DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3, 5, and 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected embodiments, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 30 September, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: The preamble recitation of “to have the phase-matched condition between TE and TM polarization modes in nonreciprocal polarization rotation processes” is unclear for several reasons. First, “phase-matched condition between TE and TM polarization modes” appears to be a broad limitation, whereas the claim later recites “the same effective refractive index for the fundamental TE and TM polarization modes”, which appears to be a narrower limitation. If the phase-matched condition is due to the same effective refractive index, as a result of the inconsistent language quoted above, it is unclear whether the claim requires this condition for any TE and TM polarization modes or specifically the fundamental TE and TM polarization modes. Additionally, a comma should be added after “processes” because as the claim is currently written it appears that “comprising” modifies “processes” and not the device. For the purpose of examination, the claim is interpreted as requiring the phase matched condition between the fundamental TE and TM polarization modes in nonreciprocal polarization rotation processes and a width for the same refractive index for the fundamental TE and TM polarization modes.
Regarding claim 2: “wherein the optical waveguide consists of a periodic arrangement of consecutive wide width and narrow width waveguides compared to the waveguide width of the same effective index of the TE and TM polarization modes at the propagating optical signal wavelength to satisfy the overall phase matching condition between the two polarization modes” is unclear because it appears to be contradictory to a limitation of claim 1, from which it depends. Claim 1 requires that the waveguide have a width for the same effective refractive index for the fundamental TE and TM polarization modes at the wavelength of optical signals propagating along the waveguide. Due to the phrase “wherein the optical waveguide consists of consecutive wide width and narrow width waveguides”, claim 2 appears to require the waveguide have only two widths, since “consists of” is a transition phrase indicating a closed set. Even if the claim used the open-ended term “comprises” rather than “consists of” the claim would still be unclear because it does not make clear the structural relationship between the phase matching width waveguide and the narrower and wider width waveguides. One additional issue with this language is that it says that the waveguide consists of a plurality of waveguides, which is itself unclear. For the purpose of examination, this is interpreted according to Fig. 6, which shows that the narrower widths and the wider widths are separated by tapered sections, which include all widths between the narrower and wider widths, including the width for providing the same effective refractive index.
Regarding claim 4: “wherein the optical waveguide is composed of rib waveguide(s) having a wider width in the lower region and a narrow width in the upper area” is unclear because it also suggests that the optical waveguide is composed of a plurality of waveguides. It is also unclear because “the lower region” and “the upper area” lack proper antecedent basis, and because it is unclear how the narrow width and the wide width relate to the width of the optical waveguide required for phase matching recited in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, the claim is understood to require the waveguide to a rib shape with at least two different widths, which may or may not be the same as the width required by claim 1.
Regarding claim 6: “wherein a buffer layer is included between the optical waveguide and the magneto-optic film to enhance the crystallization process of the MO film depending on the crystallization properties of the MO film” is unclear. What depends on the crystallization properties of the MO film? Does it mean that a buffer layer is optional, i.e. only provided when the MO film has certain crystallization properties? That is suggested in paragraph 0044 (citing the PG Publication of the present application). Therefore, for the purpose of examination, the buffer layer is considered to be optional, included when it is needed to enhance the crystallization process of the magneto-optic film. Examiner also notes that the claim should properly introduce the abbreviation “MO” in the claim, such as in parentheses after “magneto-optic”, and “the magneto-optic film” and “the MO film” lack proper antecedent basis because claim 1 recites “magneto-optic films”. For the purpose of examination, the buffer layer is not considered to be required by the claim since its presence appears to depend on undefined “crystallization properties of the MO film”.
Regarding claim 7: “wherein the phase-matched nonreciprocal polarization-rotation optical waveguide device is included as a part of a planar optical waveguide device which consists of optical waveguide part of high refractive index surrounded by clads of relatively low refractive index” is unclear. The phrase “is included as a part of” is incompatible with the planar optical waveguide device “which consists of optical waveguide part… surrounded by clads”. Are these the same optical waveguide and cladding layers claimed in claim 1? If so, they should be labelled as “the optical waveguide” and “the cladding layers” for proper antecedent basis. Additionally, if “high refractive index” and “relatively low refractive index” are repeating the limitations recited in claim 1, the same language should be used to make clear that the refractive index requirements are the same as previously recited. Furthermore, if the planar optical waveguide device is identical to the phase-matched nonreciprocal polarization-rotation optical waveguide device, then what does it mean to be “included as part of” the device? Otherwise, the planar optical waveguide device cannot be said to “consist of” the optical waveguide and the cladding layers, since it must additionally contain other features.
Also regarding claim 7: “the boundary of the magneto-optic film and thin buffer layer” is unclear because claim 1 recites “magneto-optic films” and does not recite a thin buffer layer. Therefore, there is no prior suggestion of a boundary between a magneto-optic film and a thin buffer layer, so the boundary lacks proper antecedent basis. Furthermore, “thin” is a relative term that renders the term indefinite because “thin” is not defined and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Also regarding claim 7: It is also unclear what a “titled angle” is. Does applicant mean “tilted angle”?
Regarding claims 2, 4, and 6-7: Dependent claims 2, 4, and 6-7 inherently contain all of the deficiencies of any base and/or intervening claims from which they depend.
Regarding claim 7: The scope of claim 7 is unclear as discussed above. As a result, a meaningful formulation of art rejections cannot be done at this time. See MPEP 2173.06 II, 2nd paragraph:
… where there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of a claim, it would not be proper to reject such a claim on the basis of prior art. … a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims.
Therefore, claim 7 has not been further considered with respect to prior art. This is not an indication of allowable subject matter.
Note: The following rejections are based upon the claims as best understood by Examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dammann et al. (US Patent No. 4,746,182; hereinafter Dammann).
Regarding claim 1: Dammann disclosesA phase-matched nonreciprocal polarization-rotation optical waveguide device to have the phase-matched condition between TE and TM polarization modes in nonreciprocal polarization rotation processes (see abstract and summary of the invention) comprising: an optical waveguide (Fig. 1, core layer 1) of relatively high refractive index for optical signal transmission; cladding layers surrounding the above optical waveguide (Fig. 1, cladding layers 4 and 5); one or two side cladding layers of the above optical waveguide composed of magneto-optic films of relatively low refractive index (col. 3, lines 48-52); the above optical waveguide has a width for the same effective refractive index for the fundamental TE and TM polarization modes at the wavelength of optical signals propagating along the waveguide (as shown in Fig. 1, the optical waveguide has a width and col. 2, lines 46-61 teach that the difference in the propagation constants between TE and TM are made to equal 0, which means that they have the same effective refractive index; therefore, the waveguide has a width for the same effective refractive index for the fundamental TE and TM modes; finally, Examiner notes that the claim does not limit the width to particular values, and since the prior art discloses a structure identical to the claimed structure, this property is presumed to be inherent).
Regarding the presumed inherency: When a structure recited in a reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.01. Dammann teaches a device that is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, therefore the claimed property of “the same effective refractive index for the fundamental TE and TM modes” is presumed to be inherent. The burden is on the applicant to show that the prior art device does not inherently possess the claimed properties. See MPEP 2112.01. The examiner notes that if the claimed structure does not inherently possess the claimed properties, then the claims would be incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections necessary to clearly and precisely define the invention, wherein the structure necessary to provide the claimed properties is essential.
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2017/0102565; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1: Kim disclosesA phase-matched nonreciprocal polarization-rotation optical waveguide device to have the phase-matched condition between TE and TM polarization modes in nonreciprocal polarization rotation processes (see abstract) comprising: an optical waveguide of relatively high refractive index for optical signal transmission (Fig. 1, core comprising 120, 130, 210, 410, 310, and 121); cladding layers surrounding the above optical waveguide (see paragraph 0040 and Fig. 2B, lower clad layers 110 and 220); one or two side cladding layers of the above optical waveguide composed of magneto-optic films of relatively low refractive index (Fig. 3A, upper clad layer 310 of a magneto-optic material, see paragraph 0045);
Regarding the limitation “the above optical waveguide has a width for the same effective refractive index for the fundamental TE and TM polarization modes at the wavelength of optical signals propagating along the waveguide”: When a structure recited in a reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.01. Kim teaches a device that is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, therefore the claimed property of “the same effective refractive index for the fundamental TE and TM modes” is presumed to be inherent. The burden is on the applicant to show that the prior art device does not inherently possess the claimed properties. See MPEP 2112.01. The examiner notes that if the claimed structure does not inherently possess the claimed properties, then the claims would be incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections necessary to clearly and precisely define the invention, wherein the structure necessary to provide the claimed properties is essential.
Regarding claim 2: Kim disclosesThe phase-matched nonreciprocal polarization-rotation optical waveguide device of claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the optical waveguide consists of a periodic arrangement of consecutive wide width and narrow width waveguides compared to the waveguide width of the same effective index of the TE and TM polarization modes at the propagating optical signal wavelength to satisfy the overall phase matching condition between the two polarization modes (see Fig. 1, consecutive narrow width and wide width waveguides with tapers spanning the widths between form the waveguides with the phase matched condition, therefore containing waveguides with narrower and wider widths compared to a waveguide width of the same effective index of the TE and TM polarization modes and satisfying the overall phase matching condition).
Regarding claim 4: Kim disclosesThe phase-matched nonreciprocal polarization-rotation optical waveguide device of claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the optical waveguide is composed of rib waveguide(s) having a wider width in the lower region and a narrow width in the upper area (see Fig. 2A).
Claims 1, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokoi (US 2010/0307678; hereinafter Yokoi).
Regarding claim 1: Yokoi disclosesA phase-matched nonreciprocal polarization-rotation optical waveguide device to have the phase-matched condition between TE and TM polarization modes in nonreciprocal polarization rotation processes (see Fig. 5a and paragraph 0046) comprising: an optical waveguide of relatively high refractive index for optical signal transmission (Fig. 5a, waveguide); cladding layers surrounding the above optical waveguide (Fig. 5a, thin buffer layer); one or two side cladding layers of the above optical waveguide composed of magneto-optic films of relatively low refractive index (Fig. 5a, magneto-optical material layer);
Regarding the limitation “the above optical waveguide has a width for the same effective refractive index for the fundamental TE and TM polarization modes at the wavelength of optical signals propagating along the waveguide”: When a structure recited in a reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.01. Yokoi teaches a device that is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, therefore the claimed property of “the same effective refractive index for the fundamental TE and TM modes” is presumed to be inherent. The burden is on the applicant to show that the prior art device does not inherently possess the claimed properties. See MPEP 2112.01. The examiner notes that if the claimed structure does not inherently possess the claimed properties, then the claims would be incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections necessary to clearly and precisely define the invention, wherein the structure necessary to provide the claimed properties is essential.
Regarding claim 4: Yokoi disclosesThe phase-matched nonreciprocal polarization-rotation optical waveguide device of claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the optical waveguide is composed of rib waveguide(s) having a wider width in the lower region and a narrow width in the upper area (see Fig. 5a, rib waveguide has a wider width in the lower region and a narrow width in the upper area).
Regarding claim 6: Yokoi disclosesThe phase-matched nonreciprocal polarization-rotation optical waveguide device of claim 1 (as applied above), wherein a buffer layer is included between the optical waveguide and the magneto-optic film to enhance the crystallization process of the MO film depending on the crystallization properties of the MO film (Fig. 5a, thin buffer layer).
Conclusion
/KIRSTEN D. ENDRESEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874