DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority Status
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an Application Data Sheet filed in South Korea on 13 September 2024. It is noted, however, that Applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR 10-2024-0023742 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20080281516 A1 (“Cummings”).
Claims 1-10 is/are direct to the same invention as Claims 11-20 as well as repeats the subject matter of Claims 11-20; therefore, Claims 1-10 is/are rejected in like manner.
As to Claim 11, Cummings discloses A navigation apparatus (e.g., “vehicle navigation system”) comprising (see at least Abstract):
a communication unit (see at least [0034]-[0037]. Cummings’ invention operates via a “wireless client-server” interaction thus both end-user client device and back-end server have connectivity features.);
a display unit (e.g., “touchscreen”; see at least [0024]); and
a controller operably connected to the communication unit and the display unit and configured to (see at least [0002], [0024], [0034]-[0037]. Cummings’ invention is directed to “computerized navigation” thus it operates through a combination of both computing hardware and software logic and these elements act as a controller.):
obtain, in response that a destination is obtained, route information related to at least one route based on predetermined criteria from a current location (see triangle icon in Fig. 1-2 and 4 which represents current location) to the destination (see at least [0013]-[0014], [0024]-[0026], [0034]-[0037], and Fig. 1-4 with associated text.);
match each of the at least one route with corresponding route-specific advertising information, in response that route-specific advertising information is obtained based on the route information via the communication unit (see at least [0013]-[0014], [0024]-[0026], [0034]-[0037], and Fig. 1-4 with associated text.), and
output the matched route-specific advertising information via the display unit (see at least [0013]-[0014], [0024]-[0027], [0034]-[0037], and Fig. 1-4 with associated text. Cummings discloses “The user then has the option of commanding the navigation device to guide him to one of the locations on the map or to provide advertising content. A double tap by the user on the navigation device’s touchscreen on any of the locations causes the navigation device to generate a route to the indicated location and guide the user to that location. If the user is already being guided by the navigation device along a route then the selected location may instead be incorporated into the route. A single tap by the user on an icon indicating the presence of advertising content causes the content to be presented”, and “FIG. 3 shows an example of advertising content provided to the user … The user now has the opportunity may now command the navigation device to return to the previous display or to guide him to the advertised location. In this example, if the user touches ‘Go’ on the touchscreen, the navigation device will, with no further user input, generate a route to the advertised location and provide guidance to the user as to how to follow the route.”.); and
in response that one of the at least one route is selected, perform route guidance for the selected route (see at least [0013]-[0014], [0024]-[0027], [0034]-[0037], and Fig. 1-4 with associated text.).
As to Claim 12, Cummings discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control information related to each of the at least one route and the corresponding route-specific advertising information to be output together (see at least [0015], Fig. 1-4 with associated text).
As to Claim 13, Cummings discloses wherein the outputting of the matched route-specific advertising information is performed via a route option selection screen of the display unit (see at least [0011], [0017], Fig. 1-4 with associated text).
As to Claim 14, Cummings discloses wherein the matched route-specific advertising information is displayed at a corresponding location on a map on the route option selection screen (see at least Fig. 1-4 with associated text).
As to Claim 15, Cummings discloses wherein the matched route-specific advertising information is displayed with route-specific additional information on the route option selection screen (see at least [0015], [0017], Fig. 1-4 with associated text).
As to Claim 16, Cummings discloses wherein the route information is generated by the navigation apparatus (see at least [0034], Fig. 1-4 with associated text), an advertising platform configured to provide the route-specific advertising data, or (Only one option is required to satisfy an “or” limitation.) a connected car service server.
As to Claim 17, Cummings discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control the communication unit to
transmit information related to the destination and the current location to an external server (see at least [0034]-0037]; Fig. 1-4 with associated text) and
receive the route information from the external server (see at least [0034]-0037]; Fig. 1-4 with associated text).
As to Claim 18, Cummings discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control the display unit to output, in response that a predetermined advertising output condition is satisfied, advertising information corresponding to the satisfied advertising output condition among route-specific advertising information corresponding to the selected route (see at least Fig. 1-4 with associated text).
As to Claim 19, Cummings discloses wherein the predetermined advertising output condition is satisfied in response that the current location is within a predetermined distance from a place corresponding to one piece of the route-specific advertising information (see at least Fig. 1-4 with associated text), or (Only one option is required to satisfy an “or” limitation.) in response that the corresponding place is positioned within a map displayed via the display unit (see at least Fig. 1-4 with associated text).
As to Claim 20, Cummings discloses wherein the route-specific advertising information is obtained from an advertising platform (e.g., “remote location”) configured to provide the route-specific advertising information (see at least [0016], Fig. 1-4 with associated text), or (Only one option is required to satisfy an “or” limitation.) obtained from the advertising platform via a connected car service server.
Communications via The Internet and Authorization
MPEP § 502.03 II, “Without a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via Internet email to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122. A paper copy of such correspondence and response will be placed in the appropriate patent application by the examiner. except for correspondence that only sets up an interview time, all correspondence between the office and the applicant including applicant’s representative must be placed in the appropriate patent application. If an email contains any information beyond scheduling an interview, such as an interview agenda, it must be placed in the application. THE WRITTEN AUTHORIZATION MAY BE SUBMITTED VIA EFS-WEB, MAIL, OR FAX. It cannot be submitted by email.”
Contact Information
Primary Examiner Calvin Cheung’s contact information is listed at the bottom, and he is typically reached MONDAY-THURSDAY, 0700-1700 ET. If attempts to reach the primary by telephone are unsuccessful, the primary’s supervisor, HELAL ALGAHAIM, is available at telephone number (571) 270-5227.
Applicants are encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice for scheduling an examiner interview that will be performed over telephone or video conferencing (using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool).
/CALVIN CHEUNG/
Direct Office Number (571) 270-7041
Email and Fax send to Calvin.Cheung@USPTO.GOV