DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TS-RAN WG2 Meeting #116-e Remaining issues for on-demand DL-PRS, hereinafter, ‘3GPP’.
Consider Claims 1 and as applied to Claims 11 and 15(see UE and RAN ), 3GPP teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a network entity performing a location management function (LMF), pre-defined positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information (see 6 , 8 and 12 – see PRS configuration ); transmitting, to the network entity performing the LMF, a request for an on-demand PRS (see PRS request pages 6 ,8 and 12), wherein the request for the on-demand PRS includes periodicity information associated with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of a synchronization signal block (SSB) (pages 3-5 which specifically discuss subcarrier spacing (SCS) of a synchronization signal block (SSB)); and as a response to the transmission of the request for the on-demand PRS, receiving, from the network entity performing the LMF, PRS configuration information(see PRS request pages 6 ,8 and 12).
Consider claims 2, 6, 12 and 16, 3GPP teaches wherein the periodicity information is for a requested periodicity of a downlink (DL)—PRS resource set, and wherein the requested periodicity is associated with the SCS of the SSB of a current primary cell of the UE (e.g., see DL-PRS response – pages 1-5 and 12).
Consider claims 3, 8, 13 and 18, 3GPP teaches wherein the PRS configuration information is received via a long term evolution positioning protocol (LPP) provide assistance data message(e.g., see pages 1-5 and 12 “long term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) provide assistance data message”).
Consider claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, 3GPP teaches wherein the pre-defined positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information is received via a long term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) provide assistance data message, and wherein the request for the on-demand PRS is transmitted via a LPP request assistance data message (e.g., see pages 1-5 and 12 “long term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) provide assistance data message”).
Consider Claim 5, 3GPP teaches a method performed by a network entity (e.g., this is met based on the context of RAN ) in a communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), pre-defined positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information(see 6 , 8 and 12 – see PRS configuration ); receiving, from the UE, a request for an on-demand PRS, wherein the request for the on-demand PRS includes periodicity information associated with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of a synchronization signal block (SSB) (pages 3-5 which specifically discuss subcarrier spacing (SCS) of a synchronization signal block (SSB)); and as a response to the reception of the request for the on-demand PRS, determining a need for a PRS transmission or a change of an ongoing PRS transmission(e.g., see DL-PRS response – pages 1-5 and 12).
Consider Claims 7 and 17, 3GPP teaches the method further comprising: based on the determination, transmitting, to the UE, PRS configuration information (see response information noted in at last pages 6, 8 and 12).
Consider Claim 20, 3GPP teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: transmit, to at least one base station (e.g., this is met based on RAN architecture noted in pages 6,8 and 12 ), a PRS configuration request message for a new PRS transmission or a change of the pre-defined PRS configuration information, and receive, from the at least one base station, a PRS configuration response message including PRS configuration information(e.g., this is met based on RAN architecture noted in pages 6,8 and 12 and based on repeating the steps already outlined ).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220132463 A1 teaches apparatus for retransmitting/transmitting a positioning reference signal (PRS) based on UE-requested resource allocation (on-demand resource allocation) -0007, FIG. 5 illustrates a synchronization signal block (SSB) structure.
US 20240259150 A1 teaches on-demand type RS (reference signal) configuration and/or measurement reporting requested by the UE to the network. FIG. 16 is a simplified diagram illustrating a method of operating a UE, a transmission and reception point (TRP), a location server, and/or a location management function (LMF) according to various embodiments.
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646