The instant application having Application No. 18/885,483 filed on 09/13/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krukowski (US 20210330185 A1), in view of Zhang (CN 118001113 A)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Krukowski discloses a method for implementing a vision test, in at least Figure 2, comprising:
at an electronic device (10 “system”, paragraph 0054, Figure 2) comprising a head-mounted display (HMD)(32 “VR-HMD unit”, Figure 2), one or more processors (“processor”, paragraph 0056 states “The server system 16 includes a server computer including a processor that is coupled to a memory device for executes various programs being stored on the memory device”, Figure 2), and memory (“memory device”, paragraph 0056, Figure 2):
determining a multifocal eyewear prescription of a user associated with the electronic device (10 “system”, paragraph 0099 states “The varifocal optics system 54 includes a variable-focal optical system that effectively performs exercises and diagnostics in the near, far and intermediate distances”, paragraph 0053 states “Based on subjectively assessed settings of varifocal optics system generates proper prescription for corrective glasses or lenses including results”, paragraphs 0099-0102), wherein the multifocal eyewear prescription includes a multifocal parameter for a lens having a plurality of focal lengths (paragraph 0053 states “Based on subjectively assessed settings of varifocal optics system generates proper prescription for corrective glasses or lenses including results”, paragraph 0099 states “The varifocal optics system 54 includes a variable-focal optical system that effectively performs exercises and diagnostics in the near, far and intermediate distances”);
obtaining user response data captured by one or more sensors (56 “accommodation measurement system”, 52 “eye tracking system”, paragraph 0066, Figure 2) in response to the visual stimulus displayed (paragraph 0134 states “a virtual reality (VR) display unit 46 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to display images to a user simulating a virtual reality environment … an accommodation measurement system 56 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to measure an accommodation response of the user's eyes, and an eye tracking system 52 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to track movement of the user's eyes”); and
based on the user response data, adjusting the multifocal parameter of the multifocal eyewear prescription (paragraph 0053 states “During mentioned iteration, varifocal optical system provides with different optical states as a simulation of corrective glasses lenses or contact lenses. Iteration is finished once system will assess that smallest possible angular size of an optotype can be recognized by a user in relation to current optical power of the varifocal optics. Based on subjectively assessed settings of varifocal optics system generates proper prescription for corrective glasses or lenses including results”).
However, Krukowski does not disclose partitioning a field of view displayed on a user interface into a plurality of regions, displaying a visual stimulus successively in two distinct regions of the user interface, and obtaining user response data captured by one or more sensors in response to the visual stimulus displayed in the two distinct regions.
Zhang teaches partitioning a field of view displayed on a user interface into a plurality of regions (page 3, paragraph 4 of translation states “the background of the training sighting target is nine-square grid”, Figure 1), displaying a visual stimulus successively in two distinct regions of the user interface (Figure 1 shows that a visual stimulus is displayed in at least two distinct regions), and obtaining user response data captured by one or more sensors in response to the visual stimulus displayed in the two distinct regions (page 3, paragraph 5 of translation states “after the user identifies the visual target on the screen clearly, the selection and judgment of the opening direction of the visual target is performed through the mouse, then the computer system gives the interpretation result”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method for implementing a vision test of Krukowski modified by partitioning a field of view displayed on a user interface into a plurality of regions, displaying a visual stimulus successively in two distinct regions of the user interface, and obtaining user response data captured by one or more sensors in response to the visual stimulus displayed in the two distinct regions, as taught by Zhang, in order to better image on the retina clearly (last paragraph of page 5 of translation).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Krukowski does not disclose wherein the plurality of regions includes a grid of regions, and the two distinct regions are not immediately adjacent to each other.
Zhang teaches wherein the plurality of regions includes a grid of regions (page 3, paragraph 4 of translation states “the background of the training sighting target is nine-square grid”, Figure 1), and the two distinct regions are not immediately adjacent to each other (Figure 1 shows that distinct regions can be selected which are not immediately adjacent to each other).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method for implementing a vision test of Krukowski modified by wherein the plurality of regions includes a grid of regions, and the two distinct regions are not immediately adjacent to each other, as taught by Zhang, in order to better image on the retina clearly (last paragraph of page 5 of translation).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Krukowski further discloses wherein the one or more sensors (56 “accommodation measurement system”, 52 “eye tracking system”) include an eye-tracking camera (52 “eye tracking system”, paragraphs 0066-0069), and the user response data include a sequence of eye images captured (paragraph 0066 states “The eye tracking system 52 includes a near-infrared (NIR) camera assembly 66”, paragraph 0067 states “The NIR camera assembly 66 is configured to perform eye tracking (viewer) based on NIR cameras for safety and eye doctor observation. The NIR camera assembly 66 includes a wide angle NIR LED 70 for eye illumination, an NIR camera 72 for recording the image illuminating the surface of the eye”), the method further comprising: determining at least one of a gaze point (paragraph 0158 states “The eye tracking system 52 is also capable of gaze point determining similar to other eye tracking solutions”, paragraph 0066 states “The eye tracking system 52 may also include a CMOS 2D profile sensor assembly 81 having a CMOS based 2D profile provided for pupil position estimation”), an eyeball position, and a pupil size in each eye image.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Krukowski further discloses adjusting the multifocal parameter further comprising: based on the user response data, determining one or more response parameters of: an eye blinking rate, a gaze direction (paragraph 0158 states “The eye tracking system 52 is also capable of gaze point determining similar to other eye tracking solutions”, paragraph 0066 states “The eye tracking system 52 may also include a CMOS 2D profile sensor assembly 81 having a CMOS based 2D profile provided for pupil position estimation”), a fixation duration, a stress level, a focus level, a response time, a response accuracy level, and a micro expression type, wherein the multifocal parameter is determined based on the one or more response parameters (paragraph 0134 states “a virtual reality (VR) display unit 46 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to display images to a user simulating a virtual reality environment … an accommodation measurement system 56 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to measure an accommodation response of the user's eyes, and an eye tracking system 52 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to track movement of the user's eyes”, paragraph 0053 states “During mentioned iteration, varifocal optical system provides with different optical states as a simulation of corrective glasses lenses or contact lenses. Iteration is finished once system will assess that smallest possible angular size of an optotype can be recognized by a user in relation to current optical power of the varifocal optics. Based on subjectively assessed settings of varifocal optics system generates proper prescription for corrective glasses or lenses including results”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and Krukowski further discloses wherein the one or more sensors (56 “accommodation measurement system”, 52 “eye tracking system”) include one or more of: an eye tracking camera (52 “eye tracking system”, paragraphs 0066-0069), a heart rate sensor, a body temperature sensor, a blood oxygen level, a Galvanic skin response sensor, a hand gesture camera, a body gesture camera, a microphone, a motion sensor, and a set of one or more brain activity electrodes.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Krukowski does not disclose wherein the plurality of regions includes a grid of 3×3 regions, and the two distinct regions are diagonal to each other in the grid.
Zhang teaches wherein the plurality of regions includes a grid of 3×3 regions (page 3, paragraph 4 of translation states “the background of the training sighting target is nine-square grid”, Figure 1), and the two distinct regions are diagonal to each other in the grid (Figure 1 shows that distinct regions can be selected which are diagonal to each other in the grid).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method for implementing a vision test of Krukowski modified by wherein the plurality of regions includes a grid of 3×3 regions, and the two distinct regions are diagonal to each other in the grid, as taught by Zhang, in order to better image on the retina clearly (last paragraph of page 5 of translation).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Krukowski does not disclose wherein the plurality of regions includes a grid of 3×3 regions, and the two distinct regions are located on a top row and a bottom row of the grid, respectively.
Zhang teaches wherein the plurality of regions includes a grid of 3×3 regions (page 3, paragraph 4 of translation states “the background of the training sighting target is nine-square grid”, Figure 1), and the two distinct regions are located on a top row and a bottom row of the grid, respectively (Figure 1 shows that distinct regions can be selected which are located on a top row and a bottom row of the grid).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method for implementing a vision test of Krukowski modified by wherein the plurality of regions includes a grid of 3×3 regions, and the two distinct regions are located on a top row and a bottom row of the grid, respectively, as taught by Zhang, in order to better image on the retina clearly (last paragraph of page 5 of translation).
Regarding claim 14, Krukowski discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (“memory device”, paragraph 0056, Figure 2), storing one or more programs for execution by one or more processors (“processor”, paragraph 0056 states “The server system 16 includes a server computer including a processor that is coupled to a memory device for executes various programs being stored on the memory device”, Figure 2) of an electronic device having an HMD (32 “VR-HMD unit”, Figure 2), in at least Figures 2 and 3, the one or more programs including instructions for:
determining a multifocal eyewear prescription of a user associated with the electronic device (10 “system”, paragraph 0099 states “The varifocal optics system 54 includes a variable-focal optical system that effectively performs exercises and diagnostics in the near, far and intermediate distances”, paragraph 0053 states “Based on subjectively assessed settings of varifocal optics system generates proper prescription for corrective glasses or lenses including results”, paragraphs 0099-0102), wherein the multifocal eyewear prescription includes a multifocal parameter for a lens having a plurality of focal lengths (paragraph 0053 states “Based on subjectively assessed settings of varifocal optics system generates proper prescription for corrective glasses or lenses including results”, paragraph 0099 states “The varifocal optics system 54 includes a variable-focal optical system that effectively performs exercises and diagnostics in the near, far and intermediate distances”);
obtaining user response data captured by one or more sensors (56 “accommodation measurement system”, 52 “eye tracking system”, paragraph 0066, Figure 2) in response to the visual stimulus displayed (paragraph 0134 states “a virtual reality (VR) display unit 46 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to display images to a user simulating a virtual reality environment … an accommodation measurement system 56 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to measure an accommodation response of the user's eyes, and an eye tracking system 52 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to track movement of the user's eyes”); and
based on the user response data, adjusting the multifocal parameter of the multifocal eyewear prescription (paragraph 0053 states “During mentioned iteration, varifocal optical system provides with different optical states as a simulation of corrective glasses lenses or contact lenses. Iteration is finished once system will assess that smallest possible angular size of an optotype can be recognized by a user in relation to current optical power of the varifocal optics. Based on subjectively assessed settings of varifocal optics system generates proper prescription for corrective glasses or lenses including results”).
However, Krukowski does not disclose partitioning a field of view displayed on the user interface into a plurality of regions, displaying a visual stimulus successively in two distinct regions of the user interface, and obtaining user response data captured by one or more sensors in response to the visual stimulus displayed in the two distinct regions.
Zhang teaches partitioning a field of view displayed on the user interface into a plurality of regions (page 3, paragraph 4 of translation states “the background of the training sighting target is nine-square grid”, Figure 1), displaying a visual stimulus successively in two distinct regions of the user interface (Figure 1 shows that a visual stimulus is displayed in at least two distinct regions), and obtaining user response data captured by one or more sensors in response to the visual stimulus displayed in the two distinct regions (page 3, paragraph 5 of translation states “after the user identifies the visual target on the screen clearly, the selection and judgment of the opening direction of the visual target is performed through the mouse, then the computer system gives the interpretation result”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of Krukowski modified by partitioning a field of view displayed on the user interface into a plurality of regions, displaying a visual stimulus successively in two distinct regions of the user interface, and obtaining user response data captured by one or more sensors in response to the visual stimulus displayed in the two distinct regions, as taught by Zhang, in order to better image on the retina clearly (last paragraph of page 5 of translation).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 14, however Krukowski does not disclose wherein the plurality of regions includes a grid of regions, and the two distinct regions are not immediately adjacent to each other.
Zhang teaches wherein the plurality of regions includes a grid of regions (page 3, paragraph 4 of translation states “the background of the training sighting target is nine-square grid”, Figure 1), and the two distinct regions are not immediately adjacent to each other (Figure 1 shows that distinct regions can be selected which are not immediately adjacent to each other).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of Krukowski modified by wherein the plurality of regions includes a grid of regions, and the two distinct regions are not immediately adjacent to each other, as taught by Zhang, in order to better image on the retina clearly (last paragraph of page 5 of translation).
Regarding claim 17, Krukowski discloses an electronic device, in at least Figures 2 and 3, comprising:
an HMD (32 “VR-HMD unit”, Figure 2);
one or more processors (“processor”, Figure 2); and
memory (“memory device”, paragraph 0056, Figure 2) for storing one or more programs for execution by the one or more processors (“processor”, paragraph 0056 states “The server system 16 includes a server computer including a processor that is coupled to a memory device for executes various programs being stored on the memory device”), the one or more programs including instructions for:
determining a multifocal eyewear prescription of a user associated with the electronic device (10 “system”, paragraph 0099 states “The varifocal optics system 54 includes a variable-focal optical system that effectively performs exercises and diagnostics in the near, far and intermediate distances”, paragraph 0053 states “Based on subjectively assessed settings of varifocal optics system generates proper prescription for corrective glasses or lenses including results”, paragraphs 0099-0102), wherein the multifocal eyewear prescription includes a multifocal parameter for a lens having a plurality of focal lengths (paragraph 0053 states “Based on subjectively assessed settings of varifocal optics system generates proper prescription for corrective glasses or lenses including results”, paragraph 0099 states “The varifocal optics system 54 includes a variable-focal optical system that effectively performs exercises and diagnostics in the near, far and intermediate distances”);
obtaining user response data captured by one or more sensors (56 “accommodation measurement system”, 52 “eye tracking system”, paragraph 0066, Figure 2) in response to the visual stimulus displayed (paragraph 0134 states “a virtual reality (VR) display unit 46 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to display images to a user simulating a virtual reality environment … an accommodation measurement system 56 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to measure an accommodation response of the user's eyes, and an eye tracking system 52 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to track movement of the user's eyes”); and
based on the user response data, adjusting the multifocal parameter of the multifocal eyewear prescription (paragraph 0053 states “During mentioned iteration, varifocal optical system provides with different optical states as a simulation of corrective glasses lenses or contact lenses. Iteration is finished once system will assess that smallest possible angular size of an optotype can be recognized by a user in relation to current optical power of the varifocal optics. Based on subjectively assessed settings of varifocal optics system generates proper prescription for corrective glasses or lenses including results”).
However, Krukowski does not disclose partitioning a field of view displayed on the user interface into a plurality of regions, displaying a visual stimulus successively in two distinct regions of the user interface, and obtaining user response data captured by one or more sensors in response to the visual stimulus displayed in the two distinct regions.
Zhang teaches partitioning a field of view displayed on the user interface into a plurality of regions (page 3, paragraph 4 of translation states “the background of the training sighting target is nine-square grid”, Figure 1), displaying a visual stimulus successively in two distinct regions of the user interface (Figure 1 shows that a visual stimulus is displayed in at least two distinct regions), and obtaining user response data captured by one or more sensors in response to the visual stimulus displayed in the two distinct regions (page 3, paragraph 5 of translation states “after the user identifies the visual target on the screen clearly, the selection and judgment of the opening direction of the visual target is performed through the mouse, then the computer system gives the interpretation result”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the electronic device of Krukowski modified by partitioning a field of view displayed on the user interface into a plurality of regions, displaying a visual stimulus successively in two distinct regions of the user interface, and obtaining user response data captured by one or more sensors in response to the visual stimulus displayed in the two distinct regions, as taught by Zhang, in order to better image on the retina clearly (last paragraph of page 5 of translation).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 17, and Krukowski further discloses wherein the one or more sensors (56 “accommodation measurement system”, 52 “eye tracking system”) include an eye-tracking camera (52 “eye tracking system”, paragraphs 0066-0069), and the user response data include a sequence of eye images captured (paragraph 0066 states “The eye tracking system 52 includes a near-infrared (NIR) camera assembly 66”, paragraph 0067 states “The NIR camera assembly 66 is configured to perform eye tracking (viewer) based on NIR cameras for safety and eye doctor observation. The NIR camera assembly 66 includes a wide angle NIR LED 70 for eye illumination, an NIR camera 72 for recording the image illuminating the surface of the eye”), the one or more programs further comprising instructions for: determining at least one of a gaze point (paragraph 0158 states “The eye tracking system 52 is also capable of gaze point determining similar to other eye tracking solutions”, paragraph 0066 states “The eye tracking system 52 may also include a CMOS 2D profile sensor assembly 81 having a CMOS based 2D profile provided for pupil position estimation”), an eyeball position, and a pupil size in each eye image.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 17, and Krukowski further discloses adjusting the multifocal parameter further comprising: based on the user response data, determining one or more response parameters of: an eye blinking rate, a gaze direction (paragraph 0158 states “The eye tracking system 52 is also capable of gaze point determining similar to other eye tracking solutions”, paragraph 0066 states “The eye tracking system 52 may also include a CMOS 2D profile sensor assembly 81 having a CMOS based 2D profile provided for pupil position estimation”), a fixation duration, a stress level, a focus level, a response time, a response accuracy level, and a micro expression type, wherein the multifocal parameter is determined based on the one or more response parameters (paragraph 0134 states “a virtual reality (VR) display unit 46 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to display images to a user simulating a virtual reality environment … an accommodation measurement system 56 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to measure an accommodation response of the user's eyes, and an eye tracking system 52 positioned within the housing 44 and configured to track movement of the user's eyes”, paragraph 0053 states “During mentioned iteration, varifocal optical system provides with different optical states as a simulation of corrective glasses lenses or contact lenses. Iteration is finished once system will assess that smallest possible angular size of an optotype can be recognized by a user in relation to current optical power of the varifocal optics. Based on subjectively assessed settings of varifocal optics system generates proper prescription for corrective glasses or lenses including results”).
Claims 3, 13, and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krukowski (US 20210330185 A1), in view of Zhang (CN 118001113 A)(see attached machine translation), in view of Tran (US 11793403 B2), and further in view of Wu (CN 113253482 A)(see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Krukowski does not disclose wherein the lens includes a progressive lens having a gradient of varying lens powers for distance, intermediate, and near vision correction, and adjusting the multifocal parameter further includes modifying the gradient of varying lens powers in at least a portion of the lens.
Tran teaches wherein the lens includes a progressive lens having a gradient of varying lens powers for distance, intermediate, and near vision correction (column 17, lines 56-58 state "progressive lenses having a gradient or a range of varying powers along a vertical axis of the lens can be utilized with the HMD 100. For example, a standard progressive lens has a gradient of varying powers including a greater plus power at the bottom of the lens than the top of the lens").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method for implementing a vision test of Krukowski modified by wherein the lens includes a progressive lens having a gradient of varying lens powers for distance, intermediate, and near vision correction, as taught by Tran, in order to improve accuracy and user experience (column 17, line 56 – column 18, line 16).
Wu teaches adjusting the multifocal parameter further includes modifying the gradient of varying lens powers in at least a portion of the lens (abstract states “The invention can more flexibly adjust the meridian focal power change gradient of the progressive multi-focus spectacle lens through the shape control point, controlling the focal power and astigmatism of the vision far area and the near vision area, so as to meet the personalized requirement of the progressive multi-focus spectacle lens wearer”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method for implementing a vision test of Krukowski modified by adjusting the multifocal parameter further includes modifying the gradient of varying lens powers in at least a portion of the lens, as taught by Wu, in order to meet the personalized requirement of the progressive multi-focus spectacle lens wearer (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Krukowski does not disclose wherein the lens includes a grid of lens portions each having a distinct focal length.
Tran teaches wherein the lens includes a grid of lens portions each having a distinct focal length (column 17, lines 56-58 state "progressive lenses having a gradient or a range of varying powers along a vertical axis of the lens can be utilized with the HMD 100. For example, a standard progressive lens has a gradient of varying powers including a greater plus power at the bottom of the lens than the top of the lens", Figure 1I).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the method for implementing a vision test of Krukowski modified by wherein the lens includes a grid of lens portions each having a distinct focal length, as taught by Tran, in order to improve accuracy and user experience (column 17, line 56 – column 18, line 16).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 14, however Krukowski does not disclose wherein the lens includes a progressive lens having a gradient of varying lens powers for distance, intermediate, and near vision correction, and adjusting the multifocal parameter further includes modifying the gradient of varying lens powers in at least a portion of the lens.
Tran teaches wherein the lens includes a progressive lens having a gradient of varying lens powers for distance, intermediate, and near vision correction (column 17, lines 56-58 state "progressive lenses having a gradient or a range of varying powers along a vertical axis of the lens can be utilized with the HMD 100. For example, a standard progressive lens has a gradient of varying powers including a greater plus power at the bottom of the lens than the top of the lens").
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of Krukowski modified by wherein the lens includes a progressive lens having a gradient of varying lens powers for distance, intermediate, and near vision correction, as taught by Tran, in order to improve accuracy and user experience (column 17, line 56 – column 18, line 16).
Wu teaches adjusting the multifocal parameter further includes modifying the gradient of varying lens powers in at least a portion of the lens (abstract states “The invention can more flexibly adjust the meridian focal power change gradient of the progressive multi-focus spectacle lens through the shape control point, controlling the focal power and astigmatism of the vision far area and the near vision area, so as to meet the personalized requirement of the progressive multi-focus spectacle lens wearer”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of Krukowski modified by adjusting the multifocal parameter further includes modifying the gradient of varying lens powers in at least a portion of the lens, as taught by Wu, in order to meet the personalized requirement of the progressive multi-focus spectacle lens wearer (abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 9, 10, and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 4, and Krukowski further discloses determining an eye movement trace of the gaze point (paragraph 0158 states “The eye tracking system 52 is also capable of gaze point determining similar to other eye tracking solutions”, paragraph 0066 states “The eye tracking system 52 may also include a CMOS 2D profile sensor assembly 81 having a CMOS based 2D profile provided for pupil position estimation”), the eyeball position, or the pupil size among the sequence of eye images (paragraphs 0066-0067).
However, Krukowski (US 20210330185 A1), Zhang (CN 118001113 A), Tran (US 11793403 B2), and Wu (CN 113253482 A), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest determining a multifocal fitting level based on the eye movement trace, wherein the multifocal parameter is adjusted in accordance with a determination that the multifocal fitting level satisfies a multifocal adjustment criterion, among other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 4, and Krukowski further discloses determining an eye movement trace of the gaze point (paragraph 0158 states “The eye tracking system 52 is also capable of gaze point determining similar to other eye tracking solutions”, paragraph 0066 states “The eye tracking system 52 may also include a CMOS 2D profile sensor assembly 81 having a CMOS based 2D profile provided for pupil position estimation”), the eyeball position, or the pupil size among the sequence of eye images (paragraphs 0066-0067).
However, Krukowski (US 20210330185 A1), Zhang (CN 118001113 A), Tran (US 11793403 B2), and Wu (CN 113253482 A), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest extracts a plurality of eye movement samples from the eye movement trace; and applying a multifocal adjustment model to process a plurality of eye movement samples and adjust the multifocal parameter, among other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Krukowski does not disclose adjusting the multifocal parameter further comprising: determining a multifocal fitting level based on the user response data, wherein the multifocal parameter is adjusted in accordance with a determination that the multifocal fitting level satisfies a multifocal adjustment criterion.
Krukowski (US 20210330185 A1), Zhang (CN 118001113 A), Tran (US 11793403 B2), and Wu (CN 113253482 A), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest adjusting the multifocal parameter further comprising: determining a multifocal fitting level based on the user response data, wherein the multifocal parameter is adjusted in accordance with a determination that the multifocal fitting level satisfies a multifocal adjustment criterion, among other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Krukowski does not disclose determining whether the HMD is oriented forward when the visual stimulus are displayed in the two distinct regions of the user interface, wherein the multifocal parameter is adjusted based on the user response data in accordance with a determination that the HMD is oriented forward.
Krukowski (US 20210330185 A1), Zhang (CN 118001113 A), Tran (US 11793403 B2), and Wu (CN 113253482 A), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest determining whether the HMD is oriented forward when the visual stimulus are displayed in the two distinct regions of the user interface, wherein the multifocal parameter is adjusted based on the user response data in accordance with a determination that the HMD is oriented forward, among other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Krukowski and Zhang disclose all the limitations of claim 18, and Krukowski further discloses the one or more programs further comprising instructions for: determining an eye movement trace of the gaze point (paragraph 0158 states “The eye tracking system 52 is also capable of gaze point determining similar to other eye tracking solutions”, paragraph 0066 states “The eye tracking system 52 may also include a CMOS 2D profile sensor assembly 81 having a CMOS based 2D profile provided for pupil position estimation”), the eyeball position, or the pupil size among the sequence of eye images.
However, Krukowski (US 20210330185 A1), Zhang (CN 118001113 A), Tran (US 11793403 B2), and Wu (CN 113253482 A), either singularly or in combination, do not disclose or suggest determining a multifocal fitting level based on the eye movement trace, wherein the multifocal parameter is adjusted in accordance with a determination that the multifocal fitting level satisfies a multifocal adjustment criterion, among other claim limitations.
Contact Information
/ALAINA MARIE SWANSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872