Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s amendment filed on May 15, 2026 is acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 11 and 15 are withdrawn. Claims 1 and 13 are amended. Claims 21-22 are newly added. Claims 1-10, 12-14 and 16-22 are pending.
Claims 1-10, 12-14 and 16-22 are discussed in this Office action.
All of the amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed and considered but are not found persuasive for the reasons discussed below. Any rejection not reiterated in this action has been withdrawn as being obviated by the amendment of the claims. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
This action is made NON-FINAL.
Previous Grounds of Rejection
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 61395850, 61398159, 61426208, 61462972 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
While each of these priority documents teach components of the method, as claimed, none of these disclosures teach each and every component of the claim. Specifically, while the disclosures of these applications include general teaching of cell-free nucleic acids and isolation from samples that include nucleic acids from multiple individuals including maternal and fetal samples and investigation of specific loci, the only support for a plurality of loci or multiplex amplification (such as including between 20 and 1000 loci, as claimed) is offered in the background and restatement of the state of the art. This is not sufficient teaching to support the earliest priority dates claimed for the instant invention.
The document with the enabling support for the method as claimed is provided by Application number 61448547, with an earliest priority date of March 2, 2011.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 22, 2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 12-14 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7-14 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,655,180 (May 2020). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the sets of claims are drawn to overlapping subject matter of analysis of polymorphic SNP loci in individuals and including analysis of the fraction contributed by the different individuals (compare instant claim 1 to claim 1 of ‘180 patent). Furthermore, both sets of claims are drawn to analysis of SNP loci included on chromosome 1, 2 and 3 (compare instant claim 6-8 to claims 11-13 of the ‘180 patent). Furthermore, claims include similar or overlapping subject matter of a sample type including blood (compare claim 2 of ‘180 patent to instant claim 14).
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 12-14 and 16-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 10-11 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,597,709 (March 2020). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the sets of claims are drawn to overlapping subject matter of amplification of polymorphic SNP loci in individuals and including analysis of the fraction contributed by the different individuals (compare instant claim 1 to claim 1 of ‘709 patent). Furthermore, claims include similar or overlapping subject matter of a sample type including a mixed sample (compare claim 1 to claim 18 of the ‘709 patent) and a plurality of target loci (compare claim 1 and 12-13 to claims 10-11 of the ‘709 patent).
Claims 1-2, 5-10 and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 8-10, 14-17 and 20 of copending Application No. 16817117 (reference application, ‘117 application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct. There are some differences between the instant claims and the claims of the ‘117 application but the similarity is sufficient to render the claims not patent eligible.
For example, claim 1 of the instant claims refer to a first and second individual, the claims of the ‘117 application also refer to first and second individual. However, some of the features of instant claim 1 are present in claim 1 of ‘117, where the feature of high throughput sequencing is recited. Further, much of the claimed subject matter overlaps, including with the number of target loci amplified. Instant claim 1 covers 100-1000 target loci, and that number of loci is encompassed by the claims of the ‘117 application. Features such as the biological sample source from blood, plasma or serum (claim 14 of the instant claims compared to claim 2 of the ‘117 application). Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible because the claims are so similar.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 9-10 and 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7 and 15 of copending Application No. 17505588 (reference application, ‘588 application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct. There are some differences between the instant claims and the claims of the ‘588 application but the similarity is sufficient to render the claims not patent eligible.
For example, claim 1 of the instant claims refer to a first and second individual, the claims of the ‘588 application also refer to first and second individual. Claim 2 of ‘588, recites SNP loci specifically while instant claim 1 recites polymorphic loci. Instant claim 1 covers 100-1000 target loci and the claims of the ‘588 application include at least 1000 loci. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible because the claims are so similar.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-13 and 16-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-8, 12, 16-18 and 20 of copending Application No. 17842118 (reference application, ‘118 application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct. There are some differences between the instant claims and the claims of the ‘118 application but the similarity is sufficient to render the claims not patent eligible.
For example, claim 1 of the instant claims refer to a first and second individual and the claims of the ‘118 application also refer to first and second individual. However, some of the features of copending claim 1 are present in claim 16 and 20 of ‘118, where the feature of high throughput sequencing is recited. Further, much of the claimed subject matter overlaps, including with the number of target loci amplified. Instant claim 1 covers 100-1000 target loci, and that number of loci is entirely encompassed by the claims of the ‘118 application. Features such as SNP loci measured, sample source and the amount of cf DNA in a sample (compare instant claims 4-10, 12-13 and 16-17 of the instant claims to claims 5-8, 12, 16-18 of the ‘118 application). Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible because the claims are so similar.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 5-10, 12-14 and 16-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8-14, 16, 18-19 and 24-27 of copending Application No. 17868238 (reference application, ‘238 application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct. There are some differences between the instant claims and the claims of the ‘238 application but the similarity is sufficient to render the claims not patent eligible.
For example, claim 1 of the instant claims refer to a first and second individual and the claims of the ‘238 application also refer to first and second individual. However, some of the features of copending claim 1 are present in dependent claims. Further, much of the claimed subject matter overlaps, including with the number of target loci amplified. Instant claim 1 covers 100-1000 target loci, which partially overlaps with the number of loci of 100-20,000 loci in the ‘238 application. Features such as the biological sample source from fetus or from blood (claim 10 and 14 of the instant claims compared to claims 2-3 and 19 of the ‘238 application) or the specific chromosomes analyzed (instant claims 6-8 as compared to claims 12-14 of ‘238) are also shared. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible because the claims are so similar.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
New Grounds of Rejection As Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-10, 12, 14 and 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ehrich et al. (US Patent 9,926,593; March 2018).
With regard to claim 1, Ehrich teaches a method for preparing a non-naturally occurring composition of amplified DNA from a biological sample containing DNA from a first individual and a second individual, comprising:
isolating cell-free DNA from the biological sample, wherein the isolated cell-free DNA comprises the DNA from the first individual and DNA from the second individual (col. 11, line 62 to col. 14, line 39, where the template nucleic acid includes maternal and fetal cell free DNA; see also Example 3, under “plasma derived samples” heading; Example 4 where maternal and fetal samples are amplified from maternal blood);
amplifying the isolated cell-free DNA at a plurality of polymorphic loci on one or more chromosomes expected to be disomic to obtain a non-naturally occurring composition of
amplified DNA from the first individual and the second individual, wherein the plurality of polymorphic loci comprises between 20 and 1,000 polymorphic loci, wherein the amplifying comprises amplifying the between 20 and 1,000 polymorphic loci from the cell-free DNA isolated from the biological sample using between 20 and 1,000 distinct primer pairs designed to
reduce primer dimer formation and to target the between 20 and 1,000 polymorphic loci in a single reaction volume (col. 9, line 4 to col. 10, line 19 where different expectations of chromosomal number are described including disomic chromosomes; see also col. 29, line 46- col 30, where at least 100 primers are included in a set for multiplex and multiple sets can be included; see col. 40, lines 24-40);
and preparing the non-naturally occurring composition of amplified at the polymorphic loci for sequencing (col. 36, lines 4 starts a thorough description of sequencing platforms that include high throughput sequencing; see also col. 42 where the amount of alleles are determined as well using data processing to identify the presence or absence of a chromosomal abnormality; see also Example 3 where allele frequencies are used for detecting chromosomal abnormalities).
With regard to claim 5, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the polymorphic loci comprise at least two SNP loci (col. 9, line 4 to col. 10, line 19 where different expectations of chromosomal number are described including disomic chromosomes; see also col. 29, line 46- col 30, where at least 100 primers are included in a set for multiplex and multiple sets can be included; see col. 40, lines 24-40).
With regard to claim 6, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 5, wherein the polymorphic loci comprise at least two SNP loci on chromosome 1 (col. 9, line 4 to col. 10, line 19 where different expectations of chromosomal number are described including disomic chromosomes; see also col. 29, line 46- col 30, where at least 100 primers are included in a set for multiplex and multiple sets can be included; see col. 40, lines 24-40).
With regard to claim 7, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 5, wherein the polymorphic loci comprise at least two SNP loci on chromosome 2 (col. 9, line 4 to col. 10, line 19 where different expectations of chromosomal number are described including disomic chromosomes; see also col. 29, line 46- col 30, where at least 100 primers are included in a set for multiplex and multiple sets can be included; see col. 40, lines 24-40).
With regard to claim 8, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 5, wherein the polymorphic loci comprise at least two SNP loci on chromosome 3 (col. 9, line 4 to col. 10, line 19 where different expectations of chromosomal number are described including disomic chromosomes; see also col. 29, line 46- col 30, where at least 100 primers are included in a set for multiplex and multiple sets can be included; see col. 40, lines 24-40).
With regard to claim 9, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 1, wherein sequencing comprises high-throughput sequencing (col. 36, lines 4 starts a thorough description of sequencing platforms that include high throughput sequencing; see also col. 42 where the amount of alleles are determined as well using data processing to identify the presence or absence of a chromosomal abnormality; see also Example 3 where allele frequencies are used for detecting chromosomal abnormalities).
With regard to claim 10, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the cell-free DNA comprises DNA from a fetus (col. 9, line 4 to col. 10, line 19 where different expectations of chromosomal number are described including disomic chromosomes; see also col. 29, line 46- col 30, where at least 100 primers are included in a set for multiplex and multiple sets can be included; see col. 40, lines 24-40; see also col. 11, line 62 to col. 14, line 39, where the template nucleic acid includes maternal and fetal cell free DNA; see also Example 3, under “plasma derived samples” heading; Example 4 where maternal and fetal samples are amplified from maternal blood).
With regard to claim 12, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the amplifying step comprises amplifying between 50 and 1,000 polymorphic loci from the cell-free DNA isolated from the biological sample using between 50 and 1,000 distinct primer pairs configure to target the between 50 and 1,000 polymorphic loci in a single reaction volume (col. 9, line 4 to col. 10, line 19 where different expectations of chromosomal number are described including disomic chromosomes; see also col. 29, line 46- col 30, where at least 100 primers are included in a set for multiplex and multiple sets can be included; see col. 40, lines 24-40; see also col. 11, line 62 to col. 14, line 39, where the template nucleic acid includes maternal and fetal cell free DNA; see also Example 3, under “plasma derived samples” heading; Example 4 where maternal and fetal samples are amplified from maternal blood).
With regard to claim 14, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the biological sample is a blood sample (col. 9, line 4 to col. 10, line 19 where different expectations of chromosomal number are described including disomic chromosomes; see also col. 29, line 46- col 30, where at least 100 primers are included in a set for multiplex and multiple sets can be included; see col. 40, lines 24-40; see also col. 11, line 62 to col. 14, line 39, where the template nucleic acid includes maternal and fetal cell free DNA; see also Example 3, under “plasma derived samples” heading; Example 4 where maternal and fetal samples are amplified from maternal blood).
With regard to claim 16, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the distinct primers are configured to target the polymorphic loci via hybridization (col. 9, line 4 to col. 10, line 19 where different expectations of chromosomal number are described including disomic chromosomes; see also col. 29, line 46- col 30, where at least 100 primers are included in a set for multiplex and multiple sets can be included; see col. 40, lines 24-40; see also col. 11, line 62 to col. 14, line 39, where the template nucleic acid includes maternal and fetal cell free DNA; see also Example 3, under “plasma derived samples” heading; Example 4 where maternal and fetal samples are amplified from maternal blood).
With regard to claim 17, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the distinct primers comprise PCR primers (col. 9, line 4 to col. 10, line 19 where different expectations of chromosomal number are described including disomic chromosomes; see also col. 29, line 46- col 30, where at least 100 primers are included in a set for multiplex and multiple sets can be included; see col. 40, lines 24-40; see also col. 11, line 62 to col. 14, line 39, where the template nucleic acid includes maternal and fetal cell free DNA; see also Example 3, under “plasma derived samples” heading; Example 4 where maternal and fetal samples are amplified from maternal blood).
With regard to claim 18, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the total amount of cell-free DNA in the sample is between 10 pg and 100 pg (col. 9, line 4 to col. 10, line 19 where different expectations of chromosomal number are described including disomic chromosomes; see also col. 29, line 46- col 30, where at least 100 primers are included in a set for multiplex and multiple sets can be included; see col. 40, lines 24-40; see also col. 11, line 62 to col. 14, line 39, where the template nucleic acid includes maternal and fetal cell free DNA; see also Example 3, under “plasma derived samples” heading; Example 4 where maternal and fetal samples are amplified from maternal blood).
With regard to claim 19, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 18, wherein less than or equal to 10, 5, 2, 1, 0.5, 0.1, 0.05, 0.01, or 0.005% of the cell free DNA molecules that have a first locus have a mutation in the first locus (col. 9, line 4 to col. 10, line 19 where different expectations of chromosomal number are described including disomic chromosomes; see also col. 29, line 46- col 30, where at least 100 primers are included in a set for multiplex and multiple sets can be included; see col. 40, lines 24-40; see also col. 11, line 62 to col. 14, line 39, where the template nucleic acid includes maternal and fetal cell free DNA; see also Example 3, under “plasma derived samples” heading; Example 4 where maternal and fetal samples are amplified from maternal blood).
With regard to claim 20, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 18, wherein amplifying the isolated cell-free DNA comprises amplifying from 72%, 69%, 66%, 63%, 59%, or 56% of available cfDNA template fragment molecules (col. 9, line 4 to col. 10, line 19 where different expectations of chromosomal number are described including disomic chromosomes; see also col. 29, line 46- col 30, where at least 100 primers are included in a set for multiplex and multiple sets can be included; see col. 40, lines 24-40; see also col. 11, line 62 to col. 14, line 39, where the template nucleic acid includes maternal and fetal cell free DNA; see also Example 3, under “plasma derived samples” heading; Example 4 where maternal and fetal samples are amplified from maternal blood).
With regard to claim 21, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the single reaction volume is at least 1 pl (col. 9, line 4 to col. 10, line 19 where different expectations of chromosomal number are described including disomic chromosomes; see also col. 29, line 46- col 30, where at least 100 primers are included in a set for multiplex and multiple sets can be included; see col. 40, lines 24-40; see also col. 11, line 62 to col. 14, line 39, where the template nucleic acid includes maternal and fetal cell free DNA; see also Example 3, under “plasma derived samples” heading; Example 4 where maternal and fetal samples are amplified from maternal blood).
With regard to claim 22, Ehrich teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the method does not comprise PCR amplification in a microfluidic device (col. 36, lines 4 starts a thorough description of sequencing platforms that include high throughput sequencing; see also col. 42 where the amount of alleles are determined as well using data processing to identify the presence or absence of a chromosomal abnormality; see also Example 3 where allele frequencies are used for detecting chromosomal abnormalities).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ehrich et al. (US Patent 9,926,593; March 2018) as applied over claims 1, 5-10, 12, 14 and 16-22 above and further in view of Oeth et al. (US Patent 8173370; May 2012).
With regard to claim 2, Oeth teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises enriching the DNA in the sample at the plurality of polymorphic loci prior to the amplifying step (col. 1 lines 58-65; col. 20, lines 45-62, where cell-free DNA is extracted from maternal plasma).
With regard to claim 3, Oeth teaches a method of claim 2, wherein the enrichment comprises:
obtaining a plurality of target-specific primers designed to hybridize to regions of DNA upstream and downstream of the polymorphic loci; hybridizing the target-specific primers to the DNA; and amplifying the DNA using the polymerase chain reaction to form amplicons (col. 1 lines 58-65; col. 20, lines 45-62, where cell-free DNA is extracted from maternal plasma).
With regard to claim 4, Oeth teaches a method of claim 2, wherein the enrichment comprises preferentially enriching the DNA at the plurality of loci to minimize an average degree of allelic bias (col. 1 lines 58-65; col. 20, lines 45-62, where cell-free DNA is extracted from maternal plasma).
With regard to claim 13, Oeth teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the amplifying step comprises amplifying between 200 and 1,000 polymorphic loci from the cell-free DNA isolated from the biological sample using between 200 and 1,000 distinct primer pairs configure to target the between 100 and 1,000 polymorphic loci in a single reaction volume (col. 11, lines 55-65; where up to 1000 SNPs are amplified; Example 2, for example, where the genotype was established at multiplex locations).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have adjusted the teachings of Ehrich to include the higher level multiplex as taught by Oeth to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success. Oeth teaches “Accordingly, multiplexed primer mass extension therefore encompasses [5 or more, 6 or more, 7 or more, 8 or more, 9 or more, 10 or more, 11 or more, 12 or more, 13 or more, 14 or more, 15 or more, 16 or more, 17 or more, 18 or more, 19 or more, 20 or more, 30 or more, 40 or more, 50 or more, 60 or more, 70 or more, 80 or more, 100 or more, 200 or more, 500 or more, 1000 or more, 2000 or more primer mass extension reactions. Multiplexed amplification and primer mass extension reactions also encompass 21, 22, 23, 24, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 60, 70, 80, 100, 1000 or more reactions” (col. 17, lines 42 to col. 18, line 2). Oeth also teaches “The plurality of polymorphisms may include 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90, 100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 600, 700, 800, 900, 1000 or more polymorphisms. In a related embodiment, the polymorphism is a single nucleotide polymorphism (SNP), insertion/deletion, short tandem repeats (STRs), RFLPs or any other alternate form of a gene, genomic DNA or non-coding region of DNA that occupies the same position on a chromosome” (col. 11, lines 40-47, where the number of loci amplified is taught). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have adjusted the teachings of Ehrich to include the higher level multiplex as taught by Oeth to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10, 12-14 and 16-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The rejections under obviousness type double patenting are not being held in abeyance. The rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. All claims stand rejected.
/STEPHANIE K MUMMERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681