CTNF 18/884,721 CTNF 84378 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Mohammed Al-Saud et al. (US 20130099108) . Regarding claim 1, Mohammed Al-Saud discloses (Figs. 1-7) an imaging apparatus for phase objects (124), comprising: an imaging unit (112) that images a phase object through an imaging lens (110); a light irradiation unit including a collimating unit (104, 106) that converts a light ray emitted from a light source (102) into a substantially parallel light ray and a branching prism (108) that branches and outputs the substantially parallel light ray such that the phase object is irradiated with the branched substantially parallel light rays in a plurality of different directions that are not parallel to an optical axis of the imaging lens (Figs. 2-3); and a placement unit (122) on which the phase object (124) is placed in a region in which the light rays output in the plurality of different directions by the light irradiation unit first intersect each other. Regarding claim 2, Mohammed Al-Saud discloses (Figs. 1-7) the branching prism (108) is a polygonal pyramid prism (sections 0025, 0028). Regarding claim 3, Mohammed Al-Saud discloses (Figs. 1-7) the branching prism (108) is an axicon lens (section 0025; truncated on a round-shaped plane). Regarding claim 4, Mohammed Al-Saud discloses (Figs. 1-7) an intersection region changing unit (portion between 108 and 110) that changes the region in which the light rays intersect each other by displacing at least one of the light source, the collimating unit, and the axicon lens (sections 0024; Figs. 5-6). Regarding claim 5, Mohammed Al-Saud discloses (Figs. 1-7) the phase object (124) includes a cell (sections 0004, 0033). Regarding claim 6, Mohammed Al-Saud discloses (Figs. 1-7) the collimating unit (104, 106) includes a convex lens or a telecentric lens (section 0024; convergent light beams generated). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHARLES S CHANG whose telephone number is (571)270-5024. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Caley can be reached at (571) 272-2286. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHARLES S CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 Application/Control Number: 18/884,721 Page 2 Art Unit: 2871