DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 14, a space is missing in “ holebeing” and in line 18, “centred” is spelled incorrectly. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 1 is also missing an “and” for connecting the two wherein clauses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grieco et al. (2023/0382781). Grieco discloses an apparatus comprising:
a furnace comprising muffle tube (11) extending along a vertical axis and forming a muffle chamber configured to house a preform, the muffle tube having a muffle upper opening at its top side, which is configured to allow passage of the preform ([0025], figure 1),
a hollow connection member (19) having an inner diameter configured to allow passage of the preform and extending along the vertical axis, the connecting member being removable connected to the muffle tube opening ([0026], figure 2),
a hood (30) positioned on top of the connection member, the hood being removably - connected to or integral with the connection member, the hood having an interior space in vertical alignment with the connection member, wherein the hood comprises a hood lid closing the hood at its top, wherein the hood lid comprises a through-hole axially aligned with the muffle opening, the hood lid through- hole being configured for the passage of a cylindrical supporting rod of a supporting handle for the suspension of the preform ([0027], figure 6), and
a sealing assembly comprising a sealing element substantially centered on the vertical axis, the sealing element comprising a ring-shaped seal and an expansible member having a generally tubular shape configured to allow passage of the supporting rod and to expand, contract and bend, wherein the ring-shaped seal is located radially inward of the expansible member and operatively connected thereto, the ring-shaped seal being sized to directly contact the supporting rod ([0028]).
Grieco teaches providing for the sealing assembly on top of the hood lid to prevent any inflow of atmospheric air into the hood and chamber (figure 6, [0137], [0157]). Grieco also teaches providing a sealing assembly within the interior space of the hood ([0168], figure 9) to prevent leakage of processing and control the outflow of processing gas (i.e. helium) within the chamber ([0171]-[0172], [0184], [0187]). Although each of the sealing assembly are disclosed as separate embodiments, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have employed both a first sealing assembly on top of the hood lid so as to prevent any inflow of atmospheric air, which is detrimental for the production of optical fiber, and a second sealing assembly within the interior space of the hood so as to control the outflow of processing gas, and prevent wasteful leakage of the processing gas.
Regarding claim 2, the connection member 19 comprises a tubular body extending along the vertical axis ([0026], figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, each of the expansible member comprises a pleated portion configured to expand, contract, and bend, a non-axially expandable portion contiguous to the pleated portion along the vertical axis, and a base contiguous to the pleated portion and opposite to the non-expandable portion, the base extending radially outwardly of the pleated portion, wherein the each of the ring shaped seal are engaged to the non-axially expandable portion ([0142]-[0147], figure 8).
Regarding claim 6, the non-axially expandable portion 83b engaging the ring-shaped seal lies on top of the pleated portion 83a (see figure 8).
Regarding claim 7, each of the ring-shaped seals has an inner diameter configured to directly contact the support rod ([0028]).
Regarding claim 8, the hood comprises a hood sidewall 31 and a lower flange (44a/b) positioned opposite to the hood lid, the hood lower flange extending radially inwardly from the hood sidewall and having an inner diameter substantially equal to the inner diameter of the connection member 19 ([0133], figures 6-7).
Regarding claim 9, the apparatus further comprises a lower cover plate 22 configured to be positioned on the lower flange 44b and having a through hole 23 in alignment with the through hole 34 of the hood lid, wherein the lower cover plate has an outer diameter greater than the inner diameter of the connection member ([0129], figure 7).
Regarding claim 10, Grieco teaches the connection member comprises a tubular body extending along the vertical axis and the hood is removably connected to the connection member ([0024]), the connection member comprising a cover plate that provides an upper flange positioned at the top of its tubular body and extends radially outwardly from the same, wherein the hood lower flange 44a is positioned on the upper flange of the connection member tubular body and connected to the same ([0133], figure 6).
Regarding claim 12, the sealing assembly further comprises a plurality of springs extending parallel to the vertical axis and arranged so as to radially surround the first sealing element, and an annular supporting flange placed on the lower cover plate, the plurality of springs being constrained, at one end, to the supporting flange and extending therefrom toward the hood lid ([0169], [0170], figure 10).
Regarding claim 13, each of the plurality of springs is mounted on a respective vertical supporting element fixed to the supporting flange, each of the plurality of springs being longer than the respective vertical supporting element, and each of the plurality of springs has a length sized to extend from the annular flange to the hood lid in a pre-set partially compressed condition ([0171], fig. 10).
Regarding claim 14, the apparatus further comprises a box 51 having an upper cover plate 51a placed on the hood lid, the upper cover plate having a central through hole in alignment with the through hole of the hood lid (figure 6, [0158]).
Regarding claim 15, the second sealing element 90 sticks out from the upper cover plate in axial alignment wit the first sealing element (see figure 6).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grieco et al. (2023/0382781) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Tanada et al. (JP 2005314184 machine translation provided). Grieco doesn’t specify a finned outer surface for the tubular body. Tanada teaches a muffle furnace comprising a hood 12, connection member (i.e. between 16 and 11a in figure 1), wherein the connection member comprises a tubular body extending along the vertical axis of the furnace, and a furnace seal (see at least figure 1, 1st-2nd paragraphs on page 4). Tanada teaches providing for a finned outer surface on the tubular body to provide cooling to the connection member (3rd – 5th passages on page 5). Tanada teaches using fins provides for cooling to connection member and protect the sealing means. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of orinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided for a finned outer surface to the connection member of Greico, as it provides for cooling to protect the sealing assembly, as taught by Tanada.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grieco et al. (2023/0382781) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishihara (JP2003212557 machine translation provided). Grieco doesn’t specify a length of the connection member, but teaches the size can be selected based on the dimension of the preform to be processed ([0089]). While the connection member of Greico appears to have a significant length because it serves more as an extension of the muffle tube, shorter lengths of connection members are known in light of different muffle tube arrangements. For example, Ishihara teaches a furnace comprising a muffle tube 2, a hollow connection member 9, and a sealing assembly (figure 1, top two passages on page 4). Ishihara teaches the connection member is sized so to ensure sealing of the muffle furnace from the atmosphere as the preform is lowered into the furnace (top passage on page 5). Ishihara teaches a connection member having a height of at least 50 mm (5 cm) is necessary for ensuring the airtightness (top passage on page 3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to have designed a connection member to have a length of at least 5 cm (including 5 cm), depending on the length of the preform, so as to ensure sealing of the furnace from the outside atmosphere.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grieco et al. (2023/0382781) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Koaizawa et al. (6,543,257). Grieco teaches the connection member comprises a tubular body extending along the vertical axis ([0024]), but fails to suggests the hood is intergral with the connection member. Koaizawa also teaches a furnace comprising a muffle tube, a hood, and a sealing assembly (figures 1-12, col. 15 lines 21-23, 48-50). Koaizawa also teaches various embodiments (col. 14, lines 40-67) for arranging the hood (3a) on the muffle furnace, such as directly on the muffle furnace (i.e. figures 2 and 12) or by means of a connection member 3 (figure 6, col. 20 line 6). As can be seen in figure 6, the hood lower flange and the connection member is integral with the tubular body of the connection member, the hood lower flange being a common flange for both the connection member and the hood. Koaizawa teaches this arrangement provides for spacing to allow for two gas sealing arrangements in the hood and connection member, one above the flange and one below the flange, to ensure the prevention of processing gas from reaching the lid (col. 23 lines 28-33). As can be seen, the integrated hood and connection member provides an enclosed passages allowing for the gas sealing means. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided for the alternative arrangement of integrating the hood with the connection member, so as provide enclosed passage for a gas seal, as taught by Koaizawa.
Conclusion
/QUEENIE S DEHGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741