DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 6,
Claim 6 recites “wherein the first lead-out portion has an average length in the third direction shorter than that of the first main portion, and the second lead-out portion has an average length in the third direction shorter than that of the second main portion” which appears to be a typographical error based on the specification (e.g. fig. 9). The examiner believes “wherein the first lead-out portion has an average length in the third direction shorter than that of the first main portion, and the second lead-out portion has an average length in the third direction shorter than that of the second main portion” should read “wherein the first lead-out portion has an average length in the third direction shorter than that of the first main portion, and the second lead-out portion has an average length in the second direction shorter than that of the second main portion”.
In regards to claim 7,
Claim 6 recites “wherein a ratio of an average length of the first lead-out portion in the third direction to an average length of the first main portion in the third direction is 0.05 or more and 0.45 or less, and
a ratio of an average length of the second lead-out portion in the third direction to an average length of the second main portion in the third direction is 0.05 or more and 0.45 or less” which appears to be a typographical error based on the specification (e.g. fig. 9). The examiner believes “wherein a ratio of an average length of the first lead-out portion in the third direction to an average length of the first main portion in the third direction is 0.05 or more and 0.45 or less, and
a ratio of an average length of the second lead-out portion in the third direction to an average length of the second main portion in the third direction is 0.05 or more and 0.45 or less” should read “wherein a ratio of an average length of the first lead-out portion in the third direction to an average length of the first main portion in the third direction is 0.05 or more and 0.45 or less, and
a ratio of an average length of the second lead-out portion in the third direction to an average length of the second main portion in the second direction is 0.05 or more and 0.45 or less”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 17, 21-24, 26, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2014/0160617).
In regards to claim 1, Kim ‘617 discloses
A multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (110 – fig. 3; [0047]) including a stacked portion including a dielectric layer (111 – fig. 3; [0049]) and a first internal electrode (121 – fig. 3; [0049]) and a second internal (122 – fig. 3; [0049]) electrode alternately disposed in a first direction while having the dielectric layer interposed therebetween, first connection electrodes (portions of 131 formed on side surfaces – fig. 5; [0072-0073]) respectively connected to the first internal electrode on two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, second connection electrodes (portions of 132 formed on side surfaces – fig. 5; [0072-0073]) respectively connected to the second internal electrode on two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in a third direction (third direction is the same as the second direction) perpendicular to the first or second direction, and margin portions (140 – fig. 1B; [0080]) respectively disposed on the first connection electrodes and the second connection electrodes;
first external electrodes (portions of 131 formed on main surfaces – fig. 5; [0072-0073]) respectively disposed on the body and connected to the first connection electrodes; and
second external electrodes (portions of 132 formed on main surfaces – fig. 5; [0072-0073]) respectively disposed on the body and connected to the second connection electrodes,
wherein at least one of the first connection electrodes includes a first main portion (portion of 131 on side surfaces connecting the inner electrodes) in contact with at least a portion of the first internal electrode and a first lead-out portion (portion of 131 extending to main surface along the cover layers – fig. 3 & 5) extending from the first main portion in the first direction, and
at least one of the second connection electrodes includes a second main portion (portion of 132 on side surfaces connecting the inner electrodes) in contact with at least a portion of the second internal electrode and a second lead-out portion (portion of 132 extending to main surface along the cover layers – fig. 3 & 5) extending from the second main portion in the first direction.
In regards to claim 4, Kim ‘617 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the first connection electrodes and the second connection electrodes are spaced apart from each other (fig. 5D).
In regards to claim 17, Kim ‘617 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the first lead-out portion is in contact with the first external electrode on only one surface of two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the first direction (fig. 5D), and
the second lead-out portion is in contact with the second external electrode on only one surface of the two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the first direction (fig. 5D).
In regards to claim 21, Kim ‘617 discloses
A multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (110/140 – fig. 3; [0047]) including a plurality of dielectric layers (111 – fig. 3; [0049]) and a plurality of first and second internal electrodes (121-122 – fig. 3; [0049]) alternately stacked in a first direction while having the respective dielectric layers interposed therebetween, opposing ends of each of the first and second internal electrodes being spaced apart from outer surfaces of the body;
first connection electrodes (portions of 131 formed on side surfaces – fig. 5D; [0072-0073]) respectively connected to two ends of the first internal electrodes opposing each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, each of the first connection electrodes being embedded in the body and having a portion exposed to one of the outer surfaces of the body (fig. 1B);
second connection electrodes (portions of 132 formed on side surfaces – fig. 5D; [0072-0073]) respectively connected to two ends of the second internal electrodes opposing each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first or second direction (third direction is the same as the second direction), each of the second connection electrodes being embedded in the body and having a portion exposed to one of the outer surfaces of the body (fig. 1B);
first external electrodes (portions of 131 formed on main surfaces – fig. 5D; [0072-0073]) respectively disposed on the body and connected to the exposed portion of the first connection electrodes; and
second external electrodes (portions of 132 formed on main surfaces – fig. 5D; [0072-0073]) respectively disposed on the body and connected to the exposed portion of the second connection electrodes.
In regards to claim 22, Kim ‘617 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 21, wherein the first connection electrodes facing each other in the second direction and the second connection electrodes facing each other in the third direction are spaced apart from each other (fig. 5D).
In regards to claim 23, Kim ‘617 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 21, wherein one of the first connection electrodes includes a first main portion (portion of 131 on side surfaces connecting the inner electrodes) in contact with at least a portion of the first internal electrodes and a first lead-out portion (portion of 131 extending to main surface along the cover layers – fig. 3 & 5D) extending from the first main portion in the first direction,
one of the second connection electrodes includes a second main portion (portion of 132 on side surfaces connecting the inner electrodes) in contact with at least a portion of the second internal electrodes and a second lead-out portion (portion of 132 extending to main surface along the cover layers – fig. 3 & 5D) extending from the second main portion in the first direction,
the one of the first connection electrodes connects the first internal electrodes to a corresponding one of the first external electrodes, via the first lead-out portion that extends to at least one of two outer surfaces of the body opposing each other in the first direction (fig. 1B & 5D), and
the one of the second connection electrodes connects the second internal electrodes to a corresponding one of the second external electrodes, via the second lead-out portion that extends to at least one of the two outer surfaces of the body opposing each other in the first direction (fig. 1B & 5D).
In regards to claim 24, Kim ‘617 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 23, wherein a portion of the first connection electrode protrudes outwardly from the first main portion in the second direction to be connected to one of the first external electrodes (fig. 1B).
In regards to claim 26, Kim ‘617 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 23, wherein the first lead-out portion is in contact with one of the first external electrodes on only one surface of two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the first direction (fig. 5C), and
the second lead-out portion is in contact with one of the second external electrodes on only one surface of the two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the first direction (fig. 5C).
In regards to claim 27, Kim ‘617 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 23, wherein a position of the first lead-out portion of the first connection electrode is substantially at an axis extending in the first direction and passing through a center of the first connection electrode (fig. 5D), and
a position of the second lead-out portion of the second connection electrode is substantially at an axis extending in the first direction and passing through a center of the second connection electrode (fig. 5D).
In regards to claim 28, Kim ‘617 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 21, further comprising: first margin potions (140 – fig. 1B) respectively disposed between the first connection electrodes and adjacent outer surfaces of the body in the second direction; and
second margin potions (fig. 1B) respectively disposed between the second connection electrodes and adjacent outer surfaces of the body in the third direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘617 in view of Kim et al. (US 2014/0185189).
In regards to claim 13,
Kim ‘617 fails to disclose wherein a maximum size of the multilayer electronic component in the first direction is 110 μm or less.
Kim ‘189 discloses wherein a maximum size of the multilayer electronic component in the first direction is 110 μm or less ([0022] & table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the component of Kim ‘617 to have a thickness as taught by Kim ‘189 to obtain a component with a small size. Furthermore, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-11, & 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2001028318A hereafter referred to as Kuroda in view of Cho et al. (US 2018/0190433).
In regards to claim 1,
Kuroda disclose a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (2 – fig. 1; [0030]) including a stacked portion including a dielectric layer (9 – fig. 2; [0030]) and a first internal electrode (10 – fig. 2; [0030]) and a second internal electrode (11 – fig. 2; [0030]) alternately disposed in a first direction while having the dielectric layer interposed therebetween;
first external electrodes (12 & 13 – fig. 1-2; [0034]) respectively disposed on the body and connected to the first internal electrodes; and
second external electrodes (14 & 15 – fig. 1-2; [0034]) respectively disposed on the body and connected to the second internal electrodes. Kuroda fails to disclose first connection electrodes respectively connected to the first internal electrode on two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, second connection electrodes respectively connected to the second internal electrode on two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first or second direction, and margin portions respectively disposed on the first connection electrodes and the second connection electrodes; the first external electrodes connected to the first connection electrodes; and the second external electrodes connected to the second connection electrodes, wherein at least one of the first connection electrodes includes a first main portion in contact with at least a portion of the first internal electrode and a first lead-out portion extending from the first main portion in the first direction, and at least one of the second connection electrodes includes a second main portion in contact with at least a portion of the second internal electrode and a second lead-out portion extending from the second main portion in the first direction.
Cho ‘433 discloses forming a first connection electrode (120 – fig. 2-3; [0035]) respectively connected to the first internal electrode (111 – fig. 3; [0035]), second connection electrode (120 – fig. 2-3; [0035]) respectively connected to the second internal electrode (112 – fig. 3; [0035]), and margin portions (130 – fig. 2-3; [0035]) respectively disposed on the first connection electrode and the second connection electrode; the first external electrode (140 – fig. 3; [0035]) connected to the first connection electrode; and the second external electrode (150 – fig. 3; [0035]) connected to the second connection electrode, wherein the first connection electrode includes a first main portion (portion attached the internal electrodes) in contact with at least a portion of the first internal electrode and a first lead-out portion (portion extending above and/or below the internal electrodes to the principal surfaces) extending from the first main portion in the first direction, and the second connection electrode includes a second main portion (portion attached the internal electrodes) in contact with at least a portion of the second internal electrode and a second lead-out portion (portion extending above and/or below the internal electrodes to the principal surfaces) extending from the second main portion in the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the external electrodes of Kuroda to have a structure including the connection electrodes and margins as taught by Cho ‘433 thus obtaining first connection electrodes respectively connected to the first internal electrode on two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, second connection electrodes respectively connected to the second internal electrode on two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first or second direction, and margin portions respectively disposed on the first connection electrodes and the second connection electrodes; the first external electrodes connected to the first connection electrodes; and the second external electrodes connected to the second connection electrodes, wherein at least one of the first connection electrodes includes a first main portion in contact with at least a portion of the first internal electrode and a first lead-out portion extending from the first main portion in the first direction, and at least one of the second connection electrodes includes a second main portion in contact with at least a portion of the second internal electrode and a second lead-out portion extending from the second main portion in the first direction to obtain a capacitor wherein the thicknesses of external electrodes may be reduced and sealing characteristics and moisture resistance reliability of the external electrodes may be improved.
In regards to claim 2,
Kuroda as modified by Cho ‘433 further discloses wherein the first connection electrodes cover both ends of the first internal electrode in the second direction (fig. 2-3 of Cho ‘433), and
the second connection electrodes cover both ends of the second internal electrode in the third direction (fig. 2-3 of Cho ‘433).
In regards to claim 3,
Kuroda as modified by Cho ‘433 further discloses wherein the first internal electrode is exposed to the two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in the second direction, the second internal electrode is exposed to the two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in the third direction (fig. 2 of Kuroda), and
the first connection electrodes cover all the exposed ends of the first internal electrode, and the second connection electrodes cover all the exposed ends of the second internal electrode (fig. 2-3 of Cho ‘433).
In regards to claim 4,
Kuroda as modified by Cho ‘433 further discloses wherein the first connection electrodes and the second connection electrodes are spaced apart from each other (fig. 1-2 of Kuroda and fig. 2-3 of Cho ‘433).
In regards to claim 9,
Kuroda as modified by Cho ‘433 further discloses wherein the first lead-out portion is in contact with the first external electrode on one or more surfaces of two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the first direction (fig. 2-3 of Cho ‘433), and
the second lead-out portion is in contact with the second external electrode on one or more surfaces of the two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the first direction (fig. 2-3 of Cho ‘433).
In regards to claim 10,
Kuroda as modified by Cho ‘433 further discloses wherein the first external electrode includes a 1-1-th external electrode (portion 12 & 13 formed on upper principal surface) disposed on one surface of two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the second direction and connected to the first connection electrode, and a 1-2-th external electrode (portion 12 & 13 formed on lower principal surface) disposed on the other surface of the two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the second direction and connected to the first connection electrode (fig. 1-2 of Kuroda),
the second external electrode includes a 2-1-th external electrode (portion 14 & 15 formed on upper principal surface) disposed on one surface of two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the third direction and connected to the second connection electrode, and a 2-2-th external electrode (portion 14 & 15 formed on lower principal surface) disposed on the other surface of the two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the third direction and connected to the second connection electrode (fig. 1-2 of Kuroda), and
the 1-1-th external electrode, the 1-2-th external electrode, the 2-1-th external electrode, and the 2-2-th external electrode are spaced apart from one another (fig. 1-2 of Kuroda upper and lower portions of 12-15 are spaced apart by body).
In regards to claim 11,
Kuroda as modified by Cho ‘433 further discloses wherein a separation distance between the 1-1-th external electrode, the 1-2-th external electrode, the 2-1-th external electrode, and the 2-2-th external electrode is 10 μm or more ([0038]).
In regards to claim 29,
Kuroda disclose a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (2 – fig. 1; [0030]) including a dielectric layer (9 – fig. 2; [0030]) and first and second internal electrodes (10 & 11 – fig. 2; [0030]) alternately disposed in a first direction while having the dielectric layer interposed therebetween;
a pair of first external electrodes (12 & 13 – fig. 1-2; [0034]) disposed on the body and connected to the first internal electrode through the pair of first connection electrodes, respectively; and
a pair of second external electrodes (14 & 15 – fig. 1-2; [0034]) disposed on the body and connected to the second internal electrode through the pair of second connection electrodes, respectively. Kuroda fails to disclose a pair of first connection electrodes extending in the first direction and connected to opposing ends of the first internal electrode, respectively, in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; a pair of second connection electrodes extending in the first direction and connected to opposing ends of the second internal electrode, respectively, in a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions; wherein shapes of the pair of first connection electrodes are symmetric to each other about a center of the body, and shapes of the pair of second connection electrodes are symmetric to each other about the center of the body.
Cho ‘433 discloses forming a first connection electrode (120 – fig. 2-3; [0035]) extending in the first direction and connected to the first internal electrode; a second connection electrode (120 – fig. 2-3; [0035]) extending in the first direction and connected to the second internal electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the external electrodes of Kuroda to have a structure including the connection electrodes as taught by Cho ‘433 thus obtaining a pair of first connection electrodes extending in the first direction and connected to opposing ends of the first internal electrode, respectively, in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; a pair of second connection electrodes extending in the first direction and connected to opposing ends of the second internal electrode, respectively, in a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions; wherein shapes of the pair of first connection electrodes are symmetric to each other about a center of the body, and shapes of the pair of second connection electrodes are symmetric to each other about the center of the body to obtain a capacitor wherein the thicknesses of external electrodes may be reduced and sealing characteristics and moisture resistance reliability of the external electrodes may be improved.
In regards to claim 30,
Kuroda as modified by Cho ‘433 further discloses further comprising: first margin potions (130 – fig. 2-3; [0035] of Cho ‘433) respectively disposed between the first connection electrodes and adjacent outer surfaces of the body in the second direction; and
second margin potions (130 – fig. 2-3; [0035] of Cho ‘433) respectively disposed between the second connection electrodes and adjacent outer surfaces of the body in the third direction.
In regards to claim 31,
Kuroda as modified by Cho ‘433 further discloses wherein one of the first connection electrodes includes a first main portion in contact with at least a portion of the first internal electrode and a first lead-out portion extending from the first main portion in the first direction (fig. 2-3 of Cho ‘433 – wherein the portion of 120 connected to the internal electrodes is the main portion and the portion extending to the principal surfaces is considered to the lead-out portion),
one of the second connection electrodes includes a second main portion in contact with at least a portion of the second internal electrode and a second lead-out portion extending from the second main portion in the first direction (fig. 2-3 of Cho ‘433 – wherein the portion of 120 connected to the internal electrodes is the main portion and the portion extending to the principal surfaces is considered to the lead-out portion), and
each of the first and second lead-out portions extends to at least one of two surfaces of the body opposing each other in the first direction (fig. 2-3 of Cho ‘433).
In regards to claim 32,
Kuroda as modified by Cho ‘433 further discloses wherein the pair of first external electrodes are respectively disposed on side surfaces of the body and each have a bent portion disposed on the at least one of the two surfaces of the body opposing each other in the first direction (fig. 1-2 of Kuroda and fig. 3 of Cho ‘433),
the pair of second external electrodes are respectively disposed on side surfaces of the body and each have a bent portion disposed on the at least one of the two surfaces of the body opposing each other in the first direction (fig. 1-2 of Kuroda and fig. 3 of Cho ‘433),
the bent portion of one of the first external electrodes is in direct contact with the first lead-out portion of the one of the first connection electrodes (fig. 3 of Cho ‘433), and
the bent portion of one of the second external electrodes is in direct contact with the second lead-out portion of the one of the second connection electrodes (fig. 3 of Cho ‘433).
Claim(s) 1,8, 10-12, 17-18, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2013/0250476) in view of Kurosu et al. (US 2021/0020377).
In regards to claim 1,
Chung ‘476 discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (10 – fig. 1-2; [0044]) including a stacked portion including a dielectric layer (11-15 – fig. 7) and a first internal electrode (32 – fig. 7; [0042]) and a second internal electrode (33 – fig. 7; [0042]) alternately disposed in a first direction while having the dielectric layer interposed therebetween;
first external electrodes (21-22 – fig. 1; [0042]) respectively disposed on the body and connected to the first internal electrodes; and
second external electrodes (23-24 – fig. 1-2; [0042]) respectively disposed on the body and connected to the second internal electrodes. Chung ‘476 fails to disclose first connection electrodes respectively connected to the first internal electrode on two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, second connection electrodes respectively connected to the second internal electrode on two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first or second direction, and margin portions respectively disposed on the first connection electrodes and the second connection electrodes; the first external electrodes connected to the first connection electrodes; and the second external electrodes connected to the second connection electrodes, wherein at least one of the first connection electrodes includes a first main portion in contact with at least a portion of the first internal electrode and a first lead-out portion extending from the first main portion in the first direction, and at least one of the second connection electrodes includes a second main portion in contact with at least a portion of the second internal electrode and a second lead-out portion extending from the second main portion in the first direction.
Kurosu ‘377 discloses forming a first connection electrode (5 – fig. 1-2; [0037]) respectively connected to the first internal electrode (2 – fig. 1-2; [0037]), second connection electrode (5 – fig. 1-2; [0037]) respectively connected to the second internal electrode (112 – fig. 3; [0035]), and margin portions (3 – fig. 1-2; [0037]) respectively disposed on the first connection electrode and the second connection electrode; the first external electrode (8 – fig. 1-2; [0039]) connected to the first connection electrode; and the second external electrode (8 – fig. 1-2; [0039]) connected to the second connection electrode, wherein the first connection electrode includes a first main portion (portion attached the internal electrodes) in contact with at least a portion of the first internal electrode and a first lead-out portion (portion extending above and/or below the internal electrodes to the principal surfaces) extending from the first main portion in the first direction, and the second connection electrode includes a second main portion (portion attached the internal electrodes) in contact with at least a portion of the second internal electrode and a second lead-out portion (portion extending above and/or below the internal electrodes to the principal surfaces) extending from the second main portion in the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the external electrodes of Chung ‘476 to have a structure including the connection electrodes and margins as taught by Kurosu ‘377 thus obtaining first connection electrodes respectively connected to the first internal electrode on two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, second connection electrodes respectively connected to the second internal electrode on two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first or second direction, and margin portions respectively disposed on the first connection electrodes and the second connection electrodes; the first external electrodes connected to the first connection electrodes; and the second external electrodes connected to the second connection electrodes, wherein at least one of the first connection electrodes includes a first main portion in contact with at least a portion of the first internal electrode and a first lead-out portion extending from the first main portion in the first direction, and at least one of the second connection electrodes includes a second main portion in contact with at least a portion of the second internal electrode and a second lead-out portion extending from the second main portion in the first direction to obtain a capacitor wherein the thicknesses of external electrodes may be reduced and sealing characteristics and moisture resistance reliability of the external electrodes may be improved.
In regards to claim 8,
Chung ‘476 as modified by Kurosu ‘377 further discloses wherein a ratio of an average thickness of the first connection electrode to an average thickness of the margin portion is 0.03 or more and 0.50 or less ([0041] & [0045] of Kurosu ‘377), and
a ratio of an average thickness of the second connection electrode to an average thickness of the margin portion is 0.03 or more and 0.50 or less ([0041] & [0045] of Kurosu ‘377).
In regards to claim 10,
Chung ‘476 as modified by Kurosu ‘377 further discloses wherein the first external electrode includes a 1-1-th external electrode disposed on one surface of two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the second direction and connected to the first connection electrode, and a 1-2-th external electrode disposed on the other surface of the two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the second direction and connected to the first connection electrode ([0053] of Kurosu ‘377),
the second external electrode includes a 2-1-th external electrode disposed on one surface of two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the third direction and connected to the second connection electrode, and a 2-2-th external electrode disposed on the other surface of the two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the third direction and connected to the second connection electrode ([0053] of Kurosu ‘377), and
the 1-1-th external electrode, the 1-2-th external electrode, the 2-1-th external electrode, and the 2-2-th external electrode are spaced apart from one another (fig. 1; [0053] of Kurosu ‘377).
In regards to claim 11,
Chung ‘476 as modified by Kurosu ‘377 further discloses wherein a separation distance between the 1-1-th external electrode, the 1-2-th external electrode, the 2-1-th external electrode, and the 2-2-th external electrode is 10 μm or more ([0036] of Kurosu ‘377 – noting the spacing is the thickness of the body which is greater than 10 μm).
In regards to claim 12,
Chung ‘476 as modified by Kurosu ‘377 further discloses wherein the margin portions include a first margin portion disposed on the first connection electrodes, and a second margin portion disposed on the second connection electrodes and covering an end of the first margin portion in the third direction (fig. 1 of Chung ‘476 & fig. 1 of Kurosu ‘377 – noting that the margin 7 would be formed over the second connection electrodes and is formed to overlap with the margin 6).
In regards to claim 17,
Chung ‘476 as modified by Kurosu ‘377 further discloses wherein the first lead-out portion is in contact with the first external electrode on only one surface of two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the first direction (fig. 1 of Kurosu ‘377), and
the second lead-out portion is in contact with the second external electrode on only one surface of the two surfaces of the body that oppose each other in the first direction (fig. 1 of Kurosu ‘377).
In regards to claim 18,
Chung ‘476 as modified by Kurosu ‘377 further discloses wherein the first external electrode is a plating layer (10-11 – fig. 2; [0050] of Kurosu ‘377) covering an end of the first lead-out portion in the first direction, and
the second external electrode is a plating layer (10-11 – fig. 2; [0050] of Kurosu ‘377) covering an end of the second lead-out portion in the first direction.
In regards to claim 20,
Chung ‘476 as modified by Kurosu ‘377 further discloses wherein the first internal electrode is provided in plural and a plurality of first internal electrodes have substantially the same width as each other in the second direction, and the second internal electrode includes a capacitance portion overlapping the first internal electrode in the first direction, and a lead-out portion extending from the capacitance portion in the third direction and having an average width smaller than that of the capacitance portion (fig. 7 of Chung ‘476).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5, 14-16, 19, & 25 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein a position of the first lead-out portion of the first connection electrode disposed on one surface of the two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in the second direction is biased to one side of the first connection electrode in the third direction, based on a center of the first connection electrode in the third direction, a position of the first lead-out portion of the first connection electrode disposed on the other surface of the two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in the second direction is biased to the other side of the first connection electrode opposite to the one side of the first connection electrode in the third direction, based on the center of the first connection electrode in the third direction, a position of the second lead-out portion of the second connection electrode disposed on one surface of the two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in the third direction is biased to one side of the second connection electrode in the second direction, based on a center of the second connection electrode in the second direction, and a position of the second lead-out portion of the second connection electrode disposed on the other surface of the two surfaces of the stacked portion that oppose each other in the third direction is biased to the other side of the second connection electrode opposite to the one side of the second connection electrode in the second direction, based on the center of the second connection electrode in the second direction (claim 7), wherein the first lead-out portion extends in the second direction to pass through the margin portion, and the second lead-out portion extends in the third direction to pass through the margin portion (claims 14-16), wherein the first lead-out portion is disposed between 1/3 and 2/3 points of the first main portion in the third direction, and the second lead-out portion is disposed between 1/3 and 2/3 points of the second main portion in the second direction (claim 19), & wherein a position of the first lead-out portion of the first connection electrode is biased to one side of the first connection electrode in the third direction, based on a center of the first connection electrode in the third direction, and a position of the second lead-out portion of the second connection electrode is biased to one side of the second connection electrode in the second direction, based on a center of the second connection electrode in the second direction (claim 25).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2017/0186552 – fig. 5-7 JP2014187289A – fig. 1-2
US 12469645 – fig. 11-14 US 2015/0131195 – fig. 1
US 2014/0104750 – fig. 5 US 2015/0022945 – fig. 1-2
US 2020/0194182 – fig. 1-2 US 2018/0019064 – fig. 1
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847