DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’ filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tran (US 20210290053) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a method for identifying and correcting visual stressors in an environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A, and 5J; and [0113]); the method comprising: displaying a virtual environment (Fig. 5J) with a plurality of features ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli)on screens (108) of a virtual reality (VR) headset (208) worn by a user ([0006]); changing a first feature ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli) of the plurality of features ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli); upon changing the first feature ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli): displaying a visual task ([0097] and [0102]) in the virtual environment (Fig. 5J); prompting the user ([0006]) to complete the visual task ([0097] and [0102]); monitoring a user’s ([0006]) eyes ([0008]: eye tracking) to collect a first input ([0009]: user input) while the User ([0006]) completes visual task ([0097] and [0102]); in response to the input ([0009]: user input), changing a second feature ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli) of the plurality of features ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli); upon changing the second feature ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli): displaying the visual task ([0097] and [0102]) in the virtual environment (Fig. 5J) again; prompting the User ([0006]) to complete the visual task ([0097] and [0102]) again; monitoring the User’s ([0006])eyes ([0008]: eye tracking) to collect a second input ([0009]: user input) while the User ([0006]) completes the visual task ([0097] and [0102]); wherein features ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli) of the plurality of features ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli) are changed until the virtual environment (Fig. 5J) is arranged to optimize a visual acuity ([0097]) and an ergonomic comfort ([0060]) of the user ([0006]).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein displaying a virtual environment (Fig. 5J) comprises displaying a virtual office (Fig. 5J).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein changing the first and second feature ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli)s ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli) comprises changing a lighting ([0085]) in the virtual environment (Fig. 5J).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein changing the first and second feature ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli)s ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli) comprises changing a height ([0092], [0146], and [0192]) or size of a desk ([0006]: visual stimuli; [0178]: chair) in the virtual office (Fig. 5J).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein changing the first and second feature ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli)s ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli) comprises changing a height ([0092], [0146], and [0192]) or position of a monitor ([0006]: visual stimuli; [0178]: chair) in the virtual office (Fig. 5J).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein changing the first and second feature ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli)s ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli) comprises changing height ([0092], [0146], and [0192]) or shape of a chair ([0006]: visual stimuli; [0178]: chair) in the virtual office (Fig. 5J).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein monitoring the User’s ([0006])eyes ([0008]: eye tracking) comprises monitoring a gaze direction ([0177]) of the User ([0006]).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein monitoring the User’s ([0006])eyes ([0008]: eye tracking) comprises monitoring a fixation ([0014]) duration of the User ([0006]).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein monitoring the User’s ([0006])eyes ([0008]: eye tracking) comprises monitoring a blink rate ([0105]) of the User ([0006]).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); further comprising processing the first and second inputs ([0009]: user input) to identify sources of visual stress ([0068]) for the User ([0006]).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); further comprising processing the first and second inputs ([0009]: user input) to identify sources of physical discomfort ([0060]) for the User ([0006]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); further comprising asking the User ([0006]) for subjective input ([0009]: user input) regarding the visual acuity ([0097]) and the ergonomic comfort ([0060]) of the User ([0006]).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); further comprising processing the subjective input ([0009]: user input) to change the features ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli) of the virtual environment (Fig. 5J).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches A system for identifying and correcting visual stressors in an environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); the system comprising: a virtual reality (VR) headset (208) worn by a User ([0006]), the VR headset (208) comprising: screens (108); one or more motion-tracking sensor ([0105])s ([0105]) configured to track physical movements ([0105]) and a spatial orientation ([0085]) of the User ([0006]); and one or more eye-tracking sensors ([0008]) and one or more eye-tracking cameras ([0009]), configured to monitor eye movements ([0003]), fixation ([0014]) patterns, and blink rates ([0105]) of the User ([0006]); and a computing device ([0215]) in electronic communication with the VR headset (208), the computing device ([0215]) being configured to cause a virtual environment (Fig. 5J) with a plurality of features ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli) to be displayed on the screens (108), to cause features ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli) of the plurality of features ([0217]: features; [0006]; visual stimuli) to be changed, and to process the physical movements ([0003]), the spatial orientation ([0085]), the eye movements ([0003]), the fixation ([0014]) patterns, and the blink rates ([0105]) of the User ([0006]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein the at least one motion-tracking sensor ([0105]) comprises one motion-tracking sensor ([0105]) on a left side of the VR headset (208), one motion-tracking sensor ([0105]) on a right side of the VR headset (208), and at least two motion-tracking sensor ([0105])s ([0105]) on a front side of the VR headset (208).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein the at least one motion-tracking sensor ([0105]) is configured to track physical movements ([0105]) and a spatial orientation ([0085]) of the User ([0006]) in real-time and communicate corresponding data ([0214]) with the computing device ([0215]) in real-time.
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein the at least one motion-tracking sensor ([0105]) comprises one or more of an accelerometer ([0105]) or a gyroscope ([0105]).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein the computing device ([0215]) comprises an algorithm ([0192]) configured to process the eye movements ([0003]), fixation ([0014]) patterns, and blink rates ([0105]) of the User ([0006]) to evaluate visual fatigue ([0060]) of the User ([0006]).
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein the computing device ([0215]) comprises an algorithm ([0192]) configured to process the eye movements ([0003]), fixation ([0014]) patterns, and blink rates ([0105]) of the User ([0006]) to evaluate eye strain of the User ([0006]).
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment (Fig. 5J), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein the computing device ([0215]) comprises an algorithm ([0192]) configured to process the physical movements ([0105]) and the spatial orientation ([0085]) to evaluate an ergonomic posture of the User ([0006]).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872