DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 1-22 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA :
- claims 1, 11, and 20 are amended
- claims 3 and 13 are canceled
b. This is a final action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 01/20/2026.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-13, and 16-20 previously rejected due to nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as patentably indistinct from claims 1, 2, 5-11, 13, 15-17, and 19 of U.S. Patent Application No 18/884,938, the Applicant has not filed a Terminal Disclaimer according to the examiner's recommendation and thus the previous rejection is still maintained.
Regarding claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-13, 16-17, and 19-20 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant's arguments, see “In summary, the cited portions of Cui using the number of SSB that mapped to one RO, e.g., SSB_per_RO=2 to determine the starting target RO. As an initial matter, the cited portions of Cui discuss number of SSBs, not number of SSB indexes. Furthermore, the cited portions of Cui discuss number of SSBs per a single RO, not the total number of SSB indexes for multiple ROs in a plurality of PRACH slots.” on pages 8-9, filed on 01/20/2026, with respect to Park US Pub 2023/0085104 (hereinafter “Park”), and in view of Cui US Pub 2025/0142631 (hereinafter “Cui”), have been fully considered but are moot, over the limitations of “quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes that are mapped to ROs in a plurality of PRACH slots”. Said limitations are newly added to the amended Claims 1, 11, and 20 and have been addressed in instant office action, as shown in section 35 USC 103 rejection below, with newly identified prior art teaching from newly identified reference Wu Foreign Patent WO2023083227 (hereinafter “Wu”), in combination previously applied reference Park, thus rendering said Applicant’s arguments moot.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-13, and 16-20 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1, 2, 5-11, 13, 15-17, and 19 of U.S. Patent Application No 18/884,938. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
The table below compares the claims in instant application with corresponding conflicting claims in copending U.S. Patent Application No. 18/884,938 wherein the underlined parts highlighting the patentably indistinct features between the conflicting claims.
In instant application
In U.S. Patent Application No. 18/884,938
Claim 1. A method, comprising:
transmitting a first PRACH transmission on a first RO set, wherein the first RO set comprises Nr ROs, the first PRACH transmission comprises Nr preamble repetitions, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are consecutive in time domain, a first SSB index is one of a plurality of SSB indexes, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are associated with the first SSB index, a start RO in the first RO set is related to a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes, the first SSB index, Nr, and the first PRACH mask index, and Nr is a positive integer greater than 1, wherein an index of the start RO in the first RO set is determined based on a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes, the first SSB index, and Nr.
Claim 1. A method, comprising:
transmitting a first physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission on a first PRACH occasion (RO) set, wherein
the first RO set comprises Nr ROs, the first PRACH transmission comprises Nr preamble repetitions, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are consecutive in time, a first synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) index is one of a plurality of SSB indexes, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are associated with the first SSB index, the first RO set is one of a plurality of RO sets, the plurality of RO sets correspond to a same frequency resource index, each RO set in the plurality of RO sets comprises Nr ROs, a first time offset is a time offset between each two successive RO sets in the plurality of RO sets, and the first time offset comprises a positive integer quantity of ROs, wherein Nr is an integer; and
determining a start RO in the first RO set based at least in part on whether the first time offset is configured.
Claim 5. The method according to claim 4, wherein
when the first time offset is configured, the index of the first RO set in the plurality of candidate RO sets is related to a quantity of ROs comprised in the first time offset, a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes, the first SSB index, and Nr; or
when the first time offset is not configured, the index of the first RO set in the plurality of candidate RO sets is related to a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes, the first SSB index, and Nr.
Claim 2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
mapping the plurality of SSB indexes to a plurality of ROs according to a first mapping order, wherein
each of the plurality of SSB indexes corresponds to a respective SSB in a plurality of SSBs comprised in a first SSB set; and the plurality of ROs belong to a first period, and the plurality of ROs comprise the Nr ROs in the first RO set.
Claim 7. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving a first SSB, wherein
the first SSB is one of a plurality of SSBs comprised in a first SSB set, the plurality of SSBs are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of SSB indexes, and the first SSB index is an index of the first SSB in the plurality of SSBs comprised in the first SSB set; and a first mapping order is used for mapping the plurality of SSB indexes to a plurality of candidate ROs within a first period.
Claim 6. The method according to claim 1, wherein a first period comprises a plurality of ROs, the plurality of ROs comprised within the first period comprise the Nr ROs in the first RO set, and the index of the start RO in the first RO set is an index of the start RO in the plurality of ROs comprised within the first period.
Claim 2. The method according to claim 1, wherein a first period comprises a plurality of candidate ROs, each RO in the plurality of RO sets belongs to the plurality of candidate ROs within the first period, and an index of the start RO in the first RO set is an index of the start RO, in the first RO set, in the plurality of candidate ROs within the first period; and
wherein the determining the start RO in the first RO set based at least in part on whether the first time offset is configured comprises determining the index of the start RO in the first RO set based at least in part on whether the first time offset.
Claim 7. The method according to claim 1, wherein a first period comprises a plurality of RO sets, and each RO set in the plurality of RO sets comprises Nr ROs; and an index of the first RO set in the plurality of RO sets is related to the quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes, the first SSB index, and the Nr, and a first PRACH mask index indicates the index of the first RO set in the plurality of RO sets.
Claim 6. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving first signalling, wherein the first signalling comprises a first PRACH mask index, wherein
when the first time offset is configured, the start RO in the first RO set is related to both the first time offset and the first PRACH mask index; or
when the first time offset is not configured, the start RO in the first RO set is related to the first PRACH mask index.
Claim 9. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving first information, wherein
the first information indicates a quantity of SSB indexes associated with one RO and a quantity of preambles corresponding to each SSB index of each RO.
Claim 8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving first information, wherein
the first information indicates a quantity of SSB indexes associated with one RO and a quantity of preambles corresponding to each SSB index of each RO, and the first information and a first mapping order are used for determining a plurality of candidate ROs, to which the plurality of SSB indexes are mapped, within a first period.
Claim 10. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving second information, wherein
the second information comprises the Nr, and the Nr is one of 2, 4, or 8.
Claim 9. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving second information, wherein
the second information comprises Nr, and Nr is one of 2, 4, and 8.
Claim 11. A method, comprising:
receiving a first PRACH transmission on a first RO set, wherein
the first RO set comprises Nr ROs, the first PRACH transmission comprises Nr preamble repetitions, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are consecutive in time domain, a first SSB index is one of a plurality of SSB indexes, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are associated with the first SSB index, a start RO in the first RO set is related to a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes, the first SSB index, Nr, and the first PRACH mask index, and Nr is a positive integer greater than 1, wherein an index of the start RO in the first RO set is determined based on a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes, the first SSB index, and Nr.
Claim 10. A method, comprising:
receiving a first physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission on a first PRACH occasion (RO) set, wherein
the first RO set comprises Nr ROs, the first PRACH transmission comprises Nr preamble repetitions, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are consecutive in time, a first synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) index is one of a plurality of SSB indexes, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are associated with the first SSB index, the first RO set is one of a plurality of RO sets, the plurality of RO sets correspond to a same frequency resource index, each RO set in the plurality of RO sets comprises Nr ROs, a first time offset is a time offset between each two successive RO sets in the plurality of RO sets, and the first time offset comprises a positive integer quantity of ROs, and whether the first time offset is configured is associated with a start RO in the first RO set.
Claim 15. The method according to claim 10, wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting first signalling, wherein the first signalling comprises a first PRACH mask index, wherein
when the first time offset is configured, the start RO in the first RO set is related to both the first time offset and the first PRACH mask index; or
when the first time offset is not configured, the start RO in the first RO set is related to the first PRACH mask index.
Claim 12. The method according to claim 11, wherein the plurality of SSB indexes are mapped to a plurality of ROs, and each of the plurality of SSB indexes corresponds to a respective SSB in a plurality of SSBs comprised in a first SSB set; and the plurality of ROs belong to a first period, and the plurality of ROs comprise the Nr ROs in the first RO set.
Claim 16. The method according to claim 10, wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting a first SSB, wherein
the first SSB is one of a plurality of SSBs comprised in a first SSB set, the plurality of SSBs are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of SSB indexes, and the first SSB index is an index of the first SSB in the plurality of SSBs comprised in the first SSB set; and a first mapping order is used for mapping the plurality of SSB indexes to a plurality of candidate ROs within a first period.
Claim 16. The method according to claim 11, wherein a first period comprises a plurality of ROs, the plurality of ROs comprised within the first period comprise the Nr ROs in the first RO set, and the index of the start RO in the first RO set is an index of the start RO in the plurality of ROs comprised within the first period.
Claim 13. The method according to claim 10, wherein a first period comprises a plurality of candidate RO sets, and each RO set in the plurality of RO sets is one of the plurality of candidate RO sets, and whether the first time offset is configured is associated with an index of the first RO set in the plurality of candidate RO sets.
Claim 17. The method according to claim 11, wherein a first period comprises a plurality of RO sets, and each RO set in the plurality of RO sets comprises Nr ROs; and an index of the first RO set in the plurality of RO sets is related to the quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes, the first SSB index, and the Nr, and a first PRACH mask index indicates the index of the first RO set in the plurality of RO sets.
Claim 11. The method according to claim 10, wherein a first period comprises a plurality of candidate ROs, each RO in the plurality of RO sets belongs to the plurality of candidate ROs within the first period, and an index of the start RO in the first RO set is an index of the start RO, in the first RO set, in the plurality of candidate ROs within the first period, and whether the first time offset is configured is associated with the index of the start RO in the first RO set.
Claim 18. The method according to claim 11, wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting a first SSB, wherein the first SSB is one of a plurality of SSBs comprised in a first SSB set, wherein a measurement value of the first SSB is a maximum value among a plurality of measurement values respectively corresponding to the plurality of SSBs comprised in the first SSB set.
Claim 16. The method according to claim 10, wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting a first SSB, wherein
the first SSB is one of a plurality of SSBs comprised in a first SSB set, the plurality of SSBs are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of SSB indexes, and the first SSB index is an index of the first SSB in the plurality of SSBs comprised in the first SSB set; and a first mapping order is used for mapping the plurality of SSB indexes to a plurality of candidate ROs within a first period.
Claim 19. The method according to claim 11, wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting first information, wherein
the first information indicates a quantity of SSB indexes associated with one RO and a quantity of preambles corresponding to each SSB index of each RO.
Claim 17. The method according to claim 10, wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting first information, wherein
the first information indicates a quantity of SSB indexes associated with one RO and a quantity of preambles corresponding to each SSB index of each RO, and the first information and a first mapping order are used for determining a plurality of candidate ROs, to which the plurality of SSB indexes are mapped, within a first period.
Claim 20. An apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor;
one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, wherein the programming instructions, when executed, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
transmitting a first PRACH transmission on a first RO set, wherein
the first RO set comprises Nr ROs, the first PRACH transmission comprises Nr preamble repetitions, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are consecutive in time domain, a first SSB index is one of a plurality of SSB indexes, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are associated with the first SSB index, a start RO in the first RO set is related to a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes, the first SSB index, Nr, and the first PRACH mask index, and Nr is a positive integer greater than 1, wherein an index of the start RO in the first RO set is determined based on a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes, the first SSB index, and Nr.
Claim 19. An apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor;
one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, wherein the programming instructions, when executed, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
transmitting a first physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission on a first PRACH occasion (RO) set, wherein
the first RO set comprises Nr ROs, the first PRACH transmission comprises Nr preamble repetitions, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are consecutive in time, a first synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) index is one of a plurality of SSB indexes, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are associated with the first SSB index, the first RO set is one of a plurality of RO sets, the plurality of RO sets correspond to a same frequency resource index, each RO set in the plurality of RO sets comprises Nr ROs, a first time offset is a time offset between each two successive RO sets in the plurality of RO sets, and the first time offset comprises a positive integer quantity of ROs, wherein Nr is an integer; and
determining a start RO in the first RO set based at least in part on whether the first time offset is configured.
20. The apparatus according to claim 19, wherein a first period comprises a plurality of candidate ROs, each RO in the plurality of RO sets belongs to the plurality of candidate ROs within the first period, and an index of the start RO in the first RO set is an index of the start RO, in the first RO set, in the plurality of candidate ROs within the first period; and wherein the determining the start RO in the first RO set based at least in part on whether the first time offset is configured comprises determining the index of the start RO in the first RO set based at least in part on whether the first time offset.
As shown above, claims 1, 2, 5-11, 13, 15-17, and 19 of claimed U.S. Patent Application No. 18/884,938, using different but patentably indistinct terminologies, disclose all features of corresponding claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-13, and 16-20 of instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9-12, 16-17, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park US Pub 2023/0085104 (hereinafter “Park”), and in view of Wu Foreign Patent WO2023083227 (hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Park discloses a method (“determining a transmission resource that includes at least one of a RO for a PRACH repetition transmission, a RO set, a RO subset, and preamble information, based on the random access-related configuration information and the number of PRACH repetition transmissions” [0008]), comprising:
transmitting a first PRACH transmission on a first RO set (“A method of performing, by a user equipment (UE), a random access in a wireless communication system according to an aspect of the present disclosure may include receiving random access-related configuration information from a base station; determining at least one of the number of PRACH repetition transmissions and the number of PUSCH repetition transmissions; determining a PRACH transmission resource that includes at least one of a random access occasion (RO) for a PRACH repetition transmission, a RO set, the number of PRACH repetition transmissions, and the number of PUSCH repetition transmissions” [0008]; see also Figs. 12 and 19), wherein
the first RO set comprises Nr ROs (“Also, it is assumed that FDM is set to 2, that is, the number of frequency domain ROs per T_RO (hereinafter, F_RO) is set to 2 (i.e. Nr=2 in this scenario).” [0243]), the first PRACH transmission comprises Nr preamble repetitions (“Therefore, for Npreamble preambles within the PRACH slot, numbers are assigned in order of RO-frequency-time.” [0133]), the Nr ROs in the first RO set are consecutive in time domain (“single T_RO set may include T_ROs consecutive in time” [0239]; “four consecutive T_ROs” [0263]), a first SSB index is one of a plurality of SSB indexes (“Each of UEs may select an optimal SSB index suitable for its own channel environment” [0190]), the Nr ROs in the first RO set are associated with the first SSB index( e.g. “RO1/SSB1”, “RO2/SSB2” etc. in Fig. 6), a start RO is a first RO in the Nr ROs (“For example, the start RO may be determined as t.sup.PRACH.sub.startRO,SSB (i.e., a start RO index per SSB) that meets a condition of the following Equation 5. When the start RO is determined, the UE may determine a PRACH repetition transmission (i.e. “Nr”) using the number of ROs (here, including the start RO) corresponding to the number of repetition transmissions in the time domain.” [0242]), and Nr is a positive integer greater than 1 (“Also, it is assumed that FDM is set to 2, that is, the number of frequency domain ROs per T_RO (hereinafter, F_RO) is set to 2 (i.e. Nr = 2 in this scenario).” [0243]), wherein an index of the start RO in the first RO set is determined based on the first SSB index, and Nr (“A start RO offset for PRACH repetition may be applied based on a quickest RO in the time domain among ROs associated with an SSB selected by the UE (i.e., a lowest RO index among the ROs associated with a single SSB).” [0217] and furthermore “Also, a time offset value about a selectable start RO may be provided to the RC UE based on the number of PRACH repetition transmissions of the RC UE among all the ROs present within a single association period. In the following example of FIG. 22, the RC UE may randomly select a single RO among ROs at a time domain location indicated by a start RO offset parameter (e.g., 3) from among the eight ROs associated with a single SSB (e.g., SSB1) (, in the illustrated example, randomly select a single RO from among of FDM two ROs at a fourth time domain RO location). The UE may perform a PRACH repetition transmission using the selected time RO and subsequent time domain RO indexes. Unlike this, the existing NR UE may randomly select only a single RO from among the eight ROs associated with a single SSB and may perform a PRACH transmission.” [0216]).
Park does not specifically teach wherein an index of the start RO in the first RO set is determined based on a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes that are mapped to ROs in a plurality of PRACH slots, the first SSB index, and Nr.
In an analogous art, Wu discloses wherein an index of the start RO (i.e. “RO index value”) in the first RO set is determined based on a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes that are mapped to ROs in a plurality of PRACH slots (it is possible to indicate exactly on which RO the PRACH slot transmission using PRACH Mask index), the first SSB index, and Nr (“Wherein, the SSB index value associated with PRACH transmission is the value of SS/PBCH index in Table 1, and the RO index value associated with PRACH transmission is the value of PRACH Mask index in Table 1. According to the SSB index value and the RO index value associated with the PRACH transmission, the terminal can determine an RO, and use the RO as the first RO in the RO resource corresponding to the M times of PRACH repeated transmission. Then, according to the first RO, a subsequent RO in the RO resources corresponding to the M times of repeated PRACH transmission is determined. In some embodiments, the subsequent RO satisfies one of the following:
(1) The subsequent ROs are M-1 consecutive ROs having the same frequency position as the first RO; In other words, the RO resource for the terminal to perform M times of repeated PRACH transmissions is a plurality of consecutive ROs with the same frequency position.
(2) The subsequent RO is the RO associated with the M-1 SSBs sent in the order of SSB index values after the SSB associated with the first RO;
Optionally, the index values of the ROs associated with the M SSBs are also the same.” On page 9).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park’s random access method and apparatus for a reduced capability user equipment (UE), to include Wu’s method for performing PRACH repetitions, in order to establish association between RO and SSB index (Wu, page 9). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Wu’s method for performing PRACH repetitions into Park’s random access method and apparatus for a reduced capability user equipment (UE) since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2
Park, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
Park further discloses mapping the plurality of SSB indexes to a plurality of ROs (“an SSB-to-RO mapping configuration” [0206]) according to a first mapping order (“For example, referring to the following example of FIG. 19, two ROs are present in the frequency domain (i.e., FDM=2) and ROs associated for each SSB among ROs configured according to the PRACH configuration are mapped in the time domain. For example, SSB1 corresponding to the optimal SSB selected by the UE are associated with eight ROs. In the illustrated example, SSB2 are associated with a total of eight ROs including four ROs and subsequent four ROs within a next RACH slot. Additionally, RO mask configuration information may be provided and this may indicate a RO allowed for an actual PRACH transmission among eight ROs associated with a single SSB. In the illustrated example, RO mask configuration in which all of eight ROs associated with a single SSB are allowed to be used for PRACH transmission.” [0215]), wherein
each of the plurality of SSB indexes corresponds to a respective SSB in a plurality of SSBs comprised in a first SSB set (“Each of UEs may select an optimal SSB index suitable for its own channel environment, for example, an SSB having the highest SSB-RSRP (or optimal CSI-RS, for example, CSI-RS having the highest CSI-RS-RSRP) based on an SSB transmitted from the base station (or CSI-RS if configured in an RRC CONNECTED mode.” [0190]); and the plurality of ROs belong to a first period (“Also, a time offset value about a selectable start RO may be provided to the RC UE based on the number of PRACH repetition transmissions of the RC UE among all the ROs present within a single association period.” [0216]), and the plurality of ROs comprise the Nr ROs in the first RO set (“Meanwhile, a RO and/or a PO for repetition transmission according to the present disclosure may define a T_RO set or a T_RO group that includes at least one time domain RO (hereinafter, T_RO) corresponding to the number of repetition transmissions (i.e. “Nr ROs”) corresponding to the repetition level based on a start RO.” [0239]).
Regarding claim 4
Park, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the method according to claim 1,
Wu further discloses wherein an index of the start RO in the first RO set is linearly correlated with a product of a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes and the Nr (“The RO set/group configured on the network side device includes multiple ROs, and the multiple ROs may be associated with the same or different SSBs. For example, the network is configured with Group X=({SSB#a, RO#b}, {SSB#c, RO#d}, {SSB#e, RO#f}, {{SSB#g, RO#h}} ) belong to the same RO set/group, if the PDCCH indicates {SSB#a, RO#b}, then use group X=({SSB#a, RO#b}, {SSB#c, RO#d}, {SSB#e, RO#f}, {{SSB#g, RO#h}}) This group of ROs performs repeated PRACH transmission.” On page 9).
Regarding claim 6
Park, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the method according to claim 1,
Park further discloses wherein a first period comprises a plurality of ROs (“In this case, a first T_RO among T_ROs associated with a single SSB within a single association pattern period corresponds to a candidate start RO. Since two F_ROs are present per single T_RO, the UE may randomly select one from among a total of two candidate start ROs” [0259]), the plurality of ROs comprised within the first period comprise the Nr ROs in the first RO set (“the RC UE may select one from among candidate start ROs that belong to a limited T_RO set in consideration of a PRACH repetition transmission.” [0250]), and the index of the start RO in the first RO set is an index of the start RO (“the base station may configure a start RO offset for the RC UE through upper layer signaling and when a single RO is present in a frequency domain at a time location indicated by the start RO offset based on a time domain RO index among ROs associated with the selected SSB, the RC UE may select a corresponding RO as a start RO.” [0195]) in the plurality of ROs comprised within the first period (“the RC UE may select one from among candidate start ROs that belong to a limited T_RO set in consideration of a PRACH repetition transmission.” [0250]).
Regarding claim 7
Park, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the method according to claim 1,
Park further discloses wherein a first period comprises a plurality of RO sets (“In this case, a first T_RO among T_ROs associated with a single SSB within a single association pattern period corresponds to a candidate start RO. Since two F_ROs are present per single T_RO, the UE may randomly select one from among a total of two candidate start ROs” [0259]), and each RO set in the plurality of RO sets comprises Nr ROs (“the RC UE may select one from among candidate start ROs that belong to a limited T_RO set in consideration of a PRACH repetition transmission.” [0250]); and an index of the first RO set in the plurality of RO sets is related to a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes, the first SSB index, and the Nr (“the base station may configure a start RO offset for the RC UE through upper layer signaling and when a single RO is present in a frequency domain at a time location indicated by the start RO offset based on a time domain RO index among ROs associated with the selected SSB, the RC UE may select a corresponding RO as a start RO.” [0195]), and a first PRACH mask index indicates the index of the first RO set in the plurality of RO sets (“Preferably, the method for selecting an RO to carry a preamble further includes: selecting an RO corresponding to PRACH Mask ID in a first available SSB ID and RO association pattern at and after the first time to carry a preamble, wherein SSB ID, PRACH Mask ID and preamble ID are all indicated by the DCI.” [0006] and furthermore “the UE, after receiving the PDCCH command, selects an RO according to the indicated PRACH Mask ID in a first available indicated SSB ID and RO association pattern after the time offset corresponding to the first time offset K.sub.offset to transmit the indicated preamble.” [0071]).
Regarding claim 9
Park, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
Park further discloses receiving first information (e.g. “msgA-SSB-PerRACH-OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB-r16” for 4-step RACH, or “information indicating a preamble transmitted from the UE, the number of SSBs for each RO” for 2-step RACH), wherein
the first information indicates a quantity of SSB indexes associated with one RO and a quantity of preambles corresponding to each SSB index of each RO (“If an IE for 4-step RACH is configured in a bandwidth part (BWP) set for the UE, the parameter, msgA-SSB-PerRACH-OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB-r16, for 2-step RACH (i.e., information indicating a preamble transmitted from the UE, the number of SSBs for each RO and the number of CB preambles for each SSB applied to MsgA” [0122]).
Regarding claim 10
Park, as modified by Wu, previously discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
Park further discloses receiving second information (i.e. Nr or number of PRACH repetitions), wherein
the second information comprises the Nr, and the Nr is one of 2, 4, and 8 (“For the respective cases in which repetition level index=1, 2, and 3, the number of PRACH repetition transmissions may be configured as 2, 4, and 8 and the number of PUSCH repetition transmissions may be configured as 2, 4, and 8.” [0020] and furthermore “Additionally, a separate start offset and/or period may be set for each of the number of repetition transmissions 1, 2, 4, and 8 (or repetition level indexes 0, 1, 2, and 3).” [0269]).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended)
Park discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a first PRACH transmission on a first RO set, wherein
the first RO set comprises Nr ROs, the first PRACH transmission comprises Nr preamble repetitions, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are consecutive in time domain, a first SSB index is one of a plurality of SSB indexes, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are associated with the first SSB index, a start RO is a first RO in the Nr ROs, and Nr is a positive integer greater than 1, wherein an index of the start RO in the first RO set is determined based on a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes that are mapped to ROs in a plurality of PRACH slots, the first SSB index, and Nr.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 11 are reciprocal to the scope and subject matter as claimed in method claim 1. Therefore method claim 11 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 12
The method according to claim 11, wherein the plurality of SSB indexes are mapped to a plurality of ROs, and each of the plurality of SSB indexes corresponds to a respective SSB in a plurality of SSBs comprised in a first SSB set; and the plurality of ROs belong to a first period, and the plurality of ROs comprise the Nr ROs in the first RO set.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 12 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in method claim 2. Therefore method claim 12 corresponds to method claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 2 rejection above.
Regarding claim 14
The method according to claim 11, wherein an index of the start RO in the first RO set is linearly correlated with a product of a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes and the Nr.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 14 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in method claim 4. Therefore method claim 14 corresponds to method claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 4 rejection above.
Regarding claim 16
The method according to claim 11, wherein a first period comprises a plurality of ROs, the plurality of ROs comprised within the first period comprise the Nr ROs in the first RO set, and the index of the start RO in the first RO set is an index of the start RO in the plurality of ROs comprised within the first period.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 16 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in method claim 6. Therefore method claim 16 corresponds to method claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 6 rejection above.
Regarding claim 17
The method according to claim 11, wherein a first period comprises a plurality of RO sets, and each RO set in the plurality of RO sets comprises Nr ROs; and an index of the first RO set in the plurality of RO sets is related to a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes, the first SSB index, and the Nr, and a first PRACH mask index indicates the index of the first RO set in the plurality of RO sets.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 17 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in method claim 7. Therefore method claim 17 corresponds to method claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 7 rejection above.
Regarding claim 19
The method according to claim 11, wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting first information, wherein
the first information indicates a quantity of SSB indexes associated with one RO and a quantity of preambles corresponding to each SSB index of each RO.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 19 are reciprocal to the scope and subject matter as claimed in method claim 9. Therefore method claim 19 corresponds to method claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 9 rejection above.
Regarding claim 20 (Currently Amended)
Park discloses an apparatus (“terminal device 2950” in Fig. 29; [0333]), comprising:
at least one processor (“processor 2960” in Fig. 29; [0333]);
one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media (“memory 2990” in Fig. 29; [0333]) coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, wherein the programming instructions, when executed, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising:
transmitting a first PRACH transmission on a first RO set, wherein
the first RO set comprises Nr ROs, the first PRACH transmission comprises Nr preamble repetitions, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are consecutive in time domain, a first SSB index is one of a plurality of SSB indexes, the Nr ROs in the first RO set are associated with the first SSB index, a start RO is a first RO in the Nr ROs, and Nr is a positive integer greater than 1, wherein an index of the start RO in the first RO set is determined based on a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes that are mapped to ROs in a plurality of PRACH slots, the first SSB index, and Nr.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 20 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 1. Therefore apparatus claim 20 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 21
The apparatus according to claim 20, wherein a first period comprises a plurality of ROs, the plurality of ROs comprised within the first period comprise the Nr ROs in the first RO set, and the index of the start RO in the first RO set is an index of the start RO in the plurality of ROs comprised within the first period.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 21 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 6. Therefore apparatus claim 21 corresponds to method claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 6 rejection above.
Regarding claim 22
The apparatus according to claim 20, wherein a first period comprises a plurality of RO sets, and each RO set in the plurality of RO sets comprises Nr ROs; and an index of the first RO set in the plurality of RO sets is related to a quantity of the plurality of SSB indexes, the first SSB index, and the Nr, and a first PRACH mask index indicates the index of the first RO set in the plurality of RO sets.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 22 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 7. Therefore apparatus claim 22 corresponds to method claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 7 rejection above.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of Wu, and further in view of Deogun et al. US Pub 2020/0314673 (hereinafter “Deogun”).
Regarding claim 8
Park, as modified by Wu, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
Park further discloses receiving a first SSB, wherein the first SSB is one of a plurality of SSBs comprised in a first SSB set (“As an additional example, an offset (e.g., RSRP offset) value for a threshold value may be applied according to UE capability. For example, for a UE having a first UE capability, the RSRP offset may be set to a value of 0 and the set SSB/CSI-RS RSRP threshold value may be used as is. For a UE having a second UE capability, the RSRP offset may be set to a value aside from 0 and a threshold value to be finally applied may be determined from the set SSB/CSI-RS threshold value+RSRP offset value. As described above, the base station may set and provide a distinguished RSRP offset value according to UE capability and the UE may determine a threshold value to be applied for determining a repetition level by applying an RSRP offset value corresponding to its own capability to the set threshold value.” [0225]), wherein
Park and Wu do not specifically teach a measurement value of the first SSB is a maximum value among a plurality of measurement values of the plurality of respective SSBs comprised in the first SSB set.
In an analogous art, Deogun discloses a measurement value of the first SSB is a maximum value among a plurality of measurement values of the plurality of respective SSBs comprised in the first SSB set (“For example, where there are multiple SSBs in a given beam set, measurement component 256 can report the measurement as a function of the measurements of the multiple SSBs in the set, such as an average measurement, a maximum measurement, a randomly selected measurement, all of the measurements, etc.” [0085] and furthermore “measurement component 256 report measurements in the beam set as described above (e.g., as an average measurement of the SSBs or SSBs achieving a threshold signal strength, a maximum measurement of the SSBs, a randomly selected measurement of the SSBs or SSBs achieving a threshold signal strength, all measurements of the SSBs or SSBs achieving a threshold signal strength, a last measurement of the SSBs or SSBs achieving a threshold signal strength, a first measurement of the SSBs or SSBs achieving a threshold signal strength, etc.).” [0102]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park’s random access method and apparatus for a reduced capability user equipment (UE), as modified by Wu, to include Deogun’s method for communications related to synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), in order to determine a SSB pattern of using beams (Deogun [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Deogun’s method for communications related to synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) into Park’s random access method and apparatus for a reduced capability user equipment (UE) since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 18
The method according to claim 11, wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting a first SSB, wherein the first SSB is one of a plurality of SSBs comprised in a first SSB set, wherein a measurement value of the first SSB is a maximum value among a plurality of measurement values respectively corresponding to the plurality of SSBs comprised in the first SSB set.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 18 are reciprocal to the scope and subject matter as claimed in method claim 8. Therefore method claim 18 corresponds to method claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 8 rejection above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims 1 and 11 respectively , but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims 1 and 11 and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411