DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: in step e), replace “identifier (104)” with --identifer--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haapanen (US 8,891,106 B1).
Regarding claim 1: Haapanen discloses a) sending a print job to a print server together with a user identifier (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30), b) an RFID reader reading a user print credential from an RFID device or mobile device (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30), c) transmitting by the RFID reader the user print credential together with its own unique reader identifier to the print server or an assignment server (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30), d) selecting by the print server at least one print job based on the user print credential with at least one matching user identifier (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30), e) selecting by the print server a network printer based on a previously established assignment between the unique reader identifier and the network printer (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30), f) sending the selected at least one print job by the print server to the selected network printer (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30).
Regarding claim 2: Haapanen satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Haapanen further discloses the user identifier is at least one of UUID, a user name, a login name, and any unique identifier of a user and/or user group (In the case in which a response from a printer is received (S1004, Yes), the subnet proxy 105 processes the response (step S1007) and checks whether the responding printer is accessible by the user (step S1008). For example, the subnet proxy can communicate with a device management apparatus (e.g. 211 in FIG. 2) or a directory service, and/or refer to information (e.g., as shown in FIG. 14) indicating functions accessible to the user and maintained by another device, to determine whether the user is authorized to use the responding printer., col. 12, ln. 32-41), and/or the user print credential is at least one of UUID, a user name, a login name, and any unique identifier of a user and/or user group (When a user uses terminal 101 to access a mobile application (app) which has processing performed by session control apparatus 102 of FIG. 1A, the user logs in through a user interface (e.g., as shown in FIG. 15) by inputting user credentials (step S901). These user credentials may include a username and password. For example, the user may press the "keyboard" button on the user interface to display a keyboard to input the username and password. In addition, the user may press the "Voice Login" to alternatively use voice recognition for inputting the user credentials. It should be noted that the user be presented with other alternative options such as fingerprint reading or retina scanning for inputting user credentials. As shown in FIG. 15, these alternatives may be presented to the user simultaneously in order to offer the user different options of providing user credentials., col. 11, ln. 40-54), and/or the unique reader identifier is at least one of a UUID, a network address, an IP address, a MAC address, and a DevEUI in a LORA network (In another example, each subnet that might contain mobile devices that require printing services contains a subnet proxy (which as discussed herein, may be a physical appliance and/or a software implementation on a computer) that advertises printing services. Further, a central database allows mobile users to authenticate using either a web page or an app running on the mobile device. Authentication can be performed with reference to a directory service (e.g., LDAP or Active Directory server) for internal users, and guest users can authenticate by using a guest access code. Once authenticated, the user's credentials will be associated with the mobile device (e.g., MAC address) until the login session expires. When a zero configuration approach (such as using the Bonjour protocol) is employed, the location of the authentication server can also be advertised, removing the need to configure or know the address of this server. Although the examples discussed supra associate a user with a printer, it should be appreciated that groups of users (e.g., LDAP or AD groups) may be associated with groups of output devices (e.g., by a device management server, to authorize the use of those devices by that group of users., col. 16, ln. 24-44).
Regarding claim 3: Haapanen satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Haapanen further discloses wherein step d) includes using at least one table and/or database holding user print credentials and user identifiers (Figs. 13 and 14).
Regarding claim 4: Haapanen satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Haapanen further discloses in step e) the selecting is made by using at least one table and/or database holding information relating to the assignments of RFID readers to printers (When the user selects the virtual queue to which to submit a print job, the print job is instead sent to the job processing apparatus 311 where it is stored in the job repository 312 as one of the registered print jobs (shown notionally in FIG. 24) to be processed. For example, the job processing apparatus 311 receives the document "RicohPowerPoint.ppt" which was sent by the user (step S1901) and stores the print job in the job repository 312 (step S1902). At a later point in time, when the user is ready to obtain a print output, the user can select a printer from a list displayed by the user interface of the terminal or by scanning a barcode at such printer (S1903). Once the user has selected the printer, the user is presented with information regarding the selected printer. In the example shown in FIG. 22, the user has chosen Printer A and information (such as device name, model number, physical location, etc.) regarding "Printer A" is presented to the user through the user interface of terminal 101. The user may also be presented with information regarding the current settings (such as color, paper size, etc.) of the printer, when the user presses the Properties button to change the properties of Printer A., col. 14, ln. 15-35).
Regarding claim 12 Haapanen satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Haapanen further discloses a) assigning of an RFID reader to a network printer (In another exemplary embodiment, the user wants to send a print job (e.g., the document "RicohPowerPoint.ppt") to a printer at which the user has arrived without already having requested print service, or without having selected a printer from a list returned by the subnet proxy. In such example, the user may be standing in front of MFP 107 and can scan a barcode disposed on or near a main body of the MFP 107. For example, when the user uses the terminal, having a barcode scanning function, to scan the barcode (e.g., as shown in FIG. 25), the user effectively selects the MFP as a destination printer, and the document RicohPowerPoint.ppt is sent to the MFP 107. In FIG. 25, the barcode on or near the MFP 107 indicates an identifier of the MFP 107. When the terminal scans the barcode, the identifier is sent to the subnet proxy 105 to cause the subnet proxy 105 to send the document "RicohPowerPoint.ppt" to the "Printer C". Then, the user can enter job release information at the MFP 107 to obtain an output of the print job at the MFP 107., col. 13, ln. 52 through col. 14, ln. 2) according to claim 1, b) sending a print job to the print server together with a user credential (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30), c) authenticating at the RFID reader by reading the user credential from a mobile device (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30), d) transmitting by the RFID reader the user credential together with its own unique reader identifier to an authentication server, e) forwarding the unique reader identifier to the print server, after verification of the user credential by the authentication server (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30), f) sending the print job by the print server to the network printer based on the established assignment of step a) (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30).
Regarding claim 13: Haapanen satisfies all the elements of claim 12. Haapanen further discloses wherein all steps following step a) are repeated for every print job (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30).
Regarding claim 14: Haapanen satisfies all the elements of claim 12. Haapanen further discloses wherein the authentication server is part of the print server and/or part of the configuration server (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haapanen in view of Miller et al. (hereinafter Miller) (US 2021/0064725 A1).
Regarding claim 5: Haapanen discloses a) assigning a unique printer identifier to a printer , b) transmitting the unique printer identifier (The subnet proxy 205a communicates with the device management apparatus 200, in order to obtain the benefit of the device data maintained by the device management apparatus 200. For example, the subnet proxy 205a communicates a request along with user credentials received from the terminal 101 to the device management apparatus 200, and the device management apparatus determines, based on the user credentials, one or more printers that the user is authorized to use, and communicates a list, and/or other information (e.g., indicating device capabilities), of printers on the subnets, to the subnet proxy., col. 7, ln. 16-27) management apparatus 200, in order to obtain the benefit of the device data maintained by the device management apparatus 200. For example, the subnet proxy 205a communicates a request along with user credentials received from the terminal 101 to the device management apparatus 200, and the device management apparatus determines, based on the user credentials, one or more printers that the user is authorized to use, and communicates a list, and/or other information (e.g., indicating device capabilities), of printers on the subnets, to the subnet proxy., col. 7, ln. 16-27) mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30), (f) opening the unique link by the mobile device and transferring the credential to the mobile device and transferring the credential to the mobile device (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30) laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30) to the configuration server (The subnet proxy 205a communicates with the device management apparatus 200, in order to obtain the benefit of the device data maintained by the device management apparatus 200. For example, the subnet proxy 205a communicates a request along with user credentials received from the terminal 101 to the device management apparatus 200, and the device management apparatus determines, based on the user credentials, one or more printers that the user is authorized to use, and communicates a list, and/or other information (e.g., indicating device capabilities), of printers on the subnets, to the subnet proxy., col. 7, ln. 16-27), and i) establishing an assignment between the printer and the reader based on the unique printer identifier and the unique reader identifier Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30).
Haapanen fails to specifically address to a pass deployment center; by the pass deployment center; as a wallet pass so that it can be read via NFC.
Miller discloses to a pass deployment center (Fig. 2, digital pass management system 210); by the pass deployment center (Fig. 2, digital pass management system 210); as a wallet pass (Mobile device 11 also includes a digital or mobile wallet 12 (passbook, or the like) which is an electronic application that operates on mobile device 11. Mobile wallet 12 includes digital pass 13. Although digital pass 13 is shown as part of mobile wallet 12, it should be appreciated that digital pass 13 could be located in a different application operating on mobile device 11, or stored elsewhere such as part of an email, text, or the like., par. 21) so that it can be read via NFC (Image generator 235 generates an image for the digital pass and incorporate at least a portion of the ID information and or autofill formatted ID information into the image. In one embodiment, the image is editable only by the digital pass management system 210. In one embodiment the image is a computer scannable image that is generated as an identifier for the customer data file (or to include at least some of the ID information). Although in one embodiment, an image is generated, it should be appreciated that there may be an identification scheme other than an image that is used. For example, the image is a scannable code, a near field communication (NFC) protocol, a sound, or the like. In one embodiment, the image includes a token embedded within the image data. In one embodiment, the image is provided via a near field communication (NFC) between the mobile device 11 and the information requestor when digital pass 13 is accessed. Thus, the use of an image is provided as one embodiment as an example of a means of providing encryption, security, or the like., par. 31).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include to a pass deployment center; by the pass deployment center; as a wallet pass so that it can be read via NFC in order to provide encryption and security as taught by Miller (par. 31).
Regarding claim 6: Haapanen in view of Miller satisfy all the elements of claim 5. Haapanen further discloses wherein the configuration server is part of a print server (The subnet proxy 205a communicates with the device management apparatus 200, in order to obtain the benefit of the device data maintained by the device management apparatus 200. For example, the subnet proxy 205a communicates a request along with user credentials received from the terminal 101 to the device management apparatus 200, and the device management apparatus determines, based on the user credentials, one or more printers that the user is authorized to use, and communicates a list, and/or other information (e.g., indicating device capabilities), of printers on the subnets, to the subnet proxy., col. 7, ln. 16-27).
Regarding claim 7: Haapanen in view of Miller satisfy all the elements of claim 5. Haapanen further discloses including the following step before step a): a computer system showing at least a selection of printers and request a key user to select at least one of the selection of printers (FIG. 12 shows another process that may be performed by the subnet proxy, according to an exemplary embodiment. Once the user has access to a list of printing devices, the user may start printing from the terminal 101. In the example that the user has indicated (e.g., in the user interface display screen illustrated in FIG. 16) to print the document "RicohPowerPoint.ppt" and has received a list of printers from the subnet proxy (S1011 in FIG. 11), the user can specify or select one of the printers. From the list, the user can view the properties of each printer and has the option of selecting one of the printers to print from as illustrated in FIG. 17. For example, the user may want to find a printing device that is nearby. The user determines from the list of printing devices that there is a "Printer C" located in Room B99. The user walks over to Room B99 and locates Printer C. Once the user has located Printer C, the user selects Printer C to specify that the print job should be sent to Printer C. The subnet proxy 105 receives the print job (i.e. print RicohPowerPoint.ppt) from the user (step S1201) and determines whether the user's session is active or not (step S1202). In the case in which the session of the user is active (S1202, Yes), the subnet proxy 105 sends the document "RicohPowerPoint.ppt" to be outputted by Printer C (step S1204). In the case in which the session of the user has expired (S1202, no), the subnet proxy notifies the user that the session expired (e.g., in the user interface display screen illustrated in FIG. 18) and prompts the user to log in (step S1203)., col. 13, ln. 23-51).
Regarding claim 8: Haapanen in view of Miller satisfy all the elements of claim 5. Haapanen further discloses step b) further includes: the printer transmitting a unique printer identifier to a configuration server and the configuration server transmitting the unique printer identifier (The subnet proxy 205a communicates with the device management apparatus 200, in order to obtain the benefit of the device data maintained by the device management apparatus 200. For example, the subnet proxy 205a communicates a request along with user credentials received from the terminal 101 to the device management apparatus 200, and the device management apparatus determines, based on the user credentials, one or more printers that the user is authorized to use, and communicates a list, and/or other information (e.g., indicating device capabilities), of printers on the subnets, to the subnet proxy., col. 7, ln. 16-27) management apparatus 200. For example, the subnet proxy 205a communicates a request along with user credentials received from the terminal 101 to the device management apparatus 200, and the device management apparatus determines, based on the user credentials, one or more printers that the user is authorized to use, and communicates a list, and/or other information (e.g., indicating device capabilities), of printers on the subnets, to the subnet proxy., col. 7, ln. 16-27) and/or other information (e.g., indicating device capabilities), of printers on the subnets, to the subnet proxy., col. 7, ln. 16-27), step d) further includes: generating a machine-readable code from the unique link by the configuration server (The subnet proxy 205a communicates with the device management apparatus 200, in order to obtain the benefit of the device data maintained by the device management apparatus 200. For example, the subnet proxy 205a communicates a request along with user credentials received from the terminal 101 to the device management apparatus 200, and the device management apparatus determines, based on the user credentials, one or more printers that the user is authorized to use, and communicates a list, and/or other information (e.g., indicating device capabilities), of printers on the subnets, to the subnet proxy., col. 7, ln. 16-27) and printing and/or displaying the machine-readable code by the printer (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30).
Haapanen fails to specifically address to a pass deployment center; by the pass deployment center.
Miller discloses to a pass deployment center (Fig. 2, digital pass management system 210); by the pass deployment center (Fig. 2, digital pass management system 210).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include to a pass deployment center; by the pass deployment center in order to provide encryption and security as taught by Miller (par. 31).
Regarding claim 10: Haapanen in view of Miller satisfy all the elements of claim 5. Haapanen further discloses wherein step d) includes: generating the machine-readable code by the configuration server (The subnet proxy 205a communicates with the device management apparatus 200, in order to obtain the benefit of the device data maintained by the device management apparatus 200. For example, the subnet proxy 205a communicates a request along with user credentials received from the terminal 101 to the device management apparatus 200, and the device management apparatus determines, based on the user credentials, one or more printers that the user is authorized to use, and communicates a list, and/or other information (e.g., indicating device capabilities), of printers on the subnets, to the subnet proxy., col. 7, ln. 16-27) and sending the machine-readable code to the printer, or sending the unique link to the printer and generating the machine-readable code by the printer (Further, the user can use an app on the mobile device to read a barcode (e.g., QR code) applied to the output device, aiming the camera of the mobile device at the QR code. The app on the mobile device can read a QR code (or similar barcode etc), extract an identifier from the QR code, and then match that to a specific output device. The mobile app can then inform the subnet proxy, authentication server or another appropriate server and request the release of print jobs associated with the mobile device's MAC address and the output device's virtual print queue. The QR code-based print release mechanism could be utilized also with standard pull printing systems where print jobs are conventionally submitted from desktops, laptops and other workstations. By associating credentials with the mobile device (e.g., in address-based sessions described herein, or by user credentials entered on the app on the mobile device), a user could release the waiting print jobs at any output device without the need for an embedded application or hardware device at the output device., col. 17, ln. 13-30).
Regarding claim 11: Haapanen in view of Miller satisfy all the elements of claim 5. Haapanen further discloses wherein step i) includes: establishing the assignment between the printer and the reader by the configuration server and/or by the print server (In another exemplary embodiment, the user wants to send a print job (e.g., the document "RicohPowerPoint.ppt") to a printer at which the user has arrived without already having requested print service, or without having selected a printer from a list returned by the subnet proxy. In such example, the user may be standing in front of MFP 107 and can scan a barcode disposed on or near a main body of the MFP 107. For example, when the user uses the terminal, having a barcode scanning function, to scan the barcode (e.g., as shown in FIG. 25), the user effectively selects the MFP as a destination printer, and the document RicohPowerPoint.ppt is sent to the MFP 107. In FIG. 25, the barcode on or near the MFP 107 indicates an identifier of the MFP 107. When the terminal scans the barcode, the identifier is sent to the subnet proxy 105 to cause the subnet proxy 105 to send the document "RicohPowerPoint.ppt" to the "Printer C". Then, the user can enter job release information at the MFP 107 to obtain an output of the print job at the MFP 107., col. 13, ln. 52 through col. 14, ln. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664
08 July 2026