DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) 63/540,845 submitted on September 27th, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on September 13th, 2024 and April 4th, 2025 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over BAI et al. (US 2022/0321314 A1) hereinafter “Bai” in view of ZHENG et al. (US 2025/0039893 A1) hereinafter “Zheng”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 15,
Bai discloses a user equipment (UE) [see fig. 2, pg. 6, ¶55 lines 1-12, a user equipment (UE) “120”], comprising:
a transceiver configured to [see fig. 2, pg. 6, ¶55 lines 1-12, a transmit or receive processor implemented to]:
receive first information for first sets of downlink (DL) or joint candidate cell transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states corresponding to one or more candidate cells [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 11, ¶95 lines 1-15, the UE “120” receives an indication that the first TCI state is associated with the first cell “102a” and that the second TCI state is associated with the second cell “102e”];
receive second information for second sets of uplink (UL) candidate cell TCI states corresponding to the one or more candidate cells [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 11, ¶96 lines 1-11, the UE “120” receives an indication that the first BWP is associated with the first cell “102a” and that the second BWP is associated with the second cell “102e”]; and
receive a first medium access control-channel element (MAC-CE) for activating a subset of candidate cell TCI states from the first sets or the second sets [see fig. 5: Step “510”, pg. 11, ¶98 lines 1-6, the UE “120” receives an indication to switch from the first TCI state to the second TCI state from the first cell “102a” via an RRC message, a MAC-CE, and/or DCI indicating that the second TCI state is activated].
Although Bai discloses receiving a first medium access control-channel element (MAC-CE), Bai does not explicitly teach “receive a second MAC CE including a cell switch command, wherein: the cell switch command indicates (1) a candidate cell and (2) at least one candidate cell TCI state from the first sets or the second sets corresponding to the candidate cell, and the at least one candidate cell TCI state is indicated when the at least one candidate cell TCI state is activated by the first MAC-CE, and deactivating the subset of activated candidate cell TCI states excluding the at least one candidate cell TCI state”.
However Zheng discloses receiving first information for first sets of downlink (DL) or joint candidate cell transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states corresponding to one or more candidate cells [see fig. 4: Step “415”, pg. 8, ¶82 lines 1-10, the UE receives an indication of candidate TCI states including TCI states for one or more of UL only candidate TCI states, DL only candidate TCI states, or joint UL/DL candidate TCI states within a pool of candidate TCI states via RRC signaling], receiving second information for second sets of uplink (UL) candidate cell TCI states corresponding to the one or more candidate cells [see fig. 4: Step “425”, pg. 8, ¶85 lines 1-9, the base station configures one or more serving cells to use a same candidate TCI state or a same set of candidate TCI states, and transmits to the UE an indication of a set of serving cells to have common candidate TCI states], receiving a first medium access control-channel element (MAC-CE) for activating a subset of candidate cell TCI states from the first sets or the second sets [see fig. 4: Step “440”, pgs. 8-9, ¶88 lines 1-10, the UE receives an indication of a subset of the candidate TCI states for selection, including an indication of whether one or more candidate TCI states of the subset are joint uplink/downlink candidate TCI states within MAC CE signaling and/or via a control message], and receiving a second MAC CE including a cell switch command [see fig. 4: Step “445”, pg. 9, ¶97 lines 1-10, the UE receives a control message that indicates one or more candidate TCI states that are updated and an update to the one or more candidate TCI states including MAC CE signaling], wherein:
the cell switch command indicates [see fig. 4: Step “445”, pg. 9, ¶89 lines 1-22, the indication of the subset included in the control message (e.g., MAC CE signaling) includes] (1) a candidate cell and (2) at least one candidate cell TCI state [see fig. 4: Step “445”, pg. 9, ¶89 lines 1-22, a first field of the control message indicating activation of one or more candidate TCI states that are joint uplink/downlink candidate TCI states], from the first sets or the second sets [see fig. 4: Step “445”, pg. 9, ¶89 lines 1-22, a second field for indicating activation of one or more candidate TCI states that are uplink only candidate TCI states or downlink only candidate TCI states], corresponding to the candidate cell [see fig. 4: Step “445”, pg. 9, ¶89 lines 1-22, and/or one or more fields for TCI state identifications associated with one or more activated candidate TCI states], and the at least one candidate cell TCI state is indicated when the at least one candidate cell TCI state is activated by the first MAC-CE [see fig. 4: Step “445”, pg. 9, ¶93 lines 1-8, the control message includes a TCI type field (e.g., in a header or subheader of the control message and/or a header or subheader of the MAC CE, among other examples) to indicate which type of TCI state is to be activated or deactivated in the control message]; and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to deactivate the subset of activated candidate cell TCI states excluding the at least one candidate cell TCI state [see fig. 4: Step “445”, pg. 9, ¶92 lines 1-6, the control message includes a third field for indicating whether candidate TCI states indicated in the first field or the second field are activated or deactivated].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “receive a second MAC CE including a cell switch command, wherein: the cell switch command indicates (1) a candidate cell and (2) at least one candidate cell TCI state from the first sets or the second sets corresponding to the candidate cell, and the at least one candidate cell TCI state is indicated when the at least one candidate cell TCI state is activated by the first MAC-CE, and deactivating the subset of activated candidate cell TCI states excluding the at least one candidate cell TCI state” as taught by Zheng in the system of Bai for supporting mobile broadband internet access by improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) [see Zheng, pg. 1, ¶4 lines 1-11].
Regarding Claims 2 and 16,
The combined system of Bai and Zheng discloses the UE of claim 1.
Bai further discloses wherein the cell switch command activates and indicates the at least one candidate cell TCI state when the at least one candidate cell TCI state is not activated by the first MAC CE [see fig. 5: Step “510”, pg. 11, ¶98 lines 1-6, the UE “120” receives an indication to switch from the first TCI state to the second TCI state from the first cell “102a” via an RRC message, a MAC-CE, and/or DCI indicating that the second TCI state is activated].
Regarding Claims 3 and 17,
The combined system of Bai and Zheng discloses the UE of claim 1.
Bai further discloses wherein a source reference signal (RS) of the at least one candidate cell TCI state is [see pg. 8, ¶72 lines 1-15, the non-serving cell has a different identifier (e.g., a physical cell identifier (PCI), as defined in 3GPP specifications and/or another standard), which is used to scramble sequences upon which the reference signal(s), associated with the non-serving cell, are based at least in part]:
a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block of the candidate cell [see pg. 8, ¶72 lines 15-21, a “frequency raster” refers to step-wise frequency portions in which the non-serving cell transmits synchronization signals (e.g., primary synchronization signals (PSSs), secondary synchronization signals (SSSs), and/or physical broadcast channel (PBCH) messages, which are grouped in an SSB), as spaced around a center frequency].
Regarding Claim 4,
The combined system of Bai and Zheng discloses the UE of claim 1.
Bai further discloses wherein third information includes a parameter to indicate joint or separate TCI states corresponding to the one or more candidate cells [see pg. 10, ¶90 lines 1-6, the second TCI state is applied within a joint application time].
Regarding Claims 6 and 19,
Bai discloses the UE of claim 1.
Bai does not explicitly teach the transceiver is further configured to receive: “a list of pathloss reference signals (PL-RSs) for a candidate cell from the one or more candidate cells, and the at least one candidate cell TCI state includes a PL-RS from the list of PL-RSs”.
However Zheng discloses receiving a list of pathloss reference signals (PL-RSs) for a candidate cell from the one or more candidate cells [see pg. 9, ¶96 lines 1-15, the UE applies the indication of the subset of the candidate TCI states to all serving cells configured in the set of serving cells based at least in part on the indication of the subset of the candidate TCI states indicating a cell identification, and the cell identification being indicated in the set of serving cells (e.g., in connection with reference number “425”)], and the at least one candidate cell TCI state includes a PL-RS from the list of PL-RSs [see pg. 9, ¶96 lines 1-15, the base station or another network device ensures that corresponding TCI states, (e.g.,. unified TCI states, DL only TCI states, and/or UL only TCI states) are configured correctly in each serving cell in the cell list (e.g., using RRC signaling)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving “a list of pathloss reference signals (PL-RSs) for a candidate cell from the one or more candidate cells, and the at least one candidate cell TCI state includes a PL-RS from the list of PL-RSs” as taught by Zheng in the system of Bai for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8,
Bai discloses a base station (BS) [see fig. 2, pg. 6, ¶55 lines 1-12, a base station (BS)], comprising:
a transceiver configured to [see fig. 2, pg. 6, ¶55 lines 1-12, a transmit or receive processor implemented to]:
transmit first information for first sets of downlink (DL) or joint candidate cell transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states corresponding to one or more candidate cells [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 11, ¶95 lines 1-15, the UE “120” receives an indication that the first TCI state is associated with the first cell “102a” and that the second TCI state is associated with the second cell “102e”], transmit second information for second sets of uplink (UL) candidate cell TCI states corresponding to the one or more candidate cells [see fig. 5: Step “505”, pg. 11, ¶96 lines 1-11, the UE “120” receives an indication that the first BWP is associated with the first cell “102a” and that the second BWP is associated with the second cell “102e”], and transmit a first medium access control-channel element (MAC-CE) for activating a subset of candidate cell TCI states from the first sets or the second sets [see fig. 5: Step “510”, pg. 11, ¶98 lines 1-6, the UE “120” receives an indication to switch from the first TCI state to the second TCI state from the first cell “102a” via an RRC message, a MAC-CE, and/or DCI indicating that the second TCI state is activated].
Although Bai discloses transmitting a first medium access control-channel element (MAC-CE), Bai does not explicitly teach “transmit a second MAC CE including a cell switch command, wherein: the cell switch command indicates (1) a candidate cell and (2) at least one candidate cell TCI state, from the first sets or the second sets, corresponding to the candidate cell, and the at least one candidate cell TCI state is indicated when the at least one candidate cell TCI state is activated by the first MAC-CE; and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to deactivate the subset of activated candidate cell TCI states excluding the at least one candidate cell TCI state”.
However Zheng discloses transmit first information for first sets of downlink (DL) or joint candidate cell transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states corresponding to one or more candidate cells [see fig. 4: Step “415”, pg. 8, ¶82 lines 1-10, the UE receives an indication of candidate TCI states including TCI states for one or more of UL only candidate TCI states, DL only candidate TCI states, or joint UL/DL candidate TCI states within a pool of candidate TCI states via RRC signaling], transmit second information for second sets of uplink (UL) candidate cell TCI states corresponding to the one or more candidate cells [see fig. 4: Step “425”, pg. 8, ¶85 lines 1-9, the base station configures one or more serving cells to use a same candidate TCI state or a same set of candidate TCI states, and transmits to the UE an indication of a set of serving cells to have common candidate TCI states], transmit a first medium access control-channel element (MAC-CE) for activating a subset of candidate cell TCI states from the first sets or the second sets [see fig. 4: Step “440”, pgs. 8-9, ¶88 lines 1-10, the UE receives an indication of a subset of the candidate TCI states for selection, including an indication of whether one or more candidate TCI states of the subset are joint uplink/downlink candidate TCI states within MAC CE signaling and/or via a control message], and transmit a second MAC CE including a cell switch command [see fig. 4: Step “445”, pg. 9, ¶97 lines 1-10, the UE receives a control message that indicates one or more candidate TCI states that are updated and an update to the one or more candidate TCI states including MAC CE signaling], wherein:
the cell switch command indicates [see fig. 4: Step “445”, pg. 9, ¶89 lines 1-22, the indication of the subset included in the control message (e.g., MAC CE signaling) includes] (1) a candidate cell and (2) at least one candidate cell TCI state [see fig. 4: Step “445”, pg. 9, ¶89 lines 1-22, a first field of the control message indicating activation of one or more candidate TCI states that are joint uplink/downlink candidate TCI states], from the first sets or the second sets [see fig. 4: Step “445”, pg. 9, ¶89 lines 1-22, a second field for indicating activation of one or more candidate TCI states that are uplink only candidate TCI states or downlink only candidate TCI states], corresponding to the candidate cell [see fig. 4: Step “445”, pg. 9, ¶89 lines 1-22, and/or one or more fields for TCI state identifications associated with one or more activated candidate TCI states], and the at least one candidate cell TCI state is indicated when the at least one candidate cell TCI state is activated by the first MAC-CE [see fig. 4: Step “445”, pg. 9, ¶93 lines 1-8, the control message includes a TCI type field (e.g., in a header or subheader of the control message and/or a header or subheader of the MAC CE, among other examples) to indicate which type of TCI state is to be activated or deactivated in the control message]; and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to deactivate the subset of activated candidate cell TCI states excluding the at least one candidate cell TCI state [see fig. 4: Step “445”, pg. 9, ¶92 lines 1-6, the control message includes a third field for indicating whether candidate TCI states indicated in the first field or the second field are activated or deactivated].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “transmit a second MAC CE including a cell switch command, wherein: the cell switch command indicates (1) a candidate cell and (2) at least one candidate cell TCI state from the first sets or the second sets corresponding to the candidate cell, and the at least one candidate cell TCI state is indicated when the at least one candidate cell TCI state is activated by the first MAC-CE, and deactivating the subset of activated candidate cell TCI states excluding the at least one candidate cell TCI state” as taught by Zheng in the system of Bai for supporting mobile broadband internet access by improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) [see Zheng, pg. 1, ¶4 lines 1-11].
Regarding Claim 9,
The combined system of Bai and Zheng discloses the BS of claim 8.
Bai further discloses wherein the cell switch command activates and indicates the at least one candidate cell TCI state when the at least one candidate cell TCI state is not activated by the first MAC CE [see fig. 5: Step “510”, pg. 11, ¶98 lines 1-6, the UE “120” receives an indication to switch from the first TCI state to the second TCI state from the first cell “102a” via an RRC message, a MAC-CE, and/or DCI indicating that the second TCI state is activated].
Regarding Claim 10,
The combined system of Bai and Zheng discloses the BS of claim 8.
Bai further discloses wherein a source reference signal (RS) of the at least one candidate cell TCI state is [see pg. 8, ¶72 lines 1-15, the non-serving cell has a different identifier (e.g., a physical cell identifier (PCI), as defined in 3GPP specifications and/or another standard), which is used to scramble sequences upon which the reference signal(s), associated with the non-serving cell, are based at least in part]:
synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block of the candidate cell [see pg. 8, ¶72 lines 15-21, a “frequency raster” refers to step-wise frequency portions in which the non-serving cell transmits synchronization signals (e.g., primary synchronization signals (PSSs), secondary synchronization signals (SSSs), and/or physical broadcast channel (PBCH) messages, which are grouped in an SSB), as spaced around a center frequency].
Regarding Claim 11,
The combined system of Bai and Zheng discloses the BS of claim 8.
Bai further discloses wherein third information includes a parameter to indicate joint or separate TCI states corresponding to the one or more candidate cells [see pg. 10, ¶90 lines 1-6, the second TCI state is applied within a joint application time].
Regarding Claim 13,
Bai discloses the BS of claim 8.
Bai does not explicitly teach the transceiver is further configured to transmit: “a list of pathloss reference signals (PL-RSs) for a candidate cell from the one or more candidate cells, and the at least one candidate cell TCI state includes a PL-RS from the list of PL-RSs”.
However Zheng discloses transmitting a list of pathloss reference signals (PL-RSs) for a candidate cell from the one or more candidate cells [see pg. 9, ¶96 lines 1-15, the UE applies the indication of the subset of the candidate TCI states to all serving cells configured in the set of serving cells based at least in part on the indication of the subset of the candidate TCI states indicating a cell identification, and the cell identification being indicated in the set of serving cells (e.g., in connection with reference number “425”)], and the at least one candidate cell TCI state includes a PL-RS from the list of PL-RSs [see pg. 9, ¶96 lines 1-15, the base station or another network device ensures that corresponding TCI states, (e.g.,. unified TCI states, DL only TCI states, and/or UL only TCI states) are configured correctly in each serving cell in the cell list (e.g., using RRC signaling)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmit “a list of pathloss reference signals (PL-RSs) for a candidate cell from the one or more candidate cells, and the at least one candidate cell TCI state includes a PL-RS from the list of PL-RSs” as taught by Zheng in the system of Bai for the same motivation as set forth in claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 12, 14, 18 and 20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: KOSKELA et al. (US 2025/0106867 A1); see fig. 1, pgs. 5-7, ¶43-¶56.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469