DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “for mounting film-sticking assembly” in line 3. This is grammatically incorrect and confusing. The limitation should read “for mounting a film-sticking assembly” instead.
In claim 13, the word “second” is misspelled as “seocnd” in line 5.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the roller assembly" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as reciting “a roller assembly.”
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the sliding rail” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as reciting “a sliding rail.”
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the elastic pad” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as reciting “an elastic pad.”
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the electronic device” in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as reciting “an electronic device.”
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the elastic pad” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as reciting “an elastic pad.”
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the receiving slot” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as reciting “a receiving slot.”
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the elastic pad” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as reciting “an elastic pad.”
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the positioning block” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as reciting “a positioning block.”
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the elastic portion” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as reciting “an elastic portion.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 2016/0059531).
Zhang teaches a film application apparatus (100) comprising: a second base (30) with a hollow receiving chamber (311) for accommodating a workpiece and a first base (10) which is pivotably connected to the second base, wherein a film material is attached to the first base for application to the workpiece (See Figures; [0011]-[0018]). The film application apparatus (100), second base (30), receiving chamber (311), first base (10) pivotably connected to the second base, and film material read on the instantly claimed film-sticking device, positioning box body, placement slot, positioning frame movably arranged on the positioning box body, and film-sticking material, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, the first base of Zhang comprises a rectangular plate having an opening (113) corresponding to the receiving chamber (See Figs. 1-2; [0013]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches two pivot components (20) which form a pivoting connection between the first and second bases, wherein the pivot components are clamped in two second pivot holes (343) of the second base (See Figures; [0012]-[0013]; [0018]). The pivot components and second pivot holes read on the instantly two second mounting blocks and two second mounting slots, respectively.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches a pressing component (90) comprising a press (91) which slides relative to the second base (See Figs. 1-2; [0031]-[0033]). The pressing component reads on the instantly claimed roller assembly.
Regarding claims 11-12, Zhang teaches stock extending component (53) comprising a first elastic member (533) arranged in a first installation groove (15) of the first base (See Fig. 1; [0015]-[0016]). The stock extending component comprising the first elastic member reads on the instantly claimed elastic portion/pad, and the first installation groove reads on the instantly claimed receiving slot.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches a mounting components (51) which are mounted in position limiting holes (5311) of the stock extending component (See Figures; [0015]). One of the mounting components and its corresponding positioning limiting hole read on the instantly claimed fastener and mounting hole, respectively. Zhang also teaches additional mounting components (51) which are received by mounting holes (19) on a side of the first base opposite the stock extending component (53) (See Figures; [0014]). One of the additional mounting components and its corresponding mounting hole read on the instantly claimed second positioning member and second positioning hole, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 8-10, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2016/0059531) in view of Li (US 2024/0208194).
Zhang teaches a film application apparatus, as detailed above.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang does not expressly disclose a pressing cover which is movably arranged on the first base. Zhang also does not expressly disclose a sliding rail on which a roller assembly (i.e. the pressing component of Zhang) is mounted on the second base.
Li teaches a screen protector installation tool (100) comprising a cover lid (32) pivotably disposed on a holding base (10) and guiding rails (12) for slidably mounting a pressing assembly (20) on the holding base (See Figures; [0079]; [0086]-[0088]; [0111]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the pivoting cover lid of Li on the film application apparatus of Zhang. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provide by the teaching of Li that to do so would predictably protect materials contained from contamination and installation failure (See [0111]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to install the pressing component of Zhang on the second base with guiding rails like those taught by Li rather than in guiding slots on the first base. Since it was known in the prior art that a roller assembly could be slidably mounted on a lower holding base (as taught by Li) or on an upper positioning frame (as taught by Zhang), the substitution of one known roller assembly position/arrangement for another known roller assembly/position recognized in the art as being suitable for the same purpose would have been obvious.
Regarding the claimed mounting openings which form the movable connection between the cover and the holding base in claim 4, Zhang teaches that such components are known in the art for forming pivotable connections between parts, as detailed above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding the instantly claimed at least one positioning block of claim 4 which are arranged on the positioning box body to align with and engage with the positioning frame, Zhang shows such positioning blocks in Fig. 1 as shown below:
Regarding claim 5, the guiding rails of Li include slots which have an opening at one end and receive a protrusion of a sliding element and have a width equal to a width of the protrusion (See Figs. 7-9 and 12; [0086]-[0087]).
Regarding the claimed mounting openings and mounting blocks which form the movable connection between the cover and the holding base in claim 6, Zhang teaches that such components are known in the art for forming pivotable connections between parts, as detailed above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 8, the pressing assembly (20) of Li comprises a sliding element (21), a pressing element (22), two sliding portions (211) which extend downward from each end of the sliding element and are slidably mounted on the guiding rails (12), wherein the pressing element is mounted on the sliding element via fixing holes (215) in the sliding portions, wherein the pressing element is a cylindrical roller which has a greater diameter at its ends than at a middle portion thereof, and wherein the sliding element includes protrusions which are slidably received in the slots of the guiding rails (See Figures; [0097]-[0100]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the pressing assembly of Li for the pressing component of Zhang since both were recognized in the prior art as suitable structures for performing the same function of pressing films onto electronic device.
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches a resilient stage (14) which deforms when pressed with the pressing element (22) when the pressing element transitions from an initial position mounted on the holding base to an application position in which the pressing element engages the electronic device (See Figures; [0101]-[0103]). The resilient stage of Li moves downward when deformed and necessarily moves upward when a force causing the deformation is removed since the stage is resilient. Therefore the resilient stage is “movable upwards and downwards” as claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the resilient stage of Li in the apparatus of Zhang. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teaching of Li that to do so would predictably prevent the generation of air bubbles (See [0101]).
Regarding claim 10, the resilient stage of Li is situated between slots (1133) and has an inner end surface (142) which has a narrow rectangular shape (See Figures; [0101]-[0103]). The slots read on the instantly claimed receiving slot, and the inner end surface forms a convex strip as claimed.
Regarding claim 14, the mounting components of Zhang are not shown in detail but appear in the figures to be cylindrical with a single diameter. Zhang does not expressly disclose a portion of the mounting component having a larger diameter as claimed. Li teaches positioning pins (1142) which have an upper part with an upper diameter and a lower part with a lower diameter, wherein the lower diameter is greater than the upper diameter (See Figures; [0084]; [0122]). As best shown in Fig. 18E, a positioning film (43) of Li has a hole with a diameter corresponding to the narrower upper diameter, and the positioning film is supported on the lower part as claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide upper and lower parts with varying diameter on the mounting components of Zhang to provide improved control over the position of the film material.
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches a hook member (1132) which protrudes from the resilient stage, the hook member comprising a fixing arm (11321) and a hook end portion (11322) wherein the hook end portion engages a hooking hole (431) of the positioning film (43) (See Figures; [0084]-[0085]; [0104]). The fixing arm, hook end portion, and hooking hole read on the instantly claimed protrusion, positioning member, and first positioning holes, respectively. While Li only teaches a single hook member and corresponding hooking hole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include additional hook members and corresponding hooking holes because the duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In this case, additional hook members and hooking holes provide a predictable result of having more fixing points for the positioning film.
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches a pivoting cover seat (31) below the holding base which supports the holding base (10) (See Figures; [0109]-[0110]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the cover seat of Li on the film application apparatus of Zhang to provide convenient packaging and to protect the holding base.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang does not expressly disclose that the opening in the first base has an area less than the opening of the receiving chamber as claimed. Li teaches a guiding slot (321) above the holding base, wherein a width of the guiding slot is less than a width of a holding chamber (110) of the holding base (See Figures; [0079]; [0111]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the opening (113) of Zhang with a narrower width than the receiving chamber (311). The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teaching of Li that such a narrow opening prevents fingers of users from entering the apparatus and causing contamination (See [0111]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2016/0059531) in view of Li (US 2024/0208194) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeong (US 2023/0014521) and Seo (WO 2014/021486).
Zhang and Li combine to teach a film application apparatus, as detailed above. Zhang teaches first clamping member (715) and second clamping members (735) which are arranged above the receiving chamber (311) and are elastically urged against the work piece to securely hold it in place (See Figures; [0023]-[0030]). The first and second clamping members of Zhang read on the instantly claimed elastic strips.
Zhang and Li do not expressly disclose spacer strips and elastic strips arranged in the placement slot and an avoidance opening formed in the placement slot to avoid a camera assembly of an electronic device as claimed.
Jeong teaches a display protector attachment apparatus (100) comprising: a protector film assembly (200) and a frame unit (110) having a seating space (113) which accommodates an electronic device (300) to which the protector body is to be attached, wherein the frame unit includes a plurality of support protrusions (114a,114b) on a seating surface (114) at the bottom of the seating space and a camera protrusion-accommodating hole (114d) in the seating surface (See Figures; [0038]-[0041]; [0054]-[0056]). The frame unit (110), seating space (113), support protrusions (114a,114b), seating surface (114), and camera protrusion-accommodating hole (114d) read on the instantly claimed positioning box body, placement slot, spacer strips, bottom of the placement slot, and avoidance opening, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the support protrusions of Jeong in the receiving chamber of the second base taught by Zhang in order to provide support to the workpiece and ensure proper positioning during application of the film material. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the camera protrusion-accommodating hole of Jeong in the receiving chamber of the second base taught by Zhang. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teaching of Jeong that to do so would predictably accommodate a camera protrusion of an electronic device (See Figures; [0041]), which would predictably allow such a device to lay flat within the receiving chamber during application of the film material and prevent any damage to the camera protrusion.
Regarding the elastic strips, the first and second clamping members of Zhang read on the instantly claimed elastic strips, as detailed above. However the first and second clamping members of Zhang are arranged above the receiving chamber. Zhang and Li do not expressly disclose elastic strips being arranged in the receiving chamber as claimed.
Seo teaches a protective film adhesion device for applying a protective film to a portable electronic device, the film adhesion device comprising: a main body (300) having a receiving portion (100) for accommodating the portable electronic device and protruding elastic support portions (500,600) arranged in side walls of the receiving portion (See Figures; Brief Description of Figs. 1 and 2). The elastic protruding portions of Seo correspond to the first and second clamping members of Zhang and also read on the instantly claimed elastic strips attached to inner walls of the placement slot.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the elastic protruding portions of Seo inside the receiving chamber of Zhang instead of the first and second clamping members arranged above the receiving chamber. Since it was known in the prior art that elastic members could be positioned above a receiving chamber (as taught by Zhang) or within a side wall of a receiving chamber (as taught by Seo) the substitution of one known arrangement for another arrangement recognized in the art as being suitable for the same purpose would have been obvious.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2016/0059531) in view of Li (US 2024/0208194) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeong (US 2023/0014521) and Zhou (US 11,745,487).
Zhang and Li combine to teach a film application apparatus, as detailed above.
Jeong and Li do not expressly disclose the film sticking assembly having all of the instantly claimed components or obliquely mounting the film sticking assembly as claimed.
Jeong teaches a display protector attachment apparatus (100), as detailed above. Jeong teaches a protector film assembly (200) including a protector body (220) and a release film (210) comprising a first extension unit (216) and a second extension unit (214); first end fixing pins (115a,b) which support the first extension unit (216); a fixing unit (120) with second end fixing pins (126) which support the second extension unit (214) at a height greater than the first extension unit; a detachable cover member (130) which fixes the second extension unit (See Figures; [0038]-[0060]; [0081]-[0085]). The cover member (130) of Jeong reads on the instantly claimed fastener. The film assembly is obliquely mounted as claimed since the first and second extension units have differing heights.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the cover member of Jeong when positioning the film material in the apparatus taught by the combination of Zhang and Li to securely hold the film material and prevent misalignment or defects. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to obliquely mount the film material in the apparatus taught by the combination of Zhang and Li. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teaching of Jeong that angling the film allows for progressive application which prevents air bubbles from forming (See [0077]-[0079]).
The film assembly of Jeong does not include a pull film as claimed, however such pull films are conventional in the art. Zhou, for example, teaches a sticking film (100) comprising a pulling portion (130) which is disposed on a release film layer (202) (See Figures; col. 8, line 64 to col. 10, line 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the release film layer of Zhou in the film material in the apparatus taught by Zhang and Li in order to prevent contamination and to use the pulling portion of Zhou to facilitate detachment of the release film prior to application.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2016/0059531) in view of Li (US 2024/0208194) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeong (US 2023/0014521).
Zhang and Li combine to teach a film application apparatus, as detailed above. Regarding the buckles and buckle holes of claim 20, Li teaches buckles on the cover lid (32) and corresponding buckle holes on the cover seat (31) (See Figures). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use such elements of Li to securely hold components of Zhang together.
Zhang and Li do not expressly disclose a scraper as claimed.
Jeong teaches a display protector attachment apparatus (100), as detailed above. Jeong teaches a squeeze member (150) comprising a blade unit (156) for applying the film assembly (See Figures; [0040]; [0083]). The squeeze member is a scraper as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a squeeze member instead of an application roller in the apparatus taught by the combination of Zhang and Li. Since both rollers (as taught by Zhang and Li) and scrapers (as taught by Jeong) were recognized in the prior art as being suitable for the same purpose of applying protective films, the substitution of one for the other would have been obvious.
Conclusion
/CARSON GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746