DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the amendments to the claims and the new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US Publication No.: US 2019/0278076 A1 of record, “Chen”) in view of Trisnadi et al (US Publication No.: US 2022/0171190 A1, “Trisnadi”).
Regarding Claim 12, Chen discloses a light projection system (Figures 5-1, 5-2) comprising:
A waveguide comprising an incoupler (Figure 5-1, waveguide 304; Paragraph 0037; Paragraph 0044); and
An optical scanner configured to scan display light along a path at the incoupler of the waveguide (Figure 5-1, laser light source 328, first scan mirror 310; Paragraphs 0036-0037),
Chen fails to explicitly disclose that the path extends along a first dimension and comprising a plurality of points, wherein the scanner display light is incident on each point of the plurality of points along the path from a plurality of angles of incidence, wherein the plurality of angles of incidence for a given point of the plurality of points are offset with respect to one another in a second dimension that is orthogonal to the first dimension.
However, Trisnadi discloses a similar system where the path extends along a first dimension and comprising a plurality of points, wherein the scanner display light is incident on each point of the plurality of points along the path from a plurality of angles of incidence, wherein the plurality of angles of incidence for a given point of the plurality of points are offset with respect to one another in a second dimension that is orthogonal to the first dimension (Trisnadi, Figure 26, display light 1047 are incident on the in-coupler 1402 at a plurality of points along a first dimension at a plurality of angles of incidence in a second dimension; Figure 29; Figure 30A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Chen to have a particular extension path as disclosed by Trisnadi. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of achieving a full-color emissive display and a three-pupil projection system with improved transmission (Trisnadi, Paragraph 0274).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen in view of Trisnadi discloses the light projection system of claim 12, wherein the optical scanner comprises:
A first scan mirror configured to scan display light along a first scanning dimension (Figure 5-1, display light source 328, first scan mirror 310; Paragraphs 0036-0037);
An optical relay configured to receive the display light from the first scan mirror and to relay the display light, wherein an entrance pupil of the optical relay is coincident with the first scan mirror (Figure 5-1, optical relay 308; Paragraph 0038; Paragraph 0040);
A second scan mirror configured to reflect the relayed display light from the optical relay and to scan the relayed display light along a second scanning dimensions that is different than the first scanning dimension (Figure 5-1, second scan mirror 312; Paragraph 0037 discloses a second mirror; Paragraphs 0043-0044 disclose a different second scanning dimension).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen in view of Trisnadi discloses the light projection system of claim 13, wherein the path along which the second scan mirror is configured to scan the relayed display light is substantially non-linear (Figure 5-1 discloses a non-linear path).
Regarding Claim 15, Chen in view of Trisnadi discloses the light projection system of claim 14, wherein the incoupler comprises a curved edge, wherein the second scan mirror is configured to scan the relayed display light along an arc at the curved edge of the incoupler (Figures 5-1, 5-2 discloses a curved edge of incoupler 332; Paragraph 0028).
Regarding Claim 16, Chen in view of Trisnadi discloses the light projection system of claim 15, wherein the second scan mirror is tilted such that a long dimension of the second scan mirror is not parallel with a plane of the waveguide (Figure 5-1 discloses the waveguide 304 is not parallel to second scan mirror 312).
Regarding Claim 17, Chen in view of Trisnadi discloses the light projection system of claim 15, wherein the first scan mirror is tilted such that a central ray of the display light scanned by the first scan mirror is angularly offset from being perpendicular to a long dimension of the second scan mirror (Figure 5-1 discloses an offset).
Regarding Claim 18, Chen in view of Trisnadi discloses the light projection system of claim 12, further comprising: an eyeglasses frame that surrounds at least a portion of the light projection system (Figure 1, eyeglasses 102); and
An eyeglasses lens, wherein the light projection system is configured to output the display light through at least a portion of the eyeglasses lens (Figure 1, eyeglasses lens 104).
Regarding Claim 19, Chen discloses a method comprising:
With a first scan mirror, scanning display light along a first scanning dimension (Figure 5-1, display light source 328, first scan mirror 310; Paragraphs 0036-0037);
With an optical relay, receiving the display light from the first scan mirror and relaying the display light, wherein an entrance pupil plane of the optical relay is coincident with the first scan mirror (Figure 5-1, optical relay 308; Paragraph 0038; Paragraph 0040);
With a second scan mirror, receiving the relayed display light from the optical relay; and with the second scan mirror, scanning the relayed display light along a second scanning dimension that is different than the first scanning dimension along a path at an incoupler of a waveguide (Figure 5-1, second scan mirror 312, waveguide 304; Paragraph 0037 discloses a second mirror; Paragraphs 0043-0044 disclose a different second scanning dimension).
Chen fails to explicitly disclose that the scanned display light is incident on each point of the plurality of points along the path from a plurality of angles of incidence, wherein the plurality of angles of incidence for a given point of the plurality of points are offset with respect to one another in a second dimension that is orthogonal to the first dimension.
However, Trisnadi discloses a similar method where the scanned display light is incident on each point of the plurality of points along the path from a plurality of angles of incidence, wherein the plurality of angles of incidence for a given point of the plurality of points are offset with respect to one another in a second dimension that is orthogonal to the first dimension (Trisnadi, Figure 26, display light 1047 are incident on the in-coupler 1402 at a plurality of points along a first dimension at a plurality of angles of incidence in a second dimension; Figure 29; Figure 30A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Chen to have a particular extension path as disclosed by Trisnadi. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of achieving a full-color emissive display and a three-pupil projection system with improved transmission (Trisnadi, Paragraph 0274).
Regarding Claim 20, Chen in view of Trisnadi discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising:
Receiving, with a first lens, the display light from the first scan mirror (Figure 5-1, 333/334);
Receiving, with a second lens, the display light from the first lens (Figure 5-1, second lens 336; Paragraph 0041);
Relaying, with the second lens, the display light to converge to an exit pupil plane that is coincident with the incoupler after the display light exits the optical relay; and reshaping, with at least one of the first lens and the second lens, a cross-section of the display light (Paragraph 0040 discloses magnifying the display light in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Trisnadi in further view of Wietzorrek (US Publication No.: US 2017/0241912 A1 of record).
Regarding Claim 21, Chen in view of Trisnadi discloses the method of claim 19.
Chen fails to disclose steps of receiving, with a first fold mirror of the optical relay, the display light from the first scan mirror; reflecting, with the first fold mirror, the display light toward a first portion of a first spherical mirror of the optical relay; relaying, with the first portion of the first spherical mirror, the display light toward a second spherical mirror of the optical relay; relaying, with the second spherical mirror, the display light toward a second portion of the first spherical mirror; relaying, with the second portion of the first spherical mirror, the display light toward a second fold mirror of the optical relay; and reflecting, with the second fold mirror, the display light out of the optical relay toward the second scan mirror, wherein relaying the display light by the second portion of the first spherical mirror causes the display light to converge to an exit pupil plane that is coincident with the incoupler after the display light exits the optical relay.
However, Wietzorrek disclose a similar method comprising steps of receiving, with a first fold mirror of the optical relay, the display light from the first scan mirror; reflecting, with the first fold mirror, the display light toward a first portion of a first spherical mirror of the optical relay; relaying, with the first portion of the first spherical mirror, the display light toward a second spherical mirror of the optical relay; relaying, with the second spherical mirror, the display light toward a second portion of the first spherical mirror; relaying, with the second portion of the first spherical mirror, the display light toward a second fold mirror of the optical relay; and reflecting, with the second fold mirror, the display light out of the optical relay toward the second scan mirror, wherein relaying the display light by the second portion of the first spherical mirror causes the display light to converge to an exit pupil plane that is coincident with the incoupler after the display light exits the optical relay (Wietzorrek, Figure 2, first fold mirror 1, first spherical mirror 31, second spherical mirror 32, second fold mirror 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Chen to include fold mirrors as disclosed by Wietzorrek. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving the illumination light within the system (Wietzorrek, Paragraph 0093).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Trisnadi in further view of Waldern et al (US Publication No.: US 2019/0212557 A1 of record, “Waldern”).
Regarding Claim 26, Chen in view of Trisnadi discloses the method of claim 19.
Chen fails to disclose steps of redirecting, with the incoupler, the relayed display light toward a diffraction grating of an exit pupil expander of the waveguide in a first direction that is substantially perpendicular to the path across which the relayed display light is scanned across the incoupler; receiving, with the diffraction grating of the exit pupil expander, the relayed display light from the incoupler; redirecting, with the diffraction grating of the exit pupil expander, the display light toward an outcoupler of the waveguide in a second direction that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction; receiving, with the outcoupler, the display light from the diffraction grating of the exit pupil expander; and redirecting, with the outcoupler, the relayed display light out of the waveguide.
However, Waldern discloses a similar method comprising steps of redirecting, with the incoupler, the relayed display light toward a diffraction grating of an exit pupil expander of the waveguide in a first direction that is substantially perpendicular to the path across which the relayed display light is scanned across the incoupler; receiving, with the diffraction grating of the exit pupil expander, the relayed display light from the incoupler; redirecting, with the diffraction grating of the exit pupil expander, the display light toward an outcoupler of the waveguide in a second direction that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction; receiving, with the outcoupler, the display light from the diffraction grating of the exit pupil expander; and redirecting, with the outcoupler, the relayed display light out of the waveguide (Waldern, Paragraph 0126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as disclosed by Chen to include an exit pupil expander as disclosed by Waldern. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving perceived luminance for the user (Waldern, Paragraph 0126).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 22, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a display projection system comprising a first scan mirror configured to scan display light along a first scanning dimension; an optical relay; a second scan mirror configured to reflect relayed display light and scan it along a second scanning dimension; a waveguide comprising an incoupler, wherein the optical relay comprises a monolithic molded structure that is a molded reflective relay that comprises: a first curved mirror and a second curved mirror configured to receive display light from the first curved mirror and to relay and reflect it out of the optical relay toward the second scan mirror, in combination with the remaining features recited in the claim.
The prior art of Chen (US 2019/0278076 A1) discloses a display projection system comprising a first scan mirror configured to scan display light along a first scanning dimension; an optical relay; a second scan mirror configured to reflect relayed display light and scan it along a second scanning dimension; a waveguide comprising an incoupler, wherein the optical relay comprises a monolithic molded structure (Chen, Figure 5-1). Chen fails to disclose first and second curved mirrors within the monolithic molded reflective relay. The prior art of Ikeda (US 2021/0285870 A1) discloses first and second curved mirrors comprising monolithic molding (Ikeda, Paragraph 0057). However, Ikeda fails to disclose a display projection system. Ikeda also fails to disclose that the first and second curved mirrors receive, relay, and reflect the display light.
Therefore, Claim 22 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 23-25 would be allowable by virtue of their dependence on the allowable claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871