DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 9/29/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/29/26 with a condition to rejoin if the elected subject matter is allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112.
Claims1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection
Here, applicant has not described a reasonable number of members of the genus now claimed that might identify some agents that fall within the scope of the claim.
The instant claims are often referred to as “reach-through” claims, where an applicant attempts to obtain patent protection on an invention not yet discovered. The Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit addressed claims of this sort in great detail at the University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle and Co. (69 USPQ 2nd 1886, CAFC 2004). In Rochester, the Federal Circuit upheld the district court's ruling that patent claims which recited administration of compounds not disclosed, but rather to be identified in a screening assay, were invalid on their face. While the instant claims are drawn to compositions composition, comprising: a polymeric mixture comprising a hydrophobic component and a hydrophilic component, wherein the hydrophobic component has a lower water solubility than the hydrophilic component; and one or more molecules for disrupting bacterial communication, the situation is analogous to that in Rochester. Since the specification does not disclose to the public the structures claimed, it does not meet the written description requirement of 35 USC § 112, first paragraph.
To avoid this rejection the Examiner, suggest that claim 3 be included as part of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bose et al. (Materials Today Chemistry 8(2018 110-120).
Bose teaches a composition comprising PCL-PEG coated with curcumin (see abstract) as required by instant claims 1-4), wherein the curcumin is the main active component derived from the rhizomes of turmeric plant (CurcumalongaL.) i.e., a molecule for disrupting bacteria(as required) and therefore a molecule for disrupting bacterial communication (as required by instant claims1and 7) with a ratio of 1:1 (see para.2.1.2 drug polymer coating as required by instant claim 4). With regards to instant claim 5, the compounds PCL-PEG are anticipated or intrinsically to be of the claimed molecular weight of 5, 000 to 100,000; and wherein the hydrophilic component comprises polyethylene glycol having a molecular weight ranging from 200 to 1,000,000. Additionally, Bose teaches that the polymer solution and the curcumin underwent mixing (see para 2.3.2, as required by instant claim 9).
However, Bose fails to teach, wherein the one or more molecules for disrupting bacterial communication comprises an anti-quorum sensing molecule, a derivative, or analogue thereof; or a quorum quenching molecule, a derivative, or analogue thereof
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bose et al. (Materials Today Chemistry 8(2018 110-120) in view of Lowe et al. (Polym. Chem. (2015) 5(2) 198-212) and further in view of Bouyahya et al. Molecules (2022) 27(5)1484
Bose teaches a composition comprising PCL-PEG coated with curcumin (see abstract) as required by instant claims 1-4), wherein the curcumin is the main active component derived from the rhizomes of turmeric plant (CurcumalongaL.) i.e., a molecule for disrupting bacteria(as required) and therefore a molecule for disrupting bacterial communication (as required by instant claims1and 7) with a ratio of 1:1 (see para.2.1.2 drug polymer coating as required by instant claim 4). With regards to instant claim 5, the compounds PCL-PEG are anticipated or intrinsically to be of the claimed molecular weight of 5, 000 to 100,000; and wherein the hydrophilic component comprises polyethylene glycol having a molecular weight ranging from 200 to 1,000,000. Additionally, Bose teaches that the polymer solution and the curcumin underwent mixing (see para 2.3.2, as required by instant claim 9).
However, Bose fails to teach, wherein the one or more molecules for disrupting bacterial communication comprises an anti-quorum sensing molecule, a derivative, or analogue thereof; or a quorum quenching molecule, a derivative, or analogue thereof
Lowe teaches that microbial absorption on biomedical systems and PEG polymer is the most widely used antifouling agent (see abstract).
Bouyaha teaches quorum (i.e., QS0 is an inter cellular communication system between the same strain or different strains that co-ordinates the transcriptional regulation of genes responsible for several vital functions of these microorganisms (see abstract and Introduction).
Therefore, one of ordinary skills in the art One would have been motivated to combine these references and make the modification because they are drawn to same technical fields (constituted with same ingredients and share common utilities, and pertinent to the problem which applicant concerns about. MPEP 2141.01(a)
Additionally, the person of ordinary skill in the art, having the laboratory walls hung would have been motivated to combine the teachings of the cited prior art and form a composition comprising by expanding the teachings of Bose above , incorporating Lowe’s and Bouyaha’ s teaching to result in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to attain the known advantages of the advantages treatments as taught by the references, and further would have been motivated to monitor the results of the treatment using multiple parameters, to get a better overall indication of efficacy. Accordingly, the invention as claimed is prima facie obvious.
No claims are allowed.
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 10/22/26