Status of Claims
In the amendment filed on August 26th, 2026, claims 1, 3, 4, 15, 16, 17, 18 and 20 have been amended, no claim has been cancelled and no new claim has been added. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20150131857 A1) in view of Shrivastava et al. (KR 20190004308 A) and Truong (US 20150175172 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Han teaches a method for automated operation of a vehicle responsive to collected sensor data, the method comprising: receiving image data from an optical sensor within the vehicle while a person is in the vehicle (Paragraphs 8, 13)
In accordance with one aspect of the present invention, a vehicle may include an image capturing unit (e.g., imaging device, camera, etc.) mounted within the vehicle and configured to capture a gesture image of a gesture area including a driver gesture or a passenger gesture, an image analysis unit configured to detect an object of interest in the gesture image captured by the image capturing unit and determine whether the object of interest is related to the driver, and a controller configured to recognize a gesture expressed by the object of interest and generate a control signal that corresponds to the gesture when the object of interest is related to the driver.[P-8]
In accordance with another aspect of the present invention, a method for controlling a vehicle may include capturing, by an imaging device, a gesture image of a gesture area including a driver gesture or a passenger gesture, detecting, by a controller, an object of interest in the captured gesture image of the gesture area, determining, by the controller, whether the object of interest belongs to the driver, and recognizing, by the controller, a gesture expressed by the object of interest and generating, by the controller, a control signal that corresponds to the gesture when the object of interest belongs to the driver.[P-13]
Han teaches analyzing the image data in comparison to stored gesture data to recognize a gesture of the person, wherein the stored gesture data identifies a plurality of gestures that respectively correspond to a plurality of actions, wherein the plurality of gestures includes the gesture (Paragraphs 12, 66, 69)
The vehicle may further include a memory configured to store specific gestures and specific operations in a mapping mode. The controller may be configured to search the memory for a specific gesture that corresponds to the gesture expressed by the object of interest, and generate a control signal to execute a specific operation mapped to a detected specific gesture. The memory may be executed by the controller to store a specific gesture and an operation to change gesture recognition authority in a mapping mode. The controller may be configured to generate a control signal to change the gesture recognition authority when the gesture expressed by the object of interest corresponds to the specific gesture. The changing of the gesture recognition authority may include extending a holder of the gesture recognition authority to the passenger, and restricting the holder of the gesture recognition authority to the driver.[P-12]
The controller 131 may be configured to recognize a gesture expressed by the object of interest, using at least one of known gesture recognition technologies. For example, when a motion expressed by the hand of the driver is recognized, a motion pattern that indicates a motion of the hand may be detected from the gesture image, and whether the detected motion pattern corresponds to a motion pattern stored in the memory 132 may be determined. To determine the correspondence between the two patterns, the controller 131 may use one of various algorithms such as Dynamic Time Warping (DTW) and Hidden Markov Model (HMM). The memory 132 may be configured to store specific gestures and events that correspond to the gestures, in a mapping mode. Accordingly, the controller 131 may be configured to search the memory 132 for a specific gesture that corresponds to the gesture recognized in the gesture image, and generate a control signal to execute an event that corresponds to a detected specific gesture. A detailed description is now given of operation of the controller 131 with reference to FIGS. 10 and 11.[P-66]
Various types of gestures mapped to different operations of the AVN device 140 may be stored in the memory 132. For example, gesture 1 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the audio function, gesture 2 may be mapped to (e.g., may correspond to) an operation to turn on the video function, and gesture 3 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the navigation function. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 1, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the audio function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 2 or gesture 3, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the video function or the navigation function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140 [P-69]
Here, we see that various types of gestures stored in the memory of the vehicle. Although Han fails to teach the comparison to stored gesture data to recognize the gesture of the person, by mapping the recorded image gesture to stored gestures within the memory of the vehicle to find a match would obviously require a comparison means of the image in order to find a mapping match between the gestures.
Han then teaches identifying, based on the stored gesture data, an action that corresponds to the gesture, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically causing the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture (Paragraph 69).
Various types of gestures mapped to different operations of the AVN device 140 may be stored in the memory 132. For example, gesture 1 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the audio function, gesture 2 may be mapped to (e.g., may correspond to) an operation to turn on the video function, and gesture 3 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the navigation function. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 1, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the audio function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 2 or gesture 3, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the video function or the navigation function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140 [P-69]
Han fails to teach receiving acoustic data from a microphone that is associated with the vehicle, the acoustic data recorded while the person is in the vehicle; analyzing the acoustic data in comparison to stored acoustic event data to recognize an acoustic event; identifying, based on the stored gesture data and the stored acoustic event data, an action that corresponds to the gesture and the acoustic event, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically causing the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture and the acoustic event.
Shrivastava on the other hand teaches receiving acoustic data from a microphone that is associated with the vehicle, the acoustic data recorded while the person is in the vehicle; analyzing the acoustic data in comparison to stored acoustic event data to recognize an acoustic event (Page 3, Paragraph 2; Page 11, Paragraph 4; Page 14, Paragraph 2; Claim 23)
In general, voice and / or gesture control may be used to implement any type of command for an optically switchable device. For example, the voice and / or gesture control may include a coloring command (e.g., "change window 1 to color 4" or "darken window 1") for a single optically switchable device, or optically (E.g., " Change Zone 1's Window To Hue 4 " or " Make Darker Zone 1 " or " Darken Zone 1 More Darkly " Etc.). The instructions may be stored in a discrete optical state (e.g., a discrete hue level or other discrete optical state) in which the associated optically switchable device (s) is to be changed or a relative change in the optical state of the optically switchable device For example, let me brighten the darker, lighter, more reflexive, less reflective, or, for example, my office is too dark "or" I want to operate the projector "(which tells the system to darken the room) or &Quot; this is too hot " (telling the system to darken the window and block heat gain), etc.). If a relative change is used, the control system may be designed or configured to implement a step change (e.g., 10% darker or brighter) in the optical state of the optically switchable device to perform the command. The degree of each step change can be predefined. Alternatively or additionally, the control system may be designed or configured to implement a step change in size or degree specified by the user. These commands may be modified by any of the comparison words used in the command (e.g., "very" or "slightly" or "brighter" or "darker").[Pg 3, P-2]
At operation 1039, it is determined if the user is authorized to issue an instruction. This can be done by the authentication module 906 of FIG. In this case, the authentication process includes voice recognition. The system may analyze the recorded voice command given by the user at operation 1031 and compare it to a previous record from this user and another user. This process allows the system to identify the person who made the command in action (1031). The authentication process may also include verifying that the identified user is authorized to change the window in which he or she requested the change. In this example, the control system checks whether the user is authorized to change the window of his or her office using a database associating each user with each window for which the user has authority to change. The user in this example works on the 10th floor and has the right to switch all windows on the 10th floor. Thus, the method continues with operation 1041 (e.g., via command execution module 908 of FIG. 1) where the command is executed, and all windows in the user's office begin to switch to color 4. If the user has made an unauthorized command (for example, the user has only the right to switch the window on the tenth floor where the user's office is located, the user visits a colleague on the ninth floor, The method may continue with operation 1040 where nothing happens or the command system indicates that the user is not authorized to do the requested command. The system may or may not explain why the user is not authorized to do the requested command, and / or may describe a window that the user is authorized to change.[Pg 11, P-4]
Figure 4 more specifically illustrates an exemplary implementation of an IGU 100 that includes a first pane 104 having a first surface S1 and a second surface S2. In some embodiments, the first surface S1 of the first pane 104 faces an external environment, such as an outdoor or outdoor environment. The IGU 100 also includes a second pane 106 having a first surface S3 and a second surface S4. In some embodiments, the second surface S4 of the second pane 106 faces the interior of a home, building or vehicle, or an interior environment such as a room or compartment in a home, building or vehicle.[Pg 14, P-2]
The method according to any one of claims 1 to 22,
(c) comprises using two or more dictionaries to analyze the text instruction, wherein the third dictionary is used when analyzing the first part of the text instruction and the fourth dictionary is used when analyzing the second part of the text instruction Wherein the optical state of the optically switchable device is used.
A system for controlling an optical state of an optically switchable device in response to a voice command or a gesture command from a user, the system comprising:
(a) at least one element selected from the group consisting of a microphone, a video camera and a motion sensor;
(b) a controller communicatively coupled to the optically switchable device and configured to control an optical state of the optically switchable device;
(c) a voice recognition module configured to (i) convert the voice command into a text command, or (ii) a gesture recognition module configured to convert the gesture command into a text command, wherein the voice command is recognized by the microphone and / A gesture recognition module, or a voice recognition module, which is recognized by the video camera and / or the motion sensor;
(d) a command processing module configured to interpret a text command generated by the speech recognition module or the gesture recognition module; And
(e) an instruction execution module configured to execute the interpreted text instruction from the instruction processing module. [Cl-23]
Here, we see Shrivastava teach receiving acoustic data from a microphone that is associated with the vehicle, the acoustic data recorded while the person is in the vehicle; analyzing the acoustic data in comparison to stored acoustic event data to recognize an acoustic event, i.e. receiving voice command data from a microphone that is associated with the vehicle, the voice command data recorded while the person is interior of the vehicle; analyzing the voice command data in comparison to stored voice command event data to recognize a command event, such as changing the hue or color of a window.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the invention to combine Shrivastava’s teaching with Han’s teaching in order to better improve gesture and physiological specific recognition and control of a vehicle accordingly.
Han modified fails to teach based on the stored gesture data and the stored acoustic event data, an action that corresponds to the gesture and the acoustic event, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically causing the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture and the acoustic event
Truong on the other hand teaches based on the stored gesture data and the stored acoustic event data, an action that corresponds to the gesture and the acoustic event, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically causing the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture and the acoustic event (Paragraphs 17, 38, Claim 1)
Control and display system 50 may include a camera or other gesture input detector 60 configured to detect movements of a driver and/or a passenger. Similarly, control and display systems 38, 48 may include cameras or other gesture input detectors 39, 49, respectively, to detect movements of passengers in rear seats 30, 40, as explained in more detail below. Although a camera 60, 39, 49, is shown associated with each control and display system 50, 38, 48, the present disclosure is not limited to such an embodiment. Instead, any manner in which the gestures of the driver and passengers may be detected and used as described in detail below may be used. For example, and not by way of limitation, several cameras located in the interior of vehicle V may track movements of the entire vehicle interior. Such a group of cameras can detect location, orientation, and movements of each of the passengers, including such details as movements of the passengers' hands and fingers. Cameras used in the present embodiment may be motion capture cameras used for optical detection. However, those skilled in the art would understand that other types of camera or detection systems may be used, such as, but not limited to, infra-red, RFID, and electromagnetic. As would be understood by those skilled in the art, systems such as those used for motion detection and processing in games such a XBOX Kinect.TM. or similar systems may be used.[Cl-17]
Accordingly, the haptic feedback described above can be used confirm or describe actions that are being taken based on the gesture based input. In one example, summarized in Table 2 below and described with respect to a system such as the system shown in FIG. 5, a driver of a vehicle V makes gestures that are monitored by camera 60 and gives voice commands that are received by microphone 64. Although the example below is described with respect to a driver making gestures and giving voice commands, and particular haptic effects described below, those skilled in the art will recognize that similar gestures and voice commands may be made by passengers in the vehicle, that such gestures and voice commands may be detected by camera 60/microphone 64 or other cameras/microphones, and that the haptic effect may be provided to the user making the gesture/giving the voice command. Of course, those skilled in the art will also recognize that in some embodiments, only the driver of the vehicle senses haptic feedback, while the passengers may receive other types of feedback, such as audio or visual, because the passengers do not need to keep their eyes on the road. However, haptic effects may be desirable for passengers to enhance their experience when interacting with entertainment systems in the vehicle, such as gaming systems or video systems.[P-38]
A system for controlling one or more of a plurality of vehicle systems comprising: a haptic actuator configured to provide haptic feedback to a vehicle driver or passenger; a gesture detection device disposed in an interior of the vehicle, wherein the gesture detection device is configured to capture movements of the vehicle driver or passenger and output data representing a gesture made by the vehicle driver or passenger; and a controller coupled to the gesture detection device and configured to receive a signal from the gesture detection device indicative of the gesture, wherein the controller is coupled to a haptic effect feedback system and the plurality of vehicle systems, wherein based on the signal indicative of the gesture, the controller is configured to send a signal to select a haptic effect from an effect table and configured to send a signal to the haptic actuator to provide the selected haptic effect, and wherein based on the signal indicative of the gesture, the controller is further configured to send a signal to at least one of the plurality of vehicle systems to perform a particular action, wherein the particular action of the vehicle system is matched with the selected haptic effect.[Cl-1]
Here, we see Truong teach based on the stored gesture data and the stored acoustic event data, an action that corresponds to the gesture and the acoustic event, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically causing the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture and the acoustic event
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the invention to combine Truong’s teaching with Han modified’s teaching in order to better improve gesture and physiological specific recognition and control of a vehicle accordingly.
In regards to claim 3, Han modified via Truong teaches wherein the acoustic event corresponds to at least one of a noise associated with at least one component of the vehicle, a voice associated with the person, or a command(Paragraphs 17, 38, Claim 1)
Control and display system 50 may include a camera or other gesture input detector 60 configured to detect movements of a driver and/or a passenger. Similarly, control and display systems 38, 48 may include cameras or other gesture input detectors 39, 49, respectively, to detect movements of passengers in rear seats 30, 40, as explained in more detail below. Although a camera 60, 39, 49, is shown associated with each control and display system 50, 38, 48, the present disclosure is not limited to such an embodiment. Instead, any manner in which the gestures of the driver and passengers may be detected and used as described in detail below may be used. For example, and not by way of limitation, several cameras located in the interior of vehicle V may track movements of the entire vehicle interior. Such a group of cameras can detect location, orientation, and movements of each of the passengers, including such details as movements of the passengers' hands and fingers. Cameras used in the present embodiment may be motion capture cameras used for optical detection. However, those skilled in the art would understand that other types of camera or detection systems may be used, such as, but not limited to, infra-red, RFID, and electromagnetic. As would be understood by those skilled in the art, systems such as those used for motion detection and processing in games such a XBOX Kinect.TM. or similar systems may be used.[Cl-17]
Accordingly, the haptic feedback described above can be used confirm or describe actions that are being taken based on the gesture based input. In one example, summarized in Table 2 below and described with respect to a system such as the system shown in FIG. 5, a driver of a vehicle V makes gestures that are monitored by camera 60 and gives voice commands that are received by microphone 64. Although the example below is described with respect to a driver making gestures and giving voice commands, and particular haptic effects described below, those skilled in the art will recognize that similar gestures and voice commands may be made by passengers in the vehicle, that such gestures and voice commands may be detected by camera 60/microphone 64 or other cameras/microphones, and that the haptic effect may be provided to the user making the gesture/giving the voice command. Of course, those skilled in the art will also recognize that in some embodiments, only the driver of the vehicle senses haptic feedback, while the passengers may receive other types of feedback, such as audio or visual, because the passengers do not need to keep their eyes on the road. However, haptic effects may be desirable for passengers to enhance their experience when interacting with entertainment systems in the vehicle, such as gaming systems or video systems.[P-38]
A system for controlling one or more of a plurality of vehicle systems comprising: a haptic actuator configured to provide haptic feedback to a vehicle driver or passenger; a gesture detection device disposed in an interior of the vehicle, wherein the gesture detection device is configured to capture movements of the vehicle driver or passenger and output data representing a gesture made by the vehicle driver or passenger; and a controller coupled to the gesture detection device and configured to receive a signal from the gesture detection device indicative of the gesture, wherein the controller is coupled to a haptic effect feedback system and the plurality of vehicle systems, wherein based on the signal indicative of the gesture, the controller is configured to send a signal to select a haptic effect from an effect table and configured to send a signal to the haptic actuator to provide the selected haptic effect, and wherein based on the signal indicative of the gesture, the controller is further configured to send a signal to at least one of the plurality of vehicle systems to perform a particular action, wherein the particular action of the vehicle system is matched with the selected haptic effect.[Cl-1]
In regards to claim 6, Han teaches causing the action to be performed includes causing the vehicle to automatically control at least an aspect of the vehicle to modify navigation of the vehicle (Paragraphs 46, 69, 70)
The user may manipulate the AVN input unit 142 to input a command to operate the AVN device 140. The AVN input unit 142 may be disposed near (e.g., adjacent to) the AVN display 141 in the form of hard keys as illustrated in FIG. 3. Alternatively, when the AVN display 141 is implemented as a touchscreen, the AVN display 141 may further function as the AVN input unit 142. A speaker 143 configured to output sound may be disposed within the vehicle 100, and sound necessary for audio, video and navigation functions may be output from the speaker 143.[P-46]
Various types of gestures mapped to different operations of the AVN device 140 may be stored in the memory 132. For example, gesture 1 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the audio function, gesture 2 may be mapped to (e.g., may correspond to) an operation to turn on the video function, and gesture 3 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the navigation function. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 1, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the audio function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 2 or gesture 3, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the video function or the navigation function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140.[P-69]
Alternatively, when at least two of the audio, video and navigation functions are performed, a specific gesture and an operation to switch a screen displayed on the AVN display 141 may be stored in a mapping mode. For example, an operation to switch to an audio screen may be mapped to gesture 4, and an operation to switch to a navigation screen may be mapped to gesture 5. Accordingly, when the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 4, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to switch the screen displayed on the AVN display 141 to the audio screen and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 5, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to switch the screen displayed on the AVN display 141 to the navigation screen and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140.[P-70]
In regards to claim 12, Han teaches the gesture is associated with a position of at least a portion of the person (Paragraphs 9-11)
The image analysis unit may be configured to extract a pattern of interest with respect to the object of interest and determine whether the pattern of interest has a predefined feature. The image analysis unit may also be configured to determine that the object of interest is related to the driver (e.g., is that of the driver and not the passenger) when the pattern of interest has the predefined feature. The object of interest may be an arm or a hand of a person. The pattern of interest may include a wrist connection pattern formed by connecting an end of the arm and a wrist which is a connection part between the arm and the hand.[P-9]
The predefined feature may include a feature in which the wrist connection pattern starts from a left or right side of the gesture area. When the vehicle is a left hand drive (LHD) vehicle, the image analysis unit may be configured to determine that the object of interest belongs to the driver when the wrist connection pattern starts from the left side of the gesture area. When the vehicle is a right hand drive (RHD) vehicle, the image analysis unit may be configured to determine that the object of interest belongs to the driver when the wrist connection pattern starts from the right side of the gesture area.[P-10]
The pattern of interest may include a first finger pattern formed by connecting a wrist which is a connection part between the arm and the hand, and a thumb end of the hand, and a second finger pattern formed by connecting the wrist and another finger end of the hand. The predefined feature may include a feature in which the first finger pattern is located at a left or right side of the second finger pattern. When the vehicle is an LHD vehicle, the image analysis unit may be configured to determine that the object of interest belongs to the driver when the first finger pattern is located at the left side of the second finger pattern. When the vehicle is an RHD vehicle, the image analysis unit may be configured to determine that the object of interest belongs to the driver if the first finger pattern is located at the right side of the second finger pattern.[P-11]
In regards to claim 13, Han teaches the gesture is associated with a movement of at least a portion of the person(Paragraphs 9-11)
The image analysis unit may be configured to extract a pattern of interest with respect to the object of interest and determine whether the pattern of interest has a predefined feature. The image analysis unit may also be configured to determine that the object of interest is related to the driver (e.g., is that of the driver and not the passenger) when the pattern of interest has the predefined feature. The object of interest may be an arm or a hand of a person. The pattern of interest may include a wrist connection pattern formed by connecting an end of the arm and a wrist which is a connection part between the arm and the hand.[P-9]
The predefined feature may include a feature in which the wrist connection pattern starts from a left or right side of the gesture area. When the vehicle is a left hand drive (LHD) vehicle, the image analysis unit may be configured to determine that the object of interest belongs to the driver when the wrist connection pattern starts from the left side of the gesture area. When the vehicle is a right hand drive (RHD) vehicle, the image analysis unit may be configured to determine that the object of interest belongs to the driver when the wrist connection pattern starts from the right side of the gesture area.[P-10]
The pattern of interest may include a first finger pattern formed by connecting a wrist which is a connection part between the arm and the hand, and a thumb end of the hand, and a second finger pattern formed by connecting the wrist and another finger end of the hand. The predefined feature may include a feature in which the first finger pattern is located at a left or right side of the second finger pattern. When the vehicle is an LHD vehicle, the image analysis unit may be configured to determine that the object of interest belongs to the driver when the first finger pattern is located at the left side of the second finger pattern. When the vehicle is an RHD vehicle, the image analysis unit may be configured to determine that the object of interest belongs to the driver if the first finger pattern is located at the right side of the second finger pattern.[P-11]
In regards to claim 15, Hans teaches a system for automated operation of a vehicle responsive to collected sensor data, the system comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor, wherein execution of instructions stored in the at least one memory by the at least one processor causes the at least one processor to: receive image data from an optical sensor within the vehicle while a person is in the vehicle (Paragraphs 8, 12,13)
In accordance with one aspect of the present invention, a vehicle may include an image capturing unit (e.g., imaging device, camera, etc.) mounted within the vehicle and configured to capture a gesture image of a gesture area including a driver gesture or a passenger gesture, an image analysis unit configured to detect an object of interest in the gesture image captured by the image capturing unit and determine whether the object of interest is related to the driver, and a controller configured to recognize a gesture expressed by the object of interest and generate a control signal that corresponds to the gesture when the object of interest is related to the driver.[P-8]
The vehicle may further include a memory configured to store specific gestures and specific operations in a mapping mode. The controller may be configured to search the memory for a specific gesture that corresponds to the gesture expressed by the object of interest, and generate a control signal to execute a specific operation mapped to a detected specific gesture. The memory may be executed by the controller to store a specific gesture and an operation to change gesture recognition authority in a mapping mode. The controller may be configured to generate a control signal to change the gesture recognition authority when the gesture expressed by the object of interest corresponds to the specific gesture. The changing of the gesture recognition authority may include extending a holder of the gesture recognition authority to the passenger, and restricting the holder of the gesture recognition authority to the driver.[P-12]
In accordance with another aspect of the present invention, a method for controlling a vehicle may include capturing, by an imaging device, a gesture image of a gesture area including a driver gesture or a passenger gesture, detecting, by a controller, an object of interest in the captured gesture image of the gesture area, determining, by the controller, whether the object of interest belongs to the driver, and recognizing, by the controller, a gesture expressed by the object of interest and generating, by the controller, a control signal that corresponds to the gesture when the object of interest belongs to the driver.[P-13]
Hans also teaches analyzing the image data in comparison to stored gesture data to recognize a gesture of the person, wherein the stored gesture data identifies a plurality of gestures that respectively correspond to a plurality of actions, wherein the plurality of gestures includes the gesture (Paragraphs 12, 66, 69)
The vehicle may further include a memory configured to store specific gestures and specific operations in a mapping mode. The controller may be configured to search the memory for a specific gesture that corresponds to the gesture expressed by the object of interest, and generate a control signal to execute a specific operation mapped to a detected specific gesture. The memory may be executed by the controller to store a specific gesture and an operation to change gesture recognition authority in a mapping mode. The controller may be configured to generate a control signal to change the gesture recognition authority when the gesture expressed by the object of interest corresponds to the specific gesture. The changing of the gesture recognition authority may include extending a holder of the gesture recognition authority to the passenger, and restricting the holder of the gesture recognition authority to the driver.[P-12]
The controller 131 may be configured to recognize a gesture expressed by the object of interest, using at least one of known gesture recognition technologies. For example, when a motion expressed by the hand of the driver is recognized, a motion pattern that indicates a motion of the hand may be detected from the gesture image, and whether the detected motion pattern corresponds to a motion pattern stored in the memory 132 may be determined. To determine the correspondence between the two patterns, the controller 131 may use one of various algorithms such as Dynamic Time Warping (DTW) and Hidden Markov Model (HMM). The memory 132 may be configured to store specific gestures and events that correspond to the gestures, in a mapping mode. Accordingly, the controller 131 may be configured to search the memory 132 for a specific gesture that corresponds to the gesture recognized in the gesture image, and generate a control signal to execute an event that corresponds to a detected specific gesture. A detailed description is now given of operation of the controller 131 with reference to FIGS. 10 and 11.[P-66]
Various types of gestures mapped to different operations of the AVN device 140 may be stored in the memory 132. For example, gesture 1 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the audio function, gesture 2 may be mapped to (e.g., may correspond to) an operation to turn on the video function, and gesture 3 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the navigation function. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 1, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the audio function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 2 or gesture 3, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the video function or the navigation function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140 [P-69]
Here, we see that various types of gestures stored in the memory of the vehicle. Although Hans fails to teach the comparison to stored gesture data to recognize the gesture of the person, by mapping the recorded image gesture to stored gestures within the memory of the vehicle to find a match would obviously require a comparison means of the image in order to find a mapping match between the gestures.
Hans also teaches identifying, based on the stored gesture data, an action that corresponds to the gesture, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically cause the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture (Paragraph 69).
Various types of gestures mapped to different operations of the AVN device 140 may be stored in the memory 132. For example, gesture 1 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the audio function, gesture 2 may be mapped to (e.g., may correspond to) an operation to turn on the video function, and gesture 3 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the navigation function. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 1, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the audio function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 2 or gesture 3, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the video function or the navigation function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140 [P-69]
Han fails to teach receiving acoustic data from a microphone that is associated with the vehicle, the acoustic data recorded while the person is in the vehicle; analyzing the acoustic data in comparison to stored acoustic event data to recognize an acoustic event; identifying, based on the stored gesture data and the stored acoustic event data, an action that corresponds to the gesture and the acoustic event, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically causing the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture and the acoustic event.
Shrivastava on the other hand teaches receiving acoustic data from a microphone that is associated with the vehicle, the acoustic data recorded while the person is in the vehicle; analyzing the acoustic data in comparison to stored acoustic event data to recognize an acoustic event (Page 3, Paragraph 2; Page 11, Paragraph 4; Page 14, Paragraph 2; Claim 23)
In general, voice and / or gesture control may be used to implement any type of command for an optically switchable device. For example, the voice and / or gesture control may include a coloring command (e.g., "change window 1 to color 4" or "darken window 1") for a single optically switchable device, or optically (E.g., " Change Zone 1's Window To Hue 4 " or " Make Darker Zone 1 " or " Darken Zone 1 More Darkly " Etc.). The instructions may be stored in a discrete optical state (e.g., a discrete hue level or other discrete optical state) in which the associated optically switchable device (s) is to be changed or a relative change in the optical state of the optically switchable device For example, let me brighten the darker, lighter, more reflexive, less reflective, or, for example, my office is too dark "or" I want to operate the projector "(which tells the system to darken the room) or &Quot; this is too hot " (telling the system to darken the window and block heat gain), etc.). If a relative change is used, the control system may be designed or configured to implement a step change (e.g., 10% darker or brighter) in the optical state of the optically switchable device to perform the command. The degree of each step change can be predefined. Alternatively or additionally, the control system may be designed or configured to implement a step change in size or degree specified by the user. These commands may be modified by any of the comparison words used in the command (e.g., "very" or "slightly" or "brighter" or "darker").[Pg 3, P-2]
At operation 1039, it is determined if the user is authorized to issue an instruction. This can be done by the authentication module 906 of FIG. In this case, the authentication process includes voice recognition. The system may analyze the recorded voice command given by the user at operation 1031 and compare it to a previous record from this user and another user. This process allows the system to identify the person who made the command in action (1031). The authentication process may also include verifying that the identified user is authorized to change the window in which he or she requested the change. In this example, the control system checks whether the user is authorized to change the window of his or her office using a database associating each user with each window for which the user has authority to change. The user in this example works on the 10th floor and has the right to switch all windows on the 10th floor. Thus, the method continues with operation 1041 (e.g., via command execution module 908 of FIG. 1) where the command is executed, and all windows in the user's office begin to switch to color 4. If the user has made an unauthorized command (for example, the user has only the right to switch the window on the tenth floor where the user's office is located, the user visits a colleague on the ninth floor, The method may continue with operation 1040 where nothing happens or the command system indicates that the user is not authorized to do the requested command. The system may or may not explain why the user is not authorized to do the requested command, and / or may describe a window that the user is authorized to change.[Pg 11, P-4]
Figure 4 more specifically illustrates an exemplary implementation of an IGU 100 that includes a first pane 104 having a first surface S1 and a second surface S2. In some embodiments, the first surface S1 of the first pane 104 faces an external environment, such as an outdoor or outdoor environment. The IGU 100 also includes a second pane 106 having a first surface S3 and a second surface S4. In some embodiments, the second surface S4 of the second pane 106 faces the interior of a home, building or vehicle, or an interior environment such as a room or compartment in a home, building or vehicle.[Pg 14, P-2]
The method according to any one of claims 1 to 22,
(c) comprises using two or more dictionaries to analyze the text instruction, wherein the third dictionary is used when analyzing the first part of the text instruction and the fourth dictionary is used when analyzing the second part of the text instruction Wherein the optical state of the optically switchable device is used.
A system for controlling an optical state of an optically switchable device in response to a voice command or a gesture command from a user, the system comprising:
(a) at least one element selected from the group consisting of a microphone, a video camera and a motion sensor;
(b) a controller communicatively coupled to the optically switchable device and configured to control an optical state of the optically switchable device;
(c) a voice recognition module configured to (i) convert the voice command into a text command, or (ii) a gesture recognition module configured to convert the gesture command into a text command, wherein the voice command is recognized by the microphone and / A gesture recognition module, or a voice recognition module, which is recognized by the video camera and / or the motion sensor;
(d) a command processing module configured to interpret a text command generated by the speech recognition module or the gesture recognition module; And
(e) an instruction execution module configured to execute the interpreted text instruction from the instruction processing module. [Cl-23]
Here, we see Shrivastava teach receiving acoustic data from a microphone that is associated with the vehicle, the acoustic data recorded while the person is in the vehicle; analyzing the acoustic data in comparison to stored acoustic event data to recognize an acoustic event, i.e. receiving voice command data from a microphone that is associated with the vehicle, the voice command data recorded while the person is interior of the vehicle; analyzing the voice command data in comparison to stored voice command event data to recognize a command event, such as changing the hue or color of a window.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the invention to combine Shrivastava’s teaching with Han’s teaching in order to better improve gesture and physiological specific recognition and control of a vehicle accordingly.
Han modified fails to teach based on the stored gesture data and the stored acoustic event data, an action that corresponds to the gesture and the acoustic event, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically causing the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture and the acoustic event
Truong on the other hand teaches based on the stored gesture data and the stored acoustic event data, an action that corresponds to the gesture and the acoustic event, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically causing the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture and the acoustic event (Paragraphs 17, 38, Claim 1)
Control and display system 50 may include a camera or other gesture input detector 60 configured to detect movements of a driver and/or a passenger. Similarly, control and display systems 38, 48 may include cameras or other gesture input detectors 39, 49, respectively, to detect movements of passengers in rear seats 30, 40, as explained in more detail below. Although a camera 60, 39, 49, is shown associated with each control and display system 50, 38, 48, the present disclosure is not limited to such an embodiment. Instead, any manner in which the gestures of the driver and passengers may be detected and used as described in detail below may be used. For example, and not by way of limitation, several cameras located in the interior of vehicle V may track movements of the entire vehicle interior. Such a group of cameras can detect location, orientation, and movements of each of the passengers, including such details as movements of the passengers' hands and fingers. Cameras used in the present embodiment may be motion capture cameras used for optical detection. However, those skilled in the art would understand that other types of camera or detection systems may be used, such as, but not limited to, infra-red, RFID, and electromagnetic. As would be understood by those skilled in the art, systems such as those used for motion detection and processing in games such a XBOX Kinect.TM. or similar systems may be used.[Cl-17]
Accordingly, the haptic feedback described above can be used confirm or describe actions that are being taken based on the gesture based input. In one example, summarized in Table 2 below and described with respect to a system such as the system shown in FIG. 5, a driver of a vehicle V makes gestures that are monitored by camera 60 and gives voice commands that are received by microphone 64. Although the example below is described with respect to a driver making gestures and giving voice commands, and particular haptic effects described below, those skilled in the art will recognize that similar gestures and voice commands may be made by passengers in the vehicle, that such gestures and voice commands may be detected by camera 60/microphone 64 or other cameras/microphones, and that the haptic effect may be provided to the user making the gesture/giving the voice command. Of course, those skilled in the art will also recognize that in some embodiments, only the driver of the vehicle senses haptic feedback, while the passengers may receive other types of feedback, such as audio or visual, because the passengers do not need to keep their eyes on the road. However, haptic effects may be desirable for passengers to enhance their experience when interacting with entertainment systems in the vehicle, such as gaming systems or video systems.[P-38]
A system for controlling one or more of a plurality of vehicle systems comprising: a haptic actuator configured to provide haptic feedback to a vehicle driver or passenger; a gesture detection device disposed in an interior of the vehicle, wherein the gesture detection device is configured to capture movements of the vehicle driver or passenger and output data representing a gesture made by the vehicle driver or passenger; and a controller coupled to the gesture detection device and configured to receive a signal from the gesture detection device indicative of the gesture, wherein the controller is coupled to a haptic effect feedback system and the plurality of vehicle systems, wherein based on the signal indicative of the gesture, the controller is configured to send a signal to select a haptic effect from an effect table and configured to send a signal to the haptic actuator to provide the selected haptic effect, and wherein based on the signal indicative of the gesture, the controller is further configured to send a signal to at least one of the plurality of vehicle systems to perform a particular action, wherein the particular action of the vehicle system is matched with the selected haptic effect.[Cl-1]
Here, we see Truong teach based on the stored gesture data and the stored acoustic event data, an action that corresponds to the gesture and the acoustic event, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically causing the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture and the acoustic event
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the invention to combine Truong’s teaching with Han modified’s teaching in order to better improve gesture and physiological specific recognition and control of a vehicle accordingly.
In regards to claim 16, Han modified via Truong teaches wherein the acoustic event corresponds to at least one of a noise associated with at least one component of the vehicle, a voice associated with the person, or a command(Paragraphs 17, 38, Claim 1)
Control and display system 50 may include a camera or other gesture input detector 60 configured to detect movements of a driver and/or a passenger. Similarly, control and display systems 38, 48 may include cameras or other gesture input detectors 39, 49, respectively, to detect movements of passengers in rear seats 30, 40, as explained in more detail below. Although a camera 60, 39, 49, is shown associated with each control and display system 50, 38, 48, the present disclosure is not limited to such an embodiment. Instead, any manner in which the gestures of the driver and passengers may be detected and used as described in detail below may be used. For example, and not by way of limitation, several cameras located in the interior of vehicle V may track movements of the entire vehicle interior. Such a group of cameras can detect location, orientation, and movements of each of the passengers, including such details as movements of the passengers' hands and fingers. Cameras used in the present embodiment may be motion capture cameras used for optical detection. However, those skilled in the art would understand that other types of camera or detection systems may be used, such as, but not limited to, infra-red, RFID, and electromagnetic. As would be understood by those skilled in the art, systems such as those used for motion detection and processing in games such a XBOX Kinect.TM. or similar systems may be used.[Cl-17]
Accordingly, the haptic feedback described above can be used confirm or describe actions that are being taken based on the gesture based input. In one example, summarized in Table 2 below and described with respect to a system such as the system shown in FIG. 5, a driver of a vehicle V makes gestures that are monitored by camera 60 and gives voice commands that are received by microphone 64. Although the example below is described with respect to a driver making gestures and giving voice commands, and particular haptic effects described below, those skilled in the art will recognize that similar gestures and voice commands may be made by passengers in the vehicle, that such gestures and voice commands may be detected by camera 60/microphone 64 or other cameras/microphones, and that the haptic effect may be provided to the user making the gesture/giving the voice command. Of course, those skilled in the art will also recognize that in some embodiments, only the driver of the vehicle senses haptic feedback, while the passengers may receive other types of feedback, such as audio or visual, because the passengers do not need to keep their eyes on the road. However, haptic effects may be desirable for passengers to enhance their experience when interacting with entertainment systems in the vehicle, such as gaming systems or video systems.[P-38]
A system for controlling one or more of a plurality of vehicle systems comprising: a haptic actuator configured to provide haptic feedback to a vehicle driver or passenger; a gesture detection device disposed in an interior of the vehicle, wherein the gesture detection device is configured to capture movements of the vehicle driver or passenger and output data representing a gesture made by the vehicle driver or passenger; and a controller coupled to the gesture detection device and configured to receive a signal from the gesture detection device indicative of the gesture, wherein the controller is coupled to a haptic effect feedback system and the plurality of vehicle systems, wherein based on the signal indicative of the gesture, the controller is configured to send a signal to select a haptic effect from an effect table and configured to send a signal to the haptic actuator to provide the selected haptic effect, and wherein based on the signal indicative of the gesture, the controller is further configured to send a signal to at least one of the plurality of vehicle systems to perform a particular action, wherein the particular action of the vehicle system is matched with the selected haptic effect.[Cl-1]
In regards to claim 18, Han teaches causing the action to be performed includes causing the vehicle to automatically control at least an aspect of the vehicle to modify navigation of the vehicle(Paragraphs 46, 69, 70)
The user may manipulate the AVN input unit 142 to input a command to operate the AVN device 140. The AVN input unit 142 may be disposed near (e.g., adjacent to) the AVN display 141 in the form of hard keys as illustrated in FIG. 3. Alternatively, when the AVN display 141 is implemented as a touchscreen, the AVN display 141 may further function as the AVN input unit 142. A speaker 143 configured to output sound may be disposed within the vehicle 100, and sound necessary for audio, video and navigation functions may be output from the speaker 143.[P-46]
Various types of gestures mapped to different operations of the AVN device 140 may be stored in the memory 132. For example, gesture 1 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the audio function, gesture 2 may be mapped to (e.g., may correspond to) an operation to turn on the video function, and gesture 3 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the navigation function. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 1, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the audio function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 2 or gesture 3, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the video function or the navigation function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140.[P-69]
Alternatively, when at least two of the audio, video and navigation functions are performed, a specific gesture and an operation to switch a screen displayed on the AVN display 141 may be stored in a mapping mode. For example, an operation to switch to an audio screen may be mapped to gesture 4, and an operation to switch to a navigation screen may be mapped to gesture 5. Accordingly, when the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 4, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to switch the screen displayed on the AVN display 141 to the audio screen and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 5, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to switch the screen displayed on the AVN display 141 to the navigation screen and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140.[P-70]
In regards to claim 19, Han teaches the gesture is associated with a position of at least a portion of the person(Paragraphs 9-11)
The image analysis unit may be configured to extract a pattern of interest with respect to the object of interest and determine whether the pattern of interest has a predefined feature. The image analysis unit may also be configured to determine that the object of interest is related to the driver (e.g., is that of the driver and not the passenger) when the pattern of interest has the predefined feature. The object of interest may be an arm or a hand of a person. The pattern of interest may include a wrist connection pattern formed by connecting an end of the arm and a wrist which is a connection part between the arm and the hand.[P-9]
The predefined feature may include a feature in which the wrist connection pattern starts from a left or right side of the gesture area. When the vehicle is a left hand drive (LHD) vehicle, the image analysis unit may be configured to determine that the object of interest belongs to the driver when the wrist connection pattern starts from the left side of the gesture area. When the vehicle is a right hand drive (RHD) vehicle, the image analysis unit may be configured to determine that the object of interest belongs to the driver when the wrist connection pattern starts from the right side of the gesture area.[P-10]
The pattern of interest may include a first finger pattern formed by connecting a wrist which is a connection part between the arm and the hand, and a thumb end of the hand, and a second finger pattern formed by connecting the wrist and another finger end of the hand. The predefined feature may include a feature in which the first finger pattern is located at a left or right side of the second finger pattern. When the vehicle is an LHD vehicle, the image analysis unit may be configured to determine that the object of interest belongs to the driver when the first finger pattern is located at the left side of the second finger pattern. When the vehicle is an RHD vehicle, the image analysis unit may be configured to determine that the object of interest belongs to the driver if the first finger pattern is located at the right side of the second finger pattern.[P-11]
.
In regards to claim 20, Han teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having embodied thereon a program executable by a processor for implementing a method for automated operation of a vehicle responsive to collected sensor data, the method comprising: receiving image data from an optical sensor within the vehicle while a person is in the vehicle(Paragraphs 8, 13)
In accordance with one aspect of the present invention, a vehicle may include an image capturing unit (e.g., imaging device, camera, etc.) mounted within the vehicle and configured to capture a gesture image of a gesture area including a driver gesture or a passenger gesture, an image analysis unit configured to detect an object of interest in the gesture image captured by the image capturing unit and determine whether the object of interest is related to the driver, and a controller configured to recognize a gesture expressed by the object of interest and generate a control signal that corresponds to the gesture when the object of interest is related to the driver.[P-8]
In accordance with another aspect of the present invention, a method for controlling a vehicle may include capturing, by an imaging device, a gesture image of a gesture area including a driver gesture or a passenger gesture, detecting, by a controller, an object of interest in the captured gesture image of the gesture area, determining, by the controller, whether the object of interest belongs to the driver, and recognizing, by the controller, a gesture expressed by the object of interest and generating, by the controller, a control signal that corresponds to the gesture when the object of interest belongs to the driver.[P-13]
Han then teaches analyzing the image data in comparison to stored gesture data to recognize a gesture of the person, wherein the stored gesture data identifies a plurality of gestures that respectively correspond to a plurality of actions, wherein the plurality of gestures includes the gesture (Paragraphs 12, 66, 69)
The vehicle may further include a memory configured to store specific gestures and specific operations in a mapping mode. The controller may be configured to search the memory for a specific gesture that corresponds to the gesture expressed by the object of interest, and generate a control signal to execute a specific operation mapped to a detected specific gesture. The memory may be executed by the controller to store a specific gesture and an operation to change gesture recognition authority in a mapping mode. The controller may be configured to generate a control signal to change the gesture recognition authority when the gesture expressed by the object of interest corresponds to the specific gesture. The changing of the gesture recognition authority may include extending a holder of the gesture recognition authority to the passenger, and restricting the holder of the gesture recognition authority to the driver.[P-12]
The controller 131 may be configured to recognize a gesture expressed by the object of interest, using at least one of known gesture recognition technologies. For example, when a motion expressed by the hand of the driver is recognized, a motion pattern that indicates a motion of the hand may be detected from the gesture image, and whether the detected motion pattern corresponds to a motion pattern stored in the memory 132 may be determined. To determine the correspondence between the two patterns, the controller 131 may use one of various algorithms such as Dynamic Time Warping (DTW) and Hidden Markov Model (HMM). The memory 132 may be configured to store specific gestures and events that correspond to the gestures, in a mapping mode. Accordingly, the controller 131 may be configured to search the memory 132 for a specific gesture that corresponds to the gesture recognized in the gesture image, and generate a control signal to execute an event that corresponds to a detected specific gesture. A detailed description is now given of operation of the controller 131 with reference to FIGS. 10 and 11.[P-66]
Various types of gestures mapped to different operations of the AVN device 140 may be stored in the memory 132. For example, gesture 1 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the audio function, gesture 2 may be mapped to (e.g., may correspond to) an operation to turn on the video function, and gesture 3 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the navigation function. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 1, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the audio function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 2 or gesture 3, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the video function or the navigation function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140 [P-69]
Here, we see that various types of gestures stored in the memory of the vehicle. Although Hans fails to teach the comparison to stored gesture data to recognize the gesture of the person, by mapping the recorded image gesture to stored gestures within the memory of the vehicle to find a match would obviously require a comparison means of the image in order to find a mapping match between the gestures.
Furthermore, Han teaches identifying, based on the stored gesture data, an action that corresponds to the gesture, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically causing the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture(Paragraph 69).
Various types of gestures mapped to different operations of the AVN device 140 may be stored in the memory 132. For example, gesture 1 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the audio function, gesture 2 may be mapped to (e.g., may correspond to) an operation to turn on the video function, and gesture 3 may be mapped to an operation to turn on the navigation function. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 1, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the audio function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140. When the gesture recognized by the controller 131 is gesture 2 or gesture 3, the controller 131 may be configured to generate a control signal to turn on the video function or the navigation function and transmit the control signal to the AVN device 140 [P-69]
Han fails to teach receiving acoustic data from a microphone that is associated with the vehicle, the acoustic data recorded while the person is in the vehicle; analyzing the acoustic data in comparison to stored acoustic event data to recognize an acoustic event; identifying, based on the stored gesture data and the stored acoustic event data, an action that corresponds to the gesture and the acoustic event, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically causing the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture and the acoustic event.
Shrivastava on the other hand teaches receiving acoustic data from a microphone that is associated with the vehicle, the acoustic data recorded while the person is in the vehicle; analyzing the acoustic data in comparison to stored acoustic event data to recognize an acoustic event (Page 3, Paragraph 2; Page 11, Paragraph 4; Page 14, Paragraph 2; Claim 23)
In general, voice and / or gesture control may be used to implement any type of command for an optically switchable device. For example, the voice and / or gesture control may include a coloring command (e.g., "change window 1 to color 4" or "darken window 1") for a single optically switchable device, or optically (E.g., " Change Zone 1's Window To Hue 4 " or " Make Darker Zone 1 " or " Darken Zone 1 More Darkly " Etc.). The instructions may be stored in a discrete optical state (e.g., a discrete hue level or other discrete optical state) in which the associated optically switchable device (s) is to be changed or a relative change in the optical state of the optically switchable device For example, let me brighten the darker, lighter, more reflexive, less reflective, or, for example, my office is too dark "or" I want to operate the projector "(which tells the system to darken the room) or &Quot; this is too hot " (telling the system to darken the window and block heat gain), etc.). If a relative change is used, the control system may be designed or configured to implement a step change (e.g., 10% darker or brighter) in the optical state of the optically switchable device to perform the command. The degree of each step change can be predefined. Alternatively or additionally, the control system may be designed or configured to implement a step change in size or degree specified by the user. These commands may be modified by any of the comparison words used in the command (e.g., "very" or "slightly" or "brighter" or "darker").[Pg 3, P-2]
At operation 1039, it is determined if the user is authorized to issue an instruction. This can be done by the authentication module 906 of FIG. In this case, the authentication process includes voice recognition. The system may analyze the recorded voice command given by the user at operation 1031 and compare it to a previous record from this user and another user. This process allows the system to identify the person who made the command in action (1031). The authentication process may also include verifying that the identified user is authorized to change the window in which he or she requested the change. In this example, the control system checks whether the user is authorized to change the window of his or her office using a database associating each user with each window for which the user has authority to change. The user in this example works on the 10th floor and has the right to switch all windows on the 10th floor. Thus, the method continues with operation 1041 (e.g., via command execution module 908 of FIG. 1) where the command is executed, and all windows in the user's office begin to switch to color 4. If the user has made an unauthorized command (for example, the user has only the right to switch the window on the tenth floor where the user's office is located, the user visits a colleague on the ninth floor, The method may continue with operation 1040 where nothing happens or the command system indicates that the user is not authorized to do the requested command. The system may or may not explain why the user is not authorized to do the requested command, and / or may describe a window that the user is authorized to change.[Pg 11, P-4]
Figure 4 more specifically illustrates an exemplary implementation of an IGU 100 that includes a first pane 104 having a first surface S1 and a second surface S2. In some embodiments, the first surface S1 of the first pane 104 faces an external environment, such as an outdoor or outdoor environment. The IGU 100 also includes a second pane 106 having a first surface S3 and a second surface S4. In some embodiments, the second surface S4 of the second pane 106 faces the interior of a home, building or vehicle, or an interior environment such as a room or compartment in a home, building or vehicle.[Pg 14, P-2]
The method according to any one of claims 1 to 22,
(c) comprises using two or more dictionaries to analyze the text instruction, wherein the third dictionary is used when analyzing the first part of the text instruction and the fourth dictionary is used when analyzing the second part of the text instruction Wherein the optical state of the optically switchable device is used.
A system for controlling an optical state of an optically switchable device in response to a voice command or a gesture command from a user, the system comprising:
(a) at least one element selected from the group consisting of a microphone, a video camera and a motion sensor;
(b) a controller communicatively coupled to the optically switchable device and configured to control an optical state of the optically switchable device;
(c) a voice recognition module configured to (i) convert the voice command into a text command, or (ii) a gesture recognition module configured to convert the gesture command into a text command, wherein the voice command is recognized by the microphone and / A gesture recognition module, or a voice recognition module, which is recognized by the video camera and / or the motion sensor;
(d) a command processing module configured to interpret a text command generated by the speech recognition module or the gesture recognition module; And
(e) an instruction execution module configured to execute the interpreted text instruction from the instruction processing module. [Cl-23]
Here, we see Shrivastava teach receiving acoustic data from a microphone that is associated with the vehicle, the acoustic data recorded while the person is in the vehicle; analyzing the acoustic data in comparison to stored acoustic event data to recognize an acoustic event, i.e. receiving voice command data from a microphone that is associated with the vehicle, the voice command data recorded while the person is interior of the vehicle; analyzing the voice command data in comparison to stored voice command event data to recognize a command event, such as changing the hue or color of a window.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the invention to combine Shrivastava’s teaching with Han’s teaching in order to better improve gesture and physiological specific recognition and control of a vehicle accordingly.
Han modified fails to teach based on the stored gesture data and the stored acoustic event data, an action that corresponds to the gesture and the acoustic event, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically causing the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture and the acoustic event
Truong on the other hand teaches based on the stored gesture data and the stored acoustic event data, an action that corresponds to the gesture and the acoustic event, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically causing the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture and the acoustic event (Paragraphs 17, 38, Claim 1)
Control and display system 50 may include a camera or other gesture input detector 60 configured to detect movements of a driver and/or a passenger. Similarly, control and display systems 38, 48 may include cameras or other gesture input detectors 39, 49, respectively, to detect movements of passengers in rear seats 30, 40, as explained in more detail below. Although a camera 60, 39, 49, is shown associated with each control and display system 50, 38, 48, the present disclosure is not limited to such an embodiment. Instead, any manner in which the gestures of the driver and passengers may be detected and used as described in detail below may be used. For example, and not by way of limitation, several cameras located in the interior of vehicle V may track movements of the entire vehicle interior. Such a group of cameras can detect location, orientation, and movements of each of the passengers, including such details as movements of the passengers' hands and fingers. Cameras used in the present embodiment may be motion capture cameras used for optical detection. However, those skilled in the art would understand that other types of camera or detection systems may be used, such as, but not limited to, infra-red, RFID, and electromagnetic. As would be understood by those skilled in the art, systems such as those used for motion detection and processing in games such a XBOX Kinect.TM. or similar systems may be used.[Cl-17]
Accordingly, the haptic feedback described above can be used confirm or describe actions that are being taken based on the gesture based input. In one example, summarized in Table 2 below and described with respect to a system such as the system shown in FIG. 5, a driver of a vehicle V makes gestures that are monitored by camera 60 and gives voice commands that are received by microphone 64. Although the example below is described with respect to a driver making gestures and giving voice commands, and particular haptic effects described below, those skilled in the art will recognize that similar gestures and voice commands may be made by passengers in the vehicle, that such gestures and voice commands may be detected by camera 60/microphone 64 or other cameras/microphones, and that the haptic effect may be provided to the user making the gesture/giving the voice command. Of course, those skilled in the art will also recognize that in some embodiments, only the driver of the vehicle senses haptic feedback, while the passengers may receive other types of feedback, such as audio or visual, because the passengers do not need to keep their eyes on the road. However, haptic effects may be desirable for passengers to enhance their experience when interacting with entertainment systems in the vehicle, such as gaming systems or video systems.[P-38]
A system for controlling one or more of a plurality of vehicle systems comprising: a haptic actuator configured to provide haptic feedback to a vehicle driver or passenger; a gesture detection device disposed in an interior of the vehicle, wherein the gesture detection device is configured to capture movements of the vehicle driver or passenger and output data representing a gesture made by the vehicle driver or passenger; and a controller coupled to the gesture detection device and configured to receive a signal from the gesture detection device indicative of the gesture, wherein the controller is coupled to a haptic effect feedback system and the plurality of vehicle systems, wherein based on the signal indicative of the gesture, the controller is configured to send a signal to select a haptic effect from an effect table and configured to send a signal to the haptic actuator to provide the selected haptic effect, and wherein based on the signal indicative of the gesture, the controller is further configured to send a signal to at least one of the plurality of vehicle systems to perform a particular action, wherein the particular action of the vehicle system is matched with the selected haptic effect.[Cl-1]
Here, we see Truong teach based on the stored gesture data and the stored acoustic event data, an action that corresponds to the gesture and the acoustic event, wherein the plurality of actions includes the action; and automatically causing the action to be performed in association with the vehicle in response to recognizing the gesture and the acoustic event
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art during the time of the filing date of the invention to combine Truong’s teaching with Han modified’s teaching in order to better improve gesture and physiological specific recognition and control of a vehicle accordingly.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20150131857 A1) in view of Shrivastava et al. (KR 20190004308 A) and Truong (US 20150175172 A1), as applied above in claims 1, 15, in further view of Ng-Thow-Hing et al. (US 20170076415 A1)
In regards to claim 2, Han modified fails to teach a database includes the stored gesture data, and wherein identifying the action includes querying the database using a query to retrieve the action from a record in the database, wherein the query is associated with the gesture, and wherein the record is associated with the gesture.
Ng-Thow-Hing on the other hand teaches a database includes the stored gesture data, and wherein identifying the action includes querying the database using a query to retrieve the action from a record in the database, wherein the query is associated with the gesture, and wherein the record is associated with the gesture (Paragraphs 23, 48)
The action component 140 correlates the identified physical gesture with the action to be performed. For example, the action component 140 may include a database linking physical gestures with actions. In another embodiment, the action component 140 may attempt to infer a desired action from the physical gesture. The action component 140 then manages the captured image by causing the action to be performed on the captured image.[P-23]
The action component 730 is a means correlating a physical gesture to actions. For example, the action component 730 may include a database, table, mapping engine and so on for associating physical gestures to action. The action component 730 is also a means for performing the action. In one embodiment, the action component 730 includes the means for managing data such as images associated with the POIs and associated metadata.[P-48]
Here we see Ng-Thow-Hing teaching linking a recorded physical gesture with database stored gestures using a query and mapping engine to match the gesture to action results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious during the time of the filing date of the said invention to combine Ng-Thow-Hing teaching with Han modified’s teaching in order to enable a more effective method to parse and match captured gestures with stored actions accordingly.
Claim(s) 4, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20150131857 A1) in view of Shrivastava et al. (KR 20190004308 A) and Truong (US 20150175172 A1), as applied above in claims 1, 15, in further in view of Hoyos et al. (US 20150363986 A1)
In regards to claim 4, Han modified fails to teach analyzing the image data in order to identify an emotional state of the person, wherein the action is based on the gesture and the emotional state of the person.
Hoyos on the other hand teaches analyzing one or more depictions of the person in the image data in order to identify an emotional state of the person, wherein the action is based on the gesture and the emotional state of the person (Paragraph 142)
Safety monitoring based on biometric information can also be performed in view of environmental conditions detected by the computing device. For instance, information received from external cameras, position sensors, proximity sensors, accelerometers, on-board diagnostic (OBD) sensors and the like can be used to detect traffic congestion. Paired with abnormal biometric readings, such as elevated pulse, facial expressions indicative of stress, the on-board computer can automatically perform operations to alleviate the stress, such as play soothing music, provide a notification to the user reminding the user to remain calm, re-route the vehicle, automatically adjust the user's schedule, notify others accordingly and the like.[P-142]
It would have been obvious during the filing date of the invention to combine Hoyos teaching with Han modified’s teaching in order to enable improved safety monitoring and operation of a vehicle.
In regards to claim 17, Han modified fails to teach the execution of instructions stored in the at least one memory by the at least one processor causes the at least one processor to: analyze the image data in order to identify an emotional state of the person, wherein the action is based on the gesture and the emotional state of the person.
Hoyos on the other hand teaches the execution of instructions stored in the at least one memory by the at least one processor causes the at least one processor to analyze one or more depictions of the image data in order to identify an emotional state of the person, wherein the action is based on the gesture and the emotional state of the person (Paragraph 142)
Safety monitoring based on biometric information can also be performed in view of environmental conditions detected by the computing device. For instance, information received from external cameras, position sensors, proximity sensors, accelerometers, on-board diagnostic (OBD) sensors and the like can be used to detect traffic congestion. Paired with abnormal biometric readings, such as elevated pulse, facial expressions indicative of stress, the on-board computer can automatically perform operations to alleviate the stress, such as play soothing music, provide a notification to the user reminding the user to remain calm, re-route the vehicle, automatically adjust the user's schedule, notify others accordingly and the like.[P-142]
It would have been obvious during the filing date of the invention to combine Hoyos teaching with Han modified’s teaching in order to enable improved safety monitoring and operation of a vehicle.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 8, 11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20150131857 A1) in view of Shrivastava et al. (KR 20190004308 A) and Truong (US 20150175172 A1), as applied above in claims 1, in further in view Penilla et al. (US 20170061965 A1)
In regards to claim 5, Han modified fails to teach causing the action to be performed includes causing a recommendation to be output through a user interface.
Penilla the other hand teaches causing the action to be performed includes causing a recommendation to be output through a user interface (Paragraph 34).
In some implementations, the learning and predicting embodiments may utilize learning and prediction algorithms that are used in machine learning. In one embodiment, certain algorithms may look to patterns of input, inputs to certain user interfaces, inputs that can be identified to biometric patterns, inputs for neural network processing, inputs for machine learning (e.g., identifying relationships between inputs, and filtering based on geo-location and/or vehicle state, in real-time), logic for identifying or recommending a result or a next input, a next screen, a suggested input, suggested data that would be relevant for a particular time, geo-location, state of a vehicle, and/or combinations thereof. In one embodiment, use of machine learning enables the vehicle to learn what is needed by the user, at a particular time, in view of one or more operating/status state of the vehicle, in view of one or more state of one or more sensors of the vehicle. Thus, one or more inputs or data presented to the user may be provided without explicit input, request or programming by a user at that time. Overtime, machine learning can be used to reinforce learned behavior, which can provide weighting to certain inputs.[P-34]
Therefore, it would be obvious to combine Penilla’s teaching with Han modified’s teaching in order to enable a more effective optimized feedback according to a specific driver/operator of the vehicle.
In regards to claim 7, Han modified fails to teach causing the action to be performed includes rerouting the vehicle.
Penilla on the other hand teaches causing the action to be performed includes rerouting the vehicle (Paragraphs 232, 233)
In FIG. 16B, the displays are shown to be populated with information obtained by cloud services (or obtained by the vehicle, or obtained by a device of the user in the vehicle, or combinations of two or more thereof). The system may alert the user that an accident is up ahead. The user, based on account information (e.g., history of user, propensity, or likelihood), may usually select to re-route, so the system automatically provides a re-route in the map on the display. In one embodiment, data for information associated with the geo-location is sent to the vehicle when the profile of the user identifies likelihood for consumption of the information associated with the geo-location. An example may be, without limitation, a user drives by a Chevron gas station, but the user prefers Teds Gas, so the user will not stop, even though the vehicle needs gas and the user is proximate to Chevron. The user would be viewed to not have a likelihood to consume information regarding the nearby Chevron.[P-232]
If the user's shows that the user does not have appointments or does not urgently need to arrive at the destination, the system may not provide a re-route option if the extra distance is more than the user likes to drive. Other contextual information can be mined, including a learned profile of the user, which shows what the user likes, does, prefers, has done over time as a pattern, etc.[P-233]
Therefore, it would be obvious to combine Penilla’s teaching with Han modified’s teaching in order to enable a more effective optimized feedback according to a specific driver/operator of the vehicle.
In regards to claim 8, Han modified fails to teach causing the action to be performed includes initiating a call.
Penilla on the other hand teaches causing the action to be performed includes initiating a call (Paragraphs 9, 44, 116)
The methods, systems and apparatus are provided, which include processing systems for executing vehicle responses to voice input. In various configurations, a user's tone of voice is analyzed to determine matches in predefined tones. The tones, in some embodiments, are matched to voice profiles that determine or correlate to a selected vehicle response. The vehicle response to voice input can include, for example, making a setting, finding a map, finding directions, setting entertainment functions, looking up information, selecting a communication tool, making a call, sending a message, looking up a contact, looking up a calendar event, performing an Internet search, controlling a system of the vehicle, etc.[P-9]
The methods, systems and apparatus are provided, which include processing systems for executing vehicle responses to touch input. In various configurations, a user's touch characteristic is analyzed to determine matches in predefined touch characteristics. The touch characteristic, in some embodiments, is matched to touch profiles that determine or correlate to a selected vehicle response. The vehicle response to touch input can include, for example, making a setting, finding a map, finding directions, setting entertainment functions, looking up information, selecting a communication tool, making a call, sending a message, looking up a contact, looking up a calendar event, performing an Internet search, controlling a system of the vehicle, etc.[P-44]
The methods, systems and apparatus are provided, which include processing systems for executing vehicle responses to voice input. In various configurations, a user's tone of voice is analyzed to determine matches in predefined tones. The tones, in some embodiments, are matched to voice profiles that determine or correlate to a selected vehicle response. The vehicle response to voice input can include, for example, making a setting, finding a map, finding directions, setting entertainment functions, looking up information, selecting a communication tool, making a call, sending a message, looking up a contact, looking up a calendar event, performing an Internet search, controlling a system of the vehicle, etc. In general, the vehicle response is tailored to respond to the user's voice input in a way that respects or understands the user's possible mood or possible state of mind. For example, if the user's tone implies that the user is rushed, the system (e.g., vehicle electronics, software, cloud processing, and/or user connected devices) will process that tone in the voice and will provide a vehicle response in a more expedited manner, or without further queries. If the tone implies that the user is relaxed, the system may provide supplemental information in addition to responding to the voice input. For example, if the user asks for a dining spot near a park, the system may also recommend nearby coffee shops, discounts for parking, nearby valet parking, and/or promotions. However, if the user appears stressed or rushed, the supplemental information may be omitted and a response can be quick and to the point. For example, the response can be to show five restaurants near the park, and associated contact/map info, reservations links, or the like. For the relaxed inquiry, the system may attempt to refine the request and as, what type of food are you interested in, or identify coupons available for certain nearby restaurants, before providing a list of four restaurants near the park, and associated contact/map info, reservations links, or the like.[P-116]
Therefore, it would be obvious to combine Penilla’s teaching with Han modified’s teaching in order to enable a more effective optimized feedback according to a specific driver/operator of the vehicle.
In regards to claim 11, Han modified fails to teach causing the action to be performed includes causing music to be played through a speaker.
Penilla on the other hand teaches causing the action to be performed includes causing music to be played through a speaker (Paragraphs 17, 153, 307)
Optionally, the captured audio sample can be processed to remove noise, such as ambient noise, voice noise of other passengers, music playing in the vehicle, tapping noises, road noise, wind noise, etc. The audio sample is then processed to produce an audio signature. The audio signature may be in the form of an analog signal or digital code. The audio signature may identify certain frequencies in the spoken words, audio modulations, frequency peaks, peak-to-peak identifiable patterns, spikes, pauses, or other characteristics that can identify or distinguish when one spoken word, e.g., command, is said to have a particular tone. In some embodiments, in addition to voice input, other sensors can detect the magnitude of sensed touch inputs, physiological characterizes of the user's body, motions, demeaned, and combinations thereof.[P-17]
In further embodiments, mood may directly affect intensity of feedback. If Angry “turn DOWN the music,” then then vehicle lowers music by 10×, for example. If happy “turn down the music,” then vehicle lowers music by 3×.[P-153]
This type of interactive display and control provided in vehicles can assist vehicle makers to provide fewer buttons that are physical and reduce the cost and weight of a vehicle. In one example, the steering will may have configurable screen to allow the user to adjust the volume, lock or unlock the phone, change the music, access menu items, access the user's home, ask for help, change the dashboard style, set the configuration mode, and the like. As further shown, one of the inputs can be to simply toggle between one or more interaction modes.[P-307]
Therefore, it would be obvious to combine Penilla’s teaching with Han modified’s teaching in order to enable better customization settings on the vehicle screen.
In regards to claim 14, Han modified fails to teach the gesture is associated with a posture of at least a portion of the person.
Penilla on the other hand teaches the gesture is associated with a posture of at least a portion of the person (Paragraph 134)
Detecting emotional information can also use passive sensors which capture data about the user's physical state or behavior without interpreting the input. The data gathered is analogous to the cues humans use to perceive emotions in others. For example, a video camera might capture facial expressions, body posture and gestures, while a microphone might capture speech. Other sensors can detect emotional cues by directly measuring physiological data, such as skin temperature and galvanic resistance. In some embodiments, a camera or IR camera can detect temperature changes in a person's skin. For instance, if a user is stressed, the blood rushing to a person's face may elevate the heat pattern or sensed heat from that person's face.[P-134]
Therefore, it would be obvious to combine Penilla’s teaching with Han modified’s teaching in order to enable more effective detection means for control gestures of the vehicle.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20150131857 A1) in view of Shrivastava et al. (KR 20190004308 A) and Truong (US 20150175172 A1), as applied above in claim 1 in further in view Pisz et al. (CN 105556246 A)
In regards to claim 9, Han modified fails to teach causing the action to be performed includes disabling access to the vehicle.
Pisz on the other hand teaches causing the action to be performed includes disabling access to the vehicle.(Page 5, Paragraph 6; Page 7, Paragraph 1)
a user input subsystem 36 may include one or more input sensors, comprising a vehicle input sensor 60, an external input device, or both. vehicle input sensor 60 may include a configuration for one or more motion camera or other optical sensor detecting a gesture command, is configured to one or more touch sensor detects the touch command, is configured to one or more microphone detects voice command, or configured for other vehicular device detecting the user input. user input subsystem may also include an external input device, such as clips 62 and/or personal electronic device of the user 63, such as a tablet computer, smart phone, or other mobile device. [Pg 5, P-6]
In some cases, user access may be based on such users position confirming by user positioning subsystem 39. For example, the second or third row passengers can be allowed or prohibited to access various vehicle functions such as a navigation system. Optionally, with via access information associated with the user profile and not limited access associated with the user profile of the user may specify this setting. In some cases, user access can be based on a user profile subsystem 38 application by user identification and the combination of user position detected by the user positioning subsystem 39. For example, although, but has application by the user profile specified is not limited access privilege of the user or is capable of occupying the driver seat of the moving vehicle is prevented from accessing certain vehicle functions.[Pg 7, P-1]
Therefore, it would be obvious to combine Pisz’s teaching with Han modified’s teaching in order to enable a more reliable security interface regarding vehicle accessibility.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20150131857 A1) in view of Shrivastava et al. (KR 20190004308 A) and Truong (US 20150175172 A1), as applied above in claims 1, in further in view King et al. (DE 102013201746 A1)
In regards to claim 10, Han modified fails to teach causing the action to be performed includes modifying a zoom level of visible content displayed on a display.
King on the other hand teaches causing the action to be performed includes modifying a zoom level of visible content displayed on a display (Abstract; Page 5, Paragraph 1)
A gesture-based recognition system receives desired command inputs from a vehicle occupant by recognizing and interpreting his gestures. An image of the interior portion of the vehicle is captured and the image of the vehicle occupant is separated from the background in the captured image. The separated image is analyzed and a gesture recognition processor interprets the gesture of the vehicle occupant from the image. A command trigger plays the interpreted desired command along with a confirmation message for the vehicle occupant prior to triggering the command. When the vehicle occupant confirms, the command trigger triggers the interpreted command. Further, an interference engine processor judges the attention status of the vehicle occupant and transmits signals to a driver assistance system when the vehicle occupant is inattentive. The driver assistance system provides warning signals to inattentive vehicle occupants when identifying potential hazards. Further, upon detection of the driver, a driver recognition module restores a set of personalization functions of the vehicle to pre-stored settings.[Abstract]
This in 3 (b) The picture shown corresponds to a select / display function. To enable this feature, the vehicle occupant must position his index finger in the air and lightly press forward to mimic the actual press of a button or select an option. To initiate a selection within a particular area on a display screen, the vehicle occupant must point to it virtually with the index finger substantially in alignment with the area. For example, if the vehicle occupant desires to select a particular location on a displayed road map and zoom out to view areas around the location, he must virtually point to it with his fingers in the air in alignment with the location indicated. Pointing your finger at a specific virtual area, like in 3 (b) , activates selectable options in the appropriate direction projected forward to the screen. This gesture can be used for various choices, including selecting a particular song in a list, selecting a particular icon in a list displayed menu, exploring a place of interest on a displayed road map, etc.[Pg 5, P-1]
Therefore, it would be obvious to combine King’s teaching with Han modified’s teaching in order to enable better customization settings on the vehicle screen.
Response to Arguments
The examiner as acknowledged the applicant’s amendments and has addressed them above under new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY D AFRIFA-KYEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686