DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 25 recites the broad recitation 20mg to about 120mg, and the claim also recites 80mg to 120mg, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim rejections – 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 15-23 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dyakanov et al. in WO 2015/130998 (published: September 3, 2015; cited in IDS) in view of Habboushe, J.P. in US patent 8,652,520 (published: February 18, 2014; cited in IDS).
Dyakanov teaches controlled release pharmaceutical compositions comprising one or more fumarate esters suspended in a lipid or lipophilic matrix, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is encapsulated in an enteric soft capsule. Dyakanov teaches the oral enteric soft capsules comprising controlled release matrix compositions prevent release of the fumarate ester active ingredient in the gastric environment, but release the active ingredient in the intestine in a controlled manner. Dyakanov teaches the controlled release enteric capsule comprising a matrix of fumarate esters reduce, ameliorate, or eliminate the undesirable gastrointestinal side effects observed with prior fumarate ester pharmaceuticals (Summary, page 3, lines 4 – 12).
Dyakanov teaches an embodiment wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprising an effective amount of one or more fumarate esters is administered to a subject having multiple sclerosis (page 9, lines 27 – 30).
Dyakanov teaches, a method for the treatment of multiple sclerosis comprising oral administration to a subject in need thereof an enteric soft capsule comprising an effective amount (about 480 mg per day) of a fumarate ester as the only active ingredient or in combination with one or more NSAIDS (e.g. aspirin) (page 41, lines 22 – 30). Absent a limiting definition of the term “about” in the present specification, “about 480 mg per day” is taken to be indistinct from the upper limit of “about 450 mg per day” as recited in instant Claim 15.
Dyakanov teaches a subject administered the fumarate ester composition may take 50 to 500 mg of one or more NSAIDs before (about 10 minutes to an hour) before taking the FAE composition to reduce the occurrence and severity of flushing induced by FAE. Dyakanov teaches an embodiment wherein a subject takes 325 mg of non-enteric coated aspirin (instant Claim 15) 30-minutes prior to FAE (pages 43 – 44, bridging paragraph).
Dyakanov generally teaches a method for treating multiple sclerosis comprising orally administering an enteric capsule comprising an effective amount of a fumarate ester (FAE) (about 480 mg daily) in combination with the NSAID aspirin (to reduce flushing). Dyakanov teaches administering non-enteric aspirin (325 mg) about 30 minutes prior to administration of the fumarate ester capsule but does not explicitly teach a single dosage form comprising a fumarate ester and aspirin in the amounts recited in instant Claim 15. Dyakanov does not teach a dosage form comprising a fumarate ester and aspirin wherein at least a portion of the aspirin is formulated to dissolve in the oral cavity of the subject (instant Claim 16).
Habboushe teaches a pharmaceutical composition in the form of a combination tablet wherein the tablet has a rapidly absorbed component that enters the circulation by traversing the buccal mucosa (i.e. the oral cavity), and a more slowly absorbed component that is swallowed and absorbed across the gastric mucosa. Habboushe teaches the combination tablet may be modified to effect distinct release rates and that the rapid and slow components may have identical or different therapeutic agents depending on the application to a specific medical condition. Habboushe teaches the combination compositions will increase patient compliance due to a decrease in the number of tablets that a patient would need to take on a daily basis (Abstract)
Habboushe teaches an embodiment wherein the combination tablet includes a prostaglandin inhibitor (e.g. the NSAID aspirin) in the rapidly absorbed component in order to mitigate the flushing side effect of immediate release niacin that is in the slow absorbing component.
Habboushe teaches it is known in the medical arts that administering a non-steroidal anti-inflammation drug (NSAID) from about 30 minutes to about 120 minutes prior to administering niacin IR has been shown to significantly lower the flushing side effect wherein aspirin, or other COX inhibitor is currently the most common adjuvant to niacin IR, and that the dosing regimen of niacin IR requires that it be taken three times per day, thereby requiring that a patient also take at least one NSAID tablet, capsule, and the like, with each niacin dose. Habboushe teaches because a patient would need a minimum of six tablets daily during the initial phase of niacin IR therapy; said need is likely a major contributor to low compliance to niacin IR therapy (column 2, lines 41 – 46; column 3, lines 1 – 8).
Habboushe teaches and claims (Claim 14) a method of reducing the flushing effect of niacin in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject a tablet comprising: (a) a first portion comprising at least 81 mg aspirin; and (b) a second portion comprising at least 100 mg niacin, wherein the first portion is formulated to dissolve in the oral cavity of a subject, and wherein the second portion is formulated for dissolving in stomach, intestines, or further distal in the gastrointestinal tract of the subject, wherein flushing effect of niacin is reduced by the aspirin released into the subject's circulatory system across oral mucosa.
Although Habboushe explicitly teaches the combination of the NSAID aspirin as a first portion formulated to dissolve in the oral cavity of a subject, and niacin as the second portion formulated for dissolving in stomach, intestines, or further distal in the gastrointestinal tract of the subject, wherein the flushing effect of niacin is reduced by the aspirin released into the subject's circulatory system across oral mucosa, Habboushe teaches that persons of ordinary skill in the art would readily appreciate that the combination tablet of the present invention may be applicable to any circumstance where a first therapeutic agent that can traverse the buccal mucosa is rapidly released, in combination with an enterically absorbed therapeutic agent that is more slowly released, is beneficial to a patient (column 4, lines 4 – 14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the enteric capsule fumarate ester composition (dosage form), administered in the method of Dyakanov to treat multiple sclerosis, with 325 mg of aspirin, wherein at least a portion of the aspirin is formulated to dissolve in the oral cavity of the subject. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable and predictable expectation of success because 1) Dyakanov teaches 325 mg aspirin administered 30 minute prior to administration of enteric capsule fumarate ester composition (i.e. a composition that releases a fumarate ester in the intestine in a controlled manner), is effective in reducing fumarate ester induced flushing in patients and, 2) Habboushe teaches that incorporation of aspirin into an oral niacin dosage form wherein at least a portion of the aspirin is formulated to dissolve in the oral cavity, is effective in reducing flushing induced by, niacin, when the niacin (a slow absorbing component) is formulated to dissolve in the stomach, intestines or gastrointestinal tract.
Moreover, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the fumarate ester enteric capsule of Dyakanov with aspirin into a single dosage form because Habboushe teaches 1) this will increase patient compliance due to a decrease in the number of tablets that a patient would need to take on a daily basis’ and, 2) persons of ordinary skill in the art would readily appreciate that a combination tablet of the present invention may be applicable to any circumstance where a first therapeutic agent that can traverse the buccal mucosa is rapidly released, in combination with an enterically absorbed therapeutic agent that is more slowly released, is beneficial to a patient. Accordingly, ordinary skill in the art would readily appreciate a combination tablet taught by Habboushe (formulated with aspirin to dissolve in the oral cavity) comprising the therapeutic agent (a fumarate ester) of Dyakanov, already known to benefit from administration of aspirin (to reduce flushing induced by the fumarate ester) would also be beneficial to the patient.
See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale (A) Combining prior art elements (an enteric capsule comprising dimethyl fumarate (Dyakanov), and aspirin formulated for release in the oral cavity (Habboushe)) according to known methods to yield predictable results (an oral dosage form effective in treating a patient having multiple sclerosis and reducing the known side effect of flushing).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 11-13 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,013,751. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 15-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,398,712. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Both claim sets are directed to a method of treating MS comprising administration of 300-450 mg of fumarate ester (dimethyl fumarate) and 150-650mg of aspirin.
Claims 24-25 comprise a limitation directed to the second amount of aspirin. This limitation is obvious in view of claim 1 of the ‘712 patent. Claim 1 comprises a limitation wherein at least a portion of the aspirin is formulated to dissolve in an oral cavity. In view of claim 1 it would have been obvious to include two portions (two amounts) of aspirin with one portion dissolving in an oral cavity.
Conclusion
Claims 12-27 are pending
Claims 12-27 are rejected
/YEVGENY VALENROD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628