DETAILED ACTION
This application has been examined. Claims 1-27 are pending. Claim 28 is cancelled.
Making Final
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection.
The claim amendments regarding -- ‘receiving smashed data generated at a cut layer ’ -- clearly change the literal scope of the independent and dependent claims and/or the range of equivalents for such claims. The said amendments alter the scope of the claims but do not overcome the disclosure by the prior art as shown below.
The Examiner is presenting new grounds for rejection as necessitated by the claim amendments and is thus making this action FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection.
While Balakrishnan-Sundararaman substantially disclosed the claimed invention Balakrishnan-Sundararaman does not disclose (re. Claim 1) ‘receiving smashed data generated at a cut layer’.
Storm Figure 2,Column 7 Lines 1-25 disclosed wherein Split layer(S) refers to the layer (the cut layer) where A and B are split. In FIG. 2, SA represents a split layer or data sent from A to B and SB represents a split layer sent from B to A.
Storm disclosed (re. Claim 1) ‘receiving smashed data (Storm-Column 26 Lines 25-45, The activation values or smashed data of this network (not the raw data) are then sent to the model owner 1404 to continue the prediction process using the rest of the model Ws 1410. The term smashed data refers to the activation values that are transferred between the model parts… a first smashed data 1422 is provided from the first part or first portion of the model 1408. The third portion of the model Ws 1410 generates, based on the first smashed data, second smashed data 1424 which is transmitted back to the user device 1402. ) generated at a cut layer’.(Storm- Figure 2,Column 7 Lines 1-25 ,The clients 206, 208, 210 in their respective turn do a forward step on the model A and sends the output of A (i.e., activations at S only or SApplicant (206B), SA2 (208B), SAN 210B)) to the server 202 in addition to the required labels, Column 14 Lines 65, The training of the network is done by a sequence of distributed training processes. The forward propagation and the back-propagation can take place as follows. With the raw data, a client (say client 702) trains the client-side network 702A up to a certain layer of the network, which can be called the cut layer or the split layer, and sends the activations of the cut layer to the server 710.)
Balakrishnan and Storm are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding parallel computing tasks accomplished using clustering mechanisms. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Storm into Balakrishnan. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable a multi-modal artificial intelligence (MMAI) approach which reduces the computational requirements and communication overhead of other approaches. Additionally, the training speed is much faster and the process maintains a much higher privacy in the data, including the fact that the model stays private as well.(Storm-Column 13 Lines 5-10 )
The Applicant presents the following argument(s) [in italics]:
… The OA equates 'model updates (such as a gradient update)' with the claimed 'smashed data.' However, a person skilled in the art of AI training would understand these as mutually exclusive concepts.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
The Balakrishnan model updates that are generated by the client node and further transmitted to the server are equivalent to the claimed ‘smashed data’ .
Priority
This application claims benefits of priority from PCT Application PCT/CA2022/050487 filed March 30, 2022.
The effective date of the claims described in this application is March 30, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11,14-24,27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balakrishnan (USPGPUB 20230177349) further in view of Sundararaman (US Patent 11176483) further in view of Storm (US Patent 12388799)
Regarding Claim 1
Balakrishnan Paragraph 116 disclosed wherein federated learning, where a global model is trained with coordination with a federation of client computing nodes/client nodes/clients while keeping the training data local at the clients is one of the problems under consideration herein. The federated learning protocol iteratively allows clients to download a centrally trained artificial intelligence/machine-learning model (or model) from a server, such as a MEC server, an edge server or a cloud server, update it with their own data and upload the model updates (such as a gradient update) back to the server.
Balakrishnan Paragraph 172 disclosed wherein central server utilizes a clustering algorithm based on the clients' data probability distributions to determine cluster groups.
Balakrishnan disclosed (re. Claim 1) a method comprising:
distributing, by a network controller,(Balakrishnan-Figure 12,Paragraph 121, a MEC server or controller node) a client-side model to a first plurality of client devices in a first cluster; (Balakrishnan-Paragraph 116, allows clients to download a centrally trained artificial intelligence/machine-learning model (or model) from a server)
receiving, by a server, at least one transmission from each of the first plurality of client devices, each transmission including smashed data and information indicative of data used by a respective client device to generate the smashed data; (Balakrishnan-Paragraph 116, allows clients to download a centrally trained artificial intelligence/machine-learning model (or model) from a server, such as a MEC server, an edge server or a cloud server, update it with their own data and upload the model updates (such as a gradient update) back to the server)
generating, by the server, gradients associated with the smashed data based at least in part on the transmissions from the first plurality of client devices; (Balakrishnan-Paragraph 116, update it with their own data and upload the model updates (such as a gradient update) back to the server…server then aggregates updates from multiple clients to update the global model)
transmitting, by the server, the gradients associated with the smashed data to the first plurality of client devices; (Balakrishnan-Figure 12,Paragraph 122, a client or server may perform machine learning to obtain updated values for various nodes of the NN)
receiving, by the network controller, an updated client-side model from each of the first plurality of client devices;(Balakrishnan-Paragraph 121, each client computing node 1202 fetches or otherwise obtains a global model 1204 from a central server 1208 (e.g., a MEC server) coupled to an access point 1210 (e.g., a base station), updates aspects of the global model (e.g., model parameters or weights used in the global model, e.g., NN node weights) using its local data or data provided by the central server (e.g., a subset of a large training dataset D), and communicates the updates to the global model to the central server 1208.)
generating, by the network controller, an aggregated client-side model based, at least in part, on the received updated client-side models from the first plurality of client devices; (Balakrishnan-Paragraph 121, central server 1208 then aggregates (e.g., averages) the received updates and obtains a final global model based on the aggregated updates (e.g., updates the model weight values based on an average of the weight values received from the clients) and
While Balakrishnan substantially disclosed the claimed invention Balakrishnan does not disclose (re. Claim 1)
distributing, by the network controller, the aggregated client-side model to a second plurality of client devices in a second cluster.
Sundararaman Column 53 Lines 15-25 disclosed a system configured to construct, for each of the identified computational clusters 1-clstr, 2-clstr, and according to the high-level description 1-HL, a sub-task description, such as for example a job graph, which is specifically adapted to the type of compute elements of the computational cluster, and in which all of the sub-task descriptions constructed are operative to accomplish jointly the specific computational task.
Sundararaman disclosed (re. Claim 1) distributing the aggregated client-side model to a second plurality of client devices in a second cluster.( Sundararaman-Column 53 Lines 15-25,construct, for each of the identified computational clusters 1-clstr, 2-clstr, and according to the high-level description 1-HL, a sub-task description, such as for example a job graph, which is specifically adapted to the type of compute elements of the computational cluster, and in which all of the sub-task descriptions constructed are operative to accomplish jointly the specific computational task.)
Balakrishnan and Sundararaman are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding parallel computing tasks accomplished using clustering mechanisms. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Sundararaman into Balakrishnan. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable adapt an incoming stream of data for distributed processing and enable clustering of computation nodes according to quality of communication as measured by Bit Error Rate, latency, or some other measurement (Sundararaman-Column 51 Lines 5-15) thereby reducing latency in conjunction with the distributed processing of the incoming stream of data 980-stm.
While Balakrishnan-Sundararaman substantially disclosed the claimed invention Balakrishnan-Sundararaman does not disclose (re. Claim 1) ‘receiving smashed data generated at a cut layer’.
Storm Figure 2,Column 7 Lines 1-25 disclosed wherein Split layer(S) refers to the layer (the cut layer) where A and B are split. In FIG. 2, SA represents a split layer or data sent from A to B and SB represents a split layer sent from B to A.
Storm disclosed (re. Claim 1) ‘receiving smashed data (Storm-Column 26 Lines 25-45, The activation values or smashed data of this network (not the raw data) are then sent to the model owner 1404 to continue the prediction process using the rest of the model Ws 1410. The term smashed data refers to the activation values that are transferred between the model parts… a first smashed data 1422 is provided from the first part or first portion of the model 1408. The third portion of the model Ws 1410 generates, based on the first smashed data, second smashed data 1424 which is transmitted back to the user device 1402. ) generated at a cut layer’.(Storm- Figure 2,Column 7 Lines 1-25 ,The clients 206, 208, 210 in their respective turn do a forward step on the model A and sends the output of A (i.e., activations at S only or SApplicant (206B), SA2 (208B), SAN 210B)) to the server 202 in addition to the required labels, Column 14 Lines 65, The training of the network is done by a sequence of distributed training processes. The forward propagation and the back-propagation can take place as follows. With the raw data, a client (say client 702) trains the client-side network 702A up to a certain layer of the network, which can be called the cut layer or the split layer, and sends the activations of the cut layer to the server 710.)
Balakrishnan and Storm are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding parallel computing tasks accomplished using clustering mechanisms. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Storm into Balakrishnan. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable a multi-modal artificial intelligence (MMAI) approach which reduces the computational requirements and communication overhead of other approaches. Additionally, the training speed is much faster and the process maintains a much higher privacy in the data, including the fact that the model stays private as well.(Storm-Column 13 Lines 5-10 )
Regarding Claim 14
Claim 14 (re. apparatus) recites substantially similar limitations as Claim 1. Claim 14 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 27
Claim 27 (re. non-transitory computer readable medium) recites substantially similar limitations as Claim 1. Claim 27 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2
Balakrishnan-Sundararaman disclosed (re. Claim 2) wherein the server and the network controller are a single device. (Balakrishnan-Figure 12,Paragraph 121, a MEC server or controller node)
Regarding Claim 3,16
Balakrishnan-Sundararaman-Storm disclosed (re. Claim 3,16) wherein the information about data used to generate the smashed data includes one or more labels of data sampled by a client device of the first plurality of client devices.(Balakrishnan-Paragraph 265, wherein the dataset stored on the client and the second dataset each include a set of training examples and a set of label values associated with the training examples)
Regarding Claim 4,17
Balakrishnan-Sundararaman-Storm disclosed (re. Claim 4,17) wherein distributing the client-side model includes transmitting the client-side model to the first plurality of client devices in the first cluster.( Sundararaman-Column 53 Lines 15-25,construct, for each of the identified computational clusters 1-clstr, 2-clstr, and according to the high-level description 1-HL, a sub-task description, such as for example a job graph, which is specifically adapted to the type of compute elements of the computational cluster, and in which all of the sub-task descriptions constructed are operative to accomplish jointly the specific computational task.)
Regarding Claim 5,18
Balakrishnan-Sundararaman-Storm disclosed (re. Claim 5,18) wherein generating the gradients associated with the smashed data includes: training, by the server, (Balakrishnan-Paragraph 117, training may be performed via a supervised machine learning problem (e.g., a GD algorithm) based on a dataset) a server-side model using the smashed data from each of the first plurality of client devices; (Balakrishnan-Paragraph 116, update it with their own data and upload the model updates (such as a gradient update) back to the server…server then aggregates updates from multiple clients to update the global model) and calculating, by the server, the gradients associated with the smashed data associated with a cut layer based at least in part on the trained server-side model.(Balakrishnan-Paragraph 256, evaluate a gradient expression for the ML model based on a second dataset and an updated set of weights received from the client compute nodes)
Regarding Claim 6,19
Balakrishnan-Sundararaman-Storm disclosed (re. Claim 6,19) wherein generating the aggregated client-side model includes generating the aggregated client-side model using a weighted average of the received updated client-side models, (Balakrishnan-Paragraph 274, meta-updated set of weights are generated ) a weight in the weighted average based, at least in part, on a number of data samples used to generate the received updated client-side models.(Balakrishnan-Paragraph 200,Paragraph 227, a batch size of 100 training examples may approximate the gradient estimates relatively well for purely gradient-based algorithms.)
Regarding Claim 7,20
Balakrishnan-Sundararaman-Storm disclosed (re. Claim 7,20) prior to distributing the client-side model to the first plurality of client devices in the first cluster, determining, by the network controller, a client device clustering scheme, ( Balakrishnan-Paragraph 172,central server utilizes a clustering algorithm based on the clients' data probability distributions to determine cluster groups.) the client device scheme including at least assigning the first plurality of client devices to the first cluster and assigning the second plurality of client devices to the second cluster.( Balakrishnan-Paragraph 172,central server utilizes a clustering algorithm based on the clients' data probability distributions to determine cluster groups.)
Regarding Claim 8,21
Balakrishnan-Sundararaman-Storm disclosed (re. Claim 8,21) wherein determining the client device clustering scheme includes determining the client device clustering scheme based at least in part on communication link conditions (Sundararaman-Paragraph 258, the elements in a cluster might be in locational proximity to each other, or they may allow a certain kind of communication, or they may allow a certain quantity of communication (throughput) among themselves or with the rest of the system 990, or they may allow a certain quality of communication as measured by Bit Error Rate, latency, or some other measurement, or they may be clustered because of other criteria such as storing or accessing together a certain type of information, or some combination of the foregoing criteria.) and computing capabilities associated with one or more client devices from the first plurality of client devices.(Balakrishnan-Paragraph 228, average rate over the wireless link can be estimated and may be utilized as a state parameter input to the policy)
Regarding Claim 9,22
Balakrishnan-Sundararaman-Storm disclosed (re. Claim 9,22) wherein the first cluster and the second cluster have different sizes.(Sundararaman-Column 54 Lines 35-45, the number of compute elements in each of the computational clusters 1-clstr, 2-clstr is determined so as to effectively perform an expected sub-task description of the high-level description , Balakrishnan-Paragraph 188, The size of each client's subset or “batch” may be based on the time taken to compute an update at that client. By determining different batch sizes for the clients based on their compute abilities, for example, the time taken by each client to perform its gradient computation/weight update may be similar, thereby reducing the overall time taken to achieve convergence.)
Regarding Claim 10,23
Balakrishnan-Sundararaman-Storm disclosed (re. Claim 10,23) wherein transmitting the gradients associated with the smashed data includes transmitting the gradients associated with the smashed data via a wireless communication network.(Balakrishnan-Figure 12,Paragraph 116, Federated learning over wireless edge networks)
Regarding Claim 11,24
Balakrishnan-Sundararaman-Storm disclosed (re. Claim 11,24) prior to distributing the client-side model to the first plurality of client devices in the first cluster, determining, by the network controller, a resource management allocation between client devices of the first plurality of client devices. (Sundararaman-Column 54 Lines 35-45, the number of compute elements in each of the computational clusters 1-clstr, 2-clstr is determined so as to effectively perform an expected sub-task description of the high-level description , Balakrishnan-Paragraph 188, The size of each client's subset or “batch” may be based on the time taken to compute an update at that client. By determining different batch sizes for the clients based on their compute abilities, for example, the time taken by each client to perform its gradient computation/weight update may be similar, thereby reducing the overall time taken to achieve convergence.)
Regarding Claim 15
Balakrishnan-Sundararaman-Storm disclosed (re. Claim 15) wherein the apparatus is configured as one or more of an edge server, an access point and a network controller. (Balakrishnan-Figure 12,Paragraph 121, a MEC server or controller node)
Claim(s) 12-13,25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balakrishnan (USPGPUB 20230177349) further in view of Sundararaman (US Patent 11176483) further in view of Storm (US Patent 12388799) further in view of Bhattad (USPGPUB 2006/0268791) further in view of Xu (USPGPUB 2023/0180272)
Regarding Claim 12,25
Balakrishnan-Sundararaman-Storm disclosed (re. Claim 12,25) wherein determining a resource management allocation includes: collecting, by the network controller, at least one of channel conditions and computing capabilities of client devices in the first plurality of client devices; (Sundararaman-Paragraph 258, the elements in a cluster might be in locational proximity to each other, or they may allow a certain kind of communication, or they may allow a certain quantity of communication (throughput) among themselves or with the rest of the system 990, or they may allow a certain quality of communication as measured by Bit Error Rate, latency, or some other measurement, or they may be clustered because of other criteria such as storing or accessing together a certain type of information, or some combination of the foregoing criteria.)
While Balakrishnan-Sundararaman substantially disclosed the claimed invention Balakrishnan-Sundararaman does not disclose (re. Claim 12,25)
allocating, by the network controller, at least one subcarrier to each client device in the first plurality of client devices to form an allocation of subcarriers; calculating, by the network controller, a latency associated with the allocation of subcarriers to the first plurality of client devices; and assigning, by the network controller, an additional subcarrier to a client device of the first plurality of client devices based at least in part on the latency associated with the allocation of subcarriers.
Bhattad Paragraph 70-71 disclosed wherein BSs 105 can assign or schedule transmission resources (e.g., in the form of time-frequency resource blocks (RB)) for downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) transmissions in the network 100.
Bhattad Paragraph 88 disclosed wherein uplink transmissions are required to meet certain bandwidth (BW) occupancy criteria (e.g., 80% BW occupancy). In order to meet the BW occupancy requirement, a BS may configure a UE to extend the frequency occupancy from one RB 210 to K RBs 210 using a frequency interlace 208.
Bhattad disclosed (re. Claim 12,25) allocating, by the network controller, at least one subcarrier to each client device in the first plurality of client devices to form an allocation of subcarriers; (Bhattad-Paragraph 78, A BS 105 may dynamically assign a UE 115 to operate over a certain BWP (e.g., a certain portion of the system BW).)
assigning, by the network controller, an additional subcarrier to a client device of the first plurality of client devices based on bandwidth (BW) occupancy criteria associated with the allocation of subcarriers.(Bhattad-Paragraph 88, a BS may configure a UE to extend the frequency occupancy from one RB 210 to K RBs 210 using a frequency interlace 208.)
Balakrishnan,Sundararaman and Bhattad are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding parallel computing tasks accomplished using clustering mechanisms. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Bhattad into Balakrishnan-Sundararaman. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable frequency distribution resulting in higher bandwidth occupancy. (Bhattad-Paragraph 84)
While Balakrishnan-Sundararaman-Bhattad substantially disclosed the claimed invention Balakrishnan-Sundararaman does not disclose (re. Claim 12,25)
calculating, by the network controller, a latency associated with the allocation of subcarriers to the first plurality of client devices; and
assigning, by the network controller, an additional subcarrier to a client device of the first plurality of client devices based at least in part on the latency associated with the allocation of subcarriers.
Xu Paragraph 133 disclosed wherein the size of the non-competitive resource that is specific to each device cluster may be positively relevant to the channel busy rate of that device cluster. The channel busy rate may indicate a degree of communication busyness within a device cluster, so, for a device cluster with a higher channel busy rate, more non-competitive resources may be allocated.
Xu disclosed (re. Claim 12,25) calculating, by the network controller, a latency associated with the allocation of resource to the first plurality of client devices;(Xu-Paragraph 133, channel busy rate may indicate a degree of communication busyness within a device cluster) and
assigning, by the network controller, an additional resources to a client device of the first plurality of client devices based at least in part on the latency associated with the allocation of resource.(Xu-Paragraph 133, for a device cluster with a higher channel busy rate, more non-competitive resources may be allocated)
Balakrishnan,Sundararaman and Xu are analogous art because they present concepts and practices regarding parallel computing tasks accomplished using clustering mechanisms. Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to combine Xu into Balakrishnan-Sundararaman-Bhattad. The motivation for the said combination would have been to enable resource allocation module 2032 to allocate non-competitive resources and/or the competitive resources only for active links. This may greatly reduce the number of links participating in resource competition, thereby reducing waiting latency for individual links (Xu-Paragraph 65)
Regarding Claim 13,26
Balakrishnan-Sundararaman-Bhattad-Xu disclosed (re. Claim 13,26) wherein the method further comprises determining whether there are further available subcarriers to assign and, if there are further available subcarriers to assign, repeating the steps of calculating the latency and assigning the additional subcarrier until all available subcarriers are assigned. (Xu-Paragraph 133, for a device cluster with a higher channel busy rate, more non-competitive resources may be allocated)
Conclusion
Examiner’s Note: In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREG C BENGZON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444