DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,091,834. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current claims and the patented claims disclose a convertible box blade with sidewalls, shank supports, blade supports, a moldboard support and pivot arms, but the current claims are broader than the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 12-13, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hale (2,566,562) in view of Seal (8,393,406).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Hale discloses a box blade scraper apparatus comprising:
A frame assembly (7) having a front portion and a rear portion, the frame assembly comprising:
A first sidewall (16)
A second sidewall (17)
One or more shank support cross members (8) extending between and secured to the first sidewall (16) and second sidewall (17)
A moldboard support member (unnumbered pivot pin) extending between and secured to the first sidewall (16) and the second sidewall (17), the moldboard support cross member having a moldboard support longitudinal center axis (at pivot pin (Figures 1-4)
An elongated moldboard (13) having an arc shaped front surface that extends between a moldboard top edge and a moldboard bottom edge (Figure 2), the moldboard situated at least partially between the first sidewall (16) and the second sidewall (17) and secured to a first pivot arm (14) situated adjacent to the first sidewall and a second pivot arm (15) situated adjacent to the second sidewall, the first and second pivot arms rotatably coupled to the moldboard support cross member (unnumbered pivot pin) to provide the moldboard with a pivot axis, wherein the pivot axis is coincident with the moldboard support longitudinal center axis (Figures 1-4)
A hitch assembly (6,22) secured to the frame assembly
A moldboard pivot bar (21) coupled to the moldboard for raising or lowering the moldboard
While Hale discloses the invention as described above, it fails to disclose first and second blade support cross members extending between and secured to the first and second sidewalls having scrapers secured thereto. Like Hale, Seal also discloses a box blade scraper. Unlike Hale, Seal discloses that a plurality of scraper blades can be attached between the sidewalls and that the number of scrapers can vary (Figures 8-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include additional blade support cross members and scraper blades in Hale as taught by Seal to provide a finer grading finish as it would be the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Regarding claim 2, the moldboard is selectably pivotable between an up position (Figure 3) and a down position (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses that the first and second pivot arms (14,15) are secured to the moldboard and prevent movement therebetween.
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses the invention as described above but fails to disclose how the pivot arms (14,15) are attached to the moldboard support member (pivot pin). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to utilize welding to connect the pivot arms to the moldboard support member before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by the combination of Hale and Seal.
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses the first and second pivot arms extend from the front surface of the moldboard and wherein the front surface faces the pivot axis (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, the combination disclose that there could be a second blade support cross member extending between and secured to the first sidewall and the second sidewall, with a second scraper blade and a leveling blade to the second blade support cross member.
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses that all of the blades have the same curvature.
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses a moldboard pivot bar (21) secured to the moldboard and coupling the moldboard to the hitch assembly for raising or lowering the moldboard.
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses the moldboard pivot bar can pivot the moldboard between positions but fails to specifically disclose notches. It would have been an obvious matter of art recognized equivalence to utilize notches for locking adjustment, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by the combination of Hale and Seal.
Regarding claim 15, the combination disclose that the one or more shank support cross members (8) include a lower shank support cross member (bottom wall/opening of beam 8) and an upper shank support cross member (upper wall/opening), wherein the upper and lower cross members includes slots vertically aligned for the shanks to be inserted therein (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 17, the moldboard pivot bar (21) extends between and couples the moldboard to the hitch assembly.
Regarding claim 18, the combination discloses that the one or more pivot arms includes a first pivot arm (14) and a second pivot arm (15).
Regarding claim 19, the combination discloses that the moldboard has a longitudinal length extending between a first moldboard end and a second moldboard end, and wherein the first pivot arm (14) is secured at the first moldboard end and the second pivot arm (15) is secured at the second moldboard end.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11, 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and filed with the appropriate Terminal Disclaimer(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Richey (3,311,175) also discloses a convertible box scraper with shanks.
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671