CTNF 18/885,170 CTNF 87222 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1 – 15 are pending in this application. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Applicant has provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) JP-S58-125064 on pages 1-2 of the specification. Applicants have not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) discussed below. Uno (U.S Patent No. 4,532,552) teaches an apparatus for recording the information content of an electrical signal on the surface of a light sensitive medium by means of a plurality of scan traces across said medium comprises a source for providing a light beam of high intensity modulated in accordance with electrical information supplied thereto, an actuator for actuating the source means and generating sync signals, the frequency of the sync signals being altered in accordance with variations in scanning speeds of the light beam to impinge on the medium, a reflector having a plurality of contiguous reflective faces rotatable about a central axis, a rotation device for rotating said reflector about said central axis; and a lens, disposed between said source and said reflector, for receiving and passing through said light beam. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 5 (line 26) is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “image date” should be changed to “image data” . Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim 6 (line 2 or 3) is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “image date” should be changed to “image data” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 - 8, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Fujii et al. (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2016/0246210 A1, hereinafter 'Fujii') . With respect to claim 1, Fujii teaches an image forming apparatus ( i.e., an image forming apparatus, ¶0010 ) comprising: a rotatable photosensitive member ( i.e., a photosensitive drum, ¶0010, ¶0037 - ¶0039 ); and a light emitting means ( e.g., light emitting means, ¶0010, ¶0039 - ¶0040 ) configured to form a latent image on the photosensitive member by scanning laser light based on image data in a scanning direction ( e.g. configured to form a latent image on said photosensitive drum by scanning laser light based on image data in a scanning direction, ¶0039 - ¶0040, ¶0054 - ¶0055 ), wherein a scanning speed which is a speed of the laser light scanned on the photosensitive member is slower at a center portion than at an end portion ( e.g., where a scanning speed is decreased at a middle portion than an end portion, abstract, ¶0010, ¶0076 - ¶0077, ¶0098, ¶0128 - ¶0131, ¶0139 ), and a correcting means configured to correct the image data according to a continuous pixel number which is a number of pixels, for forming the latent image, continued in the scanning direction and a pixel position which is a position within continuous pixels which are a plurality of pixels continued ( e.g., correct image data according to a number of pixels, for forming the latent image, continued in the scanning direction and a pixel position which is around adjoining pixels, ¶0094 ). With respect to claim 2, Fujii teaches an image forming apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the correcting means performs correction to a center portion of the image data in the scanning direction ( Fig. 8A ). With respect to claim 3, Fujii teaches an image forming apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the correcting means corrects the image data by changing a width corresponding to one pixel in the image data ( Fig. 8A ). With respect to claim 4, Fujii teaches an image forming apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the correcting means changes a correction amount in correcting the image data depending on whether the pixel position is an end or an inside of the continuous pixels ( Fig. 8A ). With respect to claim 5, Fujii teaches an image forming apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the correcting means changes a correction amount in correcting the image date so as to increase as the scanning speed is slow ( e.g., adjust image so as to increase as the scanning speed is reduced, ¶0073 - ¶0077 ). With respect to claim 6, Fujii teaches an image forming apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the correcting means changes a correction amount in correcting the image date so as to increase as the continuous pixel number is small ( e.g., adjust image so as to increase as the number of pixels becomes smaller, ¶0065, ¶0074, ¶0094 ). With respect to claim 7, Fujii teaches an image forming apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the correcting means changes a correction amount in correcting the image data based on a distribution of a light quantity of the laser light in the scanning direction ( e.g., change amount in correcting the image based on distribution of a light amount in the scanning direction, ¶0149 - ¶0150 ). With respect to claim 8, Fujii teaches an image forming apparatus according to Claim 7, wherein the correcting means changes the correction amount so as to increase as the light quantity is large ( e.g., light amount becomes large, ¶0128 - ¶0129 ). With respect to claim 13, Fujii teaches an image forming apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the correcting means changes a correction amount in correcting the image data based on a usage environment of the image forming apparatus ( e.g., correct image data according to environmental conditions; this is a well-known in the art, ¶0103 ). With respect to claim 14, Fujii teaches an image forming apparatus according to Claim 13, wherein the usage environment is a temperature, and wherein the correcting means adds a predetermined value to the correction amount in correcting the image data in a case in which the temperature is a predetermined temperature or higher ( e.g., correct image data according to environmental conditions (e.g., when temperature is above acceptable range); this is a well-known in the art, ¶0103 ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii in view of Kawana et al. (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2018/0275557 A1, hereinafter ‘Kawana’) . With respect to claim 9, Fujii teaches an image forming apparatus according to Claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the correcting means changes a correction amount in correcting the image data depending on a sensitivity of the photosensitive member . However, in the same field of endeavor of photosensitive member and correcting values, Kawana teaches wherein the correcting means changes a correction amount in correcting the image data depending on a sensitivity of the photosensitive member ( e.g., based on a sensitivity of a photosensitive drum, correct image data, ¶0135 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the image forming apparatus of Fujii as taught by Kawana since Kawana suggested in ¶0135 that such modification would correct emission ratio of laser light emitted by the light source in order to prevent a decrease in image density caused by a decrease in total amount of exposure per unit length from an on-axis image height to an off-axis image height due to a decrease in the amount of exposure. With respect to claim 10, Fujii in view of Kawana teaches an image forming apparatus according to Claim 9, wherein the correcting means changes the correction amount in correcting the image data so as to increase as the sensitivity of the photosensitive member is high ( e.g., based on the sensitivity along with high temperature of the photosensitive drum, correct image data, ¶0092 with ¶0135 ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii in view of Yamauchi et al. (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2006/0115283 A1, hereinafter ‘Yamauchi) . With respect to claim 11, Fujii teaches an image forming apparatus according to Claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the correcting means changes a correction amount in correcting the image data based on a usage history of the photosensitive member. However, in the same field of endeavor of photosensitive drum and correcting values, Yamauchi teaches wherein the correcting means changes a correction amount in correcting the image data based on a usage history of the photosensitive member ( e.g. based on usage history of a photosensitive drum, adjust/correct image data, ¶0009 - ¶0010, ¶0028 - ¶0032 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the image forming apparatus of Fujii as taught by Yamauchi since Yamauchi suggested within ¶0009 - ¶0010 and ¶0028 - ¶0032 that such modification of correcting based on history would retrieve up-to-date data to perform satisfactory image forming suited thereto, thus the image quality is improved. With respect to claim 12, Fujii in view of Yamauchi teaches an image forming apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the correcting means subtracts a predetermined value from the correction amount in correcting the image data in a case in which a lifetime of the photosensitive member is longer than a predetermined lifetime ( e. in a case when the life is more than a life set, adjust image data using various process conditions, ¶0009 - ¶0010, ¶0028 - ¶0032, Fig. 4 ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii in view of Teranishi et al. (U.S Patent No. 5,852,756, hereinafter ‘Teranishi’) . With respect to claim 15, Fujii teaches an image forming apparatus according to Claim 13, but fails to teach wherein the usage environment is a humidity, and wherein the correcting means subtracts a predetermined value to the correction amount in correcting the image data in a case in which the humidity is a predetermined humidity or lower. However, in the same field of endeavor of photosensitive drums and adjusting values, Teranishi teaches wherein the usage environment is a humidity , and wherein the correcting means subtracts a predetermined value to the correction amount in correcting the image data in a case in which the humidity is a predetermined humidity or lower ( e.g., in a case when humidity is a predetermined humidity or lower, adjust image data by adding a negative value to adjust image forming conditions (e.g. amount of the toner), abstract, Col 2 (lines 24 – 47), Figs. 5– 8 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the image forming apparatus of Fujii as taught by Teranishi since Teranishi suggested in Col 2 (lines 24 – 47) and Figs. 5 – 8 that such modification of depending from humidity would decrease in the amount of toner charged by friction with a carrier in order to prevent amount of toner moved to surface of a photosensitive drum due to degradation. Conclusion 07-96 The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Watanabe et al. (U.S PG Publication No. 2016/0246209 A1) 1 Ito (U.S Publication No. 11,815,825 B2) 2 Shimizu et al. (U.S Patent No. 10,520,849 B2) 3 1 This reference teaches an image forming apparatus including a scanning unit configured to form a latent image on a photosensitive member, wherein a scanning speed changes within a scan line; a control unit configured to perform correction control of a luminance and a light-emitting time of a light source; a holding unit configured to hold profile information indicating a change of the light spot due to an environment or due to a position of the pixel. The holding unit is further configured to hold scanning information indicating the light-emitting time of the light source or the luminance of the light source with respect to a pixel, for correcting a change in the scanning time of the pixel, and the control unit is further configured to perform the correction control based on the scanning information and the profile information. 2 This reference teaches that each pixel in a print image is classified based on a ratio of pixels having at least a predetermined density which are continuous in a predetermined region (continuity), and on the ratio of pixels having at least a predetermined density in a predetermined region (coverage ratio). Each pixel in the print image is classified into type 1 (small dot or fine line=easy to fix) and type 2 (solid=difficult to fix). Furthermore, for regions divided in the main scanning direction, a number of printing pixels in type 1 and in type 2 are counted, and the temperature control value is determined considering the difference in the toner layered state with respect to the main scanning direction. Thereby a more accurate fixing temperature value can be calculated, and power consumption can be reduced while ensuring a necessary fixing performance. 3 This reference teaches a luminance correction method of the emission unit 11, a current necessary for acquiring the luminance at the most off-axis image height is automatically adjusted by APC, and the luminance correction analog voltage 312 is controlled based on the information of the correction current for the emission unit 11 stored in the ROM 3. In addition, correction is performed so that the luminance will increase in accordance with the increase in the absolute value of the image height by subtracting a predetermined amount of current from the drive current of the emission unit 11. That is, control is performed so that the luminance of the laser light 208 will become lower as the scanning position becomes closer to the center (on-axis image height) in the main scanning direction of the photosensitive member 4. As a result, the on-axis image height becomes 74% (≈100%/135%) when the luminance of the light source 401 is set to be 100% at the most off-axis image height, and correction is performed so that the total exposure amount (integral light amount) for one pixel will be constant at each image height. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUAN M GUILLERMETY whose telephone number is (571)270-3481. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00AM - 5:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Benny Q TIEU can be reached at 571-272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JUAN M GUILLERMETY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/885,170 Page 2 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/885,170 Page 3 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/885,170 Page 5 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/885,170 Page 6 Art Unit: 2682