Status of Claims
This is in response to applicant’s filing date of January 29, 2020. Claims 1-25 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 7/14/2026; 5/07/2026; 10/24/2025; 9/13/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Regarding U.S. Provisional Patent Application Nos. 63/538964, filed September 18, 2023, Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. The claimed invention is directed to the abstract concept of performing mental steps without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the following abstract concepts in BOLD.
1. An electrical apparatus comprising:
a housing that defines an interior space configured to hold a fluid;
and a control system configured to:
determine a plurality of fault indicators based on a temperature error, wherein the temperature error is based on a difference between a measured temperature of the fluid and an estimated temperature of the fluid;
analyze the fault indicators, wherein to analyze the fault indicators, the control system is configured to compare each fault indicator to an associated fault specification; and
if one or more of the plurality of fault indicators does not meet the associated fault specification:
determine whether a fluid leakage condition exists in the electrical apparatus based on the analysis.
13. A method comprising:
determining a temperature error based on a measured fluid temperature and an estimated fluid temperature;
determining fault indicators based on the temperature error;
analyzing the fault indicators by comparing the fault indicators to a specification; and
if one or more of the fault indicators does not meet the specification:
determining whether a fluid leak condition exists based on the analysis and an electrical health status indicator.
21. A monitoring system for an electrical apparatus, the monitoring system comprising:
a temperature error module configured to determine a temperature error based on an estimated temperature of a fluid in an electrical apparatus and a measured temperature of the fluid in the electrical apparatus;
a fault analysis module configured to determine a plurality of fault indicators based on the temperature error;
a trend analysis block configured to compare the each of the plurality of fault indicators to an associated performance threshold and to assign each fault indicator to an alarm level based on the comparison; and
a decision block configured to output a fluid leak indicator based on the alarm level of the fault indicators.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no improvement to another technology or technical field; improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; a particular machine; effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. Examiner notes that since the claimed methods and system are not tied to a particular machine or apparatus, they do not represent an improvement to another technology or technical field. Similarly, there are no other meaningful limitations linking the use to a particular technological environment. Finally, there is nothing in the claims that indicates an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself or transform a particular article to a new state.
Finally, under Step 2B, we consider whether the additional elements are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
The additional element of obtain a plurality of actual diagnostic parameter values such as fault indicators and measured temperature is considered necessary data gathering and is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As recited in MPEP section 2106.05(g), necessary data gathering (i.e., receiving data) is considered extra solution activity in light of Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
The additional elements of a housing, control system, modules, blocks are considered generic r elements and not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As recited in the MPEP, 2106.05(b), merely adding a generic computer, generic computer components, or a programmed computer to perform generic computer functions does not automatically overcome an eligibility rejection. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1984 (2014). See also OIP Techs. v. Amazon.com, 788 F.3d 1359, 1364, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093-94.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because selectively generating a result is considered extra solution activity and not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As recited in MPEP section 2106.05(g), displaying analysis/results is considered extra solution activity in light of Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
Claim 1-12 and 21 further recites the additional limitation of wherein an electrical apparatus such as a transformer is being monitored using the abstract idea. The additional elements in the claims are well-understood and conventional in the relevant art based on the prior art of record (see below). Therefore claims 1-12 and 21 are not made patent eligible because the abstract idea applied to a transformer or electrical apparatus.
Claims 14-20 and 22-23 further limit the abstract ideas without integrating the abstract concept into a practical application or including additional limitations that can be considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore Claims 3, 5-8, 10-16 and 20 are not patent eligible.
Thus, since independent claims 1, 13, and 21 are: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that the independent claims are directed towards non-statutory subject matter. Therefore, the invention of claims 1-23 as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, are not patent eligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al (US-20160047765-A1)(“Feng”), provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 7/14/2026, O’Keeffe et al (US-6446027-B1)(“O’Keeffe”), and HE et al (US- 20210003640-A1)(“He”).
As per claim 1, Feng discloses an electrical apparatus (Figure 1, transformer 12) comprising:
Feng discloses a housing that defines an interior space configured to hold a fluid (Figure 1, oil bath at transformer 12, and Para [0021] discloses that the transformer has a casing for holding the windings and an oil bath:” apparatus 10 is configured for monitoring for oil leakage from an oil-immersed electrical transformer 12. The transformer windings 14, e.g., one or more primary windings and one or more secondary windings, are immersed in oil for cooling purposes and the transformer 12 includes at least minimum instrumentation comprising one or more current sensors 16”.); and
a control system configured (Feng at Figure 1, apparatus 10 with processing circuit 32.) to:
Feng does not disclose, O’Keeffe discloses a process to determine a plurality of fault indicators based on a temperature error , wherein the temperature error is based on a difference between a measured temperature of the fluid and an estimated temperature of the fluid (O’Keeffe at Column 10, Lines 57-67, discloses identifying a set of faults in an electrical apparatus that is submerged in fluids:” applied to any fluid-filled electrical equipment. Any desired parameters can be detected. Sensor data or signals can be processed in any way to provide indication of incipient faults prognostics, life assessment, maintenance schedules, fault root cause identification, or other status of the electrical equipment based on experimental or mathematical models. Additionally, the invention can provide performance characteristic evaluations such as utilization factors, load scheduling, efficiency, energy loss, power factor, harmonics, and on load tap changer performance.”);
Feng does not disclose, O’Keeffe discloses a process to analyze the fault indicators, wherein to analyze the fault indicators, the control system is configured to compare each fault indicator to an associated fault specification (O’Keeffe at Column 2, Lines 33-38, discloses comparing measured parameters to threshold calculated or otherwise to determine if a fault is present:” microcomputer can compare various measured parameters with predetermined thresholds and can activate alarms or other warnings if the thresholds are exceeded. The remote host computer can control a cooling system of the transformer based on the parameters that are periodically downloaded to the remote host computer.”); and
if one or more of the plurality of fault indicators does not meet the associated fault specification (O’Keeffe at Column 9, Lines 42-50, discloses assigning a probability of failure to each fault which under the broadest of interpretation is an associated fault specification:” failure mode in the causal network, an initial conditional probability indicating the likelihood of a failure is assigned. The conditional probabilities are factors assigned to each failure mode that indicates the relative probability that the cause is present. FIG. 4 shows an example of conditional probabilities assigned to each of the failure modes for electrical equipment 20. The conditional probabilities are listed as decimal numbers under the corresponding failure mode node.”):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus for leakage monitoring of an electrical component as taught by Feng with the intelligent analyses system as taught by O’Keeffe with a reasonable expectation of success in order for the one or more method for automated identification of faults and for assigning probabilities to the likely cause of a fault. The teaching suggestion/motivation to combine is that by assigning probabilities to faults, real-time status of electrical equipment can be ascertained and remedial action through repair, replacement, or adjustment of operating conditions of the equipment can be undertaken as taught by O’Keeffe at Column 1, Lines 38-42.
Feng and O’Keeffe do not disclose, but He discloses a conditional process that would indicate whether or not to determine whether a fluid leakage condition exists in the electrical apparatus based on the analysis (He at Para. [0030] discloses a rule based system for associating faults with certain parameters like oil level to determine which the diagnostic on a transformer should proceed:” During the actual operation process, a fault occurrence of the power transformer is usually related to multiple fault symptoms, and one fault symptom may also correspond to multiple fault types. Therefore, the associative coupling relationship between the fault type and the fault symptom, i.e., the association rule, needs to be determined in advance according to the historical data. In addition, by calculating the support, the probability of the association rule may be represented. That is, the association degree is higher if the support is higher. By calculating the confidence, the confidence level of the association rule may be represented. That is, the confidence level is higher if the confidence is higher.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the fault locating method taught in He in the apparatus for leakage monitoring of an electrical component in Feng as modified by O’Keeffe with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in a monitoring apparatus for transformer and the like that can collate multi-source monitoring data to quickly identify a likely fault leading to an increase in the life of the electrical component since the system would be able to mitigate (see He at Paras. [0005]-[0007].).
As per claim 2, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose an electrical apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more sensors in the housing, and where the measured temperature of the fluid is obtained from the one or more sensors in the housing (Feng at Figure 1, temperature sensor 18.).
As per claim 3, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose an electrical apparatus of claim 1, wherein, if one or more of the plurality of fault indicators does not meet the associated fault specification: the control system is configured to determine whether a fluid leakage condition exists in the electrical apparatus based on the analysis and an electrical health status indicator of the electrical apparatus (Feng at Para. [0039] discloses ascertaining if a leakage condition exist and the operational health of the electrical apparatus:” FIG. 2 provides an example plot of how the estimated transformer oil weight, as obtained from the above-described reverse-parameter estimation processing, tracks the characteristic transformer oil weight on a relatively close basis during normal operation, but deviates significantly if meaningful amounts of the oil are lost due to leakage. The processing circuit 32 therefore is, for example, configured to compare the estimated transformer oil weight to the characteristic weight and to generate alarm signaling if the estimated transformer oil weight falls below the characteristic transformer oil weight by more than a defined threshold.”).
As per claim 4, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose an electrical apparatus of claim 1, wherein the fault specification associated with each fault indicator comprises a threshold value, and any fault indicator that has a value greater than the associated threshold value does not meet the associated fault specification (O’Keeffe at Column 2, Lines 33-38, discloses that faults are identified when a monitored parameter exceeds a nominal or threshold value:” microcomputer can compare various measured parameters with predetermined thresholds and can activate alarms or other warnings if the thresholds are exceeded. The remote host computer can control a cooling system of the transformer based on the parameters that are periodically downloaded to the remote host computer.”).
As per claim 5, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose an electrical apparatus of claim 1, wherein the fault specification associated with each fault indicator comprises range of values, and any fault indicator that has a value outside of the range of values does not meet the associated fault specification (He at Para. [0016] discloses using a distribution of measured values to acquire confidence as to the likelihood of a fault:” an original basic probability distribution and uncertainty module for respectively adopting results of the weight coefficient calculating module and the DBN classifying module as a first independent evidence e1 and a second independent evidence e2 and respectively determining original basic probability distributions and uncertainty thereof according to a fuzzy evaluation model; an evidence fusing module for fusing evidence to determine a confidence B.sub.el and a likelihood p.sub.l of each of the fault type, wherein the confidence B.sub.el indicates a probability of being determined as the fault type, and the likelihood p.sub.l indicates a probability of possibly being the fault type, that is, a total of the confidence and the uncertainty; and a result determining module for comparing the confidence of each of the fault type that is calculated and choosing the highest fault type as the final determination result of the evidence inference decision.”).
As per claim 6, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose an electrical apparatus of claim 1, wherein the fault specification associated with each fault indicator comprises one of a threshold value and a range of values, and any fault indicator that has a value greater than the associated threshold value or that is outside of the range of values does not meet the associated fault specification (O’Keeffe at Column 2, Lines 33-38, discloses that faults are identified when a monitored parameter exceeds a nominal or threshold value:” microcomputer can compare various measured parameters with predetermined thresholds and can activate alarms or other warnings if the thresholds are exceeded. The remote host computer can control a cooling system of the transformer based on the parameters that are periodically downloaded to the remote host computer.”).
As per claim 7, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose an electrical apparatus of claim 1, wherein the fault specification associated with each fault indicator comprises a plurality of threshold values, each threshold value being associated with a different fluid leakage condition severity (Feng at Para. [0039] discloses ascertaining if a leakage condition exist and the operational health of the electrical apparatus:” FIG. 2 provides an example plot of how the estimated transformer oil weight, as obtained from the above-described reverse-parameter estimation processing, tracks the characteristic transformer oil weight on a relatively close basis during normal operation, but deviates significantly if meaningful amounts of the oil are lost due to leakage. The processing circuit 32 therefore is, for example, configured to compare the estimated transformer oil weight to the characteristic weight and to generate alarm signaling if the estimated transformer oil weight falls below the characteristic transformer oil weight by more than a defined threshold.”); and
the control system is configured to determine a leakage severity metric by comparing each fault indicator to the associated plurality of threshold values (He at Table 3 and Para. [0038] discloses using a severity index for any fault at the transformer:” By using relative deterioration data of the fault symptom, an identical-different-opposite evaluation matrix of the fault symptom is obtained, and a connection of each fault type and a connection of the overall operation status are obtained accordingly.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the fault locating method taught in He in the apparatus for leakage monitoring of an electrical component in Feng as modified by O’Keeffe with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in a monitoring apparatus for transformer and the like that can collate multi-source monitoring data to quickly identify a likely fault leading to an increase in the life of the electrical component since the system would be able to mitigate (see He at Paras. [0005]-[0007].).
As per claim 8, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose an electrical apparatus of claim 3, further comprising one or more electrical windings in the interior space (Feng at Figure 1, oil-immersed windings 14.), and wherein the control system determines that the fluid leakage condition exists when one or more of the plurality of fault indicators does not meet the associated fault specification and the electrical health status indicator indicates that a short is not present in the one or more electrical windings (He at Para. [0008] discloses calculating probability to identify a fault type which could be used to exclude those fault type having lower probability:” calculating a support and a confidence by using the historical data to obtain the associative coupling relationship between the fault type and the fault symptom and the weight coefficient; 32) collecting experimental data to respectively calculate a relative deterioration and a rating value of each fault type to determine the variable weight coefficient; 33) obtaining an identical-different-opposite evaluation matrix of the fault symptom by using relative deterioration data of the fault symptom, and obtaining a connection of each fault type and a connection of an overall operation status accordingly; and 34) determining the overall operation status of the power transformer, respectively substituting the identical-different-opposite evaluation matrix into a connection expression of each fault type for calculation if the fault is present, and performing normalization to obtain a corresponding weight.”).
As per claim 9, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose an electrical apparatus of claim 3, further comprising one or more electrical windings in the interior space, and wherein the control system determines that the fluid leakage condition does not exist when one or more of the plurality of fault indicators does not meet the associated fault specification and the electrical health status indicator indicates that a short is present in the one or more electrical windings (O’Keefe at Column 2, Lines 4-11, discloses monitoring the type of gases in the fluid to ascertain the occurrence of a short:” gases are generated by various known faults, such as degradation of insulation material or other portions of electric components in the equipment, turn-to-turn shorts in coils, overloading, loose connections, or the like, various diagnostic theories have been developed for correlating the quantities of various gases in fluid with particular faults in electrical equipment in which the fluid is contained.”).
As per claim 10, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose an electrical apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of fault indicators comprise: an average of the temperature error, a root mean square average of the temperature error, a mean average error of the temperature error, and a percent error of the temperature error (Feng at Para. [0038] discloses the optimization of the error which reasonably would include averages and other statistical techniques:” optimization algorithms may be used, for example, there are any number of heuristic optimization algorithms that can be used to adjust or fit the model parameters as needed, so that the error is minimized between the measured top-oil temperature and the top-oil temperature estimate output from the model. In performing such fitting, it will be appreciated that the processing circuit 32 is configured to obtain the online measurements for the transformer 12 by receiving, via the at least one communication interface 30, electronic signaling directly or indirectly from sensors sensing the ambient temperature in a vicinity of the transformer 12, the top-oil temperature of the oil in the transformer 12, and the winding current in at least one of a primary and a secondary winding of the transformer 12.”).
As per claim 11, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose an electrical apparatus of claim 1, wherein the measured temperature of the fluid comprises a temperature measurement of the fluid at fixed distance from a top of the interior space and the estimated temperature is an estimate of the temperature of the fluid at the same location (O’Keeffe at Column 4, Lines 51-58, discloses that the sensors such as the temperature can be placed at various points or distances from the fluid:” sensors 28a-28f can be entirely remote from fluid F and can monitor parameters in fluid F from a distance, such as through optical means or the like. Sensors 28a-28f can be disposed at any location and can sense parameters of electrical equipment 20 at any location as dictated by the type, size, and shape of electrical equipment 20, the diagnostics and prognostics to be evaluated, and any other details of the practical application.”).
As per claim 12, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose an electrical apparatus of claim 1, wherein the electrical apparatus is a transformer (Feng at Figure 1, transformer 12.).
As per claim 13, Feng discloses a method (Figure 3) comprising:
determining a temperature error based on a measured fluid temperature and an estimated fluid temperature (Feng at Para. [0055] discloses determining a deviation of temperature to ascertain a potential error at a transformer:” these variables are recalculated during the reverse parameter estimation taught herein, in order to minimize the error between estimated and observed top-oil temperatures, and the deviation of those recalculated values from the corresponding characteristic values serves as an indication of abnormal transformer conditions, e.g., low oil levels.”);
Feng does not disclose, but O’Keeffe discloses a process for determining fault indicators based on the temperature error (O’Keeffe at Column 10, Lines 57-67, discloses identifying a set of faults in an electrical apparatus that is submerged in fluids:” applied to any fluid-filled electrical equipment. Any desired parameters can be detected. Sensor data or signals can be processed in any way to provide indication of incipient faults prognostics, life assessment, maintenance schedules, fault root cause identification, or other status of the electrical equipment based on experimental or mathematical models. Additionally, the invention can provide performance characteristic evaluations such as utilization factors, load scheduling, efficiency, energy loss, power factor, harmonics, and on load tap changer performance.”);
Feng does not disclose, but O’Keeffe discloses a process for analyzing the fault indicators by comparing the fault indicators to a specification (O’Keeffe at Column 2, Lines 33-38, discloses comparing measured parameters to threshold calculated or otherwise to determine if a fault is present:” microcomputer can compare various measured parameters with predetermined thresholds and can activate alarms or other warnings if the thresholds are exceeded. The remote host computer can control a cooling system of the transformer based on the parameters that are periodically downloaded to the remote host computer.”); and
Feng does not disclose, but O’Keeffe discloses a process that if one or more of the fault indicators does not meet the specification (O’Keeffe at Column 9, Lines 42-50, discloses assigning a probability of failure to each fault which under the broadest of interpretation is an associated fault specification:” failure mode in the causal network, an initial conditional probability indicating the likelihood of a failure is assigned. The conditional probabilities are factors assigned to each failure mode that indicates the relative probability that the cause is present. FIG. 4 shows an example of conditional probabilities assigned to each of the failure modes for electrical equipment 20. The conditional probabilities are listed as decimal numbers under the corresponding failure mode node.”):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus for leakage monitoring of an electrical component as taught by Feng with the intelligent analyses system as taught by O’Keeffe with a reasonable expectation of success in order for the one or more method for automated identification of faults and for assigning probabilities to the likely cause of a fault. The teaching suggestion/motivation to combine is that by assigning probabilities to faults, real-time status of electrical equipment can be ascertained and remedial action through repair, replacement, or adjustment of operating conditions of the equipment can be undertaken as taught by O’Keeffe at Column 1, Lines 38-42.
Feng and O’Keeffe do not disclose, but He discloses a conditional process for determining whether a fluid leak condition exists based on the analysis and an electrical health status indicator (He at Para. [0030] discloses a rule based system for associating faults with certain parameters like oil level to determine which the diagnostic on a transformer should proceed:” During the actual operation process, a fault occurrence of the power transformer is usually related to multiple fault symptoms, and one fault symptom may also correspond to multiple fault types. Therefore, the associative coupling relationship between the fault type and the fault symptom, i.e., the association rule, needs to be determined in advance according to the historical data. In addition, by calculating the support, the probability of the association rule may be represented. That is, the association degree is higher if the support is higher. By calculating the confidence, the confidence level of the association rule may be represented. That is, the confidence level is higher if the confidence is higher.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the fault locating method taught in He in the apparatus for leakage monitoring of an electrical component in Feng as modified by O’Keeffe with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in a monitoring apparatus for transformer and the like that can collate multi-source monitoring data to quickly identify a likely fault leading to an increase in the life of the electrical component since the system would be able to mitigate (see He at Paras. [0005]-[0007].).
As per claim 14, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose a method of claim 13, further comprising:
if the electrical health status indicator indicates that an electrical fault does not exist in the electrical apparatus, determining that the fluid leak condition exists (Feng at Para. [0039] discloses ascertaining if a leakage condition exist and the operational health of the electrical apparatus:” FIG. 2 provides an example plot of how the estimated transformer oil weight, as obtained from the above-described reverse-parameter estimation processing, tracks the characteristic transformer oil weight on a relatively close basis during normal operation, but deviates significantly if meaningful amounts of the oil are lost due to leakage. The processing circuit 32 therefore is, for example, configured to compare the estimated transformer oil weight to the characteristic weight and to generate alarm signaling if the estimated transformer oil weight falls below the characteristic transformer oil weight by more than a defined threshold.”).
As per claim 15, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose a method of claim 13, wherein determining the fault indicators comprises:
determining an average of the temperature error, determining a root mean square average of the temperature error, determining a mean average error of the temperature error (Feng at Para. [0038] discloses the optimization of the error which reasonably would include averages and other statistical techniques:” optimization algorithms may be used, for example, there are any number of heuristic optimization algorithms that can be used to adjust or fit the model parameters as needed, so that the error is minimized between the measured top-oil temperature and the top-oil temperature estimate output from the model. In performing such fitting, it will be appreciated that the processing circuit 32 is configured to obtain the online measurements for the transformer 12 by receiving, via the at least one communication interface 30, electronic signaling directly or indirectly from sensors sensing the ambient temperature in a vicinity of the transformer 12, the top-oil temperature of the oil in the transformer 12, and the winding current in at least one of a primary and a secondary winding of the transformer 12.”), and determining a percent error between the measured temperature value and the estimated fluid temperature (Feng at Para. [0055] discloses determining a deviation of temperature to ascertain a potential error at a transformer:” these variables are recalculated during the reverse parameter estimation taught herein, in order to minimize the error between estimated and observed top-oil temperatures, and the deviation of those recalculated values from the corresponding characteristic values serves as an indication of abnormal transformer conditions, e.g., low oil levels.”).
As per claim 16, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose a method of claim 15, further comprising:
initiating a training period (He at Para. [0015] disclosing the training of a neural network which implicitly indicates a period of time:” performing unsupervised layer-by-layer training on a model by using a training set”.);
determining a training temperature error, the training temperature error being based on a fluid temperature measured during the first time period and an estimated fluid temperature associated with the training period (He at Para. [0009] discloses applying a neural net that requires training on the data comprising temperature, fluid levels, and the like:” determining the number of input layer neurons according to a sample dimension number in (2), and performing unsupervised layer-by-layer training on the model by using a training set; 42) determining the number of output layer neurons according to the number of types of the power transformer fault type according to (1), and performing reverse fine-tuning by using a back propagation (BP) neural network; and 43) performing a test on the DBN model by using a test set, and outputting a result.”); and
determining the specification based on the training temperature error (He at Para. [0057] discloses applying the trained model on the data to ascertain patterns of errors:” the fault determining module includes: an original basic probability distribution and uncertainty module for respectively adopting results of the weight coefficient calculating module and the DBN classifying module as a first independent evidence e1 and a second independent evidence e2 and respectively determining original basic probability distributions and uncertainty thereof according to a fuzzy evaluation model; an evidence fusing module for fusing evidence to determine a confidence B.sub.el and a likelihood p.sub.l of each of the fault type, wherein the confidence B.sub.el indicates a probability of being determined as the fault type, and the likelihood p.sub.l indicates a probability of possibly being the fault type, that is, a total of the confidence and the uncertainty”.).
As per claim 17, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose a method of claim 16, wherein determining the specification comprises determining an average value for each fault indicator, and the specification comprises a threshold value for each fault indicator that is based on the average value for the fault indicator during the first time period (Feng at Para. [0038] discloses the optimization of the error which reasonably would include averages and other statistical techniques:” optimization algorithms may be used, for example, there are any number of heuristic optimization algorithms that can be used to adjust or fit the model parameters as needed, so that the error is minimized between the measured top-oil temperature and the top-oil temperature estimate output from the model. In performing such fitting, it will be appreciated that the processing circuit 32 is configured to obtain the online measurements for the transformer 12 by receiving, via the at least one communication interface 30, electronic signaling directly or indirectly from sensors sensing the ambient temperature in a vicinity of the transformer 12, the top-oil temperature of the oil in the transformer 12, and the winding current in at least one of a primary and a secondary winding of the transformer 12.”).
As per claim 18, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose a method of claim 17, wherein determining the specification further comprises determining a standard deviation for each fault indicator during the training period, and the specification comprises a threshold value for each fault indicator that is based on the average value for the fault indicator during the training period and a multiple of the standard deviation for the fault indicator during the training period (Feng at Para. [0055] discloses applying statistical techniques and producing a deviation of the values:” these variables are recalculated during the reverse parameter estimation taught herein, in order to minimize the error between estimated and observed top-oil temperatures, and the deviation of those recalculated values from the corresponding characteristic values serves as an indication of abnormal transformer conditions, e.g., low oil levels.”).
As per claim 19, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose a method of claim 18, wherein the specification comprises a plurality of thresholds for each fault indicator, and each of the plurality of thresholds is a sum of the average value of the fault indicator during the training period and a multiple of the standard deviation of the fault indicator during the training period . (O’Keeffe at Column 2, Lines 33-38, discloses comparing measured parameters to threshold calculated or otherwise to determine if a fault is present:” microcomputer can compare various measured parameters with predetermined thresholds and can activate alarms or other warnings if the thresholds are exceeded. The remote host computer can control a cooling system of the transformer based on the parameters that are periodically downloaded to the remote host computer.”).
As per claim 20, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose a method of claim 19, further comprising:
if a fluid leak condition is determined to exist (He at Para. [0030] discloses a rule based system for associating faults with certain parameters like oil level to determine which the diagnostic on a transformer should proceed:” During the actual operation process, a fault occurrence of the power transformer is usually related to multiple fault symptoms, and one fault symptom may also correspond to multiple fault types. Therefore, the associative coupling relationship between the fault type and the fault symptom, i.e., the association rule, needs to be determined in advance according to the historical data. In addition, by calculating the support, the probability of the association rule may be represented. That is, the association degree is higher if the support is higher. By calculating the confidence, the confidence level of the association rule may be represented. That is, the confidence level is higher if the confidence is higher.”):
determining a severity of the fluid leak condition by comparing each fault indicator to at least one of the plurality of thresholds for that fault indicator (Feng at Para. [0039] discloses ascertaining if a leakage condition exist and the operational health of the electrical apparatus:” FIG. 2 provides an example plot of how the estimated transformer oil weight, as obtained from the above-described reverse-parameter estimation processing, tracks the characteristic transformer oil weight on a relatively close basis during normal operation, but deviates significantly if meaningful amounts of the oil are lost due to leakage. The processing circuit 32 therefore is, for example, configured to compare the estimated transformer oil weight to the characteristic weight and to generate alarm signaling if the estimated transformer oil weight falls below the characteristic transformer oil weight by more than a defined threshold.”).
As per claim 21, Feng discloses a monitoring system for an electrical apparatus (Figure 1, apparatus 10 and transformer 12), the monitoring system comprising:
a temperature error module configured to determine a temperature error based on an estimated temperature of a fluid in an electrical apparatus and a measured temperature of the fluid in the electrical apparatus (Feng at Para. [0055] discloses determining a deviation of temperature to ascertain a potential error at a transformer:” these variables are recalculated during the reverse parameter estimation taught herein, in order to minimize the error between estimated and observed top-oil temperatures, and the deviation of those recalculated values from the corresponding characteristic values serves as an indication of abnormal transformer conditions, e.g., low oil levels.”);
Feng does not disclose, but O’Keeffe discloses a fault analysis module configured to determine a plurality of fault indicators based on the temperature error (O’Keeffe at Column 2, Lines 33-38, discloses comparing measured parameters to threshold calculated or otherwise to determine if a fault is present:” microcomputer can compare various measured parameters with predetermined thresholds and can activate alarms or other warnings if the thresholds are exceeded. The remote host computer can control a cooling system of the transformer based on the parameters that are periodically downloaded to the remote host computer.”);
Feng does not disclose, but O’Keeffe discloses a trend analysis block configured to compare the each of the plurality of fault indicators to an associated performance threshold and to assign each fault indicator to an alarm level based on the comparison (O’Keeffe at Column 9, Lines 42-50, discloses assigning a probability of failure to each fault which under the broadest of interpretation is an associated fault specification:” failure mode in the causal network, an initial conditional probability indicating the likelihood of a failure is assigned. The conditional probabilities are factors assigned to each failure mode that indicates the relative probability that the cause is present. FIG. 4 shows an example of conditional probabilities assigned to each of the failure modes for electrical equipment 20. The conditional probabilities are listed as decimal numbers under the corresponding failure mode node.”); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus for leakage monitoring of an electrical component as taught by Feng with the intelligent analyses system as taught by O’Keeffe with a reasonable expectation of success in order for the one or more method for automated identification of faults and for assigning probabilities to the likely cause of a fault. The teaching suggestion/motivation to combine is that by assigning probabilities to faults, real-time status of electrical equipment can be ascertained and remedial action through repair, replacement, or adjustment of operating conditions of the equipment can be undertaken as taught by O’Keeffe at Column 1, Lines 38-42.
Feng and O’Keeffe do not disclose, but He discloses a decision block configured to output a fluid leak indicator based on the alarm level of the fault indicators (He at Para. [0030] discloses a rule based system for associating faults with certain parameters like oil level to determine which the diagnostic on a transformer should proceed:” During the actual operation process, a fault occurrence of the power transformer is usually related to multiple fault symptoms, and one fault symptom may also correspond to multiple fault types. Therefore, the associative coupling relationship between the fault type and the fault symptom, i.e., the association rule, needs to be determined in advance according to the historical data. In addition, by calculating the support, the probability of the association rule may be represented. That is, the association degree is higher if the support is higher. By calculating the confidence, the confidence level of the association rule may be represented. That is, the confidence level is higher if the confidence is higher.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the fault locating method taught in He in the apparatus for leakage monitoring of an electrical component in Feng as modified by O’Keeffe with a reasonable expectation of success because this results in a monitoring apparatus for transformer and the like that can collate multi-source monitoring data to quickly identify a likely fault leading to an increase in the life of the electrical component since the system would be able to mitigate (see He at Paras. [0005]-[0007].).
As per claim 22, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose a monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the fluid leak indicator is the maximum alarm level (O’Keeffe at Column 2, Lines 23-25, discloses generating an alarm when a level is exceeded: microcomputer can compare various measured parameters with predetermined thresholds and can activate alarms or other warnings if the thresholds are exceeded.”).
As per claim 23, Feng, O’Keeffe, and He disclose a monitoring system of claim 21, wherein the decision block is configured to output the fluid leak indicator based on the alarm level and an electrical health status indicator of the electrical apparatus (Feng at Figure 1, supervisory system 22, and Para. [0060] discloses monitoring parameters and indicating health of a transformer:” estimated parameters are stored in the memory as the characteristic values of those parameters—the characteristic values may thus be regarded as the reference values that are used for monitoring transformer health.”).
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Merg; Patrick S. et al. (US-20180095609-A1) System and Method for Providing an Interactive Vehicle Diagnostic Display;
JAIN; Prabhat (US-20170011612-A1) SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR MONITORING AND CONTROLLING A TRANSFORMER;
Smiley; Karen J. et al. (US-20140358601-A1) INDUSTRIAL ASSET HEALTH PROFILE;
Kosharovsky; Yury et al. (US-20200127604-A1) Photovoltaic System Failure and Alerting;
Tumiatti; Vander et al. (US-20110223672-A1) INTEGRATED METHODS FOR CORROSIVITY, AGEING AND FINGERPRINTING DETERMINATION, AS WELL AS DIAGNOSIS, DECONTAMINATION, DEPOLARISATION AND DETOXIFICATION OF OILS;
WU, Jie-kang (CN-108680811-A) A transformer fault state evaluation method.
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658