1.DETAILED ACTION
Claims status: amended claim: 1; canceled claims: 2-3, 5; new claims: 6-13; the rest is unchanged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Virshup et al. (US 2012/0082294 A1; pub. Apr. 5, 2012).
Regarding claim 1, Virshup et al. disclose in a first method: A method of driving a filament of an Xray tube (fig.1 item 14), comprising: providing the Xray tube, wherein the Xray tube comprises the filament (fig.1 item 34, para. [0047]) and a metallic target (fig.1 item 32, para. [0024]), and further wherein the filament serves as a cathode and the metallic target serves as an anode (para. [0024], [0047]).
In the first method Virshup et al. is silent about: maintaining the current flowing through the filament at a standby value; pre-heating the filament by increasing the flow of current through the filament from the standby value to a first effective value before a high-voltage is applied between the filament and the metallic target; increasing the current flowing through the filament from the first effective value to a second effective value and essentially simultaneously applying the high-voltage between the filament and the metallic target; and emitting Xrays in response to increasing the current flowing through the filament to the second effective value and essentially simultaneously applying the high-voltage between the cathode and the metallic target.
In a further method Virshup et al. disclose: maintaining the current flowing through the filament at a standby value; pre-heating the filament by increasing the flow of current through the filament from the standby value to a first effective value before a high-voltage is applied between the cathode and the metallic target (para. [0031], [0047]), increasing the current flowing through the filament from the first effective value to a second effective value and essentially simultaneously applying the high-voltage between the filament and the target; and emitting Xrays in response to increasing the current flowing through the filament to the second effective value and essentially simultaneously applying the high-voltage between the cathode and the metallic target (para. [0031], [0047]) motivated by the benefits for an x-ray tube that can operate more reliably (Virshup et al. para. [0047]).
In light of the benefits for an x-ray tube that can operate more reliably as taught by Virshup et al. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the two methods of Virshup et al.
Regarding claim 4, Virshup et al. disclose: An apparatus configured to perform the method of claim 1 (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Virshup et al. disclose: current flowing through the filament at the first effective value is applied for a duration sufficient for the filament to reach an essentially steady- state temperature (para. [0031], [0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Virshup et al. disclose: the method further comprises an initial step of applying the high voltage between the filament and the metallic target and measuring the tube- emission current until the tube-emission current reaches a target tube-emission current (para. [0031], [0047]).
Regarding claim 8, Virshup et al. disclose: the first effective value comprises a percentage of the target tube-emission current, wherein the percentage is stored in a non-volatile memory, wherein the non-volatile memory is indexed by target tube-emission current (obvious in view of para. [0047], para. [0047] teaches calibration value, it is known to store calibration values in a non-volatile memory).
Regarding claim 10, Virshup et al. disclose: the steps of claim 1 are repeated (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Virshup et al. disclose: reducing the current flowing through the filament from the second effective value to the standby value after the step of emitting Xrays (para. [0052]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Virshup et al. (US 2012/0082294 A1; pub. Apr. 5, 2012) in view of Gadenne et al. (US 2021/0100517 A1; pub. Apr. 8, 2021).
Regarding claim 9, Virshup et al. are silent about: reducing the current flowing through the filament from the second effective value to the first effective value after the step of emitting Xrays.
In a similar field of endeavor Gadenne et al. disclose: reducing the current flowing through the filament from the second effective value to the first effective value after the step of emitting Xrays (para. [0063]) motivated by the benefits for improved image quality (Gadenne et al. para. [0079]).
In light of the benefits for improved image quality as taught by Gadenne et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Virshup et al. with the teachings of Gadenne et al.
Claims 12 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Virshup et al. (US 2012/0082294 A1; pub. Apr. 5, 2012) in view of Resnick (US 2006/0115050 A1; pub. Jun.1, 2006).
Regarding claim 11, Virshup et al. disclose: the first effective value of the current flowing through the filament is produced by modulation between the standby value and the second effective value (see rejection of claim 1). Virshup et al. are silent about: the first effective value of the current flowing through the filament is produced by modulation between the standby value and the second effective value pulse-width modulation between the standby value and the second effective value.
In a similar field of endeavor Resnick discloses: current modulation through pulse-width modulation (para. [0028]) motivated by the benefits for a cost effective high dynamic range dose modulation (Resnick para. [0013]-[0014]).
In light of the benefits for a cost effective high dynamic range dose modulation as taught by Resnick, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Virshup et al. with the teachings of Resnick.
Regarding claim 13, Virshup et al. disclose: the first effective value of the current flowing through the filament is produced by modulation between the standby value and the second effective value (see rejection of claim 1). Virshup et al. are silent about: the first effective value of the current flowing through the filament is produced by amplitude modulation between the standby value and the second effective value.
In a similar field of endeavor Resnick discloses: current modulation through amplitude modulation (para. [0028]) motivated by the benefits for a cost effective high dynamic range dose modulation (Resnick para. [0013]-[0014]).
In light of the benefits for a cost effective high dynamic range dose modulation as taught by Resnick, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Virshup et al. with the teachings of Resnick.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884