DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muhsin et al. (US 2018/0317826 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Muhsin discloses a computerized method, comprising: establishing a communicatively coupling between a data collection module and a computing platform over a first input/output (I/O) interface of the data collection module (see paragraphs 0098-0100 discussing the different processors including but not limited to the processor in board #312 in Figure 3 attached herein in communication/coupling with other input output modules,
including patient monitor #102 as seen on Figure 1A for input interface and a display #104 as an output interface, also power supply #318 in Figure 3 and Fig.16 showing power port labeled as power in order to receive a power cord to power the elements in Hub #100 etc.), wherein the data collection module includes a power source (power supply #318 in Figure 3), the first I/O interface, a plurality of secondary I/O interfaces including one or more connectors (see Figure 3 showing docking station #106 for connecting to different input/output interfaces), and a plurality of control logic
units (see paragraph 0100 discussing logic devices to operate the interfaces connected to the board for example board #314); detecting connection of a first medical device to a first secondary I/O interface of the data collection module (see paragraphs 0098-0100 disclosing the different medical devises/sensors connected to or in connection with the processors with the hub #100 in Figure 3 and therefore, detecting or recognizing said interfaces in order to operate); supplying power from the power source to a first control logic unit associated with the first medical device (see Figure 16 showing power port labeled as power in order to receive a power cord to power the elements in Hub #100 and from the Hub charge the elements associated with it accordingly; see paragraph 0105), wherein the first control logic unit is configured to communicatively couple to a first connector of the one or more connectors, control operations of the first medical device, and receive first data from the first medical device via the first secondary I/O interface (see paragraphs 0106-0111); receiving the first data from the first medical device via the first secondary I/O interface; and transmitting the first data to the computing platform via the first I/O interface (see paragraphs 0078-0079).
With respect to claims 2, 9 and 16, Muhsin discloses detecting connection of a second medical device to a second secondary I/O interface of the data collection module; and supplying power from the power source to a second control logic unit, wherein the second control logic unit is configured to receive second data from the second medical device via the second secondary I/O interface (see paragraphs 0095 and 0098 discloses several medical devices/medical interfaces connected to hub #10 that are controlled by logic circuitry according to paragraphs 0100, 0165 and 0267).
With respect to claims 3, 10 and 17, Muhsin discloses receiving the second data from the second medical device via the second secondary I/O interface; and transmitting the second data to the computing platform via the first I/O interface (see paragraphs 0095 and 0098 discloses several medical devices/medical interfaces connected to hub #10).
With respect to claims 4, 11, and 18, Muhsin discloses receiving user input corresponding to selection of either the first medical device or the second medical device from corresponding data is to be transmitted to the computing platform via the first I/O interface; and transmitting, to the computing platform, the corresponding data from either the first medical device or the second medical device based on the selection indicated by the user input (see paragraph 0173 discussing different parameters selected from the different medical devices connected to the hub).
With respect to claims 5, 12 and 19, Muhsin discloses the user input is received via the first I/O interface, and wherein the user input was received by the computing device (see paragraph 0091 disclosing different I/O devices connected/communicating with the Hub #100).
With respect to claims 6, 13 and 20, Muhsin discloses displaying an indication of which medical device is currently selected, wherein the indication is either a graphical display on a display screen or a light (see paragraphs 0077-0079, 0083 and 0086 showing the different data received from the selected sensor or medical device considered as the indication of which medical device is currently selected including numeric or graphics).
With respect to claims 7 and 14, Muhsin discloses the computing platform includes a first housing, and the data collection module includes a second housing distinct from the first housing (see Figure 2 having Hub #100 having a housing #108 wherein said housing has several processors as seen on Figure 3 and an additional computer/server #204 and #206 in communication with the hub #100 located within a different housing as seen on Figure 2).
With respect to claim 8, Muhsin discloses a computing device, comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations including (see paragraphs 0098-0100 discussing the different processors including but not limited to the processor in board #312 in Figure 3 in communication/coupling with other input output modules, including patient monitor #102 as seen on Figure 1 for input interface and a display #104 as an output interface, also power supply #318 in Figure 3 etc.): establishing a communicatively coupling between a data collection module and a computing platform over a first input/output (I/O) interface of the data collection module, wherein the data collection module includes a power source (power supply #318 in Figure 3), the first I/O interface, a plurality of secondary I/O interfaces including one more connectors (see Figure 3 showing docking station #106 for connecting to different input/output interfaces), and a plurality of control logic units (see paragraph 0100 discussing logic devices to operate the interfaces connected to the board for example board #314); detecting connection of a first medical device to a first secondary I/O interface of the data collection module (see paragraphs 0098-0100 disclosing the different medical devises/sensors connected to or in connection with the processors with the hub #100 in Figure 3 and therefore, detecting or recognizing said interfaces in order to operate); supplying power from the power source to a first control logic unit associated with the first medical device (see Figure 16 showing power port labeled as power in order to receive a power cord to power the elements in Hub #100 and from the Hub charge the elements associated with it accordingly; see paragraph 0105), wherein the first control logic unit is configured to communicatively couple to a first connector of the one or more connectors, control operations of the first medical device, and receive first data from the first medical device via the first secondary I/O interface (see paragraphs 0106-0111); receiving the first data from the first medical device via the first secondary I/O interface; and transmitting the first data to the computing platform via the first I/O interface (see paragraphs 0078-0079).
With respect to claim 15, Muhsin discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processor to perform operations including: establishing a communicatively coupling between a data collection module and a computing platform over a first input/output (I/O) interface of the data collection module (see paragraphs 0098-0100 discussing the different processors including but not limited to the processor in board #312 in Figure 3 in communication/coupling with other input output modules, including patient monitor #102 as seen on Figure 1 for input interface and a display #104 as an output interface, also power supply #318 in Figure 3 etc.), wherein the data collection module includes a power source (power supply #318 in Figure 3), the first I/O interface, a plurality of secondary I/O interfaces including one or more connectors (see Figure 3 showing docking station #106 for connecting to different input/output interfaces), and a plurality of control logic units (see paragraph 0100 discussing logic devices to operate the interfaces connected to the board for example board #314); detecting connection of a first medical device to a first secondary I/O interface of the data collection module (see paragraphs 098-0100 disclosing the different medical devises/sensors connected to or in connection with the processors with the hub #100 in Figure 3 and therefore, detecting or recognizing said interfaces in order to operate); supplying power from the power source to a first control logic unit associated with the first medical device (see Figure 16 showing power port labeled as power in order to receive a power cord to power the elements in Hub #100 and from the Hub charge the elements associated with it accordingly; see paragraph 0105), wherein the first control logic unit is configured to communicatively couple to a first connector of the one or more connectors, control operations of the first medical device, and receive first data from the first medical device via the first secondary I/O interface (see paragraphs 0106-0111); receiving the first data from the first medical device via the first secondary I/O interface; and transmitting the first data to the computing platform via the first I/O interface (see paragraphs 0078-0079).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/08/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 15, applicant argues as follows: “The Office Action points to Figure 2 having Hub #100 having a housing #108 wherein said housing has several processors as seen on Figure 3 and an additional computer/server #204 and #206 in communication with the hub #100 located within a different housing as seen on Figure 2. Applicant respectfully submits that hub 100 cannot reasonably be construed as the claimed "data collection module." As described, the hub 100 includes the main processors, memory, display, instrument boards, channel boards, and radio boards that collectively perform signal processing, analytics, and rendering of patient data, operating as the primary analytics platform. Similarly, the server 204 is described as a backend, multi-patient monitoring server that communicates with caregiver backend systems such as EMR and ADT systems (Muhsin, par. [0097]). The server 204 receives already-processed patient information from the hub 100.”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., same housing instead of in communication) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant submits that Muhsin fails to disclose each of the foregoing limitations for at least the following reasons. First, Muhsin does not disclose wherein "the first control logic unit is configured to communicatively couple to a first connector of the one or more connectors," as recited by amened claim 1. Muhsin teaches that the hub 100 includes serial data ports 210 and channel data ports 212 that "may provide data from a wide variety of patient medical devices" and that the hub includes a channel board 316 that "controls the communication with the channel ports 212 including optional patient electrical isolation and power supply."(Muhsin, par. [0098]; [0100]). Thus, Muhsin expressly teaches that communication with multiple channel ports is controlled by a single channel board, rather than by separate control logic units that are individually associated with corresponding connectors. Nothing in Muhsin discloses that a control logic unit is configured to communicatively couple to a specific connector, nor that each connector has a corresponding control logic unit that controls operations of a medical device connected thereto.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., separate control logic units that are individually associated with corresponding connectors, or control logic unit is configured to communicatively couple to a specific connector, nor that each connector has a corresponding control logic unit) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant submits that Muhsin does not disclose supplying power from the power source to a first control logic unit associated with the first medical device, as recited by amended claim 1. The Office Action relies on paragraphs [0106]-[0111] of Muhsin, which describe an optional patient electrical isolation system in which a host device selectively provides isolated or non-isolated power to a patient device based on information stored in a memory associated with that patient device. Muhsin teaches, "a memory 702 associated with a particular patient device informs the host 602 whether that device needs isolated power ... [and] once the host 602 understands that the patient device 604 comprises a self-isolated patient device 708, and thus does not need isolated power, the host 602 provides power through a separate conductor 710."(Muhsin, par. [0107]-[0108]). Stated differently, Muhsin teaches supplying power directly to the patient device, not to a control logic unit. Additionally, the power- management decisions are based on device-side memory, rather than on detection of a device connection to a particular connector.
The examiner disagrees with applicant’s argument since Muhsin discloses at least two power sources to power the system. The examiner points out that in addition to the power source #318 located in Hub #108 in Figure 1A further shown in Figure 3; Muhsin discloses in Figure 16 provided above, a power port labeled as power to connect a power cord to connect to a power outlet see paragraph 0401) wherein said power also directly powers the components in the Hub including but not limited to the control logic unit. In conclusion, Muhsin discloses different power sources to power different elements including a power source to power a control logic unit as discussed above. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is maintained and considered proper.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIXOMARA VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798