DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to application no. 18/885,061 filed on 09/13/2024.
Claims 1 – 14 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/432,773 (patent no. US 12,144,016 B2), filed August 20, 2021, which is a 371 of PCT Patent Application No. PCT/US2020/019296, filed February 21, 2020, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/909,022, filed October 1, 2019, U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/886,505, filed August 14, 2019, and U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/809,317, filed February 22, 2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 09/13/2024, 10/01/2024 and 08/12/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s note
The claims of the instant application is in different scope than that of the continuation parent application (patent no. US 12,144,016 B2); therefore, no double patenting (DP) rejection has been made.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 – 4 and 8 – 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
claims 1 and 8 recite in line 7 and 8, respectively “control resource information types”; it should read as, “control information resource
Claims 2 and 9 recite “HARQ re-transmission resource”. Description of the acronym is required for the first time use in a claim.
Claim 8 recites in line 2, “a transceiver configured to a plurality of resources”; it should read as, “a transceiver configured to receive a plurality of resources”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al. (YANG hereinafter referred to YANG) (US 2022/0070846 A1) in view of Sun et al. (Sun hereinafter referred to Sun) (US 2019/0037577 A1) and further in view of KIM et al. (KIM hereinafter referred to KIM) (WO 2019/036295 Al) (Cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, YANG teaches a method for Sidelink communication (Title, NFORMATION TRANSMISSION METHOD FOR SIDELINK, AND USER EQUIPMENT AND COMPUTER-READABLE STORAGE MEDIUM) performed by a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU) (Fig.2 and [0053], receiving UE), the method comprising:
receiving a plurality of resources over a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) in a slot (Fig.2 and [0053], a sending UE uses the control channel indication sequences to indicate time-frequency resource positions of the PSCCHs to a receiving UE; [0054], there are only one PSCCH or multiple PSCCHs configured in each time slot. Here, only one PSCCH in each time slot is considered and the time-frequency resource positions of the PSCCH are a plurality of resources over a PSCCH; therefore, a plurality of resources over a PSCCH is received in a slot by the receiving UE);
determining the plurality of resources in the slot are control information resources (Fig.2, [0052] and [0054], control channel indication sequences are detected at a pre-set position of each time slot, where the control channel indication sequences has a one-to-one corresponding relationship with PSCCHs; [0056], A time-frequency resource position of a PSCCH corresponding to each control channel indication sequence includes a time-domain position and a frequency-domain position. Here, the plurality of resources correspond to control channel indication sequences; therefore, the control channel indication sequences in the slot are control information resources) and a control information resource type associated with the control information resources ([0017]-[0018], a time-frequency resource position of an actually used Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) among PSFCHs corresponding to the time-frequency resource positions of the PSCCHs; Fig.3 and [0080], the control channel indication sequences correspond to a specific time-frequency position of the PSCCHs, or a time-frequency resource range of the PSCCHs. Here, the specific time-frequency position of the PSCCH (i.e. time-frequency resource position of PSFCH), or the time-frequency resource range of the PSCCH provide a control information resource type associated with the control information resources).
YANG does not specifically teach
determining a priority of the control information resource type based on a configuration relating priorities to control resource information types; and
decoding the PSCCH according to the determined priority of the control information resource type.
However, Sun teaches a method (Title, RESOURCE SELECTION METHOD IN VEHICLE TO EVERYTHING COMMUNICATION AND APPARATUS THEREFORE), the method comprising:
determining a priority of the control information resource type based on a configuration relating priorities to control resource information types (Fig.14 and [0144], At block 1415 the UE 115 identifies a priority level of the first control resource set and a priority level of the second control resource set based on the control resource set configuration message; [0025], the control resource set configuration message comprises an indication of the default priority level of the at least one control resource set. Here, the first and the second control resource sets are the control information resource type and the control resource set configuration message is a configuration relating to control resource information types; therefore, the priority of the control information resource type is determined based on the configuration relating priorities to control information resource types).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YANG as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Sun. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support managing overlapping control resource sets in a wireless communications system, wherein employment of overlapping control resource sets allows for reuse of resources, thereby improving the efficiency of the system (Sun, [0005] and [0041]).
The combination of YANG and Sun does not specifically teach
decoding the PSCCH according to the determined priority of the control information resource type.
However, KIM teaches a method (Title, METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CONTROL CHANNEL SCHEDULING IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS), the method comprising:
determining a priority of the control information resource type based on a configuration ([0049], The selection and prioritization of sub-channels (or the PSCCH transmissions on the sub-channels) are based on prior knowledge of one or more of retransmission information, knowledge of the transmitting UEs, and long-term statistics of sub-channel utilization; [0050], Based on the above information, the UE determines a priority for each subchannel); and
decoding the PSCCH according to the determined priority of the control information resource type ([0049], the UE performs PSCCH decoding (e.g., decode PSCCH transmissions on the selected sub-channels). The selected subset of the sub-channels include certain sub-channels, e.g., where high priority/important PSCCH transmissions occur, and thus PSCCH decoding is limited to the selected subset of sub-channels having high priority PSCCH transmissions. Here, decoding of the PSCCH is based on the priority of the control information resource type).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of YANG and Sun as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of KIM. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide methods and techniques to control channel (e.g., PSCCH) scheduling/prioritizing techniques in wireless communications including, e.g., V2V and V2X communications for better utilization of available cycles to decode high priority PSCCH transmissions, thereby improving power efficiency, reliability and throughput of the UE (KIM, Abstract and [0045]).
Regarding claim 8, YANG teaches (Title, NFORMATION TRANSMISSION METHOD FOR SIDELINK, AND USER EQUIPMENT AND COMPUTER-READABLE STORAGE MEDIUM) a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU) (Fig.2 and [0053], receiving UE; Fig.8 and [0104], structural diagram of a UE 80) comprising:
a transceiver (Fig.8 and [0124], a transmission control unit 85) configured to a plurality of resources over a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) in a slot (Fig.2 and [0053], a sending UE uses the control channel indication sequences to indicate time-frequency resource positions of the PSCCHs to a receiving UE; [0054], there are only one PSCCH or multiple PSCCHs configured in each time slot. Here, only one PSCCH in each time slot is considered and the time-frequency resource positions of the PSCCH are a plurality of resources over a PSCCH; therefore, a plurality of resources over a PSCCH is received in a slot by the receiving UE);
processor circuitry (Fig.8 and [0124], a first and a second detection unit 81 & 83, respectively and a first and a second determination unit 82 & 84, respectively. All the units together work as processor circuitry) configured to:
determine the plurality of resources in the slot are control information resources (Fig.2, [0052] and [0054], control channel indication sequences are detected at a pre-set position of each time slot, where the control channel indication sequences has a one-to-one corresponding relationship with PSCCHs; [0056], A time-frequency resource position of a PSCCH corresponding to each control channel indication sequence includes a time-domain position and a frequency-domain position. Here, the plurality of resources correspond to control channel indication sequences; therefore, the control channel indication sequences in the slot are control information resources) and a control information resource type associated with the control information resources ([0017]-[0018], a time-frequency resource position of an actually used Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) among PSFCHs corresponding to the time-frequency resource positions of the PSCCHs; Fig.3 and [0080], the control channel indication sequences correspond to a specific time-frequency position of the PSCCHs, or a time-frequency resource range of the PSCCHs. Here, the specific time-frequency position of the PSCCH (i.e. time-frequency resource position of PSFCH), or the time-frequency resource range of the PSCCH provide a control information resource type associated with the control information resources).
YANG does not specifically teach
determine a priority of the control information resource type based on a configuration relating priorities to control resource information types; and
decode the PSCCH according to the determined priority of the control information resource type.
However, Sun teaches (Title, RESOURCE SELECTION METHOD IN VEHICLE TO EVERYTHING COMMUNICATION AND APPARATUS THEREFORE):
determine a priority of the control information resource type based on a configuration relating priorities to control resource information types (Fig.14 and At block 1415 the UE 115 identifies a priority level of the first control resource set and a priority level of the second control resource set based on the control resource set configuration message; [0025], the control resource set configuration message comprises an indication of the default priority level of the at least one control resource set. Here, the first and the second control resource sets are the control information resource type and the control resource set configuration message is a configuration relating to control resource information types; therefore, the priority of the control information resource type is determined based on the configuration relating priorities to control resource information types).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified YANG as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Sun. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support managing overlapping control resource sets in a wireless communications system, wherein employment of overlapping control resource sets allows for reuse of resources, thereby improving the efficiency of the system (Sun, [0005] and [0041]).
The combination of YANG and Sun does not specifically teach
decode the PSCCH according to the determined priority of the control information resource type.
However, KIM teaches (Title, METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR CONTROL CHANNEL SCHEDULING IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS):
determine a priority of the control information resource type based on a configuration ([0049], The selection and prioritization of sub-channels (or the PSCCH transmissions on the sub-channels) are based on prior knowledge of one or more of retransmission information, knowledge of the transmitting UEs, and long-term statistics of sub-channel utilization; [0050], Based on the above information, the UE determines a priority for each subchannel); and
decode the PSCCH according to the determined priority of the control information resource type ([0049], the UE performs PSCCH decoding (e.g., decode PSCCH transmissions on the selected sub-channels). The selected subset of the sub-channels include certain sub-channels, e.g., where high priority/important PSCCH transmissions occur, and thus PSCCH decoding is limited to the selected subset of sub-channels having high priority PSCCH transmissions. Here, decoding of the PSCCH is based on the priority of the control information resource type).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of YANG and Sun as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of KIM. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide methods and techniques to control channel (e.g., PSCCH) scheduling/prioritizing techniques in wireless communications including, e.g., V2V and V2X communications for better utilization of available cycles to decode high priority PSCCH transmissions, thereby improving power efficiency, reliability and throughput of the UE (KIM, Abstract and [0045]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 7 and 9 – 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
He et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0029340 A1) – “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR NR V2X RESOURCE SELECTION” discloses a method of a first user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication comprises: receiving, from a second UE via a sidelink, signals including information to select resources for at least one of aperiodic traffic or periodic traffic; decoding sidelink control information (SCI) from the information included in the signals; performing, over a sensing window, a signal measurement of the received signals; identifying a resource selection window based on a latency requirement; reserving the resources for the at least one of aperiodic traffic or periodic traffic in a frequency domain and a time domain based on the decoded SCI and a result of the signal measurement, the resources being identified within a resource selection window; and transmitting, to the second UE via the sidelink, the at least one of aperiodic traffic or periodic traffic using the reserved resources.
ZHANG et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0387377 A1) – “RESOURCE SELECTION METHOD IN VEHICLE TO EVERYTHING COMMUNICATION AND APPARATUS THEREFORE” discloses a resource selection or reselection method by a user equipment (UE) and the UE in Vehicle to vehicle/pedestrian/infrastructure/network (V2X) communication. The method comprises the steps of: detecting physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmitted by other UE(s); selecting (a) single-subframe resource(s) from single-subframe resources which do not overlap with single-subframe resources reserved by the detected PSCCH; and transmitting physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) on the selected single-subframe resource(s).
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474