DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, in line 1, the limitation “the worksurface” is not clear if this is referring to the primary worksurface or the auxiliary worksurface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vonhausen et al. (US patent 4,612,863) (hereinafter Vonhausen).
Regarding claim 1, Vonhausen discloses a workstation comprising: an understructure (2, 5); a primary worksurface (3) supported by the understructure, wherein the primary worksurface comprises a front edge (edge opposite 27 in Fig. 1), a rear edge (edge adjacent 27 in Fig. 1) and opposite ends (Left & Right in Fig. 1), wherein the front and rear edges are spaced apart in a first direction and wherein the ends are spaced apart in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Fig. 1), wherein the primary worksurface is located at a first height adapted to accommodate a seated user positioned adjacent to and facing the front edge (Fig. 1); a support (29) extending upwardly from the primary worksurface; and an auxiliary worksurface (25) coupled to the support (Fig. 1) and vertically spaced from the primary worksurface (Fig. 1), wherein the auxiliary worksurface comprises a first edge (parallel to front edge in Fig. 1) spaced apart from a second edge (opposite front edge in Fig. 1) and a length, wherein the auxiliary worksurface is pivotable relative the primary worksurface between a use position (shown in solid lines in Fig. 1), wherein the first edge extends in the second direction and wherein at least a portion of the first edge overlies the front edge of the primary worksurface, and a stored position (shown in dashed lines in Fig. 1), wherein the first edge extends in the first direction, wherein the auxiliary worksurface is located at a second height adapted to accommodate a standing user positioned adjacent to and facing the first edge when the auxiliary worksurface is in the use position (Fig. 1).
Vonhausen does not disclose the support extending upwardly at a location closer to the front edge than the rear edge. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Vonhausen wherein the support extending upwardly at a location closer to the front edge than the rear edge, because this arrangement would have moved the auxiliary work surface closer to a user of the desk and this location would have been obvious to try with a reasonable chance of success; additionally, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 2, Vonhausen, as modified, teaches a workstation wherein the auxiliary worksurface is pivotably mounted to the support about a vertical axis (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Vonhausen, as modified, teaches a workstation wherein the auxiliary worksurface is translatable relative to the vertical axis within a horizontal plane (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Vonhausen, as modified, teaches a workstation wherein the understructure comprises a post (2), wherein the support is mounted to the post.
Regarding claim 12, Vonhausen, as modified, teaches the workstation as claimed. Vonhausen, as modified, does not teach wherein the support is disposed over the front edge of the primary worksurface. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Vonhausen wherein the support is disposed over the front edge of the primary worksurface, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-23 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it gives a general state of the art.
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637