DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on the record are in compliance with the content requirements of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98 and have been considered.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following feature must be shown or canceled from claim 1:
The first and second ends of the first cavity, in particular “the first end fluidly coupled to the first port via a first conduit, the second end having a diameter less than the diameter of the first conduit.”
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
260 (see Fig. 2C) and D3 (see Fig. 2C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and all claims depending therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the second end having a diameter less than the diameter of the first conduit” lacks clear antecedent basis for “the first conduit” since a first conduit has been recited twice (i.e., “a first portion, comprising: a first conduit…” and “the first end fluidly coupled to the first port via a first conduit”); for this reason, it would not have been apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art what specific “first conduit” was referring to in the cited limitation “the second end having a diameter less than the diameter of the first conduit”.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the first end fluidly coupled to the first port via a first conduit” will be interpreted to mean “the first end fluidly coupled to the first port via the first conduit”, thereby clearly defining that the claimed invention comprises a single “first conduit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Madden et al (U.S. Pub. 2022/0193323 A1, hereinafter “Madden”).
Regarding claim 1, Madden discloses a valve assembly 200 (see Fig. 3C) for fluid infusion during ophthalmic procedures, comprising:
a first portion 232 (see Fig. 3C), comprising:
a first conduit 236 (see Fig. 3C) having a first port 237 (see Fig. 3C); and
a first cavity 340 (see Fig. 3C) having a first end (top of cavity closer to the first conduit 236) and a second end opposite the first end, the first end fluidly coupled to the first port via the first conduit 236 (see Fig. 3C), the second end having a diameter less than the diameter of the first conduit (see annotated Fig. 3C, below);
a second portion 202 (see Fig. 3C), comprising:
a second conduit having a second port 209 (see Fig. 3C) and a third port 211 (see Fig. 3C); and
a second cavity 354 (see Fig. 3C) in fluid communication with the second port 209 and the third port 211, the second cavity adjacent to the first cavity, wherein two or more through channels couple the second cavity to the second port and the third port (see para [0038] and Fig. 3C, disclosing a base 338 which includes multiple ridges 342 extending from a lower surface thereof that form multiple through channels within the first cavity 340; further, intermediate conduit 360 couples the through channels to both the ports 209 and 211); and
a filter 222 (see Fig. 3C) partitioning the first cavity from the second cavity, the filter comprising a hydrophobic membrane partially defining the second cavity (see para [0033] disclosing that the filter 222 is a hydrophobic membrane; and see Fig. 3C, showing that the filter 222 is disposed between the first cavity 340 of the first portion 232 and the second cavity 354, thus partially defining both cavities).
Madden, Annotated Fig. 3C
Regarding claim 2, Madden discloses the valve assembly of claim 1, wherein the two or more through channels are circular, oval, or polygonal channels (see Madden at para [0041], disclosing that the channels are defined by the ridges 352 extending from an upper surface thereof into the second cavity 354, and the ridges may be annular or semi-annular in shape).
Regarding claim 3, Madden discloses the valve assembly of claim 2, wherein the two or more through channels are configured in a circumferential pattern around a center of a bottom surface of the second cavity (see Madden at Fig. 3C, showing the ridges 352, which form the channels, configured to be in the circumferential pattern around the center of the bottom surface of the second cavity).
Regarding claim 4, Madden discloses the valve assembly of claim 1, wherein the hydrophobic membrane is configured to prevent a flow of liquid from the second cavity into the first cavity while allowing bi-directional flow of gas therebetween (see Madden at para [0025]).
Regarding claim 6, Madden discloses the valve assembly of claim 1, wherein the first cavity further comprises one or more semi-annular or annular ridges 342 disposed therein, the one or more ridges defining one or more channels (see Madden at para [0041] and Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 7, Madden discloses the valve assembly of claim 6, wherein the second cavity further comprises one or more semi-annular or annular ridges disposed therein, the one or more ridges defining one or more channels (see Madden at para [0041] and Fig. 3C).
Regarding claim 8, Madden discloses the valve assembly of claim 7, wherein the one or more ridges of the first cavity and the second cavity comprise at least ten or more semi-annular or annular ridges defining one or more channels (see Madden at Fig. 3B and 3C: the second cavity is shown in Fig. 3B to have three coaxial rows of ridges and eight ridges within each row, for a total of twenty-four ridges, and the first cavity is shown in Fig. 3C to have the same configuration of ridges as the second cavity).
Regarding claim 9, Madden discloses a fluid infusion system for ophthalmic procedures, comprising:
a surgical console 100 (see Fig. 1), comprising:
a first fluid line 114 (see Figs. 1 and 4C) coupled to a gas fluid source 480 (see Fig. 4C); and
a second fluid line 116 (see Figs. 1 and 4C) coupled to a liquid fluid source 470 (see Fig. 4C); and
a valve assembly 200 (see Fig. 3C) fluidly coupled to the first fluid line and the second fluid line 116, the valve assembly comprising:
a first conduit 236 (see Fig. 3C) having a first port 237 (see Fig. 3C) directly coupled to the first fluid line 114 (see Fig. 3C); and
a second conduit having a distal end and a proximal end, wherein the proximal end has a second a second port 209 (see Fig. 3C) directly coupled to the second fluid line 116 (see Fig. 3C) and the distal end has a third port 211 (see Fig. 3C) coupled to a third fluid line 108 (see Fig. 3C); wherein:
the first and second conduit are coupled to an intermediary cavity (combination of cavity portions 340 and 354; see Fig. 3C) and are in fluid communication with each other through two or more channels (formed by the aforementioned ridges 352 and 342);
and the surgical console controls flow rates of fluids through the first fluid line, the second fluid line, the third fluid line (see para [0008]), and the valve assembly (see para [0045]); and
a filter 222 (see Fig. 3C) disposed within the intermediary cavity, the filter partitioning the first conduit from the second conduit (by being disposed between the first cavity portion 340 and the second cavity portion 354).
Regarding claim 10, Madden discloses the fluid infusion system of claim 9, wherein the two or more channels are circular, oval, or polygonal channels (see para [0041], disclosing that the channels are defined by the ridges 352 extending from an upper surface thereof into the second cavity portion 354, and the ridges may be annular or semi-annular in shape).
Regarding claim 11, Madden discloses the fluid infusion system of claim 10, wherein the two or more channels are configured in a circumferential pattern around a center of a bottom surface of the intermediary cavity (see Fig. 3C, showing the ridges 352, which form the channels, configured to be in the circumferential pattern around the center of the bottom surface of the second cavity portion 354).
Regarding claim 12, Madden discloses the fluid infusion system of claim 9, wherein the filter comprises a hydrophobic membrane disposed on a side thereof and configured to prevent the flow of liquid from the second conduit into the first conduit while allowing bi-directional flow of gases therebetween (see para [0025]).
Regarding claim 14, Madden discloses the fluid infusion system of claim 9, wherein the intermediary cavity further comprises one or more semi-annular or annular ridges 342 disposed on a top surface and a bottom surface (annular ridges 352) adjacent to one another, the one or more ridges defining one or more channels (see para [0038]).
Regarding claim 15, Madden discloses the fluid infusion system of claim 14, wherein the one or more ridges comprise at least ten or more semi-annular or annular ridges defining one or more channels (see Fig. 3B and 3C; the second cavity is shown in Fig. 3B to have three coaxial rows of ridges and eight ridges within each row, for a total of twenty-four ridges, and the first cavity is shown in Fig. 3C to have the same configuration of ridges as the second cavity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madden in view of Kent (U.S. Pat. 7,238,224 B2, hereinafter “Kent”).
Regarding claim 5, it is noted that Madden does not appear to disclose the valve assembly of claim 1, wherein the filter is configured to translate upwards in response to a fluid entering the second cavity from the second conduit, and subsequently translate downwards against the fluid in response to a gas entering the first cavity from the first conduit.
Kent discloses a fluid delivery device comprising a fluid-gas separator including a gas-permeable membrane to allow the separation of fluid and gas flowing through the fluid delivery device, and teaches that the membrane may be configured to flex or otherwise move in response to fluid pressure within a cavity where the membrane is located, thereby permitting fluid to flow within the cavity and through the membrane (see col. 4, lines 14-20).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the device of Madden, according to the teaching in Kent, thereby permitting the membrane may be configured to flex or otherwise move in response to fluid pressure within a cavity where the membrane is located, as doing so would have been expected to permit fluid to flow through the cavity and the membrane with a reasonable expectation of success (see Kent at col. 4, lines 14-20). A skilled artisan would have recognized that fluid entering the second cavity from the second conduit would force the filter to flex upward, while gas entering the first cavity from the first conduit would force the filter to flex downward.
Regarding claim 13, it is noted that Madden does not appear to disclose the fluid infusion system of claim 9, wherein the filter is configured to translate upwards in response to a fluid entering the intermediary cavity from the second fluid line via the second conduit, and subsequently translate downwards against the fluid in response to a gas entering the intermediary cavity from the first fluid line via the first conduit.
Kent discloses a fluid delivery device comprising a fluid-gas separator including a gas-permeable membrane to allow the separation of fluid and gas flowing through the fluid delivery device, and teaches that the membrane may be configured to flex or otherwise move in response to fluid pressure within a cavity where the membrane is located, thereby permitting fluid to flow within the cavity and through the membrane (see col. 4, lines 14-20).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the device of Madden, according to the teaching in Kent, thereby permitting the membrane may be configured to flex or otherwise move in response to fluid pressure within a cavity where the membrane is located, as doing so would have been expected to permit fluid to flow through the cavity and the membrane with a reasonable expectation of success (see Kent at col. 4, lines 14-20). A skilled artisan would have recognized that the membrane would flex upwards in response to a fluid entering the intermediary cavity from the second fluid line via the second conduit, and subsequently flex downwards against the fluid in response to a gas entering the intermediary cavity from the first fluid line via the first conduit.
Conclusion
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 09/17/2026