DETAILED ACTION
Status
The present application claims priority from three provisional applications filed September 26, 2023, October 25, 2023 and November 3, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 13, 2024 and March 24, 2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. 20260155877 to Lu Jiang (hereinafter Jiang) claiming priority to Chinese app. 202310959580.6 filed Aug. 1, 2023, further in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #112bis-e, R1-2303426, e-Meeting, April 17th – April 26th, 2023 (hereinafter R1).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang in view of R1 teaches A method for a user equipment (UE) to report channel state information (CSI), (Jiang Fig. 6, Fig. 1 terminal 11) the method comprising:
receiving:
first information related to one or more non-zero power CSI reference signals (NZP CSI-RSs) for channel measurement and one or more CSI-RSs or CSI interference measurements (CSI-RSs/CSI-IMs) for interference measurement on a cell; (Jiang para. [0084] teaches that the resourceSet within nzp-CSI-RS indicates an NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement and the csi-SSB-ResourceSet for channel measurement. In addition to resourcesForChannel, each CSI-AssociatedReortConfigINfo may also include one csi-IM-ResourcesForInterference and/or one nzp-CSI-RS-ResourcesForInterference (both are optional, one for interference measurement and the latter indicates the NZP CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement.)
second information related to a CSI report associated with a first number of CSI report sub-configurations, (Jiang para. [0093] teaches and Fig. 1 step 101 teaches that “A terminal receives target information sent by a network-side device, where the target information is used to indicate whether to activate a target channel state information CSI reporting sub-configuration associated with a target CSI reporting configuration) [[wherein: the first number of CSI report sub-configurations are associated with a first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement, respectively, and subsets in the first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement are identical or have no intersection;]]
third information related to indicating a second number of CSI report sub-configurations from the first number of CSI report sub-configurations, wherein the indication for second number of sub-configurations is explicit or implicit depending on a CSI report type and the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement and the one or more CSI-RSs/CSI-IMs for interference measurement; (Jiang para. [0101]-[0103] teaches either explicit or implicit CSI reporting of sub-configurations including the NZP CSI-RS CSI-RSs/CSI-IM depend on whether the terminal receives a MAC CE or DCI supporting L1/L2 signaling triggering sub-configuration CSI reporting. Jiang further teaches in para. [0118] wherein a new MAC CE activates a sub-configuration report or not as shown in Fig. 7A for semi-persistent CSI reporting.)
determining a second number of CSI sub-reports corresponding to the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, respectively, based on the second information, the third information, and the reception of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement and the one or more CSI-RSs/CSI-IMs for interference measurement; (Jiang para. [0102] teaches that the terminal can be enabled to determine which sub-configuration-based CSI reports need to be sent according to activated CSI reporting sub-configuration, thereby improving flexibility of the network side in instruction the terminal.)
and
transmitting an uplink channel with the CSI report including the second number of CSI sub-reports. (Jiang Fig. 6, step 102:
As shown in Fig. 6, the terminal reports the sub-configurations based on the reporting configuration and the NZP CSI-RS CSI-RSs/CSI-IM depend on whether the terminal receives a MAC CE or DCI supporting L1/L2 signaling triggering sub-configuration CSI reporting. as shown in para. [0288]:)
)
Jiang does NOT specifically teach wherein: the first number of CSI report sub-configurations are associated with a first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement, respectively, and subsets in the first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement are identical or have no intersection;
In the same field of endeavor, R1 teaches wherein: the first number of CSI report sub-configurations are associated with a first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement, respectively, and subsets in the first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement are identical or have no intersection. (R1, page 3-4 teaches in Approach 2 wherein each CSI-RS resource within a set is associated with one pattern mapped to a disjoint no intersection; Approach 3 teaches multiple sub-configurations associated with a same CSI-RS resource wherein the underlying set is reused:
Approach 2: One CSI report configuration contains multiple CSI report sub-configurations where each sub-configuration is associated with a subset of CSI-RS resources within a CSI-RS resource set and corresponds to one spatial or power adaptation pattern. CSI-RS resource set can be associated with more than one spatial or power adaptation patterns but each CSI-RS resource within the CSI-RS resource set can be associated with only one spatial or power adaptation pattern.
Approach 3: One CSI report configuration contains multiple CSI report sub-configurations where multiple sub-configurations are associated with a same CSI-RS resource and correspond to different spatial or power adaptation patterns. Each CSI-RS resource can be associated with one or more spatial or power adaptation patterns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Jiang and R1. Each of Jiang and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and CSI-RS sub-configurations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Jiang and R1 in order to implement network energy savings for new radio (NR) as taught in R1, page 1, line 1-12.
Regarding claim 2, Jiang teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a CSI processing unit (CPU) occupancy for a periodic CSI report, wherein the CPU occupancy is counted from a first symbol of an earliest one of each NZP CSI-RS for channel measurement or CSI-RS/CSI-IM for interference measurement associated with the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, and wherein the indication for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is implicit and the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. (Jiang teaches in para. [0274] –[0277] that if a CSI report includes one or more CSI report sub-configs, then the number of symbols spaced between a PDCCH for scheduling and the report is Z; the number of symbols between the earliest NAP-CSI-RS resource for channel measurement associated with both the primary configuration CSI reporting and the sub-configuration CSI reporting is Z’ and the symbol count Z and Z’ comply with the delay requirements specified in clauses 5.4-1 and 5.4-2 of TS 38.214 where the delay requirements are in specific symbol counts and specify processing delay: “the protocol specifies a processing delay, that is, a specific time duration, to mandate that the terminal device must complete channel measurement processing within this duration. Correspondingly, the base station may indicate, based on this duration, to the terminal where to report the CSI. Generally, the position of the CSI reporting should be after completion of channel measurement. It can be seen that processing delay of CSI is determined according to two parameters, namely, Z and Z′.”
Examiner notes that Jiang uses the term “references signals associated with the sub-configuration CSI reporting” which can be implicit or explicit in accordance with the MAC CE as taught in para. [0324], wherein a primary configuration is implicitly treated as a sub-config0 by default in Embodiment 4. Therefore since the subconfig0 is default, the number of sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations.)
Regarding claim 3, Jiang teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a CSI processing unit (CPU) occupancy for a semi-persistent CSI report, wherein the CPU occupancy is counted from a first symbol of an earliest one of each NZP CSI-RS for channel measurement or CSI-RS/CSI-IM for interference measurement associated with the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, and wherein the indication for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is explicit and the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is identical to or less than the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. (Jiang teaches in para. [0274] –[0277] that if a CSI report includes one or more CSI report sub-configs, then the number of symbols spaced between a PDCCH for scheduling and the report is Z; the number of symbols between the earliest NAP-CSI-RS resource for channel measurement associated with both the primary configuration CSI reporting and the sub-configuration CSI reporting is Z’ and the symbol count Z and Z’ comply with the delay requirements specified in clauses 5.4-1 and 5.4-2 of TS 38.214 where the delay requirements are in specific symbol counts and specify processing delay: “the protocol specifies a processing delay, that is, a specific time duration, to mandate that the terminal device must complete channel measurement processing within this duration. Correspondingly, the base station may indicate, based on this duration, to the terminal where to report the CSI. Generally, the position of the CSI reporting should be after completion of channel measurement. It can be seen that processing delay of CSI is determined according to two parameters, namely, Z and Z′.”
Jiang uses the terms “references signals associated with the sub-configuration CSI reporting” which can be implicit or explicit in accordance with the MAC CE as taught in para. [0324]. Therefore, the limit on sub-configuration reports determines the subconf number for periodic reporting.)
Regarding claim 4, Jiang teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, for a periodic CSI report, a CSI-RS port count for a CSI-RS from the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement, wherein the CSI-RS port count is determined as max (∑ K s=1 Ps,P), where: K is a number of sub-configurations associated with the CSI-RS from the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, P is a number of CSI-RS ports configured for the CSI-RS, and Ps is a number of CSI-RS ports from P indicated for s-th sub-configuration, and wherein the indication for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is implicit and the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. (Examiner interprets max (∑ K s=1 Ps,P) as a determination of the maximum number of ports up to the number of sub-configurations. Jiang para. [0087] teaches that at any given time, the number of CSI-RS resources associated with all CSI reports at that time and the number of corresponding ports shall not exceed UE capabilities: maxNumberSimultaneousNZP-CSI-RS-PerCC and totalNumberPortsSimultaneousNZP-CSI-RS-PerCC.”
Jiang teaches in paras. [0281]-[0284] that a counting method for the number of activated CSI-RS ports Nrofports “if the CSI-RS resource is referred N times by the one or more CSI reporting configurations and CSI reporting sub-configurations, the CSI-RS resource and the number of CSI-RS ports corresponding to the CSI-RS resource are counted N times, where N is a positive integer.” Further, Jiang teaches in para. [0284] that the number of activated CSI-RS ports cannot exceed a capability reported by a UE which is a maximum limitation on sub-configurations. As stated earlier, Jiang uses the terms “references signals associated with the sub-configuration CSI reporting” which can be implicit or explicit in accordance with the MAC CE as taught in para. [0324]. When a primary configuration is implicitly treated as a sub-config0 by default in Embodiment 4. Therefore since the subconfig0 is a default, and the number of sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations.)
Regarding claim 5, Jiang teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, for a semi-persistent CSI report, a CSI-RS port count for a CSI-RS from the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement, wherein the CSI-RS port count is determined as max (∑ K s=1 Ps,P) where: K is a number of sub-configurations associated with the CSI-RS from the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, P is a number of CSI-RS ports configured for the CSI-RS, and Ps is a number of CSI-RS ports from P indicated for s-th sub-configuration, and wherein the indication for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is explicit and the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is identical to or less than the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. (Jiang teaches in para. [0108] –[0109] that the MAC CE of Jiang can implement a function of triggering sub-configuration CSI reporting for semi-persistent CSI reporting configuration unlike the prior art. Examiner interprets max (∑ K s=1 Ps,P) as a determination of the maximum number of ports up to the number of sub-configurations. Jiang para. [0087] teaches that at any given time, the number of CSI-RS resources associated with all CSI reports at that time and the number of corresponding ports shall not exceed UE capabilities: maxNumberSimultaneousNZP-CSI-RS-PerCC and totalNumberPortsSimultaneousNZP-CSI-RS-PerCC.”.
Jiang teaches in paras. [0281]-[0284] that a counting method for the number of activated CSI-RS ports Nrofports “if the CSI-RS resource is referred N times by the one or more CSI reporting configurations and CSI reporting sub-configurations, the CSI-RS resource and the number of CSI-RS ports corresponding to the CSI-RS resource are counted N times, where N is a positive integer.” Further, Jiang teaches in para. [0284] that the number of activated CSI-RS ports cannot exceed a capability reported by a UE which is a maximum limitation on sub-configurations. As stated earlier, Jiang uses the terms “references signals associated with the sub-configuration CSI reporting” which can be implicit or explicit in accordance with the MAC CE as taught in para. [0324]. When a primary configuration is implicitly treated as a sub-config0 by default in Embodiment 4. Therefore since the subconfig0 is a default, and the number of sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. )
Regarding claim 8, Jiang teaches A user equipment (UE), (Fig. 1 terminal 11) comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 17, and paras. [0407] network module 602 in terminal 11) configured to receive:
first information related to one or more non-zero power CSI reference signals (NZP CSI-RSs) for channel measurement and one or more CSI-RSs or CSI interference measurements (CSI-RSs/CSI-IMs) for interference measurement on a cell; (Jiang para. [0084] teaches that the resourceSet within nzp-CSI-RS indicates an NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement and the csi-SSB-ResourceSet for channel measurement. In addition to resourcesForChannel, each CSI-AssociatedReortConfigINfo may also include one csi-IM-ResourcesForInterference and/or one nzp-CSI-RS-ResourcesForInterference - both are optional, one for interference measurement and the latter indicates the NZP CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement.)
second information related to a CSI report associated with a first number of CSI report sub-configurations, (Jiang para. [0093] teaches and Fig. 1 step 101 teaches that “A terminal receives target information sent by a network-side device, where the target information is used to indicate whether to activate a target channel state information CSI reporting sub-configuration associated with a target CSI reporting configuration) [[wherein: the first number of CSI report sub-configurations are associated with a first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement, respectively, and subsets in the first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement are identical or have no intersection;]]
third information related to indicating a second number of CSI report sub-configurations from the first number of CSI report sub-configurations, wherein the indication for second number of sub-configurations is explicit or implicit depending on a CSI report type and the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement and the one or more CSI-RSs/CSI-IMs for interference measurement; (Jiang para. [0101]-[0103] teaches either explicit or implicit CSI reporting of sub-configurations including the NZP CSI-RS CSI-RSs/CSI-IM depend on whether the terminal receives a MAC CE or DCI supporting L1/L2 signaling triggering sub-configuration CSI reporting. Jiang further teaches in para. [0118] wherein a new MAC CE activates a sub-configuration report or not as shown in Fig. 7A for semi-persistent CSI reporting.)
and
a processor operably coupled with the transceiver,(Jiang Fig. 17 processor 601) the processor configured to determine a second number of CSI sub-reports corresponding to the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, respectively, based on the second information, the third information, and the reception of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement and the one or more CSI-RSs/CSI-IMs for interference measurement, (Jiang para. [0102] teaches that the terminal can be enabled to determine which sub-configuration-based CSI reports need to be sent according to activated CSI reporting sub-configuration, thereby improving flexibility of the network side in instruction the terminal.)
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit an uplink channel with the CSI report including the second number of CSI sub-reports. (Jiang Fig. 13, step 202 terminal sends CSI to a network-side device based on the target CSI reporting sub-configuration. Jiang Fig. 12 and para. [0327] teaches a transmitted MAC CE triggering a UE to transmit CSI reports including sub-configurations)
Jiang does NOT specifically teach wherein: the first number of CSI report sub-configurations are associated with a first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement, respectively, and subsets in the first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement are identical or have no intersection;
In the same field of endeavor, R1 teaches wherein: the first number of CSI report sub-configurations are associated with a first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement, respectively, and subsets in the first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement are identical or have no intersection. (R1, page 3-4 teaches in Approach 2 wherein each CSI-RS resource within a set is associated with one pattern mapped to a disjoint no intersection; Approach 3 teaches multiple sub-configurations associated with a same CSI-RS resource wherein the underlying set is reused:
Approach 2: One CSI report configuration contains multiple CSI report sub-configurations where each sub-configuration is associated with a subset of CSI-RS resources within a CSI-RS resource set and corresponds to one spatial or power adaptation pattern. CSI-RS resource set can be associated with more than one spatial or power adaptation patterns but each CSI-RS resource within the CSI-RS resource set can be associated with only one spatial or power adaptation pattern.
Approach 3: One CSI report configuration contains multiple CSI report sub-configurations where multiple sub-configurations are associated with a same CSI-RS resource and correspond to different spatial or power adaptation patterns. Each CSI-RS resource can be associated with one or more spatial or power adaptation patterns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Jiang and R1. Each of Jiang and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and CSI-RS sub-configurations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Jiang and R1 in order to implement network energy savings for new radio (NR) as taught in R1, page 1, line 1-12.
Regarding claim 9, Jiang teaches The UE of claim 8, wherein: the processor is further configured to determine CSI processing unit (CPU) occupancy for a periodic CSI report, the CPU occupancy is counted from a first symbol of an earliest one of each NZP CSI-RS for channel measurement or CSI-RS/CSI-IM for interference measurement associated with the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, and the indication for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is implicit and the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. (Jiang teaches in para. [0274] –[0277] that if a CSI report includes one or more CSI report sub-configs, then the number of symbols spaced between a PDCCH for scheduling and the report is Z; the number of symbols between the earliest NAP-CSI-RS resource for channel measurement associated with both the primary configuration CSI reporting and the sub-configuration CSI reporting is Z’ and the symbol count Z and Z’ comply with the delay requirements specified in clauses 5.4-1 and 5.4-2 of TS 38.214 where the delay requirements are in specific symbol counts and specify processing delay: “the protocol specifies a processing delay, that is, a specific time duration, to mandate that the terminal device must complete channel measurement processing within this duration. Correspondingly, the base station may indicate, based on this duration, to the terminal where to report the CSI. Generally, the position of the CSI reporting should be after completion of channel measurement. It can be seen that processing delay of CSI is determined according to two parameters, namely, Z and Z′.”
Examiner notes that Jiang uses the term “references signals associated with the sub-configuration CSI reporting” which can be implicit or explicit in accordance with the MAC CE as taught in para. [0324]. A primary configuration is implicitly treated as a sub-config0 by default in Embodiment 4. Therefore since the subconfig0 is default, the number of sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations.)
Regarding claim 10, Jiang teaches The UE of claim 8, wherein: the processor is further configured to determine a CSI processing unit (CPU) occupancy for a semi-persistent CSI report, the CPU occupancy is counted from a first symbol of an earliest one of each NZP CSI-RS for channel measurement or CSI-RS/CSI-IM for interference measurement associated with the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, and the indication for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is explicit and the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is identical to or less than the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. (Jiang teaches in para. [0108] –[0109] that the MAC CE of Jiang can implement a function of triggering sub-configuration CSI reporting for semi-persistent CSI reporting configuration unlike the prior art. Jiang teaches in para. [0274] –[0277] that if a CSI report includes one or more CSI report sub-configs, then the number of symbols spaced between a PDCCH for scheduling and the report is Z; the number of symbols between the earliest NAP-CSI-RS resource for channel measurement associated with both the primary configuration CSI reporting and the sub-configuration CSI reporting is Z’ and the symbol count Z and Z’ comply with the delay requirements specified in clauses 5.4-1 and 5.4-2 of TS 38.214 where the delay requirements are in specific symbol counts and specify processing delay: “the protocol specifies a processing delay, that is, a specific time duration, to mandate that the terminal device must complete channel measurement processing within this duration. Correspondingly, the base station may indicate, based on this duration, to the terminal where to report the CSI. Generally, the position of the CSI reporting should be after completion of channel measurement. It can be seen that processing delay of CSI is determined according to two parameters, namely, Z and Z′.”
Examiner notes that Jiang uses the term “references signals associated with the sub-configuration CSI reporting” which can be implicit or explicit in accordance with the MAC CE as taught in para. [0324]. A primary configuration is implicitly treated as a sub-config0 by default in Embodiment 4. Therefore since the subconfig0 is default, the number of sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations.)
Regarding claim 11, Jiang teaches The UE of claim 8, wherein: the processor is further configured to determine, for a periodic CSI report, a CSI-RS port count for a CSI-RS from the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement, the CSI-RS port count is determined as max (∑ K s=1 Ps,P), where: K is a number of sub-configurations associated with the CSI-RS from the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, P is a number of CSI-RS ports configured for the CSI-RS, and Ps is a number of CSI-RS ports from P indicated for s-th sub-configuration, and wherein the indication for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is implicit and the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. (Examiner interprets max (∑ K s=1 Ps,P) as a determination of the maximum number of ports up to the number of sub-configurations. Jiang para. [0087] teaches that at any given time, the number of CSI-RS resources associated with all CSI reports at that time and the number of corresponding ports shall not exceed UE capabilities: maxNumberSimultaneousNZP-CSI-RS-PerCC and totalNumberPortsSimultaneousNZP-CSI-RS-PerCC.”
Jiang teaches in paras. [0281]-[0284] that a counting method for the number of activated CSI-RS ports Nrofports “if the CSI-RS resource is referred N times by the one or more CSI reporting configurations and CSI reporting sub-configurations, the CSI-RS resource and the number of CSI-RS ports corresponding to the CSI-RS resource are counted N times, where N is a positive integer.” Further, Jiang teaches in para. [0284] that the number of activated CSI-RS ports cannot exceed a capability reported by a UE which is a maximum limitation on sub-configurations. As stated earlier, Jiang uses the terms “references signals associated with the sub-configuration CSI reporting” which can be implicit or explicit in accordance with the MAC CE as taught in para. [0324]. When a primary configuration is implicitly treated as a sub-config0 by default in Embodiment 4. Therefore since the subconfig0 is a default, and the number of sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations.)
Regarding claim 12, Jiang teaches The UE of claim 8, wherein: the processor is further configured to determine, for a semi-persistent CSI report, a CSI-RS port count for a CSI-RS from the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement, the CSI-RS port count is determined as max (∑ K s=1 Ps,P) where: K is a number of sub-configurations associated with the CSI-RS from the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, P is a number of CSI-RS ports configured for the CSI-RS, and Ps is a number of CSI-RS ports from P indicated for s-th sub-configuration, and wherein the indication for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is explicit and the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is identical to or less than the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. (Jiang teaches in para. [0108] –[0109] that the MAC CE of Jiang can implement a function of triggering sub-configuration CSI reporting for semi-persistent CSI reporting configuration unlike the prior art. Examiner interprets max (∑ K s=1 Ps,P) as a determination of the maximum number of ports up to the number of sub-configurations. Jiang para. [0087] teaches that at any given time, the number of CSI-RS resources associated with all CSI reports at that time and the number of corresponding ports shall not exceed UE capabilities: maxNumberSimultaneousNZP-CSI-RS-PerCC and totalNumberPortsSimultaneousNZP-CSI-RS-PerCC.”.
Jiang teaches in paras. [0281]-[0284] that a counting method for the number of activated CSI-RS ports Nrofports “if the CSI-RS resource is referred N times by the one or more CSI reporting configurations and CSI reporting sub-configurations, the CSI-RS resource and the number of CSI-RS ports corresponding to the CSI-RS resource are counted N times, where N is a positive integer.” Further, Jiang teaches in para. [0284] that the number of activated CSI-RS ports cannot exceed a capability reported by a UE which is a maximum limitation on sub-configurations. As stated earlier, Jiang uses the terms “references signals associated with the sub-configuration CSI reporting” which can be implicit or explicit in accordance with the MAC CE as taught in para. [0324]. When a primary configuration is implicitly treated as a sub-config0 by default in Embodiment 4. Therefore since the subconfig0 is a default, and the number of sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. )
Regarding claim 15, Jiang in view of R1 teaches A base station (BS), (Fig. 1, network-side device 12) comprising:
a processor; (Fig. 18 processor 704)
and
a transceiver operably coupled with the processor, (Fig. 18 network interface 706 and radio frequency apparatus 702) the transceiver configured to:
transmit first information related to one or more non-zero power CSI reference signals (NZP CSI-RSs) for channel measurement and one or more CSI-RSs or CSI interference measurements (CSI-RSs/CSI-IMs) for interference measurement on a cell; (Jiang para. [0084] teaches that the resourceSet within nzp-CSI-RS indicates an NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement and the csi-SSB-ResourceSet for channel measurement. In addition to resourcesForChannel, each CSI-AssociatedReortConfigINfo may also include one csi-IM-ResourcesForInterference and/or one nzp-CSI-RS-ResourcesForInterference (both are optional, one for interference measurement and the latter indicates the NZP CSI-RS resource set for interference measurement.)
transmit second information related to a CSI report associated with a first number of CSI report sub-configurations, (Jiang para. [0093] teaches and Fig. 1 step 101 teaches that “A terminal receives target information sent by a network-side device, where the target information is used to indicate whether to activate a target channel state information CSI reporting sub-configuration associated with a target CSI reporting configuration) [[wherein: the first number of CSI report sub-configurations are associated with a first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement, respectively, and subsets in the first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement are identical or have no intersection;]]
transmit third information related to indicating a second number of CSI report sub-configurations from the first number of CSI report sub-configurations, wherein the indication for second number of sub-configurations is explicit or implicit depending on a CSI report type; (Jiang para. [0101]-[0103] teaches either explicit or implicit CSI reporting of sub-configurations including the NZP CSI-RS CSI-RSs/CSI-IM depend on whether the terminal receives a MAC CE or DCI supporting L1/L2 signaling triggering sub-configuration CSI reporting. Jiang further teaches in para. [0118] wherein a new MAC CE activates a sub-configuration report or not as shown in Fig. 7A for semi-persistent CSI reporting.)
transmit the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement and the one or more CSI-RSs/CSI-IMs for interference measurement; (Jiang para. [0101]-[0103] teaches CSI reporting of sub-configurations including the NZP CSI-RS CSI-RSs/CSI-IM)
and
receive an uplink channel with the CSI report including a second number of CSI sub-reports corresponding to the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, respectively, that are based on the second information, the third information, and the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement and the one or more CSI-RSs/CSI-IMs for interference measurement. (Jiang Fig. 6, step 102:
As shown in Fig. 6, the terminal reports the sub-configurations based on the reporting configuration and the NZP CSI-RS CSI-RSs/CSI-IM depend on whether the terminal receives a MAC CE or DCI supporting L1/L2 signaling triggering sub-configuration CSI reporting. as shown in para. [0288]:)
)
Jiang does NOT specifically teach wherein: the first number of CSI report sub-configurations are associated with a first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement, respectively, and subsets in the first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement are identical or have no intersection;
In the same field of endeavor, R1 teaches wherein: the first number of CSI report sub-configurations are associated with a first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement, respectively, and subsets in the first number of subsets of the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement are identical or have no intersection. (R1, page 3-4 teaches in Approach 2 wherein each CSI-RS resource within a set is associated with one pattern mapped to a disjoint no intersection; Approach 3 teaches multiple sub-configurations associated with a same CSI-RS resource wherein the underlying set is reused:
Approach 2: One CSI report configuration contains multiple CSI report sub-configurations where each sub-configuration is associated with a subset of CSI-RS resources within a CSI-RS resource set and corresponds to one spatial or power adaptation pattern. CSI-RS resource set can be associated with more than one spatial or power adaptation patterns but each CSI-RS resource within the CSI-RS resource set can be associated with only one spatial or power adaptation pattern.
Approach 3: One CSI report configuration contains multiple CSI report sub-configurations where multiple sub-configurations are associated with a same CSI-RS resource and correspond to different spatial or power adaptation patterns. Each CSI-RS resource can be associated with one or more spatial or power adaptation patterns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Jiang and R1. Each of Jiang and R1 are in the field of wireless communications and CSI-RS sub-configurations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Jiang and R1 in order to implement network energy savings for new radio (NR) as taught in R1, page 1, line 1-12.
Regarding claim 16, Jiang teaches The base station of claim 15, wherein: a CPU occupancy for a periodic CSI report is counted from a first symbol of an earliest one of each NZP CSI-RS for channel measurement or CSI-RS/CSI-IM for interference measurement associated with the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, and the indication for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is implicit and the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. (Jiang teaches in para. [0274] –[0277] that if a CSI report includes one or more CSI report sub-configs, then the number of symbols spaced between a PDCCH for scheduling and the report is Z; the number of symbols between the earliest NAP-CSI-RS resource for channel measurement associated with both the primary configuration CSI reporting and the sub-configuration CSI reporting is Z’ and the symbol count Z and Z’ comply with the delay requirements specified in clauses 5.4-1 and 5.4-2 of TS 38.214 where the delay requirements are in specific symbol counts and specify processing delay: “the protocol specifies a processing delay, that is, a specific time duration, to mandate that the terminal device must complete channel measurement processing within this duration. Correspondingly, the base station may indicate, based on this duration, to the terminal where to report the CSI. Generally, the position of the CSI reporting should be after completion of channel measurement. It can be seen that processing delay of CSI is determined according to two parameters, namely, Z and Z′.”
Examiner notes that Jiang uses the term “references signals associated with the sub-configuration CSI reporting” which can be implicit or explicit in accordance with the MAC CE as taught in para. [0324]. A primary configuration is implicitly treated as a sub-config0 by default in Embodiment 4. Therefore since the subconfig0 is default, the number of sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations.)
Regarding claim 17, Jiang teaches The base station of claim 15, wherein: a CPU occupancy for a semi-persistent CSI report is counted from a first symbol of an earliest one of each NZP CSI-RS for channel measurement or CSI-RS/CSI-IM for interference measurement associated with the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, and the indication for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is explicit and the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is identical to or less than the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. (Jiang teaches in para. [0274] –[0277] that if a CSI report includes one or more CSI report sub-configs, then the number of symbols spaced between a PDCCH for scheduling and the report is Z; the number of symbols between the earliest NAP-CSI-RS resource for channel measurement associated with both the primary configuration CSI reporting and the sub-configuration CSI reporting is Z’ and the symbol count Z and Z’ comply with the delay requirements specified in clauses 5.4-1 and 5.4-2 of TS 38.214 where the delay requirements are in specific symbol counts and specify processing delay: “the protocol specifies a processing delay, that is, a specific time duration, to mandate that the terminal device must complete channel measurement processing within this duration. Correspondingly, the base station may indicate, based on this duration, to the terminal where to report the CSI. Generally, the position of the CSI reporting should be after completion of channel measurement. It can be seen that processing delay of CSI is determined according to two parameters, namely, Z and Z′.”
Jiang uses the terms “references signals associated with the sub-configuration CSI reporting” which can be implicit or explicit in accordance with the MAC CE as taught in para. [0324]. Therefore, the limit on sub-configuration reports determines the subconf number in periodic reporting.)
Regarding claim 18, Jiang teaches The base station of claim 15, wherein: a CSI-RS port count, for a periodic CSI report, for a CSI-RS from the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement is determined as max (∑ K s=1 Ps,P), where: K is a number of sub-configurations associated with the CSI-RS from the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, P is a number of CSI-RS ports configured for the CSI-RS, and Ps is a number of CSI-RS ports from P indicated for s-th sub-configuration, and the indication for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is implicit and the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. . (Examiner interprets max (∑ K s=1 Ps,P) as a determination of the maximum number of ports up to the number of sub-configurations. Jiang para. [0087] teaches that at any given time, the number of CSI-RS resources associated with all CSI reports at that time and the number of corresponding ports shall not exceed UE capabilities: maxNumberSimultaneousNZP-CSI-RS-PerCC and totalNumberPortsSimultaneousNZP-CSI-RS-PerCC.”
Jiang teaches in paras. [0281]-[0284] that a counting method for the number of activated CSI-RS ports Nrofports “if the CSI-RS resource is referred N times by the one or more CSI reporting configurations and CSI reporting sub-configurations, the CSI-RS resource and the number of CSI-RS ports corresponding to the CSI-RS resource are counted N times, where N is a positive integer.” Further, Jiang teaches in para. [0284] that the number of activated CSI-RS ports cannot exceed a capability reported by a UE which is a maximum limitation on sub-configurations. As stated earlier, Jiang uses the terms “references signals associated with the sub-configuration CSI reporting” which can be implicit or explicit in accordance with the MAC CE as taught in para. [0324]. When a primary configuration is implicitly treated as a sub-config0 by default in Embodiment 4. Therefore since the subconfig0 is a default, and the number of sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations.)
Regarding claim 19, Jiang teaches The base station of claim 15, wherein: a CSI-RS port count, for a semi-persistent CSI report, for a CSI-RS from the one or more NZP CSI-RSs for channel measurement is determined as max (∑ K s=1 Ps,P), where: K is a number of sub-configurations associated with the CSI-RS from the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, P is a number of CSI-RS ports configured for the CSI-RS, and Ps is a number of CSI-RS ports from P indicated for s-th sub-configuration, and the indication for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is explicit and the second number of CSI report sub-configurations is identical to or less than the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. (Jiang teaches in para. [0108] –[0109] that the MAC CE of Jiang can implement a function of triggering sub-configuration CSI reporting for semi-persistent CSI reporting configuration unlike the prior art. Examiner interprets max (∑ K s=1 Ps,P) as a determination of the maximum number of ports up to the number of sub-configurations. Jiang para. [0087] teaches that at any given time, the number of CSI-RS resources associated with all CSI reports at that time and the number of corresponding ports shall not exceed UE capabilities: maxNumberSimultaneousNZP-CSI-RS-PerCC and totalNumberPortsSimultaneousNZP-CSI-RS-PerCC.”.
Jiang teaches in paras. [0281]-[0284] that a counting method for the number of activated CSI-RS ports Nrofports “if the CSI-RS resource is referred N times by the one or more CSI reporting configurations and CSI reporting sub-configurations, the CSI-RS resource and the number of CSI-RS ports corresponding to the CSI-RS resource are counted N times, where N is a positive integer.” Further, Jiang teaches in para. [0284] that the number of activated CSI-RS ports cannot exceed a capability reported by a UE which is a maximum limitation on sub-configurations. As stated earlier, Jiang uses the terms “references signals associated with the sub-configuration CSI reporting” which can be implicit or explicit in accordance with the MAC CE as taught in para. [0324]. When a primary configuration is implicitly treated as a sub-config0 by default in Embodiment 4. Therefore since the subconfig0 is a default, and the number of sub-configurations is identical to the first number of CSI report sub-configurations. )
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of R1 further in view of US Pat. Pub. 20190058517 to Jiwon Kang et al. (hereinafter Kang) and in view of 3GPP TS 38.214 v.17.6.0 (2023-06) (hereinafter TS 38.214).
Regarding claim 6, Jiang in view of R1 teaches The method of claim 1 as stated. Jiang does NOT teach wherein: the CSI report includes two parts, and a first of the two parts is transmitted entirely or dropped entirely.
In the same field of endeavor, Kang teaches. (Kang teaches in para. [0437] that for Type 1 CSI feedback and that Part 1 is entirely transmitted before Part 2. )
Although Kang teaches that the Part 1 is transmitted entirely, Kang does not teach that it is “dropped”.
In the same field of endeavor, TS 38.214 teaches “or dropped.” (TS 38.214 Section 5.2.3 page 127 teaches “For Type I, Type II, Enhanced Type II and Further Enhanced Type II Port Selection CSI feedback on PUSCH, a CSI report comprises of two parts. Part 1 has a fixed payload size and is used to identify the number of information bits in Part 2. Part 1 shall be transmitted in its entirety before Part 2. “ Because the standard uses the term “shall” the option of a portion of Part 1 is dropped.)
In the same field of endeavor, Kang teaches. (Kang teaches in para. [0437] that for Type 1 CSI feedback and that Part 1 is entirely transmitted before Part 2. )
Although Kang teaches that the Part 1 is transmitted entirely, Kang does not teach that it is “dropped”.
In the same field of endeavor, TS 38.214 teaches “or dropped.” (TS 38.214 Section 5.2.3 page 127 teaches “For Type I, Type II, Enhanced Type II and Further Enhanced Type II Port Selection CSI feedback on PUSCH, a CSI report comprises of two parts. Part 1 has a fixed payload size and is used to identify the number of information bits in Part 2. Part 1 shall be transmitted in its entirety before Part 2. “ Because the standard uses the term “shall” the option of a portion of Part 1 is dropped.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with Kang. Each of Jiang and Kang are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kang with Jiang in order to more precisely perform time/frequency tracking of a user equipment (UE) as taught in Kang para. [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with TS 38.214. Each of Jiang and TS 38.214 are in the field of 3GPP wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Jiang with TS 38.214 in order to follow 3GPP standards for CSI-RS such as taught in TS 38.214 page 126 that “A UE shall perform aperiodic CSI reporting using PUSCH” and other “shall” directives.
Regarding claim 13, Jiang in view of R1 teaches The UE of claim 8 as stated. Jiang does NOT teach wherein: the CSI report includes two parts, and a first of the two parts is transmitted entirely or dropped entirely.
In the same field of endeavor, Kang teaches. (Kang teaches in para. [0437] that for Type 1 CSI feedback and that Part 1 is entirely transmitted before Part 2. )
Although Kang teaches that the Part 1 is transmitted entirely, Kang does not teach that it is “dropped”.
In the same field of endeavor, TS 38.214 teaches “or dropped.” (TS 38.214 Section 5.2.3 page 127 teaches “For Type I, Type II, Enhanced Type II and Further Enhanced Type II Port Selection CSI feedback on PUSCH, a CSI report comprises of two parts. Part 1 has a fixed payload size and is used to identify the number of information bits in Part 2. Part 1 shall be transmitted in its entirety before Part 2. “ Because the standard uses the term “shall” the option of a portion of Part 1 is dropped.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with Kang. Each of Jiang and Kang are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Kang with Jiang in order to more precisely perform time/frequency tracking of a user equipment (UE) as taught in Kang para. [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with TS 38.214. Each of Jiang and TS 38.214 are in the field of 3GPP wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Jiang with TS 38.214 in order to follow 3GPP standards for CSI-RS such as taught in TS 38.214 page 126 that “A UE shall perform aperiodic CSI reporting using PUSCH” and other “shall” directives.
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of R1 further in view further in view of International Pat. Pub. WO2025035958 to Xiaying Ma et al. (hereinafter Ma).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang in view of R1 teach the method of claim 1 as stated. Jiang does NOT teach receiving an indication to report a common CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations; and determining the common CRI based on: one or more sub-configurations from the second number of CSI report sub-configurations without an explicit indication, or a reference sub-configuration with an explicit indication, wherein transmitting the uplink channel with the CSI report further comprises transmitting the common CRI.
In the same field of endeavor, Ma teaches receiving an indication to report a common CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations; (Ma teaches on pages 25, line 26 to page 26 line 7, that a “common CRI” can be used to report CSI sub-configurations.)
and
determining the common CRI based on: one or more sub-configurations from the second number of CSI report sub-configurations without an explicit indication, or a reference sub-configuration with an explicit indication, wherein transmitting the uplink channel with the CSI report further comprises transmitting the common CRI. (Ma teaches on pages 25, line 26 to page 26 line 7 “In some embodiments, one CSI report configuration includes L sub-configuration configurations, where the one or more sub-configuration configurations have a third type parameter, and in response to the UE reporting the multiple sets of CSI reports supporting the common CRI, the number of resources associated with each sub-configuration is the same, and the ith CSI-RS resource associated with different sub-configurations is quasi co-located.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with Ma to teach a “common CRI”. Each of Jiang and Ma are the field of wireless communications and CSI-RS sub-configurations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Jiang and Ma in order to address base station energy consumption shutdown modes requiring UE capabilities to measure and calculate multiple sets of CSI information as taught in Ma page 1, lines 7-18.
Regarding claim 14, Jiang in view of Ma teaches The UE of claim 8 as stated. Jiang does NOT teach wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive an indication to report a common CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations; the processor is further configured to determine the common CRI based on: one or more sub-configurations from the second number of CSI report sub-configurations without an explicit indication, or a reference sub-configuration with an explicit indication; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit the common CRI.
In the same field of endeavor, Ma teaches wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive an indication to report a common CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations; the processor is further configured to determine the common CRI based on: one or more sub-configurations from the second number of CSI report sub-configurations without an explicit indication, or a reference sub-configuration with an explicit indication; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit the common CRI. . (Ma teaches on pages 25, line 26 to page 26 line 7 “In some embodiments, one CSI report configuration includes L sub-configuration configurations, where the one or more sub-configuration configurations have a third type parameter, and in response to the UE reporting the multiple sets of CSI reports supporting the common CRI, the number of resources associated with each sub-configuration is the same, and the ith CSI-RS resource associated with different sub-configurations is quasi co-located.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with Ma to teach a “common CRI”. Each of Jiang and Ma are the field of wireless communications and CSI-RS sub-configurations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Jiang and Ma in order to address base station energy consumption shutdown modes requiring UE capabilities to measure and calculate multiple sets of CSI information as taught in Ma page 1, lines 7-18.
Regarding claim 20, Jiang in view of R1 teach The base station of claim 15 as stated. Jiang does NOT teach wherein: the transceiver is further configured to: transmit an indication to report a common CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, and receive the common CRI, and the common CRI is based on: one or more sub-configurations from the second number of CSI report sub-configurations without an explicit indication, or a reference sub-configuration with an explicit indication.
In the same field of endeavor, Ma teaches wherein: the transceiver is further configured to: transmit an indication to report a common CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) for the second number of CSI report sub-configurations, and receive the common CRI, and the common CRI is based on: one or more sub-configurations from the second number of CSI report sub-configurations without an explicit indication, or a reference sub-configuration with an explicit indication. (Ma teaches on pages 25, line 26 to page 26 line 7 “In some embodiments, one CSI report configuration includes L sub-configuration configurations, where the one or more sub-configuration configurations have a third type parameter, and in response to the UE reporting the multiple sets of CSI reports supporting the common CRI, the number of resources associated with each sub-configuration is the same, and the ith CSI-RS resource associated with different sub-configurations is quasi co-located.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Jiang with Ma to teach a “common CRI”. Each of Jiang and Ma are the field of wireless communications and CSI-RS sub-configurations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Jiang and Ma in order to address base station energy consumption shutdown modes requiring UE capabilities to measure and calculate multiple sets of CSI information as taught in Ma page 1, lines 7-18.
Conclusion
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412