, which shapes the emitted light into the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 is used to determine the angle of the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 may be configured to measure rotation of the alignment unit 316, which is then used to determine the orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. In particular, as the alignment unit 316 is rotated by a user, the sensor 414 determines the angle of the alignment pattern 318 and correlates this angle with a position of the robotic arm 40.”);
a laparoscopic surgical camera coupled to each of the one or more robotic arms (Balter: Column 8 lines 44-50, “With reference to FIG. 1, a surgical robotic system 10 includes a control tower 20, which is connected to all of the components of the surgical robotic system 10 including a surgical console 30 and one or more robotic arms 40. Each of the robotic arms 40 includes a surgical instrument 50 removably coupled thereto. Each of the robotic arms 40 is also coupled to a movable cart 60.”, Column 8 lines 51-64, “The surgical instrument 50 is configured for use during minimally invasive surgical procedures. In embodiments, the surgical instrument 50 may be configured for open surgical procedures. In embodiments, the surgical instrument 50 may be an endoscope, such as an endoscopic camera 51, configured to provide a video feed for the user. In further embodiments, the surgical instrument 50 may be an electrosurgical forceps configured to seal tissue by com pression tissue between jaw members and applying electro- surgical current thereto. In yet further embodiments, the surgical instrument 50 may be a surgical stapler including a pair of jaws configured to grasp and clamp tissue whilst deploying a plurality of tissue fasteners, e.g., staples, and cutting stapled tissue.”, Column 8 line 65 – Column 9 line 6, “One of the robotic arms 40 may include a camera 51 configured to capture video of the surgical site. The surgical console 30 includes a first display 32, which displays a video feed of the surgical site provided by camera 51 of the surgical instrument 50 disposed on the robotic arms 40, and a second display 34, which displays a user interface for controlling the surgical robotic system 10. The first and second displays 32 and 34 are touchscreens allowing for displaying various graphical user inputs.”, Column 13 lines 14-40, “The alignment unit 316 has a rotatable body 320 that allows a user to manually rotate the alignment unit 316 and adjust the angle of the alignment pattern 318 in order to align the alignment pattern 318 with the representative coordinate system 11. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may include an indicator 316a, such as a printed label or image on its surface to indicate a forward direction, or a direction relative to the patient. In further embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may be a line having an indication of a direction. In embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may include a first portion 324 and a second portion 322. The second portion 322 of the alignment pattern 318 may indicate a forward direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 closest to the patient, and the second portion 322 may indicate a backwards direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 furthest from the patient. The second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may be visually different, such as different colors and/or patterns to allow for easier differentiation. In exemplary embodiments, the second portion 322 may be green and the first portion 324 may be red. In embodiments, the second portion 322 may be blue and the first portion 324 may be yellow to allow for better differentiating by colorblind personnel. In further embodiments, the second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may have different patterns, such as one of the first portion 324 or the second portion 322 may be solid whereas the other may be dashed.”, Column 14 lines 3-31, “In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 includes an input device 326, which may be a button or any other user interface device, disposed on the alignment unit 316. The input device 326 is actuatable by a user to indicate to the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 that adjustments to the setup arm 300 and/or the alignment unit 316 are complete. As depicted in FIG. 7, the alignment unit 316 includes a light unit 412, a sensor 414, and a connector 416.The alignment unit 316 may also include a printed circuit board for incorporating various electronic components. The sensor 414 may be any suitable encoder, potentiometer, rotary variable differential transformer, or any other kind of rotary position sensor. In embodiments, the light unit 412 projects a number of different alignment patterns 318, including various shapes, numbers, letters, and/or symbols in one or more colors to help identify an orientation and/or direction of the alignment unit 316. The light unit 412 may include a light source, such as one or more light emitting diodes, which may be configured to emit a laser, and an optional projection pattern or lens, which shapes the emitted light into the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 is used to determine the angle of the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 may be configured to measure rotation of the alignment unit 316, which is then used to determine the orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. In particular, as the alignment unit 316 is rotated by a user, the sensor 414 determines the angle of the alignment pattern 318 and correlates this angle with a position of the robotic arm 40.”);
and a master robot comprising a device configured to generate coordinate system transformation information based on an angle difference between coordinate systems (Balter: Column 8 lines 44-50, “With reference to FIG. 1, a surgical robotic system 10 includes a control tower 20, which is connected to all of the components of the surgical robotic system 10 including a surgical console 30 and one or more robotic arms 40. Each of the robotic arms 40 includes a surgical instrument 50 removably coupled thereto. Each of the robotic arms 40 is also coupled to a movable cart 60.”, Column 9 lines 7-12, “The surgical console 30 also includes a plurality of user interface devices, such as foot pedals 36 and a pair of hand controllers 38a and 38b which are used by a user to remotely control robotic arms 40. The surgical console further includes an armrest 33 used to support clinician's arms while operating the handle controllers 38a and 38b.”, Column 9 lines 13-24, “The control tower 20 includes a display 23, which may be a touchscreen, and outputs on the graphical user interfaces (GUis). The control tower 20 also acts as an interface between the surgical console 30 and one or more robotic arms 40. In particular, the control tower 20 is configured to control the robotic arms 40, such as to move the robotic arms 40 and the corresponding surgical instrument 50, based on a set of programmable instructions and/or input commands from the surgical console 30, in such a way that robotic arms 40 and the surgical instrument 50 execute a desired movement sequence in response to input from the foot pedals 36 and the hand controllers 38a and 38b.”, Column 12 lines 51-67, “The setup arm 300 includes an alignment unit 316 coupled to the setup arm 300, and in particular to the joint 314. The alignment unit 316 is in operable communication with the control tower 20. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may be coupled directly to the coupling assembly 308. The alignment unit 316 is configured to determine the orientation of the setup arm 300 and the robotic arm 40 relative to a representative coordinate system 11, which is a construct generated by the computer 21 and is used to virtually place and orient each of the robotic arms 40 to the clinician viewpoint, e.g., through a camera and/or an endoscope. In particular, the alignment unit 316 is used to create a common reference alignment for the robotic arm 40 and to determine the yaw orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. As used herein the term "yaw" denotes movement of the robotic arm 40 about a vertical axis perpendicular to the ground.”),
wherein the device is configured to calculate a first angle difference between a preset reference coordinate system and a surgical robot base coordinate system (Balter: Figure 5, Figure 9, Figure 10, Column 12 lines 51-67, “The setup arm 300 includes an alignment unit 316 coupled to the setup arm 300, and in particular to the joint 314. The alignment unit 316 is in operable communication with the control tower 20. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may be coupled directly to the coupling assembly 308. The alignment unit 316 is configured to determine the orientation of the setup arm 300 and the robotic arm 40 relative to a representative coordinate system 11, which is a construct generated by the computer 21 and is used to virtually place and orient each of the robotic arms 40 to the clinician viewpoint, e.g., through a camera and/or an endoscope. In particular, the alignment unit 316 is used to create a common reference alignment for the robotic arm 40 and to determine the yaw orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. As used herein the term "yaw" denotes movement of the robotic arm 40 about a vertical axis perpendicular to the ground.”, Column 13 lines 14-40, “The alignment unit 316 has a rotatable body 320 that allows a user to manually rotate the alignment unit 316 and adjust the angle of the alignment pattern 318 in order to align the alignment pattern 318 with the representative coordinate system 11. In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 may include an indicator 316a, such as a printed label or image on its surface to indicate a forward direction, or a direction relative to the patient. In further embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may be a line having an indication of a direction. In embodiments, the alignment pattern 318 may include a first portion 324 and a second portion 322. The second portion 322 of the alignment pattern 318 may indicate a forward direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 closest to the patient, and the second portion 322 may indicate a backwards direction, or a portion of surgical instrument 50 and the robotic arm 40 furthest from the patient. The second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may be visually different, such as different colors and/or patterns to allow for easier differentiation. In exemplary embodiments, the second portion 322 may be green and the first portion 324 may be red. In embodiments, the second portion 322 may be blue and the first portion 324 may be yellow to allow for better differentiating by colorblind personnel. In further embodiments, the second portion 322 and the first portion 324 may have different patterns, such as one of the first portion 324 or the second portion 322 may be solid whereas the other may be dashed.”, Column 13 lines 41-67, “With reference to FIG. 6, a surgical table 100 is shown with a patient "P" disposed thereon. FIG. 6 also shows a plurality of alignment patterns 318a, 318b, 318c, 318dbeing oriented relative to the surgical table 100. The surgical table 100 may be used as a reference point for orienting the robotic arms 40 by aligning each of their respective alignment units 316. The reference point may be any object that remains stationary during the period of alignment; such as the surgical table 100, the patient "P", a wall, a marking on the floor, or even any one of the other alignment patterns 318.”, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, “FIG. shows a schematic diagram of the system 10 and in particular, the movable cart 60 and the robotic arm 40, as represented by the controller 21a for storing the yaw angle φ for each of the robotic arm 40 (e.g., a longitudinal axis of the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40) relative to the surgical table 100. Although only one set of a movable cart 60 and robotic arm 40 is shown in FIG. 9, multiple movable carts 60 and corresponding robotic arms 40 may be used. FIG. 9 shows a circular scale 102 having a degree scale from 0° to 360° being oriented with the top of the surgical table 100. In FIG. 9, the robotic arm 40 is shown as having the yaw angle φ of about 60°.”, Column 17 lines 10-20, “The circular scale 102 and the alignment angles shown thereon follow the right-hand rule ( e.g., counter-clockwise), and are defined based on the angle from the alignment pattern 318 to the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40. The angle is zero when the second portion 322 of the alignment pattern 318 is aligned with a longitudinal axis defined by the first link 42a in a forward direction. Conversely, for the system setup and user interface 110 (FIG. 10), the alignment angle is defined clockwise. The angle is zero when the second portion 322 is aligned with the reverse direction of the first link 42a of the robotic arm 40.”, Column 17 lines 21-24, “The yaw angle is determined by transforming the raw angle of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the surgical table 100 into transformed alignment angle using the following formula (I): alignment angle=mod (3 * π – raw alignment angle, 2 * π)”, Column 17 line 28-32, “In formula (I), the mod function is a modulo operation, which finds the remainder after division of the difference between 3*π and raw alignment angle by 2*π”. The cited passages clearly teach an alignment device attached to the base of a robot that is used measure the angular offset between a reference frame and the robot base frame. Column 12 lines 51-67 describes that the alignment device is coupled to the base of the first actively actuated member of the robot arm 40. The remaining passages describes the method by which an offset angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system (referred to as the representative coordinate system) is determined. The reference coordinate system is stated to be anything that does not move during the alignment process and the table the patient rests on is used as the reference coordinate system in the illustrative examples.),
based on the first dial manipulation value of the user obtained from the first angle measurement dial mounted on the surgical robot (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, Column 14 lines 3-31, “In embodiments, the alignment unit 316 includes an input device 326, which may be a button or any other user interface device, disposed on the alignment unit 316. The input device 326 is actuatable by a user to indicate to the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 that adjustments to the setup arm 300 and/or the alignment unit 316 are complete. As depicted in FIG. 7, the alignment unit 316 includes a light unit 412, a sensor 414, and a connector 416.The alignment unit 316 may also include a printed circuit board for incorporating various electronic components. The sensor 414 may be any suitable encoder, potentiometer, rotary variable differential transformer, or any other kind of rotary position sensor. In embodiments, the light unit 412 projects a number of different alignment patterns 318, including various shapes, numbers, letters, and/or symbols in one or more colors to help identify an orientation and/or direction of the alignment unit 316. The light unit 412 may include a light source, such as one or more light emitting diodes, which may be configured to emit a laser, and an optional projection pattern or lens, which shapes the emitted light into the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 is used to determine the angle of the alignment pattern 318. The sensor 414 may be configured to measure rotation of the alignment unit 316, which is then used to determine the orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. In particular, as the alignment unit 316 is rotated by a user, the sensor 414 determines the angle of the alignment pattern 318 and correlates this angle with a position of the robotic arm 40.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the alignment unit determines the angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system based on a rotation of the alignment unit by a user.);
calculate a second angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system (Balter: Figure 1, Figure 10, Column 8 lines 44-50, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 17 lines 56-63, “With reference to FIG. 10, the user interface 110 is part of the ORTI and includes a graphical arm representation 112 of each of the robotic arms 40. Each of the graphical arm representations 112 displays an arm identification number 114 and the registered yaw angle 116. In addition, the graphical arm representation 112 is displayed in various colors and/or other indicator to indicate the state of the robotic arms 40.”. The cited passages teach that the surgical robotic system comprises a plurality of robot arms and that each of the arms are aligned relative to a reference coordinate system by determine an angle between the robot base coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that each of the robots would have an alignment unit attached to the base.),
based on the second dial manipulation value of the user obtained from the second angle measurement dial mounted on the laparoscopic camera robot (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, Column 14 lines 3-31. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because each robot is equipped with the alignment unit, that the second angle difference for the second robot and the same reference coordinate system used by the first robot is determined based on the rotation of the alignment unit on the second robot by the user.);
calculate, in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the surgical robot base coordinate system, a third angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the first angle measurement dial, based on the first dial manipulation value obtained from the first angle measurement dial (Balter: Figure 5, Column 9 line 65 – Column 10 line 7, “With reference to FIG. 2, each of the robotic arms 40 may include a plurality of links 42a, 42b, 42c, which are inter connected at joints 44a, 44b, 44c, respectively. The joint 44a is configured to secure the robotic arm 40 to the movable cart 60 and defines a first longitudinal axis. With reference to FIG. 3, the movable cart 60 includes a lift 61 and a setup arm 62, which provides a base for mounting of the robotic arm 40. The lift 61 allows for vertical movement of the setup arm 62. The movable cart 60 also includes a display 69 for displaying information pertaining to the robotic arm 40.”, Column 12 lines 29-40, “With reference to FIG. 5, the robotic arm 40 is coupled to a setup arm 300, which is substantially the same as the setup arm 62. The setup arm 300 is further mounted to the movable cart 60. The setup arm 300 includes a setup arm base 302 that is coupled to the movable cart 60. The setup arm 300 further includes a plurality of movable links that are coupled to each other by actuators (not shown) allowing for movement of the setup arm 300 into various configurations. In particular, setup arm 300 includes a first setup link 304, a second setup link 306, and a coupling assembly 308. The coupling assembly 308 is configured to couple to a robotic arm 40”, Column 12 lines 41-50, “The setup arm base 302 is configured to secure the setup arm 300 to a surgical table (not shown) or the movable cart 12. The first setup link 304 is rotatable at a joint 310 360° about an axis "A-A" relative to the setup arm base 302. The second setup link 306 is rotatable at a joint 312 about an axis "B-B" relative to the first setup link 304. The coupling assembly 308 is rotatable at a joint 314 about an axis "C-C" relative to the second setup link 306. The coupling assembly 308 is further rotatable about an axis "D-D" from about 0° to about 90°.”, Column 12 lines 51-67, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 15 lines 19-49, “At step 510, the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 determines an orientation of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the representative coordinate system 11. In particular, the alignment unit 316 includes a sensor (not shown) that is used to determine an angle of the projected alignment pattern 318 relative to the position of the alignment unit 316. At step 512, based on the orientation of the alignment pattern 318 relative to the representative coordinate system the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 determines the position and orientation of the setup arm 300 and/or the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system At step 514, once the orientation of the robotic arm 40 is determined, the control tower 20 and/or the surgical console 30 correlates the movements and orientation of the robotic arm 40 relative to the representative coordinate system with movements of the manual inputs 18 configured to manipulate the robotic arm.”, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, Column 17 lines 10-20. The cited passages clearly show that the measurement dial (i.e. the alignment unit) is mounted on the end of the last link of the setup arm and, as can be seen from Figure 5, does not share the same coordinate system as the base. Furthermore, the cited passage clearly described determining the angle between the alignment unit and the reference coordinate system, which in the illustrative example is the table the patient rests on, as is stated in Column 15 lines 19-49. Therefore, it is clear from the cited passages that the measurement dial measures the angle difference between the measurement dial and the reference coordinate system in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system.);
calculate, in a case in which the second angle measurement dial does not use the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, a fourth angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the second angle measurement dial, based on the second dial manipulation value obtained from the second angle measurement dial (Balter: Figure 5, Column 9 line 65 – Column 10 line 7, Column 12 lines 41-50, Column 12 lines 51-67, Column 13 lines 41-67, Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 16 line 65 – Column 17 line 9, Column 17 lines 10-20. The cited passages clearly show that the measurement dial (i.e. the alignment unit) is mounted on the end of the last link of the setup arm and, as can be seen from Figure 5, does not share the same coordinate system as the base. Furthermore, the cited passage clearly described determining the angle between the alignment unit and the reference coordinate system, which in the illustrative example is the table the patient rests on, as is stated in Column 15 lines 19-49. Therefore, it is clear from the cited passages that the measurement dial measures the angle difference between the measurement dial and the reference coordinate system in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the first robot base coordinate system.);
calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the surgical robot base coordinate system (Balter: Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 17 line 28-32. The cited passage clearly teach determining an angle difference between the measurement dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system by using the angle of the measurement dial relative to the reference coordinate system and the angles of the joints of the setup arm. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the angles of the setup arm provide the angle difference between the measurement dial and the robot base coordinate system.);
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system (Balter: Column 15 lines 19-49, Column 17 line 28-32, Column 17 lines 36-46. The cited passage clearly teach determining an angle difference between the measurement dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system by using the angle of the measurement dial relative to the reference coordinate system and the angles of the joints of the setup arm. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the angles of the setup arm provide the angle difference between the measurement dial and the robot base coordinate system.)
Balter does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the surgical robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the surgical robot;
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the laparoscopic camera robot;
generate coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; and
control an operation of at least one of the surgical robot or the laparoscopic camera robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information;
wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference;
generating second coordinate system transformation information between the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference;
and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information.
LaValle, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generate coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined.);
wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. Balter teaches the method by which the angle difference between a robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly teaches generating coordinate system transformation information);
generating second coordinate system transformation information between the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference (LaValle: Whole Document. Balter teaches the method by which the angle difference between a robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. Additionally, it is clearly that each robot has an alignment unit and that this process is performed for each robot in the system. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly teaches generating coordinate system transformation information);
and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information (LaValle: Whole Document. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that because the angle difference between each robot and the rotation matrix describing the rotation from each robot to the reference coordinate system is known, the rotation matrix between the two robot is easily determined using the known properties of the rotation matrix and geometric knowledge that would have been within the technological capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art.).
Balter teaches a system and method for controlling a plurality of surgical robots. Each of the robots are equipped with a dial that allows a user to enter an angle measurement. This angle measurement is used to determine the angle difference between the robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system. This information is then used in the setup and control of the robots. LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between coordinate system can be easily determined, such as between two robot coordinate systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that because the yaw angle is determined in Balter and because LaValle teaches the known method of determining the rotation matrix between two coordinate systems, the combination of Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti clearly the limitations “wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”, “generating second coordinate system transformation information between the second robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference”, and “and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information”.
Balter teaches a robotic surgical system comprising: a surgical robot comprising a first angle measurement dial configured to receive a first physical manipulation of the first angle measurement dial by a user to obtain a first dial manipulation value of the user; a laparoscopic camera robot comprising a second angle measurement dial configured to receive a second physical manipulation of the second angle measurement dial by the user to obtain a second dial manipulation value of the user; and a master robot comprising a device configured to generate coordinate system transformation information based on an angle difference between coordinate systems, wherein the device is configured to calculate a first angle difference between a preset reference coordinate system and a surgical robot base coordinate system, based on the first dial manipulation value of the user obtained from the first angle measurement dial mounted on the surgical robot, calculate a second angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the second dial manipulation value of the user obtained from the second angle measurement dial mounted on the laparoscopic camera robot; calculate, in a case in which the first angle measurement dial does not use the surgical robot base coordinate system, a third angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the first angle measurement dial, based on the first dial manipulation value obtained from the first angle measurement dial; calculate, in a case in which the second angle measurement dial does not use the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, a fourth angle difference between the preset reference coordinate system and a coordinate system used by the second angle measurement dial, based on the second dial manipulation value obtained from the second angle measurement dial; calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system. Balter does not teach generate coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information. LaValle teaches generate coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the system taught in Balter with generate coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information taught in LaValle. Furthermore, the method of determining the rotation matrix based on the roll, pitch, and yaw angles is a method of describing both two-dimensional and three-dimensional rotations of a robot that would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art and is used commonly in the field of robotic control. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had knowledge of such coordinate transformations and would have been capable of implement such. Additionally, Balter teaches that the orientations of the robot are required to properly control the robot and are determined by the system (Balter: Column 13 lines 1-13, “The orientation of each link of the robotic arm 40 and each setup link of the setup arm 300 is used in calculations to make the movement of the robotic arm 40 align with movements of input devices, e.g., manual inputs 18, at the surgical console 30.”). Describing the orientation of a robot in three-dimensional space requires the knowledge of how said robot translates and rotates through space. As such, the system in Balter is readily configurable with the method taught in LaValle, as the system already determines the yaw angle and is already configured to determine the orientations of the robot. Such modifications would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a robotic surgical system comprising: generate coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the system taught in Balter with generate coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the first angle difference and the second angle difference; wherein the device is configured to generate the coordinate system transformation information by: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference; generating second coordinate system transformation information between the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system by using the second angle difference; and generating the coordinate system transformation information between the surgical robot base coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on the first coordinate system transformation information and the second coordinate system transformation information taught in LaValle with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Balter in view of LaValle does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the surgical robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the surgical robot;
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the laparoscopic camera robot;
control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information.
Diolaiti, in the same field of endeavor, teaches control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information (Diolaiti: Table 1, ¶ 0085, “The following table, Table 1, shows exemplary correspondence in the various reference frames. This table assumes that the reference frames are attached to their respective components, and are not redefined relative to their respective components during operation.”, ¶ 0087, “Before implementing a movement command received by one of the input devices 204 to control the secondary platform instrument 506, the orientation relative to the imaging system 502 is determined by the control system 110. This may be done by referring to stored data, such as an entry in a table associated with the secondary platform instrument 506. For example, some instruments may be identified when coupled to a slave manipulator arm as a type of instrument typically utilized in an oppositional configuration. Accordingly, because of the identity or type of the instrument, the control system 110 may determine that a transform (also referred to as “mapping”) comprising one or more inversions (for example, like that shown in Table 1 or another transform relationship) or other adjustments is to be made to properly relate the reference frame of that instrument to the reference frame of the imaging system 502.”, ¶ 0088, “In some implementations, the transforms may be implemented as one or more matrices comprising vectors or scalars. These transforms are applied by the control system 110 when determining instrument motion based on input device motion information received from the input devices 204. Depending on the implementation, a series of matrices and other calculations may be applied to invert (or otherwise rotate), translate, or scale and generate control signals for controlling the motion of the instruments. Any appropriate transformation mechanism may be used. For example, a rotational transform may be implemented by a rotation matrix (or series of rotation matrices) representing a difference between the orientations of two reference frames.”, ¶ 0097, “At operation 704, when the orientation comparison does not meet an orientation criterion set, the control system causes instrument motion in a first direction relative to the instrument frame of reference in response to a movement command. For example, when the orientation difference is less than an orientation threshold, such as 125°, 115°, or 95°, a movement command to move the instrument in an insertion direction may be implemented by the control system 110 by moving the instrument in the insertion direction defined relative to the imaging system 502. The orientation difference may be a total orientation difference in 3D space, or it may be an orientation difference when the insertion and viewing directions are projected onto a single plane. For example, the orientation difference may be when the directions are projected onto the X-Y plane, the X-Z plane, or the Y-Z plane defined by the imaging system reference frame or the instrument reference frame.”, ¶ 0099, “At operation 706, when the orientation comparison meets the orientation criterion set, the control system causes the instrument motion in a second direction relative to the instrument frame of reference in response to the same movement command. The second direction differs from the first direction. For example, the second direction may be opposite the first direction. Other examples of different directions are shown in Table 1.”, ¶ 0100, “In this way, the control system 110 may adjust or apply a movement command mapping (also called “transform”) when the orientation difference indicates that the secondary platform instrument is positioned opposite an intermediary plane, like the plane 510 shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, such that it is more natural from the operator's perspective to move the secondary platform instrument in a direction different than would be dictated by the reference frame of the secondary platform instrument.”. The cited passages teaches that, before implementing a movement command to the system, the system determined the orientation difference between instruments of the system. The system does this by determining a coordinate system transform between each instrument. The system then uses this orientation difference to implement the movement command of the instruments.).
Balter in view of LaValle teaches a robotic surgical system comprising: determining a coordinate system transform between the first robot base coordinate system and second robot base coordinate system based on a first and second angle difference. Balter in view of LaValle does not teach controlling an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information. Diolaiti teaches control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the robot taught in Balter in view of LaValle with control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information taught in Diolaiti. Furthermore, the system taught in Balter in view of LaValle is both configured to determine the coordinate system transform between robots and control each of the robots in the system. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Balter in view of LaValle to control the first or second robot based on the coordinate system transform as taught in Diolaiti according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the robot taught in Balter in view of LaValle with control an operation of at least one of the first robot or the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information taught in Diolaiti with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the surgical robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the surgical robot;
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the laparoscopic camera robot.
Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the surgical robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the surgical robot (Wang: ¶ 0041, “FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a dental robot according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 1, the dental robot includes a tandem positioning arm; the tandem positioning arm includes a pedestal 100, a first positioning arm 110, a second positioning arm 120 and a jacket 130, and the jacket 130 is configured to clamp surgical instruments; the pedestal 100, the first positioning arm 110, the second positioning arm 120 and the jacket 130 are connected in series in sequence by a first rotary joint 101, a second rotary joint 102 and a third rotary joint 103; and a joint angle measuring device is mounted at each of the rotary joints.”, ¶ 0045, “In the dental robot provided by the embodiments of the present application, the joint angle measuring device is mounted at each rotary joint of the tandem positioning arm, and the surgical instrument is positioned precisely through the joint angle measurement…”, ¶ 0068, “According to the joint angles measured by each joint angle measuring device in the tandem positioning arm, a D-H (Denavit Hartenberg) method in robot kinematics may be used to calculate the position of the jacket at the top of the tandem positioning arm in real time. Therefore, the position of the jacket may be accurately determined when the tandem positioning arm is dragged to perform surgical operations in its working space.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to measure an angle value using an angle measurement sensor mounted on the robot at each joint.);
calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the laparoscopic camera robot (Wang: ¶ 0041, “FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a dental robot according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 1, the dental robot includes a tandem positioning arm; the tandem positioning arm includes a pedestal 100, a first positioning arm 110, a second positioning arm 120 and a jacket 130, and the jacket 130 is configured to clamp surgical instruments; the pedestal 100, the first positioning arm 110, the second positioning arm 120 and the jacket 130 are connected in series in sequence by a first rotary joint 101, a second rotary joint 102 and a third rotary joint 103; and a joint angle measuring device is mounted at each of the rotary joints.”, ¶ 0045, “In the dental robot provided by the embodiments of the present application, the joint angle measuring device is mounted at each rotary joint of the tandem positioning arm, and the surgical instrument is positioned precisely through the joint angle measurement…”, ¶ 0068, “According to the joint angles measured by each joint angle measuring device in the tandem positioning arm, a D-H (Denavit Hartenberg) method in robot kinematics may be used to calculate the position of the jacket at the top of the tandem positioning arm in real time. Therefore, the position of the jacket may be accurately determined when the tandem positioning arm is dragged to perform surgical operations in its working space.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to measure an angle value using an angle measurement sensor mounted on the robot at each joint.).
Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti teaches a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system. Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti does not teach calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the surgical robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the surgical robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the laparoscopic camera robot. Wang teaches calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the surgical robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the surgical robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the laparoscopic camera robot. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the device taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti with calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the surgical robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the surgical robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the laparoscopic camera robot taught in Wang. Furthermore, the device taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti already teaches determining the joint values of the robot used to calculate the angle difference between the dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system, but does not specify how these angles are obtained. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would been easily able to modify the device to acquire the joint angle using angle measurement sensor as taught in Wang. Such a modification would only require simply adding the sensors taught in Wang to the robot used in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti. As such, this modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the surgical robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the surgical robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the laparoscopic camera robot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the device taught in Balter in further view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti with calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the surgical robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the surgical robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the laparoscopic camera robot taught in Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 18, Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti in further view of Wang wherein the surgical robot has a sensor configured to measure a first angle measurement value between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the surgical robot base coordinate system (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, Column 14 lines 3-31. The cited passage clearly shows that each robot is configured with the alignment unit and said alignment unit is configured with a sensor that measures the angle between the robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system.).
Regarding claim 19, Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti in further view of Wang teaches wherein the laparoscopic camera robot has a sensor configured to measure a second angle measurement value between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system (Balter: Column 13 lines 14-40, Column 14 lines 3-31. The cited passage clearly shows that each robot is configured with the alignment unit and said alignment unit is configured with a sensor that measures the angle between the robot coordinate system and the reference coordinate system.).
Regarding claim 20, Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti in further view of Wang teaches wherein the one or more robotic arms include at least one active arm coupled to the surgical instrument and a plurality of passive arms connecting the at least one active arm to a body of the surgical robot (Balter: Figure 5, Column 9 line 65 – Column 10 line 7, Column 10 lines 8-20, “The setup arm 62 includes a first link 62a, a second link 62b, and a third link 62c, which provide for lateral maneuverability of the robotic arm 40. The links 62a, 62b, 62c are interconnected at joints 63a and 63b, each of which may include an actuator (not shown) for rotating the links 62b and 62b relative to each other and the link 62c. In particular, the links 62a, 62b, 62c are movable in their corresponding lateral planes that are parallel to each other, thereby allowing for extension of the robotic arm 40 relative to the patient (e.g., surgical table). In embodiments, the robotic arm 40 may be coupled to the surgical table (not shown). The setup arm 62 includes controls 65 for adjusting movement of the links 62a, 62b, 62c as well as the lift 61. 20”. The system clearly includes a setup arm comprising a series of passive links.),
wherein the plurality of passive arms include a plurality of angle measurement sensors, wherein each of the plurality of angle measurement sensors is installed between any two of the plurality of passive arms, and wherein a number of the plurality of angle measurement sensors is one less than a number of the plurality of passive arms (Wang: ¶ 0041, “FIG. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a dental robot according to an embodiment of the present application. As shown in FIG. 1, the dental robot includes a tandem positioning arm; the tandem positioning arm includes a pedestal 100, a first positioning arm 110, a second positioning arm 120 and a jacket 130, and the jacket 130 is configured to clamp surgical instruments; the pedestal 100, the first positioning arm 110, the second positioning arm 120 and the jacket 130 are connected in series in sequence by a first rotary joint 101, a second rotary joint 102 and a third rotary joint 103; and a joint angle measuring device is mounted at each of the rotary joints.”, ¶ 0045, “In the dental robot provided by the embodiments of the present application, the joint angle measuring device is mounted at each rotary joint of the tandem positioning arm, and the surgical instrument is positioned precisely through the joint angle measurement…”, ¶ 0068, “According to the joint angles measured by each joint angle measuring device in the tandem positioning arm, a D-H (Denavit Hartenberg) method in robot kinematics may be used to calculate the position of the jacket at the top of the tandem positioning arm in real time. Therefore, the position of the jacket may be accurately determined when the tandem positioning arm is dragged to perform surgical operations in its working space.”. The cited passages clearly teach that the system is configured to measure an angle value using an angle measurement sensor mounted on the robot at each joint. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that if the angle measurement devices are placed only at the joints between each link of the robot arm, there would be one less angle measurement device than links.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 23rd, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Pages 12-17, Applicant argues that the prior art on record fails to teach the limitations of the amended independent claims 1, 13, 15, 16, and 17.
Specifically on Pages 14-15, Applicant argues that the primary reference Balter does not teach the limitations “generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”, “calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot”, and “calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As was stated in the Final Office Action mailed April 24th, 2026, and above in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section, The primary reference Balter was not solely relied upon to teach the above limitations. Regarding the limitation “generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”, the primary reference Balter teaches a system and method for controlling a plurality of surgical robots. Each of the robots are equipped with a dial that allows a user to enter an angle measurement. For each of the robots this angle measurement is used to determine the angle between the reference coordinate system and the dial. Additionally the system is configured to determine the angle between the robot base coordinate system and the dial based on the joint angles of the robotic arm for each robot. The system is configured to use these angle measurements in the setup and control of the robots. The secondary reference LaValle teaches a LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. Based on the teachings of LaValle, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between two coordinate system can be easily determined. As such, because the method taught in Balter is configured to determine the rotation from the robot base to the dial and the rotation from the dial to the reference coordinate system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Balter with the method taught in LaValle such that the transformation information describing the transformation from the robot base coordinate system to the reference coordinate is generated. Furthermore, Furthermore, the method of determining the rotation matrix based on the roll, pitch, and yaw angles is a method of describing both two-dimensional and three-dimensional rotations of a robot that would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art and is used commonly in the field of robotic control. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had knowledge of such coordinate transformations and would have been capable of implement such. Additionally, Balter teaches that the orientations of the robot are required to properly control the robot and are determined by the device. Describing the orientation of a robot in three-dimensional space requires the knowledge of how said robot translates and rotates through space. As such, the device in Balter is readily configurable with the method taught in LaValle. Such a modification would have yielded the predictable result of a method, performed by a coordinate system transformation device in a robotic surgical system, of generating coordinate system transformation information, the method comprising: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference. Therefore, the combination of Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti in further view of Wang teaches the limitation “generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”. Regarding the limitations “calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot” and “calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot”, the primary reference Balter teaches a system and method for controlling a plurality of surgical robots. As was stated above each robot is configured with a dial that a user can enter an angle into. The system is configured to determine for each robot and its corresponding dial, the angle between the robot base coordinate system and the dial. The system is configured to perform this using the joint angles of the robotic arm. The secondary reference Wang teaches a system and method for controlling a robot. The robot arm is configured with an angle measurement device in the joints of the arm such that each joint angle can be determined. The system uses these angles and the DH method to determine the transformation information from the base of the robot to a location at the end of the robot arm. As was stated previously, Balter already teaches determining the joint values of the robot used to calculate the angle difference between the dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system, but does not specify how these angles are obtained. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would been easily able to modify the device to acquire the joint angle using angle measurement sensor as taught in Wang. Such a modification would only require simply adding the sensors taught in Wang to the robot used in Balter. As such, this modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the surgical robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the surgical robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the laparoscopic camera robot. Therefore, the combination of Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti in further view of Wang teaches the limitations “calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot” and “calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot”.
Specifically on Page 15, Applicant argues that the secondary reference LaValle does not teach the limitations “generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”, “calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot”, and “calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Regarding the limitation “generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”, as was stated in the Final Office Action mailed April 24th, 2026, and above in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section, the secondary reference LaValle was not solely relied upon to teach the above limitation. The primary reference Balter teaches a system and method for controlling a plurality of surgical robots. Each of the robots are equipped with a dial that allows a user to enter an angle measurement. For each of the robots this angle measurement is used to determine the angle between the reference coordinate system and the dial. Additionally the system is configured to determine the angle between the robot base coordinate system and the dial based on the joint angles of the robotic arm for each robot. The system is configured to use these angle measurements in the setup and control of the robots. The secondary reference LaValle teaches the general form solution of the rotation matrix describing the rotation transformation from one coordinate system to another is determined. Based on the teachings of LaValle, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, as long as the rotations about each axis is known, the rotation matrix describing the rotation between two coordinate system can be easily determined. As such, because the method taught in Balter is configured to determine the rotation from the robot base to the dial and the rotation from the dial to the reference coordinate system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Balter with the method taught in LaValle such that the transformation information describing the transformation from the robot base coordinate system to the reference coordinate is generated. Furthermore, Furthermore, the method of determining the rotation matrix based on the roll, pitch, and yaw angles is a method of describing both two-dimensional and three-dimensional rotations of a robot that would have been well within the technological capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art and is used commonly in the field of robotic control. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had knowledge of such coordinate transformations and would have been capable of implement such. Additionally, Balter teaches that the orientations of the robot are required to properly control the robot and are determined by the device. Describing the orientation of a robot in three-dimensional space requires the knowledge of how said robot translates and rotates through space. As such, the device in Balter is readily configurable with the method taught in LaValle. Such a modification would have yielded the predictable result of a method, performed by a coordinate system transformation device in a robotic surgical system, of generating coordinate system transformation information, the method comprising: generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference. Therefore, the combination of Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti in further view of Wang teaches the limitation “generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”. Regarding the limitations “calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot” and “calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot”, as was stated above with reference to prior arguments, LaValle was not relied upon to teach the aforementioned limitations. Therefore, because the secondary reference LaValle was not relied upon to teach the above limitations, Applicant’s arguments regarding LaValle are not considered to be persuasive.
Specifically Pages 15-16, Applicant argues that the secondary reference Diolaiti does not teach the limitations “generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As was stated in the Final Office Action mailed April 24th, 2026, and above in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section, the secondary reference Diolaiti was not relied upon to teach the limitations “generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”, “calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot”, and “calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot”. Instead, as is clear in the Final Office Action mailed April 24th, 2026, and above in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section, Diolaiti was relied upon to teach the limitation “controlling an operation of at least one of the first robot and the second robot, based on the coordinate system transformation information”. Therefore, because the secondary reference Diolaiti was not relied upon to teach the above limitation, Applicant’s arguments regarding Diolaiti are not considered to be persuasive.
Specifically on Page 16, Applicant argues that the secondary reference Wang does not teach the limitations “generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”, “calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot”, and “calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. Regarding the limitation “generating first coordinate system transformation information between the first robot base coordinate system and the preset reference coordinate system, based on the third angle difference and the fifth angle difference”, as was stated in the Final Office Action mailed April 24th, 2026, above in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section, and as was stated above with reference to prior arguments, Wang was not relied upon to teach the aforementioned limitations. Therefore, because the secondary reference Wang was not relied upon to teach the above limitation, Applicant’s arguments regarding Wang are not considered to be persuasive. Regarding the limitations “calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot” and “calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot”, as was stated in the Final Office Action mailed April 24th, 2026, above in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section, and as was stated above with reference to prior arguments, the secondary reference Wang was not solely relied upon to teach the above limitations. The primary reference Balter teaches a system and method for controlling a plurality of surgical robots. As was stated previously, each robot is configured with a dial that a user can enter an angle into. The system is configured to determine for each robot and its corresponding dial, the angle between the robot base coordinate system and the dial. The system is configured to perform this using the joint angles of the robotic arm. The secondary reference Wang teaches a system and method for controlling a robot. The robot arm is configured with an angle measurement device in the joints of the arm such that each joint angle can be determined. The system uses these angles and the DH method to determine the transformation information from the base of the robot to a location at the end of the robot arm. As was stated previously, Balter already teaches determining the joint values of the robot used to calculate the angle difference between the dial coordinate system and the robot base coordinate system, but does not specify how these angles are obtained. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would been easily able to modify the device to acquire the joint angle using angle measurement sensor as taught in Wang. Such a modification would only require simply adding the sensors taught in Wang to the robot used in Balter. As such, this modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality to either. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a device for generating coordinate system transformation information in a robotic surgical system, the device comprising: calculate a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the surgical robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the surgical robot; calculate a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the laparoscopic camera robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the laparoscopic camera robot. Therefore, the combination of Balter in view of LaValle in further view of Diolaiti in further view of Wang teaches the limitations “calculating a fifth angle difference between a first angle measurement dial coordinate system and the first robot base coordinate system, based on a first angle measurement value obtained from a first angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the first robot” and “calculating a sixth angle difference between a second angle measurement dial coordinate system and the second robot base coordinate system, based on a second angle measurement value obtained from a second angle measurement sensor mounted on a robotic arm of the second robot”.
Therefore, for the reasons stated herein and above in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section, the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of the independent claims 1, 13, 15, 16, and 17 are maintained.
Conclusion
/N.W.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658