DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on December 3rd 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3 – 5, 7, 8, 11, 13 – 15, 17, 18 and 20 have been amended and claims 2 and 12 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3 – 11 and 13 - 20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. §103
3. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks pp. 9 -17, filed December 3rd 2025, with
respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3 – 11 and 13 - 20 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and they are persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited art does not fully disclose the amendments to the independent claims as recited
Examiner respectfully agrees
Upon further consideration new grounds of rejection have been necessitated due
to Applicant's amendments and are made in view of Mattsson et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2022/0121768) hereinafter Mattsson and Malloy et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2004/0122844)
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
obviousness or nonobviousness
Claims 1, 3 – 7, 9, 11, 13 – 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattsson et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2022/0121768) hereinafter Mattsson, in view of Malloy et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2004/0122844) hereinafter Malloy
Regarding claim 1 Mattsson teaches a data processing method (method [0088]) based on online analytical processing, comprising: constructing a set of associated data pairs, (string of characters mapped to an input string of characters [0016]) such as “set of associated data pairs” wherein each data pair in the set of associated data pairs(string of characters mapped to an input string of characters [0016]) such as “set of associated data pairs” SEE FIG 3 input character mapped to a UTF-8 code value column 310, a first token column 315, a second token column 320, and a third token column 325. comprises (i) a field name associated with a string type of data (string of characters mapped to an input string of characters [0016], [0037]) and ii a numerical representation of the field name; (UTF-8 code value column 310, a first token column 315, a second token column 320, and a third token column 325. [0037]) receiving a data operation request for at least one operation of adding, deleting, modifying, or querying data (querying one or more token tables mapping input values to tokens with one or more portions of the data, and replacing the queried portions of the data with the resulting tokens from the token tables. [0015]) wherein the data operation request (querying one or more token tables mapping input values to tokens with one or more portions of the data, and replacing the queried portions of the data with the resulting tokens from the token tables. [0015])indicates a target field name (Figs. 6 and 9 query term [0073]) associated with the at least one operation-; (Fig. 8 a query term 800 is received by the security server 110. The query term is "Alton". The security server 110, for instance via the search engine 620, parses the term "Alton" into query bigrams 805, specifically the bigrams "al", "It", "to", and "on". The security server 110 then accesses a set of token tables 810, for instance from the token server 115. [0079]) determining a target associated data pair from the set of associated data pairs stored in a row- based manner (Fig 3 Unicode token table .. Unicode token table, according to one embodiment. In the embodiment of FIG. 3, the token table 300 includes a UTF-8 code value column 310, a first token column 315, a second token column 320,
and a third token column 325 … In the token table of FIG. 3, the input character "a" corresponds to the UTF-8 code value "0061", and is mapped to the token
value "E29E" in the first token column 315, the token value "5055" in the second token column 320, and the token value "782B" in the third token column 325. Likewise, the characters "b", "c", "('\ ", "~··, "1li", "0", " lrJ", and"©" each correspond
to UTF -8 code values, and are each mapped to different token values in each of the three token columns. [0007] [0037]) based on the data operation request, (Fig. 8 a query term 800 is received by the security server 110. The query term is "Alton". The security server 110, for instance via the search engine 620, parses the term "Alton" into query bigrams 805, specifically the bigrams "al", "It", "to", and "on". The security server 110 then accesses a set of token tables 810, for instance from the token server 115. [0079])wherein the target associated data pair (In the token table of FIG. 3, the input character "a" corresponds to the UTF-8 code value "0061", and is mapped to the token value "E29E" in the first token column 315, the token value "5055" in the second token column 320, and the token value "782B" in the third token column 325. Likewise, the characters "b", "c", "('\ ", "~··, "1li", "0", " lrJ", and"©" each correspond to UTF -8 code values, and are each mapped to different token values in each of the three token columns. [0007] [0037])comprises (i) the target field name (Figs. 6 and 9 query term [0073])indicated by the data operation request (Fig. 8 a query term 800 is received by the security server 110. The query term is "Alton". The security server 110, for instance via the search engine 620, parses the term "Alton" into query bigrams 805, specifically the bigrams "al", "It", "to", and "on". The security server 110 then accesses a set of token tables 810, for instance from the token server 115. [0079])and (ii) a numerical code representative (Fig. 3, (310) UTF-8 code value [0037]) of the target field nam(Figs. 6 and 9 query term [0073])and executing the at least one operation (Fig. 8 a query term 800 is received by the security server 110. The query term is "Alton". The security server 110, for instance via the search engine 620, parses the term "Alton" into query bigrams 805, specifically the bigrams "al", "It", "to", and "on". The security server 110 then accesses a set of token tables 810, for instance from the token server 115. [0079]) using the numerical code representative of the target field name instead of using the target field name indicated by the data operation request, (Fig. 8 a query term 800 is received by the security server 110. The query term is "Alton". The security server 110, for instance via the search engine 620, parses the term "Alton" into query bigrams 805, specifically the bigrams "al", "It", "to", and "on". The security server 110 then accesses a set of token tables 810, for instance from the token server 115. [0079])
Mattsson does not fully disclose in an online analytical processing (OLAP) database, on a fact table of the OLAP database; wherein the fact table stores data in a column-based manner, and the set of associated data pairs in the row-based manner is embedded in a same column of the fact table.
Malloy teaches in an online analytical processing (OLAP) database, (Fig. 1 OLAP Multidimensional Metadata System [0057]) on a fact table (Figs. 3 and 17 fact table [0041], [0070], [0071], [0072]) of the OLAP database; (Fig. 1 OLAP Multidimensional Metadata System [0057]) wherein the fact table (Figs. 3 and 17 fact table [0041], [0070], [0071], [0072]) stores data in a column-based manner, (Fig. 21The fact table 2100 has five columns.[0180])and the set of associated data pairs in the row-based manner is embedded in a same column (row in the fact table 2100 contains one key value per dimension and two value columns--0ne for amount and one for quantity.
Each of the dimension key values matches the key value in the key field of a single row of the corresponding dimension table 2110, 2120, 2130. [0180])of the fact table. (Figs. 3 and 17 fact table [0041], [0070], [0071], [0072])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mattsson to incorporate the teachings of Malloy whereby in an online analytical processing (OLAP) database, on a fact table of the OLAP database; wherein the fact table stores data in a column-based manner, and the set of associated data pairs in the row-based manner is embedded in a same column of the fact table. By doing so row in the fact table 2100 contains one key value per dimension and two value columns. Malloy [0180]
Claim 11 and 20 correspond to claim 1 and are rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 3 Mattson in view of Malloy teaches the method according to claim 1,
Mattsson as modified does not fully disclose wherein any associated data pair in the set of associated data pairs is stored in a same row and the same column of the fact table or stored in adjacent rows and the same column of the fact table.
Malloy teaches wherein any associated data pair in the set of associated data pairs is stored in a same row and the same column of the fact table or stored in adjacent rows and the same column (The fact table 2100 has five columns. A row in the fact table 2100 contains one key value per dimension and two value columns--0ne for amount and one for quantity. [0180]) of the fact table. (the database [0226])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mattsson to incorporate the teachings of Malloy wherein wherein any associated data pair in the set of associated data pairs is stored in a same row and the same column of the fact table or stored in adjacent rows and the same column of the fact table. By doing so Each of the dimension key values matches the key value in the key field of a single row of the corresponding dimension table 2110, 2120, 2130. Malloy [0180]
Claim 13 corresponds to claim 3 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 4 Mattson in view of Malloy teaches the method according to claim 1,
Mattson as modified does not fully disclose wherein the associated data pairs are stored in a row-based manner in an embedded table of the fact table.
Malloy teaches wherein the associated data pairs are stored in a row-based manner (The fact table 2100 has five columns. A row in the fact table 2100 contains one key value per dimension and two value columns--0ne for amount and one for quantity. [0180]) in an embedded table (Each of the dimension key values matches the key value in the key field of a single row of the corresponding dimension table 2110, 2120, 2130. [0180]) of the fact table (fact table [0180])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mattson to incorporate the teachings of Malloy wherein the associated data pairs are stored in a row-based manner in an embedded table of the fact table. By doing In the highlighted row of the fact table, the key value "1" of TID matches the first row of the s time dimension table 2110, so the values in this row of the fact table are for month 1 of year 1999. Malloy [0180]
Claim 14 corresponds to claim 4 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 5 Mattson in view of Malloy teaches the method according to claim ,
Mattson as modified further teaches wherein determining the target associated data pair from the set of associated data pairs (string of characters mapped to an input string of characters [0016]) such as “set of associated data pairs” SEE FIG 3 input character mapped to a UTF-8 code value column 310, a first token column 315, a second token column 320, and a third token column 325 stored in a row-based manner (Fig. 3 "0061", and is mapped to the token value "E29E" in the first token column 315, the token value "5055" in the second token column 320, and the token value "782B" in the third token column 325. Likewise, the characters "b", "c", "('\ ", "~··, "1li", "0", " lrJ", and"©" each correspond to UTF -8 code values, and are each mapped to different token values in each of the three token columns [0037]) based on the data operation request, (querying one or more token tables mapping input values to tokens with one or more portions of the data, and replacing the queried portions of the data with the resulting tokens from the token tables. [0015])comprising: determining the target associated data pair from the set of associated data pairs (string of characters mapped to an input string of characters [0016]) such as “set of associated data pairs” SEE FIG 3 input character mapped to a UTF-8 code value column 310, a first token column 315, a second token column 320, and a third token column 325 based on a preset encoding mapping function (Fig. 3 UTF-8 code value [0037])and the target field, (Fig. 3 Token Column 315 – 325 [0037])
Claim 15 corresponds to claim 5 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 6 Mattson in view of Malloy teaches the method according to claim 1,
Mattson as modified teaches wherein the set of associated data pairs(string of characters mapped to an input string of characters [0016]) such as “set of associated data pairs” SEE FIG 3 input character mapped to a UTF-8 code value column 310, a first token column 315, a second token column 320, and a third token column 325.
Mattsson as modified does not fully disclose is stored in a dimension table of the first database.
Malloy teaches is stored in a dimension table (dimension table [0180]) of the OLAP database. (Fig. 1 OLAP Multidimensional Metadata System [0057])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mattsson to incorporate the teachings of Malloy wherein stored in a dimension table of the first database. By doing so relational OLAP systems was to maintain a number of summary fact tables and associated dimension tables. Malloy [0182].
Claim 16 corresponds to claim 6 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 7 Mattson in view of Malloy teaches the method according to claim 6,
Mattsson as modified teaches further comprising: determining the target associated data pair (string of characters mapped to an input string of characters [0016]) such as “set of associated data pairs” SEE FIG 3 input character mapped to a UTF-8 code value column 310, a first token column 315, a second token column 320, and a third token column 325 according to a preset acquisition function and the first field, and determining the second field associated with the first field according to the determined (FIG. 3, this is merely to illustrate which characters are mapped to the UTF-8 code values included in the UTF-8 code value column, and in practice the Unicode token tables described herein may not include an input character column as illustrated in FIG. 3. In the token table of FIG. 3, the input character "a" corresponds to the UTF-8 code value "0061", and is mapped to the token value "E29E" in the first token column 315, the token value "5055" in the second token column 320, and the token value"782B" in the third token column 325. Likewise, the characters "b", "c", "('\ ", "~··, "1li", "0", " lrJ", and"©" each correspond to UTF -8 code values, and are each mapped todifferent token values in each of the three token columns. [0037])target associated data pair. (string of characters mapped to an input string of characters [0016]) such as “set of associated data pairs” SEE FIG 3 input character mapped to a UTF-8 code value column 310, a first token column 315, a second token column 320, and a third token column 325
Mattsson as modified does not fully disclose .from the dimension table
Malloy teaches from the dimension table (Fig 21 dimension table [0179])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mattsson to incorporate the teachings of Malloy wherein dimension table. By doing so Each of the dimension key values matches the key value in the key field of a single row of the corresponding dimension table 2110, 2120, 2130. Malloy [0180]
Claim 17 corresponds to claim 7 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 9 Mattson in view of Malloy teaches the method according to claim 1,
Mattson as modified further teaches wherein a storage carrier of the set of associated data pairs (string of characters mapped to an input string of characters [0016]) such as “set of associated data pairs” SEE FIG 3 input character mapped to a UTF-8 code value column 310, a first token column 315, a second token column 320, and a third token column 325 is an external table (token table [0055]) of the first database.(token table database [0058])
Claim 19 corresponds to claim 9 and is rejected accordingly
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattsson et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2022/0121768) hereinafter Mattsson, in view of Malloy et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2004/0122844) hereinafter Malloy and in further view of Bruso et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20090187599) hereinafter Bruso
Regarding claim 8 Mattson in view of Malloy teaches the method according to claim 1,
Mattsson as modified does not fully disclose, wherein the fields belonging to the second data type in the set of associated data pairs are generated by an auto-increment column function.
Bruso teaches wherein the fields (one or more fields corresponding to one or more columns, [0022]) belonging to the second data type (The data type of the scs_next_value [0027]) in the set of associated data pairs (key values [0027]) are generated by an auto-increment column function (The management approaches that are described control the generation of a monotonic sequence of key values for the DBMS instances. The system is configurable to generate a) a single monotonic sequence, b) a single monotonic sequence which cycles, [0017])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mattson in view of Malloy to incorporate the teachings of Bruso wherein the fields belonging to the second data type in the set of associated data pairs are generated by an auto-increment column function. By doing so the scs_increment_value specifies the amount to add to the scs_next_ value in order to create the next scs_next_value. The scs_increment_value determines the sequence of generated key values. In an example case, the scs_increment_value equals 1. Bruso [0028].
Claim 18 corresponds to claim 8 and is rejected accordingly
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattsson et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2022/0121768) hereinafter Mattsson, in view of Malloy et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2004/0122844) hereinafter Malloy and in further view of Wang et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20240086362) hereinafter Wang
Regarding claim 10 Mattson in view of Malloy teaches the method according to claim 1,
Mattsson as modified does not fully disclose wherein determining the target associated data pair (In the token table of FIG. 3, the input character "a" corresponds to the UTF-8 code value "0061", and is mapped to the token value "E29E" in the first token column 315, the token value "5055" in the second token column 320, and the token value "782B" in the third token column 325. Likewise, the characters "b", "c", "('\ ", "~··, "1li", "0", " lrJ", and"©" each correspond to UTF -8 code values, and are each mapped to different token values in each of the three token columns. [0007] [0037])from the set of associated data pairs (string of characters mapped to an input string of characters [0016]) such as “set of associated data pairs” stored in a row-based manner (Fig. 3 "0061", and is mapped to the token value "E29E" in the first token column 315, the token value "5055" in the second token column 320, and the token value "782B" in the third token column 325. Likewise, the characters "b", "c", "('\ ", "~··, "1li", "0", " lrJ", and"©" each correspond to UTF -8 code values, and are each mapped to different token values in each of the three token columns [0037]) based on the data operation request (querying one or more token tables mapping input values to tokens with one or more portions of the data, and replacing the queried portions of the data with the resulting tokens from the token tables. [0015])comprises: determining the target associated data pair (In the token table of FIG. 3, the input character "a" corresponds to the UTF-8 code value "0061", and is mapped to the token value "E29E" in the first token column 315, the token value "5055" in the second token column 320, and the token value "782B" in the third token column 325. Likewise, the characters "b", "c", "('\ ", "~··, "1li", "0", " lrJ", and"©" each correspond to UTF -8 code values, and are each mapped to different token values in each of the three token columns. [0007] [0037])from the set of associated data pairs (string of characters mapped to an input string of characters [0016]) such as “set of associated data pairs” stored in a row-based manner. (Fig. 3 "0061", and is mapped to the token value "E29E" in the first token column 315, the token value "5055" in the second token column 320, and the token value "782B" in the third token column 325. Likewise, the characters "b", "c", "('\ ", "~··, "1li", "0", " lrJ", and"©" each correspond to UTF -8 code values, and are each mapped to different token values in each of the three token columns [0037])
Mattsson as modified does not fully disclose judging whether the data operation request belongs to a request based on point query; in response to the data operation request belonging to a request based on point query,
Wang teaches judging whether the data operation request belongs (user
requests, such as Op1 and Op2 shown in FIG. 4, [0059]) to a request based on point query; (point query [0067]) in response to the data operation request (user
requests, such as Op1 and Op2 shown in FIG. 4, [0059]) belonging to a request based on point query(point query [0067])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mattsson in view of Malloy to incorporate the teachings of Wang wherein judging whether the data operation request belongs to a request based on point query; in response to the data operation request belonging to a request based on point query. By doing so the compact index can identify data responsive to a point query without requiring access to the storage memory 906. Bruso [0074]]
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is
filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action
is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory
period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory
action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be
calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will
the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this
final action.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
examiner should be directed to Kweku Halm whose telephone number is (469)295-
9144. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:00AM - 5:30PM Mon - Thur. If
attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's
supervisor, Sanjiv Shah can be reached on (571) 272 - 4098. The fax phone
number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-
8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information
for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more
information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have
questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-
9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KWEKU WILLIAM HALM/Examiner, Art Unit 2166
/SANJIV SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2166