DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The present Office Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination dated 04/08/2026.
In the amendment dated 04/08/2026, the following occurred: Claims 1, 13, 20 and 25 have been amended. Claims 9 and 11 have been canceled.
Claims 1-8, 10 and 12-25 are currently pending.
Request for Continued Examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8, 10 and 12-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 13, 20 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
The claim recites a method, a system and a non-transitory computer readable media (CRM) for generating clinical trial operation plan, which are within a statutory category.
Step 2A1
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 20, the limitation of (claim 1 being representative) redacting personally identifiable information (PII) in clinical trial context documents containing information related to execution of clinical trials; grounding a […] in the clinical trial context documents, the grounding comprising using a […] to connect language to content of the clinical trial context documents, wherein the […] vectorizes the clinical trial context documents into a numerical representation in a vector space; receiving a request to generate a clinical trial operational plan; by the […] and responsive to the received request, generating the clinical trial operational plan such that the generated plan includes content based on the clinical trial context documents; providing the generated clinical trial operational plan as an output; receiving revisions to the generated clinical trial operational plan, wherein the revisions applied to the generated clinical trial operational plan correspond to a revised clinical trial operational plan; and grounding, using the […], the […] in the revised clinical trial operational plan and regarding claim 25- the limitation of receiving a clinical trial operational plan; generating a quality score indicative of a quality of the received clinical trial operational plan, including comparing the received clinical trial operational plan with template clinical trial operational plans, information indicative of standard operating procedures for a clinical trial enterprise, or both; updating the received clinical trial operational plan based on the generated quality score and the received revisions to produce a revised clinical trial operational plan; and grounding a […] in the revised clinical trial operational plan, the […] having been previously grounded in clinical trial context documents containing information related to execution of clinical trials and configured to generate clinical trial operational plans responsive to prompts as drafted, is a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions) but for the recitation of generic computer components. The claims encompass a series of rules or instructions for a person or persons to follow, with or without the aid of a computer, to redact personally identifiable information, grounding a natural language processing model, receiving a request, generating a clinical trial operational plan, providing the generated clinical trial operational plan, receiving revisions, redacting personally identifiable information and grounding the NPL model in the revised clinical trial operational plan in the manner described in the identified abstract idea, supra. The rules or instructions are the claimed steps of “redacting… grounding… receiving… generating…providing…redacting…and grounding the NPL model” as indicated supra.
Other than reciting generic computer components (discussed infra), i.e., at least one processor (in claims 1 and 25), at least one processor, memory (in claim 13) and one or more non-transitory computer readable media (CRM) and at least one processor (in claim 20), the claimed invention amounts to managing personal behavior or interaction between people. The Examiner notes that certain “method[s] of organizing human activity” includes a person’s interaction with a computer (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or interactions between people, but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – Managing Personal Behavior Relationships, Interactions Between People (e.g. social activities, teaching, following rules or instructions)” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Note that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a natural language processing (NLP) model” and “a grounding algorithm” in light of the disclosure, represent the creation of mathematical interrelationships between data. See Spec. Para. [0038]-[0040] and [0058] describing the NPL model and the grounding algorithm as a mathematical concept. Thus given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the Examiner interprets the NPL model and the grounding algorithm to be implemented using existing, known mathematical techniques. As such, the NPL model and the grounding algorithm are interpreted to be part of the identified abstract idea, supra. The types of identified abstract ideas are considered together as a single abstract idea for analysis purposes.
Step 2A2
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims 1 and 25 recite the additional element of at least one processor. Claim 13 recites the additional element of at least one processor and memory. Claim 20 recites the additional element of one or more non-transitory computer readable media (CRM) and at least one processor. These additional elements are not exclusively defined by the applicant and are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic computer components for performing generic computer functions. See Spec at para. 5, 7 and 8) such that they amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. As set forth in MPEP 2106.04(d) “merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer” is an example of when an abstract idea has not been integrated into a practical application. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 1, 13, 20 and 25 further recite the additional element of a user interface. This additional element is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. a general means to provide/receive data) and amounts to extra solution activity. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) indicates that extra-solution data gathering activity cannot provide a practical application. Accordingly, even in combination, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claims 1, 13, 20 and 25 further recites the additional element of using a natural language processing (NLP) model to generate the clinical trial operational plan and a grounding algorithm that is a spectral algorithm that vectorizes the clinical trial context documents. These represent mathematical concepts as described in the specification at para. [0038]-[0040] and [0058]. This mathematical concept is applied to (“apply it’) the abstract idea. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) indicates that merely saying “apply it” or equivalent to the abstract idea cannot provide a practical application. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of the at least one processor, memory and one or more CRM to perform the noted steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”). Moreover, using generic computer components to perform abstract ideas does not provide a necessary inventive concept. See Alice, 573 U.S. at 223 (“mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention”). Therefore, whether considered alone or in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
As discussed with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of a user interface was considered extra-solution activity. This has been re-evaluated under “significantly more” analysis and determined to be well-understood, routine and conventional in the field of healthcare, see Gnanasambandam at [0166], [0242], [0238] and [0342] and Molero Leon at [0032], [0121] and [0133]. Well-understood, routine and conventional activity cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”). As such the claim is not patent eligible.
Also as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of NPL model to generate the clinical trial operational plan and a grounding algorithm that is a spectral algorithm that vectorizes the clinical trial context documents were determined to be the application of math to the identified abstract idea. This has been re-evaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and has also been found insufficient to provide significantly more. MPEP2106.05(1)(A) indicates that merely saying “apply it’ or equivalent to the abstract idea cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more’). As such the claim is not patent eligible.
The Examiner notes that: A well-known, general-purpose computer has been determined by the courts to be a well-understood, routine and conventional element (see, e.g., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank; see also MPEP 2106.05(d)); Receiving and/or transmitting data over a network (“a communications network”) has also been recognized by the courts as a well - understood, routine and conventional function (see, e.g., buySAFE v. Google; MPEP 2016(d)(II)); and Performing repetitive calculations is/are also well-understood, routine and conventional computer functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (see, e.g., Parker v. Flook; MPEP 2016.05(d)).
Claims 2-8, 10, 12, 14-19 and 21-24 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide as inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination. Claim(s) 2-4, 14, 15, 16, 21, 22 and 23 further merely describe(s) generating a quality score. Claim(s) 5, 17 and 24 further merely describe(s) generating a prompt for the NPL model. Claim(s) 6, 7, 18 and 19 further merely describe(s) refining operation of the prompt engineering module. Claim(s) 5, 6, 7, 17, 18, 19 and 24 also include the additional element of “a prompt engineering module” which is interpreted the same as the NPL model and does not provide practical application or significantly more for the same reasons. Claim(s) 8 further merely describe(s) anonymizing the clinical trial context document. Claim(s) 10 further merely describe(s) redacting confidential information based on a clinical ontology. Claim(s) 12 further merely describe(s) the generated clinical trial operational plan. Claims 2-8, 10, 12, 14-19 and 21-24 further define the abstract idea and are rejected for the same reason presented above with respect to claims 1, 13, 20 and 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10 and 12-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gnanasambandam (US 2023/0052573), in view of Molero Leon (US 2023/0215577) and in further view of Boone (US 2007/0198459).
REGARDING CLAIM 1
Gnanasambandam discloses a computer implemented method performed by at least one processor, the method comprising: grounding a natural language processing (NLP) model in the clinical trial context documents, the grounding comprising using a grounding algorithm to connect language to content of the clinical trial context documents, wherein the grounding algorithm is a spectral algorithm that vectorizes the clinical trial context documents ([0089] teaches a cognitive intelligence platform (interpreted by Examiner as the natural language processing (NLP) model) integrates and consolidates data from various sources and entities and provides a population health management service. The cognitive intelligence platform has the ability to extract concepts, relationships, and draw conclusions from a given text posed in natural language (e.g., a passage, a sentence, a phrase, and a question) by performing conversational analysis which includes analyzing conversational context (interpreted by Examiner as the grounding) [0094] teaches an artificial intelligence engine that may continuously learn based on input data (e.g., evidence-based guidelines, clinical trials, physician research, electronic medical records, etc.). . A logical structure (e.g., Nth order logic) may underlie the knowledge graph that uses the predicates to connect various individual elements. The knowledge graph and the logical structure may combine to form a language that recites facts, concepts, correlations, conclusions, propositions, and the like. The knowledge graph and the logical structure may be generated and updated continuously or on a periodic basis by an artificial intelligence engine with evidence-based guidelines, physician research, patient notes in EMRs, physician feedback, and so forth. The predicates and individual elements may be generated based on data that is input to the artificial intelligence engine. The data may include evidence-based guidelines that is obtained from a trusted source, such as a physician. The artificial intelligence engine may continuously learn based on input data (e.g., evidence-based guidelines, clinical trials, physician research, electronic medical records, etc.) and modify the individual elements and predicates and [0536] teaches a node representing “possible complication of” connected to nodes representing “Prediabetes” and “Obesity and Overweight”, and a node representing “prevented by” connected to a node representing “Metformin” and ([0576] teaches the updated care plan 6020.1 may be converted into natural language text by the cognitive intelligence platform 102 using the natural language database 122 according to the techniques disclosed herein. The cognitive intelligence platform 102 may generate action instructions pertaining to the health artifacts included in the care plan 6020.1 (interpreted by Examiner as grounding a natural language processing (NLP) model in the clinical trial context documents, the grounding comprising using a grounding algorithm to connect language to content of the clinical trial context documents, wherein the grounding algorithm is a spectral algorithm that vectorizes the clinical trial context documents)); receiving, via a user interface, a request to generate a clinical trial operational plan ([0004] teaches receiving a selection of a type of the care plan to implement for the patient and generating a care plan based on the type selected. [0123] teaches the patient graph for the condition of the user may be compared (e.g., projected on) to the knowledge graph for the condition of the user to generate a care plan. The cognitive intelligence platform may generate the care plan based on the areas of the condition the user specified to manage (interpreted by Examiner as receiving a request to generate a clinical trial operational plan) and the care plan may be transmitted to the user device for presentation in the patient viewer, the clinic viewer, and/or the administrator viewer (interpreted by Examiner as the user interface)); by the NLP model and responsive to the received request, generating the clinical trial operational plan such that the generated plan includes content based on the clinical trial context documents ([0004] teaches the care plan includes an action instruction based on a patient graph of the patient and a knowledge graph including ontological medical data and receiving patient data that indicates health related information associated with the patient. [0269] teaches the health related information may correspond to known facts, concepts, and/or any suitable health related information that are discovered or provided by a trusted source (e.g., a physician having a medical license and/or a certified/accredited healthcare organization), such as clinical trials and the likes (interpreted by Examiner as generating the clinical trial operational plan such that the generated plan includes content based on the clinical trial context documents). Fig. 9A-12 and [0302] teaches the action calendar is managed through the conversational stream between the cognitive agent 110 and the user. The action calendar aligns to care and wellness protocols, which are personalized to the risk condition or wellness needs of the user. The action calendar is also contextually aligned (e.g., what is being required or searched by the user) and hyper local (e.g., aligned to events and services provided in the local community specific to the user)); providing the generated clinical trial operational plan as an output via the user interface ([0123] teaches the care plan may be transmitted to the user device for presentation in the patient viewer, the clinic viewer, and/or the administrator viewer (interpreted by Examiner as providing the generated clinical trial operational plan as an output via the user interface)); receiving, via the user interface, revisions to the generated clinical trial operational plan, wherein the revisions applied to the generated clinical trial operational plan correspond to a revised clinical trial operational plan ([0004] teaches modifying the care plan to generate a modified care plan in real-time or near real-time based on the patient data, and causing the modified care plan to be presented on a computing device of a medical personnel. [0567] teaches If the cognitive intelligence platform 102 receives the input data 6010, 6012, and/or 6014 when the care plan 6002 is presented to the user 6000 on the user device 104, and the cognitive intelligence platform 102 detects a negative emotion (e.g., angry) and/or tone (e.g., hostile), the cognitive intelligence platform 102 may modify the care plan 6002 to generate an updated care plan 6020 (interpreted by Examiner as receiving, via the user interface, revisions to the generated clinical trial operational plan, wherein the revisions applied to the generated clinical trial operational plan correspond to a revised clinical trial operational plan)); and grounding, using the grounding algorithm, the NLP model in the revised clinical trial operational plan ([0576] teaches the updated care plan 6020.1 may be converted into natural language text by the cognitive intelligence platform 102 using the natural language database 122 according to the techniques disclosed herein. The cognitive intelligence platform 102 may generate action instructions pertaining to the health artifacts included in the care plan 6020.1 (interpreted by Examiner as grounding the NLP model in the revised clinical trial operational plan)).
Gnanasambandam does not explicitly disclose, however Molero Leon discloses:
redacting personally identifiable information (PII) in clinical trial context documents containing information related to execution of clinical trials; redacting personally identifiable information (PII) in the revised clinical trial operational plan (Molero Leon at [0049] teaches if it is determined that responding to a query risks revealing personally identifiable information, the cloud-based application may determine whether a user is authorized to view the information for subjects that would be represented in the data. If not, the cloud-based application may reject the query or potentially modify the query to include less restrictive constraints and [0048] teaches the cloud-based application may operate to implement data-privacy protocols that enable an entity to transmit and/or receive one or more data records or other information characterizing subjects (e.g., experiencing medical symptoms and/or having a possible or confirmed diagnosis of a medical condition) with external entities, while satisfying the constraints imposed by data-privacy rules across various jurisdictions. The cloud-based application can be configured to algorithmically assess data-privacy violations and automatically omit, obfuscate or otherwise modify data records to comply with data-privacy rules (interpreted by Examiner as means for redacting personally identifiable information (PII)));
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for generating care plans of Gnanasambandam to incorporate redacting personally identifiable information (PII) as taught by Molero Leon, with the motivation of allowing systems to exchange subject information with external entities without violating data-privacy rules (Molero Leon at [0050]).
Gnanasambandam and Molero Leon do not explicitly disclose, however Boone discloses:
vectorizes the clinical trial context documents into a numerical representation in a vector space (Boone at [0055] teaches vectorizing documents (interpreted by Examiner as the clinical trial context document of Gnanasambandam and Molero Leon) by converting them into a numerical vector representation (interpreted by Examiner as vectorizes the clinical trial context documents into a numerical representation in a vector space))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the noted features of Gnanasambandam and Molero Leon with teaching of Boone since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations in design in either the same field or a different field based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare would found it obvious to update the grounding algorithm that vectorizes clinical trial context documents of the primary reference and the clinical trial text documents of the secondary reference using vectorizes the clinical trial context documents into a numerical representation in a vector space, as found in the third reference, in order to gain the commonly understood benefits of such reduced calculation load and improve performance and accuracy. This update would be accomplished with no unpredictable results.
REGARDING CLAIM 2
Gnanasambandam, Molero Leon and Boone disclose the limitation of claim 1.
Gnanasambandam further discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising generating a quality score indicative of a quality of the generated clinical trial operational plan (Fig. 62 and [0594] teaches training data may be generated by collecting the care plans for medical conditions that received scores in the second range (high scores, positive feedback) and the care plans for medical conditions that received scores in the first range (low scores, positive feedback), and determining the differences in the care plans that resulted in the scores in the first range and the second range (interpreted by Examiner as generating a quality score indicative of a quality of the generated clinical trial operational plan)).
REGARDING CLAIM 3
Gnanasambandam, Molero Leon and Boone disclose the limitation of claims 1 and 2.
Gnanasambandam further discloses:
The method of claim 2, comprising generating the quality score based on a comparison between the generated clinical trial operational plan and template clinical trial operational plans (Fig. 61 and [0586] teaches at block 6104, responsive to the comparing, the processing device may generate the care plan including another subset of the set of health artifacts. The subset of the health artifacts may correspond with actions already performed by the patient, and another subset of the set of the health artifacts may correspond with actions that have not yet been performed by the patient. The comparing may include projecting the second data structure onto the first data structure (interpreted by Examiner as generating the quality score based on a comparison between the generated clinical trial operational plan and template clinical trial operational plans)).
REGARDING CLAIM 4
Gnanasambandam, Molero Leon and Boone disclose the limitation of claims 1 and 2.
Gnanasambandam further discloses:
The method of claim 2, comprising generating the quality score based on a relationship between the generated clinical trial operational plan and information indicative of standard operating procedures for a clinical trial enterprise (Fig. 62 and [0594] teaches at block 6204, the processing device may update a machine learning model based on the net promoter score being below a threshold value to obtain an updated machine learning model that outputs different health artifacts for subsequent patients having the condition. For example, training data may be generated by collecting the care plans for medical conditions that received scores in the second range (high scores, positive feedback) and the care plans for medical conditions that received scores in the first range (low scores, positive feedback), and determining the differences in the care plans that resulted in the scores in the first range and the second range (interpreted by Examiner as generating the quality score based on a relationship between the generated clinical trial operational plan and information indicative of standard operating procedures for a clinical trial enterprise)).
REGARDING CLAIM 5
Gnanasambandam, Molero Leon and Boone disclose the limitation of claim 1.
Gnanasambandam further discloses:
The method of claim 1, comprising based on the received request, generating, by a prompt engineering module, a prompt for the NLP model, and wherein the NLP model generates the clinical trial operational plan responsive to the prompt (Fig. 9-11 and 15 and [0317] teaches In response to the user-generated natural language medical information query, the artificial intelligence-based diagnostic conversation agent selects a diagnostic fact variable set relevant to generating a medical advice query answer for the user-generated natural language medical information query by classifying the user-generated natural language medical information query into one of a set of domain-directed medical query classifications associated with respective diagnostic fact variable sets (FIG. 15, block 1504) (interpreted by Examiner as generating, by a prompt engineering module, a prompt for the NLP model, and wherein the NLP model generates the clinical trial operational plan responsive to the prompt)).
REGARDING CLAIM 6
Gnanasambandam, Molero Leon and Boone disclose the limitation of claims 1 and 5.
Gnanasambandam further discloses:
The method of claim 5, comprising refining operation of the prompt engineering module responsive to the received revisions to the generated clinical trial operational plan (Fig. 60A-E and [0570] teaches in some embodiments, the different set of health artifacts in the updated care plan 6020 may be selected based on the detected tone and/or emotion. For example, if the detected tone and/or emotion is positive, a machine learning model may be trained to generate updated care plans that include health artifacts with which the user 6000 is likely to interact due to the positive tone and/or emotion (interpreted by Examiner as refining operation of the prompt engineering module responsive to the received revisions to the generated clinical trial operational plan)).
REGARDING CLAIM 7
Gnanasambandam, Molero Leon and Boone disclose the limitation of claims 1 and 5.
Gnanasambandam further discloses:
The method of claim 5, comprising refining operation of the prompt engineering module responsive to a quality score indicative of a quality of the generated clinical trial operational plan (Fig. 62 and [0594] teaches at block 6204, the processing device may update a machine learning model based on the net promoter score being below a threshold value to obtain an updated machine learning model that outputs different health artifacts for subsequent patients having the condition. For example, training data may be generated by collecting the care plans for medical conditions that received scores in the second range (high scores, positive feedback) and the care plans for medical conditions that received scores in the first range (low scores, positive feedback), and determining the differences in the care plans that resulted in the scores in the first range and the second range (interpreted by Examiner as refining operation of the prompt engineering module responsive to a quality score indicative of a quality of the generated clinical trial operational plan)).
REGARDING CLAIM 8
Gnanasambandam, Molero Leon and Boone disclose the limitation of claim 1.
Gnanasambandam and Boone do not explicitly disclose anonymizing the clinical trial context documents prior to grounding the NLP model in the clinical trial context documents, however Molero Leon discloses:
The method of claim 1, comprising anonymizing the clinical trial context documents prior to grounding the NLP model in the clinical trial context documents (Molero Leon at [0050] teaches some embodiments of the present disclosure provide a technical advantage over conventional systems by providing a cloud-based application configured to exchange subject information with external entities without violating data-privacy rules. The data representations can further facilitate data queries, in that fields for which constraints can be identified can be identifiable. Queries for subject populations may then be performed capitalizing on logic operands and/or basic searches rather than performing natural-language-processing queries (interpreted by Examiner as anonymizing the clinical trial context documents prior to grounding the NLP model in the clinical trial context documents)).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for generating care plans of Gnanasambandam and the vectorizing technique of Boone to incorporate anonymizing the clinical trial context documents as taught by Molero Leon, with the motivation of allowing systems to exchange subject information with external entities without violating data-privacy rules (Molero Leon at [0050]).
REGARDING CLAIM 10
Gnanasambandam, Molero Leon and Boone disclose the limitation of claims 1 and 8.
Gnanasambandam does not explicitly disclose wherein anonymizing the clinical trial context documents comprises redacting confidential information based on a clinical ontology, however Molero Leon discloses:
The method of claim 8, wherein anonymizing the clinical trial context documents comprises redacting confidential information based on a clinical ontology (Molero Leon at [0048] teaches the cloud-based application may operate to implement data-privacy protocols that enable an entity to transmit and/or receive one or more data records or other information characterizing subjects (e.g., experiencing medical symptoms and/or having a possible or confirmed diagnosis of a medical condition) with external entities, while satisfying the constraints imposed by data-privacy rules across various jurisdictions. The cloud-based application can be configured to algorithmically assess data-privacy violations and automatically omit, obfuscate or otherwise modify data records to comply with data-privacy rules (interpreted by Examiner as anonymizing the clinical trial context documents comprises redacting confidential information based on a clinical ontology)).
It would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method for generating care plans of Gnanasambandam and the vectorizing technique of Boone to incorporate redacting confidential information as taught by Molero Leon, with the motivation of allowing systems to exchange subject information with external entities without violating data-privacy rules (Molero Leon at [0050]).
REGARDING CLAIM 12
Gnanasambandam, Molero Leon and Boone disclose the limitation of claim 1.
Gnanasambandam further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the generated clinical trial operational plan is one or more of a protocol design, a trial participant recruitment or retention plan, a site selection or management plan, a data collection or analysis plan, or a regulatory compliance plan (Fig. 11 and [0302] teaches FIG. 11 illustrates aspects of an action calendar, in accordance with various embodiments. The action calendar is managed through the conversational stream between the cognitive agent 110 and the user. The action calendar aligns to care and wellness protocols, which are personalized to the risk condition or wellness needs of the user (interpreted by Examiner as wherein the generated clinical trial operational plan is one or more of a protocol design)).
REGARDING CLAIMS 13-25
Claims 13-25 are analogous to Claims 1-7 and 12 thus Claims 13-25 are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claims 1-7and 12.
Response to Arguments
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-8, 10 and 12-25, the Examiner has considered the Applicant’s arguments, but does not find them persuasive. Applicant argues:
Under Prong One of revised Step 2A, the Patent Office alleges that claims 1, 13, 20, and 25 cover organizing human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components. However, the Patent Office's interpretation of claims 1, 13, 20, and 25 ignores key features of claims 1, 13, 20, and 25. For example, claims 1, 13, 20, and 25 are specifically directed to and rooted in technology used to connect language to the content of context documents for automatically generating operational plans that improves operation of a computing device by conserving time, energy consumption, and computing resources… As is evident from the above-cited portions of Applicant's specification, the combination of redacting personally identifiable information and grounding a NLP model using a grounding algorithm that vectorizes the clinical trial context documents not only improves the automated generation of operational plan documents by improving NLP model accuracy, but also improves the functioning of the computing device executing the operational plan generation by facilitating efficient utilization of processing cycles, memory requirements, and network bandwidth.
Regarding 1, The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims encompass a series of rules or instructions for a person or persons to follow, with or without the aid of a computer, to redact personally identifiable information, grounding a natural language processing model, receiving a request, generating a clinical trial operational plan, providing the generated clinical trial operational plan, receiving revisions, redacting personally identifiable information and grounding the NPL model in the revised clinical trial operational plan in the manner described in the identified Bolded abstract idea under the 101 rejection and falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – Managing Personal Behavior Relationships, Interactions Between People (e.g. social activities, teaching, following rules or instructions)” grouping of abstract ideas. Moreover, grounding an NPL model and redacting sensitive information provides an improvement in the quality, consistency and speed of the generated clinical trial operation plan, see Spec. at para. 0032. This is not a technical nor does this improve the operation of a computing device. The claim uses a generic computer processor to perform the abstract idea of claims 1, 13, 20 and 25, i.e., generating a clinical trial operational plan. Generic computer components cannot provide practical application and technical improvements. There is no evidence that grounding an NPL model, redacting sensitive information and generating clinical trial operational plans facilitates efficient utilization of processing cycles, memory requirements, and network bandwidth.
Applicant respectfully submits that these features impose meaningful limits on practicing the alleged abstract idea of "organizing human activity," and integrate the alleged abstract idea into a practical application. This is further made clear by, for example, paragraph [0055] of Applicant's specification, which explains that: a grounding algorithm, which connects language to the content of context documents as a part of a training process, provides increased accuracy of the NLP model compared to off the shelf models in that it allows the NLP model to gain more context for generation of future operational plans. Paragraph [0093] of Applicant's specification further explains that: the redaction engine can ensure that sensitive information remains secure before grounding the NLP model in the context documents. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that there is a clear nexus between the features recited in claims 1, 13, 20, and 25 and the disclosed improvement. Moreover, these features, in combination with other features of the independent claims, integrate the concepts presented into the practical application of grounding and securing context documents for the generation of operational plans, as described in paragraphs [0055] and [0093] of the specification.
Regarding 2, The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claims 1, 13, 20 and 25 recite the additional elements of at least one processor, memory and one or more non-transitory computer readable media (CRM), which are not exclusively defined by the applicant and are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic computer components for performing generic computer functions. See Spec at para. 5, 7 and 8) such that they amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Moreover, Claims 1, 13, 20 and 25 further recite the additional element of a user interface, which is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. a general means to provide/receive data) and amounts to extra solution activity. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) indicates that extra-solution data gathering activity cannot provide a practical application. Further, Claims 1, 13, 20 and 25 further recites the additional element of using a natural language processing (NLP) model to generate the clinical trial operational plan and a grounding algorithm that is a spectral algorithm that vectorizes the clinical trial context documents. These represent mathematical concepts as described in the specification at para. [0038]-[0040] and [0058]. This mathematical concept is applied to (“apply it’) the abstract idea. MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) indicates that merely saying “apply it” or equivalent to the abstract idea cannot provide a practical application. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
This link is supported by the similarities between the present claims and Example 42 of the USPTO 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance. Specifically, the claims of the present applications recite a process along with the additional elements of obtaining clinical trial context documents and converting the clinical trial context documents into a machine- readable format for the NLP model by vectorizing the clinical trial context documents, then using the converted clinical trial context documents to ground the NLP model, which is then used to generate a clinical trial operational plan. Conversion of data into a machine-readable format and generating a report based on the converted data is parallel to the process recited in Example 42. The independent claims, when each considered as a whole, addresses the technical problem of data sources that provide data in incompatible formats. Applicant therefore respectfully submits that the amended claims are patent-eligible.
Regarding 3, The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicants claims are unlike that of Example 42. Claim 1, in example 42 provides a method that collects, consolidates and updates information in a standardized format and stores it in a network-based storage to allow multiple users access to this information through a GUI. And, the Specification of Example 42 described that the technological environment to which the claims were confined actually caused the problem of delayed access to data. This provided a technological improvement over prior art systems by allowing remote users to share information in real time in a standardized format regardless of the format in which the information was input by the user, and thus provided a technological solution to the described technological problem which provided a practical application.
Example 42, claim 1 differs from the Applicant invention as the technological environment to which the Applicants claimed invention is defined is a generic computer component. The generic computer component did not cause the alleged problems. The claims recite various steps to generate a clinical trial operational plan which is an abstract idea and does not provide an improvement in a technical field.
Under Step 2B, the Patent Office asserts that "[t]he claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception." Office Action, pg. 6. In interpreting the claims in such a manner, the Patent Office has failed to consider the specific ordered combination of technological operations recited in claims 1, 13, 20, and 25. Applicant respectfully submits that at least the operations of "redacting personally identifiable information (PII) in clinical trial context documents containing information related to execution of clinical trials; and grounding a natural language processing (NLP) model in the clinical trial context documents, the grounding comprising using a grounding algorithm to connect language to content of the clinical trial context documents, wherein the grounding algorithm is a spectral algorithm that vectorizes the clinical trial context documents into a numerical representation in a vector space," as recited in independent claims 1, 13, 20, and 25, are additional elements. These additional elements individually or as an ordered combination, ensure that claims 1, 13, 20, and 25 amount to significantly more than the alleged abstract idea. For at least these reasons, claims 1, 13, 20, and 25 include additional elements that recite significantly more than the alleged abstract idea.
Regarding 4, The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Redacting personally identifiable information … and grounding a natural language processing (NLP) model in the clinical trial context documents … wherein the grounding algorithm is a spectral algorithm that vectorizes the clinical trial context documents into a numerical representation in a vector space," is interpreted to be part of the abstract idea. The Examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “a natural language processing (NLP) model” and “a grounding algorithm” in light of the disclosure, represent the creation of mathematical interrelationships between data. See Spec. Para. [0038]-[0040] and [0058] describing the NPL model and the grounding algorithm as a mathematical concept. Thus given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the Examiner interprets the NPL model and the grounding algorithm to be implemented using existing, known mathematical techniques. As such, the NPL model and the grounding algorithm are interpreted to be part of the identified abstract idea, supra.
And with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of NPL model to generate the clinical trial operational plan and a grounding algorithm that is a spectral algorithm that vectorizes the clinical trial context documents were determined to be the application of math to the identified abstract idea. This has been re-evaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and has also been found insufficient to provide significantly more. MPEP2106.05(1)(A) indicates that merely saying “apply it’ or equivalent to the abstract idea cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more’). As such the claim is not patent eligible.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-8, 10 and 12-25, the Examiner has considered the Applicant’s arguments, but does not find them persuasive. Applicant argues:
The combination of Gnanasambandam and Molero Leon fails to teach or suggest using a grounding algorithm to connect language to content of the clinical trial context documents, wherein the grounding algorithm is a spectral algorithm that vectorizes the clinical trial context documents into a numerical representation in a vector space.
Regarding 1, The Examiner has cited new art Boone to teach “wherein the grounding algorithm is a spectral algorithm that vectorizes the clinical trial context documents into a numerical representation in a vector space.” Please refer to the new rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the cited references in combination teach the claimed feature.
The combination of Gnanasambandam and Molero Leon fails to teach or suggest redacting personally identifiable information (PII) in clinical trial context documents containing information related to execution of clinical trials and redacting personally identifiable information (PII) in the revised clinical trial operational plan.
Regarding 2, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gnanasambandam discloses grounding a natural language processing (NLP) model in the clinical trial context documents, the grounding comprising using a grounding algorithm to connect language to content of the clinical trial context documents, wherein the grounding algorithm is a spectral algorithm that vectorizes the clinical trial context documents, as Gnanasambandam teaches the ability to extract concepts, relationships, and draw conclusions from a given text posed in natural language and teaches for example a node representing “possible complication of” connected to nodes representing “Prediabetes” and “Obesity and Overweight”, and a node representing “prevented by” connected to a node representing “Metformin”. Moreover, Molero Leon discloses redacting personally identifiable information (PII) as it teaches automatically omit, obfuscate or otherwise modify data records to comply with data-privacy rules. Please refer to the rejection under for more detailed rejection. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the cited references in combination teach the claimed features.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Zohrevand (US 2022/0229983) discloses global, model-agnostic machine learning explanation technique for textual data. Hanina (US 2011/0153361) discloses method and apparatus for managing clinical trials.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Robert Morgan can be reached on 571-272-6773. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/LIZA TONY KANAAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3683