DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0037]: line 1: “FIG. 1a” should read as “FIG. 1” since there is no “FIG. 1a” in the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 12-13, 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 20220286866 A1), hereinafter “Liu”.
Per claim 1, 8 and 15:
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches ‘An apparatus’ (Liu: [Claim 26]: “An apparatus of wireless communication at an aerial user equipment”), ‘comprising: at least one processor’ (Liu: [Claim 26]: “a processor”); ‘at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions that’ (Liu: [Claim 26]: “a non-transitory memory storing computer-executable instructions”); ‘when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform operations’ (Liu: [Claim 26]: “a processor communicatively coupled with the non-transitory memory and configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to”);
‘comprising:
receiving first information from a network device, wherein the first information comprises uptilt beam information indicating that there is an uptilt beam in a cell’ (Liu: [FIG.9]: block 902: “Receiving, from the mobile network, synchronization information corresponding to an aerial cell of the mobile network or a cell having at least one aerial sector being formed by one or more uptilt beams of a base station of the mobile network”; [FIG.5B]; [0071]: “The aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 may be formed by one or more uptilted beams generated by the base station”; [0143]: “the receiving at block 902 may include receiving an aerial SSB of the first portion of the plurality of SSBs. The aerial SSB may indicate a CSI-RS configuration for the aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504. The aerial SSB may have been transmitted via a first uptilt beam of the one or more uptilt beams”);
‘accessing the cell based on the uptilt beam information’ (Liu: [FIG.9]: block 904: “Performing, according to the synchronization information, a random access channel (RACH) procedure with the mobile network”, block 906: “Establishing, via the aerial cell or the at least one aerial sector, a communication link with the mobile network”).
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches ‘An apparatus’ (Liu: [Claim 11]: “An apparatus of wireless communication at a base station of a mobile network”); ‘comprising: at least one processor’ (Liu: [Claim 11]: “a processor”); ‘at least one memory storing instructions that’ (Liu: [Claim 11]: “a non-transitory memory storing computer-executable instructions”); ‘when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform operations’ (Liu: [Claim 11]: “a processor communicatively coupled with the non-transitory memory and configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to”);
‘comprising:
sending first information to a terminal device, wherein the first information comprises uptilt beam information, the uptilt beam information indicates that there is an uptilt beam in a cell’ (Liu: [FIG.8]: block 802: “Transmitting synchronization information corresponding to an aerial cell of the mobile network or a cell having at least one aerial sector being formed by one or more uptilt beams of the base station”; [FIG.5B]; [0071]: “The aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 may be formed by one or more uptilted beams generated by the base station”; [0143]: “the receiving at block 902 may include receiving an aerial SSB of the first portion of the plurality of SSBs. The aerial SSB may indicate a CSI-RS configuration for the aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504. The aerial SSB may have been transmitted via a first uptilt beam of the one or more uptilt beams”);
‘the uptilt beam information is for assisting the terminal device in accessing the cell’ (Liu: [FIG.8]: block 804: “Performing, according to the synchronization information, a random access channel (RACH) procedure with an aerial user equipment (UE)”, block 806: “Establishing, via the aerial cell or the at least one aerial sector, a communication link with the aerial UE”).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above).
Per claim 5, 12 and 17:
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 8 (discussed above).
Liu teaches ‘uptilt beam coverage information that indicates coverage of the uptilt beam’ (Liu: [FIG.5B]: uptilt beam; [0071]: “The aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 may have atilt angle 508 such that the coverage area of the aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 generally points away from the ground (e.g., towards the sky). That is, the one or more uptilted beams generated by the base station 102 that form the aerial cell 504 may result in the aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 having an overall uptilt angle”).
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 15 (discussed above).
Liu teaches ‘uptilt beam coverage information that indicates coverage of the uptilt beam’ (Liu: [FIG.5B]: uptilt beam; [0071]: “The aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 may have atilt angle 508 such that the coverage area of the aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 generally points away from the ground (e.g., towards the sky). That is, the one or more uptilted beams generated by the base station 102 that form the aerial cell 504 may result in the aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 having an overall uptilt angle”).
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12 above).
Per claim 6, 13 and 18:
Regarding claim 13, Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 12 (discussed above).
Liu teaches ‘wherein the coverage of the uptilt beam comprises at least one of height coverage of the uptilt beam’ (Liu: [FIG.5B]: height threshold “510”; [0072]: “the aerial UE 104′ may establish a communications link with the base station 102 over the aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 if or when the aerial UE 104′ exceeds the height threshold (e.g., flying above the ground at a height 510 exceeding the height threshold)”, height coverage of the uptilt beam); ‘width coverage of the uptilt beam’ (this is optional).
Regarding claim 18, Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 17 (discussed above).
Liu teaches ‘wherein the coverage of the uptilt beam comprises at least one of height coverage of the uptilt beam’ (Liu: [FIG.5B]: height threshold “510”; [0072]: “the aerial UE 104′ may establish a communications link with the base station 102 over the aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 if or when the aerial UE 104′ exceeds the height threshold (e.g., flying above the ground at a height 510 exceeding the height threshold)”, height coverage of the uptilt beam); ‘width coverage of the uptilt beam’ (this is optional).
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 13 (see rejection of claim 13 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of TS38.331 (“TS38.331 V17.0.0”) (IDS cited), hereinafter “TS38.331”.
Per claim 2 and 9:
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 8 (discussed above).
Liu teaches ‘measuring beams in the cell, and accessing the cell based on a first beam of the beams in the cell’ (Liu: [0090]: “The aerial UE 104′ may be configured to compare at least one signal characteristic of the CSI-RS signal (e.g., measured cell quality value, measure cell receive level value) to one or more of a set of cell reselection criteria to determine whether or not to perform a cell selection and/or cell re-selection”; [FIG.5B]; [0085]: “the base station 102 may transmit the one or more aerial SSBs using wide uptilt beams of the aerial cell 504 and/or may broadcast the aerial CSI-RS using narrow uptilt beams of the aerial cell”; measure the beam for cell accessing);
‘wherein measurement of the first beam satisfies a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold’ (Liu: [0090]: “the aerial UE 104′ may be configured to calculate the cell reselection criteria for the aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 using the following equations: Srxlev=Qrxlevmeas−(Qrxlevmin+Qrxlevminoffset)−Pcompensation−Qoffsettemp+Qrxlevoffset_AerialUE (Eq. 1)”; [TABLE 1]: “Srxlev Cell selection receive (RX) level value”, select a cell if Srxlev > 0; [0087]: “The one or more aerial SIBs may comprise RSRP/RSRQ bias values and/or the RSRP/RSRQ bias offset values of the serving aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 and/or RSRP/RSRQ bias values and/or the RSRP/RSRQ bias offset values of a list of aerial SSBs in the serving aerial cell and/or aerial sector”). However, Liu fails to expressly teach RSRP threshold;
‘a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) threshold’ (this is optional).
TS38.331 in the same field of endeavor teaches a RSRP threshold to select a cell (TS38.331: [Page 185]: “Event A1 (Serving becomes better than threshold) … Ms is expressed in dBm in case of RSRP”, select a cell if RSRP is better than a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS38.331’s teaching with that of Liu in order to promote corroboration and inter-operation by conforming to 3GPP specification on cell selection.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above).
Per claim 7 and 14:
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 8 (discussed above).
Liu teaches ‘starting a timer, measuring beams in the cell’ (Liu: [FIG.5B]; [0085]: “the base station 102 may transmit the one or more aerial SSBs using wide uptilt beams of the aerial cell 504 and/or may broadcast the aerial CSI-RS using narrow uptilt beams of the aerial cell”; [0090]: “The aerial UE 104′ may be configured to compare at least one signal characteristic of the CSI-RS signal (e.g., measured cell quality value, measure cell receive level value) to one or more of a set of cell reselection criteria to determine whether or not to perform a cell selection and/or cell re-selection”; measure the beam for cell accessing). However, Liu fails to expressly teach start a timer;
‘accessing the cell based on a first beam the beams in the cell’ (Liu: [FIG.9]: block 904: “Performing, according to the synchronization information, a random access channel (RACH) procedure with the mobile network”, block 906: “Establishing, via the aerial cell or the at least one aerial sector, a communication link with the mobile network”);
‘wherein the measurement of the first beam satisfies a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold’ (Liu: [0090]: “the aerial UE 104′ may be configured to calculate the cell reselection criteria for the aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 using the following equations:
Srxlev=Qrxlevmeas−(Qrxlevmin+Qrxlevminoffset)−Pcompensation−Qoffsettemp+Qrxlevoffset_AerialUE (Eq. 1)”; [TABLE 1]: “Srxlev Cell selection receive (RX) level value”, select a cell if Srxlev > 0; [0087]: “The one or more aerial SIBs may comprise RSRP/RSRQ bias values and/or the RSRP/RSRQ bias offset values of the serving aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 and/or RSRP/RSRQ bias values and/or the RSRP/RSRQ bias offset values of a list of aerial SSBs in the serving aerial cell and/or aerial sector”). However, Liu fails to expressly teach RSRP threshold;
‘a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) threshold’ (this is optional).
Liu does not expressly teach ‘before the timer ends’.
TS38.331 teaches Event A1 for cell selection if RSRP is better than a threshold within time period timeToTrigger (TS38.331: [Page 185]: “Event A1 (Serving becomes better than threshold) … Ms is expressed in dBm in case of RSRP”, select a cell if RSRP is better than a threshold; [Page 765]: “eventA1 SEQUENCE {
a1-Threshold MeasTriggerQuantity,
reportOnLeave BOOLEAN,
hysteresis Hysteresis,
timeToTrigger TimeToTrigger
}”; [Page 769]: “timeToTrigger Time during which specific criteria for the event needs to be met in order to execute the conditional reconfiguration evaluation”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS38.331’s teaching with that of Liu for the apparatus to start a timer, measure beams in the cell, and access the cell based on a first beam the beams in the cell, wherein the measurement of the first beam satisfies a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold or a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) threshold before the timer ends in order to promote corroboration and inter-operation by conforming to 3GPP specification on cell selection.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above).
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Liu et al. (US 20240187911 A1), hereinafter “Liu2”.
Per claim 3, 10 and 16:
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 8 (discussed above).
Liu teaches ‘wherein the first information further comprises uptilt beam index information that indicates uptilt beams in beams in the cell’ (Liu: [FIG.5B]: uptilt beam; [0082]: “the aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 may be configured with a first set of terrestrial SSBs with SSB index X and with a second set of aerial SSBs with SSB index Y”; [0084]: “The aerial UE 104′ may be further configured to establish a communications link over the aerial cell 504 and/or to perform a cell selection and/or cell re-selection (e.g., handover) procedure based at least on the aerial CSI-RS”). However, Liu fails to expressly teach ‘uptilt beam index information that indicates uptilt beams in beams in the cell’.
Liu2 in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘uptilt beam index information that indicates uptilt beams in beams in the cell’ (Liu2: [FIG.3]: uptilt beams “303a” and “303b”, terrestrial beams “301a” and “301b”; [0069]: “beams 303a and 303b may be associated with the uptilt antenna(s) and may be referred to as “aerial beams.” … Although described using two aerial beams, the description similarly applies to additional aerial beams (e.g., three aerial beams, four aerial beams, and so on)”; [0105]: “the base station 110 may transmit an maxReportCells-Aerial variable to indicate a maximum quantity of cells associated with aerial beams and/or a maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Aerial variable to indicate a maximum quantity of beams associated with aerial beams, as defined in 3GPP specifications … maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Terrestrial variable to indicate a maximum quantity of beams associated with terrestrial beams”; aerial beam index would be in [K, K + maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Aerial-1], where K =0 or K = maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Terrestrial).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu2’s teaching with that of Liu in order to conform to 3GPP specification on beam index for promotion of corroboration and inter-operation (see reference quotes in element above).
Combination of Liu and Liu2 teaches ‘wherein the accessing the cell based on the uptilt beam information: accessing the cell based on the uptilt beam index information and the uptilt beam information’ (Liu: [FIG.9]: block 904: “Performing, according to the synchronization information, a random access channel (RACH) procedure with the mobile network”, block 906: “Establishing, via the aerial cell or the at least one aerial sector, a communication link with the mobile network”; [0090]: “the aerial UE 104′ may be configured to calculate the cell reselection criteria for the aerial cell and/or aerial sector cell selection”. Liu2: [FIG.3]: uptilt beams “303a” and “303b”, terrestrial beams “301a” and “301b”; [FIG.7]: block 710: “Receive an event-based measurement report configuration that indicates a threshold measurement value and a threshold quantity of beams that is two or more”; [0105]: “the base station 110 may transmit an maxReportCells-Aerial variable to indicate a maximum quantity of cells associated with aerial beams and/or a maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Aerial variable to indicate a maximum quantity of beams associated with aerial beams, as defined in 3GPP specifications … maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Terrestrial variable to indicate a maximum quantity of beams associated with terrestrial beams”; aerial beam index would be in [K, K + maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Aerial-1], where K =0 or K = maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Terrestrial).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu2’s teaching of beam index with that of Liu in order to conform to 3GPP specification on beam index for promotion of corroboration and inter-operation (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches the apparatus according to claim 15 (discussed above).
Liu teaches ‘wherein the first information further comprises uptilt beam index information that indicates an uptilt beam in beams in the cell’ (Liu: [FIG.5B]: uptilt beam; [0082]: “the aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 may be configured with a first set of terrestrial SSBs with SSB index X and with a second set of aerial SSBs with SSB index Y”; [0084]: “The aerial UE 104′ may be further configured to establish a communications link over the aerial cell 504 and/or to perform a cell selection and/or cell re-selection (e.g., handover) procedure based at least on the aerial CSI-RS”). However, Liu fails to expressly teach ‘uptilt beam index information that indicates uptilt beams in beams in the cell’.
Liu2 in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘uptilt beam index information that indicates uptilt beams in beams in the cell’ (Liu2: [FIG.3]: uptilt beams “303a” and “303b”, terrestrial beams “301a” and “301b”; [0069]: “beams 303a and 303b may be associated with the uptilt antenna(s) and may be referred to as “aerial beams.” … Although described using two aerial beams, the description similarly applies to additional aerial beams (e.g., three aerial beams, four aerial beams, and so on)”; [0105]: “the base station 110 may transmit an maxReportCells-Aerial variable to indicate a maximum quantity of cells associated with aerial beams and/or a maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Aerial variable to indicate a maximum quantity of beams associated with aerial beams, as defined in 3GPP specifications … maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Terrestrial variable to indicate a maximum quantity of beams associated with terrestrial beams”; aerial beam index would be in [K, K + maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Aerial-1], where K =0 or K = maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Terrestrial).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu2’s teaching with that of Liu in order to conform to 3GPP specification on beam index for promotion of corroboration and inter-operation (see reference quotes in element above).
Combination of Liu and Liu2 teaches ‘the uptilt beam index information together with the uptilt beam information are used for assisting the terminal device in accessing the cell’ (Liu: [FIG.8]: block 804: “Performing, according to the synchronization information, a random access channel (RACH) procedure with an aerial user equipment (UE)”, block 806: “Establishing, via the aerial cell or the at least one aerial sector, a communication link with the aerial UE”; [0090]: “the aerial UE 104′ may be configured to calculate the cell reselection criteria for the aerial cell and/or aerial sector cell selection”. Liu2: Liu2: [FIG.3]: uptilt beams “303a” and “303b”, terrestrial beams “301a” and “301b”; [FIG.8]: block 810: “Transmit an event-based measurement report configuration that indicates a threshold measurement value and a threshold quantity of beams that is two or more”; [0105]: “the base station 110 may transmit an maxReportCells-Aerial variable to indicate a maximum quantity of cells associated with aerial beams and/or a maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Aerial variable to indicate a maximum quantity of beams associated with aerial beams, as defined in 3GPP specifications … maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Terrestrial variable to indicate a maximum quantity of beams associated with terrestrial beams”; aerial beam index would be in [K, K + maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Aerial-1], where K =0 or K = maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Terrestrial).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu2’s teaching of beam index with that of Liu in order to conform to 3GPP specification on beam index for promotion of corroboration and inter-operation (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above).
Per claim 4 and 11:
Regarding claim 11, combination of Liu and Liu2 teaches the apparatus according to claim 10 (discussed above).
Combination of Liu and Liu2 teaches ‘measuring the uptilt beams indicated by the uptilt beam index information’ (Liu: [FIG.5B]; [0049]: “The RS may also include beam measurement RS”; [0090]: “The aerial UE 104′ may be configured to compare at least one signal characteristic of the CSI-RS signal (e.g., measured cell quality value, measure cell receive level value) to one or more of a set of cell reselection criteria to determine whether or not to perform a cell selection and/or cell re-selection”. Liu2: [FIG.3]; [0069]: “an aerial UE 120b may measure reference signals and/or receive data signals from the gNB 110 transmitted using beam 303a and/or beam 303b”; [0105]: “the base station 110 may transmit an maxReportCells-Aerial variable to indicate a maximum quantity of cells associated with aerial beams and/or a maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Aerial variable to indicate a maximum quantity of beams associated with aerial beams, as defined in 3GPP specifications”, select and access a cell based on aerial beam index information (aerial beam index would be in [0, maxNrofRS-IndexesToReport-Aerial -1]);
‘accessing the cell based on a first uptilt beam of the uptilt beams indicated by the uptilt beam index information’ (Liu: [FIG.9]: block 904: “Performing, according to the synchronization information, a random access channel (RACH) procedure with the mobile network”, block 906: “Establishing, via the aerial cell or the at least one aerial sector, a communication link with the mobile network”);
‘wherein measurement of the first uptilt beam satisfies a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold’ (Liu: [0090]: “the aerial UE 104′ may be configured to calculate the cell reselection criteria for the aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 using the following equations:
Srxlev=Qrxlevmeas−(Qrxlevmin+Qrxlevminoffset)−Pcompensation−Qoffsettemp+Qrxlevoffset_AerialUE (Eq. 1)”; [TABLE 1]: “Srxlev Cell selection receive (RX) level value”, select a cell if Srxlev > 0; [0087]: “The one or more aerial SIBs may comprise RSRP/RSRQ bias values and/or the RSRP/RSRQ bias offset values of the serving aerial cell and/or aerial sector 504 and/or RSRP/RSRQ bias values and/or the RSRP/RSRQ bias offset values of a list of aerial SSBs in the serving aerial cell and/or aerial sector”. Liu2: [FIG.7]: block 710: “Receive an event-based measurement report configuration that indicates a threshold measurement value and a threshold quantity of beams that is two or more”; [0082]: “The reportConfig data structure may include the measurement threshold as an RSRP value”, RSRP threshold; [0074]: “a base station may instruct the UE to report according event A1”);
‘a reference signal received quality (RSRQ) threshold’ (this is optional).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu2’s teaching of beam index with that of Liu in order to conform to 3GPP specification on beam index for promotion of corroboration and inter-operation (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 recites the method implemented by the apparatus according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20260172105 A1 see [FIG.6A], [0164]-[0173];
US 20240422603 A1 see [FIG.7]-[FIG.14], [0083]-[0086];
US 20210203396 A1 see [FIG.8B], [0012].
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462