DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, there is no antecedent basis for “the first weight” and “the second weight”. It is assumed that claim 6 is intended to depend from claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, “the first and second inner weight brackets” lack antecedent basis and have been interpreted as “the first and second plate brackets’’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Speyer (US 3,913,908).
Regarding claim 1, Speyer discloses an adjustable weight dumbbell (“Barbell having a detachably mounted weight supporting bar”) comprising a handle assembly including a handle having a first end and an opposite second end (handle, rod 11 and rod members 13, having opposite ends, Figs. 8, 9); a first plate mounted to the first end of the handle, the first plate having a first inner side adjacent to the handle, a first outer side, and a first inner weight mounting structure positioned on the first inner side (first plate, left weight 38 in Fig. 9, relatively at one end of the handle, having inner and outer sides and a mounting structure, radial protuberances 39, Fig. 9); and a second plate mounted to the second end of the handle, the second plate having a second inner side adjacent to the handle and facing the first inner side, a second outer side, and a second inner weight mounting structure positioned on the second inner side (second plate, weight 38 on the opposite end of the handle having identical inner and outer sides and mounting structure, Fig. 8, 9); and a first inner weight configured to removably couple to the first inner weight mounting structure (first inner weight, flange 31, removably coupled to left weight 38 via protuberances 33 engaging protuberances 39, Fig. 9); and a second inner weight configured to removably couple to the second inner weight mounting structure (second inner weight, flange 31 on the opposite end of the handle, also removably coupled to right weight 38 via protuberances 33 engaging protuberances 39, Figs. 8, 9).
Regarding claim 2, Speyer discloses the adjustable weight dumbbell of claim 1 further comprising a first outer weight mounting structure positioned on the first outer side of the first plate (the outer, right side of left weight 38 in Fig. 9 has protuberances); a second outer weight mounting structure positioned on the second outer side of the second plate (the outer, left side of the right weight 38 has protuberances, identical to that of Fig. 9); one or more first outer weights each configured to removably couple to the first outer weight mounting structure (first outer weights, weights 38 interlocked with left weight 38 via protuberances 39, Fig. 9); and one or more second outer weights each configured to removably couple to the second outer weight mounting structure (second outer weights, identical weights 38 on the other end of the handle interlocked with right, inner weight 38 via protuberances 39, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 3, Speyer discloses the adjustable weight dumbbell of claim 2, wherein each of the first outer weights is configured to removably attach to another adjacent one of the first outer weights (there are multiple weights 38 to the right of left weight 38 removably attached via protuberances 39, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, Speyer discloses the adjustable weight dumbbell of claim 2, wherein each of the second outer weights is configured to removably attach to another adjacent one of the second outer weights (there are multiple weights 38 to the left of right, inner weight 38 on the other end of the handle, also removably attached via protuberances 39, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, Speyer discloses the adjustable weight dumbbell of claim 2, wherein a first weight of either of the first inner weight or the second inner weight is different than a second weight of any of the one or more first outer weights or of the one or more second outer weights (flange 31 has a weight different than the weight of the adjacent weight 38, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6, Speyer discloses the adjustable weight dumbbell of claim 5, wherein the first weight is less than the second weight (flange 31 has a weight less than the weight of the adjacent weight 38, Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 9, Speyer discloses the adjustable weight dumbbell of claim 1, wherein the first and second inner weight mounting structures each comprise a locking structure configured to selectively engage with and disengage with the first inner weight mounting structure and the second inner weight mounting structure, respectively (protuberances 33 and 39 constitute locking structures that selectively engage and disengage, Fig. 9; “By providing mating protuberances 33 and 39, weights 38 are held in locking and antirotational relationship upon the clamping of weights 38 between flanges 31 and 14.”, Col. 4, Lns. 56-59).
Regarding claim 11, Speyer discloses the adjustable weight dumbbell of claim 1, wherein the first and second inner weights each have a body that defines a notch shaped and sized to at least partially receive the handle when coupled to the first and second inner weight mounting structures, respectively (notches defined by walls 24, Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 12, Speyer discloses the adjustable weight dumbbell of claim 11, wherein a center of mass of each of the first and second inner weights is disposed within the notch (“Walls 24 preferably unite centrally of weight 23 to form an aperture at the axis of weight 23 corresponding in configuration and slightly larger than the periphery of bar member 13.”, Col. 3, Lns. 26-29).
Regarding claim 13, Speyer discloses the adjustable weight dumbbell of claim 12, wherein the center of mass of each of the first and second inner weights is aligned with a longitudinal axis of the handle when the first and second inner weights are coupled to the first and second inner weight mounting structures, respectively (“Walls 24 preferably unite centrally of weight 23 to form an aperture at the axis of weight 23 corresponding in configuration and slightly larger than the periphery of bar member 13.”, Col. 3, Lns. 26-29).
Regarding claim 15, Speyer discloses an adjustable weight dumbbell (“Barbell having a detachably mounted weight supporting bar’, title) comprising a handle assembly including a handle having a first end and an opposite second end (handle, rod 11 and rod members 13, having opposite ends, Figs. 8, 9); a first plate mounted to the first end of the handle, the first plate having a first inner side and a first outer side, a first inner weight bracket disposed on the first inner side, and a first outer weight bracket disposed on the first outer side (first plate, left weight 38 in Fig. 9, relatively at one end of the handle, having inner and outer sides and brackets, radial protuberances 39, on each side, Fig. 9); and a second plate mounted to the second end of the handle, the second plate having a second inner side facing the first inner side of the first plate and a second outer side, a second inner weight bracket disposed on the second inner side, and a second outer weight bracket disposed on the second outer side (second plate, weight 38 on the opposite end of the handle having identical inner and outer sides and brackets, Fig. 8, 9); a first inner weight configured to removably couple to the first inner weight bracket (first inner weight, flange 31, removably coupled to left weight 38 via protuberances 33 engaging bracket 39, Fig. 9); a second inner weight configured to removably couple to the second inner weight bracket, wherein the first and second inner weights at least partially surround the handle when coupled to the handle assembly (second inner weight, flange 31 on the opposite end of the handle, also removably coupled to right weight 38 via protuberances 33 engaging protuberances 39, Figs. 8, 9); and a plurality of outer weights configured to removably couple to the first and second outer weight brackets and to each other so as to adjust weight of the adjustable weight dumbbell (outer weights, weights 38 interlocked with left and right inner weights 38 via mating protuberances 39, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 17, Speyer discloses the adjustable weight dumbbell of claim 15, wherein the first and second inner weights slidingly engage with the first and second inner weight brackets along a first direction (outwardly from the center of the handle toward the ends of the handle, Fig. 8), and the plurality of outer weights slidingly engage with the first and second outer weight brackets along a second direction (inwardly from the ends of the handle toward the center of the handle, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 19, Speyer discloses the adjustable weight dumbbell of claim 15, wherein the first inner weight is a mirror form of the second inner weight (flanges 31 are mirror images, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 20, Speyer discloses the adjustable weight dumbbell of claim 15, wherein each of the first and second inner weights have a locking mechanism configured to engage and disengage with the first and second plate brackets, respectively (protuberances 33 engage and disengage with protuberances 39, Fig. 9; “By providing mating protuberances 33 and 39, weights 38 are held in locking and antirotational relationship upon the clamping of weights 38 between flanges 31 and 14.”, Col. 4, Lns. 56-59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speyer.
Regarding claim 14, Speyer discloses the adjustable weight dumbbell of claim 1. Speyer fails to explicitly disclose the first and second inner weights each have a body that defines an oblique surface at a top end of the first and second inner weights, respectively. However, it has long been held to be well within the abilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to make various modifications that result in a product or process that is more desirable, for example because it is stronger, cheaper, cleaner, faster, lighter, smaller, more durable, more efficient, or otherwise advantageous. Because the desire to enhance commercial opportunities by improving a product or process is universal—and even common-sensical—it has been held that there exists in these situations a motivation to modify a prior art invention. Here, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first and second inner weights to each have a body that defines an oblique surface at a top end of the first and second inner weights, respectively, since a change in shape of an element is a matter of obvious design choice when such modification would yield the advantage of a surface that would discourage the barbell/ dumbbell from rolling across the floor.
Regarding claim 16, Speyer teaches the adjustable weight dumbbell of claim 15, but does not teach the above wherein the first and second inner sides are formed from a different material than the first and second outer sides. However, it has long been held to be well within the abilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to make various modifications that result in a product or process that is more desirable, for example because it is stronger, cheaper, cleaner, faster, lighter, smaller, more durable, more efficient, or otherwise advantageous. Because the desire to enhance commercial opportunities by improving a product or process is universal—and even common-sensical—it has been held that there exists in these situations a motivation to modify a prior art invention. Here, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the inner sides of a different material, such as a reduced friction material, since material choice is a matter of obvious design choice when such modification would yield the advantage of a surface that reduces wear.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7, 8, 10, and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GARRETT K ATKINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784