DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a control unit, a determination unit, a transition unit, and an acquisition unit in claims 1-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. Claims 2 and 11 recite the phrase “assuming that” followed by language in the claims. It is unclear whether or not the language after “assuming that” is to be considered part of the claims or not. This renders the claims as indefinite, vague, and unclear. Appropriate action is required.
Claims 3 and 12 depend from claims 2 and 11, respectively and are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaneko et al US 2022/0194352.
Regarding claim 1, Kaneko et al discloses a control system 90 of a straddle type vehicle 100 including a front suspension mechanism 5 and a rear suspension mechanism 6, comprising: a detector 45 configured to detect a stroke speed of the front suspension mechanism (see paragraph [0035]); a control unit (90-92b) configured to control a damping force of the rear suspension mechanism (see paragraphs [0031]-[0035]); a determination unit (90-92b) configured to determine an operation state of the straddle type vehicle (see paragraphs [0060]-[0063]); and a transition unit (90-92b) configured to cause a control mode of the rear suspension mechanism controlled by the control unit to transition from a first mode of changing the damping force of the rear suspension mechanism according to a detection result of the detector to a second mode of fixing the damping force of the rear suspension mechanism, when the determination unit determines that the straddle type vehicle is in a predetermined operation state, wherein the transition unit is configured to change a transition time spent for transition of the control mode from the first mode to the second mode, depending on a type of the predetermined operation state. See FIG. 4 and paragraphs [0054], [0055], and [0073]-[0078].
Regarding claim 4, Kaneko et al discloses an acquisition unit (90-92b) configured to acquire information from a sensor group provided in the straddle type vehicle (see paragraph [0018]), wherein the transition unit is configured to change the transition time based on the information acquired by the acquisition unit, for each type of the predetermined operation state. See paragraph [0037].
Regarding claim 13, Kaneko et al discloses straddle type vehicle comprising the control system according to claim 1. See FIG. 1.
Regarding claim 14, Kaneko et al discloses a control method for controlling a damping force of a rear suspension mechanism in a straddle type vehicle 100 including a front suspension 5 mechanism and the rear suspension mechanism 6, comprising: detecting a stroke speed of the front suspension mechanism (see paragraph [0035]); determining an operation state of the straddle type vehicle (see paragraphs [0060]-[0063]); and transiting a control mode of the rear suspension mechanism from a first mode of changing the damping force of the rear suspension mechanism according to a detection result in the detecting to a second mode of fixing the damping force of the rear suspension mechanism, when determining that the straddle type vehicle is in a predetermined operation state in the determining, wherein, in the transiting, a transition time spent for transition of the control mode from the first mode to the second mode is changed depending on a type of the predetermined operation state. See FIG. 4 and paragraphs [0054], [0055], and [0073]-[0078].
Regarding claim 15, Kaneko et al discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a control method according to claim 14. See paragraph [0028].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH J DALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747