Detail Office Action
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Status: Please all the replies and correspondence should be addressed to Examiner’s art unit 2629. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted on 09-13-2024 under new application which have been placed of record in the file. 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. . 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c).
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09-26-2025 does not introduce any new matter into the disclosure. Applicant has amended specification to include co-pending Application information data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pagés Rafael et al. (US 20220245885 A1) hereinafter referenced as Pagés in view of Nakashima Satoshi et al. (US 20170337712 A1) hereinafter referenced as Nakashima et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Pagés et al. discloses A system, for memory-efficient encoding (para. 76) in an extended-reality device (para. 98), comprising :a display (para. 98); and one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (Claim 12) , causes the one or more processors to perform (please see Claim 12) the following steps: defining a plurality of two-dimensional image frame in a color space (para. 66, disclosing If the displaying device is movable, the pose of the camera of the displaying device can be calculated and the display adjusted to give the appearance that a volumetric object is a real object that is being imaged by the camera. In this way, a user of the moving device displaying the moving volumetric image; para. 69 disclosing Video data can be recorded in various formats and encoding. Video data is any data which can be defined in a sequence of two-dimensional images, with each image corresponding at a particular time (the pose of the camera). The images from the video data need only contain the information necessary to clearly view the moving object that is to be formed into a moving volumetric image, para 75 disclosing, The segmented images are then processed with the depth data in a model generating module. The output of the model generation module is a sequence of volumetric meshes. The volumetric meshes are shaped to align to the estimated location of the outer surface of the moving object, para. 76, disclosing, the sequences of volumetric meshes are then processed with a volumetric sequence tracker to track the mesh elements of the volumetric meshes across the sequence and form a volumetric tracking sequence, the output of the volumetric sequence tracker may be considered as the sequences of meshes in a memory-efficient encoding).
Pagés et al. fails to discloses calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space; ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries; adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display.
However in the applicant’s field of endeavor prior art of Nakashima et al. calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space (para. 45, discloses computing of the color space, please see fig. 4C, paara.45 disclosing gradation process of the color space, para. 68, disclosing an additional capacity can be provided to the memory or the number of pieces of stored grid data can be reduced through two-dimensional interpolation calculation (memory efficient encoding operation), the boundary shape and the luminance gradient shape of the gradation (colors pace) may be collectively specified and corrected through a two-dimensional table); ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries (paras. 52-53); adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display (paras. 53-60 disclosing, adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries, para. 37 and 42 disclosing The display driving unit drives the display element to display the display image on which the gradation processing has been executed ).
Pagés et al. teaches A system, for memory-efficient encoding in an extended-reality device, with :a display; and one or more memory devices having a one or more processors executing instructions
Pagés et al. teaches one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform the following steps: calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space.
Nakashima et al teaches calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space; ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries; adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, Pagés et al. performs the same function as it does separately of managing The images from the video data need only contain the information necessary to clearly view the moving object that is to be formed into a moving volumetric image.
Nakashima et al performs the same function as it does separately calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space; ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries; adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Pagés et al. to include calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space; ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries; adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display, as disclosed by Nakashima et al thereby allowing to make luminance or hue of the displayed images become uniform as Nakashima et al discusses at para.37.
Regarding Claim 6, Pagés et al. discloses A system and method, for memory-efficient encoding (para. 76) in an extended-reality device (para. 98), comprising :a display (para. 98); and one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (Claim 12) , causes the one or more processors to perform (please see Claim 12) the following steps: defining a plurality of two-dimensional image frame in a color space (para. 66, disclosing If the displaying device is movable, the pose of the camera of the displaying device can be calculated and the display adjusted to give the appearance that a volumetric object is a real object that is being imaged by the camera. In this way, a user of the moving device displaying the moving volumetric image; para. 69 disclosing Video data can be recorded in various formats and encoding. Video data is any data which can be defined in a sequence of two-dimensional images, with each image corresponding at a particular time (the pose of the camera). The images from the video data need only contain the information necessary to clearly view the moving object that is to be formed into a moving volumetric image, para 75 disclosing, The segmented images are then processed with the depth data in a model generating module. The output of the model generation module is a sequence of volumetric meshes. The volumetric meshes are shaped to align to the estimated location of the outer surface of the moving object, para. 76, disclosing, the sequences of volumetric meshes are then processed with a volumetric sequence tracker to track the mesh elements of the volumetric meshes across the sequence and form a volumetric tracking sequence, the output of the volumetric sequence tracker may be considered as the sequences of meshes in a memory-efficient encoding).
Pagés et al. fails to discloses calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space; ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries; adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display.
However in the applicant’s field of endeavor prior art of Nakashima et al. calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space (para. 45, discloses computing of the color space, please see fig. 4C, paara.45 disclosing gradation process of the color space, para. 68, disclosing an additional capacity can be provided to the memory or the number of pieces of stored grid data can be reduced through two-dimensional interpolation calculation (memory efficient encoding operation), the boundary shape and the luminance gradient shape of the gradation (colors pace) may be collectively specified and corrected through a two-dimensional table); ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries (paras. 52-53); adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display (paras. 53-60 disclosing, adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries, para. 37 and 42 disclosing The display driving unit drives the display element to display the display image on which the gradation processing has been executed ).
Pagés et al. teaches A system, for memory-efficient encoding in an extended-reality device, with :a display; and one or more memory devices having a one or more processors executing instructions
Pagés et al. teaches one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform the following steps: calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space.
Nakashima et al teaches calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space; ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries; adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, Pagés et al. performs the same function as it does separately of managing The images from the video data need only contain the information necessary to clearly view the moving object that is to be formed into a moving volumetric image.
Nakashima et al performs the same function as it does separately calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space; ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries; adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Pagés et al. to include calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space; ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries; adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display, as disclosed by Nakashima et al thereby allowing to make luminance or hue of the displayed images become uniform as Nakashima et al discusses at para.37.
Regarding Claim 14, Pagés et al. discloses A system, for memory-efficient encoding (para. 76) in an extended-reality device (para. 98), comprising :a display (para. 98); and one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (Claim 12) , causes the one or more processors to perform (please see Claim 12) the following steps: defining a plurality of two-dimensional image frame in a color space (para. 66, disclosing If the displaying device is movable, the pose of the camera of the displaying device can be calculated and the display adjusted to give the appearance that a volumetric object is a real object that is being imaged by the camera. In this way, a user of the moving device displaying the moving volumetric image; para. 69 disclosing Video data can be recorded in various formats and encoding. Video data is any data which can be defined in a sequence of two-dimensional images, with each image corresponding at a particular time (the pose of the camera). The images from the video data need only contain the information necessary to clearly view the moving object that is to be formed into a moving volumetric image, para 75 disclosing, The segmented images are then processed with the depth data in a model generating module. The output of the model generation module is a sequence of volumetric meshes. The volumetric meshes are shaped to align to the estimated location of the outer surface of the moving object, para. 76, disclosing, the sequences of volumetric meshes are then processed with a volumetric sequence tracker to track the mesh elements of the volumetric meshes across the sequence and form a volumetric tracking sequence, the output of the volumetric sequence tracker may be considered as the sequences of meshes in a memory-efficient encoding).
Pagés et al. fails to discloses calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space; ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries; adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display.
However in the applicant’s field of endeavor prior art of Nakashima et al. calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space (para. 45, discloses computing of the color space, please see fig. 4C, paara.45 disclosing gradation process of the color space, para. 68, disclosing an additional capacity can be provided to the memory or the number of pieces of stored grid data can be reduced through two-dimensional interpolation calculation (memory efficient encoding operation), the boundary shape and the luminance gradient shape of the gradation (colors pace) may be collectively specified and corrected through a two-dimensional table); ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries (paras. 52-53); adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display (paras. 53-60 disclosing, adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries, para. 37 and 42 disclosing The display driving unit drives the display element to display the display image on which the gradation processing has been executed ).
Pagés et al. teaches A system, for memory-efficient encoding in an extended-reality device, with :a display; and one or more memory devices having a one or more processors executing instructions
Pagés et al. teaches one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform the following steps: calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space.
Nakashima et al teaches calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space; ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries; adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, Pagés et al. performs the same function as it does separately of managing The images from the video data need only contain the information necessary to clearly view the moving object that is to be formed into a moving volumetric image.
Nakashima et al performs the same function as it does separately calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space; ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries; adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Pagés et al. to include calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space; ascertaining extrema points for two or more two-dimensional boundaries of the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries; adjusting a color value within at least one of the two-dimensional boundaries to generate an adjusted color that reduces variances of color values for a color channel, based on ascertaining the extrema points for the two or more two-dimensional boundaries; and presenting the adjusted color on the display, as disclosed by Nakashima et al thereby allowing to make luminance or hue of the displayed images become uniform as Nakashima et al discusses at para.37.
Claim(s) 2, 7, 13, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pagés Rafael et al. (US 20220245885 A1) hereinafter referenced as Pagés in view of Nakashima Satoshi et al. (US 20170337712 A1) hereinafter referenced as Nakashima et al. as applied to claims 1, 6 and 14 above and further in view of Burnham; Daniel (US 20230188688 A1) hereinafter referenced as Burnham et al.
Regarding Claim 2, Nakashima et al. discloses the two-dimensional boundaries (paras. 52-53) and Nakashima et al. at para. 28 discloses image processing for forming a boundary portion into an eyelid-like curvilinear shape is executed in order to make an observation state of the display image close to a state where the real space is visually recognized by the actual human eyes, and to eliminate a sense of discomfort at a boundary portion.
Pagés et al. in view of Nakashima et al. fails to disclose human color discrimination.
However, prior art of Burnham et al. discloses human color discrimination (para. 26).
Pagés et al. teaches A system, for memory-efficient encoding in an extended-reality device, with :a display; and one or more memory devices having a one or more processors executing instructions
Pagés et al. teaches one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform the following steps: calculating a plurality of two-dimensional boundaries in a color space.
Burnham et al. teaches human color discrimination.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, Pagés et al. performs the same function as it does separately of managing The images from the video data need only contain the information necessary to clearly view the moving object that is to be formed into a moving volumetric image.
Burnham et al. performs the same function as it does separately to minimizes color difference in human impressions of a whole image.
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Pagés et al. to include human color discrimination as disclosed by Burnham et al. thereby allowing a human viewer perceives a full-color (i.e. polychromatic) image as Burnham et al. discusses at para.8.
Regarding Claim 5, Burnham et al. discloses each ellipsoid of the plurality of color-discrimination ellipsoids corresponds to a color for a pixel in an image (paras, 126, 1 31, 136).
Regarding Claim 7, Nakashima et al. discloses the two-dimensional boundaries (paras. 52-53) and Nakashima et al. at para. 28 discloses image processing for forming a boundary portion into an eyelid-like curvilinear shape is executed in order to make an observation state of the display image close to a state where the real space is visually recognized by the actual human eyes, and to eliminate a sense of discomfort at a boundary portion and a left-eye display image and a right-eye display image, and regions having the same view angle are superimposed and observed through the both eyes.
Please also see Burnham et al. discloses human color discrimination (para. 26, 125).
Regarding Claim 13, Burnham et al. discloses the color channel is blue or red and not green (para. 89)
Regarding Claim 18, Burnham et al. discloses the color space is a first color space; and calculating the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries comprises transforming a plurality of axis-aligned ellipsoids from a second color space into a plurality of color- discrimination ellipsoids in the first color space (paras. 105, 125, disclosing the color space is a first color space; and calculating the plurality of two-dimensional boundaries comprises transforming a plurality of axis-aligned ellipsoids from a second color space into a plurality of color- discrimination ellipsoids in the first color space).
Regarding Claim 19, Burnham et al. discloses the second color space is the DKL (Derrington-Krauskopf-Lennie) space (The DKL color space is a three-dimensional model of human color vision that represents colors based on the responses of the three cone types in the retina) (para. 26, disclosing, three-dimensional model of human color vision that represents colors based on the responses of the three cone types in the retina ); and the first color space is the linear RGB (Red, Green, Blue) space (para. 13, please notice first and second are very arbitrary labels).)..
Regarding Claim 20, Burnham et al. discloses the color channel is a first color channel, the instructions are configured to further cause the one or more processors (para. 165) to reduce variances of color values for a second color channel; and neither the first color channel nor the second color channel is green (paras. 25 reducing variances of color , 91-92, disclosing color channels please notice first and second are very arbitrary labels).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 8-12, 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant is requested to review the prior art cited on USTO 892’s.
The prior art of Cõté; Stéphane et al. (US 9715008 B1) disclosure, Col. 3, Line55 to Col. 7, Line 10, discloses, an augmented reality application generates an augmented reality view that displays 3-D GPR data on boundary surfaces of a virtual excavation. A view of the physical environment (e.g., a planar or panoramic view) is captured by a camera and provided to the augmented reality application. The view of the physical environment may be a static view (e.g., a still image captured at a moment in time) or a dynamic view (e.g., full motion video continually being captured). The augmented reality application anchors a 3-D model corresponding to the physical environment to the view of the physical environment, such that correspondence is defined between portions of (e.g., points in) the 3-D model and portions of (e.g., points in) the view of the physical environment. Due to such correspondence, each portion of (e.g., point in) the view of the physical environment corresponds to a position within 3-D space of the 3-D model, and may be associated with coordinates of a coordinates system for this 3-D space. ( Once the 3-D model is anchored, the augmented reality application generates an augmented reality view and displays it in a user-interface. The augmented reality view may be a static view or a dynamic view, depending on the implementation. Elements of the 3-D model may, at least initially, be hidden in the augmented reality view. In response to user input in a user-interface of the augmented reality application, the augmented reality application may create a virtual excavation in the augmented reality view. The virtual excavation operates as a virtual "hole" in material (e.g., in the ground), and may have a bottom boundary surface and side boundary surfaces, while being open to the top. The boundary surfaces may be defined by coordinates in the 3-D space of the 3-D model. In one implementation, the virtual excavation may be rectangular, and thereby have four side boundary surfaces, and a bottom boundary surface, defined by coordinates in the 3-D space of the 3-D model. The augmented reality application calculates an intersection between the boundary surfaces of the virtual excavation and 3-D GPR data collected from the physical environment. The 3-D GPR data may be indexed according to the same coordinate system as the 3-D model, such that individual data items of the 3-D GPR data correspond to coordinates within the 3-D space of the 3-D model. Data items of the 3-D GPR data whose positions intersect the boundary surfaces of the virtual excavation are extracted to create a number of data sets, each data set corresponding to a respective boundary surface. The augmented reality application then generates 2-D images from the data sets and projects those 2-D images onto the related boundary surfaces of the virtual excavation. The view created generally resembles a physical excavation, where material inside of the excavation has been removed so that features disposed on the sides and bottom of the excavation are visible, but those below the bottom of the excavation, or beyond the sides of the excavation, are still hidden (e.g., still in the ground). In response to user input in the user interface, the augmented reality application may move, rotate, scale, change a depth of, or otherwise manipulate the virtual excavation. Such changes may involve altering the coordinates that define the boundary surfaces, recalculating the intersection between the boundary surfaces and the 3-D GPR data, re-extracting those data items that intersect to form updated data sets, and projecting new 2-D images generated from these data sets onto the new boundary surfaces. Further, in response to user input in the user interface, elements of the 3-D model may be disco played in the augmented reality view. Certain elements of the 3-D model may be rendered and shown, for example, within the interior of the virtual excavation. These model elements may complement the 2-D images projected onto the boundary surfaces of the virtual excavation, allowing the user to see relationships there between.
The prior art of Izumi Kuniaki (US 20110134109 A!) disclosure; paras. 42-92, disclosing a computerized method for pulling keys from a plurality of color segmented images. The method includes storing data indicative of a two dimensional image in a data storage device, the two dimensional image comprising a plurality of pixels. The method further includes generating, by a color segmentation unit of a computer, a plurality of color segmented frames based on the two dimensional image, wherein each color segmented frame comprises one or more objects. The method further includes generating, by the color segmentation unit, for each of the color segmented frames, a key based on the one or more objects, and calculating, by a depth map unit of the computer, a depth map for the two dimensional image based on the keys, wherein the depth map comprises data indicative of three dimensional information for each pixel of the two dimensional image. A computerized method for auto-stereoscopic interpolation. The method includes receiving, by an input unit of a computer, a first two dimensional image and a second two dimensional image, each two dimensional image comprising a pixel size, and generating, by a preprocessing unit of the computer, a reduced pixel image for each of the first and second two dimensional images, wherein each reduced pixel image comprises a reduced pixel size that is less than the pixel size. The method also includes calculating, by the preprocessing unit, boundary information for each of the first and second two dimensional images, calculating, by a depth map unit of the computer, a depth map for the first and second reduced pixel images, wherein the depth map comprises data indicative of three dimensional information for one or more objects in the first and second reduced pixel images, and calculating, by the depth map unit of the computer, a depth map for the first and second two dimensional images based on the boundary information for each of the first and second two dimensional images and the depth map of the first and second reduced pixel images. Generating the color segmented frames can include defining a plurality of base colors, wherein each base color is used to generate a color segmented frame. Each base color from the plurality of base colors can include a predefined range of color values, wherein a pixel comprising a color value within the predefined range of color values is associated with a color segmented frame generated based on the base color. Data indicative of a new range of color values for one or more colors of the plurality of base colors can be received, and the predefined range of color values for each of the one or more colors can be adjusted based on the data. The plurality of base colors can include, for each color of the plurality of base colors, a color pair that includes a light color and a dark color. The plurality of base colors can include brown and beige. Calculating the depth map can include determining a three dimensional representation of an object in the two dimensional image results in a portion of the object coming in view that was not in view in the two dimensional image, and stretching a background behind the object, a side of the object, or both, to fill in the portion of the object coming into view. Calculating the depth map can include determining a three dimensional representation of an object in the two dimensional image results in a portion of the object going out of view that was in view in the two dimensional image, and shrinking a side of the object to hide the portion of the object going out of view.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria VA 22313-1450
/Prabodh M Dharia/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2629
06-03-2026