DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for generating infrared radiation (IR)” in claim 1, “means for generating negative oxygen ions” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In this case, the corresponding structures of “means for generating infrared radiation (IR)” as recited in claim 5 include: an infrared lamp arranged on the underside of the top plate assembly.; and the corresponding structures of “means for generating negative oxygen ions” as recited in claim 3 include: an annular anion-emitting needle assembly attached to an interior side of the top plate assembly and an anion emission controller electrically connected to the annular anion-emitting needle assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drazic (DE 202022101884) in view of Joy (US 3,271,786), Guo (CN 109984900), Jeon (KR 20100129934A) and Schaffert (US 2016/0138258).
Regarding claim 1, Drazic discloses (Fig. 1-2) a mobile (“mobile construction”, paragraph [0023]) infrared (“infrared heater” paragraph [0019]) exposure chamber, the chamber comprising:
a base plate assembly (floor 1e) having four corners;
four enclosure plates (walls 1b,1c,1d,1f) arranged about the base plate assembly to form an enclosure (see Fig. 1), one of the enclosure plates having an opening for entering the enclosure (opening of plate 1c having door 18);
a top plate assembly (plate 1a) in contact with a top edge of each of the enclosure plates (see Fig. 2);
means for generating infrared radiation (IR) (infrared radiator 17).
Drazic does not disclose four support columns each having a top end, a bottom end and four surfaces extending therebetween, two adjacent surfaces of which being reversibly joined to two enclosure plates and the bottom end of each support column being reversibly attached to a single one of the four corners of the base plate assembly.
However, Joy teaches (Fig. 1-3) a portable sauna comprises four support columns (columns 21) each having a top end, a bottom end and four surfaces extending therebetween (see Fig. 1), two adjacent surfaces of which being reversibly joined to two enclosure plates and the bottom end of each support column being reversibly attached to a single one of the four corners of the base plate assembly (reversible attachment via screws, Col. 3 lines 62-66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Drazic to include four support columns each having a top end, a bottom end and four surfaces extending therebetween, two adjacent surfaces of which being reversibly joined to two enclosure plates and the bottom end of each support column being reversibly attached to a single one of the four corners of the base plate assembly, as taught by Joy, for the purpose of providing a stable and reversibly attachable structure for the cabin so that therapy can be safely provided and portability improved.
Modified Drazic does not disclose the chamber is a negative oxygen ion exposure chamber and includes means for generating negative oxygen ions, wherein the chamber is configured to operate at a concentration of at least 10,000 negative oxygen ions per cubic meter of internal volume of the enclosure.
However, Guo teaches (Fig. 1) a chamber that is a negative oxygen ion exposure chamber (page 2 paragraph 3) and includes means for generating negative oxygen ions (negative ion generator 5, where the ions include oxygen ions, page 2 paragraph 3). Regarding “the chamber is configured to operate at a concentration of at least 10,000 negative oxygen ions per cubic meter of internal volume of the enclosure”, Guo does not disclose the specific ion/cubic meter value of the ions, however, Jeon teaches (Fig. 1) a chamber configured to operate at a concentration of at least 10,000 negative anions per cubic meter of internal volume of the enclosure (1-2 million ions per cubic meter of volume, page 5 paragraph 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber of modified Drazic to include a negative oxygen ion exposure chamber and includes means for generating negative oxygen ions, as taught by Guo, for the purpose of promoting the metabolism of the human body, improving the immunity of the human body, enhancing the function of the human body, and also relax the body and improve sleep (page 2 paragraph 7 Guo), and to further modify the negative oxygen ion generator to operate at a concentration of at least 10,000 negative oxygen ions per cubic meter of internal volume of the enclosure, as taught by Jeon, for the purpose of providing sufficient concentration to vitamize the air and improve therapeutic outcome (page 5 paragraph 5 Jeon). Furthermore, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to try to a concentration of at least 10,000 for the purpose of improving recovery of user, since discovering the optimum value only involves routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Modified Drazic discloses wherein the base plate assembly includes two fixed wheels (rollers 6 Drazic), but does not disclose one removeable swiveling wheel configured for moving the chamber in a desired direction.
However, Schaffert teaches (Figs. 17A-20) a portable shed comprising at least one removable swiveling wheel (wheels 602a-d, disclosed to be caster wheels and thus swivelable, paragraph [0076], which are also removaeable, see paragraph [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base plate assembly of modified Drazic to include one removeable swiveling wheel configured for moving the chamber in a desired direction, as taught by Schaffert, for the purpose of improving transportability of the chamber as well as to improve securement when at the correct location by making navigation wheels removable.
Regarding claim 11, modified Drazic discloses two legs (lateral members 614 of wheels of Schaffert) attached to an underside of the base plate assembly (attached to removable wheels and thus attached to underside of base plate assembly) to reduce movement of the chamber after installation (capable of reducing movement when the wheels are moved upwardly so they no longer touch the ground which is achieved by hand crank 608, paragraph [0081] Schaffert).
Regarding claim 15, modified Drazic discloses a massage chair (massage chair 2 Drazic) mounted on the base plate assembly in the interior of the chamber (paragraph [0025] Drazic).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drazic (DE 202022101884) in view of Joy (US 3,271,786), Guo (CN 109984900), Jeon (KR 20100129934A) and Schaffert (US 2016/0138258), and further in view of Shim (KR 20230147320).
Regarding claim 2, modified Drazic discloses enclosure plates, but does not disclose at least one of the enclosure plates includes on an inner surface thereof an electric heating layer and a solid anion layer configured such that the solid anion layer covers the electric heating layer and is exposed to the interior of the chamber.
However, Shim (Figs. 1-5) at least one of the enclosure plates (wall comprising comprising wall portion 200 and heating board 100) includes on an inner surface thereof an electric heating layer (heat transfer layer 30) and a solid anion layer (finishing layer 40 made of material that emits negative ions, i.e. red clay, see paragraph [0069]) configured such that the solid anion layer covers the electric heating layer and is exposed to the interior of the chamber (see Fig. 4 and paragraph [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one enclosure plate of modified Drazic to include on an inner surface thereof an electric heating layer and a solid anion layer configured such that the solid anion layer covers the electric heating layer and is exposed to the interior of the chamber, as taught by Shim, for the purpose of allowing for emission of far-infrared rays and negative ions that are beneficial to the human body, and has deodorizing and antibacterial functions (paragraph [0047] Shim).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drazic (DE 202022101884) in view of Joy (US 3,271,786), Guo (CN 109984900), Jeon (KR 20100129934A) and Schaffert (US 2016/0138258), and further in view of Wang (CN 110755752).
Regarding claim 3, modified Drazic discloses the means for generating negative oxygen ions includes an anion-emitting needle assembly (“needle negative ion generator”, page 2 paragraph 3 Guo) attached to an interior side of the top plate assembly (see Fig. 1 Guo) and an anion emission controller (control circuit board of Guo to control the anion emitting needle that is mounted in chair, page 2 paragraphs 2 and 5 Guo), electrically connected to the anion-emitting needle assembly, but does not disclose the anion-emitting needle assembly is annular shaped.
However, Wang teaches (Figs. 1-5) an anion-emitting needle assembly (anion generator 52 that includes negative ion emitting needles 524) that is annular shaped (see ring shape structure in Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the anion emitting needle assembly of modified Drazic to be annular shaped, as taught by Wang, as it has been held,
absent evidence of criticality, that changes in shape are a matter of obvious design choice and thus one of ordinary skill would found it obvious for the shape of the assembly to be annular for the purpose of reducing material required in manufacturing the assembly. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 4, modified Drazic discloses a first cabinet assembly (control panel 13) removably fixed to the base plate assembly along one of the enclosure plates (fixed to enclosure plate (side wall) and thus removably fixed to base plate due to base plate being removably connected to enclosure plate as taught by Schaffert), wherein the anion emission controller is housed within the first cabinet assembly (control panel 13 of Guo contains circuit board to control the anion emitting needle that is mounted in chair, page 2 paragraphs 2 and 5 Guo).
Claim(s) 5-7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drazic (DE 202022101884) in view of Joy (US 3,271,786), Guo (CN 109984900), Jeon (KR 20100129934A) and Schaffert (US 2016/0138258), Wang (CN 110755752), and Lee (US 6,965,097), and further in view of Cha (KR 20110097433 A).
Regarding claim 5, modified Drazic discloses a means for generating IR arranged on the underside of the top plate assembly, but does not disclose the means for generating IR comprises an infrared lamp arranged on the underside of the top plate assembly.
However, Cha teaches (Figs. 1-5) a means for generating IR that comprises an infrared lamp (infrared lamp 150) arranged on the underside of the top plate assembly (arranged on underside of top ring 100. While ring 100 is not a “top plate”, one of ordinary skill would recognize that providing the infrared lamp above a user on the underside of the top surface of the device would provide for providing the lamp on the underside of the top plate assembly because modified Drazic discloses the ceiling/top surface of the device is the top plate assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the means for generating IR of modified Drazic to include an infrared lamp arranged on the underside of the top plate assembly, as taught and suggested by Cha, for the purpose of providing a linear path for the infrared radiation to travel directly to the user so that therapy to a user is optimized.
Regarding claim 6, modified Drazic discloses an infrared lamp and an annular anion emitting needle assembly, but does not disclose the annular anion-emitting needle assembly is arranged concentrically around the infrared lamp. However, Cha teaches positioning the infrared lamp (150) between anion generator (120). One of ordinary skill would recognize that because the modified Drazic reference discloses the anion generator is annular shaped that the infared lamp would be positioned between the anion generator (as taught by Cha), and thus would arrive at the claimed configuration of the annular anion-emitting needle assembly is arranged concentrically around the infrared lamp. Thus, the limitation is comprehended by the combination of references.
Regarding claim 7, modified Drazic discloses a second cabinet assembly (housing of central controller 20 of Drazic, see Fig. 1) housing an infrared control unit (controller 20 Drazic) that is electrically connected to the infrared lamp (paragraph [0030] Drazic).
Regarding claim 12, modified Drazic discloses an air guide located between the annular anion-emitting needle assembly and the infrared lamp (gaps formed between needles of needles assembly and lamp of the combined reference, see Fig. 5 of Wang and Fig. 4 Cha), the air guide for evenly distributing negative ions generated by the annular anion-emitting needle assembly and heat generated by the infrared lamp (gaps between enable even distribution and thus comprehend the claim language).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drazic (DE 202022101884) in view of Joy (US 3,271,786), Guo (CN 109984900), Jeon (KR 20100129934A) and Schaffert (US 2016/0138258), and Shim (KR 1020230147320), and further in view of Lipponen (US 2009/0019634).
Regarding claim 8, modified Drazic discloses an electric heating layer, but does not disclose one or more photovoltaic panels for supplying electricity to the electric heating layer, wherein the one or more photovoltaic panels are mounted on an outer surface of the top plate assembly or mounted on an outer surface of the enclosure plates.
However, Lipponen discloses (Fig. 1-2) a massage device comprising a heating layer (heating device 11) and one or more photovoltaic panels (solar panels, paragraph [0035]) for supplying electricity to the electric heating layer (paragraph [0035]), wherein the one or more photovoltaic panels are mounted on an outer surface of the top plate assembly or mounted on an outer surface of the enclosure plates (mounted on outer surface of cabinet and thus must be mounted on outer surface of top plate assembly or enclosure plates of modified Drazic, paragraph [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber of modified Drazic to include one or more photovoltaic panels for supplying electricity to the electric heating layer, wherein the one or more photovoltaic panels are mounted on an outer surface of the top plate assembly or mounted on an outer surface of the enclosure plates, as taught by Lipponen, for the purpose of providing a renewable source of energy and allow for chamber to operate without use of batteries (paragraph [0035] Lipponen).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drazic (DE 202022101884) in view of Joy (US 3,271,786), Guo (CN 109984900), Jeon (KR 20100129934A) and Schaffert (US 2016/0138258) and Shim (KR 1020230147320), and further in view of Wang (CN 215308219, hereinafter Wang ‘219).
Regarding claim 9, modified Drazic discloses the electric heating layer is a far-infrared heating plate (electric heating layer 30 of Shim generates far-infrared when it heats the substrate 40, and thus is a far-infrared heating plate, see paragraph [0079] Shim), but does not disclose the solid anion layer comprises tourmaline.
However, Wang ‘219 teaches (Fig. 1-2) a chamber comprising a solid anion layer (negative ion coating, page 2 paragraph 10) that comprises tourmaline (page 2 paragraph 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anion layer of modified Drazic to be tourmaline, as taught by Wang ‘219, for the purpose of providing a well known source of negative ions that can be used for sterilization and better health of a user (page 2 paragraph 10 Wang).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drazic (DE 202022101884) in view of Joy (US 3,271,786), Guo (CN 109984900), Jeon (KR 20100129934A) and Schaffert (US 2016/0138258), Wang (CN 110755752, hereinafter Wang ‘752), and Lee (US 6,965,097), and Cha (KR 20110097433 A), and further in view of Duncan (US 2023/0149677).
Regarding claim 10, modified Drazic discloses first and second cabinets, but does not disclose an anion detection unit, and a third cabinet assembly that houses a power supply interface and an anion detection unit.
However, Guo further teaches (Fig. 1) an anion detection unit (oxygen detection sensor 10) that measures oxygen anions. Duncan teaches (Fig. 1-3) a cabinet (housing 102) that houses a power supply interface (power source 120) and an sensor unit (sensor 118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber of modified Drazic to include an anion detection unit, as taught by Guo, for the purpose of providing feedback to the controller so that operation of the ion generator can be modified accordingly, and to further modify the chamber of modified Drazic to include a third cabinet assembly that houses a power supply interface and an anion detection unit, as taught by Duncan, for the purpose enabling the sensor to be used in the context of the chamber or as a stand-alone device for use in another context, such as a room or office (paragraph [0016] Duncan).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drazic (DE 202022101884) in view of Joy (US 3,271,786), Guo (CN 109984900), Jeon (KR 20100129934A) and Schaffert (US 2016/0138258), and further in view of Kim (KR 100581764).
Regarding claim 13, modified Drazic discloses a top plate assembly, but does not disclose the top plate assembly includes one or more air duct openings connected to an air duct and blower for regulating temperature inside the chamber.
However, Kim teaches (Fig. 1-2) a chamber comprising a top plate assembly (top plate 100) comprising an air duct opening (opening of vent 200) connected to an air duct (vent 200) and a blower (fan 230) for regulating temperature inside the chamber (page 4 paragraph 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top plate assembly of modified Drazic to include one or more air duct openings connected to an air duct and blower for regulating temperature inside the chamber, as taught by Kim, for the purpose of allowing the temperature can be controlled or quickly ventilated so that user comfort and therapy is optimized (page 4 paragraph 1 Kim).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drazic (DE 202022101884) in view of Joy (US 3,271,786), Guo (CN 109984900), Jeon (KR 20100129934A) and Schaffert (US 2016/0138258), and further in view of Arnold (US 2021/0177694) and Long (US 2024/0050271).
Regarding claim 14, modified Drazic discloses the opening for entering the chamber comprises a door (door 18 of Drazic), but does not disclose the door is a tempered glass door and also does not disclose the do is mounted on a motorized rail.
However, Arnold teaches (Fig. 1) a sauna comprising a door (door 106) made of tempered glass (paragraph [0026]). Long further teaches (Fig. 1-3) a treatment chamber comprising a door (door 20) mounted on a motorized rail (rail 203013 and motor 204003 that form a driving mechanism for locking/unlocking door, paragraph [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the door of modified Drazic to be made of tempered glass as taught by Arnold, for the purpose of providing a transparent door so an outside user can see inside in case of emergency and that can withstand the elements within the chamber, and to further modify the chamber of modified Drazic such that the door is mounted on a motorized rail, as taught by Long, for the purpose of improving the intelligence and safety performance of the chamber by allowing for timed opening/closing of the door based on length of user session (paragraph [0075] Long).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee (US 6,965,097) discloses a sauna having a cabinet housing a controller.
Durfee (US 10,010,477) discloses a sauna having infrared lamps.
/MATTHEW R MOON/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785