DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 02 March 2026.
Claims 1-3 are canceled by the Applicant.
Claims 4-6 are newly presented by the Applicant.
Claims 4-6 are being considered.
Response to Remarks
The arguments in response to the claims rejection under 35 U.S.C § 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) have been fully considered and in combination with the amendments are not found persuasive for the following reasons.
The Applicant’s remarks pertaining to the baffle plate are not found persuasive since the baffle plate meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term liner.
The Applicant’s remarks pertaining to the baffle plate distributing water are not found persuasive, since it is the rotation of the shaft with water holes 62 that “distributes” the water and it is the presence of the baffle/liner 57 that prevents the water from hitting the casing, while guiding the water to the space between the liner 28 and the impeller. In other words the baffle functions as a liner.
The Applicant’s remarks pertaining to frustoconical are not found persuasive since the outer portion 28 of the liner is disk shaped and the claim language does not require the inner liner portion to be disk shaped. It is noted, at least a portion of the baffle 57 is disk shaped.
The Applicant’s conclusory statement pertaining to “the inner face of the side liner 28 is not located on the outer peripheral surface of the baffle plate,” are not found persuasive since Figure 1 clearly shows the inner face of the side liner 28 is located on the outer peripheral surface of the baffle plate. Note the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “outer peripheral,” includes “outer edge.”
A new rejection is included in this Office Action, necessitated by amendment, commensurate with the Office’s original position.
The arguments in response to the claims rejection under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered and in combination with the amendments are not found persuasive for at least the same reasons as explained above.
A new rejection is included in this Office Action, necessitated by amendment, commensurate with the Office’s original position.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: the following 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
A. "alignment features," first introduced in claim 5:
the outer liner engagement face includes at least one outer liner alignment feature arranged to engage with another at least one casing alignment feature that aligns the outer liner portion with respect to the inner liner portion (see [0026]) and the corresponding structure may refer to any arrangement including at least one or any of the protrusions, recesses or planes (see [0080]) or an equivalent thereof.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “alignment features” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 5. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hause et al (US 1727703), hereafter referred to as Hause.
Regarding Claim 4, Hause discloses the following:
An outer liner part (28; FIG. 1) configured for removeable engagement with an inner liner part (57; FIG. 1) to form an annular disk shaped (at least portion 28 is disk shaped) drive side liner (57 in combination with 28; FIG. 1) for engagement with an outer casing (21, FIG. 1) in a centrifugal slurry pump, the outer liner part (28; FIG. 1) comprising:
a central axis (center of shaft 24);
an inner peripheral surface (inner peripheral surface of 28) defining an outer liner aperture (aperture of 28) sized to receive the inner liner part (57; FIG. 1);
a wear face (face of 28 facing the impeller) having a planar and smooth surface and configured to face a suction side of the pump; and
an engagement face (face of 28 facing the drive) opposite the wear face (face of 28 facing the impeller) configured to face a drive side of the pump (as seen in FIG. 1);
wherein the outer liner aperture (aperture of 28) is sized to receive the inner liner part (57; FIG. 1) such that in use the inner peripheral surface (inner peripheral surface of 28) of the outer liner part (28; FIG. 1) is located on an outer peripheral surface of the inner liner part (57; FIG. 1) and an outer peripheral surface of the outer liner part (28; FIG. 1) contacts the outer casing (21, FIG. 1), and
the outer liner part (28; FIG. 1) and the inner liner part (57; FIG. 1) are coaxial (as seen in FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Hause discloses the following:
The outer liner part (28; FIG. 1) of claim 1,
wherein the engagement face (face of 28 facing the drive) includes alignment features (holes that accept bolts 32; it is the bolts that align 28 over 57) to enable alignment of the outer liner part (28; FIG. 1) with the inner liner part (57; FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hause et al (US 1727703), hereafter referred to as Hause, in view of Burgess et al (US 20110142599), hereafter referred to as Burgess.
Regarding Claim 6, Hause discloses the following:
The outer liner part (28; FIG. 1) of any one of the preceding claims, wherein the inner liner part (57; FIG. 1) is made of steel (page 2, lines 45-51) and the outer liner (28) is made of carbon steel (see page 2, lines 54-55);
Hause does not explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the inner face includes an elastomeric material for forming a sealing engagement with the outer face of the inner liner part.
However Burgess teaches the following:
it is well known in the art to provide pump liners formed of either hard metals or elastomers ([0004]); it is common to use elastomer liners to impart wear-resistance ([0134]); it is typical for two piece liners to be made of elastomers ([0107]); thus resulting in the limitation
Hause as modified by Burgess teaches the following:
wherein the inner peripheral surface (inner peripheral surface of 28) includes an elastomeric material (the steel material of Hause is substituted with the elastomer material of Burgess; thus the inner peripheral surface is also made of elastomer) to form an engagement between the inner liner part (57; FIG. 1) and the outer liner part (28; FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the steel material of the liners as disclosed by Hause, with the elastomer liner material, as disclosed by Burgess, with the reasonable expectation of successfully providing a wear-resistant liner material (see Burgess [0134]). The Examiner notes, the simple substitution of the known liner material of Hause, with the known liner material of Burgess yields the predictable result of substituting one known means to provide wear resistant liners for another known means to provide wear resistant liners, and this rationale further supports a conclusion of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2143, I, B). It is further noted, it has been held the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination, and in this case Burgess discloses the aforementioned material(s) is/are known material(s) suitable for the intended purpose of providing wear resistant pump liners (see MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745