DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1 of claim 7 discloses in part: “the second electrode part of the first”. It appears the phrase should read as “the second electrode part [[of]] or the first”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kishimoto (US 20010004180 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Kishimoto discloses a sound apparatus (figs.3-7), comprising:
a sound generating module (#1-3) including a vibration member (#3) and a vibration apparatus (#2) configured at the vibration member (Par.[0042]); and
an enclosure (#4,10) connected to the vibration member with an internal space (fig.4 internal space defined by metal plate #3 and substrate #10) therebetween (Par.[0045]),
wherein a portion of the vibration apparatus is accommodated at the vibration member (Par.[0042] “In this preferred embodiment, the piezoelectric element 2 is adhered to the metal plate 3 at a position displaced along its length to one side, and thus the other side of the metal plate 3 is exposed as an exposed portion 3a”).
With respect to claim 2, Kishimoto discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration member comprises a groove part (#4e) accommodating the portion of the vibration apparatus, or wherein the vibration apparatus comprises an electrode layer (#2a) accommodated at the groove part of the vibration member (Par.[0057]).
With respect to claim 3, Kishimoto discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration apparatus comprises one or more vibration generators (#2), and wherein a portion of the one or more vibration generators is accommodated at the vibration member (Par.[0014][0042] piezoelectric element #2 is a vibration generator that is accommodated at the vibration member #3) .
With respect to claim 4, Kishimoto discloses the sound apparatus of claim 3, wherein the one or more vibration generators comprise a vibration generating part (#2), and wherein a portion of the vibration generating part is accommodated at the vibration member (Par.[0014][0042] piezoelectric element #2 is a vibration generating part of the vibration generator that is accommodated at the vibration member #3).
With respect to claim 6, Kishimoto discloses the sound apparatus of claim 4, wherein the vibration generating part comprises: a vibration part including a piezoelectric material (fig.6 #2; Par.[0043]); a first electrode part (fig.6 #2a) at a first surface of the vibration part; and a second electrode part (fig.6 #2b) at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibrating part, wherein one of the first electrode part and the second electrode part (fig.6 #2b) is accommodated at the vibration member (fig.6 #3).
With respect to claim 10, Kishimoto discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a connection member (fig.4 #6,16) connected to the enclosure, wherein the connection member comprises a first portion (fig.4 #6) and a second portion (fig.4 #16) having different thicknesses (As shown in figures 3,4; portions #6 and #16 comprise different thicknesses in the X-Y plane).
With respect to claim 11, Kishimoto discloses the sound apparatus of claim 10, wherein the thickness of the second portion (#16) of the connection member is greater than the thickness of the first portion (#6) of the connection member (See fig.4), and/or wherein the second portion of the connection member is at a periphery portion of the enclosure, and the first portion of the connection member is at a remaining portion, other than the periphery portion, of the enclosure (As shown in figure 4, portion #16 is at a periphery of enclosure #4, and portion #6 is at a remaining portion other than the periphery).
With respect to claim 12, Kishimoto discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration member (#3) is configured to cover the internal space (#7) of the enclosure, and wherein the enclosure is coupled to a periphery portion of the vibration member (fig.4 connected at periphery via portions #6) and comprises an opening part (#4d) connected to the internal space.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto (US 20010004180 A1) in view of Nakaya et al (US 5684884).
With respect to claim 5, Kishimoto discloses the sound apparatus of claim 4, however does not disclose expressly wherein the one or more vibration generators further comprise a cover member covering the vibration generating part, or wherein the vibration apparatus further comprises a cover member attached to the vibration member to cover the vibration generating part.
Nakaya discloses a sound apparatus (fig.1 #2) comprising a vibration generator (fig.1 #4,6A-B)(col.5 ln.15-35), wherein the vibration generators further comprises a cover member (fig.1 #8 “support layer”) covering the vibration generating part (col.6 ln.1-11).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the cover member of Nakaya to cover the vibration generating part of Kishimoto. The motivation for doing so would have been to hold the piezoelectric sheet in a curved shape and to matching an acoustic impedance to improve tone quality, see (Nakaya: col.2 ln.40-50).
With respect to claim 7, Kishimoto discloses the sound apparatus of claim 6, wherein the second electrode part (fig.6 #2b) of the first electrode part and the second electrode part is accommodated at the vibration member (fig.6 #3), and wherein the one or more vibration generators further comprise: a signal supply member (fig.4 #13,14) electrically connected to the first electrode part and the second electrode part (Par.[0047-0048]).
Kishimoto does not disclose expressly a cover member covering the first electrode part.
Nakaya discloses a sound apparatus (fig.1 #2) comprising a vibration generator (fig.1 #4) with a first electrode part (fig.1 #6A)(col.5 ln.15-35), further comprising a cover member (fig.1 #8 “support layer”) covering the first electrode part (col.6 ln.1-11).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the cover member of Nakaya to cover the first electrode part of Kishimoto. The motivation for doing so would have been to hold the piezoelectric sheet in a curved shape and to matching an acoustic impedance to improve tone quality, see (Nakaya: col.2 ln.40-50).
With respect to claim 8, Kishimoto discloses the sound apparatus of claim 7, wherein the signal supply member comprises: a first signal line (fig.4 #13) electrically connected to the first electrode part between the vibration member and the first electrode part; and a second signal line (fig.4 #14) electrically connected to the second electrode part between the cover member and the second electrode part (Par.[0047-0048]).
Claim(s) 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto (US 20010004180 A1) in view of Kong et al (US 20130287233 A1).
With respect to claim 9, Kishimoto discloses the sound apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vibration apparatus comprises: a first vibration apparatus (fig.6 #2) configured at a first surface of the vibration member (fig.6 #3); however does not disclose expressly and a second vibration apparatus configured at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration member.
Kong discloses a sound apparatus comprising a first vibration apparatus (fig.4 #100) configured at a first surface of a vibration member (fig.4 #200); and a second vibration apparatus (fig.4 #100’) configured at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration member (Par.[0074-0078]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to mount a second vibration apparatus on a second surface of the vibration member of Kishimoto, as performed by Kong. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase an amplitude of the vibration member within a same area by using two vibration apparatuses, as taught by Kong (Par.[0078]).
With respect to claim 13, Kishimoto discloses the sound apparatus of claim 12, wherein the vibration apparatus comprises: a first vibration apparatus (fig.6 #2) configured at a first surface of the vibration member (fig.6 #3); however does not disclose expressly a second vibration apparatus connected to a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration member, or connected to the first vibration apparatus.
Kong discloses a sound apparatus comprising a first vibration apparatus (fig.4 #100) configured at a first surface of a vibration member (fig.4 #200); and a second vibration apparatus (fig.4 #100’) configured at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration member (Par.[0074-0078]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to mount a second vibration apparatus on a second surface of the vibration member of Kishimoto, as performed by Kong. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase an amplitude of the vibration member within a same area by using two vibration apparatuses, as taught by Kong (Par.[0078]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto (US 20010004180 A1) in view of Kong et al (US 20130287233 A1) and in further view of Bretthauer et al (US 20230362551 A1).
With respect to claim 14, Kishimoto discloses the sound apparatus of claim 13, however does not disclose expressly wherein the vibration member comprises one or more holes at a periphery of the vibration apparatus.
Bretthauer discloses a sound apparatus comprising a vibration member (fig.4a #20) with at least one or more holes (fig.4b #50) at a periphery of the vibration apparatus (Par.[0090-0092]), and wherein a first and second space are connected to each other through the at least one or more holes (Spaces above and below membrane structure #20 are connected with holes #50).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the holes of Bretthauer in the vibration apparatus of Kishimoto and Kong. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a structural stiffening of the membrane #20, as taught by Bretthauer See; Par.[0056-0056].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto (US 20010004180 A1) in view of Kong et al (US 20130287233 A1) and in further view of Nakaya et al (US 5684884).
With respect to claim 15, Kishimoto discloses the sound apparatus of claim 13, however does not disclose expressly further comprising a protection member at the second vibration apparatus, wherein the protection member is configured to contact the second vibration apparatus and the second surface of the vibration member, or is configured to cover the second vibration apparatus and the second surface of the vibration member.
Nakaya discloses a sound apparatus (fig.1 #2) comprising a vibration generator (fig.1 #4,6A-B)(col.5 ln.15-35), wherein the vibration generators further comprises a protection member (fig.1 #8 “support layer”) covering the vibration generating part (col.6 ln.1-11).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the cover member of Nakaya to cover the vibration generating part of Kishimoto and Kong. The motivation for doing so would have been to hold the piezoelectric sheet in a curved shape and to matching an acoustic impedance to improve tone quality, see (Nakaya: col.2 ln.40-50).
Claim(s) 16-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto (US 20010004180 A1) in view of Lee et al (US 20210352390 A1).
With respect to claim 16, Kishimoto discloses the at least one or more sound generating apparatuses of claim 1; however does not disclose expressly a vehicular apparatus.
Lee discloses a vehicular apparatus comprising: an interior material (fig.1 #130) exposed at an internal space; and at least one or more sound generating apparatuses (fig.1 #30) disposed at the interior material to output a sound to the internal space (Par.[0053-0054]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to mount the sound generating apparatus of Kishimoto within an interior material of a vehicle, as performed by Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an output sound to occupants of the vehicle.
With respect to claim 17, Kishimoto discloses the vehicular apparatus of claim 16 in view of Lee, wherein the vibration member in the one or more sound generating apparatuses is configured to cover the internal space of the enclosure (See fig.4), and wherein the enclosure is coupled to a periphery portion of the vibration member and comprises an opening part (fig.4 #4d) connected to the internal space (Par.[0045]).
With respect to claim 20, Kishimoto discloses the vehicular apparatus of claim 16 in view of Lee, wherein the interior material (Lee: #130) comprises one or more materials of metal, wood, rubber, plastic, carbon, glass, fiber, cloth, paper, a mirror, and leather, and/or wherein the interior material comprises at least one or more of a dashboard, a pillar interior material, a roof interior material, a door interior material, a seat interior material, a handle interior material, a floor interior material, a rear package interior material, an overhead console, a rear view mirror, a glove box, and a sun visor, and the one or more sound generating apparatuses are configured to vibrate at least one or more of the dashboard, the pillar interior material, the roof interior material, the door interior material, the seat interior material, the handle interior material, the floor interior material, the rear package interior material, the overhead console, the rear view mirror, the glove box, and the sun visor, to generate a sound (Lee: Par.[0054-0058]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto (US 20010004180 A1) in view of Lee et al (US 20210352390 A1) and in further view of Kong et al (US 20130287233 A1).
With respect to claim 18, Kishimoto discloses the vehicular apparatus of claim 17 in view of Lee, wherein the vibration apparatus comprises: a first vibration apparatus configured at a first surface of the vibration member; however does not disclose expressly a second vibration apparatus connected to a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration member, or connected to the first vibration apparatus.
Kong discloses a sound apparatus comprising a first vibration apparatus (fig.4 #100) configured at a first surface of a vibration member (fig.4 #200); and a second vibration apparatus (fig.4 #100’) configured at a second surface different from the first surface of the vibration member (Par.[0074-0078]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to mount a second vibration apparatus on a second surface of the vibration member of Kishimoto and Lee, as performed by Kong. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase an amplitude of the vibration member within a same area by using two vibration apparatuses, as taught by Kong (Par.[0078]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishimoto (US 20010004180 A1) in view of Lee et al (US 20210352390 A1) and in further view of Sato (US 20200359128).
With respect to claim 19, Kishimoto discloses the vehicular apparatus of claim 17 in view of Lee, however does not disclose expressly further comprising a coupling part configured to couple the enclosure in the one or more sound generating apparatuses to the interior material, wherein the coupling part comprises a hollow part connected to the internal space of the enclosure through the opening part of the enclosure.
Sato discloses a coupling part (fig.2 #14) configured to couple an enclosure (fig.2 #1) in one or more sound generating apparatuses (fig.2 #3) to an interior material (fig.2 #7), wherein the coupling part comprises a hollow part (fig.2 #103) connected to the internal space of the enclosure through the opening part of the enclosure.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the present invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the coupling part of Sato mount the enclosure of Kishimoto to the interior material of Lee. The motivation or doing so would have been to provide a sound outlet for direct propagation of acoustic waves from the sound generating apparatus into the interior space of the vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Storm (US 9113248 B2) discloses a diaphragm arrangement for generating sound.
Hamada et al (US 7141919 B1) discloses a piezoelectric electroacoustic transducer.
Takeshima et al (US 6969942 B2) discloses a piezoelectric electroacoustic transducer.
JASON R. KURR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2695
/JASON R KURR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695