DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 10/22/2024. In the amendment, claims 1-3 & 5-11 have been amended.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: ‘lancet retaining features’ in claims 1, 2, 6, & 8-11.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 & 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: line 14 (claim 1), line 2 (claim 9), & line 4 (claim 10) - examiner suggests amending ‘member’ to read --resiliently deformable member-- to clarify the exact element being referred to be the generic term ‘member’ in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 18/849247 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 10 of 18/849247 discloses a lancing device (same as claim 1 of the present application) comprising :a housing (same as claim 1 of the present application); a lancet comprising a needle (same as claim 1 of the present application), the lancet being configured to be movable rearwardly within the housing from an initial operational position to a retracted position; a shroud coupled movably to the housing (same as claim 1 of the present application) and at least partially covering and extending forwards beyond a forward end of the needle before use of the lancing device; and a biasing member (‘resiliently deformable member’ of claim 1 of present application) coupled between the lancet and the shroud (same as claim 1 of the present application), wherein the shroud is configured to, when pressed against skin around a sampling site, move rearwards relative to the housing and, at a first point of the rearward movement, allow the needle to contact the sampling site and subsequently, at a second point of the rearward movement, release energy stored in the biasing member to drive the lancet from the operational position to the retracted position (italicized functionality drawn to the same function as worded in claim 1 of the present application), and wherein the housing comprises lancet retaining features comprising one or more deflectable legs configured to retain the lancet in the operational position until the shroud reaches the second point of the rearward movement.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 & 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dicesare et al. (WO 2005/110226 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dicesare et al. disclose a lancing device (Figs. 6-9) for use in producing a sample of blood on a subject's skin, the device comprising: a housing 28 (Figs. 6-9); a lancet comprising a needle 54 (Figs. 6-9) having a needle tip; lancet retaining features 62 (Figs. 6-9) for releasably retaining the lancet 54 in a forward position prior to use; a shroud 42 (Figs. 6-9) coupled movably to the housing 28 (arrow 90 - Fig. 6 to Fig. 7) and configured to cover the needle tip 54 when the lancet is in the forward position; and a resiliently deformable member 72 (Figs. 6-9) coupled between the shroud 42 and the lancet 54, wherein the shroud 42 is configured to, when pressed against the subject's skin, move rearwards relative to the housing whilst compressing the resiliently deformable member 72 (Fig. 8 shows the shroud 42 retracted relative to the housing and the resiliently deformable member 72 compressed), and the lancet retaining features 62 are configured to, at a point of the rearward movement of the shroud, release the lancet allowing said member 72 to expand and exert a rearward force to retract the lancet into the housing 28 (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 9, Dicesare et al. further disclose wherein the member 72 is tubular and surrounds a portion of the lancet 54 (springs are tubular - seen surrounding the lancet in Figs. 8 & 9).
Regarding claim 10, Dicesare et al. further disclose wherein the shroud 42 is configured to directly contact the lancet 54 (via tab members 62 which rest on the proximal end of the shroud 42 until rotated to align with channels 64 for deployment) prior to said point of the rearward movement of the shroud 42 so as to exert a rearward force on the lancet 42 in addition to the rearward force exerted by the member 72.
Regarding claim 11, Dicesare et al. further disclose the shroud 42 being slidably received within the housing 28 and being held in an extended position by cooperating features of the shroud 42 and the housing 28 (proximal end of shroud interacts with the lancet holder which interacts with the housing via resistance force of spring member 70 - Figs. 6-7), the cooperating features providing a resistance force (via spring 70) when the shroud 42 is pressed against the skin that must be overcome before the shroud 42 can be moved into the housing from the forward position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dicesare et al. (WO 2005/110226 A1) in view of Brancazio (US Pub. No. 2012/0123297 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Dicesare et al. fail to further disclose wherein the resiliently deformable member comprises a closed-cell or open-cell foam.
However, Brancazio teaches a similar lancing device wherein the device comprises a retraction component 1126 (Fig. 12) that is used to retract the needle element back inside the housing, wherein the retraction component is said to be any of a known deployment actuator such as a coil spring or foam (paragraph [0079]).
Therefore, because these two retraction/resiliently deformable members were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a retraction foam for a coil retraction spring.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further, disclose, teach, or suggest wherein the lancet retaining features comprise one or more deflectable fingers extending from an inner surface of the housing, and wherein one or more shoulders provided on the lancet are configured to engage with the or each deflectable finger to restrict a rearward movement of the lancet until a force exerted by the shroud causes sufficient deflection of the or each finger [claim 3]; wherein the lancet retaining features are configured, upon release of the lancet, to further urge the lancet in a rearward direction [claim 6]; wherein, prior to use, said member is held in a partially compressed state so as to bias the lancet rearward and thereby engage the lancet retaining features [claim 8].
Conclusion
ASHLEY LAUREN FISHBACK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/ASHLEY L FISHBACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 June 11, 2026