DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/27/24 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 lines 9-12 read “wherein the controller is further configured to determine an occlusion hindering the dispensing of liquid medicament out of the reservoir and is further configured to provide a control signal to the actuation member upon determining the occlusion, to move the dispensing member in a reverse direction about a model-based displacement distance.” And Should likely read “wherein the controller is further configured to determine an occlusion hindering the dispensing of liquid medicament out of the reservoir and, upon determining the occlusion, is further configured to provide a control signal to the actuation member[[ upon determining the occlusion,]] to move the dispensing member in a reverse direction about a model-based displacement distance” for grammatical reasons
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1 lines 5-6: “an actuation member configured for moving the dispensing member”. Therefore, claim 1 is interpreted under 112(f) according to the 3-prong test:
Prong 1: means or generic placeholder is recited— “an actuation member” is considered a generic placeholder for “means” because “an actuation member” has no specific structural meaning
Prong 2: functional language—configured for moving
Prong 3: not modified by other structural language in the claims—no structure is recited for how the actuation member functions in order to achieve moving the dispensing member. Only the desired outcome of moving is recited.
According to Applicant’s disclosure under 112(f), the “an actuation member configured for moving the dispensing member” is interpreted as a stepper motor (see [0017] of the current Application), motor (see [0018] of the current Application), or equivalent.
Claim 7 lines 3-4: “an actuation member configured for controlling the movement of the dispensing member”. Therefore, claim 7 is interpreted under 112(f) according to the 3-prong test:
Prong 1: means or generic placeholder is recited— “an actuation member” is considered a generic placeholder for “means” because “an actuation member” has no specific structural meaning
Prong 2: functional language—configured for controlling the movement
Prong 3: not modified by other structural language in the claims—no structure is recited for how the actuation member functions in order to achieve controlling the movement of the dispensing member. Only the desired outcome of moving is recited.
According to Applicant’s disclosure under 112(f), the “an actuation member configured for controlling the movement of the dispensing member” is interpreted as a stepper motor (see [0017] of the current Application), motor (see [0018] of the current Application), or equivalent.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A dispensing member…configured for dispensing in claim 1 lines 3-4 because sufficient structure of the dispensing member “movably arranged within the reservoir” has been recited, failing 112f interpretation at prong 3
The actuation member comprises a stepper motor in claim 3 lines 1-2 because sufficient structure of a stepper motor has been recited, failing 112f interpretation at prong 3
A dispensing member… for dispensing liquid in claim 7 lines 2-3 because sufficient structure of the dispensing member “moveably arranged within the reservoir” has been recited, failing 112f interpretation at prong 3
The actuation member is a stepper motor in claim 9 line 2 because sufficient structure of a stepper motor has been recited, failing 112f interpretation at prong 3
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tribe et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2003/0205587), hereinafter Tribe.
Regarding claim 1, Tribe discloses an infusion delivery device, comprising:
a reservoir (3, see ‘Figure’ provided below for immediate reference) configured for containing a liquid medicament (see [0002]);
a dispensing member (35, see [0012]: 35 is a plunger) moveably arranged within the reservoir (3) and configured for dispensing liquid medicament out of (see [0002], [0005], & [0012]) the reservoir (3) through an outlet (5, see [0012]) of the reservoir (3);
an actuation member (9, see [0012]: electric motor, aligning with interpretation of actuation member being a stepper motor or motor under 112f above) configured for moving the dispensing member within the reservoir (see [0012]); and
a controller (11) configured for controlling movement of the dispensing member within the reservoir by the actuation member (see [0012-0014]);
wherein the controller (11) is further configured to determine an occlusion hindering the dispensing of liquid medicament out of the reservoir and is further configured to provide a control signal to the actuation member upon determining the occlusion, to move the dispensing member in a reverse direction (see [0005], [0007], [0013-0014]: control uses sensor 20 to detect occlusion, stop motor, then drive motor in reverse direction) about a model-based displacement distance (see [0008-0009] and [0014]: motor driven a displacement distance equivalent to an assigned 10%*Fmax, which is a model-based displacement distance).
Regarding claim 2, Tribe discloses the infusion delivery device according to claim 1, and Tribe further discloses wherein the model-based displacement distance takes into account a parameter indicative of the current position of the dispensing member within the reservoir (see [0005-0009] and [0014]: motor driven a displacement distance equivalent to an assigned 10%*Fmax, which is a model-based displacement distance, which takes into account the current position of the plunger position within reservoir barrel) and/or a parameter indicative of the temperature of the reservoir and/or a parameter indicative of the temperature of the liquid medicament within the reservoir.
Regarding claim 4, Tribe discloses the infusion delivery device according to claim 1, and Tribe further discloses wherein the model-based displacement distance takes into account a parameter indicative of the pressure exerted by the liquid medicament within the reservoir on the dispensing member (see [0005-0009] and [0014]: motor driven a displacement distance equivalent to an assigned 10%*Fmax, Fmax is a parameter indicative of the pressure Fmax by the liquid medicament).
Regarding claim 5, Tribe discloses the infusion delivery device according to claim 1, and Tribe further discloses wherein the model-based displacement distance takes into account a parameter indicative of the compressibility of the liquid medicament within the reservoir (see [0005-0009] and [0014]: motor driven a displacement distance equivalent to an assigned 10%*Fmax, Fmax is a parameter indicative of the pressure Fmax by the liquid medicament and such a measured pressure is inherently related to the compressibility of the liquid).
Regarding claim 6, Tribe discloses the infusion delivery device according to claim 1, and Tribe further discloses wherein the model-based displacement distance is provided by a look-up table (see [0014]: “The control unit 11 compares the output from the sensor 20 with the contents of the memory 110 and, if the force exceeds Fmax…”).
Regarding claim 7, Tribe discloses a method for controlling an infusion delivery device having (3, see ‘Figure’ provided below for immediate reference) configured for containing a liquid medicament (see [0002]),
a dispensing member (35, see [0012]: 35 is a plunger) moveably arranged within the reservoir (3) for dispensing liquid medicament out of (see [0002], [0005], & [0012]) the reservoir (3) through an outlet (5, see [0012]), and an actuation member (9, see [0012]: electric motor, aligning with interpretation of actuation member being a stepper motor or motor under 112f above) configured for controlling the movement of the dispensing member (see [0012]), wherein the method comprises:
determining by a controller (11) an occlusion of the outlet hindering the dispensing of the liquid medicament out of the reservoir (see [0005], [0007], [0013-0014]: control uses sensor 20 to detect occlusion, stop motor, then drive motor in reverse direction); and
providing a control signal by the controller (11) to the actuation member (9) upon determining the occlusion, to move the dispensing member (35) in a reverse direction (see [0005], [0007], [0013-0014]: control uses sensor 20 to detect occlusion, stop motor, then drive motor in reverse direction) by a model-based displacement distance (see [0008-0009] and [0014]: motor driven a displacement distance equivalent to an assigned 10%*Fmax, which is a model-based displacement distance).
Regarding claim 8, Tribe discloses the method for controlling an infusion delivery device according to claim 7, and Tribe further discloses wherein the step of determining the model-based displacement distance is based on one or more of:
a parameter indicative of the current position of the dispensing member within the reservoir (see [0005-0009] and [0014]: motor driven a displacement distance equivalent to an assigned 10%*Fmax, which is a model-based displacement distance, which takes into account the current position of the plunger position within reservoir barrel);
a parameter indicative of the temperature of the reservoir;
a parameter indicative of the temperature of the medicament within the reservoir;
a parameter indicative of the pressure exerted on the dispensing member by the liquid medicament within the reservoir (see [0005-0009] and [0014]: motor driven a displacement distance equivalent to an assigned 10%*Fmax, Fmax is a parameter indicative of the pressure Fmax by the liquid medicament);
a parameter indicative of the compressibility of the liquid medicament within the reservoir (see [0005-0009] and [0014]: motor driven a displacement distance equivalent to an assigned 10%*Fmax, Fmax is a parameter indicative of the pressure Fmax by the liquid medicament and such a measured pressure is inherently related to the compressibility of the liquid); and
a parameter indicative of the compressibility of the reservoir.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tribe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yodfat et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2012/0192951), hereinafter Yodfat.
Regarding claim 3, Tribe discloses the infusion delivery device according to claim 1, but Tribe is silent to “wherein the actuation member comprises a stepper motor, wherein the model-based displacement distance takes into account an average number of missed steps per train for the stepper motor and/or the motor current.”
However, Yodfat teaches an infusion delivery device comprising a reservoir (220, see FIG. 3A and [0101]), a dispensing member (see [0101]: plunger not shown), an actuation member (motor 131, see [0101-0102]), and a controller (132, see FIG. 4 and [0103]) configured to determine an occlusion (see [0109]) and further configured to provide a control signal to the actuation member to move the dispensing member in a reverse direction (see FIG. 5, [0109], and [0115]: controller detects error and then rotates motor in reverse) about a model-based displacement distance (see [0129-0130]: missed steps and [0115] & [0135]: duration of reverse rotation can be adaptive), wherein the actuation member (131) comprises a stepper motor (see [0015] & [0105]: “motor” includes stepper motors), wherein the model-based displacement distance takes into account an average number of missed steps per train for the stepper motor (see [0015], [0130], and [0130]) and/or the motor current (see [0010], [0015], [0022], [0117]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electric motor actuation member disclosed in Tribe with the stepper motor actuation motor taught in Yodfat. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it is a simple substitution of one known element (an electric motor disclosed in Tribe) for another known element (a stepper motor taught in Yodfat) in the art to obtain the predictable result of forming the actuation member for a driving mechanism of a fluid delivery device (see MPEP § 2143.I.B), thus achieving “wherein the actuation member comprises a stepper motor.” Further, Yodfat teaches electric motors (i.e. a DC motor) and stepper motors as obvious variants (see Yodfat [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the model-based displacement distance disclosed in Tribe to take into account an average number of missed steps per train for the stepper motor as taught by Yodfat for the purpose of monitoring the stepper motor missed steps to indicate current device conditions (see [0130]) and/or to provide an adaptive reverse duration for the controller dependent on the device condition (see [0115] & [0135]), thus achieving wherein the model-based displacement distance takes into account an average number of missed steps per train for the stepper motor and/or the motor current.”
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tribe as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yodfat (U.S. PGPUB No. 2012/0192951).
Regarding claim 9, Tribe discloses the method for controlling an infusion delivery device according to claim 7, but Tribe is silent to “wherein the actuation member is a stepper motor, wherein the step of determining the model-based displacement distance is based on one or more of: an average number of missed steps per train for the stepper motor; and/or the motor current.”
However, Yodfat teaches a method for controlling an infusion delivery device having an actuation member (motor 131, see FIG. 3A and [0101-0102]) and a dispensing member (see [0101]: plunger not shown), wherein the method comprises determining by a controller (132, see FIG.4 and [0103]) an occlusion (see [0109]) and providing a control signal by the controller to move the dispensing member in a reverse direction (see FIG. 5, [0109], and [0115]: controller detects error and then rotates motor in reverse) by a model-based displacement distance (see [0129-0130]: missed steps and [0115] & [0135]: duration of reverse rotation can be adaptive), wherein the actuation member (131) is a stepper motor (see [0015] & [0105]: “motor” includes stepper motors), wherein the step of determining the model-based displacement distance is based on one or more of: an average number of missed steps per train for the stepper motor (see [0015], [0130], and [0130]); and/or the motor current (see [0010], [0015], [0022], [0117]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electric motor actuation member disclosed in the method of Tribe with the stepper motor actuation motor taught in Yodfat. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it is a simple substitution of one known element (an electric motor disclosed in Tribe) for another known element (a stepper motor taught in Yodfat) in the art to obtain the predictable result of forming the actuation member for a driving mechanism of a fluid delivery device (see MPEP § 2143.I.B), thus achieving “wherein the actuation member is a stepper motor.” Further, Yodfat teaches electric motors (i.e. a DC motor) and stepper motors as obvious variants (see Yodfat [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the step of determining the model-based displacement distance disclosed in Tribe to be based on an average number of missed steps per train for the stepper motor as taught by Yodfat for the purpose of monitoring the stepper motor missed steps to indicate current device conditions (see [0130]) and/or to provide an adaptive reverse duration for the controller dependent on the device condition (see [0115] & [0135]), thus achieving “wherein the step of determining the model-based displacement distance is based on one or more of: an average number of missed steps per train for the stepper motor; and/or the motor current.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Blomquist et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2010/0262078) teaches temperature based adjustments for occlusion detection systems (see at least [0081]), relevant to at least claims 2 & 8
Favreau (U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0055073) teaches a stepper motor (232, see FIG. 2 and [0022]) driving a dispensing member (222) within a reservoir (206), a controller (700, see FIG. 7) controlling movement within the reservoir by the stepper motor (see [0038-0044]) and configured for determining an occlusion in the reservoir and responding to the occlusion by controlling the stepper motor to move a model-based displacement distance (see [0045-0061]), relevant to at least claims 3 & 9
Poetschke (U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0164142) teaches wherein the actuation member comprises a stepper motor, wherein the model-based displacement distance takes into account an average number of missed steps per train for the stepper motor (see S02 in FIGURE 2 and [0013-0017] and [0041-0058]), relevant to at least claims 3 & 9
John (U.S. PGPUB No. 2015/0018758) teaches an infusion device with a control unit accessing look-up tables via database loaded into the software (see [0081-0087]), relevant to at least claim 6
/KATHLEEN PAIGE VOKES/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783